## State of Vermont House of Representatives



Montpelter, Vermont

## Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 64

Offered by Representatives McCann of Montpelier, Austin of Colchester, Berbeco of Winooski, Bishop of Colchester, Bluemle of Burlington, Bos-Lun of Westminster, Burke of Brattleboro, Burkhardt of South Burlington, Casey of Montpelier, Cina of Burlington, Coffin of Cavendish, Cole of Hartford, Dolan of Essex Junction, Duke of Burlington, Eastes of Guilford, Garofano of Essex, Goldman of Rockingham, Goslant of Northfield, Graning of Jericho, Greer of Bennington, Gregoire of Fairfield, Hango of Berkshire, Harrison of Chittenden, Headrick of Burlington, Holcombe of Norwich, Houghton of Essex Junction, Howard of Rutland City, James of Manchester, McGill of Bridport, Minier of South Burlington, Morris of Springfield, Mrowicki of Putney, Nugent of South Burlington, Ode of Burlington, Page of Newport City, Priestley of Bradford, Sibilia of Dover, Sweeney of Shelburne, Tomlinson of Winooski, Torre of Moretown, and Waszazak of Barre City

Offered by Senators Bongartz, Cummings, Gulick, Perchlik, Vyhovsky, Watson, and Weeks

House concurrent resolution congratulating Caitlin MacLeod-Bluver of Winooski High School on her selection as the 2025 Vermont Teacher of the Year and Jeremy DeMink of Edmunds Middle School in Burlington and Sonya Shedd of Wolcott Elementary School on their recognition as Distinguished Finalists

*Whereas*, since 1964, the Agency of Education has honored an outstanding educator as the Vermont Teacher of the Year, and

Whereas, for 2025, the Agency is pleased to bestow this honor on Caitlin MacLeod-Bluver, a teacher of English and history and a reading specialist at Winooski High School, who also serves as an adjunct faculty member at the University of Vermont and previously taught in Boston, Massachusetts, and Juneau, Alaska, and

Whereas, her academic and professional credentials are extremely impressive as she is a graduate of Wesleyan University; earned a master's degree from the University of Massachusetts at Boston, an advanced certificate in literacy and language from Massachusetts General Hospital's Institute of Health Professions, and an advanced certificate in leadership from the Peronne-Sizer Institute for Creative Leadership; and served at the National Geographic Society as a Grosvenor Teaching Fellow and summer teaching fellow, and at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration as a planetary steward, and

Whereas, she adeptly applies her experience working with refugee and immigrant students in Boston, Massachusetts, to her multilingual and multinational Winooski classroom, developing a curriculum reflective of their diverse backgrounds, and she is an exceptional educator who inspires her students and makes them feel respected and valued, and

Whereas, Distinguished Finalists Jeremy DeMink and Sonya Shedd are outstanding educators who enrich their classrooms, now therefore be it

## Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates Caitlin MacLeod-Bluver of Winooski High School on her selection as the 2025 Vermont Teacher of the Year and Jeremy DeMink of Edmunds Middle School in Burlington and Sonya Shedd of Wolcott Elementary School on their recognition as Distinguished Finalists, *and be it further* 

**Resolved:** That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each of these honored teachers.