
 

 

TO:  Senate Committee on Education 

FROM:  Colin Robinson, Political Director, Vermont-NEA 

DATE:  February 1, 2023 

SUBJECT: Teacher and Educator Minimum Salary 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Context:  

• Female dominated workforce: 75% of teachers and over 80% of school support staff are female. 

• Highly educated workforce: According to a 2018 Rutgers University study of the Vermont education workforce, over 3 

out of 4 teachers have master's degrees or are pursuing master's degrees.  Nearly 50% of paraeducators have at least 

a bachelor’s degree.1 

• Underpaid compared to similarly educated professionals: According to the Economic Policy Institute, Vermont 

teachers make 86 cents on the dollar compared to other professionals with the same level of education. 

• Average starting educator salaries are in the middle compared to other states: Vermont ranked 26th in the country 

with an average starting teacher salary of $40,810. In the 2021-2022 school year the lowest starting teacher salary in 

a SU/SD was $36,975. Vermont ranked 29th nationally for the average annual wage for school support staff at 

$32,984.2 

• Fewer people pursuing a career in education: Nationwide, the percentage of first year college students pursuing 

education has dropped by approximately 50% over the past 15 years. 

• Difficult to retain teachers prior to the pandemic: We know that 50% of new teachers leave the profession after 5 

years. 

• Local collective bargaining for teachers and support staff: Vermont has a long and deep tradition of local control and 

that includes local collective bargaining between the employers – school districts/supervisory unions – and the 

employees. 

Minimum Teacher Salaries: 

• Some states have established minimum teacher salaries in statute: While some have language that has been updated 

recently, others have language that has not.  Maine - $40,000, Massachusetts - $18,000, Pennsylvania - $18,500, New 

Jersey - $18,500, Missouri - $25,000.  Some other states that do not have collective bargaining for their teachers or 

have different structures have different language in statute. 

• Vermont Concept: Legislation is currently being developed at the request of Rep. Katherine Sims. 

o Honors local control and local bargaining relationship between SU/SD and employees. 

o Establishes a goal of $50,000 minimum teacher salary and a $20/hour support staff minimum wage. 

o Creates an education fund tax incentive, similar to Act 46, to encourage local decisions, but not required for 

FY25-FY27.  This will be done through exempting a certain percentage of the cost from local education 

spending calculations. 

o Targeted to districts with the greatest needs – based on new weights specifically for sparsity and poverty. 

 
1 https://www.nea.org/sites/default/files/2020-06/RU_SMLR_Womens_Work.pdf  
2 https://www.nea.org/about-nea/media-center/press-releases/nea-unveils-new-nationwide-data-educator-pay-and-school-funding  

https://www.nea.org/sites/default/files/2020-06/RU_SMLR_Womens_Work.pdf
https://www.nea.org/about-nea/media-center/press-releases/nea-unveils-new-nationwide-data-educator-pay-and-school-funding

