115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
Senate Chamber
  • Sen. Jane Kitchel, Chair
  • Sen. Alice W. Nitka, Vice Chair
  • Sen. Dick Sears
  • Sen. Robert Starr
  • Sen. Richard Westman
  • Sen. Philip Baruth, Clerk
  • Sen. Becca Balint

Senate Committee on Appropriations




January 11, 2021 - January 15, 2021

Last Updated 1/15/2021 12:41 PM


Meetings will be live streamed here unless otherwise noted

Tuesday, January 12, 2021

9:00 AM                   Senate Floor


1:30 PM                   Committee Organization

Welcome and budget sections review/assignments


2:45 PM                   Budget Update

Stephen Klein, Chief Legislative Fiscal Officer, Joint Fiscal Office


Wednesday, January 13, 2021

1:00 PM                   Senate Floor


2:00 PM                   Future of Public Higher Education in Vermont Study

Brian Prescott, The National Center for Higher Education Management Systems - Invited


Thursday, January 14, 2021

1:00 PM                   Senate Floor


- After the Floor                   Committee  Discussion


2:00 PM                   Broadband Technical Grants

June Tierney, Commissioner, Department of Public Service

Maria Royle, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel


3:00 PM                   Rental Housing Assistance

Josh Hanford, Commissioner, Department of Housing and Community Development

Richard Williams, Executive Director, Vermont State Housing Authority

Kathleen Berk, Vermont State Housing Authority

David Hall, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel


Friday, January 15, 2021

11:30 AM                   Senate Floor


1:00 PM                   21-0539 - An act relating to FY 2021 Governor's Recommended State Budget Adjustment


Adam Greshin, Commissioner, Department of Finance & Management

Hardy Merrill, Director of Budget and Management Operations, Department of Finance & Management


-                                   Committee Bill

Appropriations; housing, statutory language clarifications needed, CRF appropriations needing immediate action

Rebecca Wasserman, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel

Jennifer Carbee, Deputy Chief Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel

Stephanie Barrett, Associate Fiscal Officer, Joint Fiscal Office


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Crissy Gilhuly at cgilhuly@leg.state.vt.us