115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
Senate Chamber
  • Sen. Robert Starr, Chair
  • Sen. Brian Collamore, Vice Chair
  • Sen. Richard Westman
  • Sen. Brian Campion
  • Sen. Irene Wrenner, Clerk

Senate Committee on Agriculture




Room 28 and Zoom

March 21, 2023 - March 24, 2023

Last Updated 3/24/2023 10:56 AM


Unless otherwise noted, all meetings are livestreamed at https://legislature.vermont.gov/committee/streaming/senate-agriculture.

Tuesday, March 21, 2023

9:30 AM                   Senate Floor


15 minutes after Senate adjourns                   Organic Dairy Farm Crisis

Jen Miller, Farmer Services Director, NOFA-VT

Michael O'Grady, Deputy Chief Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel


12:00 PM                   Committee Adjourns


Wednesday, March 22, 2023

9:00 AM                   Solar Power on Farms

Abbie Corse, Dairy Farmer and Co-Chair of Subcommittee on Agriculture and Ecosystems, Vermont Climate Council

Peter Sterling, Director, Renewable Energy Vermont


9:50 AM                   Break


10:45 AM                   Committee Adjourns



10:00 AM                   Champlain Valley Farmer Coalition


Brian Kemp, President, Central Vermont Farmers Coalition

Leanna Copagna

Ramsey Melish


11:00 AM                   Senate Floor



Thursday, March 23, 2023

9:00 AM                   Small Farms Day

Maddie Kempner, Policy Director, NOFA VT

Kirsten Murphy, Land Access and Opportunity Board

Jack Thomas, Aspiring Market Farmer

Sadie Farris, Farmer, Council Member, Vermont Youth Council

Ernest A.(Buster) Caswell, Farm Worker Housing Advocate, Milton

Caroline Gordon, Legislative Director, Rural Vermont

Jess Laporte, Land Access and Opportunity Board, Rights and Democracy


10:15 AM                   Committee Adjourns


11:00 AM                   Senate Floor


Friday, March 24, 2023

9:00 AM                   Crop Damage Liability

Rebecca White, Risk Management Director of Operations, Agency of Administration

Christopher Herrick, M.Ed., Commissioner, Department of Fish and Wildlife

Catherine Gjessing, General Counsel, Department of Fish & Wildlife

Steven Collier, General Counsel, Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets

Mary White, Fort Waite Holsteins LLC, Corinth, VT

Jane Clifford, Dairy Producer, Clifford Farm, LLC (9:45 AM)


10:10 AM                   Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets

Funding requested by Agency

Anson Tebbetts, Secretary, Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets

Steven Collier, General Counsel, Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets


10:45 AM                   Committee Adjourns


11:30 AM                   Senate Floor




Please email handouts to the committee assistant at least 24 hours before your scheduled meeting time. With few exceptions, any documents you send to a committee assistant are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s web page.


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Linda Leehman at lleehman@leg.state.vt.us