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Who pays for reappraisals in Vermont and why?

» Vermont’s statewide Education Fund and Municipalities
both benefit from fair and equitable property valuation.

» The Legislature annually appropriates $3 million on a per-
parcel basis to municipalities from the General Fund for
Reappraisal purposes.

» The goal is to have each municipality split the cost of a
reappraisal with the State (General Fund).

» Generally, a reappraisal costs a town $100-115 per parcel
in Vermont.




Why is this important?

» The Statewide Grand List increased in 2022 by 12%, to
over $107 Billion in Value.

» Statewide, homestead and nonhomestead property tax
revenue is forecasted to raise $1.4 Billion for the
Education Fund in FY24 per the JFO Ed Fund Outlook.

» Statewide municipal revenue from property taxes was
$592 million in 2022.
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What is our current challenge?

» The preliminary results of the 2022 Equalization Study indicate that 165
of the 254 municipalities will be subject to a reappraisal order.

» 36 of these 165 municipalities were previously under reappraisal order;
42 have reappraisals planned for 2023 - 2027.

» This leaves 123 towns in need of a reappraisal.

» Over the past 10 years, reappraisal contractors in Vermont have

averaged 16 municipal reappraisals per year (approximately 6% of towns
per year).

» At this rate it will take 16 years to get the entire State reappraised.
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Last Year of Reappraisal # of Towns
Why are we concerned? - -
. . . 2006 15
» Of the 165 towns eligible to receive a 2007 13
reappraisal order, 102 municipalities ;ggg 12
have not reappraised since 2015 or 2010 17
. 2011 14
earlier. 012 T
» The International Association of ;giz 1‘1’
Assessing Officers (IAAO) recommends 2015 11
that municipalities reassess propert 2016 L
p p p y 2017 16
values every 4-6 years. 2018 13
2019 22
2020 16
2021 15
2022 16
Total 254
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How is appraisal done in other states?

Required Reappraisal Cycle

According to the International
Association of Assessing Officials
(IAAO) most recent survey, 60% of
states require a reappraisal at
least every 5 years, and over half
of those require it every year.

Thirty-two percent require a fixed 16
schedule longer than 5 years, and only
eight percent (4 states) have no

timeline like Vermont.
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How is appraisal done in other states?

The vast majority (40 of the 50, or Appraisals Done at County Level
80%) of states carry out appraisal
work at the county level.

Eight or 16% do it at the city or town
level, and two (Maryland and
Montana) operate at the state level.

No state has the number of
assessment districts that
Vermont has.
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Do other states require physical inspection?

Most states do not reqUIre a Phy5|Ca| Inspection ReqUII’ed
physical inspection of the property
(27/49 surveyed or 55%).

Of those that do require physical
inspection, 14 require it on a
routine schedule and 8 do not.
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IAAO Principles of Fair and Equitable Assessments
» Appraising properties on a regular basis to determine Fair Market
Value

» Following IAAO technical standards on assessment and office
operations

» Allocating adequate resources to jurisdictions to carry out the
assessing function in accordance with best practices

» Providing assessors and assessing staff with training and ongoing
professional development




Contact Us

@ Tax.pvr@vermont.gov
Jill.Remick@vermont.gov

(802) 828-5860

Thank you! @ Tax.Vermont.gov
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