115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
Senate Chamber
  • Sen. Christopher Bray, Chair
  • Sen. Brian Campion, Vice Chair
  • Sen. Mark A. MacDonald
  • Sen. John Rodgers
  • Sen. Corey Parent

Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Energy




Room 8

March 19, 2019 - March 22, 2019

Last Updated 3/22/2019 11:00 AM


Tuesday, March 19, 2019

11:10 AM                   Weatherization for All

Jared Duval, Executive Director, Energy Action Network

Ed McNamara, Director of Planning and Energy Resources Division, Department of Public Service

Geoff Wilcox, Weatherization Program Administrator, Office of Economic Opportunity, Department for Children and Families


12:00 AM                   Adjourn


Wednesday, March 20, 2019

8:30 AM                   Weatherization for All

Richard Faesy , Principal, Energy Futures Group, Inc.

Paul Costello, Executive Director, Vermont Council on Rural Development

Johanna Miller, Energy & Climate Program Director, Vermont Natural Resources Council

Paul Zabriskie, Director of Weatherization and Home Performance, Capstone Community Action

Abby White, Director of Communications, Efficiency Vermont

Ludy Biddle, Executive Director, NeighborWorks of Western Vermont - Invited

Erhard Mahnke, Coordinator, Vermont Affordable Housing Coalition

Thomas Murray, Vice President, Vermont Gas


10:00 AM                   Break


11:30 AM                   Toxic Substances

S. 55 Amendment

Michael O'Grady, Deputy Chief Counsel, Office of Legislative Council

Jordan Gonda, Associate General Counsel Waste Management, ANR


12:00 AM                   Adjourn


Thursday, March 21, 2019

9:00 AM                   Toxic Substances

Committee Discussion and Possible Amendment to S.55

Peter Walke, Deputy Secretary, Agency of Natural Resources

Paul Burns, Executive Director, Vermont Public Interest Research Group

Lauren Hierl, Executive Director, Vermont Conservation Voters


9:30 AM                   S. 170 - An act relating to the Standard Offer Program and hydroelectric plants

Possible Committee Bill and Vote

Luke Martland, Director and Chief Counsel, Office of Legislative Council

Mathew Rubin, President, Vermont Independent Power Producers Association

Patricia Richards, General Manager, Washington Electric Coop

Andrew Locke, Vice President, Vermont Independent Power Producers Association

Warren Colman, MMR, Green Mountain Power

Melissa Bailey, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Representative, VPPSA


10:15 AM                   Break


10:30 AM                   Community Scale Energy

Olivia Campbell Andersen, Executive Director, Renewable Energy Vermont

Joel Stettenheim, President, Norwich Technologies

Gregg Beldock, President, Belrock Corp

Billy Coster, Director of Planning and Policy, Agency of Natural Resources

Chad Farrell, Principal, Encore Redevelopment


12:00 AM                   Adjourn


Friday, March 22, 2019

9:00 AM                   S. 171 - An act relating to addressing climate change, increasing weatherization, and rating the energy performance of buildings

Luke Martland, Director and Chief Counsel, Office of Legislative Council

Rep. R. Scott Campbell, < None >


9:30 AM                   Weatherization for All

Helen Hossley, VT Realtors Association

Chris Delia, President, Vermont Bankers' Association


10:30 AM                   Weatherization for All

Mat Cota, Lobbyist, Vermont Fuel Dealers Association

Ben Walsh, Climate & Energy Program Director, Vermont Public Interest Research Group


11:30 AM                   Adjourn


ATTENTION WITNESSES- Please email handouts to the committee assistant before your scheduled meeting date and bring 6 hard copies. Please write your name, organization, date and title on each document. With few exceptions, any documents you hand out to a committee, or send to a committee assistant, are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s webpage.


If you have any questions and comments, please contact

 Jude Newman at 828-2296 or jnewman@leg.state.vt.us