115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
House of Representatives
  • Rep. Timothy Briglin, Chair
  • Rep. Laura Sibilia, Vice Chair
  • Rep. Heidi E. Scheuermann, Ranking Member
  • Rep. Sally Achey
  • Rep. Seth Chase
  • Rep. Avram Patt
  • Rep. Lucy Rogers, Clerk
  • Rep. Katherine Sims
  • Rep. Michael Yantachka

House Committee on Energy and Technology




Room 10 and Zoom

January 25, 2022 - January 28, 2022

Last Updated 1/28/2022 4:15 PM


Unless otherwise noted, all meetings are livestreamed at https://legislature.vermont.gov/committee/streaming/house-energy-and-technology.

Please note that closed captions/transcripts may not be completely error-free.


Tuesday, January 25, 2022

10:00 AM                   House  Floor and Caucuses


-                                   Lunch


1:00 PM                   Clean Heat Standard

Julie Moore, Secretary, Agency of Natural Resources

Jane Lazorchak, Director of Global Warming Solutions Act, Agency of Natural Resources


2:00 PM                   Clean Heat Standard

Jared Duval, Executive Director, Energy Action Network

Rebecca Foster, Director, Efficiency Vermont

Daniel Reilly, Director of Public Affairs, Efficiency Vermont


3:00 PM                   Comprehensive Energy Plan

Chapter 6 overview

TJ Poor, Director of Planning, Department of Public Service

Ed Delhagen, Facilitator and Energy Programs Specialist, Department of Public Service

Kelly Launder, Assistant Director Efficiency and Energy Resources Division, Vermont Department of Public Service

Keith Levenson, Energy Program Specialist, Department of Public Service


4:30 PM                   Adjourn


Wednesday, January 26, 2022

9:30 AM                   Clean Heat Standard

Johanna Miller, Energy & Climate Program Director, Vermont Natural Resources Council

Ben Walsh, Climate & Energy Program Director, Vermont Public Interest Research Group


10:30 AM                   Break


10:45 AM                   Clean Heat Standard

Neale Lunderville, President, Vermont Gas Systems

Matt Cota, Executive Director, Vermont Fuel Dealers Association

Dylan Giambatista, Leader of Public Affairs, Vermont Gas Systems


12:20 PM                   Lunch


1:00 PM                   Clean Heat Standard

Weatherization at scale

Sarah Phillips, Director, Office of Economic Opportunity, Department for Children and Families

Geoff Wilcox, Weatherization Program Administrator, Office of Economic Opportunity, Department for Children and Families

Paul Zabriskie, Director of Weatherization and Climate Impact, Capstone Community Action

Chris West, Certified Passive House Consultant, Eco Houses of Vermont


2:30 PM                   Committee Discussion


3:00 PM                   House  Floor


-                                   Adjourn


Thursday, January 27, 2022

10:45 AM                   Clean Heat Standard

Vermont biofuels

Jim Malloy, Director of Operations, Black Bear Biodiesel

Peter Bourne, Owner, Bourne’s Energy

Matt Cota, Executive Director, Vermont Fuel Dealers Association


12:00 PM                   Lunch


1:00 PM                   House  Floor


3:40 PM                   Clean Heat Standard

Advanced wood heating

Adam Sherman, Senior Consultant, VEIC

Emma Hanson, Wood Energy Coordinator, Vermont Department of Forest, Parks and Recreation


-                                   Adjourn


Friday, January 28, 2022

9:30 AM                   House  Floor


11:00 AM                   Governor's Budget

Critical communication expansion program and broadband investment

June Tierney, Commissioner, Department of Public Service

Clay Purvis, Director of Telecommunications and Connectivity, Department of Public Service

Christine Hallquist , Executive  Director, Vermont Community Broadband Board


12:00 PM                   Lunch


1:00 PM                   Clean Heat Standard

Oregon standard

Cory-Ann Wind, Oregon Clean Fuels Program Manager, Oregon Clean Fuels Program


2:30 PM                   Clean Heat Standard

Clean heat whitepaper

Richard Cowart, Director, The Regulatory Assistance Project

Chris Neme, Co-Founder and Principal, Energy Futures Group, Inc.


4:15 PM                   Adjourn




Please email handouts to the committee assistant at least 24 hours before your scheduled meeting time. With few exceptions, any documents you send to a committee assistant, are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s web page.


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Rowan Hawthorne at rhawthorne@leg.state.vt.us