115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
House of Representatives
  • Rep. Michael Marcotte, Chair
  • Rep. Stephanie Jerome, Vice Chair
  • Rep. Logan Nicoll, Ranking Member
  • Rep. Jim Carroll
  • Rep. Heather Chase
  • Rep. Edye Graning
  • Rep. Emma Mulvaney-Stanak
  • Rep. Monique Priestley, Clerk
  • Rep. Jarrod Sammis
  • Rep. Kirk White
  • Rep. Jonathan Williams

House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development

Joint Meeting with Senate Committee on Economic Development




Room 11 and Zoom

July 27, 2023

Last Updated 7/27/2023 5:28 PM


Unless otherwise noted, all meetings are livestreamed at https://legislature.vermont.gov/committee/streaming/house-commerce-and-economic-development.

Thursday, July 27, 2023

9:00 AM                   Flood Recovery/Relief

David Hall, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel

Patricia Komline, Government Relations Manager, Downs Rachlin Martin

Michael Pieciak, Vermont State Treasurer, Office of the State Treasurer

Rep. Jonathan Williams,  , House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development

Katie Trautz, Executive  Director, Montpelier Alive

John Sayles, CEO, Vermont Foodbank

Carrie Stahler, Government and Public Affairs Officer, Vermont Foodbank

Charity Clark, Attorney General, Attorney General's Office

Melissa Bounty, Assistant Director, Central Vermont Economic Development Corporation

Andy Julow, Executive Director, Lake Champlain Islands Economic Development Corporation

Erika Hoffman-Kiess, Executive Director, Green Mountain Economic Development Corporation

Adam Grinold, Executive Director, Brattleboro Development Credit Corporation

Sue Minter, Executive Director, Capstone Community Action

Susan Evans McClure, Executive  Director, Vermont Arts Council

Rebecca Ellis, State Director, Office of Senator Peter Welch

Katherine Becker Van Haste, State Director, Office of Senator Bernie Sanders

David Scherr, State Director, Office of Congresswoman Becca Balint

Morgan Nichols, Community Liaison/Constituent Service Representative, Rep. Becca Balint


12:30 PM                   Lunch


1:15 PM                   Flood Recovery/Relief

Shannon Bates, Business owner, Montpelier

Justin Hyjek, Business owner, Ludlow

Chris Delia, President, Vermont Bankers' Association


2:00 PM                   Flood Relief

Lindsay Kurrle, Secretary, Agency of Commerce and Community Development

Joan Goldstein, Commissioner, Department of Economic Development

Kevin Gaffney, Commissioner, Department of Financial Regulation, Insurance Division

Emily Brown, Deputy Commissioner of Insurance, Department of Financial Regulation

Jack McCullough, Mayor, Montpelier

Bill Fraser, City Manager, Montpelier

Jake Hemmerick, Mayor, Barre City

Nicolas Storellicastro, City Manager, City of Barre

Cassie Polhemus, Chief Executive Officer, Vermont Economic Development Authority

Weiwei Wang, Co Founder and Director of Operations and Development, Vermont Professionals of Color

Linda Rossi, State Director, VT Small Business Development Center

Cameron Wood, Policy and Legislative Affairs Director, Department of Labor

Betsy Bishop, President, Vermont Chamber of Commerce

Wendy Rice, Co Founder and Volunteer Coordinator, Vermont Connector


5:10 PM                   Adjourn




Please email handouts to the committee assistant at least 24 hours before your scheduled meeting time. With few exceptions, any documents you send to a committee assistant are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s web page.


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Peggy Delaney at pdelaney@leg.state.vt.us