This act summary is provided for the convenience of the public and members of the General Assembly. It is intended to provide a general summary of the act and may not be exhaustive. It has been prepared by the staff of the Office of Legislative Counsel without input from members of the General Assembly. It is not intended to aid in the interpretation of legislation or to serve as a source of legislative intent.

## Act No. 39 (S.87). An act relating to extradition procedures

## **Subjects:** Crimes and criminal procedure; extradition

This act makes changes to the amount of time a person may be held by Vermont while awaiting the warrant from the Governor of the demanding state and recognizes a waiver of extradition previously signed by the accused as a term of the person's current probation, parole, bail, or other release in the demanding state.

The act extends the amount of time a person may be held by the holding state while awaiting the warrant from the Governor of the demanding state from 30 to 90 days and shortens the amount of time the holding state may request as an extension to the time provided from 60 to 30 days. Current law allows for a maximum time in custody of the holding state of 90 days and the act extends it to 120 days.

The act also recognizes a waiver of extradition previously signed by the accused as valid in Vermont and directs that the waiver should be treated as if the fugitive had signed the waiver in accordance with current procedures. While the waiver is presumed valid, the fugitive may challenge the validity of the waiver, but if the court finds that the waiver is valid, it may proceed as if the person had consented to return to the demanding state.

Effective Date: May 28, 2025 and applies prospectively and does not affect extraditions in process at the time of enactment