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“With a commitment to excellence, the dedicated employees of DMV strive to provide 
the highest level of customer service through the administration of motor vehicle laws 

and the promotion of highway safety.”



Registration, 

Tax, and Title



Is a title required?

As of July 1, 2024 a title is required for a Vermont 

title to be issued; however, a title may not always 

be available when registering or titling your vehicle.

* Used vehicles on private property

* Used vehicles in possession of dealer inventory

* Registered in VT prior to legislation

* Registered out-of-state





National Motor Vehicle Title Information 

System (NMVTIS)

* VT joined in 2020

* Fraud prevention

* Consistency among states

* Verifying ownership

* Junk, Salvage, Insurance (JSI)

* Branding





Title Branding





Vermont Issued License Plates

* 1916 Pressed Steel Plates

* 1957 Vanity Plates

* 1987 POW Plates

* 1989 Safety Organization Plates

* 1990’s Various Specialty Plates



Application for Plates

* Who can apply for specialty plates?

* Working with Veterans Affairs

* Documentation Required



VIN Verification

* Salvage 
documentation

* Titled under bond
* Imported vehicles



Salvage Vehicles
What is a salvage vehicle, and can it be titled?

* CARFAX (or similar)

* Valid Inspection (AVIP)

* VIN verification

* JSI Information 

* Salvage yards required to report

* VT junk vehicle titles 



Vehicle Tax
Purchase & Use Tax vs. Sales Tax

* 6% Purchase and Use Tax

* Tax paid to another state

* Tax paid and remitted to VT

* Tax credits timeframe

* Lemon refunds for tax paid

* Tax receipts (Home Depot)

* VA Assistance – tax and registration

* Tax on a lease

* Tax on a lease paid to another state



JD Power Valuation

* Private Sale
* Dealer Appraisal



Max Tax $2486

* Trucks registered at 10,099 or more

* Off-highway tractors

* Trailers

Exemptions

* Charitable or religious institutions

* Giftable relationship

* Permanent disability



Boats, ATV’s, and 

Snowmobiles



Boats & Vessel Validations

* Does a boat require a title?



Boats & Vessel Validations

* What is a vessel validation?

* Who can acquire a vessel validation?

* Are there limitations?



ATV’s & Snowmobiles

* State reciprocity w/ valid registration

* Operating on private land

* VASA & VAST trail systems



International 

Registration 

Plan, Inc

(IRP)



* What is IRP?
* History of IRP

* How are IRP fees charged?
* Who should apply for IRP?
* IRP Account Requirements

* IRP Fleet Requirements



Crash Reporting
Operator Crash Reporting vs. Police Crash Reporting

* Requirement to submit w/in 72 hours

* Required details

* Police crash reports



Restricted 
Driver’s License 

Program
(RDL)



What is an RDL?

* When is an RDL required?

* Is an RDL optional?

* Ignition Interlock Device (IID)

* Life suspensions

* Conditions of Reinstatement

* How often is an RDL renewed

* Random testing and calibrations (reports)

* BAC .02 or more



IID Breath Volume Waiver

* Breath sample 1.5 liters

* Health issues

* Incapable of enough volume?

* Pulmonologist required



Investigation 

Referrals



Who can make a referral?

* Concerned citizen

* Medical doctor

* Police officer

* Results of investigation

* Driver rehabilitation

* Immediate suspension

* Non-driver ID



Universal Medical 
Evaluations &

Driver Eyesight 
Evaluations



When are they required?

* Request of medical doctor

* Request of ophthalmologist

* Required at intervals

* License application

* Safety

* Result of crash or traffic stop


