115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
Senate Chamber
  • Sen. Brian Campion, Chair
  • Sen. Martine Larocque Gulick, Vice Chair
  • Sen. Nader Hashim
  • Sen. David Weeks
  • Sen. Terry Williams, Clerk

Senate Committee on Education




Room 28 and Zoom

January 24, 2023 - January 27, 2023

Last Updated 1/27/2023 2:31 PM


Unless otherwise noted, all meetings are livestreamed at https://legislature.vermont.gov/committee/streaming/senate-education.

Tuesday, January 24, 2023

9:30 AM                   Senate  Floor


1:30 PM                   School Safety Policy Initiative

Draft Bill Walk-Through

Beth St. James, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel


1:40 PM                   School Safety

Vermont School Safety Center

Chief Jennifer Morrison, Commissioner, Department of Public Safety


2:00 PM                   School Safety

Governor's Violence Prevention Task Force

Dee Barbic, Director, Violence Prevention Task Force

Sunni Eriksen, School Safety Grants Program Manager, Vermont Emergency Management


2:30 PM                   Break


2:40 PM                   State Board of Education

Introductions and Updates

Jennifer Samuelson, Chair, Vermont State Board of Education


3:15 PM                   Secretary of State

Update on Civic Education and Civic Engagement in Schools

Sarah Copeland Hanzas, Secretary of State, Secretary of State's Office


3:50 PM                   Break


3:55 PM                   Act 72 School Facilities


Rebecca Wasserman, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel

Jill Briggs Campbell, COVID-19 Federal Emergency Funds Project Manager, Agency of Administration


4:15 PM                   Adjourn


Wednesday, January 25, 2023

1:00 PM                   Senate Floor


1:30 PM                   What Does a "Vermont Education" Look Like?

Elliot  Palm, Legislative Page

Hannah Young, Legislative Page

Nadia Frazier, Legislative Page


1:45 PM                   Office of Senator Peter Welch

PCB Testing and School Construction

Kathryn Becker Van Haste, State Director, Office of Senator Bernie Sanders

Rebecca Ellis, State Director, Office of Senator Peter Welch


2:15 PM                   Break


2:30 PM                   State Treasurer's Office

Bonding and School Construction

Michael Pieciak, Vermont State Treasurer, Office of the State Treasurer


3:15 PM                   New England Association of Schools and Colleges

Introductions and Accreditation Process

Cameron Staples, President, New England Association of Schools and Colleges


3:30 PM                   Break


3:40 PM                   School Safety and Teach in Vermont Campaign

Jay Nichols, Executive Director, Vermont Principals' Association

Donald Tinney, President, Vermont National Education Association


4:30 PM                   Proficiency Based Standards and Grading

Student Perspective

Hayden Ross, Student and Committee Assistant, Spaulding High School


4:45 PM                   Adjourn


Thursday, January 26, 2023

1:00 PM                   Senate Floor


1:30 PM                   Education Commission of the States


Joel Moore, State Relations Strategist, Education Commission of the States


2:00 PM                   Community College of Vermont

Introductions, Updates, and Priorities

Joyce Judy, President, Community College of Vermont


2:45 PM                   Break


2:50 PM                   Career Technical Education

Introductions and Workforce Development

Jody Emerson, Superintendent and Director, Central Vermont Career Center (2:50 PM)

Parwinder Grewal, President, Vermont State University (3:15 PM)

Rob Bahny, Workforce Education and Training Coordinator, Southwest VT Regional Technical School District (3:40 PM)

William Lucci, Assistant Director for Adult Technical Education, Stafford Technical Center (4:00 PM)


4:30 PM                   Adjourn


Friday, January 27, 2023

11:30 AM                   Senate Floor


1:00 PM                   Saint Johnsbury Academy

Introductions and Understanding Saint Johnsbury Academy

Sharon  Howell, Headmaster, Saint Johnsbury Academy


1:55 PM                   Break


2:00 PM                   Teacher Evaluations

Jay Nichols, Executive Director, Vermont Principals' Association


2:25 PM                   Break


2:30 PM                   Broadband in Schools

Data Update and Questions

Christine Hallquist, Executive Director, Vermont Community Broadband Board

Robert Fish, Deputy Director of the Vermont Community Broadband Board, Department of Public Service


3:00 PM                   Adjourn




Please email handouts to the committee assistant at least 24 hours before your scheduled meeting time. With few exceptions, any documents you send to a committee assistant are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s web page.


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Hayden Ross at hross@leg.state.vt.us