115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
House of Representatives
  • Rep. Timothy Briglin, Chair
  • Rep. Laura Sibilia, Vice Chair
  • Rep. Heidi E. Scheuermann, Ranking Member
  • Rep. Sally Achey
  • Rep. Seth Chase
  • Rep. Avram Patt
  • Rep. Lucy Rogers
  • Rep. Katherine Sims
  • Rep. Michael Yantachka

House Committee on Energy and Technology




Via Zoom

January 12, 2021 - January 15, 2021

Last Updated 1/14/2021 9:29 AM


Click here for livestream link

Tuesday, January 12, 2021

10:00 AM                   House Floor


-                                   Party Caucuses


1:00 PM                   House Floor


1:45 PM                   Telecom Overview

General updates and CRF updates

Maria Royle, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel


Wednesday, January 13, 2021

9:00 AM                   Department of Public Service

Updates on CRF allocation, RDOF, VT Broadband funding, and the Connectivity Initiative

June Tierney, Commissioner, Department of Public Service

Clay Purvis, Director of Telecommunications and Connectivity, Department of Public Service


1:15 PM                   House Floor


After the Floor                     Sexual Harassment Prevention Training


Thursday, January 14, 2021

9:00 AM                   Communications Union Districts (CUDs) Status

Overview and updates

Robert Fish, Rural Broadband Technical Assistance Specialist, Department of Public Service

June Tierney, Commissioner, Department of Public Service

F.X. Flinn, Chair, ECFiber

Steve Huffaker, Chair, Maple Broadband

Bill Moore, Chair, Otter Creek CUD

Charen Fegard, Board Member, NWCUD

Jane Campbell, Governing Board, Lamoille FiberNet

Tim Scoggins, Chair, Catamount Fiber

Christine Hallquist , Administrator, NEK Broadband

Ann Manwaring, Chair, DVFiber

David Healy, Business Development Chair, CVFiber

Kristen Fountain, Vice Chair, VCUDA


12:00 PM                   Security Briefing


1:15 PM                   House Floor


Friday, January 15, 2021

9:30 AM                   House Floor


11:00 AM                   Consolidated Communications

Updates regarding funding and fiber rollout plans

Jeffrey Austin, Director of State Government Relations, Consolidated Communications

Erika Smith, Manager of State Regulatory Matters, Consolidated Communications


1:30 PM                   Energy Overview

Distribution utility specifics

TJ Poor, Director of Efficiency and Energy Resources, Department of Public Service

Ed McNamara, Director of Planning, Department of Public Service

Riley Allen, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Public Service

June Tierney, Commissioner, Department of Public Service




Please email handouts to the committee assistant at least 24 hours before your scheduled meeting time. With few exceptions, any documents you send to a committee assistant, are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s web page.


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Matthew Grimo at mgrimo@leg.state.vt.us