115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
House of Representatives
  • Rep. Thomas Stevens, Chair
  • Rep. Joseph "Chip" Troiano, Vice Chair
  • Rep. Diana Gonzalez, Ranking Member
  • Rep. Matthew Birong
  • Rep. Marianna Gamache
  • Rep. Lisa Hango
  • Rep. Mary E. Howard, Clerk
  • Rep. John Killacky
  • Rep. Emily Long
  • Rep. Randall Szott
  • Rep. Tommy Walz

House Committee on General, Housing, and Military Affairs




Room 44

February 18, 2020 - February 21, 2020

Last Updated 2/24/2020 9:36 AM


Tuesday, February 18, 2020

10:00 AM                   House Floor


-                                   Lunch and Caucuses


1:00 PM                   S. 83 - An act relating to prohibiting agreements that prevent an employee from working for the employer following the settlement of a discrimination claim

Julio Thompson, Director, Civil Rights Unit, Office of the Attorney General

Stephen Ellis, Chair, Labor and Employment Law Section, Vermont Bar Association - Phone

Bor Yang, Executive Director, VT Human Rights Commission


2:30 PM                   H. 556 - An act relating to gender-free restrooms in public buildings and places of public accommodation

Michael Desrochers, Executive Director of Fire Management, Department of Public Safety

Amanda Garces, Director of Policy, Education and Outreach, Vermont Human Rights Commission

Rep. Mari Cordes, Sponsor


-                                   Adjourn


Wednesday, February 19, 2020

9:15 AM                   J.R.H. 7 - Joint resolution apologizing and expressing sincere condolences to all Vermonters and their families who were harmed as a result of State-sanctioned and eugenically inspired sterilization

Testimony and discussion

Don Stevens, Chief, Nulhegan Band of the Coosuk-Abenaki Nation

Rep. Anne B. Donahue, Sponsor

Lucy Neel, Nulhegan Tribe Indian Education Coordinator, Holland, Vermont

Kirsten Murphy, Executive Director, Vermont Development Disabilities Council

Ruth Goodrich, Member, Cabot Select Board

Carol Irons, Abenaki Elder, Albany


11:00 AM                   H. 739 - An act relating to improving rental housing health and safety

Hon. Brian Grearson, Chief Superior Judge, Office of Chief Superior Judge


-                                   Governor's FY2021 Proposed Budget

Committee discussion


12:00 PM                   Lunch


1:00 PM                   House Floor


15 min after Floor                   Renter Rebate Reform

Abby Shepard, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Council

Jake Feldman, Senior Fiscal Analyst, Department of Taxes

Chloe Wexler, Fiscal Data Analyst, Joint Fiscal Office


-                                   H. 428 - An act relating to collective bargaining


Damien Leonard, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Council

David Van Deusen, President, Vermont State Labor Council, AFL, CIO

Heather Riemer, Director, American Federation of Teachers VT


-                                   Adjourn


Thursday, February 20, 2020

9:00 AM                   H. 492 - An act relating to establishing a homeless bill of rights and prohibiting discrimination against people without homes

Discussion and possible vote

Luke Martland, Director and Chief Counsel, Office of Legislative Council

Erhard Mahnke, Coordinator, Vermont Affordable Housing Coalition


10:00 AM                   H. 783 - An act relating to recovery residences

Committee Discussion

David Hall, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Council


10:30 AM                   Election of Legislative Trustees of the Vermont State Colleges Corporation

Joint Assembly


12:00 PM                   Lunch


1:00 PM                   House Floor


-                                   Adjourn


Friday, February 21, 2020

9:00 AM                   Governor's FY2021 Proposed Budget

Possible final discussion


9:30 AM                   House Floor


15 min after Floor                   H. 739 - An act relating to improving rental housing health and safety

Renter Rebate and Rental Registry

Craig Bolio, Commissioner, VT Department of Taxes

Sarah Carpenter, Chair, Rental Housing Advisory Board

Douglas Farnham, Director of Policy and Tax Department Economist, Department of Taxes


12:00 PM                   Lunch


1:00 PM                   H. 783 - An act relating to recovery residences

Discussion and possible vote


-                                   H. 805 - An act relating to the collective bargaining rights of teachers

James DesMarais, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Council

Jeff Fannon, Executive Director, Vermont National Education Association

Jay Nichols, Executive Director, Vermont Principals' Association

Jeanne Collins, Superintendent, Rutland Northeast Supervisory Union

Sue Ceglowski, Executive  Director, Vermont School Boards Association - Phone


-                                   Adjourn


ATTENTION WITNESSES- Please email handouts to the committee assistant before your scheduled meeting date. With few exceptions, any documents you hand out to a committee, or send to a committee assistant, are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s webpage.


When coming to this Committee, please use unscented body and cosmetic products and refrain from using perfume, aftershave, or cologne.


If you have any questions and comments, please contact

 Ron Wild at 802-828-3559 or rwild@leg.state.vt.us