	Legislators		Administrative penalties for non-	Max admin penalty for non-		Potential criminal
	must file	Who else must file	filing	filing	Other penalties for non-filing	penalties
Alabama	Yes (Ala Code § 36- 25-14)	State Elected Officers; County Officers; Municipal Officers; Appointees; All State Employees Earning Over \$75K; Managers and administrators (Ala Code § 36-25-14); Candidates for elective office (Ala Code § 36-25-15)	Up to \$10 per day	\$1,000	Candidates for state office may be removed from ballot (Ala Code § 36-25-15)	"knowing" violation is Class 3 misdemeanor (Ala Code § 36-25- 27)
Alaska	Yes (AS 24.60.200)	Public officials; candidates for state elective office; candidates for municipal office	\$10 per day (AS 39.50.135; AS 24.60.240)	No max	Candidates may be removed from ballot; appointed and hired public officials in Exec branch may not take office or be confirmed by the legislature. AS 39.50.060; 39.50.070; Legislators may not be seated (AS 24.60.240)	"Knowing" failure to file is misdemeanor - \$100 to \$1000 criminal penalty. AS 39.50.060
Arizona	Yes (ARS § 38-541)	Statewide elected officials; judges (except Supreme Court); candidates for statewide elective office (ARS § 38-541)	\$50 per day (ARS § 38-544)	\$500 (ARS § 38- 544)		Class 1 misdemeanor for "knowing" failure to file (ARS § 38-544)
Arkansas	Yes (AR Code § 21- 8-701)	Public officials; candidates for office; district judges; city attorneys; appointees; school boards (AR Code § 21-8-701)				Class B violation for "knowing" violation (AR Code § 21-8-302)
California	Yes (Cal Gov. Code § 87203)	elected officials; candidates for state, county and local office; members of commissions; appointees; city mayors and other chief officials; judges; public officials who manage state funds (Cal Gov. Code § 87201-87207)	\$10 per day	\$100	Up to \$5,000	Class 1 misdemeanor for "knowing" failure to file (Cal Gov. Code § 91000)
Colorado	Yes (CRS § 24-6-202)	Statewide elected officials; judges; district attorneys; state board of education; public utilities commission (CRS § 24-6-202)	\$50 per day (CRS § 1-45-111.5)	No max		"Willful" violations are misdemeanor; mandatory criminal penalty of \$1,000 - \$5,000 (CRS § 24-6- 202)
Connecticut	Yes	Statewide elected officials; department heads; public officials with substantial authority; public utilities commission; boards and commissions; quasi-public agencies	\$10 per day	\$10,000		
Delaware	Yes	elected officials; candidates for state, county and local office; members of commissions; appointees; chief officials; judges; cabinet secretaries; executive branch division directors				"Willful" violation is class B misdemeanor
Florida	Yes	legislative branch employees; elected officials; appointees; department heads; local officials; candidates for state office; members of commissions; appointees; chief officials; judges; cabinet secretaries; executive branch division directors; state university officials (Fla Stat § 112.3145)	\$25 per day (Fla Stat § 112.3145)	\$1,500	Civil penalty of up to \$10,000 if form is more than 60 days late (Fla Stat § 112.317); potential censure and loss of position	
Georgia	Yes	Constitutional officers; elected officials; candidates for elected office; executive heads of agencies; executive directors of boards and commissions; elected county and municipal officials (Ga Stat § 21-5-3)	\$125 late fee; \$250 penalty after 15 days late; \$1,000 penalty after 45		Up to \$1,000 for first violation; \$10,000 for second violation; \$25,000 for third violation (Ga Stat § 21-5-6)	"Knowing" violation is a misdemeanor (Ga Stat § § 21-5-9)

			days late (Ga Stat § 21-5-50)			
Hawaii	Yes	elected officials; department heads; university executives; department of education; administrative staff of judicial branch; board and commissions; candidates for state elective office (HRS § 84-17)	\$75 for late form; additional \$10 per day starting on 10th day form is late	No max	Up to \$1,000 after finding of violation (HRS § 84-39)	
Idaho	No	No one	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Illinois	Yes	Elected officials; candidates for state office; commissions and boards; appointees; judges; heads of departments and agencies (5 ILCS § 420/4A-101)	\$15; \$100 per day after form is 15 days late (5 ILCS 420/4A-106)	No max	After notice, "ineligibility for, or forfeiture of, office or position of employment" (% ILCS § 420/4A-107)	False or incomplete forms are class A misdemeanor (5 ILCS 420/4A-107)
Indiana	Yes	Constitutional officers; department heads; candidates; appointing authorities; officers and employees with purchasing authority (IC 4-2-6-1)	None for legislators; \$10 per day for each day form is late (IC 4-2-6-8)	\$1,000 (executive branch only)		"knowing" violation is class A misdemeanor (exec branch only) (IC 4-2-6-8)
lowa		Statewide elected officials; department and agency heads; heads of commissions and boards; members of specific agencies; candidates;	\$25 for 1-14 days late; \$50 for 15-30 days late; \$100 for 31 days and over. (IA Admin Reg § 351-		Up to \$2,000 (IA Code §	"Intentional" violation is "serious
	Yes	legislative employees (IA Code § 68B.35)	7.5(68B))		68B.32D)	misdemeanor"
Kansas	Yes	Elected officials; candidates for state office; heads of agencies and their officers; appointees; general counsels of state agencies; private consultants who evaluate contract bids (KSA § 46-247)	\$10 per day (KSA § 46-280) (after notice + 5 days)	\$300	For legislators, assembly may consider penalties and censure following ethics hearing	Failure to file "true" statement in class B misdemeanor (KSA § 46-251)
Kentucky	Yes	candidates and nominees for general assembly; legislative branch management (KRS § 6.781); statewide constitutional officers; department heads and "major management personnel"; candidates for statewide office (KRS § 11A.010)	\$100 per day (KRS § 6.797) (following notice + 10 days)	\$1,000	Up to \$5,000 (exec branch only) (KRS § 11A.100)	"Intentional" violation is class A misdemeanor (KRS § 6.797)
Louisiana	Yes (LA RS 42:1124.2)	Statewide elected officers; secretaries of agencies; various specific officers; boards and commissions (LA RS 42:1124)	\$100 per day for legislators (following notice and opportunity to file) (LA RS 42:1114.3; 42:1124.6); \$500 per day for all statewide officers (following notice and opportunity to cure).	ψ1,500	For "willful" failure: \$1,00-\$5,00 (for 2nd violation: \$1,00 to \$10,000)	
Maine	Yes (1 MRS § 1016-G)	Constitutional officers; elected executive branch members; appointees; state auditor 5 MRS § 19)	\$100 (following notice + 15 days)			Intentional violation is class E crime
Maryland	Yes (5 Md Stat § 514)	executive branch managers; elected officials; candidates; persons designated by their agencies (5 Md Stat § 5-103; 5 Md Stat § 601); certain local officials (Md Stat § 5-809); school boards (Md Stat § 5-817); commissioners (Md Stat § 5-824); applicants for commissions (Md Stat § 5-825)			potential censure from legislature (legislators only) (5 Md Stat § 511 et seq.); \$5,000 per day (if ordered by court) (exec branch only) (Md Stat § 5-902); no salary from state until	"willful" violation is misdemeanor. Up to 1 year in prison; up to \$10,000 fine (Md Stat § 5-903)

					in compliance (exec branch	
					only) (Md Stat § 5-904)	
Massachusetts	Yes				3, (
Michigan	. 00		up to \$10,000 civil			
			penalty per			
		elected officials; public officials and employees	violation after		no state compensation to	
		with decision-making authority; candidates (GL	hearing (GL 268B,		public employees until they file	
	Yes	268B, §§ 1, 5)	§ 4)		(GL 268B, § 5)	
Minnesota		constitutional officers; legislative staff officers;				
		commissioners; department heads; exec branch				
		members overseeing admin hearings; deputy	\$5 per day after			
		department heads; various other state	10 days late (MN		Up to \$1,000 if no filing after	
	Yes	administrators, managers, and employees	Stat § 10A.09)	\$100	notice	
Mississippi						Following notice and
						passage of 1 year, violation is
			\$10 per day, after			misdemeanor with
		elected officials; school boards; candidates;	notice + 45 days		Following hearing, up to \$10,000	up to 1 year in jail
		department heads; commissions and boards;	(MS Code § 25-4-		plus censure (MS Code § 25-4-	and \$10,000 fine (MS
	Yes	other specified agencies (MS Code § 25-4-25)	29)	No max	109)	Code § 25-4-31)
Missouri		Statewide elected officials; candidates; judges;				j ,
		some boards and commissions; state employees				
		with decision-making authority; immediate family				
		of any of the above if the family member does	\$10 per day (Mo			
		business with the filers state agency (Mo RS §	RS §§ 105.492		Suspension from office or	
	Yes	105.483)	and 105.963.3)	No max	position, after notice + 30 days	
Montana			\$50 - \$1,000			
		state officeholders; judges; candidates;	(following hearing) (MC § 2-			
	Yes	appointees (MC § 2-2-106)	2-136)	\$1,000		
Nebraska	103	statewide officers; university officials; department	2 100)	ψ1,000		
Nebraska		heads; county elected officers; mayor and city				
		council of Omaha and Lincoln; certain state				
		employees with decision-making authority (NE Stat			Up to \$5,000, following hearing	
	Yes	§ 49-1493)	\$25 per day	\$750	(NE Stat § 49-14,126)	
Nevada			\$25; \$50 for 1-19			
			days late; \$100			
			for 20-29 days			
			late; \$250 for 30-			
			44 days late; \$2,000 if 45 days			
			late or more		court costs and attorney fees if	
		Elected officials; candidates; judges; appointees	(following notice)		violation is enforced through	
	Yes	(NRS § 281.572)	(NRS 281.581)	\$2,000	civil action	
New		3 1		1,755	-	"knowing" violation is
Hampshire		candidates for state and county office;				misdemeanor (NH
-		appointees; agency heads; designated				Stat § 14-B:10 -
		employees; elected state and county officials (NH				legislators; § 15-A:7 -
	Yes	Stat § 15-A:3)				exec branch)
New Jersey			\$50 per day		A-500 L 410 000 5 "	
		elected officials; department heads; casino	(NJSA § 52:13D-		\$500 to \$10,000, following	
	Yes	employees and managers; appointees	21)	No max	hearing (NJSA § 52:1D-21)	

					17 1 1 1 6 71 1 671 1	1
New Mexico					candidates who fail to file do	
		state officers; elected officials; appointees;			not qualify for ballot;	
		agency heads (NM Stat § 10-16-1 et seq.;	\$50 per day (NM		appointees who fail may not	
	Yes	1.8.4.10.B(1)(a) NMAC)	Stat § 10-16A-6)	\$5,000	take office	
New York					Up to \$40,000 for "knowing"	
		statewide elected officials; state officers;			violation (Pub. Officers Law §	
		legislative employees; candidates; political party			73a); delinquent filers identified	"knowing" violation is
	Yes	chairpersons (Pub. Officers Law § 73a)			publicly	class A misdemeanor
North Carolina	103	endipersons (i ob. officers Edw 3 7 3d)			Failure to file within 60 days	Class / Thisactrication
Norm Carolina					constitutes "malfeasance,"	
			¢050:00			
			\$250 if form is		which is grounds for dismissal for	
		elected officers; agency heads; appointees (NC	within 30 days		unelected officials and	
		Stat § 138A-21); employees with incomes over	after notice is		employees (or, for legislators,	
	Yes	\$60,000 (NC Stat § 138A-22); candidates	sent		sanctions)	
North Dakota	No statutory	, ,			Candidate may not appear on	
	requirement	Candidates (ND Cent. Code § 16.1-09-02)			ballot if not filed	
Ohio	roquiomom	state elected officials; county elected officials; city			Ballet ii Het liidd	
Oillo		elected officials; candidates for state, county, and				
		city elected office; agency heads, deputies, and				III
		directors; casino board; higher education officials;				"knowing" failure to
		multiple various identified employees; judges and				file is 4th degree
	Yes	candidates for judge (ORC § 102.02)				misdemeanor
Oklahoma					Following finding of violation by	
					court: \$5K - \$25K for 1st	
					violation; \$10K - \$50K for 2nd;	
			Up to \$1,000 per		\$25K - \$100K for 3rd (OK Rule	
			violation (OK Rule		6.13); plus attorney fees and	
	Yes	elected state officers (OK Rule 3.16)	6.19)		court costs (OK Rule 6.14)	
Oromon	163	state elected officers; judges; candidates;	0.17]		COULT CO313 (OK KOIE 0.14)	
Oregon			¢10lf			
		legislative staff officers; heads and directors of	\$10 per day for			
		agencies; deputies of the constitutional officers;	first 14 days; \$50			
		elected county and city officials; county and city	per day for each			
		zoning commissions; higher education officials;	day after (OL		Following hearing, civil penalty	
	Yes	most commissions and boards (OL § 244.050)	244.350)	\$5,000	up to \$1,000	
Pennsylvania		elected officials; public employees with decision-			No public official may take	
		making authority regarding state money;	\$25 per day (65		office, or receive public	violation may be
	Yes	appointees; candidates (65 PACSA § 1102)	PACSA § 1109)	\$250	compensation until form is filed	misdemeanor
Rhode Island		elected officials; appointees; all officials and		1		
Kilouc Islana		employees in "major decision-making" roles;				
		municipal elected officials; municipal appointed			Up to \$25,000, following	
		officials with decision-making authority;			hearing; removal from office	"knowing and willful"
						violations are
	V	candidates for state and municipal office (RI Gen			(for unelected, unappointed	
	Yes	Laws § 36-14-16)			violators)	misdemeanors
South						After max penalty
Carolina						has been imposed,
			\$100 after 5 days;			violation is a
			then, following			misdemeanor with
			notice, \$10 per			minimum penalty of
		elected officials; appointees; candidates; boards	day for the next			\$500 or 30 days in jail;
		and commissions; heads and chiefs of each	10 days; then			subsequent offenses
		agency; city chiefs; county chiefs; education	\$100 per day (SC			have higher
	Yes	officials (SC Stat § 8-13-1110)	Stat § 8-13-1510)	\$5,000		maximum penalties
Caudh Dulists	103		siui 8 0-13-1310)	\$ 3,000		
South Dakota	V	state, federal, county and local candidates; state,				any violation is petty
	Yes	county, and local elected officials; judges;				offense; intentional

		appointees (SDCL §§ 12-25-29.1; 12-25-30; 3-1A-2 thru 4)				violation is class 2 misdemeanor
Tennessee	Yes	governor; governor's cabinet and staff; constitutional officers; judges; elected officials; candidates; appointees; higher education officials; various identified officials and employees (see TCA § 8-50-504)	\$25 per day, following notice + 5 days (TCA § 3- 6-205); after notice + 35 days, maximum allowable penalties per day	\$750 if filed within 35 days; \$10,000 if filed after 35 days	candidates cannot qualify for ballot if they fail to file	
Texas	Yes	elected officials; appointees; agency heads; candidates (TX Gov Code § 572.002)	\$500; if penalty unpaid after 10 days following notice, penalty to be determined by Commission	\$10,000 (if \$00 is unpaid)		"knowing and willful" violation is class B misdemeanor
Utah	No	None	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Virginia	Yes	Governor; Lt governor; AG; judges; executive officers and employees deemed "necessary" by governor; constitutional officers; boards and commissions; local elected officials; school boards; persons holding "positions of trust" (VA Stat §§ 2.2-3114 and 3116)	\$250	\$250		"knowing" violation is class 1 misdemeanor (VA Stat § 2.2-3120)
Washington	Yes	elected officials; candidates; agency directors; boards and commissions; legislative and governor's staff; higher education officials	\$10 per day (RCW § 42.17A.750)		following a hearing, up to \$10,000; if judge finds that the failure to file affected election, judge can void the results of the election	violations with "malice" are misdemeanors
West Virginia	Yes	statewide, county and municipal elected officials; boards of education; boards and commissions; appointees; secretaries, commissioners, deputies, and directors of agencies; department heads; candidates for state, county, and municipal offices (WV Code § 6B-2-6)				"knowing" violation is misdemeanor, with up to \$1,000 fine and/or 1 year in jail
Wisconsin	Yes	elected officials; candidates; department heads; boards and commissions; agency administrators; other employees with decision-making authority	after 15 days: \$100, and \$100 every 15 days thereafter		after 30 days late, state compensation is withheld; candidates cannot qualify for ballot if they fail to file (Wis Stat § 19.43)	
Wyoming	Yes	state elected officials				failure to file is a misdemeanor