

Honorable Chair Lyons and Committee Senators:

The Vermont Society of Health-System Pharmacists (<u>VtSHP</u>) writes to request your support to deny repealing section 4 in H.266. This section has led to an increase in medication safety, improved efficiency of care and improved patient-centered decision making for their own care.

- The section gives patients and their providers choice in how they buy their medication. They can choose safety over risk.
- This section gives patients and providers real-time access to medications and an ability to modify doses without any delivery delays from an external pharmacy. This significantly reduces the potential for disease flares.
- If the dose needs to be increased or decreased, the provider can facilitate a quick change. If the medication is sent from an outside pharmacy, it may have to be wasted and would create delays until a new dose arrives.
- This section ensures that the medications are able to be tracked from manufacturer to patient (pedigree). It takes the guesswork out of medications delivered in undescriptive bags and manila envelopes to the hospital or clinic mailroom from a courier or delivery company – Are these safe to use? This section guarantees safety and integrity of the product following the FDA Drug Supply Chain and Security Act guidance and United States Pharmacopeia Chapter <1079> on Good Storage and Shipping Practices. Patients deserve an unadulterated medication.
- Providers can choose to procure medications from high-quality manufacturers and only have to maintain one inventory. This improves efficiency of the system and improve effectiveness of the therapy.
- This section will prevent pharmacists and providers from "redispensing" or re-labeling a medication that requires compounding. Redispensing is not described in Federal or State statute or State Board of Pharmacy rules. This is a regulatory risk for providers. Are 7 vials of uncompounded Remicade or Inflectra [BCBS list] truly "ready for administration"?

Thank you for consideration in your support of this important patient safety legislation.

Jennifer Burrier, PharmD President	Sara Schleifer, PharmD Past President	
Alivia Castle, PharmD	Kristina Scaccia, PharmD, MBA	Lauren Wardwell, PharmD
Resident Representative	Treasurer	Secretary
Rae Kirkpatrick, CPhT	Alyssa Cappelluti, PharmD, MHSA	Emily Piehl, PharmD
Technician Representative	Member at large	Member at large