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State Transportation Revenue Sources 2024

Source: National Association of State Budget Officers (2024)
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Combined Fuel Tax Revenue

Sources: Reason Foundation, U.S. Energy Information Administration, Bloomberg New Energy Finance, 
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Dwindling Gas Tax
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Source: FY24 estimates from National Association of State Budget Officers (NASBO).

Total Percentage of Transportation Fund Revenue from Motor Fuel Tax 
(FY24)
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State Gas Tax Changes

State Actions
• Since 2013, 34 states & D.C. 

have increased their gas tax.

• 24 states & D.C. have 

indexed or variable-rate gas 

taxes.
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• Fuel Taxes

• Sales Taxes on Fuel

• Vehicle Registration

• Weight Fees

• Traffic Camera Fees

• Tolls

• General Funds

• Interest Income

• Inspection Fees

• Advertising

• Impact Fees

• License of Permit Fees

• Weight-Distance Tax

• Loan Fees

State Transportation Funding Sources
• State Lottery

• Excise Taxes

• Ad Valorem Taxes

• Sales Tax

• Oil Company Taxes

• Fares

• Logo Signing

• Situs Tax

• Rail Service Fees

• Toll Road Leases

• Use Tax

• Fines

• Tobacco Tax

• Rail Regulation Fees

• Corporate Taxes

• Container Fees

• Land Sales

• Advertising Revenue

• Service Payments

• Contractor’s Tax

• Oil Tax

• Investment Income

• Surcharge Fees

• Payroll Tax

• Right-of-way

• Service Concessions

• Loan Repayment

• Mass-Transit Tax

• MBUF/RUC/VMT Fees

• Highway Litter Control Fund

• Mineral Royalties 

• Short-term Lease/Borrowing

• Parking Meters

• Casino Revenue

• Hotel Revenue

• Delivery Fees

• TNC Fees (Uber/Lyft)

• EV Charging Fees

• Vehicle or Rental Car Sales Tax

• Documentary Stamp Revenue

• Boarding Funding Obligations
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State Electric Vehicle (EV) & Plug-In Hybrid Fees

State Actions
• 39 states have EV 

annual registration fees.

• EV fees range: lowest at $50 

(Colorado, Hawaii, South 

Dakota) to the highest at 

$290 (New Jersey by 2028). 

• 22 states have plug-in 

hybrid fee.

• Hybrid fees range: lowest 

at $50 (Indiana, Kansas, 

Arkansas) to the highest at 

$150 (Ohio). 
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Also Known as: Mileage-based user fee (MBUF), and vehicle miles traveled fee (VMT)

• RUC Definition

• Roadway consumption tax that uses distance in miles as the measure of use instead 
of fuel. 

• A per-mile charge.

• Four states operate voluntary RUC programs

1. Oregon

2. Utah

3. Virginia

4. Hawaii (July 2025)

Road Usage Charges (RUC)
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• Oregon

• Program: OReGO

• In Operation since: 2015

• Rate: 2 cents per mile (2024)

• Enrollees: ~800

RUC Cont’d: Program Overviews

• Utah
• Program: RUC Utah
• In Operation since: 2020
• Rate: 1.25 cents per mile 

(2025)
• Enrollees: ~5,000

• Virginia
• Program: Mileage Choice 

Program
• In Operation since: 2022
• Rate: estimated 1 cent per mile 

for EVs only
• Enrollees: ~28,000
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• Oregon

• Eligible Vehicles: Electric, plug-in hybrid, compressed 
natural gas and propane vehicles

• Collection Method(s): OBD plug-in, non-GPS odometer 
reading; or connected vehicle readings via smart vehicles 
(telematics reading). 

RUC Cont’d: Collection Methods and Eligible Vehicles

• Utah
• Eligible Vehicles:  Electric vehicles 
• Collection Method(s): telematic readings; or odometer 

photos taken every three months with a smartphone or 
tablet.

• Virginia
• Eligible Vehicles: Fuel efficient (25 mpg average) and electric 

vehicles
• Collection Method(s): OBD plug-in or telematics reading



N A T I O N A L  C O N F E R E N C E  O F  S T A T E  L E G I S L A T U R E S

State RUC Programs 

Virginia

• Created by Virginia’s Legislature: SB 890 (2020) established a voluntary RUC program.

• Effective Date: Virginia’s voluntary mileage choice program went live on July 1, 2022. 
• Eligible Vehicles: Fuel efficient (25 mpg average) and electric vehicles.

• Payment and Vendor Options: One firm—Emovis—offers reporting and payment services.

• Other Provisions: 

• Drivers with eligible vehicles may choose to participate in the mileage use fee program instead of paying a 
required annual highway use fee. 

• Mileage choice program participants have option to choose a mileage reporting device with or without GPS capability. 

• The mileage choice fee is calculated by dividing the highway use fee by the average number of miles traveled by a 
passenger vehicle (11,600 miles) in the Commonwealth to determine a per-mile fee. Mileage choice participants will 
never pay more than their annual highway use fee. 
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State RUC Programs Cont.
Hawaii

• Created by Hawaii’s Legislature: SB 1534 (2023) established a mandatory RUC program.  

• Effective Date: July 1, 2025. 

• Eligible Vehicles: Only electric vehicles. 

• RUC Reporting and Payment Collection: Fee is calculated based on the vehicle's two most recent 
odometer readings, which are done during state's annual required vehicle safety inspection. Road user fee 
must be paid concurrent with annual registration renewal. Fee is capped at $50 annually. 

• Other Provisions: 

• Mileage Rate is 0.08 cents per mile. 

• After June 30, 2028, electric vehicle owners must enroll in the RUC program. 

• Revenue collected will be deposited into the state highway fund. 

• Hawaii DOT must submit plan to the Legislature by Dec. 2025 for transitioning all vehicles in Hawaii to a 
road usage charge. 
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MBUF and Strategic Innovation for Revenue Collection (SIRC)
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Per Kilowatt Hour Charges  i.e. EV Public Charging Station Fees ​
Nine states—Georgia, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Utah and Wisconsin—have laws 
taxing electricity consumed at public EV charging stations. Revenue is mostly dedicated to transportation infrastructure. 

Utah (HB 301, 2023)

o Created a 12.5% tax on the total sale of electricity. 
o Revenue deposited into transportation fund. 
o Permits charging stations operators to retain 6% of tax 

earned to cover collection costs. 

Maryland (SB 362, 2024)
o Requires the Comptroller to distribute the sales and use 

tax revenue attributable to the sale of electricity at 
an EV charging station to the Transportation Trust Fund.

Pennsylvania (SB 656, 2024)

o Maintained 1.72-cents-per-kWh tax on electricity used 
for EV charging at public charging stations. 

o Amended law to exempt private charging stations and 
chargers from per kWh tax. 

o Revenue funds highway and bridge construction, 
maintenance and improvement and to State Policy 
Highway Patrol Operations and Dept. Of Transportation 
activities. 

o In 2023, the tax generated $1 million. 



N A T I O N A L  C O N F E R E N C E  O F  S T A T E  L E G I S L A T U R E S

Transportation Network Company (Uber/Lyft) Fees

States with fees on TNCs

States with fees on TNCs 
dedicated to Transportation
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Delivery Fees

Colorado (SB 260, 2021)
Enacted 27 cent fee on all retail and food deliveries 
at point of sale. 

• In first year, fee generated $75.9 million.

• Fees are collected by the retailer. 

• Colorado amended the law to exempt 
businesses with $500,000 or less in annual 
sales from collecting the fee. 

• Generated funds for Highway Users Tax Fund 
(HUTF) for use by local governments, Statewide 
Bridge and Tunnel Enterprise and for Clean 
Transit Enterprise.

Minnesota (HF 2887, 2023)
Enacted 50 cent fee for each retail delivery purchases over 
$100 that includes at least one taxable item.

• Estimated to generate $59 million in first year. 
• Exempts baby products, medical devices, prepared 

food, food and food ingredients. 
• Exemptions for small businesses, MnDOT permitted 

delivery vehicles and food and beverage service 
providers. 

• Proceeds deposited into Transportation 
Advancement Account and Food Delivery Support 
Account, which provides road and project funding for 
local jurisdictions.
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States with Managed Lanes Source: Int'l Bridge, Tunnel and 
Turnpike Assoc. (IBTTA)
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Corporate Transit Fee

o New Jersey (AB 4704, 2024)

▪ Created a 2.5% surtax on corporate businesses 
with taxable net income over $10 million. 

▪ Revenue supports state transit system’s 
operating expenses and pays for the state’s 
matching funds required to receive federal 
funding for new transit projects.

▪ Projected to generate:

• $1 billion of additional tax revenue (FY25)

• over $800 million (FY26-FY28) and

• over $500 million (FY29)

Other Funding Approaches
Income Tax

o Massachusetts (Ballot Question 1, 2022)

▪ Sets A 4% incremental tax increase on income 
above $1 million. 

• First $1 million is taxed at 5%

• Second $1 million is taxed at 9% total

▪ Revenue is capped at $1 billion (adjusted 
annually) and is allocated each budget cycle 
for transportation and public education. 

• 41% ($538,000,000) allocated to 
transportation  (FY25)

• 48% ($476,500,000) allocated to 
transportation (FY24)
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• NCSL Alternative Transportation User Fees Foundation Partnership - https://www.ncsl.org/transportation/ncsl-
alternative-transportation-user-fees-foundation-partnership

• State Road Usage Charge Toolkit- https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/state-road-user-charge-pilot-
results-and-legislative-action.aspx

• Recent Legislative Actions Likely to Change Gas Taxes- https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/2013-and-
2014-legislative-actions-likely-to-change-gas-taxes.aspx

• Variable Rate Gas Taxes- https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/variable-rate-gas-taxes.aspx

• Electric Vehicle and Plug-in Hybrid Fees - https://www.ncsl.org/research/energy/new-fees-on-hybrid-and-electric-
vehicles.aspx

• Transportation Funding and Finance State Bill Tracking Database-
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/ncsl-transportation-funding-finance-legis-database.aspx

NCSL Transportation Funding Resources

https://www.ncsl.org/transportation/ncsl-alternative-transportation-user-fees-foundation-partnership
https://www.ncsl.org/transportation/ncsl-alternative-transportation-user-fees-foundation-partnership
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/state-road-user-charge-pilot-results-and-legislative-action.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/state-road-user-charge-pilot-results-and-legislative-action.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/2013-and-2014-legislative-actions-likely-to-change-gas-taxes.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/2013-and-2014-legislative-actions-likely-to-change-gas-taxes.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/variable-rate-gas-taxes.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/energy/new-fees-on-hybrid-and-electric-vehicles.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/energy/new-fees-on-hybrid-and-electric-vehicles.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/ncsl-transportation-funding-finance-legis-database.aspx
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Thank you for joining today! 

www.ncsl.org

@NCSLorg

Matt Wicks
Transportation Policy Associate
matthew.wicks@NCSL.ORG
720-831-0464

Doug Shinkle
Director of Transportation Program
Douglas.Shinkle@NCSL.ORG
303-521-6359

http://www.ncsl.org/
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