115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
Senate Chamber
  • Sen. Dick Sears, Chair
  • Sen. Philip Baruth, Vice Chair
  • Sen. Jeanette K. White
  • Sen. Alice W. Nitka, Clerk
  • Sen. Joe Benning

Senate Committee on Judiciary





October 22, 2021

Last Updated 10/22/2021 2:34 PM


Meeting will be livestreamed here

Friday, October 22, 2021

10:00 AM                   Raise the Age/Youthful Offender

Walk-through of existing Vermont statutes

Erik FitzPatrick, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel


10:30 AM                   Raise the Age

Erica Marthage, State's Attorney, Bennington County

Evan Meenan, Deputy Director, State's Attorneys and Sheriffs' Dept.

Matthew Valerio, Defender General, Vermont Defender General's Office

Marshall Pahl, Appellate and Juvenile Defender, Defender General's Office


12:00 PM                   Lunch


1:00 PM                   Raise the Age

Honorable Brian Grearson, Chief Superior Judge, Vermont Judiciary

T.J. Donovan, Attorney General, Vermont Attorney General's Office

Jay Diaz, Attorney, Vermont American Civil Liberties Union

Jennifer Poehlmann, Executive Director, Center for Crime Victim Services


2:05 PM                   Committee  Discussion


2:15 PM                   Adjourn


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Peggy Delaney at pdelaney@leg.state.vt.us