

NET ZERO ENERGY BURLINGTON VERMONT

Burlington Electric Department (BED)

- Burlington's municipal electric utility
 - Public Power since 1905
 - 118 employees, including the McNeil Generating Station
 - Third-largest electric utility in Vermont
- 21,000+ customers
 - 17,282 residential / 3,983 commercial and industrial
 - 5500-6,000 residential accounts turn over each year
- Electricity facts:
 - Summer Peak: ~65 MW / Annual energy Use: ~330,000 MWH
 - McNeil is the largest energy producer in Vermont with Vermont Yankee retirement
 - 100% of power from renewable generation as of 2014
 - No rate increase since 2009-2021; first rate change in FY22 due to pandemic- 7.5%; FY23 rate change- 3.95%





CY2022 BED Tier 3 and Net Zero Energy Programs

Tier 3 *Budget for FY*23 = \$2.1 *million*

EEU and Act 151 Budget for FY23 = \$1.55 million

- EV rebate of \$2,300, or \$3,000 for low/moderate income (LMI) customers up to 80% area median income
- **PHEV rebate** of \$2,000, or \$2,300 for LMI customers
- Pre-Owned EV/PHEV rebate \$1,300, plus \$200 for LMI customers
- Incentive for residential charger up to \$900 for EV or \$700 for PHEV
- EV finance partnership with three credit unions
- EV Workplace Charging Station Incentive of up to \$10,000
- **EV Public Chargers** 16 stations and 29 ports
- **E-Motorcycle -** \$500 rebate
- E-Bus incentive two buses delivered in 2020
- Electric Induction Cooking up to \$200 rebate
- E-Bike rebate of \$200, 0% loans for low-income customers
- **E-Mower** rebate of \$100-\$300 residential and \$3,500 commercial
- Custom Programs VRF, geothermal, etc.

- Cold-Climate Heat Pump rebate up to \$3,350 including
 \$400 LMI rebate
- Central-Ducted Heat Pump rebate/discount up to \$6,250, plus \$400 per condenser for LMI customers
- Air-to-Water Heat Pump rebate up to \$12,400, including \$400 for LMI customers
- Heat Pump Water Heater rebate up to \$1,000, plus
 \$200 additional for LMI customers
- Electric Forklift rebate up to \$6,500
- Electric Leaf Blower rebates \$50 residential, \$150 commercial
- Residential Loan Program
 as low as o% for incomequalified customers for heat pumps, water heaters, Energy Star appliances
- o% Commercial Loan Program
 on-bill finance for efficiency, heating and cooling, ventilation

BED Transportation Sector Energy Innovation Projects Currently Underway

- Working with CarShare Vermont to expand access to EVs
- Act 151 Incentive Programs
- Expand EV off-peak charging rate
- Revenue bond investment in modern fast-chargers for Burlington
- Continued participation in DeltaClime business accelerator
- Electric bucket truck coming in FY24
- IT Forward upgrades

Photo credit Drive Electric VT













Burlington EV Information based on Tier 3 incentives

- 470 EV/PHEV rebates since May 2017 (DMV 2021 data, 583)
 - 85 low/moderate income enhanced rebates
 - 5 finance loans through credit union partners
 - 162 customers signed up for EV rate (as of Jan.
 2020)
- 116 home Level 2 EV charging station rebates







EV and Rate Growth



72% of BED's EV Owners are not on EV Rate





EV Rate Investment and Payback for Customer

Average annual EV charging credit: \$148 (based on EVSE charging)

EVSE	750	750
Install	500	1500
EVSE Rebate	(900)	(900)
Total Cost	350	<u> </u>
Simple Payback (years)	2.7	9.1
Simple Payback w/o rebate (years)	8.5	15.2

NET ZER ENERGY BURLINGTON VERMONT









Direct customer service: (802)865-7300 Hours: Monday-Friday 8 am- 4:30 pm (except holidays)

Customer Charge: This includes the monthly cost of meter reading, maintaining customer records, billing and providing other customer

City Franchise Fee: Fee charged to BED by city ordinance for use of streets and rights-of-way. This fee is not part of BED rates and is charged to BED customers based on all charges (except for the initial block of power for residential customers and the sales tax portion for commercial customers). Nonpayment of the city franchise fee is not subject to BED disconnect procedures.

Kilowatt Hours (KWh): An electric meter measures the electricity used in kilowatt hours. If a 100-wett light bulb is used for 10 hours, the electric meter will register 1 KWh (100 watts x 10 hours = 1000 watt hours or 1 kilowatt hour).

Energy Efficiency Charge: This supports BED's energy efficiency services. This charge is added to the bills of all Vermont ratepayers, and the services are available to all customers. Please call Customer Service for more information

Initial Block; BED provides residential customers a block of 100 KWh at a lower cost each month. The electricity is listed separately on the bill.

Demand: Large non-residential users of electricity are billed for their demand for electricity along with kilowatt hour (KWh) consumption. Demand is measured in kilowath (KW). The demand is the highest amount of electricity required at any one given time. BED must have sufficient electricity and the proper equipment available (such as generating facilities, distribution lines and transformers) to meet the customer's maximum demand or load requirements. A customer's demand charge helps to cover these costs.

Demand Ratchet Charge: Fifty percent (50%) of the highest fifteen-minute peak that occurred during any of the most recent Summer Peak months (June through September) that fall within the previous 11 months. A customer's billed demand is either the actual measured demand or

Vermont Sales Tax: Vermont requires that non-residential customers pay sales tax on their entire bill (exclusive of City Franchise Fee) unless

F	Rate	Codes:				S.
L	G	Large General Services	PS	Primary Service	SG	Small General Service
L	L	Leased Lights	RS	Residential Service	ST	Small General Service-Time of Use
Ľ	Т	Large General Service-Time of Use	RT	Residential Service-Time of Use		

If you have questions about your bill or a problem with your service, please call us at (802)885-7300. If we are unable to resolve your problem. you may also call the Consumer Affairs Division of the Vermont Department of Public Service at 1-800-822-4498.

In case of electrical emergency, call (802)865-7300, 24 hours a day

I would like more information of	in:	
BED's energy-saving programs Rate information	Direct debit Budget billing Understanding my bill	E-Bils Community assistance programs Other
Name	Address	Phone:

NET ZERO ENERGY BURLINGTON VERMONT





Current Obstacles to EV Rate Participation

- High cost of Level 2 EVSE purchase and installation with several-year payback period
- Ease of charging with Level 1 EVSE
- Renters' options for participation limited, 60% of BED customers rent homes
- Limitation on charging times of day with current program technology



Current Obstacles Weigh Against EV Rate Incentives

- ~\$0.70 per gallon equivalent
- Providing a valuable public service through participation in peak management program that provides cost savings for all ratepayers

Adding an average \$150 per year by a per kWh fee to utility bills would completely eliminate the ~\$148 annual financial incentive to join and stay on the EV rate

Key Considerations for Mileage-Based User Fee

Feasibility and Effectiveness

MBUF

 Captures every VT EV owner using existing annual mileage data collection process

Per kWh fee

- Captures only one of every four EV owners in BED, at most
- The fee is easily avoidable, even by EV rate participants

MBUF

 Every EV owner pays their fair share,~\$12 per month

Equity

Per kWh fee

EV owners who voluntarily invest in Level 2 EVSE will be penalized. Will need to pay 4x their share, or ~\$48 per month, to cover non-EV rate EV owners' share

Climate Requirements

MBUF

- Will not impact the utilities' ability to reliably and cost-effectively serve electrification required to meet climate requirements **Per kWh fee**
 - Will deter voluntary customer participation in load management, which serves electrification with cost savings for all

