115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
Senate Chamber
  • Sen. Christopher Bray, Chair
  • Sen. Brian Campion, Vice Chair
  • Sen. Mark A. MacDonald
  • Sen. John Rodgers
  • Sen. Corey Parent

Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Energy




Room 8

January 14, 2020 - January 17, 2020

Last Updated 1/14/2020 2:48 PM


Tuesday, January 14, 2020

9:30 AM                   Senate Floor


10:00 AM                   Act 62 Discussion

Wetlands, Public Trust Waters, EPA, ANR, AAFM

Michael O'Grady, Deputy Chief Counsel, Office of Legislative Council


11:30 AM                   Adjourn


Wednesday, January 15, 2020

9:00 AM                   Act 62 Discussion

Darren Springer, General Manager, Burlington Electric Department

Rebecca Foster, Director, Efficiency Vermont

Robert Dostis, Vice President of Stakeholder Relations, Green Mountain Power

Lauren Hierl, Executive Director, Vermont Conservation Voters


10:30 AM                   Break


10:45 AM                   Act 62 Discussion

Marilyn Miller, Executive Director, Vehicle and Automotive Distributors Association

Matt Cota, Executive Director, Vermont Fuel Dealers Association

TJ Poor, Director of Efficiency and Energy Resources, Department of Public Service


12:00 PM                   Adjourn


Thursday, January 16, 2020

9:00 AM                   Act 62 Discussion

Andrea Cohen, Manager, Government Affairs and Member Relations, Vermont Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Patricia Richards, General Manager, Washington Electric Coop

Melissa Bailey, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Representative, VPPSA

Thomas Murray, Vice President, Vermont Gas


10:30 AM                   Break


10:45 AM                   Act 62 Discussion

Rick Weston, Principal and Director of Policy, The Regulatory Assistance Project

Ben Edgerly Walsh, Climate & Energy Program Director, Vermont Public Interest Research Group

Johanna Miller, Energy & Climate Program Director, Vermont Natural Resources Council


12:00 AM                   Adjourn


Friday, January 17, 2020

9:00 AM                   Interim Report

Public Utility Commission

Rm 10

Margaret Cheney, Commissioner, Public Utility Commission

Thomas Knauer, Policy Director, Vermont Public Utility Commission


11:00 AM                   Committee  Discussion


11:30 AM                   Adjourn


ATTENTION WITNESSES- Please email handouts to the committee assistant before your scheduled meeting date and bring 6 hard copies. Please write your name, organization, date and title on each document. With few exceptions, any documents you hand out to a committee, or send to a committee assistant, are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s webpage.


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Jude Newman at 802-828-2296 or jnewman@leg.state.vt.us