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To the Honorable:

Senate Judiciary Committee,

Senate Economic Development, Housing & General Affairs Committee,
House Judiciary Committee,

House General, Housing & Military Affairs Commlttee

Honorable Committee Members:

Pursuant to Act Number 83 Section 162 (2017), I have reviewed and evaluated the adequacy of
all the provisions in Title 7 that contain a penalty or a fine. Based on that review I have
determined that many of these provisions are inadequate, and should be updated to more
effectively deter the prohibited conduct. Attached to this cover letter is my report which
contains my findings and recommendations for legislative action to address the present
statutory shortcomings.

I look forward to working with you during the upcoming legislative session to explore and

address these important issues.

Sincerely,

Patrick Delaney, Commissioner
Department of Liquor Control

Liquor Control Board:
Martin Manahan —Chair; Sam Guy, Martin Manahan, Julian Sbardella, Thom Lauzon - Members
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Introduction

During the 2017 legislative session Act 83 relating to the modernization and reorganization of
Title 7 became law. This was the first comprehensive re-write of this chapter since the end of
prohibition on alcohol in 1933. While Title 7 was modernized and reorganized a decision was
made not to burden the process with substantive changes as that was deemed outside the scope of
the 2016 legislative mandate that brought this process into motion. The legislative committees
who worked on Act 83 recognized that there was a pressing need to update substantive
provisions of Title 7 and so in Section 162 of the Act required that the Commissioner of the
Department of Liquor Control conduct a review of the adequacy and effectiveness of all fines
and penalties contained in Title 7. The objective of this review is to determine if the existing
fines and penalties should be amended to improve their efficacy. Section 162 further directed the
Department to prepare a written report regarding the findings of the review on or before January
15, 2018. ‘

I have examined all the applicable sections and have highlighted the corresponding penalties and
fines in yellow for ease of review. I have recommended changes where the existing sanction are
inappropriate. The green highlighted areas reflect recommended language changes to Title 7.
The review is being submitted in both Word and Excel to facilitate the review.

Fine and Penalty Review with Recommendations

§ 63. IMPORTATION OR TRANSPORTATION OF ALCOHOL;

PROHIBITIONS; PERSONAL IMPORT LIMIT; PENALTY

(a)(1) All spirits and fortified wines imported or transported into this State shall be imported or
transported by and through the Liquor Control Board. A person importing or transporting or
causing to be imported or transported into this State any spirits and or fortified wines, or both, in

violation of this section shall be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than
$1.000.00, or both.

The current jail sentence in this case is a sufficient deterrent to illegal importation.
I would recommend however that the maximum fine be increased to $5,000.00.

There has been a recent increase in the number of instances where organized bootleggers have
used Vermont as a route to market in New York. The DLC compliance and enforcement team
has recorded three smuggling interventions and confiscated over 380,000 worth of distilled
spirits purchased in New Hampshire and in route to the New York City metropolitan area in the
last 6 months. The current monetary fine of $1,000.00 is an insufficent deterrent to this scale of
activity.

(b)(1) Except as provided in sections 66 and 68 277, 278, and 283 of this title, all malt or vinous
beverages, or both, imported or transported into this State shall be imported or transported by
and through a wholesale dealer holding the holder of a wholesale dealer’s license issued by the
Liquor Control Board. A person importing or transporting or causing to be imported or
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transported into this State any malt or vinous beverages, or both, in violation of this section shall
be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both.

The current jail sentence in this case is a sufficient deterrent to illegal importation.
The current fine in this case appears to be a sufficient deterrent.

The Department has had only one incident of illegal importation of wine, which accompanied
one of the distilled spirits traffic stops. The financial incentive for smuggling beer and wine is
much lower than distilled spirits due to lower retail prices and smaller profit margins in selling
smuggled goods. I would recommend leaving the penalty as written.

Sec. 9. 7 V.S.A. § 64 is amended to read:
§ 64. SALE OF MALT BEVERAGES AND VINOUS BEVERAGES IN
KEGS

(c) Any person, other than the wholesaler a wholesale dealer or manufacturer, who intentionally
removes or defaces the label attached to a keg shall be imprisoned not more than two years or
fined not more than §1,000.00, or both.

The jail sentence in this case does not appear to consistent with the seriousness of the infraction.
I feel that it is too severe for what appears to be a property damage issue. The legislature
decreased the amount of time that a customer may hold on to an empty keg to 60 days before
returning to a retailer in the 2017 session to address the financial impact to producers of non-
returned kegs.

I would recommend decreasing the potential jail sentence to one year and maintain the monetary

fine at §1,000. :

§ 67. POWDERED ALCOHOL PRODUCTS
(a) It shall be unlawful for a person to knowingly possess or sell a powdered alcohol product.

(b) A person that knbwingly and unlawfully pi
shall be fined not more than $500.00.

ing possesses a powdered alcohol product
The word “possessing” needs to be changed to” possesses.”
This fine appears to be appropriate for the possession of powdered alcohol by a private citizen.

The substance is very dangerous and should be recognized accordingly. There is no jail
sentence involved so the monetary fine needs to be a deterrent.

(c) A person that knowingly and unlawfully sells a powdered alcohol product shall be
imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than $10,000.00, or both.
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This incarceration period and fine appear to be appropriate to address the seriousness of this
infraction. This level of penalty and fine collectively provide a strong message and deterrent to
discourage the commercial sale and distribution of this dangerous substance.

§210. SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF LICENSE OR PERMIT;
ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY

(b)(1) As an al il u of the authority to suspend or revoke any permit or hcense,
the liquor control board Liquor Control Board shall also have the power to impose an
administrative penalty of up to $2 500 00 per violation agamst a holder of a wholesale dealer’s
license or a holder of a first first-, second, or ird-class license for a violation of the
conditions under which of the license was issued or of this title or of any rule regulation
prescribed by the liquor control board Liquor Control Board.

oo e O e e CMOIOMMMIEH] ! propose that the Board should

be able to suspend a license and impose a penalty for any violation.

This fine has been an effective tool for the Board to use at its discretion to penalize licensees who
have been negligent in enforcing the Department’s rules and regulations and Vermont law. It is
worth noting that the Board may and has exercised this discretion Jor each infraction on the part
of the licensee.

I also think that the penalty should have a maximum of $7,500.

(3) The Board may also impose an administrative penalty under this subsection against a holder
of a tobacco license for up to $100.00 for a first violation and up to $1,000.00 for subsequent
violations.

The administrative penalty reflects a change to Title 7 that was initiated at the request of the
Department. Historically, there was no fine associated with a first infraction of selling tobacco
to a minor. We felt that a free pass on the first infraction does not reflect the seriousness of the
infraction or our mission of decreasing access to children of retail tobacco products. It is still
not possible to suspend a retailer’s tobacco license for the first offense.

We feel that a $100.00 administrative fine is an appropriate starting point to reinforce our
message that this infraction is serious and that the opportunity to retail tobacco is a privilege
and must to treated as such. I think we should up this to a maximum of $250.00 and use our
discretion in applying it or issue tickets for $100.00 and if it goes to hearing have the possibility
of $250.00

The Department appreciates the discretion to treat repeat offenders with the expanded fine
structure of up to 82,500. This fine range will help the Department ensure that retailers share
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our sense of importance in checking IDs and minimizing exposure to minors of this highly
addictive substance.

§ 255. RETAIL ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TASTING PERMITS

(e) The holder of a permit issued under this section that provides alcoholic beverages to a minor
or permits an individual under 18 years of age to serve alcoholic beverages at a tasting event
under this section shall be fined not less than $500.00 nor more than $2,000.00 or imprisoned not
more than two years, or both.

This fine is appropriate for the seriousness of this infraction and provides the Board with
adequate and appropriate discretion to levy fines on a case by case basis. This penalty structure
is consistent with other similar infractions in section 658.

§ 274. CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL FOR DISTRIBUTION OF MALT
OR VINOUS BEVERAGES

(e) A person who violates a provision of this section shall be fined not more than $300.00 or
imprisoned not more than one year, or both, for each offense and shall forfeit any license issued
under the provisions of this title.

The 8300.00 amount of this fine would not be an effective deterrent to someone weighing the
financial incentive for violating law. I believe that the jail penalty is sufficient.

I'would recommend raising the maximinum fine to §750.00

§ 275. SOLICITOR’S LICENSE

(d) A person who solicits orders for, or promotes the sale of malt or vinous beverages, or
attempts to solicit or promote the sale of malt or vinous beverages by canvassing or interviewing
a holder of a license issued under the provisions of this title, without having first obtained a
solicitor’s license as provided in this section, or who makes a false or fraudulent statement or
representation in an application for the license or in connection with an application shall be
imprisoned not more than six months or fined not more than $500.00, or both.

This penalty appears to be adequate to serve as an effective deterrent to not registering as a beer
and wine solicitor with the State.

The 810,000 question here is why does the statute not require solicitors of distilled spirits to
register as well. In the relative scheme of the beverage alcohol business solicitors of distilled
spirits are selling a product that is recognized to present more serious consequences than the
lower alcohol products of beer and wine. The department would like to see this requirement
expanded to solicitors of distilled spirits held to the same standard. The projected increase in
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licensing revenue would be §10,000. More importantly requiring licensing will provide the
Department with a control point should a solicitor fail to follow the rules.

§ 281. PROHIBITIONS

(2) Any person who knowingly makes, participates in, imports, or receives a direct shipment of
malt or vinous beverages from a person who does not hold a license, permit, or certificate
pursuant to sections 226 or 277-280 of this title may be fined not more than $1,000.00 or
imprisoned not more than one year, or both.

The potential penalty of 81,000 in this case is not significant enough to provide a deterrent to
discourage direct shipments of beverage alcohol products into the state by a person without a
license to do so.

I recommend that the range be extended to a maximum penalty of $2,500.00 to address the
potential for commercial importation and the potential margins that may exist for large quantity
shipments of high margin products.

(b) The holder of a license issued pursuant to section 277 or 278 of this title or a common carrier
that ships malt or vinous beverages to an individual under 21 years of age shall be fined not less
than $1,000.00 or more than $3,000.00 or imprisoned not more than two years, or both.

This penalty appears to be adequate to focus attention on this requirement and to encourage
consistent policies and procedures by commercial shippers to check requiring ID when
delivering beverage alcohol to private citizens and commercial establishments.

§570. FORFEITURE AND CONDEMNATION OF SEIZED VEHICLE OR CRAFT

n or automobile, motor vehicle, boat air or Water craﬂ or other
conveyances as would be had if malt or vinous beverages, spirits, or fortified wines had been
seized, except that if th m, or automobile, boat, air or water craft, or other
conveyance, shall be finally is adjudged forfeited and condemned the same, it shall, upon the
written order of the magistrate court, shall be sold at a public sheriff’s sale for the benefit of the
State.

The highlighted language should be modernized
This penalty is appropriate for dealing with illegal importation issues.
This section, however, is not consistently enforced by Vermont State’s Attorneys who are

empowered to make these decisions when seizures occur within their jurisdictions. In the three
interventions that occurred in Vermont in the past six months all the vehicles were returned to
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their owners for re-use in the same activities. This an issue that should be addressed by the
House and Senate judicial committees. It is not an effective deterrent if the law is not enforced.

§ 651. SOLICITING ORDERS

A person who, for himself or herself or as agent, takes or solicits orders for the sale of malt or
vinous beverages, except for licensees or from agencies of the U.S. Army Armed Forces as
specified in section 421 of this title, or of spirits or fortified wines shall be imprisoned not more
than six months nor less than three months or fined not more than $500.00 nor less than $100.00,
or both.

This financial penalty is appropriate for the seriousness of the infraction.

I would recommend that the minimum sentence be removed and left to the discretion of the court
to implement as they see fit based on a case by case basis and the specific nature of the
infraction.

§ 652. TRANSPORTATION

A person who, by himself or herself, or through a clerk or agent, brings into the State, or conveys
or transports over or along a railroad or public highway, or by land, air, or water, malt or vinous
beverages or spirituous liquor alcoholic beverages, or alcohol which the person knows or has
reason to believe is to be unlawfully kept, sold, or furnished, shall be imprisoned not more than
six months nor less than three months or fined not more than $500.00 nor less than $100.00, or
both.

I recommend increasing the monetary penalty to a maximum of $2,500.00 to reflect the
seriousness of the infraction.

I'would recommend maintaining the minimum sentence to serve as a deterrent to smugglers.

§ 655. BARTER

(a) A licensee or permittee who shall be imprisoned not more than 12 months nor less than six
months or fined not more than $1,000.00 nor less than $300.00, or both, if the licensee or
permittee: (1) purchases or receives wearing apparel, tools, implements of trade or husbandry,
household goods, furniture, or provisions, directly or indirectly, by way of sale or barter, the
consideration of for which is, in whole or in part is, malt or vinous beverages or spirituous liquor
alcoholic beverages or alcohol or the price thereof, of the alcoholic beverages or alcohol; or

The penalties in this case appear to be incongruent. The monetary fine range appear to be
somewhat insignificant and the jail term appears to be overly punitive.

6|Page



I recommend that the fine range be increased to a minimum of 8500.00 and maximum of
$1,500.00 and the jail term be revised to between 30 days and six months. This fine range would
be more relevant, and the jail range would also continue to be an effective deterrent.

(2) receives such article apparel, tools, implements of trade or husbandry, household goods,
furniture, or provisions in pawn for such beverage or liquor alcoholic beverages or alcohol or the
price thereof, shall be imprisoned not more than twelve months nor less than six months or fined
not more than $1,000.00 nor less than $300.00, or both of the alcoholic beverages or alcohol.

The penalties in this case appear to be incongruent. The monetary fine range appear to be
somewhat insignificant and the jail term appears to be overly punitive.

I recommend that the fine range be increased to a minimum of $500.00 and maximum of
$1,500.00 and the jail term be revised to between 30 days and six months. This fine range would
be more relevant, and the jail range would also continue to be an effective deterrent.

§ 658. SALE OR FURNISHING TO MINORS; ENABLING CONSUMPTION BY MINORS;
MINORS CAUSING DEATH OR SERIOUS BODILY INJURY

(c) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be fined not less than $500.00 nor
more than $2,000.00 or imprisoned not more than two years, or both. However, an employee of a
licensee or an employee of a State contracted State liquor agency, who in the course of
employment violates subdivision (a)(1) of this section: (1) during a compliance check conducted
by a law enforcement officer as defined in 20 V.S.A. § 2358:

These penalties appear to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.

(A) shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $100.00 for the first violation, and a civil
penalty of not less than $100.00 nor more than $500.00 for a second violation that occurs more
than one year after the first violation.; and

I'would increase the fine to a maximum of $1,000.00 for the second offense.

(B) shall be subject to the criminal penalties provided in this subsection for a second violation
within a year of the first violation, and for a third or subsequent violation within three years of
the first violation.

These penalties appear to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense for the first two
occurrences. I recommend doubling the minimum fine to $200 and the maximum fine to $2000
for a third occurrence within three years.

(d) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section, where the person under the age of 21
years of age, while operating a motor vehicle on a public highway causes death or serious bodily
injury to himself or herself or to another person as a result of the violation, shall be imprisoned
not more than five years or fined not more than $10,000.00, or both.
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These penalties appear to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.

§ 659. REFUSAL OR NEGLECT OF OFFICERS TO PERFORM DUTIES

(a) The sheriffs of the several counties and their county sheriffs, sheriff’s deputies, constables,
officers or members of the village or city police, state police State Police, and investigators of the
liquor control board are hereby empowered, and it is hereby made their Liquor Control Board
shall have the authority and duty to see that the provisions of this title and the rules and
regulations made as authorized adopted by the liquor control board herein provided for Liquor
Control Board pursuant to this title are enforced within their respective jurisdictions. Any such
officer who willfully refuses or neglects to perform the duties imposed upon him or her by this
section shall be fined not more than $500.00 or imprisoned not more than 90 days, or both.

These penalties appear to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.

(b) A control commissioner, state’s attorney State™ gy, or town

grand juror who willfully refuses or neglects to investigate a complaint for a violation of this
chapter, when accompanied by evidence in or neglects to investigate a support thereof of the
complaint, shall be fined $300.00.

State’s attorney should not be capitalized.

This penalty appears to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.

§ 660. ADVERTISING

(a) A person shall not display on outside billboards or signs erected on the highway any
advertisement of any kind of malt, vinous beverage or spirituous liquor relating to alcoholic
beverages, or indicate where the same alcoholic beverages may be procured. However, the
prohibition contained in this section shall not apply to a motor vehicle lawfully transporting in
transit malt, vinous beverage or spirituous liquor from a place in another state to a place in
another state. A person who violates any provision of this section shall be fined not more than
$100.00 nor less than $10.00, for each offense, and such a conviction for a violation shall be
cause for revoking the person’s license after conviction issued under this title.

We need to make significant changes to this section. Local beverage alcohol delivery trucks
may now have exterior signage with some branded imaging attached. There is widespread use
of OBGS signage throughout the State highlighting the locations of distillers, restaurants and
stores that retail beverage alcohol. The regulations in title 7 and those of the Agency of
Transportation differ. These regulations need to be lined up.

The structuring of the penalty range would lead one to believe that this is considered a minor

offense
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§ 661. VIOLATIONS OF TITLE

(a)(1) A person, partnership, association, or corporation who that furnishes, sells, exposes, or
keeps with intent to sell, or bottles or prepares for sale any malt or vinous beverages, spirits, or
fortified wines alcoholic beverages, except as authorized by this title, or sells, barters, transports,
imports, exports, delivers, prescribes, furnishes, or possesses alcohol, except as authorized by the
Liquor Control Board, or who that unlawfully manufactures alcohol or possesses a still or other
apparatus for the manufacture of alcohol shall be imprisoned not more than 12 months nor less
than three months or fined not more than $1,000.00 nor less than $100.00, or both.

The current jail sentence in this case is a sufficient deterrent to illegal importation.
I would recommend that the fine maximum be increased to $2,500.00.

(2) For a subsequent conviction thereof under subdivision (1) of this subsection within one year,
such a person, partnership, association, or corporation shall be imprisoned not more than three
years nor less than six months or fined not more than $2,000.00 nor less than $500.00, or both.

I recommend that the fine maximumg be raised to 85,000. This amount would be more
appropriate for someone that consciously re-offends and provides the board with discretion to
assess appropriate penalties over a broad range of illegal importation infractions.

(b) A person, partnership, association, or corporation, who that willfully violates a provision of
this title for which no other penalty is prescribed or who that willfully violates a provision of the
regulations rule of the Liquor Control Board shall be imprisoned not more than three months nor
less than one month or fined not more than $200.00 nor less than $50.00, or both.

The incarceration piece of this penalty seems sufficient.

I'would suggest that the financial penalty range is not significant enough to make a meaningful
impression on someone who consciously decides not to comply with any aspect of the statute.
The Board should have broader discretion on implementing fines and penalties. Irecommend a
penalty range of $100.00 to $500.00

§ 665. PURCHASE OF KEGS OF MALT BEVERAGES

Any person individual who, within 60 days of purchase, fails to return a keg, as defined in
section 64 of this title, sold pursuant to section 64 of this chapter to the second class second-class

OF JOURIRSCIERS licensee from which the keg was purchased shall be fined not more than $200.00.

We need to add fourth class licensees to this section to reflect the fact that they may now retail
kegs from their licensed establishments.
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I also recommend establishing a flat penalty for not returning a keg rather than a range. Section
665 does not indicate who can assess a penalty and who has the discretion to establish an
amount.

I recommend establishing $200.00 per keg as a flat penalty because it covers the cost of
replacing a 15.5-gallon keg.

§ 1003. SALE OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS; TOBACCO SUBSTITUTES; TOBACCO
PARAPHERNALIA; REQUIREMENTS; PROHIBITIONS

(d) The sale and the purchase of bidis is prohibited. A person who holds a tobacco license who
sells bidis as prohibited by this subsection shall be fined not more than $500.00. A person who
purchases bidis from any source shall be fined not more than $250.00.

These penalties appear to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.

§ 1005. PERSONS UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE; POSSESSION OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS;
MISREPRESENTING AGE OR PURCHASING TOBACCO PRODUCTS; PENALTY

(b) A person who possesses tobacco products, tobacco substitutes, or

tobacco paraphernalia in violation of this subsection (a) of this section shall be

subject to having the tobacco products, tobacco substitutes, or tobacco

paraphernalia immediately confiscated and shall be further subject to a civil penalty of $25.00
I recommend increasing the penalty for a first-time offense to $75.00 and $100.00 for a second
offense, $200.00 for a third offense. The community service requirement would apply to all
infractions.

(c) A person under 18 years of age who misrepresents his or her age by presenting false
identification to purchase tobacco products, tobacco substitutes, or tobacco paraphernalia shall
be fined not more than $50.00 or provide up to 10 hours of community service, or both.

I recommend increasing the penalty for a first-time offense to $75.00 and $100.00 for future
offenses along with 30- day driver license suspension.

§ 1006. POSTING OF SIGNS

(b) A person violating this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and fined not more than
$100.00.

These penalties appear to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.
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§ 1007. FURNISHING TOBACCO TO PERSONS UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE; REPORT

(a) An individual who A person that sells or furnishes tobacco products, tobacco substitutes, or
tobacco paraphernalia to a person under 18 years of age shall be subject to a civil penalty of not
more than $100.00 for the first offense and not more than $500.00 for any subsequent offense.

These penalties appear to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.

(2) Any violation by a tobacco licensee of subsection 1003(a) of this title and this section after a
first sale violation or during a compliance test conducted within six-menths three years of a
previous violation shall be considered a multiple violation and shall result in the minimum
license suspension in addition to any other penalties available under this title. Minimum license
suspensions for multiple violations shall be assessed as follows:

(A) Two violations one weekday;

(B) Three violations two weekdays;

(C) Four violations three weekdays;

(D) Five violations three weekend days, Friday through Sunday.

These penalties do not convey the appropriate message. The first offense receives no suspension
of the business’ tobacco license. With that thought in mind the penalties for repeat infractions
should be stiffened.

I recommend the following:
(A) Two violations  two weekdays
(B) Three violations 15-day suspension
(C) Four violations  90-day suspension
(D) Five violations  one year suspension

The time frame for repeat violation is far to short especially for the large number of licensees. 1
would recommend that this time frame be extended from six moths to three years to harmonize it
to Section 210 (b)(4).
The word “first” should be struck as it appears to eliminate intended penalties for subsequent
sales.
§ 1009. CONTRABAND AND SEIZURE
All cigarettes or other tobacco products seized shall be destroyed.
This penalty appears to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.

I also recommend the following:

A monetary fine of between $500.00-$1,000
Possible confiscation of the vehicle used in the illegal importation activity.
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§ 1010. INTERNET SALES 32 V.S.A. § 7702(13).

(1) A knowing or intentional violation of this section shall be punishable by imprisonment for
not more than five years or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both.

This penalty appears to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.

(2) In addition to or in lieu of any other civil or criminal remedy provided by law, upon a
determination that a person has violated this section, the Attorney General may impose a civil
penalty in an amount not to exceed $5,000.00 for each violation. For purposes of this subsection,
each shipment or transport of cigarettes, roll-your-own tobacco, little cigars, or snuff shall
constitute a separate violation.

This penalty appears to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.

§ 1011. COMMERCIAL CIGARETTE ROLLING MACHINES

(a) A person shall not possess or use a cigarette rolling machine for
commercial purposes.

(2) A civil penalty of up to $50,000.00 in any action brought by the Department of Taxes, the
Department of Liquor Control, or the Attorney General.

This penalty appears to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.

(d) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned for not more than
three years or fined not more than $100,000.00, or both.

This penalty appears to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.

§ 301. PENALTY FOR REFUSAL TO ASSIST

A person being required in the name of the State by a sheriff, deputy sheriff, high bailiff, deputy
bailiff, or constable, who neglects or refuses to assist such the officer in the execution of his or
her office, in a criminal cause, or in the preservation of the peace, or in the apprehension and
securing of a person for a breach of the peace, or in a search and seizure of intoxicating liquors
alcohol as defined in 7 V.S.A. § 2 or in transporting such liquors the alcohol when seized, or in a
case of escape or rescue of persons arrested on civil process, shall be fined not more than
$500.00, unless the circumstances under which his or her assistance is called for amount to a riot,
in which case he or she shall be imprisoned not more than six months or fined not more than
$100.00, or both.

This penalty appears to be appropriate for the seriousness of the offense.
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Respectfully Submitted,

Patrick Delaney, Commissioner
Department of Liquor Control
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