

## **VERMONT LEGISLATIVE**

# Joint Fiscal Office

1 Baldwin Street • Montpelier, VT 05633-5701 • (802) 828-2295 • https://ljfo.vermont.gov

## Issue Brief

Date 1/25/2023 Nolan Langweil

## A Brief History of the Home Health Provider Tax

#### **Background**

ederal law allows states to use revenues from health care provider taxes to fund the State's share of Medicaid spending.<sup>1</sup> Six classes of health care providers are taxed in Vermont. Revenues from all health care provider taxes go to the General Fund.<sup>2</sup> The Home Health Agency Provider Tax is an assessment on 4.25% of an agency's net patient revenue from services provided in Vermont.<sup>3</sup> Act 73 of 2017 initially repealed the Home Health Provider Tax effective July 1, 2019, however the date of the repeal has since been postponed twice through further legislation.<sup>4</sup> The

The Home Health Agency Assessment is one of six health care provider taxes in Vermont.

Home Health Provider Tax is currently scheduled to sunset on July 1, 2023. Sunsets are sometimes extended, but not repealed, to encourage future legislatures to revisit a topic.

#### **Vermont Provider Taxes**

Class of Provider	Rate (% of net patient Revenue)	FY'22 Actual (x million)	FY'23 Forecast (x million)
Hospitals	6%	\$161.53	\$184.18
Nursing Homes	\$4,919.53 per bed <sup>1</sup>	\$14.66	14.66
Home Health	4.25%	\$5.79	\$6.15
Intermediate Care Facilities <sup>2</sup>	5.9%		
Pharmacy	\$0.10/script	\$0.86	\$0.80
Ambulance	3.3%	\$0.99	\$1.10
TOTAL PROVIDER TAX	K REVENEUE	\$183.83	\$206.89

Rate intended to equal roughly 6% of net patient revenues.

### **History**

#### Prior to 2016

- The assessment rate was 19.3% of net operating revenues from core home health services.<sup>5</sup>
- This equaled between 3.63 and 3.9% of net patient revenues.
  - o Provider taxes are capped at 6% of net patient revenue.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> The Last facility (Westview Court) closed October 2020.



#### Act 134 of 2016

- Act 134 changed the methodology from percentage of net operating revenues from core home health services to percentage of net patient revenues for two years (FY 2017 and 2018).<sup>6</sup>
- The rate was set at 3.63% of net patient revenues.
- Act 134 also required the Department of Vermont Health Access (DVHA) to convene a working group to determine whether the home health agency assessment represented "the most appropriate and equitable model for the assessment, or whether additional changes to the methodology are needed." The working group met and came up with a proposal which was incorporated into Act 73 of 2017 (Misc. Tax Bill).

#### Act 73 of 2017 (Misc. Tax Bill)

- Act 73 changed the definition of "core home health and hospice services" based on recommendations from the working group which included the VNAs of Vermont and Bayada Nursing Services.8
- The assessment rate was changed to 4.25% of net patient revenues from home health services.
- Act 73 set a sunset date for the home health agency provider tax, effective July 1, 2019.

#### Act 71 of 2019 (Revenue Bill)

Act 71 changed the sunset date from July 1, 2019, to July 1, 2021.9

#### Act 73 of 2021 (Misc. Tax Bill)

• Act 73 changed the sunset date from July 1, 2021, to July 1, 2023.<sup>10</sup>

#### Revenues

#### Home Health Provider Tax Revenues, FY 2018 - Present (x million)

ACTUAL					PROJECTED
FY 18	FY 19	FY 20	FY 21	FY 22	FY 23
\$4.70	\$4.80	\$5.58	\$5.81	\$5.79	\$6.15

Note: The Governor has proposed letting the Home Health Provider Tax sunset on July 1, 2023. As such, there are no projected revenues from this tax for FY 2024.

VT LEG #366611 v.2

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> States and the federal government share in the financing of the Medicaid program.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Prior to 2019, all provider tax revenues were deposited into the State Heath Care Resources Fund. Act 6 of 2019, Sec. 64 – the 2019 Budget Adjustment Act – reallocated these revenues to the General Fund.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> 33 V.S.A. § 1955a

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Act 71 of 2019 and Act 73 of 2021

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Prior to 2016 revenues from Medicare were specifically excluded from the home health provider tax.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Act 134 of 2016, Sec. 32

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> Act 134 of 2016, Sec. 33

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>8</sup> Act 73 of 2017, Sec. 18

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>9</sup> Act 71 of 2019, Sec. 18d

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>10</sup> Act 73 of 2021, Sec. 18d