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staff of the Office of Legislative Counsel without input from members of the General Assembly.  It is not 

intended to aid in the interpretation of legislation or to serve as a source of legislative intent. 

 

Act No. 50 (S.53).  An act relating to certification of community-based perinatal doulas and 

Medicaid coverage for doula services 

Subjects:  Medicaid; certification; professions and occupations; Office of 

Professional Regulation; community-based perinatal doulas 

This act creates a voluntary certification process for community-based perinatal doulas 

through the Office of Professional Regulation and establishes a $75.00 application fee for 

certification, with a $120.00 biennial renewal fee.  The act requires the Department of 

Vermont Health Access to reimburse certified community-based perinatal doulas for 

providing direct emotional and physical support and educational and informational 

services to Medicaid beneficiaries during pregnancy, labor and delivery, and the 

postpartum period.  The act expresses legislative intent that the reimbursement rates 

should be reasonable and adequate for the services provided and be consistent with the 

rates set by other states’ Medicaid programs and it directs the Department to seek a state 

plan amendment from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services by July 1, 2026, 

to allow Vermont Medicaid to cover doula services. 

Multiple effective dates, beginning on June 9, 2025 


