115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
Senate Chamber
  • Sen. Jane Kitchel, Chair
  • Sen. Andrew Perchlik, Vice Chair
  • Sen. Richard Westman, Clerk
  • Sen. Robert Starr
  • Sen. Dick Sears
  • Sen. Philip Baruth
  • Sen. Virginia "Ginny" Lyons

Senate Committee on Appropriations




Room 5 and Zoom

February 20, 2024 - February 23, 2024

Last Updated 2/23/2024 1:54 PM


Unless otherwise noted, all meetings are livestreamed at


Tuesday, February 20, 2024

9:30 AM                   Senate Floor


1:10 PM                   H. 850 - An act relating to transitioning education financing to the new system for pupil weighting

Introduction and Possible Vote

Sen. Ann Cummings, Chair, Senate Finance

Kirby Keeton, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel

Julia Richter, Senior Fiscal Analyst, Joint Fiscal Office


1:45 PM                   FY25 Budget

Secretary of State's Office

Sarah Copeland Hanzas , Secretary of State, Secretary of State's Office

Lauren Hibbert, Deputy Secretary of State, Secretary of State's Office


2:10 PM                   FY25 Budget


Adam Greshin, Commissioner, Department of Finance & Management


3:15 PM                   Break


3:30 PM                   FY25 Budget


Judge Thomas Zonay, Chief Superior Judge, Vermont Judiciary

Teri Corsones, State Court Administrator, Vermont Judiciary

Gregg Mousley, Chief of Finance and Administration, Vermont Judiciary

Marcia Schels, Chief Information Officer, Vermont Judiciary


-                                   Break


5:30 PM                   FY25 Budget

Joint Public Hearing with House Appropriations in Room 11. The hearing will stream on the House Appropriations YouTube Channel.


7:30 PM                   Adjourn


Wednesday, February 21, 2024

1:00 PM                   Senate Floor


2:00 PM                   Vermont Fairs Association

Chris Vance, President, Caledonia County Fair

Peggy Sherlock, Board Member, Tunbridge Fair

Tim Shea, Executive  Director, Champlain Valley Exposition

Jason Sicard, President, Orleans County Fair

Bob Allen, Former President, Vermont Fairs & Field Days Association


2:10 PM                   FY25 Budget

Department of Corrections

Nicholas Deml, Commissioner, Department of Corrections

Kristin Calver, Financial Director, Department of Corrections

Richard Donahey, Chief Financial Officer, Agency of Human Services


2:50 PM                   FY25 Budget

Department of State's Attorneys and Sheriffs

John Campbell, Executive Director, Department of State's Attorneys and Sheriffs

Annie Noonan, Labor Relations and Operations Manager, Department of State's Attorneys and Sheriffs

Tim Lueders-Dumont, J.D., Legislative & Asst. Appellate Attorney, Vermont Department of State's Attorneys and Sheriffs


-                                   Adjourn


Thursday, February 22, 2024

1:10 PM                   FY25 Budget

Vermont Criminal Justice Council

Heather Simons, Executive Director, Vermont Criminal Justice Council

Lindsay Thivierge, Director of Administration and Compliance, Vermont Criminal Justice Council

Holly Ferrant, Chief Financial Office, Financial Services Division, Agency of Administration

Brenda Berry, Deputy Chief Financial Officer, Agency of Administration

Jason Pinard, Financial Director II, Department of Finance and Management


1:30 PM                   FY25 Budget

Defender General's Office

Matthew Valerio, Defender General, Defender General's Office

Lora Evans, Administrative Services Manager, Defender General's Office

Katrina Lumbra, Financial Director, Defender General's Office


2:10 PM                   FY25 Budget

Agency of Natural Resources & Department of Environmental Conservation

Julie Moore, Secretary, Agency of Natural Resources

Megan Klinefelter, Business Director, Agency of Natural Resources

Jason Batchelder, Commissioner, Department of Environmental Conservation

Kim Mckee, Business Director, Department of Environmental Conservation

Heather Pembrook, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Environmental Conservation


-                                   Adjourn


Friday, February 23, 2024

1:10 PM                   FY25 Budget

Cannabis Control Board

Brynn Hare, Executive Director, Cannabis Control Board

Karen Schifferle, Financial Manager, Cannabis Control Board


1:30 PM                   FY25 Budget

Department of Forests, Parks, and Recreation & Department of Fish and Wildlife

Danielle Fitzko, Commissioner, Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation

Ansley Bloomer, Director of Finance and Administration, Department of Forest, Parks and Recreation

Christopher Herrick, M.Ed., Commissioner, Department of Fish and Wildlife

Nicolas Kramer, Budget Analyst, Department of Finance and Management


-                                   Adjourn




Please email handouts to the committee assistant at least 24 hours before your scheduled meeting time. With few exceptions, any documents you send to a committee assistant are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s web page.


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Hannah Gottschalk at hgottschalk@leg.state.vt.us