(Draft No. 1.2 – H.868) 3/25/2024 - DRS - 08:14 AM

1	[potential addition to H.868]
2	VERSION A
3	* * * Washington County Railroad; Amendment to Operating Agreement * * *
4	Sec WASHINGTON COUNTY RAILROAD; AUTHORIZATION TO
5	ENTER INTO AMENDMENT FOR EXTENSION OF OPERATING
6	AGREEMENT [to take effect on passage]
7	The Secretary, as agent for the State, is authorized to enter into an
8	amendment to the existing September 30, 1999 Operating Agreement with the
9	Washington County Railroad Company to add options for three additional
10	renewal terms of 10 years each, for a total of 30 additional years, as well as
11	language updating and clarifying certain provisions of the existing agreement.
12	
13	<u>VERSION B</u>
14	* * * Washington County Railroad; Amendment to Operating Agreement * * *
15	Sec 5 V.S.A. § 3405 is amended to read: [to take effect on passage]
16	§ 3405. LEASE FOR CONTINUED OPERATION
17	(a) The Secretary, as agent for the State, with the approval of the Governor
18	and the General Assembly or, if the General Assembly is not in session,
19	approval of a special committee consisting of the Joint Fiscal Committee and
20	the Chairs of the House and Senate Committees on Transportation, is
21	authorized to lease or otherwise arrange for the continued operation of all or
22	any State-owned railroad property to any responsible person, provided that

(Draft No. 1.2 – H.868) 3/25/2024 - DRS - 08:14 AM

1	approval for the operation, if necessary, is granted by the federal Surface
2	Transportation Board. The transaction shall be subject to any further terms and
3	conditions as in the opinion of the Secretary are necessary and appropriate to
4	accomplish the purpose of this chapter.
5	(b) To preserve continuity of service on State-owned railroads, the
6	Secretary may enter into a short-term lease or operating agreement, for a term
7	not to exceed six months, with a responsible railroad operator. Within 10 days
8	of entering into any lease or agreement, the Secretary shall report the details of
9	the transaction to the members of the House and Senate Committees on
10	Transportation.