JOURNAL OF THE JOINT ASSEMBLY of the STATE OF VERMONT BIENNIAL SESSION, 2025

IN JOINT ASSEMBLY, January 9, 2025

10:00 A.M.

The Senate and the House of Representatives met in the Hall of the House of Representatives pursuant to a Joint Resolution which was read by the Clerk and is as follows:

J.R.S. 2. Joint resolution to provide for a Joint Assembly to receive the report of the committee appointed to canvass votes for state officers.

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the two Houses meet in Joint Assembly on Thursday, January 9, 2025, at ten o'clock in the forenoon to receive the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts and Attorney General, and if it shall be declared by said Committee that there had been no election by the voters of any of said state officers, then to proceed forthwith to elect such officers as have not been elected by the voters.

Presiding Officer

Philip E. Baruth, President *Pro Tempore* of the Senate, in the Chair.

Clerk

John H. Bloomer, Jr., Secretary of the Senate, Clerk.

Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee

Senator Hardy, Co-Chair, then presented the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee, which was as follows:

The Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass the votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts, and Attorney General respectfully reports:

That having been duly sworn, it has attended to the duties of its trust and finds the number of votes to have been:

For GOVERNOR	362,841
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	181,421
Esther Charlestin, Democratic/Progressive	79,217
June Goodband, Peace and Justice	4,512
Kevin Hoyt, Independent	9,368
Eli "Poa" Mutino, Independent	2,414
Philip B. Scott, Republican	266,439
Scattering (write-in votes)	891

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

PHILIP B. SCOTT

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Governor of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR	352,414
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	
Ian G. Diamonstone, Peace and Justice	13,671
John S. Rodgers, Republican	171,854
David E. Zuckerman, Progressive/Democratic	165,876
Scattering (write-in votes)	1,013

And agreeable to the Constitutional provisions, it hereby declares that no person has received the major part of the votes cast for Lieutenant Governor, and that there is no election for Lieutenant Governor by the voters.

For STATE TREASURER	347,312
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	· ·
Joshua Bechhoefer, Republican	
Michael S. Pieciak, Democratic	· ·
Scattering (write-in votes)	,

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

MICHAEL S. PIECIAK

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Treasurer of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For SECRETARY OF STATE	344,524
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
Sarah Copeland Hanzas, Democratic	205,378
H. Brooke Paige, Republican	138,673
Scattering (write-in votes)	473

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

SARAH COPELAND HANZAS

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Secretary of State of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For AUDITOR OF ACCOUNTS	341,793
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
Douglas R. Hoffer, Democratic/Progressive	207,195
H. Brooke Paige, Republican	134,066
Scattering (write-in votes)	532

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

DOUGLAS R. HOFFER

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Auditor of Accounts of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For ATTORNEY GENERAL	347,158
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
Charity R. Clark, Democratic	200,711
Kevin Gustafson, Peace and Justice	17,159
Ture Nelson, Republican	128,798
Scattering (write-in votes)	490

Pursuant to 3 V.S.A. §151, the Committee hereby declares that

CHARITY R. CLARK

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Attorney General of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

All of which is respectfully submitted.

RUTH ELLEN HARDY

Chair of the Joint Canvassing Committee on the part of the Senate

MATTHEW BIRONG

Chair of the Joint Canvassing Committee on the part of the House

Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee Adopted

Upon motion of Representative Birong, Co-Chair, the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee was adopted.

Statement by Presiding Officer

The report of the Joint Canvassing Committee which was just adopted by this Joint Assembly declares that no person was elected to the Office of Lieutenant Governor, since a majority vote was not attained as required by the Vermont Constitution.

Pursuant to the provisions of the Joint Resolution which set up this Joint Assembly (J.R.S. 2.) and the provisions of the Vermont Constitution, we will now proceed to the election of the Lieutenant Governor.

Under the provisions of the Constitution, chapter II, section 47, the voting for this office is to be done by joint ballot of this Assembly, for the *three* candidates for the office who receive the greater numbers of votes for that particular office.

Accordingly, for the office of Lieutenant Governor you must choose among:

Ian G. Diamondstone (Peace and Justice Party)
John S. Rodgers (Republican Party)
David E. Zuckerman (Progressive/Democratic Party)

Tellers Appointed

The Chair appointed the following tellers for the distribution and counting of ballots:

Senator Ruth E. Hardy, of Addison District, as chief teller

Senator Brian P. Collamore, of Rutland District

Senator Tanya C. Vyhovsky, of Chittenden-Central District

Representative Matthew Birong, of Vergennes

Representative Lisa Hango, of Berkshire

Representative Alice Emmons, of Springfield

Representative Sandra Pinsonault, of Dorset

Results of Balloting for Lieutenant Governor

The ballots were taken and counted, and the result of the balloting for Lieutenant Governor was as follows:

Total votes cast	176
Necessary for election	89
Ian G. Diamondstone, Peace and Justice	
John S. Rodgers, Republican	158
David E. Zuckerman, Progressive/Democratic	18

Whereupon, the Chair declared that

JOHN S. RODGERS, of Glover, VT

having received the majority of the total votes cast was duly elected to the office of the Lieutenant Governor for the two years next ensuing.

Dissolution

Thereupon, the President declared that the Joint Assembly was dissolved.

JOHN H. BLOOMER, JR. Secretary of the Senate Clerk of the Joint Assembly