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Vermont Department of Corrections 
Earned Good Time Rule 371.18 
(draft 8/10/2020) 
 
I. Authority 

This rule is adopted pursuant to 28 V.S.A. § 818 which states that the Department of 

Corrections shall implement a program of earned good time, and   the Vermont Administrative 

Procedures Act, 3 V.S.A. §§ 800 et seq.  

II. Purpose 

The purpose of this rule is to ensure the earned good time program implemented by the 

Department complies with the standards identified in 28 V.S.A. § 818(b). 

III. Program  

 

A. Definitions 

1. Month: is defined as a calendar unit of 28-31 days, proration of which will be 

determined through the Department of Corrections’ Sentence Computation Unit. 

2. Proration: is the method used to determine earned good time for eligible offenders 

who are incarcerated for a portion of the month. 

 

B. Eligibility 

Sentenced offenders, including those on furlough, are eligible for earned good time 

beginning January 1, 2021. Earned good time is not available retroactively, and is not 

available to offenders on probation or parole, offenders eligible for a reduction of term 

pursuant to 28 V.S.A. § 811, or offenders sentenced to life without parole.  

C.  Criteria 

Offenders will be awarded earned good time for each month they meet both of the 

following criteria:  

1. The offender has not been adjudicated of a major disciplinary rule violation as 

outlined in Department facility rules. “Adjudicated” rule violations do not include 

pending violations, or violations that remain subject to appeal rights. 

2. The offender is not reincarcerated from the community for a violation of release 

conditions. Offenders who lose their residences through no fault of their own, however, 

shall not be deemed reincarcerated under this provision and shall remain eligible for 

earned good time. 

IV.  Term Reductions 

A. Amount 
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Offenders who meet the eligibility criteria shall earn a reduction of seven (7) days on the 

minimum and maximum sentence for each month during which the offender adheres to 

such criteria. 

 

B.  Exception 

An offender  receiving post-adjudication treatment for a substance abuse disorder in a 

residential setting is not eligible to earn a reduction of seven (7) days each month, but 

shall earn a reduction of one day on the minimum and maximum sentence for each day 

the offender receives the inpatient treatment. 

 

C.  Calculation  

The Department will calculate and award earned good time to offenders, as provided in 

28 V.S.A. § 818(b)(2), for each month they meet the criteria listed in Sections III and IV, 

above. The Department will apply a calculation rubric of proration (see Earned Good 

Time Prorate Chart, below) that equitably awards earned good time in whole days based 

on the number of incarcerated whole days for offenders who are incarcerated for less 

than the whole month (i.e., fewer than 28 days). This rubric applies the 7-day/month 

formula established by 28 V.S.A. § 818. 

 

Earned Good Time Prorate Chart 
 

Eligible offenders can earn up to 7 days of Earned Good Time each month on their minimum and 
maximum sentence. Prorated Earned Good Time will be determined by the number of days per month 
earned. 

# days 
incarcerated 
(includes 
furloughs) per 
month… 

1-9 days 10-18 days 19-27 days 28-31 days 

# days on 
minimum & 
maximum 
sentence 

2 4 6 7 

 

 

D. Notification 

 

1. Offender Notification   

No less frequently than every 90 days, the Department will provide notice to the 

offender of any earned good time reduction to the offender’s term of supervision. 
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The Department will document and record all such reductions in each offender’s 

permanent record monthly. 

 

2. Victim Notification 

The Department will maintain a victim-accessible system of information on earned 

good time sentence reductions. The Department will ensure that all victims of 

record are notified of the earned good time program and of their right to access 

information on earned-good-time-related changes to offenders’ sentences. Victims 

may choose to decline access to such information.  

V.  Considerations  

A. Out-of-State Offenders 

Offenders serving Vermont sentences in out-of-state facilities can earn good time under 

the same process as if they were housed in a Vermont facility, as long as they are 

otherwise eligible pursuant to the requirements set out in 28 V.S.A. § 818(b). 

 

B. Programming and Services 

Offenders engaged in programming and/or services—mandated or otherwise—will 

remain in their programming and/or services regardless of changes to their eligible 

minimum release date due to earned good time. Programming and services designed to 

prepare the offender for reentry must be completed for the offender to be eligible for 

release from Department supervision. If the Department deems an offender is not 

prepared for reentry as a result of the failure to complete programming and/or services 

and the eligible minimum release date has passed, the Department may retain 

supervision over the offender. 

 

C. Minimum Release Eligibility 

Offenders earning good time credit on their minimum sentences are eligible for release 

on the new minimum date. They are not presumptively released on the new minimum 

date. 


