CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

ADDENDUM

TO THE

HOUSE CALENDAR

Text of House Concurrent Resolutions

of

January 23, 2025

Concurrent Resolutions for Adoption Under Joint Rules 16a - 16d

The following concurrent resolutions will be adopted automatically unless a Senator or Representative requests floor consideration in the member's chamber prior to adjournment of the next legislative day. Requests for floor consideration in either chamber should be communicated to the Senate Secretary's Office or the House Clerk's Office, as applicable.

H.C.R. 7

Offered by Representatives Canfield of Fair Haven, Casey of Hubbardton, and Harvey of Castleton

Offered by Senators Collamore, Hardy, Heffernan, Weeks and Williams

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2024 Fair Haven Union High School Slaters Division II championship boys' football team

Whereas, the 2024 third-seeded Slaters were pleased to reach the season's decisive game against the top-seeded Green Knights of Rice Memorial High School, and

Whereas, in this high-scoring gridiron contest, played in St. Johnsbury, Rice assumed a 12–7 first-quarter lead that sparked Fair Haven's football prowess, resulting in a Slaters' 21–15 halftime lead, and the second half, despite Rice's attempted comeback, concluded in a 35–22 Fair Haven triumph, as the team clinched the school's first divisional football championship since 2017, and

Whereas, the victorious Slaters were Jack Almeida, Bryson Kelly, Mason Gutel, Tylor Jackson, Evan Spanos, Logan Knipes, Derek Webb, Sam Kyhill, Phil Bean, Cody Adams, Devin LaFrancois, Adam Williams, Konner Savage, Easton Adams, Aydin Long, Jacob Torrey, Connor LaFrancois, Aden Wilkins, Caleb Long, Max Kyhill, Anthony Szabo, Cole Belden, Jonathan Hutchins, Alex Messer, Aiden Goyette, Tommy Buxton, Colbi Clark, Caden Lynch, Seth Czachor, Jackson Beckwith, Aiden St. Armour, Tanner Raymond, Porter Silva, Gabe Barrows, Ty Ferguson, Jeremiah Kirby, Gabe Bache, Gavin Spencer, Austin Williams, Lamont Jones, and Jacob Jamieson, and

Whereas, Head Coach Adam Perry and assistant coaches Keith Hier, PJ Szabo, Hunter Muzzy, Chris Parker, Joel Perry, Caleb Lisai, and DJ Perry were great contributors to the Slaters' achievement, *now therefore be it*

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2024 Fair Haven Union High School Slaters Division II championship boys' football team, *and be it further* *Resolved:* That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Fair Haven Union High School.

H.C.R. 8

Offered by Representatives Cina of Burlington, Berbeco of Winooski, Bos-Lun of Westminster, Campbell of St. Johnsbury, Carris-Duncan of Whitingham, Coffin of Cavendish, Cole of Hartford, Dodge of Essex, Donahue of Northfield, Graning of Jericho, Gregoire of Fairfield, Hango of Berkshire, Headrick of Burlington, Krasnow of South Burlington, McCann of Montpelier, Morris of Springfield, Pouech of Hinesburg, Priestley of Bradford, and Stevens of Waterbury

House concurrent resolution designating January 29, 2025 as Mental Health Advocacy Day at the State House

Whereas, without any discrimination, all Vermonters are entitled to receive the highest attainable quality of health care, including mental health care, and

Whereas, 1997 Acts and Resolves No. 25, Sec. 2, codified as 8 V.S.A. § 4089b, established that the treatment of an individual's mental health must be on par with that person's physical health care, and

Whereas, mental health care must be provided in a manner that does not result in any form of stigma, prejudice, violence, social exclusion, segregation, or unnecessary institutionalization, and

Whereas, all mental health treatment practices should respect an individual's autonomy, dignity, personal preferences, and will, and they must not constitute or lead to violations and abuses of human rights or fundamental freedoms, and

Whereas, mental health support and related community services should integrate a human rights perspective in order to avoid harm to any individuals availing themselves of these services, and

Whereas, today, January 29, 2025, individuals are visiting the State House seeking to remind the General Assembly of the fundamental importance of providing Vermonters with mental health care that equals in every respect the quality of care provided to individuals with any other health conditions, *now therefore be it*

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly designates January 29, 2025 as Mental Health Advocacy Day at the State House, *and be it further*

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to the mental health advocacy organizations present today in the State House.

H.C.R. 9

Offered by Representatives Chapin of East Montpelier, Birong of Vergennes, Casey of Hubbardton, Cordes of Lincoln, Donahue of Northfield, Goslant of Northfield, LaMont of Morristown, McCann of Montpelier, McGill of Bridport, Mihaly of Calais, North of Ferrisburgh, and Yacovone of Morristown

Offered by Senators Hardy, Perchlik, and Watson

House concurrent resolution honoring the Vermonters who created the Tony Award-winning musical *Hadestown* and the Vermont theatrical youth ensembles now staging exhilarating teen performances

Whereas, shortly after New Haven's Anaïs Mitchell graduated from Middlebury College in 2004, she completed the original minimalist version of the future Tony Award-winning Broadway musical *Hadestown*, a modern rendition of the Greek legend of Orpheus's ultimately futile journey into the underworld of Hades to return Eurydice, his wife, to the world of the living, and

Whereas, in 2006, Anaïs Mitchell; Lincoln's Michael Chorney, orchestrator; Montpelier's Ben T. Matchstick, co-creator; and other theatrically talented Vermonters premiered *Hadestown* at the Old Labor Hall in Barre, and in 2013, Anaïs Mitchell, in collaboration with Broadway director Rachel Chavkin, Michael Chorney, and others began revising *Hadestown* for greater theatrical glory, and East Montpelier's Robinson Morse has been an on-stage performing musician with the show since at least 2019, and

Whereas, on April 17, 2019, the dream became a reality when *Hadestown* debuted to rave reviews at Broadway's Walter Kerr Theater, and in June of 2019, the creators' unusual perseverance was recognized when *Hadestown* received eight Tony Awards (Broadway's highest accolade and the most any show won that year), among which were Best Musical, Best Direction of a Musical (Rachel Chavkin), Best Original Score (Anaïs Mitchell), and Best Orchestrations (Michael Chorney and Todd Sickafoose), and

Whereas, the young thespians of Peoples Academy in Morrisville and the nonprofit Very Merry Theatre in Burlington recently performed a new teen version of this Vermont-created and Tony Award-winning show, and

Whereas, under the leadership of U-32 Middle and High School Performing Arts Director Erin Galligan Baldwin, and the unique guidance of Anaïs Mitchell and Ben T. Matchstick, an ambitious U-32-Montpelier High School joint presentation of the teen production is currently being staged at U-32, and

Whereas, Vermont youngsters' presentation of the teen version of *Hadestown*, with the support of the musical's creators, is an unusual theatrical event worthy of celebration, *now therefore be it*

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly honors the Vermonters who created the Tony Award-winning musical *Hadestown* and the Vermont theatrical youth ensembles now staging exhilarating teen performances, *and be it further*

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Anaïs Mitchell, Michael Chorney, Ben T. Matchstick, Rachel Chavkin, Robinson Morse, Peoples Academy, the Very Merry Theatre, Erin Galligan Baldwin, U-32 Middle and High School, and Montpelier High School.