Property Tax Deferrals:

Review of the National Landscape

Jake Feldman, Senior Fiscal Analyst
Office of the Commissioner

February 11th, 2025



Why Are We Talking About Deferrals?

- The Tax Department is <u>proposing</u> to change VT's income-based property tax relief program from an income-based credit to a homestead exemption tiered based on income
- The reason for the proposal is to improve transparency and make the education property tax more progressive with respect to property wealth. (See Act 183 report for full details)
- Households with high property value relative to their income would likely experience tax increases under the exemption and deferrals are a type of relief commonly offered in other states to assist households in that situation





<u>Deferral Programs in Other States:</u>

- 31 other states and D.C. offer deferral programs
- Only principal residences are eligible
- 27 states limit eligibility to seniors (usually 65+) and/or disabled
- 24 states have income limits (up to \$100,000 but usually closer to \$50,000)
- Many require a minimum number of years in the home before eligibility
- All programs charge interest and most or all put a lien on the property
- Taxes are due upon transfer, owner moves out, or owner/co-owner passes

Source: https://www.lincolninst.edu/data/significant-features-property-tax/access-database/residential-property-tax-relief-programs/



Maine's Deferral Program:

- For 65 and older or permanently disabled (as determined by a state or federal agency)
- Income under \$80,000 and liquid assets less than \$150,000 (\$100,000 if single). Liquid assets are anything that can be converted to cash in 3 months or less
- Property owners apply to their municipalities between January 1st and April 1st. State reimburses the towns for deferred taxes
- Applicants must also be getting a homestead exemption and don't need to re-apply each year
- Established in 2022 and costs about \$1.5M per year

Source: https://www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/tax-relief-credits-programs/property-tax-relief-programs/deferral-program



Minnesota's Deferral Program:

- For 65 and older. If married, spouse must be at least 62
- Income under \$96,000
- Must be a homestead for the past five years. Only the taxes on house and the surrounding 1 acre are eligible
- No reverse mortgages, life estate, or other state or federal liens on the property
- Owner pays up to 3% of prior year income on property taxes and can defer the rest. State reimburses towns
- The max that can be deferred is 75% of the estimated market value of the property minus the balance of any loans at the time of application
- Costs the state around \$2M per year

Source: https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/property-tax-deferral-senior-citizens



Oregon's Deferral Program:

- Applicants must be 62+, disabled, or receive federal SSD benefits
- Household income from prior year can't be over \$60,000
- Net worth must be less than \$500K (excluding home and personal property)
- Homestead value can't exceed certain limits that vary based on county and years of residency
- State and local govt share the tax loss
- Created in 1963 and was net positive to the state's general fund by 2000

Source: https://www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/property/pages/senior-and-disabled-property-tax-deferral-program.aspx



Consideration for a Vermont Deferral Program:

- Would the deferral program be limited to only seniors?
- Participants should be able to elect to defer <u>up to</u> some amount (so that they are not deferring more tax than they actually owe)
- Maximum deferral amounts could be configured to complement the homestead exemption and strategically mitigate tax increases

| Income | Theoretical Maximum Deferral | | | | | | |
|-----------------|------------------------------|--|--|--|--|--|--|
| \$0 to \$25K | \$2,000 | | | | | | |
| \$25K to \$50K | \$1,500 | | | | | | |
| \$50K to \$75K | \$1,000 | | | | | | |
| \$75K to \$100K | \$500 | | | | | | |



FY25 Household Counts and Average Impacts by Income and Property Value (Preliminary)

| Inc \ Prop→ | 0 to 100K | 100K to 225K | 225K to 300K | 300K to 400K | Over 400K | Total |
|------------------------|-----------|--------------|--------------|--------------|-----------|---------|
| \$0 to \$10K | 400 | 600 | 200 | 100 | 100 | 1,500 |
| \$10K to \$25K | 1,800 | 4,500 | 1,600 | 1,000 | 500 | 9,400 |
| \$25K to \$47K | 2,800 | 9,900 | 4,500 | 2,900 | 1,600 | 21,800 |
| \$47K to \$90K | 2,800 | 18,600 | 12,000 | 9,600 | 5,900 | 49,000 |
| \$90K to \$115K | 600 | 6,500 | 5,900 | 5,700 | 4,300 | 23,000 |
| Total | 8,400 | 40,100 | 24,300 | 19,400 | 12,500 | 104,600 |

| Inc↓ Prop→ | • | 0 to 100K | 10 | 00K to 225K | 2 | 25K to 300K | 3 | 800K to 400K | Over 400K | Total |
|-----------------|----|-----------|----|-------------|----|-------------|----|--------------|-------------|-------------|
| \$0 to \$10K | \$ | 100 | \$ | 700 | \$ | 1,200 | \$ | 1,700 | \$ 1,900 | \$ 800 |
| \$10K to \$25K | \$ | - | \$ | 400 | \$ | 900 | \$ | 1,400 | \$ 1,600 | \$ 600 |
| \$25K to \$47K | \$ | (300) | \$ | - | \$ | 400 | \$ | 900 | \$ 1,200 | \$ 200 |
| \$47K to \$90K | \$ | (400) | \$ | (500) | \$ | (100) | \$ | 400 | \$ 400 | \$ (100) |
| \$90K to \$115K | \$ | (100) | \$ | (200) | \$ | - | \$ | (100) | \$ (300) | \$ (100) |
| Total | \$ | (200) | \$ | (200) | \$ | 100 | \$ | 400 | \$ 300 | \$ - |



Follow-Ups from Testimony on February 4th:

- Deferrals are generally not compatible with reverse mortgages
- In Vermont, property in a trust cannot be a homestead except in certain situations: 32 V.S.A. § 6062(e). No changes to ownership rules are being proposed in this proposal

In FY25 3,070 trusts received education tax credits totaling \$6.2M In FY25 4,650 life estates received education tax credits totaling \$8.6M

 Gains from the sale of a primary residence are not taxable at the federal level or in Vermont if they are less than \$500,000 (MfJ) or \$250,000 (Single). Gains over that amount are taxable and are not eligible for Vermont's Capital Gains Exclusion

