115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
Senate Chamber
  • Sen. Dick Mazza, Chair
  • Sen. Tim Ashe, Vice Chair
  • Sen. Jane Kitchel, Clerk
  • Sen. Andrew Perchlik
  • Sen. James McNeil

Senate Committee on Transportation




Room 3

February 18, 2020 - February 21, 2020

Last Updated 2/21/2020 12:37 PM


Tuesday, February 18, 2020

9:30 AM                   Senate Floor


10:00 AM                   S. 238 - An act relating to the use of green signal lamps on wreckers


Sen. Alison Clarkson, Sponsor

Anthea Dexter-Cooper, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Council


-                                   S. 203 - An act relating to motorcycle helmets


Holly Wilkins, President, United Motorcyclists of Vermont

Sen. Joe Benning, Sponsor

Rep. Brian Smith, Derby

Anthea Dexter-Cooper, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Council


10:45 AM                   Break


11:00 AM                   S. 241 - An act relating to motor vehicle manufacturers that sell directly to consumers

Continued walk-through and mark up

Anthea Dexter-Cooper, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Council

Marilyn Miller, Executive Director, Vehicle and Automotive Distributors Association

Clare Buckley, Lobbyist, Vehicle and Automotive Distributors Association

Colonel Jake Elovirta, Director of Enforcement and Safety, Department of Motor Vehicles

Michael Smith, Operations Director, Department of Motor Vehicles

Adam Necrason, Lobbyist, Tesla


Wednesday, February 19, 2020

9:00 AM                   Montpelier Microtransit Update

Ross MacDonald, Public Transit Program Manager, Agency of Transportation


9:45 AM                   Local Motion Update, Comments Regarding Rail Trail

Karen Yacos, Executive  Director, Local Motion

Jonathan Weber, Program Manager, Local Motion

Mary Catherine Graziano, Senior Manager, Education & Safety Programs, Local Motion


10:45 AM                   Break


11:15 AM                   Electrification of State Fleet

Chris Cole, Commissioner, Department of Buildings and General Services

Harmony Wilder, Fleet Manager, Buildings and General Services


Thursday, February 20, 2020

9:00 AM                   Kilowatt Hour Charging Fee Update and PEV Electric Distribution Utility Rate Design

Room 5

Update from VTrans, Public Service Department

Comments from Utilities

Michele Boomhower, Director, Policy, Planning & Intermodal Dev. Div., Agency of Transportation

Riley Allen, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Public Service

David Farnsworth, Senior Associate, The Regulatory Assistance Project

Melissa Bailey, Manager of Government and Member Affairs, VPPSA

Patricia Richards, General Manager, Washington Electric Coop

Andrea Cohen, Manager, Government Affairs and Member Relations, Vermont Electric Cooperative, Inc.


10:30 AM                   Election of Trustees of the Vermont State Colleges

Joint Assembly


Immediately Following Joint Assembly                   Senate Floor


Friday, February 21, 2020

9:00 AM                   Kilowatt Hour Charging Fee Update and PEV Electric Distribution Utility Rate Design

Darren Springer, General Manager, Burlington Electric Department

Brian Otley, Chief Operating Officer, Green Mountain Power

Robb Kidd, Conservation Program Manager, Sierra Club, Vermont Chapter


10:45 AM                   Committee Discussion


11:30 AM                   Senate Floor


ATTENTION WITNESSES- Please email handouts to the committee assistant before your scheduled meeting date and bring 5 hard copies. Please write your name, organization, date and title on each document. With few exceptions, any documents you hand out to a committee, or send to a committee assistant, are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s webpage.


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Nellie Marvel at 802-828-2254 or nmarvel@leg.state.vt.us