VERMONT FISH & WILDLIFE DEPARTMENT

MENTORED HUNTING LICENSE 2024 REPORT

Submitted to: Vermont Legislature House Committee on Environment and Energy

Submitted by: Andrea Shortsleeve, Interim Commissioner Vermont Fish and Wildlife Department January 3, 2025



2024 VERMONT FISH AND WILDLIFE DEPARTMENT MENTORED HUNTING LICENSE REPORT

BACKGROUND

Mentored hunting licenses are available to resident and nonresidents who have not successfully completed a mandatory hunter education course nor held a hunting license in Vermont or any other state or province. The license is designed to allow people to experience hunting, under close supervision, without having to commit to taking a hunter education course first.

Mentored license holders may only hunt when they are accompanied by an adult 21 years of age or older who holds a current year Vermont hunting license. "Accompanied" means the mentored hunter is in the direct control and supervision of the mentor, including remaining within 15 feet or less, at all times. Among other restrictions, any game taken is considered part of the mentor's bag limit, and any points or fines for violations are also assessed against the mentor. All fines are doubled.

Mentored hunting license holders are not eligible for moose permits or the youth deer and turkey weekends, and a federal duck stamp is still required to hunt waterfowl. A mentored hunting license can only be purchased in two separate calendar years. The cost is \$10, regardless of residency.

RESULTS

Mentored hunting license holders have a spotless safety record and this year was no exception. In 2024, the department issued <u>189</u> resident and <u>72</u> non-resident mentored hunting licenses.