(dr req 25- – draft 1.1) 3/13/2025 - CTW - 12:16 PM

1	Sec. 1. DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY; BUILDING AND FIRE SAFETY
2	CODE; RULEMAKING
3	On or before July 1, 2026, the Division of Fire Safety shall amend the
4	Vermont Building and Fire Safety Code pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 to:
5	(1) permit all multi-story, multiunit residential dwellings that are
6	equipped with a fire sprinkler system to have a single exit stairwell; and
7	(2) permit newly installed elevators in residential buildings that are three
8	or more stories in height above or below grade level to have an elevator cab of
9	any size that meets or exceeds the minimum dimensional requirements of the
10	Americans with Disabilities Act.
11	Sec. 2. 22 V.S.A. § 723 is amended to read:
12	§ 723. DUTIES AND POWERS OF DIVISION AND STATE HISTORIC
13	PRESERVATION OFFICER
14	(a) The State Historic Preservation Officer shall, through the administration
15	of the Division, and where required by section 742 of this title, with the
16	approval of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation:
17	* * *
18	(10) Adopt rules under the provisions of 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 to carry
19	out the purposes of this chapter. Rules adopted under this subdivision shall not
20	require changes to a proposed project at a historic site if the project does not
21	affect the exterior envelop of the building and the changes would result in:

(dr req 25- – draft 1.1) 3/13/2025 - CTW - 12:16 PM

1	(A) a reduction in the number of residential units available for a
2	given project; or
3	(B) an increase in cost to the project of greater than 10 percent of the
4	overall project costs.
5	* * *
6	Sec. 3. MINIMAL DESIGN STANDARDS REPORT
7	On or before July 1, 2026, the Commissioner of Housing and Community
8	Development shall report to the Senate Committee on Economic Development,
9	General and Housing and the House Committee on Environment on whether
10	the State should adopt minimal design standards for construction that could be
11	used to reduce municipal permit processing. The Commissioner may review
12	what other states, including Maine, have done.
13	Sec. 4. 27A V.S.A. § 2-125 is added to read:
14	§ 2-125. LIMITATION ON RESIDENTIAL RENTAL AGREEMENTS;
15	PROHIBITED
16	(a) A common interest community shall not prohibit or limit a unit owner
17	from renting or leasing a unit for residential purposes. The limitation in this
18	section shall not apply to a short-term rental as that term is defined in 18
19	<u>V.S.A. § 4301.</u>
20	(b) Notwithstanding section 1-201 of this title, this section shall apply to all
21	common interest communities that contain 12 or more units that may be used

(dr req 25- – draft 1.1) 3/13/2025 - CTW - 12:16 PM

1	for residential purposes and are created after December 31, 2025, or are subject
2	to this title by amendment of their declaration.
3	Sec. 4. DISABILITY HOUSING GRANTS; PILOT PROGRAM
4	(a) The Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living shall
5	create a pilot program to grant funds to individuals with physical disabilities
6	for use in procuring or modifying a residential dwelling unit to accommodate
7	the individual's disability. To the greatest extent possible, the funds shall be
8	used to match other private and public funds for similar purposes.
9	(b) Annually on or before December 31, until all funds have been
10	expended, the Department shall report to the General Assembly on the use of
11	the funds.
12	(c) The sum of \$1,000,000.00 is appropriated from the General Fund to the
13	Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living for the purposes of
14	the pilot program outlined in this section.
15	Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATE
16	This act shall take effect on July 1, 2025.