115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
House of Representatives
  • Rep. Michael Marcotte, Chair
  • Rep. Charles Kimbell, Vice Chair
  • Rep. Stephanie Jerome, Ranking Member
  • Rep. Eileen Dickinson
  • Rep. Warren F. Kitzmiller
  • Rep. Paul Martin
  • Rep. Emma Mulvaney-Stanak
  • Rep. Logan Nicoll
  • Rep. Michael Nigro
  • Rep. Patrick Seymour
  • Rep. Kirk White, Clerk

House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development




Via Zoom

January 12, 2021 - January 15, 2021

Last Updated 1/20/2021 10:34 AM


Meetings are livestreamed here unless otherwise noted.


Tuesday, January 12, 2021

9:00 AM                   Vermont Chamber of Commerce

Overview and legislative priorities for this session.

Betsy Bishop, President, Vermont Chamber of Commerce

Charles Martin, Government Affairs Director, Vermont Chamber of Commerce

Amy Spear, Vice President of Tourism, Vermont Chamber of Commerce

Chris Carrigan, Vice President of Business Development, Vermont Chamber of Commerce


10:00 AM                   House  Floor and Caucuses


-                                   Lunch


1:00 PM                   House Floor


10 mins after the House Floor                   Committee  Discussion

Elect clerk.



2:15 PM                   Adjourn


Wednesday, January 13, 2021

9:00 AM                   Agency of Commerce and Community Development

Introduction to new committee members and overview including legislative priorities.

Joan Goldstein, Commissioner, Department of Economic Development

Ted Brady, Deputy Secretary, Agency of Commerce and Community Development

Heather Pelham, Commissioner, Department of Tourism and Marketing, Agency of Commerce and Community Development

Josh Hanford, Commissioner, Department of Housing and Community Development

Lindsay Kurrle, Secretary, Agency of Commerce and Community Development


10:40 AM                   Break


11:00 AM                   Vermont Banks and Credit Unions

Overview of banking and credit unions and legislative priorities for the new session.

Chris Delia, President, Vermont Bankers' Association

Joseph Bergeron, President, Association of Vermont Credit Unions


12:00 PM                   Lunch


1:15 PM                   House Floor


Immediately after House Floor                   Sexual Harassment Prevention Training


10 min after Sexual Harassment Prevention Training                   Vermont Economic Development Authority and the Vermont Treasurer

Overview of Vermont Economic Development Authority and discussion regarding broadband.
What the State Treasurer does and introductions with new committee members.

Cassie Polhemus, Chief Executive Officer, Vermont Economic Development Authority

Beth Pearce, State Treasurer, Office of the State Treasurer


4:00 PM                   Adjourn


Thursday, January 14, 2021

9:00 AM                   Department of Financial Regulation

Overview and introductions to new committee members.

Michael Pieciak, Commissioner, Department of Financial Regulation

Nicholas Marineau, Executive Assistant, Department of Financial Regulation


10:15 AM                   Attorney General's Office

Overview of the Consumer Affairs Department at the Attorney General's Office, including legislative priorities.

Charity Clark, Chief of Staff, Attorney General's Office


12:00 PM                   Lunch


1:15 PM                   House Floor


15 mins after House Floor                   Regional Development Corporations

Introductions, overview and legislative priorities for new session.

Fred Kenney, Executive Director, Addison County Economic Development Corporation

Peter Gregory, Executive Director, Two Rivers-Ottauquechee Regional Commission

Austin Davis, Government Affairs Manager, Lake Champlain Regional Chamber of Commerce

Catherine Davis, Executive Vice President, Lake Champlain Regional Chamber of Commerce


4:00 PM                   Adjourn


Friday, January 15, 2021

9:00 AM                   Committee  Discussion


9:30 AM                   House  Floor


10 after the House Floor                   Vermont Broadcasters

Introduction to new committee members and overview of the legislative priorities for Vermont broadcasters.


Wendy Mays, Executive Director, Vermont Association of Broadcasters


10:45 AM                   Joint Fiscal Office

Discussion of issue brief from Joint Fiscal Office. Joint hearing with House Committee on General, Housing & Military Affairs.

Joyce Manchester, Senior Economist, Joint Fiscal Office


12:00 PM                   Lunch


1:00 PM                   Committee Discussion

Introduction to new committee members and legislative priorities for Vermont colleges.

Katherine Levasseur, Director of External & Government Affairs, Office of the Chancellor, Vermont State Colleges

Susan Stitely, President, Association of Vermont Independent Colleges

Maureen Hebert, Associate Dean of Workforce Education, VTC

Tiffany Walker, Associate Dean of Workforce Education, Community College of Vermont


2:00 PM                   Break


3:00 PM                   Adjourn




Please email handouts to the committee assistant at least 24 hours before your scheduled meeting time. With few exceptions, any documents you send to a committee assistant, are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s web page.


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Amy Todisco at atodisco@leg.state.vt.us