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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

In	alignment	with	 its	 climate	 change	goals,	 the	State	of	Vermont	has	 implemented	policies	and	
programs	to	reduce	emissions	from	the	transportation	sector	over	the	past	decade,	many	of	which	
incentivize	the	purchase	of	all-electric	vehicles	(AEVs)	and	plug-in	hybrid	electric	vehicle	(PHEVs).	
The	 state’s	 transportation	 system	 depends	 upon	 significant	 fuel-tax	 revenues.	 However,	 as	
Vermont	 experiences	 increasing	 success	 in	 electrifying	 transportation,	 it	 has	 become	 clear	 to	
Vermont’s	Agency	of	Transportation	(AOT)	that	alternative	funding	strategies	need	be	explored	to	
offset	the	lost	fuel	tax	revenues.		

Though	 at	 present	 minimal—a	 revenue	 loss	 of	 $300,000	 per	 year	 relative	 to	 total	 state	
transportation	fund	revenues	of	$283	million	in	state	fiscal	year	2021—industry	experts	expect	
the	impact	will	grow	to	unsustainable	levels	once	AEVs	and	PHEVs	come	into	competitive	parity	
with	internal	combustion	engine	vehicles	(ICEVs)	later	this	decade.	This	would	grow	the	electric	
vehicle	(EV)	fleet	substantially	in	a	short	time.	The	Vermont	Climate	Council	approved	a	Climate	
Action	Plan	(CAP)	in	December	2021	that	is	based	on	significant	increases	in	registered	EVs.	To	
meet	the	greenhouse	gas	reduction	goals	established	in	the	2020	Global	Warming	Solutions	Act,	
the	CAP	depends	on	the	number	of	Vermont-registered	EVs	to	increase	from	approximately	4,300	
in	2020	to	47,500	in	2025	and	172,000	in	2030.	The	CAP	assumes	658,000	EVs	in	2050,	which	is	
almost	all	Vermont-registered	vehicles.	If	the	CAP	targets	are	achieved,	the	resulting	loss	in	fuel	tax	
revenues	will	be	$5,	$19,	and	$81	million	in	2025,	2030,	and	2050	respectively.	Therefore,	it	has	
become	 necessary	 to	 identify	 an	 alternative	 revenue	 source	 to	 offset	 the	 decline	 in	 fuel	 tax	
revenues.		

Various	 states	have	explored	and	experimented	with	alternative	 revenue	mechanisms	over	 the	
course	of	the	past	20	years.	Most	of	these	mechanisms	relate	to	each	driver’s	responsibility	for	road	
usage	under	the	user-pays	philosophy;	thus	referred	to	as	road	usage	charges.		

Vermont’s Road Usage Charge Analysis 
This	 report	 evaluates	 the	 feasibility	 of	 adding	 an	 assortment	 of	 road	 usage	 charges	 paid	 by	
owners/drivers	 of	 AEVs	 and	 PHEVs	 who	 pay	 little	 or	 no	 fuel	 taxes.	 Road	 usage	 charges	 are	
assessments	on	a	vehicle	for	usage	of	the	road	system.		

To	evaluate	a	road	usage	charge	(RUC)	concept	made	up	of	a	mileage-based	user	fee	(MBUF),	an	
annual	flat	fee	and	a	per-kilowatt	hour	fee	(per-kWh	fee),	the	AOT	assembled	the	RUC	Advisory	
Committee	and	 interviewed	stakeholders.	The	RUC	Advisory	Committee	met	 three	 times	 in	 the	
second	half	of	2021.	Subcommittees	of	the	RUC	focused	on	the	MBUF	and	per-kWh	fee.		
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Mileage-Based User Fee 
A	mileage-based	user	fee	is	a	per-mile	fee	based	on	measurement	of	the	actual	distance	traveled	by	
a	vehicle	registered	in	Vermont	and	owned	by	a	Vermont	resident.	The	revenue-neutral	MBUF	rate	
for	Vermont	is	estimated	as	1.3	cents	per	mile.	The	formula	for	calculating	a	revenue-neutral	MBUF	
rate	is	the	state	gas	tax	rate	divided	by	the	combined	average	miles	per	gallon	(MPG)	per	light-duty	
vehicle	in	Vermont.1		

If	the	state	does	not	offer	a	gas	tax	credit	for	PHEV	usage,	then	the	rate	for	PHEVs	should	be	less	
than	the	rate	for	AEVs.	Applying	the	US	Department	of	Energy’s	estimated	PHEV	combined	fuel	
efficiency	rating	of	37.9	MPG	results	in	a	PHEV	per-mile	rate	of	half	a	cent	per	mile	(0.5	cents/mile).	
A	state	legislature	may	desire	to	update	the	PHEV	MPG	figure	when	setting	the	PHEV	rate	because	
of	the	rapidity	of	change	in	the	EV	market	

The	analyses	determined	that	the	State	of	Vermont	has	the	advantage	of	already	collecting	the	basic	
mileage	data	required	to	calculate	 the	MBUF.	Odometer	readings	are	currently	collected	during	
annual	vehicle	safety	inspections	for	all	vehicles.	The	RUC	Advisory	Committee	process	described	
in	this	report	revealed	that	the	DMV	could	access	this	mileage	data	to	impose	a	per-mile	fee	on	EV	
drivers	at	low	administrative	cost.	Since	the	state	of	Vermont	already	gathers	this	mileage	data,	no	
privacy	 issues	 emerge.	 Furthermore,	without	 a	 privacy	 concern,	 there	 is	 no	 reason	 to	 offer	 an	
alternative	payment	option	such	as	an	annual	flat	fee	or	a	different	data	reporting	method.	

The	remaining	policy	question	is	whether	to	offer	refunds	of	MBUFs	paid	for	driving	out	of	state.	
Refunds	 are	 expensive	 to	 manage	 and	 generally	 minimal	 in	 size.	 Also,	 other	 resident	 drivers	
currently	pay	the	fuel	tax	on	miles	driven	out	of	state.	AOT	and	the	RUC	Advisory	Committee	does	
not	recommend	offering	refunds	for	out-of-state	travel.	

Per-kilowatt Hour Fee 
A	per	kWh	fee	is	an	assessment	on	use	of	the	road	system	based	on	the	amount	of	electricity	charged	
into	an	EV.	The	per-kWh	fee	is	being	evaluated	as	a	potential	way	to	collect	fees	from	out-of-state	
EV	owners	driving	in	Vermont.	Conceptually,	nonresidents	who	charge	their	EVs	at	public	charging	
stations	in	Vermont	would	pay	a	per-kWh	fee	on	top	of	the	base	charging	rate.	

Based	on	the	RUC	Advisory	Committee	investigation,	the	AOT	concluded	too	little	is	known	about	
how	to	technically	implement	a	per-kWh	fee	and	its	cost	implications	to	go	forward	at	this	time.	
The	potential	revenue	generation	for	the	foreseeable	future	is	also	insignificant.	Given	the	limited	
knowledge	on	the	maturity	of	the	technology	required	to	reliably	capture	information	on	electricity	
transferred	to	vehicles	at	public	charging	stations	across	the	state,	the	project	team	recommended	
that	AOT	undertake	a	research	program	before	proceeding	with	any	formal	action	to	implement	a	
per-kWh	fee.	

Stakeholder Engagements 
Across	the	stakeholders	interviewed,	there	was	a	general	understanding	of	the	need	for	alternative	
revenue	mechanisms	to	make	up	for	the	loss	of	fuel	tax	revenues	because	of	the	shift	to	EV	usage.	

	

1	The	calculation	is	$0.30/22.7	=	$0.013.	
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There	was	disagreement,	however,	on	which	revenue	mechanisms	to	rely	upon.	Local	governments	
supported	the	RUC	concepts,	while	environmental	groups	preferred	other	alternatives	owing	to	
concern	about	deterring	purchase	of	EVs.	However,	they	note	that	if	EV	purchase	prices	decrease,	
this	concern	may	disappear.	

A	 targeted	 survey	was	 conducted	 of	 people	 associated	with	 stakeholder	 groups	 such	 as	 Drive	
Electric	Vermont,	Capstone	Community	Action,	regional	planning	commissions,	and	environmental	
groups.	 It	 revealed	 that	 60%	 of	 survey	 participants	 support	 establishing	 MBUFs	 for	 EVs.	 If	 a	
mileage-based	fee	is	established,	72.3%	preferred	sharing	access	to	an	odometer	reading	during	
an	annual	vehicle	inspection,	even	though	they	would	pay	for	all	miles	traveled	whether	on	or	off	
Vermont	public	roads	or	outside	Vermont.	Establishment	of	a	MBUF	or	a	flat	fee	would	not	affect	
the	willingness	to	purchase	an	EV	for	84%	of	those	surveyed.	

Conclusion 
The	pathway	forward	for	the	Vermont	Road	Usage	Charge	Concept	has	become	clearer.	Vermont	
can	 feasibly	 implement	 a	 simple	MBUF	 on	 AEVs	 and	 PHEVs	 by	 using	 odometer	 readings	 now	
captured	 at	 annual	 vehicle	 inspections.	 Exactly	 how	 Vermont	 will	 implement	 this	 system	 still	
requires	additional	research	and	development,	but	from	a	policy	perspective,	the	vision	for	how	
Vermont	 can	 implement	 a	 MBUF	 is	 now	 clear.	 The	 Vermont	 Climate	 Action	 Plan	 includes	 a	
recommendation	from	a	2016	State	of	Vermont	legislative	study	on	EV	registration	fees	that	a	road	
user	fee	for	EVs	should	not	go	into	effect	until	the	number	of	registered	EVs	represents	15%	of	
vehicle	 sales	 or	 approximately	 18,835	 new	 registered	 passenger	 vehicles.2	 This	 threshold	was	
forecasted	 to	 be	 achieved	 by	 2025.	 The	 actual	 timing	 is	 uncertain,	 but	 given	 that	 efforts	 to	
encourage	EV	adoption	will	be	increasing	to	meet	the	Climate	Action	Plan	goals,	the	AOT	should	
move	forward	with	designing	and	testing	the	odometer-based	system	now	so	that	the	system	is	in	
place	when	the	threshold	is	met.	
	 	

	

2	Source:	Sec.	15	Plug-in	Hybrid	and	Electric	Vehicle	Registration	Fees,	December	2016,	Vermont	Agency	of	Transportation	
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PART ONE 
INTRODUCTORY MATERIALS 
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Introduction 
Two	developments	over	the	past	2	decades	have	emerged	that	motivate	the	State	of	Vermont	to	
pursue	analysis	of	road	usage	charging	as	a	funding	alternative	for	the	transportation	system:	

§ All-electric	vehicles	(AEVs)	have	reached	a	point	of	market	viability	that	will	continue	for	
many	years	until	they	become	the	dominant	vehicle	type.	These	vehicles	do	not	rely	upon	
liquid	 fuel	 and	 therefore	 the	drivers	do	not	pay	a	usage	charge	 for	 traveling	on	Vermont	
roads.		

§ Various	states	have	pursued	defining	and	implementing	an	assortment	of	approaches	to	road	
usage	 charging	 funding	 methods	 that	 Vermont	 may	 find	 useful	 in	 solving	 its	 rising	
transportation	funding	problem.	

In	preparation	for	the	analysis	of	road	usage	charging	(RUC),	the	state’s	Agency	of	Transportation	
(AOT)	has	engaged	in	deep	research	of	RUC’s	elements	and	potential.	The	results	of	this	research	
have	led	to	creation	of	a	conceptualization	of	RUC	specifically	designed	for	the	State	of	Vermont.		

To	 evaluate	 Vermont’s	 RUC	 concept	 for	 new	 user	 fees	 for	 electric	 vehicles	 (EVs)	 traveling	 on	
Vermont’s	highways,	the	AOT	assembled	the	RUC	Advisory	Committee.	This	report	(1)	describes	
the	process	undertaken	by	the	RUC	Advisory	Committee,	including	the	information	gathered	and	
the	analysis	undertaken	and	(2)	presents	the	results	in	four	parts:		

§ Part	One	 introduces	 the	 reader	 to	 the	 topic	of	 road	usage	 charges	 and	 the	Vermont	RUC	
concept.	Part	One	 tells	 the	 story	of	 the	motivation,	 the	 investigation,	 and	 the	progress	of	
newer	 user-pays	 concepts—mileage-based	 user	 fees	 (MBUFs),	 annual	 flat	 fee,	 and	 per-
kilowatt	hour	fees	(per-kWh	fee)	—for	funding	transportation	systems	in	the	United	States.		

§ Part	 Two	 describes	 the	 RUC	 Advisory	 Committee	 process	 for	 analyzing	 Vermont’s	 RUC	
concept,	including	stakeholder	outreach	and	survey	results.		

§ Part	Three	presents	the	MBUF	concept	and	the	annual	flat-fee	concept,	including	the	design	
options,	 associated	 policy	 and	 system	 issues,	 and	 each	 option’s	 financial	 and	 practical	
realities.	This	part	presents	a	preferred	way	to	collect	the	MBUF	and	an	assessment	approach	
for	implementation.		

§ Part	Four	presents	the	per-kWh	fee	and	the	research	program	going	forward.		

The Context 
In	 alignment	 with	 its	 climate	 change	 goals,	 over	 the	 past	 decade	 the	 State	 of	 Vermont	 has	
implemented	policies	and	programs	to	reduce	emissions	from	the	transportation	sector,	many	of	
which	 incentivize	 the	 purchase	 of	 AEVs	 and	 plug-in	 electric	 vehicle	 (PHEVs).	 The	 state’s	
transportation	 system	 depends	 upon	 significant	 fuel-tax	 revenues.	 However,	 as	 Vermont	
experiences	 increasing	 success	 in	 electrifying	 transportation,	 it	 has	 become	 clear	 to	 Vermont’s	
Agency	of	Transportation	(AOT)	that	alternative	funding	strategies	need	be	explored	to	offset	the	
lost	fuel	tax	revenues.		
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Though	 at	 present	 minimal—a	 revenue	 loss	 of	 $300,000	 per	 year	 relative	 to	 total	 state	
transportation	fund	revenues	of	$283	million	in	state	fiscal	year	2021—industry	experts	expect	
the	impact	will	grow	to	unsustainable	levels	once	EVs	come	into	competitive	parity	with	internal	
combustion	engine	vehicles	(ICEVs)	later	this	decade.	This	would	grow	the	EV	fleet	substantially	in	
a	short	time.		

The	Vermont	Climate	Council	approved	a	Climate	Action	Plan	(CAP)	in	December	2021	that	is	based	
on	significant	increases	in	registered	EVs.	To	meet	the	greenhouse	gas	reduction	goals	established	
in	the	2020	Global	Warming	Solutions	Act,	the	CAP	depends	on	the	number	of	Vermont-registered	
EVs	to	increase	from	approximately	4,300	in	2020	to	47,500	in	2025	and	172,000	in	2030.	The	CAP	
assumes	658,000	EVs	in	2050,	which	is	almost	all	Vermont-registered	vehicles.	If	the	CAP	targets	
are	achieved,	the	resulting	loss	in	fuel	tax	revenues	will	be	$5,	$19,	and	$81	million	in	2025,	2030,	
and	 2050	 respectively.	 Therefore,	 it	 has	 become	 necessary	 to	 identify	 an	 alternative	 revenue	
source	to	offset	the	decline	in	fuel	tax	revenues.	

Numerous	states	have	explored	and	experimented	with	alternative	revenue	mechanisms	over	the	
past	20	years.	Most	of	these	mechanisms	are	based	on	each	driver’s	responsibility	to	pay	for	road	
usage	under	the	user-pays	philosophy,	referred	to	as	road	usage	charges.		

The	most	common	types	of	road	usage	charges	developed	or	implemented	by	the	states	are	a	flat-
fee	equivalent	to	an	estimation	of	the	annual	fuel	taxes	paid	by	ICEVs	and	a	flat	rate	based	on	actual	
miles	 driven	 (MBUF).	 Having	 conducted	 pilot	 programs	 or	 implementation	 of	 operational	
programs,	many	states	have	deemed	the	flat	fee	and	the	MBUF	as	technically	feasible.	

Recently,	two	state	legislatures	enacted	a	per-kWh	fee,	but	the	states	have	yet	to	implement	it.	In	
2020,	 the	 Vermont	 Public	 Utility	 Commission	 found	 that	 a	 widely	 applied	 per-kWh	 fee	 had	
significant	obstacles.	A	per-kWh	fee	applied	only	to	nonresident	drivers	of	EVs	appears	to	have	
technical	feasibility,	while	a	per-kWh	fee	applied	to	home	charging	is	infeasible	because	metering	
wall-socket	charging	is	impracticable.3	The	remaining	question	is	whether	implementation	of	such	
a	fee	on	nonresident	EV	drivers	has	practicality.	

To	examine	road	usage	charging	for	applicability	to	Vermont,	the	AOT	created	the	RUC	Advisory	
Committee.	 The	 RUC	Advisory	 Committee	 undertook	 a	 formal	 process	 for	 evaluation	 of	 a	 RUC	
concept	that	was	proposed	by	the	AOT	for	replacing	or	augmenting	fuel	taxes	not	paid	for	EV	use	
in	the	state.	

Why Road Usage Charging for Funding Transportation 
Throughout	 the	 20th	 century,	 the	 fuel	 excise	 tax	 provided	 the	 primary	 means	 of	 funding	 the	
maintenance	 and	 modernization	 of	 the	 nation’s	 roadway	 system.	 Across	 the	 country,	 state	
legislatures	 periodically	 increased	 fuel	 taxes	 to	 (1)	 expand	 the	 roadway	 system	 and	 (2)	 fund	
walking	 and	 biking	 infrastructure	 and	 transit	 service	 to	 accommodate	 population	 growth	 and	
prevent	the	erosion	of	revenues	from	the	effects	of	inflation.		

	

3	Source:	Memorandum	on	Per	Kilowatt	Hour	Fees	System	Definition	to	Vermont	Agency	of	Transportation	from	CDM	Smith	
dated	September	27,	2021.	
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Based	on	the	user-pays	principle,	the	legislatures’	choice	of	the	excise	fuel	tax	for	road	funding	was	
an	attempt	to	make	the	roadway	users	responsible	for	roadway	upkeep.	This	strategy	worked	well	
for	nearly	one	hundred	years.	

In	the	early	21st	century,	another	erosion	factor	emerged:	the	entry	into	the	marketplace	of	highly	
fuel-efficient	vehicles	that	operated	using	little	or	no	fuel.	This	new	erosion	factor	could	only	be	
allayed	by	fuel	tax	increases	for	a	temporary	period	before	the	inequity	of	putting	the	entire	burden	
of	roadway	funding	needs	onto	only	conventional	vehicles	would	face	strong	resistance.	To	solve	
this	erosion	problem,	the	states	would	have	to	create	a	new	method	of	funding	roadways	that	did	
not	rely	upon	the	purchase	of	fuel.	

The	 fuel	efficiency	erosion	 factor	 in	particular	has	undermined	the	user-pays	nature	of	 the	 fuel	
excise	tax	nationally.	The	amount	of	fuel	taxes	the	users	paid	varied	widely	depending	upon	the	
fuel	efficiency	of	the	vehicle.	Drivers	of	fuel-inefficient	vehicles	tend	to	pay	four	or	five	times	the	
amount	of	fuel	tax	per	mile	as	the	drivers	of	fuel-efficient	vehicles.	Indeed,	drivers	of	AEVs	paid	no	
fuel	tax	at	all,	although	they	do	pay	other	fees	that	contribute	to	the	State’s	transportation	fund,	
such	as	license	and	registration	costs	and	vehicle	purchase	and	sales	taxes.		

In	 an	 attempt	 to	 stabilize	 revenues,	 state	 legislatures	 explored	 potential	 future	mechanisms	 to	
replace	the	heretofore	robust	fuel	tax.	Preferring	to	maintain	the	user-pays	principle,	some	state	
legislatures	mainly	explored	MBUFs	for	replacing	or	augmenting	the	excise	fuel	tax.	Alternatively,	
other	state	legislatures	implemented	flat	fees	on	EVs	to	cover	revenue	losses.	Some	experimented	
with	both.	

Vermont’s Road Usage Charge Concept 
The	State	of	Vermont	has	begun	evaluating	options	to	replace	declining	fuel	tax	revenues—adding	
an	assortment	of	road	usage	charges	paid	by	owner/operators	of	AEVs,	PHEVs,	and	possibly	highly	
fuel-efficient	ICEVs	for	use	of	the	state’s	road	system.		

Under	Vermont’s	RUC	concept,	drivers	of	AEVs	and	PHEVs	registered	in	Vermont	would	have	the	
choice	of	paying	either	an	annual	flat	fee	or	an	MBUF.	Out-of-state	EV	drivers	recharging	at	Vermont	
public	charging	stations	would	pay	a	per-kWh	fee	on	the	electricity	transferred	to	the	vehicle.	

Annual Flat-Fee Option 
An	annual	flat	fee	is	an	assessment	for	driving	on	the	Vermont	road	system,	which	is	not	based	on	
vehicle	usage	but	 rather	 set	at	a	 fixed	amount	per	year.	The	 flat	 fee	would	be	 revenue	neutral,	
meaning	the	average	revenue	raised	per	vehicle	would	equate	to	the	total	fuel	tax	or	diesel	tax	paid	
in	a	year	by	the	average	ICEV.	The	flat-fee	amount	for	each	vehicle	type—EV,	PHEV,	high	mileage	
ICEV—will	depend	upon	their	relative	 fuel	efficiencies,	 the	 typical	annual	miles	 traveled	by	 the	
average	Vermont	resident,	and	other	factors.	The	expected	fee	amount	per	year	in	Vermont	has	
been	estimated	in	previous	studies4	to	be	about	$120	for	an	AEV	and	$71	for	a	PHEV	and	is	verified	
as	part	of	this	study.	

	

4	Source:	Act	12:	Section	28	Report	(2013).	A	Study	on	Replacing	Motor	Fuel	Tax	Revenues	Not	Collected	from	Plug-In	Electric	
Vehicles.	
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Mileage-Based Fee (MBUF) 
A	mileage-based	user	fee	is	a	per-mile	fee	based	on	measurement	of	the	actual	distance	traveled	by	
a	vehicle	registered	in	Vermont	and	owned	by	a	Vermont	resident.	The	mileage-based	fee	would	
be	revenue	neutral,	meaning	the	average	revenue	raised	per	vehicle	would	equate	to	the	total	fuel	
tax	or	diesel	tax	paid	in	a	year	by	the	average	ICEV,	adjusted	for	each	EV	type.	The	expected	MBUF	
rate	has	been	estimated	in	previous	studies	to	be	between	1.3	and	1.5	cents	per	mile4	to	achieve	
revenue	neutrality.	The	total	fees	paid	for	an	individual	vehicle	may	be	capped	at	the	annual	fee	
amount.		

Per Kilowatt Hour Fee (per-kWh fee) 
A	per-kWh	 fee	 is	 an	 assessment	 on	 use	 of	 the	 road	 system	 based	 on	 the	 amount	 of	 electricity	
charged	 into	 an	 EV.	 Under	 Vermont’s	 initial	 RUC	 concept	 analyzed	 in	 this	 study,	 nonresident	
owners	of	EVs	charging	at	public	charging	stations	in	Vermont	would	pay	a	per-kWh	fee	on	top	of	
the	base	charging	rate.	The	expected	charging	rate	as	estimated	in	previous	studies	would	be	3.4	
cents	per	kilowatt	hour.4	Vermont	owners	of	AEVs	or	PHEVs	would	pay	the	fee	if	using	a	public	
charging	 station	unless	 there	 is	 a	mechanism	 identified	 that	 can	 credit	Vermont	 residents.	The	
concept	did	not	include	a	fee	on	charging	an	EV	at	a	residence.		

Rate Setting for Road Usage Charging 
Development	of	a	fee	structure	for	different	road	usage	charging	policy	options	is	both	defined	by	
and	 informs	 the	 design	 decisions	 for	 the	 system.	 A	 fee	 structure	 should	 ensure	 generation	 of	
sufficient	revenue	for	the	fee’s	purpose,	but	it	should	also	consider	impacts	on	those	who	pay	and	
avoid	distorting	the	choices	of	those	affected	(for	example,	encouraging	undesirable	behavior).	It	
should	 be	 considered	 dynamic,	 adaptable	 to	 changes	 in	 policy	 and	 external	 conditions.	 Fee	
structures	 directly	 inform	 revenue	 modeling	 and	 cost	 modeling,	 as	 well	 as	 communication	 to	
stakeholders	about	how	much	road	users	might	pay,	on	what	basis,	and	why.	

The	consultant	CDM	Smith	provided	seven	criteria	that	may	be	used	for	setting	rates	for	the	flat	
fee,	MBUF,	and	the	per-kWh	fee:	

§ Revenue	generating	potential:	The	ability	of	the	rates	to	raise	sufficient	net	revenues	to	be	
worthwhile.	

§ Financial	sustainability:	The	potential	for	the	rate	schedules	to	be	responsive	to	changes	in	
vehicle	ownership	and	usage.	

§ Flexibility:	 The	 rate	 schedule	 should	 be	 sufficiently	 flexible	 to	 be	 adapted	 to	 changes	 in	
policy	to	meet	changing	conditions	over	time.	

§ Equity	and	revenue	neutrality:	The	rates	should	be	broadly	commensurate	to	what	other	
types	of	vehicle	drivers	are	charged	to	use	the	roads,	so	that	those	paying	any	of	the	three	
types	of	fees	are	not	burdened,	on	average,	greater	than	other	drivers.	This	may	also	take	

	

https://publicservice.vermont.gov/sites/dps/files/documents/Transportation_LandUse/Goal1/Act12%2C%20sec28%20E
V%20fees%20study.pdf	
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into	account	avoiding	 imposition	of	 a	 sudden	 increase	 in	 fees	 for	members	of	 vulnerable	
communities.	

§ Avoid	negative	 impacts	 on	AEV	and	PHEV	adoption:	 The	 objective	 of	 raising	 revenue	
should	be	balanced	by	wider	policy	interest	in	maintaining	growth	in	adoption	of	AEV	and	
PHEVs	both	in	ownership	and	usage.	

§ Economic	efficiency:	The	rate	structures	should	not	distort	economic	activity	or	encourage	
transportation	use	decisions	that	are	less	efficient	than	those	that	apply	to	other	drivers.	The	
rate	structures	should	seek	to	raise	revenue	from	drivers	reflecting	their	usage	of	the	road	
system	and	reflecting	their	contribution	to	what	is	spent	on	the	network.	

§ Operational	 feasibility:	 Rate	 structures	 should	 be	 ready	 for	 application,	 precluding	
opportunities	for	evasion	or	fraud.	

This	 range	 of	 criteria	 balances	 out	 the	 priority	 of	 raising	 revenue	 with	 the	 sustainability	 of	
introducing	 potential	 new	 sources	 of	 revenue	 and	 the	 impacts	 of	 those	 sources	 on	 vehicle	
ownership,	usage,	and	the	subject	communities.		

Important	 to	 rate	 setting	 are	 the	 equity	 impacts	 of	 a	 fee	 on	drivers	 from	different	 locations	 in	
Vermont	or	with	widely	varying	incomes.		

Equity Impacts of Road Usage Charging 
Comparison of Urban and Rural Road Usage 
Concerns	over	the	possible	impacts	of	fees	on	rural	drivers	compared	to	urban	drivers	have	been	
raised	 in	 previous	 RUC	 programs.	 The	 issue	 was	 addressed	 in	 Oregon	 in	 the	 final	 report	 for	
Oregon’s	RUC	program	 (OReGO).5	A	 study	 conducted	by	Oregon	State	University	 indicated	 that	
rural	drivers	drive	further	per	trip	than	urban	drivers	but	take	fewer	trips	and	in	total	drive	only	
slightly	more	than	urban	drivers.	The	conclusion	on	the	impact	of	a	MBUF	was	that	rural	drivers	
would	pay	proportionately	 less	 fuel	 tax	 than	 their	urban	counterparts	because	 rural	drivers,	on	
average,	drive	lower	fuel-efficient	vehicles	than	drivers	in	urban	areas.6	

For	Vermont,	where	urban	drivers	are	more	likely	to	own	AEVs	and	PHEVs,	a	similar	hypothesis	
appears	credible.7	The	RUC	West	consortium	of	states	undertook	an	additional	study	that	indicated	
the	daily	mileage	traveled	in	nine	states	(when	comparing	urban	and	rural	drivers)	varied	by	state.	
This	variation	suggested	the	 impact	of	a	MBUF	on	rural	drivers	was	unlikely	 to	be	significantly	
different	from	urban	drivers.8	Federal	Highway	Administration	statistics	indicate	that	around	71%	
of	miles	driven	in	Vermont	are	on	roads	in	rural	areas,	compared	to	30%	for	the	national	average,	
but	this	does	not	necessarily	indicate	that	rural	vehicles	travel	significantly	more	miles	per	year	

	

5	See	https://www.oregon.gov/odot/Programs/RUF/IP-Road%20Usage%20Evaluation%20Book%20WEB_4-26.pdf	
6	 P.55,	 Oregon’s	 Road	 Usage	 Charge,	 The	 OReGO	 Program,	 Final	 Report,	 ODOT,	 February	 2017	
(https://www.oregon.gov/odot/Programs/RUF/IP-Road%20Usage%20Evaluation%20Book%20WEB_4-26.pdf)		
Sourced	from	https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/Programs/ResearchDocuments/SPR774_RoadUsageCharge_Final.pdf	

7	 This	 report	 is	 regularly	 updated	 with	 trends	 on	 locations	 of	 EV	 ownership	 per	 head	 of	 country	 population:	
https://www.driveelectricvt.com/Media/Default/docs/maps/vt_ev_registration_trends.pdf	

8	 See	 Table	 17	 in	 https://www.ebp-us.com/sites/default/files/project/uploads/FINAL-REPORT---Financial-Impacts-of-RUC-
on-Urban-and-Rural-Households_Corrected.pdf	
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than	equivalent	urban	vehicles.9	This	 is	because	Vermont	has	around	65%	of	residents	living	in	
rural	areas,	which	would	indicate	that	it	is	appropriate	for	such	a	higher	proportion	of	miles	to	be	
driven	in	rural	areas.10	These	statistics	include	heavy-duty	vehicles,	which	travel,	on	average,	much	
more	miles	per	annum	than	light	duty	vehicles.		

A	statewide	public	opinion	survey	of	2,496	residents,	prepared	for	AOT	in	2016	to	update	the	
Long	Range	Transportation	Plan,	offers	a	closer	view	of	driving	behavior	in	Vermont,	albeit	prior	
to	the	pandemic.	Though	self-reported,	and	therefore	not	independently	verified,	the	survey	
indicates	that	rural	drivers	of	passenger	vehicles	drive	45%	to	90%	longer	distances	for	
commuting	and	on	weekdays	than	do	urban	or	suburban	drivers.	Rural	and	suburban	drivers	also	
live	farther	from	work	than	urban	drivers.		See	Table	1.	
	

Table 1. 2016 Survey of Work Commute Distance and Weekday Driving in Vermont11 

Which of the following best 
describes the place where you 

live? 
 
 

 

Thinking about your travel on the 
most recent weekday, not 

weekend, about how many miles 
did you travel by passenger 

vehicle? 
 

Mean  

Approximately how many miles do 
you live from work? 

 
 
 

Mean  
Urban 35.48 8.98 
Suburban 47.05 13.68 
Rural 68.17 19.21 

 

There	is	insufficient	data	on	the	urban/rural	distribution	of	AEVs	and	PHEVs	in	Vermont,	but	given	
available	data	on	vehicle	ownership	distributions,	proportions	of	distance	traveled	and	evidence	
from	other	states,	 it	appears	 likely	that	any	new	fees	on	AEVs	and	PHEVs	would	have	a	greater	
impact	on	urban	areas	in	Vermont.	Flat	fees	have	equivalent	impacts	in	urban	and	rural	areas	as	
they	are	unaffected	by	usage	patterns.	Given	the	very	high	proportion	of	AEV	and	PHEV	charging	
undertaken	at	home,	fees	on	public	charging	stations	are	unlikely	to	have	significant	impacts	on	
AEV	 and	 PHEV	 owners	 in	 urban	 or	 rural	 areas.	 Nevertheless,	 a	 subset	 of	 such	 owners	 that	
undertake	longer	trips	to	locations	further	from	home	are	likely	to	pay	more	(except	if	they	are	
excluded	 as	 Vermont	 residents	 from	 the	 per-kWh	 fee	 at	 public	 charging	 stations).	 Additional	
research	might	be	undertaken	to	understand	the	demographics	of	public	charging	station	users.	An	
MBUF	would	 likely	have	no	disproportionate	 impact	on	 rural	 owners	of	AEVs	and	PHEVs	 than	
urban	owners,	particularly	in	comparison	to	the	current	impact	of	the	fuel	tax	on	gasoline-powered	
light-duty	vehicle	owners.	

	

9	Source:	https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/policyinformation/statistics/2019/vm2.cfm	
10	 Source:	 Pg.	 12	 https://ljfo.vermont.gov/assets/Subjects/Commission-Resources/05a742b874/Population-Changes-and-
Vermont-State-Revenue-FULL-REPORT.pdf	

11	Source:	Vermont	Statewide	Public	Opinion	Survey	Report,	conducted	by	Resource	Systems	Group,	Inc.	(RSG),	2016	
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Impacts by Income Category 
The	 two	 key	 influences	 on	 the	 impacts	 of	 a	 flat	 fee,	 MBUF,	 or	 per-kWh	 fee	 on	 lower	 income	
households	are	(1)	the	profile	of	owners	of	AEVs	and	PHEVs	and	(2)	the	profile	of	road	usage	of	
such	owners.	

AOT’s	surveys12	indicate	that	the	main	barrier	to	ownership	of	AEVs	and	PHEVs	is	high	up-front	
costs,	particularly	given	that	the	supply	of	such	vehicles	is	relatively	new,	and	there	is	not	yet	an	
extensive	market	in	used	AEVs	and	PHEVs.		

Data	on	the	zip	codes	with	the	highest	proportions	of	AEVs	and	PHEVs	in	Vermont13	correlate	with	
the	highest	income	zip	codes	in	the	state.14	Nationwide,	79%	of	AEV	purchases	are	undertaken	in	
households	with	incomes	of	over	$50,000	per	annum	(57%	of	over	$100,000),	and	80%	of	PHEV	
purchases,	with	87%	purchased	by	buyers	who	identified	as	white.15	A	total	of	78%	of	AEV	or	PHEV	
owners	live	in	households	with	two	or	more	vehicles.	Significantly,	there	is	no	apparent	change	in	
the	income	profile	of	AEV/PHEV	buyers	since	2012.16	

The	conclusion	is	that	the	likely	equity	impacts	of	MBUFs	on	AEVs	and	PHEVs	is	neutral	to	positive	
if	 it	accounts	 for	the	contribution	of	net	revenues	toward	the	costs	of	 the	state’s	transportation	
system.	At	present,	owners	of	such	vehicles	pay	significantly	less	than	owners	of	fuel	vehicles,	and	
there	is	some	evidence	that	the	average	mileage	of	such	vehicles	is	not	necessarily	less	than	that	of	
gasoline-powered	vehicles.	 This	 suggests	 that	 flat	 fees	based	on	 average	vehicle	miles	 traveled	
(VMT)	or	MBUF	based	on	average	MPG	would	have	no	net-negative	impacts	on	more	vulnerable	
households	in	Vermont.	

Keeping Road Usage Charging Fees Current 
Fee	rates	may	be	appropriate	for	a	particular	moment,	but	over	time	the	state’s	demographics	may	
change	and	inflation	may	reduce	the	rate’s	relative	value.	To	manage	these	changes	in	advance,	the	
state	could	adopt	policies	to	keep	the	fees	current.	

The	primary	objectives	 for	ensuring	 fees	 remain	current	are	 (1)	 revenue	sustainability	and	 (2)	
equitable	allocation	of	costs	among	road	users.	

The	best	practices	for	keeping	fees	current	include	two	broad	approaches:	

§ Automatic	adjustment	based	on	inflation	and	factors	such	as	average	fleet	fuel	efficiency	
§ Determining	 cost	 responsibility	 by	 vehicle	 type	by	 revenue	modeling	based	on	projected	

spending,	inflation,	vehicle	miles	traveled,	vehicle	weight,	and	fleet	changes	
	

	

12	Source:	https://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Legislative-Reports/2016-Legislative-EV-Study-FINAL-formatted.pdf	
13	Source:	Pg.	3	https://www.driveelectricvt.com/Media/Default/docs/maps/vt_ev_registration_trends.pdf	
14	Source:	https://www.zipdatamaps.com/economics/income/agi/state/wealthiest-zipcodes-in-vermont	
15	 Source:	 Pg.	 10	 https://www.fuelsinstitute.org/Research/Reports/EV-Consumer-Behavior/EV-Consumer-Behavior-
Report.pdf	

16	 Source:	 Pg.	 17	 https://www.fuelsinstitute.org/Research/Reports/EV-Consumer-Behavior/EV-Consumer-Behavior-
Report.pdf	
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PART TWO 
ROAD USAGE CHARGE ADVISORY COMMITTEE 
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The Road Usage Charge Advisory Committee Process 
This	 part	 of	 the	 report	 presents	 the	 RUC	 Advisory	 Committee	 process	 for	 examination	 of	 the	
Vermont	 RUC	 concept.	 This	 includes	 formation	 of	 the	 advisory	 committee,	 its	 role,	 its	 public	
meetings,	 and	 the	 stakeholder	 engagement	 process	 that	 fed	 into	 the	 advisory	 committee’s	
deliberations.		

Formation of the Road Usage Charge Advisory Committee 
In	mid-2021,	the	AOT	assembled	an	advisory	committee	made	up	of	high-level	government	officials	
and	 interested	stakeholders	 to	analyze	and	evaluate	 the	Vermont	RUC	concept	(see	Table	2	 for	
advisory	committee	membership).	This	RUC	Advisory	Committee	met	from	late	summer	into	early	
winter	to	engage	in	a	process	to	examine	the	feasibility	of	the	concept’s	various	elements,	focus	on	
preferences	 for	 collection	 methods,	 and	 offer	 advice	 on	 whether	 to	 proceed	 with	 either	 pilot	
programs	or	implementations	of	RUC	programs.		

Table 2. Membership of the 2021 Road Usage Charge Advisory Committee  

Member Organization Position 
Michele Boomhower  
(Advisory Committee Chair) 

VT Agency of Transportation Policy, Planning and Intermodal 
Development Division Director 

Wanda Minoli VT Department of Motor Vehicles  Commissioner 
Rebecca Sameroff VT Department of Taxes  Deputy Commissioner 
Philip Picotte VT Public Service Department Utilities Economic Analyst 
Dave Roberts VT Energy Investment Corp  Senior Consultant 
Chris Jolly Federal Highway Administration Planning and Programming Engineer 
Jim Sullivan Regional Planning Commissions (RPCs) Executive Director, Bennington County RPC 
Gwynn Zakov VT League of Cities and Towns Director, Public Policy and Advocacy 
Samantha Hurt Capstone Community Action Mileage Smart Program Manager 
Monica McDonald Head Start Policy Council Member 
Trish Hendren The Eastern Transportation Coalition Executive Director 

 

Role of the RUC Advisory Committee 
The	 AOT	 charged	 the	 Committee	 with	 the	 duty	 to	 examine	 and	 offer	 it	 advice	 on	 road	 usage	
charging	in	the	following	subject	areas:	

§ Policy	design	
§ System	design	
§ Management	and	operational	structure	for	implementation	
§ Rate	recommendations	
§ Perspectives	on	operational	feasibility	and	financial	sustainability	of	road	usage	charging	in	

Vermont	
§ Whether	the	designed	system	is	ready	for	implementation	of	road	usage	charging	or	if	the	

road	usage	charge	system,	or	some	component	of	it,	should	be	piloted	
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Public Meetings of the RUC Advisory Committee 
The	RUC	Advisory	Committee	held	three	online	public	meetings	on	August	19,	September	29,	and	
December	22,	2021.	At	these	meetings,	the	RUC	Advisory	Committee	received	a	description	of	the	
project’s	scope	and	the	role	of	the	committee.		

Upon	review	of	guiding	principles	adopted	in	the	states	of	Oregon,	California,	and	Washington	for	
making	RUC	policy	and	system	choices,	the	RUC	Advisory	Committee	adopted	guiding	principles	
specifically	 for	 Vermont	 to	 assist	 in	 consideration	 of	 the	 options	 and	 issues	 presented.	 The	
committee	 understood	 that	 the	 members	 may	 find	 that	 during	 deliberations,	 some	 of	 these	
principles	may	conflict	in	some	applications	and	agreed	to	give	conflicting	principles	due	weight	in	
those	moments.	

Guiding Principles for Road Usage Charging Policy and System Design 
§ Do	No	Harm	

• Revenue	neutrality	
• Sustained	EV	uptake	

§ Equitable	and	Fair	
• User-pay	system	
• Users	have	choices	
• Privacy	and	security	data	protected	
• Equitable	cost	distribution	

§ Feasible	and	Efficient	
• Ease	of	administration/minimal	government	burden	
• Enforceable	
• Simplicity	of	compliance	and	ease	of	use	
• Understandable	
• System	accuracy	
• High	performing	system	

§ Transparent	and	Accountable	
• Open	system	
• Open	to	competing	vendors	
• Accountable	oversight	

§ Adaptive	for	the	future	
• Integration	with	other	state	policies	
• Interoperability	with	other	state	systems	
• Flexible,	secure,	and	scalable	
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The	consulting	 firms	CDM	Smith	and	RSG	gave	briefings	on	
the	 topics	 discussed	 in	 this	 report.	 The	 RUC	 Advisory	
Committee	 members	 engaged	 in	 discussion	 and	 offered	
opinions	on	MBUF	systems,	the	annual	flat	fee,	and	per-kWh	
fee	 systems,	 as	 well	 as	 the	 stakeholder	 engagement	 plan.	
Individual	members	often	voiced	their	preferences	for	certain	
policies	and	systems.		

The	RUC	Advisory	Committee	met	as	an	ad	hoc	working	group	
on	October	 27,	 2021,	 to	 examine	 in	 detail	 the	 feasibility	 of	
systems	 in	 Vermont	 for	 per-kWh	 fees.	 Several	
representatives	 from	 VT’s	 electric	 distribution	 utilities	
participated	in	the	October	27	meeting	to	provide	feedback	
on	challenges	with	a	per-kWh	fee	at	public	charging	stations.	
Some	members	of	the	RUC	Advisory	Committee	also	met	as	a	
small	group	on	November	10,	2021,	as	a	subcommittee	on	MBUFs	and	annual	flat	fees	to	debate	
preferences	for	systems. 

Presentations and Analysis Reviewed 
The	RUC	Advisory	Committee	reviewed	the	following	documents	and	presentations	prepared	by	
CDM	Smith	and	RSG:	

§ Overview	document	entitled	Road	Usage	Charging	in	the	United	States	
§ Presentation	entitled	Vermont	Road	Usage	Charging	Advisory	Committee,	August	17,	2021	
§ Presentation	entitled	Stakeholder	Engagement	Plan	(August	17,	2021)	
§ Memorandum	entitled	Per	Kilowatt	Hour	Fees	System	Definition	(September	27,	2021)	
§ Memorandum	entitled	Flat	Fee	and	MBUF	System	Definition	(September	29,	2021)	
§ Memorandum	entitled	Road	Usage	Charge	Fee	Structure	(September	28,	2021)		
§ Presentation	 entitled	 Vermont	 Road	 Usage	 Charging	 Advisory	 Committee	 (September	 29,	

2021)	
§ Memorandum	 entitled	 Framework	 with	 Scenarios	 for	 Flat	 Fee/MBUF	 Decision-making	

(October	10,	2021)	
§ Document	entitled	MBUF/Flat	Fee	Decisions	Framework	with	Scenarios	
§ Presentation	entitled	Vermont	Road	Usage	Charging	Advisory	Subcommittee	on	MBUF/Flat	

Fee	(November	10,	2021)	
§ Presentation	slide	decks	entitled	Vermont	MBUF	Subcommittee	Scenarios	1	to	7		
§ Memorandum	entitled	Road	Usage	Charge	System	Financial	Analysis	(December	1,	2021)	
§ Financial	model	for	Road	Usage	Charge	Revenue	Forecast		
§ Memorandum	entitled	Work	Program	for	per	Kilowatt	Hour	Fees	(December	1,	2021)	
§ Memorandum	entitled	MBUF	Recommendation	 for	Plug-in	Electric	Vehicles	 (December	10,	

2021)	
§ Presentation	 entitled	 Vermont	 Road	 Usage	 Charging	 Advisory	 Committee	 (December	 22,	

2021)	

From discussion at first RUC 
Advisory Committee meeting: 

Revenue neutrality. Is the objective to 
break even with current fuel tax 
revenue? AOT response: The goal overall 
is to be revenue neutral and to collect 
fees equitably and cost-effectively. AOT 
does not want electric vehicle owners 
paying more than the average driver 
pays in fuel tax. 
Frequency of payments. Paying a RUC 
fee once per year may be more difficult 
for vehicle owners to absorb compared 
to collecting fees monthly or quarterly. 
AOT response: AOT must focus on 
equitability in the administration of any 
new RUC system. 
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Stakeholder Engagement 
Concurrent	 with	 the	 RUC	 Advisory	 Committee	 meetings,	 CDM	 Smith	 and	 RSG	 conducted	 four	
stakeholder	discussions	in	September	2021	to	solicit	feedback	for	the	RUC	Advisory	Committee	to	
consider	and	administered	a	website	survey.		

At	the	second	RUC	Advisory	Committee	meeting	on	September	29,	RSG	presented	the	results	of	the	
stakeholder	outreach	results.	The	stakeholders	represent	perspectives	the	project	team	considered	
to	be	particularly	valuable	to	inform	the	analysis	and	design	of	any	future	RUC	system	from	a	mix	
of	industry,	nonprofit,	and	government	perspectives.	

Drive Electric Vermont Stakeholder Meeting 
Drive	Electric	Vermont	 invited	 the	project	 team	to	 its	quarterly	meeting	on	September	8,	2021.	
Nearly	70	people	attended.		

The	project	team	covered	the	outline	and	basics	of	the	AOT	RUC	concept.	Attendees	provided	the	
following	input:		

§ The	State	could	use	the	sales	tax	as	a	road	funding	source	to	pay	for	miles	traveled	by	EVs.	
Using	the	manufacturer’s	suggested	retail	price	rather	than	the	actual	final	sale	price	of	the	
vehicle	(which	is	likely	lower	after	applicable	tax	credits	and	other	discounts),	the	State	could	
collect	 the	 sales	 tax	 on	 a	 higher	 value	 than	what	 the	 user	 pays.	 This	 excess	 tax	 could	 be	
directed	to	fund	the	transportation	system	and	pay	for	the	mileage	in	fees	or	the	avoided	
motor	fuel	tax.	

§ Attendees	 expressed	 concern	 about	 the	 technical	 logistics	 of	 a	 per-	 kWh	 fee	 and	 how	 to	
address	 resident	 versus	 nonresident	 issues.	 These	 included	 questions	 regarding	 who	 is	
responsible	for	collecting	the	fee,	who	manages	accounts,	who	will	handle	errors	or	technical	
glitches,	which	electric	vehicle	supply	equipment	(EVSE)	will	be	required	to	comply,	what	to	
do	if	the	equipment	does	not	have	a	meter,	etc.	The	project	team	explained	that	the	study	is	
at	 an	 exploration	 phase	 to	work	 out	 those	 details	 and	 that	 a	 per-kWh	 fee	 paid	 at	 public	
charging	stations	has	not	been	implemented	anywhere	else	to	date	in	the	United	States.	

§ A	 comment	was	made	 about	 the	 interstate	 commerce	 clauses	 and	 how	 the	 per-kWh	 fee	
would	have	to	be	consistent	to	remain	in	legal	compliance.	The	project	team	responded	by	
citing	 a	 study	 in	 Washington	 state.17	 Its	 finding	 was	 that	 fees	 applied	 to	 out-of-state	
registered	vehicles	must	be	similar	to	those	that	a	vehicle	driver	registered	in	state	would	
pay.	 This	 is	 an	 additional	 design	 detail	 that	 the	 project	 team	 is	 aware	 of	 and	 will	 be	
considered	in	subsequent	tasks.	

§ EV	adoption	is	currently	incentivized	by	state	and	federal	dollars	and	attendees	questioned	
why	 the	 government	 would	 impose	 a	 fee	 on	 driving	 these	 same	 vehicles.	 Regardless	 of	
whether	 they	 are	 consuming	 transportation	 capacity	 or	 not,	 attendees	 noted	 the	 larger	
environmental	goals	 that	 these	vehicles	are	achieving.	Attendees	suggested	 that	 the	state	
should	consider	using	fees	to	incentivize	the	purchase	of	EVs	to	also	fund	the	gap	associated	
with	the	avoided	motor	fuel	tax.		

§ Several	attendees	suggested	an	increase	in	the	state	motor	fuel	taxes	to	pay	for	the	costs	of	
increasing	EVSE	availability	as	well	as	pay	for	the	avoided	taxes	from	EV	drivers.	They	said	

	

17	Source:	RUC	and	The	Commerce	Clause	and	other	provisions	of	the	United	States	Constitution	(unpublished),	a	report	prepared	
for	the	Washington	Road	Usage	Charge	Steering	Committee,	March	14,	2019.	
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this	 should	 be	 the	mechanism	 adopted,	 at	 least	 in	 the	 short	 term,	 as	 the	 State	 looks	 to	
increase	adoption	of	EVs	and	build	the	necessary	supporting	infrastructure.		

Vermont League of Cities and Towns 
The	project	team	met	with	a	representative	of	the	Vermont	League	of	Cities	and	Towns	(VLCT)	for	
a	virtual	discussion	on	September	15,	2021.	The	VLCT	is	a	nonprofit,	nonpartisan	organization	with	
the	mission	of	serving	and	strengthening	Vermont	local	government.	The	discussion	focused	on	
understanding	a	diverse	set	of	municipal	and	local	government	perspectives.	

VLCT	 stated	 general	 support	 for	 developing	 alternatives	 to	 the	 motor	 fuel	 tax	 given	 their	
understanding	of	 the	eroding	power	of	 the	motor	 fuel	 tax.	 Increasing	revenues	available	 to	 the	
state—and	subsequently,	to	local	governments—will	deliver	financial	resources	to	communities.	
This,	in	turn,	will	allow	these	local	governments	to	improve	their	transportation	systems	while	also	
adapting	to	and	mitigating	the	effects	of	climate	change.		

Most	 local	 governments	 are	 unlikely	 to	 take	 issue	 with	 the	 RUC	 concepts;	 however,	 some	
communities	may	be	 interested	 in	how	their	vehicle	 fleets	may	be	affected.	VLCT	did	note	 that	
identifying	how	and	if	these	RUC	concepts	are	consistent	with	town	plans	will	be	one	concern	for	
any	local	governments.	It	is	not	obvious	how	the	fee	concepts	would	contradict	any	goals,	but	there	
may	be	something	less	obvious	that	arises	in	future	conversations.		

Vermont Natural Resources Council, Conservation Law Foundation, and Sierra 
Club of Vermont 
The	project	team	invited	the	three	environmentally	focused	organizations	(the	Vermont	Natural	
Resources	Council,	Conservation	Law	Foundation,	and	Sierra	Club	of	Vermont)	to	a	virtual	online	
stakeholder	 meeting	 on	 September	 10,	 2021,	 to	 discuss	 the	 RUC	 concepts.	 The	 organizations	
reviewed	 the	 materials	 that	 were	 presented	 at	 the	 advisory	 committee	 meeting	 and	 gave	 an	
overview	of	the	proposals	being	considered.		

Generally,	the	three	entities	expressed	universal	support	for	the	idea	that	EV	adoption	should	be	
supported	and	expressed	concern	that	an	additional	tax	or	fee	would	be	a	deterrent	for	some.	They	
recommended	 that	 the	 State	 consider	 looking	 wider	 than	 simply	 “plugging	 a	 hole”—that	 an	
opportunity	may	exist	to	improve	the	current	transportation	funding	system.	More	specific	topics	
of	the	discussion	included	the	following:	

§ Two	attendees	noted	studies	referencing	a	state	goal	to	achieve	an	EV	15%	market	share	of	
vehicles	before	any	changes	to	fees	or	costs	are	imposed	on	EV	drivers.	An	attendee	from	
Vermont	Electric	Cooperative	referred	to	a	study	from	Bakersfield	that	mentioned	that	EV	
purchasers	would	be	 less	 interested	 in	 an	EV	 if	 there	 is	 a	 cost	per	mile	 that	 reduces	 the	
current	cost	savings	of	owning	an	EV	compared	to	an	ICEV.	It	was	posited	by	the	group	that	
if	EV	initial	purchase	prices	decrease,	the	concern	with	the	per-mile	fee	may	diminish.	

§ One	attendee	advocated	for	a	MBUF	adopted	across	the	board	for	all	vehicles	as	a	substitute	
for	the	motor	fuel	tax.	The	project	team	mentioned	that	other	states	such	as	Utah	and	Oregon,	
among	 others,	 do	 have	 intentions	 to	 implement	MBUF	 across	 all	 vehicle	 types;	 however,	
implementation	is	a	lengthy	process	and	the	approach	being	considered	by	AOT	could	be	a	
more	manageable	step	because	of	the	focus	on	a	smaller	number	of	vehicles.		
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§ One	attendee	suggested	a	wholesale	review	of	transportation	funding	in	Vermont	and	said	
that	maybe	user	 fees	are	not	 the	best	solution.	This	person	suggested	 that	 if	boosting	EV	
adoption	 is	 the	goal,	 then	 the	state	 should	prioritize	 that	and	 find	other	ways	 to	 find	 the	
revenues	it	requires.	The	project	team	noted	the	concepts	under	consideration	are	bounded	
by	the	assumptions	of	maintaining	a	user-fee	system	and	evaluating	the	pros	and	cons	of	
creating	the	system	with	a	limited	user	base	in	Vermont.	

§ Attendees	 noted	 additional	 disincentives	 are	 needed	 on	 ICEVs	 and	 that	motor	 fuel	 taxes	
should	continue	to	 fund	the	system	in	 the	near	term.	A	carbon	tax	can	be	designed	as	an	
additional	fee	on	ICEVs;	however,	it	is	not	a	viable	long-term	option	given	the	shift	to	EVs.	
AOT	staff	stressed	that	it	is	necessary	to	find	long-term	solutions	and	get	them	started	now	
given	 the	 time	 it	 takes	 to	design,	pilot,	 and	 implement.	The	project	 team	mentioned	how	
carbon	fees	can	be	collected	along	with	MBUF,	and	as	carbon	fees	increase,	there	would	be	
an	incentive	to	drive	fewer	miles.		

Vermont Auto Dealers Association 
The	project	team	met	virtually	with	a	representative	from	
the	 Vermont	 Auto	 Dealers	 Association	 (VADA)	 on	
September	13,	2021,	to	review	the	RUC	concepts.	All	VADA	
members	 acknowledge	 that	 funding	 has	 to	 change,	 and	
dealers	are	getting	prepared	for	more	EVs.	VADA’s	position	
is	not	 to	avoid	raising	 the	motor	 fuel	 tax;	however,	 these	
alternative	fees	are	helpful	to	have	more	than	one	idea	to	
progress	and	evaluate.		

VADA	has	to	consider	how	the	process	can	be	implemented	
fairly	across	 its	membership.	The	move	 to	new	 fees	along	
with	shifting	vehicle	types	affects	dealerships	differently	and	changes	who	purchases	vehicles	and	
how.	 This	 is	 an	 opportunity	 to	 educate	 dealers	 on	 an	 alternative	 approach	 to	 transportation	
funding.		

VADA	is	interested	in	supporting	and	understanding	the	supplemental	investments	that	the	AOT	
will	 have	 to	 make,	 including	 computer	 upgrades	 at	 the	 DMV	 that	 will	 affect	 driver	 licensing,	
purchasing	 information,	 registration,	 titling,	 etc.	These	 changes,	 along	with	 the	payment	of	 any	
initial	fees,	are	of	interest.		

Takeaways from the Stakeholder Outreach 
Across	the	stakeholders	interviewed,	there	was	a	general	understanding	of	the	need	for	alternative	
revenue	mechanisms	to	make	up	for	the	loss	of	fuel	tax	revenues	because	of	the	shift	to	EV	usage.	
There	was	disagreement,	however,	on	which	revenue	mechanisms	to	rely	upon.	Local	governments	
supported	the	RUC	concepts,	while	environmental	groups	preferred	other	alternatives	owing	to	
concern	about	deterring	purchase	of	EVs.	However,	they	note	that	if	EV	purchase	prices	decrease,	
this	concern	may	disappear.		

Website Survey 
Amid	the	second	advisory	committee	meeting,	RSG	conducted	a	nonrandom,	nonscientific	website	
survey	to	study	the	view	of	participants	about	RUCs	on	the	use	of	EVs.	Survey	participants	were	

RUC Advisory Committee 
Reactions to Stakeholder 
Outreach 

“As the RUC initiative moves forward, it 
will be important to align with the new 
DMV [Vermont Department of Motor 
Vehicles] system. For example, if a new 
fee is assigned to collection at 
registration, it would be critical for this 
to be built into the DMV modernization 
effort.” DMV Commissioner Wanda 
Minoli 
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invited	from	email	lists	provided	by	the	organizations	involved:	Vermont	Auto	Dealers,	Vermont	
Natural	Resources	Council,	Sierra	Club	of	Vermont,	Conservation	Law	Foundation,	the	RPCs,	VLCT,	
Drive	 Electric,	 and	AOT.	 There	was	 a	 total	 of	 282	 participants	 in	 the	 survey.	 The	 auto	 dealers	
completed	4	surveys,	the	environmental	organizations	completed	24,	the	community	organization	
(RPCs	and	VLCT)	members	completed	53,	and	Drive	Electric	members	completed	201.		

Overall,	as	summarized	in	Figure	1,	of	the	households	surveyed,	36%	(99	households)	have	a	AEV	
and	11%	have	a	PHEV	as	 their	primary	vehicle.	They	estimate	driving	 these	EVs	an	average	of	
10,400	miles	per	year.	Of	the	households,	14	have	two	or	more	EVs.	They	estimate	average	miles	
driven	in	the	second	EV	as	8,443.		

		

Figure 1. What type of vehicle is your first household vehicle?18 

Most	 of	 those	 surveyed	 indicated	 they	 purchased	 an	 EV	 primarily	 for	 environmental	 benefits.	
Savings	on	fuel	costs	ranked	second	and	lower	maintenance	costs	third	(Figure	2	below).		

 

	

18	Question	3	of	the	survey	for	the	Vermont	Electric	and	Highly	Fuel-Efficient	Vehicle	Road	Usage	Charge	Study	(2021)	

All Electric 
Vehicles 
(AEV)

§ A	 total	 of	 99	 households	 have	 an	
AEV	as	their	primary	vehicle	and	31	
additional	households	have	an	AEV	
as	their	secondary	vehicle.	

§ A	 total	of	14	households	have	 two	
or	more	AEVs.	

§ One	household	has	three	AEVs.	
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Figure 2. Why did you purchase an electric vehicle?19 

As	indicated	in	Figure	3,	the	respondents’	main	concerns	about	purchasing	or	leasing	a	fully	electric	
vehicle	 included	 limited	 driving	 range	 (first),	 lack	 of	 charging	 facilities	 (second),	 expensive	
purchase	price	(third),	battery	charging	time	(fourth),	and	cost	of	installing	charging	equipment	in	
their	residence	(fifth).	

	

Figure 3. What are your main concerns about purchasing or leasing a fully electric vehicle?20 

As	summarized	in	Table	3,	survey	participants	showed	some	agreement	with	the	statement	that	
EVs	 do	 not	 contribute	 their	 fair	 share	 to	 the	 transportation	 system	 (47.1	 percent	 agree;	 19.9	
percent	neutral;	33	percent	disagree).	Even	so,	there	was	a	sentiment	that	EV	drivers	should	pay	

	

19	Question	30	of	the	survey	for	the	Vermont	Electric	and	Highly	Fuel-Efficient	Vehicle	Road	Usage	Charge	Study	(2021)	
20	Question	31	of	the	survey	for	the	Vermont	Electric	and	Highly	Fuel-Efficient	Vehicle	Road	Usage	Charge	Study	(2021)	
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fewer	 fees	 because	 of	 less	 emissions	 (52.1	 percent	 agree;	 11	 percent	 neutral;	 36.9	 percent	
disagree)	and	a	plurality	agreed	with	the	statement	that	MBUF	only	for	driving	EVs	would	penalize	
them	more	than	drivers	of	 fuel	vehicles	(48.6	percent	agree;	20.2	percent	neutral;	31.2	percent	
disagree).	

Those	 surveyed	 generally	 agreed	with	 a	 statement	 that	MBUFs	 are	 fair	 (73.1	 percent	 agree;	 6	
percent	neutral;	21	percent	disagree)	even	though	they	perceived	that	MBUFs	penalize	drivers	who	
must	drive	longer	distances	(53.9	percent	agree;	19.1	percent	neutral;	25.9	percent	disagree).	

Table 3. Do you agree or disagree fees based on miles traveled are fair?21  

 

Agree 
(Strongly agreed or 

somewhat disagreed) Neutral 

Disagree 
(Somewhat agreed or 

Strongly disagreed) 
Fee based on vehicle miles 
traveled are fair because 
drivers pay according to 
how much they use the 
road 

 
47.1% 

 
19.9% 

 
33% 

Drivers of fully electric or 
plug-in hybrid electric 
vehicles do not pay their 
fair share for road upkeep. 

 
73.1% 

 
6% 

 
21% 

	

Survey	participants	saw	the	annual	flat	fee	as	unfair	to	people	who	drive	less	(74.1%	agree;	12.8%	
neutral;	13.2%	disagree).	See	Table	4.		

Table 4. How fair are annual flat fees?22 

 

Agree 
(Strongly agreed or 

somewhat disagreed) Neutral 

Disagree 
(Somewhat agreed or 

strongly disagreed) 
Flat fees are unfair for 
people who drive less 

74.1% 12.8% 13.2% 

Flat fees would encourage 
people to drive more 

27.3% 25.5% 47.2% 

	

As	 summarized	 in	 Table	 5,	 survey	 participants	 tended	 toward	 opposition	 of	 an	 annual	 flat	 fee	 (38.7%	
supportive;	 59.5%	 opposed).	 They	 tended	 to	 support	 a	 per-kWh	 fee	 at	 public	 charging	 stations	 for	
nonresident	vehicle	 charging	 (72.7	percent	 supportive;	23.8	percent	opposed).	The	 relative	difference	of	
support/opposition	between	EV	owners	and	non-EV	owners	was	minimal	for	all	three	types	of	road	usage	
charges.	
	  

	

21	Question	46	of	the	survey	for	the	Vermont	Electric	and	Highly	Fuel-Efficient	Vehicle	Road	Usage	Charge	Study	(2021)	
22	Question	46	of	the	survey	for	the	Vermont	Electric	and	Highly	Fuel-Efficient	Vehicle	Road	Usage	Charge	Study	(2021)	



March 14, 2022                                                                      Final Report of the Vermont Road Usage Charge Study 

23 

Table 5. What is your initial reaction to introducing road usage charges on fully electric, plug-in hybrid 
electric, or other highly fuel-efficient vehicles?23 

 

Supportive 
(Strongly or somewhat 

supportive) Neutral (No opinion) 

Opposed 
(Somewhat or strongly 

opposed) 
Mileage based user fees for 
Vermont registered vehicles   

 
61.2% 

 
37% 

 
1.8% 

Annual flat fee for Vermont 
registered vehicles 

38.7% 59.5% 1.8% 

Kilowatt per hour fee on 
public charging stations for 
out-of-state  

72.7% 23.8% 3.5% 

When	 asked	 how	 they	 would	 share	 mileage	 data	 for	 a	
MBUF,	72.3%	of	survey	participants	said	they	would	prefer	
sharing	 access	 to	 an	 odometer	 reading	during	 an	 annual	
vehicle	inspection,	even	though	they	would	pay	for	all	miles	
traveled	whether	on	or	off	Vermont	public	roads	or	outside	
Vermont.	However,	27.7%	said	they	would	prefer	to	give	
access	 to	 locational	 data	 (through	 a	 global	 positioning	
system	 (GPS)	 or	 a	 mobile	 application)	 to	 avoid	 being	
charged	for	miles	traveled	off	Vermont	public	roads.	

A	 mileage-based	 or	 flat	 fee	 assessed	 on	 EVs	 would	 not	
decrease	the	likelihood	of	purchasing	an	EV	by	84%	of	the	
respondents	(Table	6).	

Table 6. EV Purchase Likelihood with Road Usage Fees 
If mileage-based fees or flat fees are implemented in the state of Vermont for 
electric vehicles and highly efficient fuel vehicles, how likely are you to 
purchase an electric vehicle in the next few years? 

Percent Count 

More likely 6% 8 
About the same 78% 109 
Less likely 16% 22 
Total 100% 139 

 

Takeaways from Website Survey 
There	 is	general	 support	among	 those	 surveyed	 for	a	MBUF	paid	by	EV	owners.	Regarding	 the	
reporting	method	applied	for	an	MBUF,	the	bulk	of	those	surveyed	preferred	to	allow	the	MBUF	to	
be	 based	 on	 access	 to	 the	 odometer	 reading	 provided	 during	 the	 annual	 vehicle	 inspection.	
Establishment	of	a	MBUF	or	a	flat	fee	would	not	affect	the	willingness	to	purchase	an	EV	for	84%	
of	those	surveyed.		

	

23	Question	42	of	the	survey	for	the	Vermont	Electric	and	Highly	Fuel-Efficient	Vehicle	Road	Usage	Charge	Study	(2021)	

RUC Advisory Committee reactions 
to website survey results: 

Chair Boomhower commented on the 
need for equitability of survey 
engagement and the necessity of 
reaching households with lower 
incomes and more diverse 
demographics. Project Team response: 
From the equity perspective, if we 
conclude the sample is not 
representative, we can always field a 
survey in the future to get a different 
perspective, measure impacts, and 
design a system that specifically 
addresses equity concerns. 



	

24 

PART THREE 
MILEAGE-BASED USER FEE AND ANNUAL FLAT FEE 
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Mileage-Based User Fees 
This	part	of	 the	 report	discusses	MBUFs,	 one	of	 the	 three	 features	of	 the	Vermont	Road	Usage	
Charge	Concept.	This	part	will	present	background	of	MBUF,	analyses	of	the	MBUF	systems	and	
policy	choices,	and	the	financial	realities	that	will	impact	making	those	choices.	Next,	this	part	will	
discuss	annual	flat	fees	and	the	possibility	of	offering	an	MBUF	and	annual	flat	fee	as	alternatives	
for	EV	drivers.	 Finally,	 this	part	presents	 the	preferred	 scenario	 for	 collection	of	 an	MBUF,	 the	
rationale	for	the	preferred	scenario,	and	the	recommended	system	assessment	to	prepare	the	DMV	
for	adoption	of	the	MBUF	as	state	policy.		

A	MBUF	has	the	central	characteristic	of	a	usage-based	fee.	It	varies	entirely	by	distance	traveled.	
As	 a	 usage-based	 fee,	MBUF	 rises	 and	 lowers	 in	 revenue	 based	 on	 the	 amount	 of	 road	 travel,	
independent	 of	 vehicle	 ownership,	 but	 it	 is	 more	 susceptible	 to	 changes	 in	 economic	 activity.	
Similar	 to	 the	 fuel	 tax,	 which	 is	 also	 a	 proxy	 fee	 for	 usage,	 MBUF	 revenue	 is	 limited	 to	 the	
consumption	of	the	relevant	unit—in	this	case,	miles	traveled.		

History of Mileage-Based User Fees in the United States 
For	over	two	decades,	states	have	investigated	and	tested	the	concept	of	paying	per	mile	or	a	flat	
fee	as	an	alternative	to	the	fuel	tax	to	make	up	for	lost	revenue	from	greater	usage	of	electric	and	
other	high-mileage	vehicles.	At	least	31	US	states	have	engaged	in	policy	or	technical	research	on	
distance-based	road	usage	charging	(MBUF)	for	light	vehicles,24	25	7	of	them	running	formal	public	
pilots,26	 12	participating	 in	a	multistate	 coalition’s	demonstration,27	 and	3	enacting	operational	
programs28	 (with	 2	 of	 those	 actually	 running	 program	 operations).29	 These	 pilot	 tests	 and	
operational	programs	have	revealed	functional	systems	for	per-mile	fee	collection.	

In	the	early	years,	only	four	states	funded	their	own	research.	Once	Congress	authorized	financial	
support	for	state	investigation	of	transportation	funding	alternatives	in	2015,	many	more	states	
rushed	to	investigate	road	usage	charging	at	a	faster	pace.		

Following	more	than	a	decade	of	research	and	pilot	testing,	in	2013	the	Oregon	Legislature	enacted	
a	permanent	per-mile	RUC	of	1.5	cents	per	mile	for	participating	drivers	of	light	vehicles.	This	RUC	
became	 operational	 in	 2015.	 Branded	 OReGO,	 the	 state	 legislature	 mandated	 this	 program	 to	
provide	an	offset	of	the	fuel	tax	paid	by	the	driver	of	the	participating	vehicle.	Only	residents	of	
Oregon	were	eligible	to	volunteer	for	participation	in	the	OReGO	program.	Drivers	not	volunteering	

	

24	The	term	mileage-based	user	fee	(MBUF)	means	charging	for	distance	traveled	within	a	jurisdiction’s	road	network.	In	some	
states,	distance-based	charging	is	referred	to	by	other	terms,	such	as	per-mile	road	usage	charging	(RUC)	or	Vehicle	Miles	Tax	
(VMT)	or	mileage	fee.	

25	A	total	of	17	of	the	states	are	members	of	the	RUC	West	coalition	(Oregon,	California,	Washington,	Utah,	Hawaii,	Colorado,	
Nevada,	Wyoming,	Idaho,	Arizona,	New	Mexico,	Texas,	Oklahoma,	Montana,	North	Dakota,	Nebraska,	Alaska);	12	are	members	
of	 the	 Eastern	 Transportation	 Coalition	 (Delaware,	 Pennsylvania,	 New	 Jersey,	 Virginia,	 North	 Carolina,	 Vermont,	 New	
Hampshire,	Massachusetts,	Connecticut,	Rhode	Island,	Maryland,	Florida),	and	Minnesota	and	Kansas.	

26	Oregon	(2006–07,	2012–12),	Minnesota	(2006,	2012),	California	(2016–17),	Colorado	(2016–17),	Washington	(2019–20),	
Hawaii	(2019–21).	

27	Delaware,	Pennsylvania,	New	Jersey,	Virginia,	North	Carolina,	Vermont,	New	Hampshire,	Massachusetts,	Connecticut,	Rhode	
Island,	Maryland,	Florida	(2018,	2019,	2020).	

28	Oregon	(2013),	Utah	(2018)	and	Virginia	(2020).	
29	Oregon	(since	2015)	and	Utah	(since	2020)	
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continue	to	pay	the	fuel	tax.	Having	no	ability	to	volunteer	for	participation	in	OReGO,	nonresident	
drivers	therefore	continue	to	pay	the	fuel	tax	while	driving	in	Oregon.		

After	Oregon’s	enactment	of	an	operational	per-mile	RUC,	other	states	continued	the	investigating	
options	 similar	 to	 the	 OReGO	 program	 but	 with	 improvements	 such	 as	 expanded	 options	 for	
mileage	 reporting	 and	 systems	 for	 interoperability	 with	 other	 states.	 California	 tested	 a	 pilot	
program	with	5,000	participants	and	six	mileage	reporting	options	in	2016–17.	Washington	did	
the	 same	 with	 2,000	 participants	 and	 four	 reporting	 options	 in	 2018–19.	 In	 2018,	 Colorado	
conducted	 a	 demonstration	 as	 did	 The	 Eastern	 Transportation	 Coalition	 (TETC).	 The	 TETC	
demonstration	included	participation	from	member	states,	a	majority	coming	from	Pennsylvania	
and	Delaware,	many	of	whom	were	senior	officials,	and	some	were	staff	 from	the	United	States	
Congress.	Only	Washington’s	pilot	program	included	out-of-state	vehicles,	collecting	real	money	in	
a	 financial	 interoperability	 test	with	OReGO	 and	mock-billing	 tests	with	 residents	of	 Idaho	and	
British	Columbia,	Canada.	

In	2020,	Utah	launched	the	nation’s	second	operational	per-mile	fee	program.	Also	in	2020,	the	
Virginia	Legislature	adopted	the	third	operational	per-mile	fee	program	but	Virginia	DMV	has	yet	
to	launch	this	program.	

The	federal	government	has	engaged	in	research	of	road	usage	charging,	but	has	not	undertaken	
any	 formal	 testing	 or	 pilot	 program.	 Congress	 did	 create	 the	 Surface	 Transportation	 System	
Funding	Alternatives	(STSFA)	grant	program	in	2015,	which	has	provided	numerous	states	a	total	
of	nearly	$74	million	in	federal	funding	for	innovative	road	funding	development	efforts	with	per-
mile	 fees	 as	 the	 primary	 conceptual	 beneficiary.	 (Prior	 to	 the	 STSFA	 grants,	 only	 four	 states	
proceeded	 with	 per-mile	 fee	 development	 with	 only	 state	 funding.)	 The	 role	 of	 the	 federal	
government	with	respect	to	road	usage	charging	will	change	with	enactment	of	the	2021	federal	
Infrastructure	Investment	and	Jobs	Act,	which	not	only	continues	a	modified	STSFA	grant	program	
but	also	includes	a	directive	for	a	national	MBUF	pilot	program.	

Mileage-Based User Fee Analyses 
CDM	Smith	presented	a	technical	memorandum	at	the	second	RUC	Advisory	Committee	meeting	of	
the	following	design	options	for	MBUFs.		

Mileage-Based User Fee System Definition 
This	section	explains	system	design	options	and	the	policy	options	that	impact	MBUF	system	design	
from	the	state	perspectives,	based	on	research	and	pilot	work	by	states	over	the	past	20	years,	
notably	by	Oregon,	Washington,	California,	Utah,	and	Hawaii.		This	section	also	provides	a	range	of	
costs	for	the	most	desirable	system	and	policy	configurations.	

Account Management 
MBUF	account	management	can	have	different	structures.	Operation	of	simple	systems,	such	as	
manual	 odometer	 reporting	 or	 flat-fee	 collection,	 requires	 only	 in-house	 state	 account	
management.	 Operation	 of	 more	 sophisticated	 systems,	 such	 as	 automated	 mileage	 reporting,	
typically	requires	private	sector	account	management	operated	by	commercial	account	managers	
(CAMs).	Some	states	use	multiple	account	managers	in	an	open	system	to	facilitate	competition	by	
allowing	drivers	to	choose	an	account	manager	based	on	the	services	provided.	
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State	 government	 agencies	 provide	 account	management	 oversight,	 program	 outreach,	 vehicle	
registry	 database,	 enforcement,	 and	 overall	 program	management.	 Private	 industry	 commonly	
provides	technologies,	mileage	reporting	services,	accounting,	and	customer	service.	

The	typical	system	architecture	for	account	management	of	a	MBUF	is	as	follows:	

	

State	 systems,	 such	 as	 DMV	 registries,	 are	 typically	 not	 well	 suited	 for	 supporting	 more	
sophisticated	mileage	data	collection	technologies	like	OBD-II	plug-in	devices	(described	on	page	
33).	Commercial	account	managers	can	provide	and	support	such	technologies.	By	contrast,	many	
states	may	be	able	to	support	less	technically	sophisticated	means	of	mileage	reporting,	such	as	
self-reporting	or	reporting	based	on	safety	inspections.	

MBUF	account	management	systems	 in	 the	United	States	 tend	 to	be	designed	as	open	systems,	
which	are	defined	in	openly	available	specification	documents	and	allow	entrance	by	new	market	
players.	By	contrast,	 closed	systems—systems	not	 specified	by	openly	available	documents	but	
rather	proprietarily	provided	by	a	single	vendor—have	the	disadvantages	of	locking	in	one	vendor,	
reducing	price	competition,	and	halting	innovation.	Closed	systems	were	used	in	early	electronic	
tolling	implementation	with	such	predictable	results.	

As	 a	 step	 beyond	 open	 system,	 open	 markets	 allow	 new	 vendors	 to	 begin	 providing	 account	
management	services	in	a	state	at	any	time,	so	long	as	they	are	certified	to	provide	the	systems	in	
the	open	specification	documents.	This	provides	for	regular	ongoing	competition	among	vendors,	
ideally	lowering	costs	and	improving	service.	Smaller	MBUF	systems,	such	as	Utah’s,	begin	with	
procurement	of	just	one	vendor,	but	plan	to	grow	as	an	open	system	as	the	MBUF	user	base	grows.	

Mileage-Based User Fee Functions 
CDM	Smith	discovered	 from	 its	work	 in	other	states	 the	 following	basic	 functions	 that	must	be	
completed	by	any	MBUF	system:	

§ Identify	subject	vehicle	and	its	owner/lessee—using	the	state	vehicle	registry,	create	a	
list	of	vehicle	identification	numbers	of	the	vehicles	subject	to	MBUF.	Providing	the	vehicle	
registry	is	a	role	of	a	state	DMV	or	equivalent;	the	check	can	be	performed	by	the	state	or	a	
private	entity.	

§ Generate	distance	traveled	data	for	subject	vehicle	over	designated	time—reporting	
mileage	data	on	vehicles.	This	is	a	function	of	the	account	manager,	which	can	either	be	the	
state	or	a	private	company.	

Vehicle	
(Including	
Mileage	
Reporting	
Technology)

Account	
Manager

State	MBUF	
Accounting	
System
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§ Access	distance	data—this	means	receiving	the	reported	mileage	data	from	vehicles	and	
storing	it	in	an	accounting	system.	This	is	a	function	of	the	account	manager.	

§ Apply	distance	 fee	rates—processing	 the	mileage	data	 to	determine	 the	amount	of	 fees	
owed.	This	is	a	function	of	the	account	manager.	

§ Provide	invoice	to	owner/lessee—provide	vehicle	owner	a	notice	of	the	fee	owed.	This	is	
a	function	of	the	account	manager.	

§ Collect	 payment—support	 various	 payment	 options,	 including	 credit	 cards	 and	 in	
mandatory	 systems,	 cash.	 This	 is	 a	 function	 of	 the	 account	manager,	 but	 not	 all	 account	
managers	need	to	support	all	payment	options.	For	example,	a	state	account	manager	may	
support	cash	payments,	while	private	ones	do	not.	

§ Issue	acknowledgement	of	payment—provide	receipts	for	payment.	This	is	a	function	of	
the	account	manager.	

§ Enforce	 payment—provide	means	 of	 fraud	 detection	 and	 consequences	 to	 ensure	most	
everyone	 pays.	 Fraud	 detection	 is	 a	 shared	 role	 of	 account	managers	 and	 the	 state,	 but	
serious	consequences	(for	serious	fraud)	is	a	role	of	the	state.	

§ Remit	revenue	to	appropriate	fund—this	is	a	shared	role	of	the	account	manager	and	the	
state.	 The	 account	 manager	 typically	 remits	 all	 funds	 to	 a	 single	 account,	 and	 the	 state	
treasury	then	routes	those	funds	further	as	required	by	law.	

Roles State Government Always Provides 
State	government	provides	the	following	roles	in	MBUF	systems:	

§ Account	manager	oversight	

• Run	the	state	MBUF	accounting	system	and	use	it	to	monitor	account	manager	data.		

• Regularly	verify	that	account	managers	are	performing	their	duties	of	charging	miles	and	
remitting	funds.		

• Oversee	certification	and	audits	of	account	managers.	

§ State-level	program	outreach—public	education	to	ensure	that	vehicle	owners	are	aware	of	
and	know	how	to	respond	to	the	MBUF/flat-fee	system.	

§ Provision	 of	 vehicle	 registry	 database—providing	 the	 base	 data	 needed	 to	 check	 that	 all	
eligible	vehicles	are	enrolled	in	the	MBUF	or	flat-fee	program.	

§ High	 level	 enforcement	 and	 adjudication—provide	 penalty	 notices	 and	 more	 severe	
consequences,	such	as	vehicle	registration	holds,	in	cases	of	significant	fraud,	and	provide	a	
means	of	appeal	 (adjudication)	 in	cases	 in	which	suspected	violators	 feel	 they	have	been	
incorrectly	targeted.	

§ Overall	program	management—leadership	of	the	MBUF/flat	fee	program.	
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Roles for Private Industry 
The	following	are	roles	commonly	fulfilled	by	private	companies	in	MBUF	systems:	

§ Mileage	 reporting	 technology	 vendor—the	 company	 can	 provide	 the	 on-board	 mileage	
reporting	 device	 and/or	 software.	 This	 role	 may	 be	 coupled	 with	 provision	 of	 account	
management	services,	but	that	is	not	necessary.	

§ Commercial	 Account	 Manager	 (CAM)—the	 company	 acts	 as	 CAM,	 including	 mileage	
reporting,	accounting,	and	customer	service	for	one	or	more	mileage	reporting	methods.	

§ Audit/certification—an	 organization	 certifies	 and/or	 audits	 CAMs	 on	 behalf	 of	 the	 state.	
Technology	 audits	 may	 be	 provided	 by	 a	 technology	 auditor,	 such	 as	 Underwriter’s	
Laboratories	or	OmniAir;	financial	audits	would	be	provided	by	an	accounting	firm.	

Policy Choices Impacting System Design 
Which Vehicles Should MBUF Cover? 
While	 EV	 usage	 has	 the	 greatest	 negative	 impact	 on	
highway	revenues,	a	greater	number	of	vehicles	paying	a	
MBUF	 would	 result	 in	 a	 lower	 administrative	 cost	 per	
vehicle.	Yet,	a	MBUF	program	for	plug-in	EVs	only	would	be	
simpler	for	an	agency	to	implement.		

The	 state	 should	 consider	 all	 these	 factors	 in	 applying	 a	
MBUF	to	light	vehicles.	Furthermore,	the	state	could	start	
small,	 such	 as	with	 only	AEVs,	 then	 add	PHEVs,	 gasoline	
hybrid	vehicles,	other	high-mileage	vehicles	at	later	dates.	
At	 some	 point,	 the	 state	 could	 consider	 application	 of	 a	
MBUF	to	all	light	vehicles. 

Credits or Refunds for Vehicles without GPS Reporting 
State	MBUF	programs	tend	not	to	charge	its	residents	for	
driving	 out	 of	 state.	 Resident	 drivers	 reporting	 mileage	

using	 location-aware	
devices	 are	 not	
charged	 for	 out-of-
state	 miles	 driven.	 For	 vehicles	 without	 location-aware	
devices,	states	can	offer	standard	exemptions	of,	for	example,	
1,000	miles	per	year,	perhaps	varied	by	location	in	Vermont,	
or	 refunds	 requiring	 some	proof	 of	 driving	 on	 out-of-state	
roads.	 The	 primary	 question	 is	 whether	 Vermont	 drivers	
without	 location-aware	 devices	 should	 have	 the	 option	 of	
applying	for	refunds/credits	for	miles	driven	off	public	roads	
or	if	there	should	be	no	refunds.   	

	

  

From discussion at first RUC Advisory 
Committee meeting: 
A member asked, “Should not mileage-
based user fees apply to all vehicles and 
not simply AEVs and PHEVs?” AOT‘s 
response: AOT is trying to approach the 
RUC framework for Vermont cautiously, 
focusing on EVs first to start with most 
urgent needs. 

From discussion at second RUC 
Advisory Committee meeting: 
Chair Michelle Boomhower asked how 
other states plan to apply MBUF to all 
vehicles. Project Team’s Response: Oregon 
has proposed to transition to all new 
vehicles with a rating of 30 MPG and above 
starting in a certain year. Utah has focused 
on transition to all vehicles but looked at 
various options for phasing in vehicles by 
model year and MPG. Generally, states 
have been loath to try to transition 
everyone in the whole fleet to an MBUF 
system in a small amount of time. Utah 
decided to space transition over 10 years. 

From discussion at second RUC 
Advisory Committee meeting: 

Refunds. DMV Commissioner Wanda 
Minoli said refunds are very challenging 
to administer. Commissioner Minoli 
said, “When I see refunds, I see a team 
of 25 having to handle this.” 
Another member agreed with the 
general desire to avoid refunds but 
wonders if someone moved out of state 
or sold their EV if there should be 
consideration of refunds. A third 
member said he would go for the no 
refund option. 
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Privacy 
For	 many	 drivers,	 the	 use	 of	 GPS	 systems	 that	 record	 the	
location	 on	miles	 driven	 raises	 concerns	 about	 protection	 of	
privacy.	Privacy	protections	can	be	built	in	to	an	MBUF	system	
through	both	policy	choices	and	technical	requirements.	States	
can	 offer	 non-location	 aware	 mileage	 reporting	 options	 and	
guarantee	privacy	protection	rights	 in	 law.	A	privacy	 law	can	
require	destruction	of	 location	data	after	a	designated	period	
and	prohibit	use	of	data	aside	from	MBUF	without	express	user	
permission.		

The	 primary	 technical	 means	 of	 ensuring	 privacy	 is	 through	 enacting	 robust	 data	 security	
measures,	requiring	that	every	actor	in	the	MBUF	system—both	the	state	and	private	vendors—
have	robust	information	technology	security	practices.	 

Mileage Reporting Technologies 
State	 governments	 approve	 mileage	 reporting	 technologies	 used	 in	 any	 MBUF	 program.	 The	
commonly	used	mileage	reporting	technologies	include	as	follows,	

§ Vehicle	 inspection	 uses	 odometer	 mileage	 data	 recorded	 at	 regular	 vehicle	 safety	
inspections	to	compute	the	amount	owed.	Vermont	is	one	of	13	states	that	requires	an	annual	
vehicle	 safety	 inspection,	 and	 this	 transaction	 offers	 an	 ideal	way	 for	many	 residents	 to	
report	miles	traveled,	as	no	additional	activity	on	their	part	is	required.	

Vehicle	 inspection	 has	 some	 limitations.	 The	 mileage	
data	is	currently	manually	keyed	in	by	vehicle	inspectors,	
meaning	there	may	be	entry	errors,	but	in	the	future	this	
could	 be	 replaced	 by	 odometer	 image	 capture	 on	 the	
inspectors’	 tablets.	 In	 cases	 of	 erroneous	 data,	 vehicle	
owners	would	need	the	opportunity	to	correct	it.	Further,	
vehicle	inspection	does	not	capture	odometer	readings	at	
the	time	of	vehicle	sales	or	moving	in	or	out	of	state.	In	
instances	of	sales,	the	state	could	simply	require	the	new	

vehicle	 owner	 to	 be	 responsible	 for	 all	 miles	 driven	 or	 access	 the	 odometer	 readings	 in	 the	
ownership	transfer	document	submitted	to	the	DMV.	To	address	the	issue	of	moving	out	of	state,	
the	state	could	require	submission	of	an	odometer	image	capture	or	self-reporting.	

§ Self-reporting	 allows	 vehicle	 owners	 to	 report	 their	
vehicle’s	 odometer	 reading	 on	 a	 tax	 form	 or	 over	 the	
internet.	 Given	 that	 Vermont	 has	 annual	 inspections,	
which	can	serve	as	an	annual	true-up,	there	should	be	less	
concern	about	self-reporting	fraud.	Audits	could	be	done	
through	 vehicle	 inspection,	 through	 a	 requirement	 to	
submit	an	odometer	image,	or	simply	through	combining	
self-reported	data	with	safety	inspection	data.		

From discussion at second RUC 
Advisory Committee meeting: 
Privacy. One member stated, 
“Politically, this whole initiative might 
get derailed if we’re talking about 
tracking where people are.” 

From discussion at second RUC 
Advisory Committee meeting: 
Self-reporting. DMV Commissioner 
Minoli disagreed that self-reporting of 
odometer readings is an easy 
reporting method because there will 
be DMV complexities involved. 
Vermont DMV would have to develop 
and modify the system to capture this 
information. 
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§ OBD-II	plug-in	devices	plug	into	vehicle	data	ports,	usually	under	the	steering	wheel,	which	
have	been	manufactured	into	all	light	vehicles	sold	in	the	US	since	1996,	except	the	Tesla	3	

and	 Y	 models.	 Some	 can	 use	 GPS	 technology	 to	 enable	 location-based	
mileage	 reporting,	 while	 others	 simply	 count	 total	 distance.	 OBD-II	
devices	 with	 GPS	 are	 the	 only	
currently	 viable	 technology	 for	
excluding	miles	driven	out	of	state	
or	 on	 private	 roads	 from	 paying	
the	per-mile	fee.	The	mileage	data	
from	 OBD-II	 devices	 can	 be	
automatically	 transmitted	 to	
account	 managers	 in	 real	 time	

using	 wireless	 technology	 and	 therefore	 allows	
invoicing	 to	 occur	 at	 any	 defined	 intervals	 such	 as	
monthly,	quarterly,	or	annually.	

§ Native	 automaker	 telematics	 uses	 data	 from	
connected	vehicle	systems	built	into	newer	vehicles	
to	compute	the	MBUF.	Currently,	automakers	do	not	directly	support	this	method,	leaving	it	
to	 third-party	 providers	 to	 provide	 interfaces	 (Application	 Program	 Interfaces)	 to	 their	
systems	to	facilitate	the	transfer	of	data	(such	as	OBD-II	devices).	Support	of	OEM	telematics	
directly	by	the	automaker	will	allow	for	precise	location	information	for	RUC	computations,	
and	future	developments	by	automakers	could	even	allow	the	third-party	API	services	to	get	
such	information.	Once	this	development	occurs,	this	technology	may	be	optimal	for	MBUF	
collection,	as	it	is	precise	and	requires	no	equipment	in	the	vehicle.	However,	many	vehicles	
are	not	appropriately	supported	by	this	technology	yet.	

§ Odometer	 image	 capture	 uses	 smartphones	 or	
tablets	 with	 cameras	 to	 take	 odometer	 image	 for	
submission	to	an	account	manager.	

§ Smartphone	 applications	 can	 record	 and	 report	
distance	 traveled	 data,	 but	 the	 experience	 lacks	 a	
link	to	the	vehicle	and	thus	does	not	create	a	truly	
seamless	experience.	An	application	with	a	reliable	
vehicle	link	and	seamless	user	experience	for	MBUF	
reporting	may	yet	be	developed.	

Enrollment and Withdrawal Processes 
If	 the	 state	 offers	 mileage	 reporting	 options	 other	 than	
odometer-based	reporting,	vehicle	owners	must	enroll	with	an	account	manager.	There	are	two	
account	management	processes:	vehicle	enrollment	and	withdrawal.	

Enforcement 
State	governments	typically	provide	enforcement	and	adjudication	for	MBUF/flat-fee	programs.	
Initial	consequences	for	minor	infractions	may	include	a	warning	letter	or	a	penalty	fine.	Significant	
consequences	for	prolonged	or	high-value	violations	may	include	registration	holds,	which	should	
provide	a	backstop	in	case	of	serious	violations.	Other	significant	consequences	could	include	the	
use	of	collections	agencies	or	even	wage	garnishment.		

From discussion at second RUC 
Advisory Committee meeting: 

A member asked whether a smartphone 
image capture of odometer option can be 
paired with self-reporting. Project Team 
Response: Yes, this technology has been 
tested before. It is simple to take a picture of 
the odometer. There would have to be extra 
validation by looking up DMV or CARFAX data 
to make sure there is no odometer fraud. 
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States	are	generally	responsible	for	detecting	failure	to	register	vehicles	directly,	while	other	types	
of	 evasion	 are	 detected	 by	 the	 account	 manager.	 The	 state	 is	 generally	 responsible	 for	 all	
enforcement	consequences.	

Rate Setting for a Mileage-Based User Fee 
In	 addition	 to	 consideration	 of	 rate	 setting	 elements	
discussed	 in	 Part	 One,	 an	 appropriate	 basis	 for	 initially	
setting	MBUF	rates	for	AEVs	and	PHEVs	is	to	establish	rates	
comparable	to	what	drivers	of	equivalent	gasoline-powered	
light-duty	vehicles	pay	in	state	fuel	tax	in	Vermont.	For	AEVs	
this	is	a	relatively	simple	calculation,	but	for	PHEVs	there	are	
two	 possible	 approaches.	 One	 is	 to	 charge	 a	 MBUF	
equivalent	to	the	gap	between	what	average	PHEV	drivers	
pay	 in	 fuel	 tax	 when	 driving	 using	 gasoline	 and	 what	 an	
average	 fully	 gasoline-powered	 light-duty	 vehicle	 driver	
would	pay.	Another	approach	is	to	implement	the	same	fee	
for	 AEVs	 and	 PHEVs,	 but	 enable	 PHEVs	 to	 obtain	 a	 credit	 based	 on	 actual	 fuel	 tax	 paid,	 by	
calculating	the	actual	consumption	of	gasoline	using	technology	on	board	the	vehicle.	This	would	
provide	a	more	accurate	and	fairer	way	to	get	closer	to	revenue	neutrality	between	PHEVs,	AEVs,	
and	gasoline-powered	vehicles,	but	could	increase	administrative	costs	and	potentially	lower	net	
revenues.	

Updated Mileage-Based User Fee Estimates 
Using	the	rate	setting	criteria	set	forth	in	Part	One	of	this	report,	one	may	calculate	the	rate	for	a	
MBUF.	Given	the	average	MPG	of	such	vehicles	is	22.7	MPG,30	the	average	state	fuel	tax	paid	per	
mile	is	$0.013	per	mile.	Therefore,	the	formula	for	calculation	of	revenue-neutral	MBUF	rate	is	the	
state	gas	tax	rate	divided	by	the	combined	average	MPG	per	light-duty	vehicle	in	Vermont.31	The	
result	is	an	MBUF	revenue-neutral	rate	of	$0.013	per	mile.	

If	the	state	does	not	offer	a	gas	tax	credit	for	PHEVs,	then	the	rate	for	PHEVs	should	be	less	than	the	
rate	for	AEs	and	based	on	the	difference	between	the	average	gas	tax	paid	by	PHEVs	per	mile	and	
that	for	the	average	light-duty	vehicle.	Applying	the	US	Department	of	Energy’s	estimated	PHEV		
combined	fuel	efficiency	rating	of	37.9	MPG	results	in	a	PHEV	per	mile	rate	of	$0.005	per	mile.32	 

Financial Realities of Mileage-Based User Fees 
While	policy	and	system	issues	may	have	logical	preferences,	the	financial	realities	of	the	cost	to	
implement,	operate,	and	administer	the	system	may	ultimately	drive	policy	and	system	choices.		

Operational Costs for an MBUF System 
The	cost	of	operating	an	MBUF	system	depends	on	key	policy	and	operational	program	choices:	

§ Annual	flat-fee	rate	setting.	When	the	annual	flat	fee	and	MBUF	are	offered	as	alternatives,	
the	relative	rates	at	which	an	annual	flat	fee	is	set	will	impact	the	choice	drivers	will	make	

	

30	Source:	The	Vermont	Transportation	Energy	Profile,	Vermont	Agency	of	Transportation,	November	2019,	Table	3-4.	P.	31.	
31	The	calculation:	$0.30/22.7=$0.013.	
32	Source:	https://afdc.energy.gov/vehicles/electric_emissions_sources.html	

From discussion at second RUC 
Advisory Committee meeting: 
Lower PHEV rate. A point was raised 
regarding applying an MBUF to PHEVs: it 
must be considered that PHEVs already 
pay the fuel tax. The problem of PHEVs 
goes away if all vehicles pay the MBUF. 
Project Team Response: Utah applies a 
separate MBUF rate with an 
intermediate value for PHEVs to factor in 
this difference. 
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between	the	annual	flat	fee	and	the	MBUF.	For	example,	if	the	annual	flat	fee	is	equal	to	the	
amount	that	the	driver	of	the	median	vehicle	would	pay	in	MBUF,	then	we	would	expect	half	
of	vehicle	drivers	 to	choose	MBUF	and	the	other	half	 to	choose	the	annual	 flat	 fee.	Those	
choosing	MBUF	would	be	the	50%	who	reason	to	save	money	by	driving	less	than	average	
and	therefore	saving	money	compared	to	the	flat	fee.	

§ Mileage	reporting	methods,	including	how	many	and	which	methods	to	offer.	Relying	upon	
the	existing	DMV	vehicle	inspection	and	odometer	mileage	collection	process	will	be	low	cost	
to	 implement,	whereas	 relying	 on	 automated	 technology	 for	mileage	 reporting	would	 be	
more	costly.	A	hybrid	approach	would	fall	in	between,	with	the	per-vehicle	costs	of	operating	
a	manual	approach	offsetting	the	higher	cost	of	offering	an	automated	reporting	option.	

§ Vendor	service	fees.	Should	the	state	choose	to	offer	automated	mileage	reporting,	the	state	
must	also	decide	who	will	pay	 for	 it.	The	state	could	allow	third-party	vendors	providing	
mileage	collection	services	 to	charge	customers	directly	 for	 the	service	of	measuring	and	
collecting	MBUF,	or	the	state	could	subsidize	some	or	all	of	the	cost,	possibly	by	building	the	
costs	into	the	fee.		

The	table	to	the	right	provides	cost	estimates	
relative	 to	 gross	 revenues	 for	 five	 operating	
cost	 scenarios.	 These	 cost	 scenarios	 were	
developed	by	the	project	team.		

The	cost	of	these	five	scenarios	hinge	upon	the	
annual	 flat-fee	 amount	 and	 the	 method	 of	
mileage	 reporting.	 The	 term	 hybrid	 means	
offering	 a	 choice	 of	 odometer	 reporting	 and	
automated	reporting.	

Each	scenario	presumes	a	per-mile	MBUF	rate	
of	1.3	cents.	As	these	scenarios	illustrate,	the	
major	 cost-driver	 is	 the	 number	 of	 vehicle	
owners	choosing	automated	reporting.	

Future System Needs 
A	 state	 MBUF	 system	 implemented	 in	
Vermont	 may	 serve	 the	 state	 well	 in	 the	
present	 moment.	 Over	 time,	 however,	
interaction	 with	 other	 states	 that	 implement	 an	 MBUF	 system	 may	 present	 additional	
considerations,	technologies	may	change,	and	the	transitioning	MBUF	to	other	vehicle	types	may	
become	attractive.	In	this	context,	the	State	of	Vermont	will	need	to	consider	the	following	issues	
that	will	arise	in	the	future.		

Interoperability.	States	with	MBUF	will	need	to	enter	 into	 interoperability	agreements	so	 that	
vehicle	 owners	 driving	 across	 state	 borders	 can	 experience	 similar	 mileage	 reporting	
requirements.	

Five Flat Fee/MBUF Operational Cost Scenarios 

§ Scenario 1 (hybrid): Assuming a flat fee 1.5 times the 
average value paid in MBUF ($209 per year flat fee), 83% of 
vehicle owners will choose MBUF over flat fee. The annual 
cost of operations in year one will be $270,000, or 15% of 
revenue. 

§ Scenario 2 (odometer): Assuming a flat fee of double the 
average value paid in MBUF ($278 per year flat fee), 97% of 
vehicle owners will choose MBUF over flat fee. The annual 
cost of operations in year one will be $136,000, or 6% of 
revenue. 

§ Scenario 3 (odometer): Assuming a flat fee equal to the 
average value paid in MBUF ($139 per year), 50% of vehicle 
owners will choose MBUF over flat fee. The annual cost of 
operations in year one will be $92,000, or 6% of revenue. 

§ Scenario 4 (hybrid): Assuming a flat fee equal to the average 
value paid in MBUF ($139 per year), 50% of vehicle owners 
will choose MBUF over flat fee. The annual cost of 
operations in year one will be $316,000, or 20% of revenue. 

§ Scenario 5 (automated): Assuming a flat fee of 1.5 times the 
average value paid in MBUF ($209 per year flat fee), 83% of 
vehicle owners will choose MBUF over flat fee. The annual 
cost of operations in year one will be $483,000, or 25% of 
revenue. 
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Native	automaker	telematics.	As	location	data	becomes	available	on	such	systems,	states	may	
want	to	support	them,	so	account	managers	should	be	encouraged	to	integrate	with	automakers	
directly	or	via	third-party	services.	

Transition	to	all	vehicles.	Transitioning	all	vehicles	from	fuel	taxes	to	MBUF	requires	examination	
of	technical,	revenue,	and	political	risks.	A	sudden	transition	magnifies	these	risks,	while	a	gradual	
transition	softens	them.	

Commercial	 fleets.	 Having	 different	 needs,	 commercial	 fleets	 need	 the	 ability	 to	 enroll	 and	
withdraw	vehicles	frequently	and	easily.	

Annual Flat Fees 
As	the	states	began	exploring	MBUFs	to	respond	to	the	shift	to	new	highly	efficient	vehicle	types	in	
the	early	years	of	the	21st	century,	other	states	took	what	was	regarded	as	a	temporary	measure	
by	imposing	annual	flat	fees	on	EVs.	An	annual	flat	fee	is	one	of	the	three	features	of	the	Vermont	
RUC	concept.	

The	inherent	characteristic	of	an	annual	flat	fee	is	imposition	on	ownership	of	a	vehicle	in	the	state.	
An	annual	flat	fee	does	not	vary	according	to	usage	and	cannot	be	imposed	on	vehicles	from	out	of	
state.	An	annual	flat	fee	inherently	charges	some	vehicle	owners	more	than	they	would	pay	if	the	
same	 fee	were	converted	 into	a	per-mile	 fee	or	per-kWh	 fee	and	some	 less.	The	annual	 flat	 fee	
advantages	those	traveling	the	most	miles,	as	the	cost	is	spread	over	much	more	road	use,	than	for	
those	traveling	the	fewest	miles.		

History of Annual Flat Fees in the United States 
During	the	first	decade	of	the	21st	century,	states	began	to	augment	fuel	taxes	with	annual	flat	fees	
on	AEVs	to	offset	the	loss	of	revenue	from	the	fuel	tax	revenue	that	AEV	drivers	do	not	pay.	The	
National	Conference	of	State	Legislatures	reports	that,	as	of	November	2020,	28	states	had	laws	
requiring	a	special	fee	for	AEVs	(states	colored	in	green	in	Figure	4),	nearly	all	of	them	on	an	annual	
basis.	Only	14	of	these	states	also	assess	a	slightly	lower	special	fee	on	PHEVs.	Generally,	these	fees	
are	added	to	traditional	motor	vehicle	registration	fees.	For	AEVs,	these	special	fees	range	from	
$50	 to	 $225	 per	 year	 across	 the	 various	 states.	 At	 least	 five	 states	 structure	 the	 additional	
registration	 fees	 to	 grow	 over	 time	 by	 tying	 the	 fees	 to	 the	 consumer	 price	 index	 or	 another	
inflation-related	metric.33		

	

33	Source:	https://www.ncsl.org/research/energy/new-fees-on-hybrid-and-electric-vehicles.aspx	(accessed	July	19,	2021)	
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Figure 4. The States with Annual Flat Fees34  

Only	Utah	and	Oregon	allow	vehicle	owners	of	AEVs	and	PHEVs	to	avoid	the	annual	flat	fee	if	they	
opt	into	paying	a	MBUF.	In	2017,	Oregon	allowed	AEV	owners	the	option	of	choosing	to	pay	the	1.8	
cents	per-mile	fee	 in	 lieu	of	an	annual	 flat	 fee	of	$100	by	enrolling	 in	OReGO.	 In	2018,	the	Utah	
Legislature	followed	suit	by	allowing	EV	owners	the	option	of	paying	a	1.5	cent	per-mile	fee	in	lieu	
of	an	annual	flat	fee	of	$90,	which	rose	to	$120	in	2021.	

Systems for Annual Flat Fees 
An	annual	flat	fee	can	be	handled	by	the	state	without	technology	or	involvement	by	outside	CAMs.	
Most	 state	 vehicle	 registries,	 such	 as	 the	 one	operated	 in	Vermont	by	 the	DMV,	 already	 assess	
vehicle	fees	based	on	a	variety	of	factors	including	age,	weight,	value,	and	other	characteristics.	

	

	34	Source:	The	National	Conference	of	State	Legislatures,	December	1,	2020.	
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States	commonly	 impose	annual	 flat	 fees	on	AEVs	and	often	PHEVs	as	well.	Annual	 flat	 fees	 for	
conventional	hybrids	are	less	common.	Oregon	and	Virginia	impose	annual	flat	fees	on	ICEVs	with	
above-average	 fuel	 efficiencies.	 Annual	 flat	 fees	 are	 not	
proportional	to	road	use.		

Annual	flat	fees	are	typically	assessed	as	part	of	the	vehicle	
registration	and	renewal	processes.	The	rates	tend	to	vary	
by	 vehicle	 type.	 AEVs	 typically	 have	 the	 highest	 rate	
because	the	drivers	pay	no	fuel	tax.	PHEVs,	hybrids,	and	
high-efficiency	ICEVs	have	lower	rates	because	the	drivers	
of	those	do	pay	some	fuel	tax.	

Rate Setting for Annual Flat Fees 
An	 annual	 flat	 fee’s	 revenue	 is	 based	 on	 the	 number	 of	
registered	vehicles,	which	broadly	reflects	scale	of	ownership	of	those	vehicles.	When	ownership	
rises,	 revenue	 increases;	 at	 stable	 ownership	 levels,	 it	 does	 not	 vary.	 (Similarly,	 at	 times	 of	
economic	downturn	the	annual	flat	fee,	from	a	revenue	perspective,	does	not	respond	quickly	to	
such	changes,	as	fewer	miles	traveled	or	less	energy	consumed	does	not	affect	revenue,	although	
sustained	downturns	may	result	in	small	reductions	in	the	numbers	of	registered	vehicles.)	

Updated Annual Flat-Fee Estimates 
Revising	estimates	from	2013	AOT	study,	calculating	the	light	duty	vehicle	fuel	economy	at	22.7	
MPG	and	an	average	vehicle	miles	traveled	of	10,497	per	year,	the	annual	flat	fee	for	AEVs	should	
be	about	$139	per	year.	Given	that	drivers	of	PHEVs	pay	on	average	about	60%	of	what	the	average	
drivers	of	gasoline	powered	vehicles	pay	 in	 fuel	 taxes,	 the	annual	 flat	rate	 for	PHEVs	should	be	
about	$55	per	year.35	

MBUF and Annual Flat Fee as Alternatives 
The	 States	 of	 Oregon	 and	 Utah	 allow	 AEV,	 PHEV,	 and	
hybrid	 vehicle	 drivers	 to	 choose	 between	 paying	 an	
annual	flat	fee	or	a	MBUF.	Virginia	enacted	a	law	to	do	the	
same	 but	 has	 not	 completed	 procurement	 for	 its	MBUF	
system.	MBUFs	can	be	capped	by	the	amount	of	the	annual	
flat	 fee,	 thus	 limiting	 the	 amount	 of	 revenue	 an	 MBUF	
system	can	generate.	Low	caps	induce	lower	amounts	of	
revenue	coming	to	the	state,	while	high	caps	increase	it.	

	

35	This	is	a	calculation	as	follows.		The	average	gas	tax	paid	by	a	light-duty	vehicle	is	just	under	$139	per	annum.	When	
multiplied	by	the	weighted	average	of	PHEV	MPG	(sourced	from	Source:	
https://afdc.energy.gov/vehicles/electric_emissions_sources.html)	it	is	around	60%	of	that	figure).	

From discussion at first RUC Advisory 
Committee meeting: 

Annual flat fee amount. A member asked, 
“How is the notion of a flat fee versus MBUF 
reasonable given that the flat fee approach 
essentially lets high-mileage drivers pay a set 
fee for a certain number of miles and then 
get free rides?” Project Team response: This 
is correct. A flat fee can be set at an amount 
which “rewards” high-mileage vehicle users 
with lots of free miles above the flat fee 
amount. 

From discussion at second RUC 
Advisory Committee meeting: 

Flat Fee and MBUF as alternatives. One 
member does not support a flat-fee 
alternative because, “If I hit the flat-fee 
amount, I keep driving for free. If we have to 
have a flat fee, we’d need a high flat fee to 
encourage people to use MBUF.” AOT‘s 
Response: The flat-fee alternative is a way for 
the driver to protect privacy. 
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Setting the Annual Flat-Fee Amount	
The	 financial	 well-being	 of	 offering	 an	 MBUF	 and	 annual	 flat	 fee	 as	 alternatives	 is	 heavily	
determined	by	the	amount	of	the	flat	fee.	As	shown	in	Figure	5,	if	the	flat-fee	amount	is	set	at	the	
50th	percentile	of	driving	in	Vermont—about	9,000	miles	per	year—the	annual	flat	fee	would	equal	
$11736.	If	every	driver	acts	in	their	own	best	interest,	those	driving	less	than	9,000	miles	would	
elect	to	pay	per	mile	and	those	driving	more	than	9,000	miles	would	pay	the	flat	fee.	That	result	
leaves	a	large	proportion	of	miles	uncharged	and	the	transportation	fund	with	a	gaping	hole.	

	

Figure 5. Annual Flat Fee of $117, Set at 50th Percentile of Driving 

As	shown	in	Figure	6,	if	the	flat	fee	is	set	at	the	90th	percentile	of	driving—about	20,000	miles	per	
year—the	annual	fee	would	equal	$26037.	The	result	would	leave	a	much	smaller	number	of	miles	
uncharged	and	the	transportation	fund	in	much	better	shape,	albeit	not	whole.		
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37	20,000	miles	x	1.3	cents	
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Figure 6. Annual Flat Fee of $260, Set at 90th Percentile of Driving 

Discovering a Preferred System for MBUF and Flat Fee 
As	the	second	RUC	Advisory	Committee	meeting	proceeded,	it	appeared	to	AOT	that	the	process	of	
choosing	the	system	for	collecting	an	MBUF	or	a	combination	of	MBUF	and	flat	fee	required	deeper,	
more	 focused	 investigation	 by	 a	 subcommittee	 of	 members.	 AOT	 committed	 to	 forming	 a	
subcommittee	 of	members	 to	 investigate	 the	 various	 options	 for	 an	MBUF/flat-fee	 system	 and	
recommend	a	preference	to	the	full	RUC	Advisory	Committee	at	its	third	meeting.	It	was	necessary	
for	 DMV	 involvement	 in	 the	 subcommittee	 process	 to	 discuss	 technical	 systems	 and	 how	 to	
interface	with	the	DMV	modernization	process.		

Focused Investigation on the Preferred System for MBUF and Flat Fee 
The	subcommittee	met	on	November	10,	2021,	with	the	intention	of	identifying	a	preferred	system	
for	either	a	MBUF,	an	annual	flat	fee,	or	a	combination	of	both,	as	alternatives.	Conversations	among	
members	 occurred	 for	 several	 days	 afterward	 as	 participants	 worked	 toward	 achieving	 a	
consensus.38		

	

38	Participants	 in	 the	MBUF	subcommittee	 included	 Joe	Segale	of	AOT	and	RUC	Advisory	Committee	members	 Jim	Sullivan,	
Matthew	Kostik,	Trish	Hendren,	Michael	Smith,	Deputy	Commissioner	of	DMV,	and	DMV	Commissioner	Wanda	Minoli.	
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The	subcommittee	considered	the	seven	scenarios	(see	text	box	below)	for	collection	of	an	MBUF	
and/or	an	annual	flat	fee	from	vehicle	owners.	The	seven	scenarios	were	prepared	CDM	Smith.		

DMV	Commissioner	Wanda	Minoli	 initially	favored	scenarios	1,	3	and	7,	which	favor	automated	
reporting	 over	 odometer	 reporting,	 because	 she	 saw	 issues	 with	 integration	 into	 other	 DMV	
systems,	presenting	issues	such	as	assurance	of	validation	
of	 odometer	 reporting,	 collection	 of	 odometer	
information	(which	the	DMV	does	not	currently	do),	and	
the	 cost	 of	 set	 up	 and	 administration.	 Commissioner	
Minoli	and	DMV	Deputy	Commissioner	Michael	Smith	said	
an	 MBUF	 administered	 by	 the	 DMV	 would	 have	 to	 be	
supported	by	a	third	party,	as	the	DMV	does	not	have	the	
additional	capacity.		

Other	 subcommittee	 members	 supported	 odometer	
reporting	(scenarios	2,	4,	5,	and	6),	pointing	out	that	that	
automated	 reporting	 has	 intriguing	 issues	 as	 well.	 For	
example,	use	of	automated	GPS	devices	to	report	mileage	
raises	perceptions	of	 invasion	of	privacy,	although	TETC	
Executive	Director	Trish	Hendren	noted	 that	offering	an	automated	plug-in	device	without	GPS	
could	provide	an	acceptable	alternative.	Furthermore,	to	manage	automated	reporting,	the	state	
would	have	to	hire	commercial	account	managers	at	a	higher	operational	expense.	Commissioner	
Minoli	responded	by	emphasizing	the	importance	of	comparing	the	costs	of	both	automated	and	
odometer	reporting	systems.	

There	 was	 some	 support	 for	 offering	 a	 flat-fee	 alternative	 to	 MBUF.	 Commissioner	 Minoli	
commented	that	the	whole	issue	of	privacy	goes	away	with	choice.	Some	drivers	may	want	to	pay	
the	flat	fee	to	avoid	having	an	automatic	reporting	device	within	their	vehicle.	One	subcommittee	
member	 opined	 that,	 from	his	 perspective,	 the	RUC	Advisory	 Committee	 is	moving	 away	 from	
combining	MBUF	and	flat	fee,	toward	an	MBUF-only	system.	

DMV	Commissioner	Minoli	also	raised	the	issue	of	affordability.	Commissioner	Minoli	said,	“If	we	
want	to	encourage	people	in	the	lower	income	bracket	to	buy	EVs,	we	need	to	have	a	solution	that	
reflects	disparities.”	

Near	the	end	of	the	meeting,	Commissioner	Minoli	suggested	engaging	in	conversations	with	the	
contractors	 that	 assist	 the	 DMV	with	 the	 vehicle	 registration	 program	 (FAST	 Enterprises)	 and	
manage	the	Vermont	vehicle	inspection	program	(Parsons).	Following	the	subcommittee	meeting,	
the	AOT,	DMV,	and	project	team	met	with	FAST	Enterprises	and	Parsons	about	the	feasibility	of	
using	mileage	data	collected	during	vehicle	inspection.	Both	firms	agreed	that	basing	an	MBUF	on	
the	collection	of	odometer	readings	through	the	vehicle	inspection	program	is	feasible.	

The Seven Scenarios for MBUF and 
Flat Fee 

1. Flat fee only 
2. MBUF only, Odometer reporting only 
3. MBUF only, Automated reporting only 
4. MBUF only, Hybrid reporting (odometer 

and automated) 
5. Both FF/MBUF, Hybrid reporting 

(odometer and automated)  
6. Both FF/MBUF, Odometer reporting only 
7. Both FF/MBUF, Automated reporting 

only 
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By	 the	 end	 of	 the	 engagement	 of	 the	 subcommittee,	 the	
concept	 of	 an	MBUF-only	program	 collected	 via	 odometer	
reporting	 through	 the	 state’s	 vehicle	 inspection	 program	
(scenario	 2)	 appeared	 as	 a	 feasible	 approach	 to	
subcommittee	members.	

Since	the	second	RUC	Advisory	Committee	meeting,	the	
project	team	sorted	through	the	various	issues	related	
to	 implementation	 of	 an	 MBUF	 system	 in	 Vermont,	
including	 feasibility	 and	 cost.	 The	 project	 team	
assembled	 what	 they	 regard	 as	 the	 consensus	
recommendation	for	a	preferred	scenario.	

The Preferred Scenario 
The	 project	 team	 perceives	 a	 consensus	 among	
advisory	committee	members	that	an	MBUF-only	approach	collected	through	odometer	reporting	
at	Vermont’s	annual	vehicle	safety	 inspection	program	is	the	preferred	scenario.	Even	so,	other	
odometer	reporting	methods	may	have	application	in	certain	circumstances,	such	as	a	midyear	sale	
of	a	vehicle.		

While	feasible,	according	to	the	vendor	for	Vermont’s	vehicle	safety	inspection	program,	DMV	cited	
concerns	about	additional	cost	and	operational	burden	to	the	existing	vehicle	inspection	and	DMV	
systems.	DMV	requested	further	examination	before	the	state	considers	implementation.		

The	full	RUC	Advisory	Committee	met	a	third	and	final	time	on	December	22,	2021,	to	consider	the	
consensus	 recommendation	 on	 the	 preferred	 scenario	 for	 MBUF	 and	 flat	 fee.	 Considering	
practicalities,	capital	and	administrative	costs,	and	potential	net	revenues,	among	other	issues,	the	
consensus	recommendation	has	five	elements:		

§ AOT	should	proceed	with	an	MBUF-only	RUC	system.		

§ AOT	should	develop	an	odometer-based	mileage	reporting	system	with	odometer	readings	
collected	 during	 annual	 vehicle	 inspections	 as	 the	 preferred	 system	 for	 generating	 the	
necessary	road	usage	data.		

§ The	MBUF	should	apply	only	to	AEVs	and	PHEVs	and	based	on	all	miles	driven.		

§ AOT	should	consider	this	MBUF	system	as	feasible	for	implementation.	

§ AOT	 should	 begin	 an	 assessment	 process	 involving	 DMV	 and	 its	 key	 stakeholders,	
information	technology	vendors,	and	end	users	to	design	the	optimal	system	to	implement.	

No	subcommittee	member	objected	when	AOT	presented	this	recommendation.	

Other issues discussed during MBUF/flat-fee 
subcommittee meeting: 

Types of vehicle drivers to pay an MBUF. On the 
issue of which vehicles to include in an MBUF 
program, the subcommittee appeared to prefer to 
have AEVs and PHEVs in the program. Some 
subcommittee members thought that MBUF should 
apply at some point to all vehicles. Another 
subcommittee member said he would like to see all 
the vehicles after a set model year in the MBUF 
program. 
Should public and private miles be covered by an 
MBUF? Members regarded this as an unimportant 
issue because Vermont highways are 
overwhelmingly publicly owned. 
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Rational for Preferred Scenario 
Operational Feasibility 
Research	 in	other	states	proves	that	all	seven	scenarios	have	operational	 feasibility.	At	 least	25	
states	have	enacted	an	annual	 flat	 fee	on	EVs;	 two	of	 these	states	provide	an	alternative	MBUF	
system	to	avoid	paying	the	flat	fee.	Oregon	and	Utah	have	
implemented	 operational	 programs	 with	 automated	
wireless	reporting	from	an	on-board	device	as	the	only	
means	of	reporting	mileage	data.	Hawaii	has	developed	
and	 tested	 use	 of	 mileage	 data	 collected	 by	 reading	
odometers	 at	 annual	 vehicle	 safety	 inspections.	 The	
State	 of	 Washington	 tested	 an	 odometer	 reporting	
method	as	part	of	the	vehicle	registration	process.	Thus,	
all	the	scenarios	presented	are	operationally	feasible.		

Financial Feasibility 
Operational	 feasibility	 notwithstanding,	 not	 every	
scenario	is	financially	feasible	or	desirable	for	Vermont.	
Some	 scenarios	 simply	 cost	 too	 much	 to	 provide	
adequate	 net	 revenues	 without	 increasing	 the	 MBUF	
rate.	The	financial	model	prepared	for	this	project	shows	
that	 the	 operational	 costs	 of	 hiring	 CAMs	 to	 provide	
automated	 wireless	 reporting	 technology	 and	 fee	
collection	as	much	higher	than	using	odometer	readings	
currently	 reported	 at	 the	 DMV’s	 vehicle	 safety	
inspections.39		

The	capital	costs	are	also	high	for	the	CAM	model	yet	vary	by	complexity.	Because	the	DMV	already	
collects	odometer	readings	at	annual	vehicle	safety	inspections,	the	capital	costs	for	the	odometer	
approach	should	be	lower	but	if	the	user	experience	is	not	designed	appropriately,	there	may	be	
additional	development	costs	and	potentially	additional	operational	costs	in	the	form	of	staffing.	
CDM	Smith	provided	 the	 following	order	of	magnitude	MBUF	system	cost	 estimates	 in	Table	7	
below. 

Table 7. MBUF System Cost Estimates 

MBUF Mileage Reporting Method Capital Costs (estimated) Operational Costs as a 
Percentage of Revenue (2030) 

Automatic wireless reporting (CAM model) $2 to 4 million 22% ($2.4 million) 
Odometer reporting at vehicle inspections $1 to 3 million 3.5% ($0.4 million) 

	

Capital Cost Recovery 
Recovery	of	capital	costs	will	come	quickly	for	the	preferred	scenario	of	MBUF-only	with	odometer	
reading	method	(see	Figure	7).	The	break-even	point	 is	year	 two	of	operations.	This	assumes	a	

	

39	See	Appendix	A	for	a	description	of	development	of	the	financial	model.	

Questions from the third RUC Advisory 
Committee meeting: 

A member asked whether there is a different 
rate for PHEVs as opposed to AEVs, given 
that PHEV drivers pay the fuel tax and AEV 
drivers do not? Project Team’s Response: 
there should be different rates for EVs and 
PHEVs, consistent with the similar MBUF 
policies developed for EVs and PHEVs in 
Oregon and Utah. 
A representative of the Vermont Agency of 
Natural Resources asked whether there was 
consideration in the preferred scenario of a 
multiplier applied to the MBUF rate relative 
to the vehicle’s gross weight? Project Team 
Response: The recommendation is the MBUF 
apply not to medium or heavy trucks; it 
would only apply to passenger vehicles. The 
difference in weight at that level is not 
sufficient to warrant a multiplier. Only with 
larger vehicles does a multiplier make sense. 
Chair Michele Boomhower added: “This is 
one of the areas we need to think about 
going into the future. How do we capture 
heavy duty EVs that are coming into the 
fleet?”  
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moderate	scenario	for	EV	adoption,	reaching	just	over	70,000	vehicles	in	Vermont	by	2030,	or	12%	
of	the	total	fleet,	and	driving	an	average	of	11,600	miles	per	vehicle	per	year.	

	
Figure 7. Capital Cost Recovery Comparison for Odometer Only versus Automated Methods 

Additional Policy Choices 
The	simplicity	of	the	preferred	scenario	yields	a	minimal	number	of	policy	issues	for	resolution.	
The	 remaining	 policy	 choices	 involve	 protection	 of	 privacy,	 ensuring	 equity,	 and	 whether	 to	
provide	refunds	for	MBUF	paid	for	travel	out	of	state.	

Protection of Privacy 
Some	MBUF	scenarios	raise	the	challenge	of	protecting	sensitive	travel	data	from	improper	use.	
While	 automated	wireless	 technologies	with	 location	 awareness	 provide	 the	 ability	 to	 identify	
whether	miles	were	 traveled	within	 Vermont	 or	 outside	 Vermont,	 they	must	 generate	 precise	
vehicle	locations	to	do	so.	While	other	states	have	identified	technological	ways	to	protect	data	and	
policies	developed	in	Oregon	and	Washington	show	that	legislatures	can	enact	legal	protections	for	
sensitive	data,	mere	surrender	of	an	odometer	number	at	annual	vehicle	safety	inspections	renders	
the	 issue	 moot.	 Reporting	 odometer	 readings	 cannot	 generate	 precise	 vehicle	 locations.	
Furthermore,	since	mileage	data	are	currently	being	collected	at	annual	vehicle	inspections	and	are	
included	on	inspection	reports,	this	approach	will	not	increase	the	amount	of	information	being	
collected.		

Many	regard	the	flat-fee	approach	as	a	solution	to	the	privacy	question.	A	driver	paying	a	flat	fee	
rather	than	an	MBUF	would	not	have	to	report	any	mileage	data.	An	MBUF	system	that	accesses	
only	odometer	readings,	however,	does	not	need	the	option	of	a	flat	fee	because	the	privacy	issue	
does	not	arise.		

Equity 
The	subcommittee	found	the	flat	fee	inequitable,	although	the	simplest	and	the	least	expensive	to	
implement	and	operate.	Because	the	flat-fee	approach	charges	the	same	amount	for	every	driver	
notwithstanding	how	much	they	drive,	those	driving	very	little—many	with	low	incomes—would	
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essentially	subsidize	 those	driving	a	 lot,	as	shown	 in	Figure	8	below.	However,	 the	 tendency	of	
drivers	with	high	 incomes	 to	own	more	vehicles	upon	which	 to	pay	 the	 flat	 fee	may	offset	 the	
subsidization	somewhat.	

	
Figure 8. Average Vehicle Miles Traveled of All Household Personal Vehicles by Household Income, US 
Households (N = 123,447) 

Refunds for Travel Out-of-State 
From	 an	 administrative	 standpoint,	 providing	 refunds	 for	 miles	 driven	 outside	 Vermont	 is	
prohibitively	expensive.	The	preferred	scenario	applies	an	MBUF	model	similar	to	collection	of	the	
fuel	 tax	 in	 that	Vermonters	pay	 the	 fuel	 tax	whether	 the	miles	are	driven	 in	Vermont.	Vermont	
should	collect	the	MBUF	in	the	same	way,	with	no	concern	for	the	location	of	the	miles	driven.	

System Assessment for the Preferred Scenario 
To	ensure	the	preferred	MBUF	system	for	odometer	reporting	at	annual	vehicle	safety	inspections	
will	operate	efficiently,	with	wide	public	acceptance	and	at	the	lowest	feasible	cost,	the	project	team	
recommends	that	AOT	should	first	engage	in	an	assessment	process	to	understand	the	DMV’s	and	
vendor’s	capabilities,	stakeholder	impacts,	end-user	impacts	and	the	best	ways	to	manage	them.	
This	approach	would	allow	AOT	to	design	the	optimal	experience	for	end-users,	DMV	agents,	and	
vehicle	inspection	station	operators	who	support	the	program.	The	assessment	phase	should	set	
up	AOT	for	a	successful	implementation	phase	to	prepare	the	new	MBUF	system	for	operations.	
The	assessment	phase	would	comprise	three	key	activities	that	run	concurrently:	

§ A	DMV	impact	assessment	 to	understand	how	best	 to	align	an	odometer-based	mileage	
reporting	 system	 implementation	 with	 DMV	 initiatives	 underway	 for	 optimal	 service	
delivery	 (and	 to	 avoid	 disruptions	 to	 existing	 services).	 The	 assessment	 has	 three	main	
objectives.	One,	understand	organizational	capabilities,	constraints,	and	needs	to	minimize	
the	burden	on	the	DMV	and	supporting	entities	such	as	vehicle	inspection	station	businesses.	
Two,	understand	the	DMV’s	suite	of	services	to	identify	opportunities	to	best	integrate	MBUF	
so	it	is	simple	to	administer	from	the	DMV	perspective	and	simple	to	interact	with	from	the	
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end-user	 perspective.	 Three,	 understand	 the	 DMV’s	 technology	 roadmap	 to	 inform	
recommendations	on	how	to	align	MBUF	implementation	with	other	initiatives	to	minimize	
MBUF	 implementation	efforts	 and	ensure	MBUF	 features	 can	evolve	 to	meet	 future	DMV	
needs.	This	activity	 involves	 interviews	and	workshops	with	DMV	representatives	and	 its	
vendors.		

§ A	 technology	 assessment	 to	 understand	 vendors	 involved	 and	 systems	 that	 could	 be	
leveraged	to	support	odometer-based	MBUF	reporting.	This	assessment	involves	interviews	
and	workshops	with	 the	DMV	vehicle-registry	system	vendor	(FAST	Enterprises)	and	the	
vehicle	inspection	system	vendor	(Parsons)	to	understand	functions	their	systems	support	
and	the	ways	their	systems	could	interface	to	support	an	odometer-based	MBUF	program.	
The	technology	assessment	seeks	to	answer	key	questions	prior	to	implementation.	Some	of	
the	key	questions	are	as	follows:		

• Odometer	 data	 collection.	Confirm	 that	 the	most	 viable	 option	 to	 collect	 odometer	
readings	from	vehicles,	with	minimal	disruption	to	vehicle	inspection	businesses	and	end	
users,	 is	 the	 fully	 manual	 method	 of	 a	 reading	 taken	 by	 the	 vehicle	 inspector	 with	
confirmation	 by	 photograph.	 Compare	 this	 method	 with	 other	 plausible	 options	 for	
viability.		

• Odometer	data	verification.	What	are	the	most	effective	methods	to	verify	validity	of	
odometer	 readings	 collected	 at	 inspection	 stations	 to	 minimize	 the	 administratively	
costly	dispute	processes?	

• Vehicle	engine	propulsion	type	identification.	What	methods	are	available	to	reliably	
identify	vehicle	engine	propulsion	types,	in	particular	AEVs	and	PHEVs?	

• End	user	validation.	What	are	the	optimal	processes	for	end	users	to	acknowledge	or	
confirm	 odometer	 readings	 that	 will	 be	 used	 to	 compute	 the	 MBUF?	 What	 are	 the	
processes	for	end	users	to	report	alternative	odometer	readings	if	they	dispute	readings	
collected	 or	 under	 unordinary	 circumstances	 (e.g.,	 vehicle	 sale,	 vehicle	
loss/theft/destruction)?	

• Invoicing.	How	 to	 present	MBUF	 clearly	 and	 simply	 on	 the	 invoice	 (potentially	with	
other	fees)?	Which	invoicing	process	to	implement	that	provides	simple	touchpoints	for	
end	users	and	MBUF	administrators?	

• Payment	 collection	 mechanisms.	 Which	 choice	 of	 payment	 means,	 modes,	 and	
frequency	 could	 be	 offered	 to	 end	 users	 in	 a	 cost-effective	 way?	 Which	 payment	
collection	mechanisms	could	be	set	up	to	support	different	payment	options	offered?	

• Payment	 enforcement.	What	 are	 the	 best	 mechanisms	 for	 enforcement?	 How	 are	
outstanding	payments	communicated	across	systems	to	initiate	consequences,	such	as	a	
hold	on	renewal	registration	of	the	vehicle	within	the	registration	system?	

• Remit	fees	collected.	Which	mechanisms	for	remitting	fees	collected	to	the	DMV	and	
reporting	data	are	needed	for	financial	reconciliation?	
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• Financial	 reconciliation	and	audit.	How	will	parties	 involved	 in	payment	 collection	
report	data	to	state	entities	for	reconciliation	and	auditing	purposes?	

• Data	 exchange	 specifications.	 Which	 data	 to	 transfer	 and	 between	 which	 systems	
(vehicle	inspection	system,	DMV	system)?	What	is	the	format	and	frequency	of	the	data	
exchanges?		

§ Prototype	testing	to	design	and	test	a	minimal	viable	product	that	supports	an	optimal	and	
equitable	customer	journey.	This	involves	engaging	a	selection	of	users	across	the	state	in	
focus	 groups	 and	 participatory	 design	 activities	 to	 design	 an	 MBUF	 experience	 that	 is	
accessible,	simple	to	use,	and	easy	to	comply	with.	Participatory	design	means	involving	a	
few	volunteer	users	to	get	their	direct	feedback	on	a	system	prototype	built	around	plausible	
MBUF	workflow	and	systems	from	a	usability	perspective.	Prototype	testing	of	a	minimal	
viable	product	reduces	the	risk	of	specifying	and	implementing	a	system	that	is	disconnected	
from	user	needs.	Early	user	feedback	gathered	during	prototype	testing	allows	for	the	design	
and	specification	of	a	system	that	 is	most	suited	to	end	user	needs	and	easy	for	end-user	
compliance	and	 thus	 ready	 to	be	 implemented	with	minimal	 risk	 for	 the	agency.	Besides	
offering	a	positive	user	experience,	a	user-oriented	system	design	helps	minimize	customer	
support	 costs	 and	 unnecessary	 enforcement	 costs.	 This	 activity	 will	 also	 investigate	
introduction	 of	 relevant	 equity	 measures	 to	 make	 MBUF	 payments	 more	 accessible	 to	
different	 population	 segments	 (for	 example,	 payment	 plans).	 This	 engagement	 should	
answer	 preliminary	 questions	 on	 the	 best	 ways	 to	 engage	 with	 end	 users	 during	 the	
following	touchpoints:		

• Data	collection	and	acknowledgment.	What	are	the	best	ways	to	capture	an	odometer	
reading	 in	 ordinary	 circumstances	 (regular	 inspection	 checks)	 and	 unordinary	
circumstances	(for	example,	vehicle	sale)?	Should	end	users	be	offered	the	opportunity	
to	dispute	odometer	readings	collected	at	vehicle	 inspection	stations,	and	 if	so,	which	
process	flows	should	be	offered?		

• Invoicing.	Who	should	distribute	the	invoices?	How	should	the	invoices	be	distributed?	
Should	MBUF	be	combined	with	other	fees?	Which	invoice	layouts	convey	the	MBUF	in	
the	simplest	and	clearest	way	possible?	What	messaging	should	be	included	on	invoices	
to	make	it	easy	for	end	users	to	comply	with	payment	requirements?		

• Payment.	Where	 should	 payments	 be	 collected?	 What	 payment	 choices	 should	 be	
offered	for	equity	purposes?		

The	outcomes	of	the	assessment	phase	are	design	documents	for	a	ready-to-implement	odometer-
based	system	for	the	implementation	phase.	These	design	documents	include	the	following,	which	
technology	vendors	will	use	to	develop	the	odometer-based	system:	

§ Concept	of	Operations:	 based	on	 the	minimal	 viable	product	 tested	during	 the	prototype	
testing	phase.	It	describes	how	the	overall	system	should	be	operated.	It	includes	key	usage	
scenarios	that	involve	end	users	and	agency	staff	members;	

§ System	Requirements	Specifications:		describes	key	technical	functions	of	the	system.	
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§ Interface	Control	Documents:		specifies	data	exchanges	between	the	different	systems	that	
have	to	be	integrated	for	a	cohesive	user	experience.	

The	implementation	phase	includes	validation	of	system	specifications,	development,	testing,	and	
communications	with	impacted	stakeholders	prior	to	launch.	
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PART FOUR 
PER-KILOWATT HOUR FEE 
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Per-Kilowatt Hour Fee 
This	part	discusses	a	per-kWh	fee,	one	of	three	features	of	the	original	Vermont	RUC	concept.		Note	
that	Vermont	AOT	will	not	move	forward	with	the	per-KWh	feature	because	its	revenue-generating	
potential	 is	 too	 low	and	knowledge	on	 required	 technology’s	maturity	 is	 too	 limited	 to	pursue	
implementation	at	this	time.	

This	 part	 will	 present	 background,	 analyses	 of	 systems	 and	 policy	 choices,	 and	 the	 financial	
realities	 that	 motivated	 AOT	 to	 move	 away	 from	 a	 per-kWh	 implementation	 and	 instead	
recommend	 a	 research	 program	 to	 further	 understand	 choices	 and	 impacts	 to	 inform	 future	
decision-making.		

A	per-kWh	fee	on	electricity	transfers	at	public	charging	stations	has	the	characteristics	of	a	proxy-
based	usage	 fee.	 It	varies	by	electricity	used	to	charge	a	vehicle	and	can	be	 imposed	on	vehicle	
drivers	 from	out	of	 state.	However,	because	public	charging	stations	are	not	 the	only	source	of	
electricity	(or	for	PHEVs,	not	the	only	source	of	energy),	a	state	cannot	feasibly	apply	a	per-kWh	
fee	universally	to	all	road	usage.		

Accordingly,	the	Vermont	per-kWh	fee	concept	would	impose	a	per-unit	assessment	on	the	amount	
of	electricity	transferred	into	an	EV	at	all	public	charging	stations	in	the	state,	or	a	specially	selected	
grouping	of	stations,	as	an	additional	charge	on	top	of	a	base	electricity	rate.	Because	other	revenue	
mechanisms	do	not	allow	the	capture	of	nonresident	EV	travel	in	Vermont,	the	original	design	of	
the	per-kWh	fee	was	expected	to	enable	capture	of	RUC	on	such	travel.	

History of Per-kilowatt Hour Fees in the United States 
Several	RUC	concepts	have	emerged	to	charge	electricity,	rather	than	impose	an	annual	flat	fee	or	
MBUF	for	road	use	by	EVs,	to	allow	supplementation	or	replacement	of	traditional	fuel	taxes.	This	
idea	has	slowly	developed	because	conceptual	application	of	a	per-kWh	fee	to	a	state’s	residents’	
EVs	revealed	 impracticalities.	While	a	 state	can	easily	 impose	a	per-kWh	 fee	at	public	charging	
stations,	applying	the	same	fee	to	at-home	charging—the	place	where	most	EV	charging	occurs—
proved	 expensive,	 invasive,	 and	 ineffectual	 because	 of	 electric	 rate	 structure	 and	 technical	
challenges	to	segregating	EV	charging	from	all	other	residential	electric	uses.40	Still,	by	applying	
the	per-kWh	 fee	only	at	public	charging	stations,	 the	principal	payers	may	well	be	nonresident	
drivers	who	need	access	to	charging	before	heading	home	across	state	lines.	

Two	states	have	recently	enacted	laws	imposing	per-kWh	taxes	specifically	on	EV	charging.41	Iowa	
and	Oklahoma	 enacted	 legislation	 imposing	 per-kWh	 taxes	 on	 electricity	 charging	 for	 EVs,	 but	
neither	state	has	implemented	such	a	tax	to	date.	Enacted	in	2019,	the	Iowa	law	imposes	per-kWh	
taxes	on	all	nonresidential	EV	charging	beginning	July	1,	2023.	The	Oklahoma	Legislature	passed	
legislation	 in	 2021	 imposing	 per-kWh	 taxes	 on	 all	 public	 electric	 vehicle	 charging	 beginning	

	

40	Source:	Vermont	Public	Utility	Commission,	Report	to	the	Vermont	State	Legislature:	Supplemental	Electric	Vehicle	Report	
Submitted	Pursuant	to	Section	35	of	Act	59	of	the	2019-2020	Vermont	Legislative	Session,	December	13,	2019.	Available	from:	
https://puc.vermont.gov/sites/psbnew/files/doc_library/EV-Supplemental-Report.pdf.	

41	Pennsylvania	and	Ohio	have	general	electricity	taxes	broadly	applied	across	nearly	all	electricity	uses	rather	than	a	particular	
type	of	electricity	usage.	Neither	is	well	utilized.	
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January	1,	2024.	The	 information	 released	about	how	 these	 two	 states	will	 actually	 implement	
these	laws	is	limited	or	nil	at	this	point.	

Iowa’s	enacted	legislation	(HF	767)	primarily	focuses	on	extracting	revenues	from	EV	owners	by	
imposing	special	annual	registration	fees	on	AEVs	and	PHEVs	in	addition	to	the	standard	annual	
registration	fee.	Iowa’s	law	also	authorizes	collection	of	a	$0.026	per-kWh	fuel	excise	tax	for	EV	
charging	at	nonresidential	locations.	The	law	requires	collection	of	this	new	fee	at	the	point	of	sale	
and	 paid	 by	 licensed	 electric	 fuel	 dealers	 and	 users	 (also	 known	 as	 dispensers)	 “in	 a	manner	
prescribed	 by	 the	 department	 [of	 revenue].”42	 The	 law	 requires	 computation	 of	 the	 tax	 by	
multiplying	the	tax	rate	by	the	number	of	kilowatt-hours	delivered	or	placed	into	the	EV.		

This	policy	intends	for	collection	of	Iowa’s	per-kWh	excise	tax	in	a	manner	similar	to	the	state’s	
excise	fuel	tax.43	This	law	does	not	prohibit	dispensers	from	passing	the	cost	of	the	per-kWh	tax	on	
to	end	customers	(EV	owners	charging	their	vehicles),	nor	does	it	prescribe	how	to	pass	along	such	
costs.	This	 law	does	not	differentiate	electricity	charging	of	resident	EVs	from	nonresident	EVs.	
Thus,	both	 resident	and	nonresident	drivers	would	pay	 the	cost	of	 the	per-kWh	 tax	 should	 the	
station	operator	pass	it	on	in	some	form	of	increased	prices.		

The	Oklahoma-enacted	legislation	imposes	a	tax	of	$0.03	per-kWh	on	the	electric	current	used	to	
charge	the	battery	of	an	AEV	or	PHEV	at	public	charging	stations	beginning	January	1,	2024.	This	
law	does	not	differentiate	treatment	of	resident	EV	owners	from	nonresident	EV	owners,	as	both	
must	pay	the	per-kWh	tax	at	point	of	sale.	The	Oklahoma	law	requires	public	charging	stations	to	
use	a	metering	system	capable	of	imposing	the	cost	for	the	charging	service	using	a	unit	per	kWh	
hour	or	a	comparable	measurement	such	as	time	elapsed	while	charging.	The	law	exempts	legacy	
charging	stations	in	operation	prior	to	November	1,	2021,	from	tax	collection	if	these	stations	never	
had	a	metering	system	in	place	capable	of	measuring	the	transfer	of	electricity	to	the	vehicle	or	
never	charged	a	fee	for	use	of	the	charging	session.		

Per-Kilowatt Hour Fee Analysis 
The	consulting	firm	CDM	Smith	presented	a	technical	memorandum	at	the	second	RUC	Advisory	
Committee	meeting	on	the	per-kWh	fee	design	options.	The	presentation	included	the	challenges,	
opportunities,	and	options	for	the	per-kWh	fee,	providing	analysis	on	key	policy	and	system	design	
choices	and	the	feasibility	of	the	per-kWh	fee	for	Vermont.	

Per-Kilowatt Hour Fee System Definition 
The	Vermont	Public	Utilities	Commission	(PUC)	prepared	a	report	to	the	state	legislature	at	the	
end	of	2019	on	the	feasibility	of	levying	a	per-kWh	fee	on	all	EV	charging	in	Vermont.44	The	PUC	
report	revealed	impracticalities	of	applying	a	per-kWh	fee	to	EVs	registered	in	Vermont.	However	
conceived,	 applying	 a	 per-kWh	 fee	 to	 at-home	 charging—the	 place	 where	 most	 EV	 charging	

	

42	Section	24	of	House	File	767	of	the	2019	Iowa	Legislature.	
43	Source:	Iowa	Department	of	Transportation,	2018	Report	on	the	Impact	of	Electric	Vehicles	to	the	Road	Use	Tas	Fund,	available	
at		http://publications.iowa.gov/29142/1/EV%20RUTF%20Impact%20Report%20123118.pdf.	

44	Source:	Vermont	Public	Utility	Commission,	Report	to	the	Vermont	State	Legislature:	Supplemental	Electric	Vehicle	Report	
Submitted	Pursuant	to	Section	35	of	Act	59	of	the	2019-2020	Vermont	Legislative	Session,	December	13,	2019.	Available	from:	
https://puc.vermont.gov/sites/psbnew/files/doc_library/EV-Supplemental-Report.pdf.	
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occurs—remains	expensive	and	ineffectual	because	of	the	technical	challenges	of	segregating	EV	
charging	from	all	other	residential	electric	uses.		

Owing	 to	 these	 practical	 obstacles	 and	 the	 impossibility	 of	 equitable	 enforcement,	 the	 Public	
Utilities	Commission	recommended	the	state	not	impose	statewide	per-kWh	fees	on	EV	charging	
by	Vermonters.	Rather,	the	PUC	raised	the	possibility	of	“having	a	per-kWh	fee	apply	to	charging	
performed	at	 publicly	 available	 charging	 stations,	where	out-of-state	drivers	 are	most	 likely	 to	
recharge	their	cars.”	National	EV	charging	network	operators	own	and	operate	many	of	the	public	
charging	stations	in	Vermont.	Sometimes	the	public	charging	offered	is	free.	

Evaluation	of	the	feasibility	of	imposing	a	per-kWh	fee	at	public	charging	stations	must	consider	
Vermont’s	ability	to	meet	its	greenhouse	gas	emission	goals,	including	the	essential	component	of	
increasing	purchase	and	usage	of	EVs	in	the	state.	Accordingly,	implementation	of	a	per-kWh	fee	
must	not	hamper	the	deployment	of	EV	charging	infrastructure	in	the	state.	Presumably,	imposing	
a	fee	on	EV	owners	would	meet	this	test	if	it	was	no	more	costly	than	the	fuel	tax	for	those	driving	
a	standard	ICEV	and	did	not	differ	much	in	ease	of	compliance.	

Levels of Charging Equipment 
Recharging	EV	batteries	occurs	at	three	levels	of	energy	
transfer.	 Level	 1	 is	 120	 volts,	 the	 slowest	 and	 typically	
found	as	electrical	outlets	in	homes.	Level	2	is	208	to	240	
volt,	at	medium	speed	and	found	to	power	clothes	dryers.	
Level	 3	 is	 480	 volt	 to	 900	 volt,	 Fast	 Charging	 and	
Supercharging	(the	fastest	charging	available).	

EV	 public	 charging	 stations	 generally	 employ	 a	 mix	 of	
level	 2	 and	 3	 charging	 equipment.	 These	 stations	 also	
price	 electricity	 transfers	 under	 different	 business	
models.	 Some	 price	 electricity	 transfers	 based	 on	 kWh	
while	others	on	time	of	use	of	the	charging	equipment.	Beneficial	charging	stations	offer	electricity	
charging	 for	 free.	 Characteristics	 of	 Vermont’s	 most	 used	 public	 charging	 networks	 are	
summarized	in	Table	8	below.			

	  

From Second RUC Advisory Committee 
meeting: 

Chair Michele Boomhower reported that the 
state of Vermont spent a couple of years 
trying to determine whether there was a 
reliable way to collect this per-kWh fee from 
all EV charging but could not come to a 
technological viable solution because some 
people would choose Level 1 charging that 
would be undetectable. 
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Table 8. Characteristics of Vermont’s Most Used Public Charging Networks 

Public 
Charging 
Network 

Charging 
Speed 
Level 

Charging Time 
(up to 80% of 

battery 
capacity) 

Pricing/Cost of Charge 

Payment Options 
Basis 

Electricity used Per-Minute 

[$/kWh] [$/min] 

Blink  

AC Level 2 
(240 volt) 

65 miles per 
hour 

Blink Member:  
$ 0.2–0.49 per-kWh 
 
Blink Guest: 
$0.59 per-kWh 

Not applicable 

Easy payment* via 
Radio Frequency 
Identification (RFID), 
Apple Pay, Google 
Wallet, and all major 
credit cards 

DC Fast 
Charging 
(Level 3) 

10-30 minutes Not applicable $0.35 per minute 

Authentication 
Method-RFID: MI-
FARE 
ISO/IEC14443A/B, 
ISO/IEC15693, 
ISO/IEC18000-3, 
FeliCa, NFC. 
Optional contactless 
or 3-in-1 (region 
dependent) 

Tesla 
DC Fast 
Charging  
(Level 3) 

15 miles per 
minute 

$0.28 per-kWh (most 
common for Tesla 
network) 
 
Idle fees apply to any full 
charged car occupying a 
supercharger 
 
Fee of $0.50 per minute if 
the station is at least 50% 
full, and a fee of $1.00 per 
minute when the station 
is 100% full 

When billing per minute, 
there are two tiers to 
account for changes in 
charging speeds, called 
tier 1 and tier 2  
 
Tier 1 applies while cars 
are charging at or below 
60 kW and tier 2 applies 
while cars are charging 
above 60 kW. Tier 1 is half 
the cost of tier 2. 

Tesla app for iPhone 
and Android to control 
and remotely monitor 
Tesla's products 

Charge 
Point 

AC Level 2 25 miles per 
hour Not applicable $0.52 per hour 

RFID card, mobile app, 
calling customer 
support and 
contactless debit and 
credit cards 

DC Fast 
Charging 
(Level 3) 

30–60 minutes The pricing across the 
network is very 
inconsistent; $2 per 
charging session + $0.35-
0.53 per-kWh 

Not applicable 

DC Fast 
Charging 
(Level 3) 

10 minutes Not applicable 

EVGo 

AC Level 2 20 miles per 
hour Not applicable 

Pay as you go 
($1.5 per hour) 

Credit and debit cards DC Fast 
Charging 
(Level 3) 

75 miles per 30 
minutes Not applicable 

Pay as you go ($0.35 per 
minute, 60 minute time 
limit); 
Membership: $0.31 per 
minute but save 10% off 
per minute with charging 
commitment of $7.99 per 
month ( 60 minute session 
time limit) 



Final Report of the Vermont Road Usage Charge Study  March 14, 2022 

52 

Public 
Charging 
Network 

Charging 
Speed 
Level 

Charging Time 
(up to 80% of 

battery 
capacity) 

Pricing/Cost of Charge 

Payment Options 
Basis 

Electricity used Per-Minute 

[$/kWh] [$/min] 

Electrify 
America 

AC Level 2 25 miles per 
hour  

Pay as you go ($0.03 per 
minute with idle fee of 
$0.40 per minute 

Credit and debit cards 

DC Fast 
Charging 
(Level 3) 

30–50 miles per 
30 minutes (25 
kW charger); 
80–180 miles 
per 30 minutes 
(150 kW) 

Not applicable 

Pay as you go and Pass 
Member ($0.43 per-kWh); 
Pass+ Member: 
1-90kW: $0.31 per-kWh 
plus $4 monthly fee 
1-350kW: $0.24 per-kWh 
plus $4 monthly fee; 
Idle fee: $0.40 per minute 

Guests: swipe or tap 
credit card to pay; 
Members: contactless 
payment using cell 
phone 

Charging Infrastructure Business Models 
The	market	for	EV	charging	infrastructure	follows	two	primary	business	models:	

§ Owner-operator	of	charging	station	infrastructure	
§ Third-party	owned	and	operated	charging	station	infrastructure	

In	 the	 owner-operator	 business	 model,	 the	 site	 host	 owns	 and	 operates	 the	 charging	 station	
infrastructure.	The	owner-operator	has	complete	control	over	the	kWh	price	to	charge	EVs	and	is	
also	responsible	for	working	with	their	electric	utility	company,	obtaining	permits,	coordinating	
station	 maintenance,	 and	 covering	 any	 operating	 costs	 associated	 with	 the	 charging	
infrastructure.45	

In	the	third-party	owned	and	operated	business	model,	the	site	host	leases	space	to	a	third-party	
(for	example,	Tesla,	Volta,	and	others)	who	installs	and	operates	the	charging	infrastructure.	In	this	
case,	the	site	host	collects	rent	from	the	third	party	but	otherwise	typically	has	limited	or	no	control	
over	the	per-kWh	price	for	customers	to	charge	their	vehicles	and	is	not	responsible	for	station	
maintenance,	utility	coordination,	or	other	operational	costs.	

For	 the	 owner-operator	 business	 model,	 the	 pricing	 management	 and	 customer	 payment	
(collection	 of	 per-kWh	 fees)	 requires	 a	 charging	 station	management	 software	 that	 is	 typically	
purchased	from	a	charging	service	provider	such	as	Blink,	ChargePoint,	or	Electrify	America.	This	
software	allows	network	access	for	owner-operators	to	track	charging	station	usage	and	makes	the	
station	locatable	via	mobile	application-based	software.	

Site-host	owners	or	the	charging	network	owners	typically	establish	pricing	rates	for	EV	charging.	
Common	 pricing	 structures	 include	 by	 kilowatt-hour,	 by	 session,	 by	 time	 of	 use,	 or	 through	 a	
subscription.	While	public	charging	stations	now	commonly	charge	a	fee	for	the	use	of	charging	
infrastructure,	more	than	50%	of	public	charging	is	free	to	use.	

	

45	Source:	Charles	Satterfield	and	Nick	Nigro,	Atlas	Public	Policy,	Washington	DC,	Public	EV	Charging	Business	Models	for	Retail	
Site	Hosts:	A	Financial	Analysis	of	Common	EV	Charging	Business	Models	 for	Retail	Site	Hosts,	April	2020.	Available	from:	
https://atlaspolicy.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/Public-EV-Charging-Business-Models-for-Retail-Site-Hosts.pdf.	
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Challenges and Opportunities 
The	challenges	to	implementing	the	per-kWh	fee	concept	are:	

§ What	are	the	business	processes	for	paying	the	per-kWh	fee?	
§ How	does	the	money	flow	from	the	payer	to	the	government	agency?	
§ How	to	ensure	the	accuracy	of	per-kWh	measurement?	
§ How	to	recover	the	added	cost	of	new	data	collection	and	billing	system	upgrades	for	per-

kWh	measurement	and	fee	collection?	
§ How	to	maintain	a	low	cost	of	collection?	
§ How	to	ensure	only	nonresident	EV	drivers	are	responsible	for	the	per-kWh	fee?	
§ How	to	protect	the	privacy	of	sensitive	personal	information?	

Business Processes for Paying the Per-kWh Fee 
The	per-kWh	 fee	concept	 is	a	 transaction-based	process	rather	 than	 the	account-based	process	
required	for	MBUFs.	The	obligation	to	pay	the	per-kWh	fee	occurs	as	a	result	of	electricity	transfer	
to	an	EV.	

Per-kWh Fee Functions 
The	following	basic	functions	prepared	by	CDM	Smith	compose	the	business	process	for	a	per-kWh	
fee	collection	system	at	public	charging	stations:	

§ Identify	 subject	 vehicle	 and	 its	 owner/lessee—the	 owner/lessee	 of	 an	 EV	 presents	
themselves	as	a	payer	when	accessing	electricity	at	a	public	charging	station.	

§ Generate	kWh	data	for	subject	vehicle	at	public	charging	station—the	public	charging	
station	equipment	accurately	measures	 the	data	 for	kWh	transferred	at	a	public	charging	
station	event.	This	 is	a	 function	carried	out	by	the	owner/operator	of	the	public	charging	
station.		

§ Access	per-kWh	data—this	means	receiving	the	kWh	consumption	data	from	the	electricity	
transferred	to	EVs	vehicles	and	storing	it	an	accounting	system.	This	is	a	function	of	the	entity	
obliged	to	pay	the	per-kWh	fee.	

§ Apply	per-kWh	rates—processing	the	kWh	data	to	determine	the	amount	of	taxes	owed.	
This	is	a	function	of	the	entity	obliged	to	pay	the	per-kWh	fee.	

§ Provide	invoice	to	EV	owner/lessee	(if	end	user	payment	model	is	adopted)—provide	
vehicle	owner	a	notice	of	the	tax	owed.	If	the	EV	owner	pays	the	per-kWh	fee	at	retail,	this	is	
a	function	of	the	owner/operator	of	the	public	charging	station.		

§ Collect	 payment—support	 various	 payment	 options,	 including	 credit	 cards	 and,	 in	
mandatory	systems,	cash.	If	the	EV	owner	pays	the	per-kWh	fee	at	retail,	this	is	a	function	
carried	out	by	the	owner/operator	of	the	public	charging	station.	

§ Issue	acknowledgement	of	payment—provide	receipts	for	payment.	If	the	EV	owner	pays	
the	per-kWh	 fee	at	 retail,	 this	 is	 a	 function	of	 the	owner/operator	of	 the	public	 charging	
station.	
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§ Enforce	 payment—provide	means	 of	 fraud	 detection	 and	 consequences	 to	 ensure	most	
everyone	pays.	Fraud	detection	is	a	shared	role	of	the	owner/operator	of	the	public	charging	
station	and	the	state,	but	serious	consequences	(for	serious	fraud)	is	a	role	of	the	state.	

§ Remit	revenue	to	appropriate	fund—this	is	a	shared	role	of	the	entity	obliged	to	pay	the	
per-kWh	fee	and	the	state.	The	entity	obliged	to	pay	the	per-kWh	fee	typically	remits	all	funds	
to	a	single	account,	and	the	state	treasury	then	routes	those	funds	further	as	required	by	law.	

Who Pays the Per-kWh fee and How does the Money Flow? 
The	options	for	who	pays	the	per-kWh	fee	are:	

§ EV	owner	pays	fee	at	point	of	sale.	If	the	EV	owners	pay	the	per-kWh	fee	at	point	of	sale,	a	
number	of	issues	arise.	Many	public	charging	stations	do	not	bill	EV	owners	by	kWh	in	every	
instance	because	they	have	business	reasons	to	bill	otherwise.	Instead,	they	may	bill	by	time	
of	use,	which	cannot	be	converted	into	kilowatts	because	EVs	receive	electricity	at	different	
speeds,	 depending	 on	 the	 technology	 of	 the	 vehicle	 and	 charging	 station,	 the	 age	 of	 the	
battery,	and	how	full	 the	battery	 is	when	charging.	Requiring	a	public	charging	station	to	
implement	 a	 per-kWh	 fee	 at	 the	 point	 of	 sale	 may	 require	 billing	 system	 upgrades	 and	
installation	of	dedicated	meters	at	each	charging	stall	(technically	known	as	a	pile)	because	
research	 shows	 discrepancies	 between	 the	 electricity	 measured	 by	 the	 utility-owned	
revenue-grade	meters	and	the	electricity	measured	by	EV	charging	equipment.46	According	
to	 the	PUC,	 “These	discrepancies	 could	 .	.	.	affect	 the	 accuracy	of	 a	 customer’s	EV-specific	
electricity	usage	calculations	when	applying		.	.	.	a	per-kWh	fee.”47		

While	costly	to	the	charging	station	owner,	this	option	has	the	advantage	of	offering	the	EV	
owner	accurate	detailed	receipts	 indicating	 the	per-kWh	 fee	paid,	which	could	 facilitate	a	
refund	 or	 credit	 program	 for	 resident	 owners	 of	 Vermont-registered	 vehicles	 against	 the	
MBUF	or	flat-fee	RUC	they	pay.		

§ Charging	station	owner/operator	pays	fee.	The	Vermont	PUC	recommended	in	its	2019	
report	to	the	legislature	that	since	the	per-kWh	fee	would	be	a	volumetric	levy	with	the	kWh	
as	 the	unit	of	volume,	 the	state	could	collect	 the	
fee	in	a	manner	similar	to	collection	of	the	fuel	tax.	
The	fuel	tax	model	would	be	appropriate	because	
it	 obligates	 the	 operator	 of	 the	 [EV	 charging]	
station	 to	 collect	 and	 remit	 that	 tax.	This	would	
require	 either	 a	 dedicated	 utility	 meter	 or	 an	
accurate	 submeter	 to	 measure	 the	 electricity	
consumed	 by	 EV	 charging	 at	 the	 station.”48	 In	
other	words,	the	state	would	charge	the	fee	on	the	
charging	station	owner,	who	would	then	make	the	

	

46	 Source:	 Vermont	 Public	 Utilities	 Commission,	 Report	 to	 the	 State	 Legislature,	 June	 27,	 2019.	 Available	 from:	
https://puc.vermont.gov/sites/psbnew/files/doc_library/EV-Supplemental-Report.pdf		

47	Ibid.	
48	Source:	Vermont	Public	Utilities	Commission,	Report	to	the	Vermont	State	Legislature:	Supplemental	Electric	Vehicle	Report	
per	Section	35	of	Act	59	(H.529)	of	 the	2019-2020	Vermont	Legislative	Session,	December	13,	2019.	p	18.	Available	 from:	
https://puc.vermont.gov/sites/psbnew/files/doc_library/EV-Supplemental-Report.pdf.		

Discussion from Second RUC Advisory 
Committee meeting: 

Requirement to display per-kWh price. One 
member noted that Vermont state law requires 
that the kWh-hour price must be displayed. To 
complicate things, it appears public charging 
stations can still charge a hookup fee and time 
fee. There is a good argument to disallow this as 
it makes it difficult for customers to compare 
prices. 
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likely	 decision	 of	 building	 the	 fee	 amount	 into	 the	 electricity	 rate	 at	 the	 point-of-sale.			
	
This	approach	does	not	generate	detailed	receipts	of	the	actual	per-kWh	fee	paid.	Instead,	
the	system	could	allow	resident	EV	owners	to	use	the	electricity	purchase	receipts	to	present	
as	evidence	a	calculated	estimation	of	the	per-kWh	fee	embedded	in	the	electricity	price	to	
obtain	a	credit	against	the	MBUF	or	flat-fee	RUC	they	pay.		

§ An	alternative	is	for	the	EV	owner	to	present	an	official	card	or	other	identification,	such	as	
a	 Vermont	 driver’s	 license,	 legally	 exempting	 them	 from	 payment	 of	 the	 per-kWh	 fee	
embedded	 in	 the	electricity	price	 and	 receive	a	discount	on	 the	price.	The	 station	owner	
could	accumulate	data	of	the	number	of	discounts	granted	to	receive	a	credit	against	the	per-
kWh	fee	the	station	owes	to	the	authorized	agency	once	per	month,	and	the	station	operator	
could	receive	a	rebate	of	such	an	amount	from	the	state.	

§ Electric	utility	pays	fee.	The	simplest	approach	would	apply	the	per-kWh	fee	at	the	utility	
level	based	on	the	amount	of	electricity	consumed	at	
the	 public	 charging	 station.	 As	 the	 per-kWh	 fee	
should	 not	 apply	 to	 electricity	 uses	 other	 than	 EV	
charging,	 the	utility	or	 stations	would	have	 to	add	
dedicated	 metering	 capabilities	 to	 the	 stations	 or	
perhaps	 deduct	 an	 approved	 standard	 offset	 for	
charging	 station	 operations	 unrelated	 to	 directly	
charging	 vehicles	 and	 adjust	 the	 fee	 rate	
accordingly.	This	approach	would	not	generate	the	
necessary	 detailed	 receipts	 as	 evidence	 for	 a	
resident	 EV	 owner	 credit	 for	 per-kWh	 fees	 paid	
against	an	MBUF	or	flat-fee	RUC.	The	alternative	of	
the	 EV	 driver	 presenting	 an	 official	 tax	 exemption	
card	for	a	discount	does	not	seem	viable	either	as	the	utility	is	not	involved	in	the	electricity	
charging	transaction.	

What about Free Charging Stations? 
If	the	commercial	public	charging	stations	collect	or	pay	per-kWh	fee,	the	question	arises	whether	
the	 free	 public	 charging	 stations	 should	 also	 collect	 or	 pay	 the	 fee.	 Presumably,	 the	 charging	
stations	offering	free	power	for	EVs	would	not	pay	the	per-kWh	fee	because	there	is	no	sale	for	the	
transfer	of	electricity	into	the	EV.	Legislation	could	mandate	that	free	charging	stations	collect	the	
per-kWh	 fee	 anyway,	 requiring	operators	 to	 acquire	 all	 the	necessary	point-of-sale	 transaction	
equipment	and	software,	as	well	as	accurate	metering	infrastructure	to	enable	the	fee	collection.	
This	seems	unlikely	given	the	benevolent	motivations	of	the	for-free	charging	station	sponsors	in	
the	context	of	Vermont’s	climate	change	goals.		

A	decision	not	to	include	the	free	public	charging	stations	in	the	mechanism	for	collecting	per-kWh	
fees	should	be	evaluated	 for	 its	 impact	on	 fee	avoidance	on	the	part	of	nonresident	EV	drivers.	
Depending	on	the	size	of	the	collection	of	nonresident	EV	drivers	able	to	avoid	the	fee,	allowing	no-
fee	charging	could	undermine	application	of	the	per-kWh	concept.	

Discussion from second RUC Advisory 
Committee meeting: 

Billing wholesale processors. Chair Michelle 
Boomhower reported that, in agreement 
with utilities, AOT is going to pursue the 
notion that there are 26% of fuel tax paid by 
non-Vermonters and it may be a similar 
percentage for EV charging. Vermont’s 
utilities talked about the potential of billing 
wholesale processors a fee because they 
know the per-kWh they deliver to charging 
stations. A further deep dive with utility 
partners would be useful.  



Final Report of the Vermont Road Usage Charge Study  March 14, 2022 

56 

Even	if	Vermont	decided	to	include	free	public	charging	stations	in	the	obligation	to	pay	a	per-kWh	
fee,	 certain	 stations	 may	 deserve	 an	 exemption	 because	 they	 serve	 only	 Vermont	 residents.	
Eligibility	 for	 special	 treatment	may	 include	 those	stations	sponsored	by	churches,	 libraries,	or	
certain	 workplaces.	 Ideally,	 businesses	 that	 serve	 tourists	 would	 not	 receive	 exemptions.	 The	
legislature	would	have	to	specifically	define	these	exemptions.	

Exemptions for Legacy Charging Stations 
Should	Vermont	want	to	minimize	the	disruption	of	requiring	all	public	charging	stations	to	update	
existing	business	processes	to	implement	collection	of	the	
per-kWh	fee,	the	legislature	could	exempt	legacy	charging	
stations	currently	without	the	necessary	equipment	from	
application	of	 the	per-kWh	fee,	as	 the	state	of	Oklahoma	
did	with	its	pre-kWh	tax,	and	establish	a	date	certain	for	
compliance	for	all	new	charging	stations	and	those	adding	
charging	capacity.		

Which Agency Collects the Per-kWh Fee and 
Provides Enforcement? 
Regardless	 of	 how	 collection	 of	 the	 per-kWh	 fee	 occurs,	 the	 arrangement	 will	 be	 similar	 to	
collection	of	the	fuel	tax	in	that	collection	occurs	upstream	
from	 the	 end	 consumer	 in	 a	 volume-based	 retail	
transaction.	On	a	monthly	basis,	 the	owner/operators	of	
public	charging	stations	(or	utilities)	would	remit	the	fees	
collected	 to	 the	 state.	 In	 this	 case,	 the	 Vermont	 PUC	
expects	 the	 DMV	 would	 receive	 the	 fee	 revenues.49	
Enforcement	 of	 the	 per-kWh	 fee	 would	 happen	 in	 a	
manner	similar	 to	 the	 fuel	 tax.	The	PUC	has	opined	that	
enforcement	 authority	 for	 the	 per-kWh	 fee	 should	 rest	
with	the	DMV	and	the	Attorney	General.50	

Another	possibility	for	the	collection	of	per-kWh	fees	is	the	Department	of	Taxes,	which	already	
collects	an	assortment	of	taxes	from	various	businesses.	The	Department	of	Taxes	has	available	
statutory	collection	and	enforcement	tools	for	those	evading	their	obligation	or	late	on	payment.		

Policy Questions for Per-kWh Fee Implementation 
How will residents owning EVs registered in Vermont be assured they will not 
endure the responsibility of paying the per-kWh fee? 
Possibilities	for	assuring	that	only	nonresident	EV	drivers	pay	the	per-kWh	fee:	

	

49	Source:	Vermont	Public	Utilities	Commission,	Report	to	the	Vermont	State	Legislature:	Supplemental	Electric	Vehicle	Report	
per	Section	35	of	Act	59	(H.529)	of	 the	2019-2020	Vermont	Legislative	Session,	December	13,	2019,	p	18.	Available	 from:	
https://puc.vermont.gov/sites/psbnew/files/doc_library/EV-Supplemental-Report.pdf.		

50	Ibid,	p	19.		

Discussion from Second RUC Advisory 
Committee meeting: 

Exemptions for resident EV drivers. One 
member was not sure the state can exempt 
Vermonters from paying this fee. It is unclear 
if there will be enough Vermonters charging 
their EVs at public charging stations for this 
to be a concern. 

Discussion from Second RUC Advisory 
Committee meeting: 

Sales tax alternative. Some members 
suggested that because a per-kWh fee seems 
complicated and impractical with all the 
different systems and metering, maybe a 
sales tax (based on percent of dollars paid 
for charging) is best way to go.  Retailers can 
provide a Vermont resident discount if they 
so choose.  
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§ Input	of	discount	code.	Resident	EV	owners	could	input	a	discount	code	(similar	to	retail	
advantage	programs)	 at	 the	point	 of	 charging	 and	
receive	a	discount	equal	to	the	fee.		

§ Present	 official	 exemption	 ID.	 Resident	 EV	
owners	 could	 present	 an	 official	 card	 or	 other	
identification,	 such	 as	 Vermont	 driver’s	 license,	
exempting	them,	by	law,	from	payment	of	the	per-
kWh	 fee	 embedded	 in	 the	 electricity	 price.	 The	
public	 charging	 station	would	 offer	 a	 discount	 on	
the	price	of	electricity	to	the	EV	owner	equal	to	the	
amount	of	the	embedded	fee.		

§ Present	 receipts	 to	 obtain	 credit.	 Resident	 EV	
owners	present	receipts	for	payment	of	electricity	charges	at	public	EV	charging	stations	to	
the	authorized	agency	to	obtain	a	credit	of	per-kWh	fees	paid	toward	the	MBUF	or	annual	
flat-fee	amount	owed.		

Application of the Commerce Clause 
This	different	treatment	of	nonresident	EV	drivers	from	resident	EV	drivers	should	not	run	afoul	
of	the	US	Constitution’s	Commerce	Clause	because	the	resident	EV	drivers	will	pay	either	the	MBUF	
or	annual	flat	fee	instead	of	the	per-kWh	fee,	while	the	nonresident	EV	drivers	will	pay	only	the	
per-kWh	 fee.	As	 long	 as	 the	 fee	 rates	 are	 similar	 in	 impact,	 based	on	previous	 rulings,	 the	U.S.	
Supreme	Court	 should	 find	 that	 payment	 of	 different	 fees	 by	 nonresident	 drivers	 and	 resident	
drivers	does	not	violate	the	Commerce	Clause.51	

Avoidance of the Per-kWh Fee 
Unlike	 the	 flat	 fee	 and	MBUF,	 drivers	 can	 avoid	 a	 per-kWh	 fee	 on	 public	 charging	 stations	 by	
sourcing	energy	from	alternative	electricity	sources	such	as	private	residences.	As	a	usage-based	
fee,	 a	 per-kWh	 fee	will	 increase	 and	 decrease	 in	 revenue	 based	 on	 the	 amount	 of	 road	 travel,	
particularly	for	vehicles	traveling	far	from	the	home	of	the	owner,	or	from	state	borders	(beyond	
which	there	are	public	charging	stations	without	such	a	fee).	However,	a	per	kWh	fee	is	likely	to	be	
more	sensitive	to	price	levels	changing	behavior	than	either	an	MBUF	or	a	flat	fee.	That	is	because	
the	taxed	behavior	has	more	readily	available	alternatives.	To	avoid	a	flat	fee	would	require	not	
owning	the	vehicle	in	the	state,	and	to	avoid	the	MBUF	would	require	not	driving	within	the	state	
(evasion	of	both	would	be	more	onerous,	but	still	possible).	To	avoid	a	per-kWh	fee	for	AEVs	means	
avoiding	public	charging	stations	subject	to	the	fee	in	Vermont	or	for	PHEVs	to	use	gasoline	instead.	

Updated Per-kWh Fee Estimates 
The	basis	for	a	per	kWh	fee	for	public	charging	facilities	only	is	fundamentally	different	from	that	
for	a	flat	fee	or	a	MBUF.	Given	that	the	majority	of	charging	(perhaps	as	high	as	80%,	or	even	higher	
if	 including	workplace	 charging)	of	AEVs	and	PHEVs	 is	done	at	home,	 such	a	 fee	 is	not	 able	 to	
recover	a	similar	proportionate	 level	of	 revenue	 from	such	vehicles	on	average	 as	 it	 could	only	

	

51	Source:	RUC	and	The	Commerce	Clause	and	other	provisions	of	the	United	States	Constitution	(unpublished),	a	report	prepared	
for	the	Washington	Road	Usage	Charge	Steering	Committee,	March	14,	2019.	

Discussion from third RUC Advisory 
Committee meeting: 

A member commented that the challenge 
here is segregating in-state and out-of-state 
drivers. “Can you just call it a convenience 
fee for using public charging stations to 
avoid the complexity?” Project Team 
Response: It is possible, but equity issues 
come up because many of the local drivers 
visiting public charging stations may do so 
because they do not have a charging system 
at home.  
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recover	 revenue	 for	 a	 subset	 of	 vehicle	 charging.52	 Such	 a	 fee	 applying	 only	 to	 non-Vermont	
registered	AEVs	 and	PHEVs	would	 also	 be	 unable	 to	 recover	 a	 proportionate	 level	 of	 revenue,	
although	 it	 is	 unclear	what	proportion	of	 fuel	 refueling	 and	AEV/PHEV	charging	 in	Vermont	 is	
undertaken	for	out-of-state	registered	vehicles.	

Previous	analysis	proposed	a	rate	of	$0.034	per	kWh	in	Vermont	as	a	revenue	replacement	rate;	
inflation	adjustment	of	that	rate	would	update	it	to	$0.04	per	kWh.	If	such	a	fee	were	to	apply	to	all	
AEVs	and	PHEVs,	then	it	would	only	apply	to	around	20%	or	less	of	charging	(as	a	proportion	of	
total	charging)	by	Vermont	residents.	If	only	applied,	however,	to	non-Vermont	AEVs/PHEVs,	then	
the	per-kWh	fee	should	capture	most	of	such	users	unless	there	were	exceptions	for	charging	at	
hotels,	resorts,	offices,	and	similar	businesses.	

It	 is	assumed	that	the	purpose	of	any	per-kWh	fee	for	public	charging	facilities	is	not	 to	seek	to	
recover	an	equivalent	proportion	of	revenue	from	AEVs	and	PHEVs	as	is	done	for	gasoline-powered	
vehicles	but	rather	to	recover	revenue	for	the	fuel	taxes	avoided	by	nonresident	AEV	and	PHEV	
drivers.	The	appropriate	per-kWh	fee	depends	on	the	amount	of	revenue	sought	from	such	vehicles	
and	on	the	elasticity	of	demand	for	use	of	public	charging	stations	instead	of	other	alternatives.	To	
establish	this	would	require	surveys	of	AEV	and	PHEV	owners	to	indicate	the	proportions	willing	
to	pay	different	prices	for	public	charging	stations	versus	charging	out	of	state	or	using	gasoline	
(for	PHEVs).	A	fee	of	$0.04	per	kWh	might	be	efficient	in	recovering	revenues	from	out	of	state	
AEVs/PHEV	 drivers,	 as	 it	 might	 be	 broadly	 equivalent	 to	 the	 fuel	 tax,	 as	 long	 as	 the	 costs	 of	
collection	(and	fraud	mitigation)	were	kept	sufficiently	low.	

Examining the Advisability of Proceeding with a Per-kWh Fee 
At	 the	 second	 meeting,	 the	 AOT	 and	 the	 RUC	 Advisory	 Committee	 agreed	 upon	 the	 need	 for	
additional	research	and	considerations	before	determining	how	to	go	forward,	if	at	all,	on	a	per-
kWh	fee	system	for	public	charging	stations.	AOT	announced	the	agency	would	assemble	an	ad	hoc	
working	group	made	up	of	distribution	utilities,	the	DMV,	and	other	local	experts	to	determine	the	
advisability	of	a	per-kWh	system	for	Vermont.	The	ad	hoc	working	group	would	meet	with	 the	
objective	of	unravelling	the	issues	discovered	so	that	the	project	team	could	recommend	a	direction	
going	forward.		

The Utilities Weigh-In on Per-kWh Fee 
The	 ad	 hoc	working	 group	met	 on	October	 27,	 2021.53	 Although	not	 part	 of	 the	RUC	Advisory	
Committee,	 several	 of	 Vermont’s	 utilities	 offered	 opinions	 and	 local	 knowledge	 helpful	 to	
understanding	 the	 advisability	 of	 a	 per-kWh	 fee	 for	 Vermont.	 Utilities	 that	 participated	 in	 the	
meeting	were	Green	Mountain	Power,	Burlington	Electric	Department,	Stowe	Electric,	VT	Electric	
Cooperative,	and	the	Vermont	Public	Power	Supply	Authority,	which	represents	11	locally	owned	
and	democratically	run	municipal	electric	utilities	in	Vermont.	

	

52	Source:	https://www.driveelectricvt.com/charging-stations/public-charging-map	
53	Participants	in	the	Ad	Hoc	Working	Group	on	per-kWh	fees	included	Michele	Boomhower,	Joe	Segale,	Patrick	Murphy,	Dan	
Dutcher	of	AOT	and	Micah	Howe,	staff	attorney	for	the	Vermont	Public	Utility	Commission;	Melissa	Bailey,	Government	and	
Member	Relations	 for	 the	Vermont	Public	Power	Supply	Authority	 (VPPSA);	Philip	Picotte,	Vermont	Department	of	Public	
Service;	 Sarah	Ludwin-Peery	of	Green	Mountain	Power;	Michael	 Smith,	DMV	Director;	 and	Tom	Lyle,	 program	and	policy	
manager	for	Burlington	Electric	Department.	
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Burlington	Electric	Department	is	opposed	to	a	per-kWh	fee.	Burlington	Electric	Department	noted	
the	per-kWh	fee	 technical	memo	did	not	reference	 the	municipal	owned	network.	 If	Burlington	
Electric	Department	were	to	collect	a	tax,	they	would	add	the	tax	to	the	tariff	set	by	the	PUC.		

Burlington	Electric	Department	does	not	 think	 the	 idea	of	exemptions	and	use	of	 identification	
cards	would	work.	The	payment	transaction	would	provide	zip	code	data	to	identify	most	residents	
and	nonresidents.	However,	public	charging	stations	would	miss	the	information	when	people	pay	
by	credit	card	or	do	not	have	the	zip	code	information	in	their	account.	

The	Vermont	Public	Power	Supply	Authority	(VPPSA)	representative	said	the	EVSE	owner	could	
be	charged	the	per-kWh	fee	through	a	straightforward	process.	Every	public	charging	station	could	
be	required	to	have	a	utility-grade	meter	to	provide	the	necessary	kWh	usage	to	collect	the	per-
kWh	 fee.	A	 surcharge	 could	be	 added	 to	 a	driver’s	bill	 and	 remitted	 to	 the	DMV.	An	 important	
concern	is	that	not	every	EVSE	has	a	utility-grade	meter.	Installing	a	utility-grade	meter	must	be	a	
requirement	for	the	program.	VPPSA	estimates	the	meters	range	from	$600	to	$1,000	to	install.	

Philip	Picotte	of	the	Vermont	Department	of	Public	Service	said	he	is	still	not	convinced	that	the	
distribution	utility	is	the	best	avenue	to	collect	per-kWh	fee	compared	to	the	public	charging	station	
operator.	Picotte	expressed	concern	about	who	bears	the	cost	of	outfitting	with	the	utility-grade	
meters.	The	VPPSA	representative	thinks	these	costs	could	be	passed	on	to	drivers.		

Picotte	said	that	a	small	number	of	public	charging	stations	are	not	connected	to	anything.	They	
have	 level	 2	 charging	 stations,	which	 are	 generally	 free	 or	 by	donation.	The	 town	pays	 for	 the	
electricity	through	its	electric	bill.	

The	VPPSA	representative	said	that	as	we	“keep	slicing	the	pie	smaller	and	smaller,”	the	amount	
that	gets	collected	for	the	per-kWh	fee	starts	getting	so	small	that	it	might	no	longer	be	worth	the	
effort.	Chair	Michele	Boomhower	recommends	that	we	“slice	and	dice	to	see	how	small	the	number	
is.”	

After	further	discussion,	the	ad	hoc	working	group	agreed	upon	the	following,	

§ If	utilities	are	responsible	for	collecting	the	per	kWh	fee,	every	EVSE	will	need	to	be	metered.	
Any	regulatory	or	statutory	requirements	need	to	be	determined.	

§ It	is	feasible	to	use	revenue-grade	meters	in	public	charging	stations	and	place	a	fee	on	the	
EVSE.	The	difficulty	is	cost	recovery—who	pays	for	the	additional	meters?	

§ As	 an	 alternative	 to	 utilities	 collecting	 the	 per-kWh	 fee,	 it	 may	 be	 possible	 for	 charging	
networks	such	as	ChargePoint	to	collect	the	fee.	This	approach	could	eliminate	the	need	for	
separate	meters	 at	 each	 EVSE.	 Feedback	 from	 charging	 network	 companies	 is	 needed	 to	
determine	if	this	option	is	possible.	

§ To	inform	understanding	of	the	options,	more	information	is	needed	about	existing	EVSEs,	
including	how	many	are	metered,	how	many	are	free,	ownership,	and	current	percentage	of	
in-state	and	out-of-state	users.		

§ AOT	learned	that	because	of	the	high	cost	of	giving	refunds	and	the	uncertain	administrative	
challenges,	it	appears	there	is	no	interest	in	giving	refunds	for	the	flat	fee	or	MBUF	payments	
for	Vermont	residents	that	use	public	charging	stations.	
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Financial Realities of the Per-kWh Fee 
Following	the	meeting	of	the	Ad	Hoc	Working	Group,	AOT	analyzed	the	current	revenue	potential	
of	establishing	a	Per-kWh	Fee	for	nonresidents	to	pay	at	Vermont	charging	stations.	The	purpose	
of	this	analysis	was	to	determine	whether	it	is	sensible	to	establish	a	per-kWh	fee	in	Vermont	at	
this	time,	especially	with	limited	knowledge	on	the	maturity	of	the	technology	required	to	reliably	
capture	 information	on	electricity	 transferred	 to	vehicles	at	public	 charging	stations	across	 the	
state.		

To	 determine	 the	 estimated	 annual	 net	 revenue	 generated	 by	 a	 per-kWh	 fee	 on	 nonresident	
drivers,	the	analysis:	

§ Estimated	 the	 total	 annual	 electricity,	 by	 kWh,	 transferred	 at	 public	 charging	 stations	 in	
Vermont	by	multiplying	an	estimate	of	the	average	annual	usage	per	charging	station	by	the	
estimated	number	of	public	charging	stations	in	Vermont	

§ Determined	how	much	of	this	transfer	to	attribute	to	nonresident	drivers	

§ Applied	a	per-kWh	fee	rate	to	the	total	assumed	kWh	transferred	annually	to	nonresident	
vehicles	to	calculate	the	estimated	revenue	generated	

§ Determined	the	costs	of	measuring	electricity	consumption	and	administering	the	per-kWh	
fee	to	calculate	whether	assessing	the	fee	is	financially	viable		

Using	 optimistic	 assumptions,	 54	 the	AOT’s	 analysis	 estimates	 that	 a	 per-kWh	 fee	 on	 electricity	
transferred	to	nonresident	vehicles	will	currently	generate	approximately	$5,000	in	revenue	per	
year	(Table	9).	Therefore,	the	AOT	concludes,	and	the	project	team	agrees,	there	is	little	value	in	
establishing	a	per-kWh	fee	for	nonresident	drivers	at	this	time.		

	

54	1650	kWh	transferred	to	vehicles	annually	on	average	per	public	charging	station	in	Vermont.	This	is	the	combined	
average	of	annual	usage	per	public	charging	station	for	Green	Mountain	Power	(GMP)	and	Burlington	Electric	Department	
(BED).	The	combined	average	is	based	on	the	average	of	BED’s	17	stations	of	4,610	kWh	per	year	and	the	average	of	GMP’s	
81	charging	stations	of	972	kWh	per	year.	BED’s	charging	stations	are	located	primarily	in	the	Burlington	area;	whereas	GMP	
charging	stations	are	located	throughout	the	state	in	smaller	cities.	[(17	×	4610)	+	(81	×	972)	=	1603].	
311	public	charging	stations	where	a	per-kWh	fee	can	be	collected.	This	is	the	current	number	of	public	charging	stations	
shown	on	the	Drive	Electric	website.	This	analysis	assumes	it	is	technically	possible	to	collect	a	fee	at	all	these	stations,	a	
status	which	is	unknown	at	this	point,	but	improbable.				
25	percent	of	nonresident	drivers	currently	using	public	charging	stations	in	Vermont.	This	analysis	uses	25	percent	
because	it	is	consistent	with	reported	gasoline	sales	by	non-Vermonters	based	on	credit	card	receipts.	This	assumption	is	
greater	than	the	percentage	of	nonresident	drivers	using	public	charging	stations	owned	by	GMP	(13	percent)	54	and	BED	(16	
percent)54,	but	the	consumption	of	electricity	by	nonresident	drivers	in	Vermont	may	come	up	to	par	with	current	gasoline	
purchases.		
3.4	cents	per	kWh	is	the	assumed	per-kWh	fee	rate.	This	is	the	fee	rate	identified	in	Act	12:	Section	28	Report	(2013).	A	
Study	on	Replacing	Motor	Fuel	Tax	Revenues	Not	Collected	from	Plug-In	Electric	Vehicles.	
Source:	These	assumptions	were	made	by	the	Vermont	Agency	of	Transportation	in	November	2021.		
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Table 9. Per-kWh Fee Revenue Estimation for 2021 
Usage per Year per Station (kWh) 1,650 
Number of Public Charging Stations 2021 311 
Total Usage (kWh) 513,150 
Percent Out of Stater Drivers 25% 
Total Usage by Out of Stater Drivers 128,288 
Per-kWh Fee Rate $0.034 
Total Estimated Revenue Generated in 2021 $4,362 

 

The	 technical	 implications,	 and	 thus	 costs,	 to	 measure	 electricity	 usage	 from	 potentially	
heterogeneous	 public	 charging	 stations	 are	 largely	 unknown.	 In	 the	 absence	 of	 a	 structural	
framework	and	standards	for	public	charging	stations	to	measure	and	report	electricity	transferred	
to	vehicles,	it	does	not	seem	sensible	to	establish	a	per-kWh	fee	in	the	near	term.		

The	AOT	should	continue	to	research	the	topic	to	better	understand	the	key	stakeholders	involved	
and	conditions	which	will	indicate	value	for	a	per-kWh	fee	on	nonresident	drivers	in	the	state.	This	
research	 can	aim	 to	 identify	potential	 issues	 for	 a	 charging	network	 to	 collect	 the	 fee	 and	 cost	
implications	 for	 the	 state.	 Research	 findings	 will	 ultimately	 inform	 the	 structural	 framework	
required	to	collect	the	per-kWh	fee	reliably	and	consistently.	

Research Program for the Per-kWh Fee 
The	RUC	advisory	committee	met	a	third	and	final	time	on	December	22,	2021,	to	consider	AOT’s	
financial	analysis	of	the	per-kWh	fee	and	discuss	a	research	program	on	the	per-kWh	fee	concept	
recommended	by	the	project	team.		

As	an	outcome	of	the	meeting	of	the	ad	hoc	working	group,	the	AOT	concluded	too	little	is	known	
about	how	to	technically	implement	a	per-kWh	fee	and	its	cost	implications	to	go	forward	at	this	
time.	Given	the	limited	knowledge	on	the	maturity	of	the	technology	required	to	reliably	capture	
information	on	electricity	transferred	to	vehicles	at	public	charging	stations	across	the	state,	the	
project	team	recommended	that	AOT	undertake	a	research	program	before	proceeding	with	any	
formal	action	to	implement	a	per-kWh	fee.	
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Research Program for Per-kWh Fee 
To	 determine	 when	 conditions	 become	 appropriate	 for	 establishment	 of	 a	 per-kWh	 fee	 on	
nonresident	vehicle	charging,	the	State	of	Vermont	should	undertake	a	research	program	to	inform	
future	decision-making.	Given	the	expected	growth	
of	EVs	in	Vermont	and	neighboring	states	later	this	
decade,	a	per-kWh	research	program	should	reveal	
essential	information	relevant	to	the	advisability	of	
proceeding	with	a	per-kWh	fee	in	the	state.	

It	may	become	financially	viable	to	establish	a	per-
kWh	Fee	on	the	transfer	of	electricity	to	nonresident	
vehicles	 at	 public	 charging	 stations	 in	 Vermont	
when	the	number	of	public	charging	stations	in	the	
state	 increases	 and	 the	 amount	 of	 electricity	
transferred	 to	 nonresident	 vehicles	 increases	 to	 a	
sufficient	 amount.	 A	 higher	 fee	 rate	 may	 also	
improve	 prospects	 for	 financial	 viability.	 To	 draw	
any	 conclusion	 on	 financial	 viability,	 the	 cost	
aspects	must	also	be	determined.		

The	research	program	should	generate	answers	for	
the	following	issues	by	obtaining	and	evaluating	the	
following	information:	

§ The	adoption	rate	for	EVs	in	surrounding	
states.	Helpful	 for	determining	 this	 adoption	
rate	would	be:	
• The	current	number	of	EVs	registered	in	surrounding	states	and	forecasted	EV	adoption	

rates	in	those	states		
§ Impact	on	fuel	tax	revenues.	

• The	current	impact	of	nonresident	EVs	on	the	state	fuel	tax,	including	at	what	point	the	
revenue	loss	will	become	significant	enough	to	warrant	establishment	of	a	per-kWh	fee	
at	public	charging	stations,	or	some	other	yet	to	be	determined	means		

§ Setting	the	per-kWh	fee	rate	for	nonresident	vehicles.	
• Because	the	3.4-cents-per-kWh	rate	was	based	on	electricity	usage	by	Vermont	vehicles,	

the	agency	should	gather	 the	 following	 information	 to	determine	whether	a	different,	
higher	 rate	 for	 nonresident	 vehicles	would	 be	warranted	 for	 recharging	 nonresident	
vehicles	based	on	the	relative	impact	of	their	driving	on	the	state’s	road	system.	
o The	nonresident	EV	travel	patterns	while	traveling	 in	Vermont,	 including	total	miles	

traveled	in	the	state	
o The	locations	of	places	where	nonresident	EV	drivers	recharge	their	vehicles	while	in	

Vermont,	including	public	charging	stations	and	charging	events	at	places	of	lodging	or	
other	businesses	

• Since	the	3.4-cents-per-kWh	rate	was	proposed	 in	a	2013	analysis,	 the	agency	should	
determine	whether	the	recommended	rate	should	be	raised	to	account	for	inflation.		

Upon invitation from Chair Michele 
Boomhower at third RUC Advisory 
Committee meeting, representatives from 
the utilities made the following comments: 
Representative from Vermont Electric Cooperative: 
Generally supportive of the direction of the ad hoc 
working group on per-kWh fees. The cooperative 
recently did a survey of the membership and 136 
people responded. A total of 62% of respondents 
drive EVs; others drive hybrids. The survey 
highlighted the equity issue. Home charging is 
expensive; EVs are expensive. Utilities have an 
income equity concern. Multifamily buildings and 
renters cannot install their own charging 
equipment. Very few of their members rely on 
public charging right now. A total of 40% of 
members say they sometimes run into trouble 
finding charging, and 38% use trickle-charging (level 
1, not level 2 charging), at home.  
Representative from Stowe Electric: The necessary 
billing system for the per-kWh fee is not available for 
Stowe and its partner ChargePoint. 
Representative from Burlington Electric: Supportive 
of the ad hoc working group’s direction on the per-
kWh fee. Also expressed concerns about multifamily 
homes, equitable access for those places. 
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§ Determine	the	capability	of	existing	public	charging	stations	and	plans	for	the	future	
of	public	charging	in	the	state.	
• To	determine	the	capability	of	public	charging	stations	to	accurately	collect	a	per-kWh	

fee,	the	agency	should	obtain	the	following	characteristics	of	nonresidential	EV	charging	
in	the	state:	
o The	number	of	existing	public	charging	stations	that	have	the	technical	capability—a	

dedicated	revenue-grade	meter—to	collect	a	per-kWh	fee	and	the	feasibility	and	cost	of	
adding	dedicated	revenue-grade	meters	to	stations	without	them	

o Whether	 charging	 networks	 can	 collect	 a	 per-kWh	 fee	with	 or	without	 a	 dedicated	
meter	

o The	number	 of	 nonresidential	 charging	 stations	 accessible	 to	 nonresident	 drivers	 at	
places	of	lodging	or	other	businesses	that	are	not	considered	public	stations	
― The	ownership	and	operational	characteristics	of	these	nonpublic	stations	
― Whether	the	state	can	feasibly	collect	a	per-kWh	fee	at	these	nonpublic	stations	and	

whether	enough	charging	occurs	at	these	stations	to	justify	collecting	the	fee	
• To	determine	the	future	capability	of	public	charging	stations	to	accurately	collect	a	per-

kWh	 fee,	 the	 AOT	 should	 consider	 the	 planned	 growth	 of	 public	 charging	 station	
networks	in	the	state	and	project	the	nature	of	this	growth.	The	future	capability	of	public	
charging	 stations	 will	 be	 informed	 by	 the	 Statewide	 EVSE	 Plan	 that	 Drive	 Electric	
Vermont	is	currently	preparing	for	the	AOT.		

§ Resident	exemptions	from	the	per-kWh	fee.	
• Whether	Vermont	residents	should	be	exempt	 from	paying	 the	per-kWh	 fee	at	public	

charging	stations.	To	determine	this,	the	agency	should	gather	the	following	information:	
o How	 would	 paying	 the	 per-kWh	 fee	 impact	 Vermont-registered	 vehicle	 owners	

generally	(quantify	the	impact).	
o How	would	paying	the	per-kWh	fee	impact	Vermont-registered	vehicle	owners	who	are	

part	of	groups	that	have	been	economically	and/or	socially	marginalized	(quantify	the	
impact). 	 	
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Conclusion 
The	quick	uptake	of	EVs	in	Vermont	warrants	application	of	a	new	revenue	system	to	offset	the	lost	
fuel	tax	revenues.	While	the	situation	is	not	yet	dire,	it	will	become	imperative	later	this	decade.	

The	 path	 forward	 for	 the	 Vermont	 RUC	 concept	 has	 become	 clearer.	 Vermont	 can	 feasibly	
implement	a	simple	MBUF	on	AEVs	and	PHEVs	by	using	odometer	readings	now	captured	at	annual	
vehicle	 inspections.	 Exactly	 how	 Vermont	 will	 implement	 this	 system	 still	 requires	 additional	
research	and	development,	but	the	vision	for	how	Vermont	will	implement	a	MBUF	is	now	clear.	
As	there	are	no	privacy	implications	by	using	mileage	data	already	collected	by	the	state,	Vermont	
does	not	need	to	offer	a	choice	of	flat	fee	or	MBUF;	MBUF	is	all	that	is	required.	

The	per-kWh	fee	concept	requires	additional	research	to	learn	whether	it	is	an	advisable	approach	
for	 capturing	 revenue	 lost	 from	 nonresident	 EV	 travel	 in	 Vermont.	 Currently,	 the	 impact	 of	
nonresident	EV	travel	is	minimal.	It	may	take	several	years	before	out-of-state	EV	travel	becomes	
serious	enough	 to	warrant	 the	per-kWh	 fee.	The	 recommended	per-kWh	 fee	 research	program	
should	reveal	if	or	when	the	per-kWh	fee	will	become	necessary	and	the	best	way	to	collect	it.	
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Appendix A 
Road Usage Charge System Financial Analysis 
Methodology 
The	purpose	of	 the	Vermont	Agency	of	Transportation	(AOT)	Revenue	Forecast	 is	 to	model	 the	
financial	 outcomes	 of	 various	 Road	 Usage	 Charge	 (RUC)	 adoption	 scenarios	 and	 other	
transportation-related	fees.	The	model	employs	Highway	Performance	Monitoring	System	(HPMS)	
data	to	establish	a	baseline	statewide	vehicle	miles	traveled	(VMT)	forecast	and	the	split	of	these	
VMT	between	light	and	heavy	vehicles.	National	Household	Travel	Survey	data	for	the	New	England	
subregion	are	used	to	estimate	annual	vehicle	VMT	on	a	percentile	and	average	basis.	U.S.	Energy	
Information	Administration	(EIA)	data	underpin	vehicle	fleet	fuel	economy	forecast	alternatives,	
and	Vermont	Electric	Corporation	analysis	provides	alternative	forecasts	for	adoption	of	electric	
vehicles	(EVs).	Using	these	base	data	sources,	model	users	may	select	from	a	range	of	policy	options	
to	 construct	 a	 range	 of	 scenarios	 and	 corresponding	 outputs	 including	 estimates	 of	 revenue	
generated	and	cost	of	collection.	

Policy Options 
The	model	captures	the	implications	of	the	following	policy	inputs,	which	are	variables	where	the	
State	of	Vermont	exercises	control:	

§ Mileage-based	user	fee	(MBUF)	per-mile	rate.	A	per-mile	rate	that	would	apply	to	all	vehicles	
subject	to	an	MBUF.	

§ Flat	fee	(FF)	and	percentile	mileage	for	its	determination.	The	model	contains	the	option	to	
collect	an	annual	vehicle	surcharge	(flat	fee)	that	is	a	function	of	the	per-mile	rate	multiplied	
by	the	aggregate	miles	traveled	by	a	vehicle	in	the	50th,	75th,	90th,	or	98th	percentile	for	
annual	miles	traveled.		

§ Per-kWh	fee	rates	at	EV	charging	stations.	The	per-kWh	fee	rate	at	level	2	and	3	charging	
stations	is	an	effort	to	collect	revenues	from	EV	drivers	who	would	not	be	subject	to	an	MBUF	
or	 flat	 fee	 within	 Vermont,	 because	 they	 are	 registered	 outside	 of	 Vermont	 or	 are	 not	
captured	in	the	program.		

§ Start	 years	 for	 EVs	 and	 internal	 combustion	 engine	 vehicles	 by	miles	 per	 gallon	 (MPG).	
Phase-in	alternatives	are	offered	in	five	classes	in	any	year	from	2024	to	2040.	The	classes	
are:	EVs,	40+	MPG,	30–40	MPG,	20–30	MPG,	and	0–20	MPG.	

§ MBUF	collection	methods.	The	odometer	method	assumes	odometer	data	currently	collected	
at	annual	vehicle	inspection	with	fees	assessed	along	with	annual	vehicle	registration.	The	
Commercial	 Account	 Manager	 (CAM)	 approach	 relies	 upon	 a	 third-party	 vendor	 to	
automatically	report	miles	driven	within	the	state	of	Vermont	and	collect	the	associated	fees.		

§ Rate	index	for	MBUF	and	flat	fees,	fuel	taxes,	and	other	existing	vehicle	fees.	Each	revenue	
source	can	be	assigned	a	fixed	rate	of	annual	adjustment	to	account	for	inflation.	

Technical	variables	are	changes	in	the	travel	environment	that	are	outside	of	the	control	of	policy	
makers.	 In	 this	model,	 they	 include	vehicle	 fleet	MPG	and	EV	adoption.	Low,	medium,	and	high	
scenarios	are	provided	for	the	distribution	of	the	total	number	of	vehicles	across	the	five	classes	
described	 above	 (four	MPG	bands	 and	EVs).	 These	 values	 provide	 the	 basis	 for	 calculating	 the	
number	of	vehicles	subjected	or	not	subjected	to	a	MBUF	along	with	their	fuel	economy.	The	2021	
EIA	 forecast	 and	 June	2020	Vermont	Electric	Corporation	analysis	 serve	as	 the	bases	 for	 these	
alternative	scenarios.	



March 14, 2022                                                                      Final Report of the Vermont Road Usage Charge Study 

67 

Assumptions 
Assumptions	are	baseline	 conditions	based	upon	historical	 conditions	or	expert	opinion.	These	
assumptions	can	all	be	configured	by	the	model	user.	

§ Purchase	and	use	tax	annual	growth	rate	–	1.39%	(average	of	year	over	year	rate	from	2016–
2020)	

§ Other	revenue	annual	growth	–	2.72%	(average	of	year	over	year	rate	from	2016–2020)	
§ Vehicle	population	annual	growth	–	0.11%	(average	of	year	over	year	rate	from	2016–2019,	

AOT	Energy	Book)	
§ Heavy	duty	as	a	percentage	of	vehicles	–	0.77%	(average	of	year	over	year	rate	from	2016–

2019,	Federal	Highway	Administration)	
§ Future	average	annual	inflation	–	2%	
§ Percentage	of	miles	driven	by	out	of	state	consumers	–	15%	(University	of	Vermont)	
§ Percentage	of	miles	driven	by	Vermonters	outside	of	Vermont	–	18%	(University	of	Vermont)	
§ Percentage	of	charging	done	at	Level	II	and	III	stations	–	50%	
§ Average	kWh	per	100	miles	–	26	kWh/100	miles		
§ Credit	card	and	MBUF	related	transaction	costs	
§ MBUF	CAM	enrollment	and	transaction	costs	-	$5	and	$30	per	vehicle,	respectively.	

Revenue Calculation 
Total	transportation	revenue	is	calculated	by	summing	the	forecasted	annual	revenue	from	2021	
through	2040	from	the	fuel	tax,	MBUF	and	FF,	diesel	tax,	purchase	&	use	fees,	and	motor	vehicle	
fees,	then	applying	a	2%	discount	rate.		

§ Gas	tax	revenue	is	calculated	by	dividing	the	forecasted	number	of	light	vehicles	miles	driven	
each	year	by	the	estimated	fleet	fuel	economy	of	vehicles	not	on	a	MBUF/FF	for	that	year.	
Forecasted	 light	 vehicle	 miles	 is	 found	 by	 splitting	 total	 miles	 into	 light	 and	 heavy	
classifications	based	upon	HPMS	data.	 Light	 vehicle	miles	 are	 then	 split	 between	EV	 and	
gasoline	 classifications	 based	 upon	 the	 EV	 Growth	 Scenario,	 with	 gasoline	miles	 divided	
further	into	0–20,	20–30,	30–40,	and	40+	MPG	buckets	as	a	function	of	the	MPG	Scenario.	
Fuel	consumption,	miles	 traveled,	and	revenue	collected	are	calculated	 independently	 for	
each	 bucket	 and	 summed.	 If	 an	 MPG	 group	 transitions	 to	 MBUF/FF,	 their	 gasoline	 tax	
revenues	are	removed	from	the	fuel	tax	revenue	collection	and	those	vehicles	added	to	the	
MBUF/FF	classification.	

§ Diesel	 tax	 revenue	 is	 calculated	by	dividing	 total	heavy	vehicle	miles	 traveled,	 calculated	
based	upon	HPMS	data,	by	EIA’s	forecasted	heavy	vehicle	MPG	for	a	given	year,	multiplied	
by	the	per-gallon	diesel	tax	rate.	

§ Purchase	and	use	fees	are	calculated	based	upon	an	extrapolation	of	historical	data	through	
the	study	period.		

§ Motor	vehicle	fees	are	based	upon	the	historical	per-vehicle	average	and	the	policy	choice	to	
index	fees	to	the	rate	of	inflation.	

§ MBUF	and	FF	revenues	are	calculated	based	upon	the	per-mile	rate,	the	annual	miles	driven	
percentile	at	which	the	FF	is	set,	the	MBUF	and	FF	split,	and	the	proportion	of	MBUF	users	
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on	CAM	versus	odometer	collection	methods.	Cost	of	collection	for	FF,	MBUF	–	Odometer,	
and	MBUF	–	CAM	were	calculated	independently	and	subtracted	from	revenue	collected.	

Cost Calculation 
§ FF	and	MBUF	customer	service	center	costs:	These	costs	are	a	function	of	the	total	number	

of	MBUF	 and	 FF	 participants	 and	 are	meant	 to	 reflect	 additional	 labor	 and	 effort	 of	 the	
Department	of	Motor	Vehicles	(DMV)	in	processing	additional	transactions.	The	additional	
cost	is	reflected	as	an	additional	cost	per	vehicle	transaction	involving	FF	or	MBUF	of	25%	
for	the	first	ten	years	of	the	program.	

§ FF	Transaction	Costs:	The	proportion	of	FF	participants	choosing	to	pay	by	credit	card	 is	
selected,	calculating	the	total	number	of	credit	card	transactions.	The	total	number	of	credit	
card	payers	is	then	multiplied	by	the	calculated	annual	FF	rate	and	the	selected	credit	card	
transaction	fee	percentage.	

§ MBUF	Transaction	Costs:	The	proportion	of	MBUF	participants	choosing	to	pay	by	credit	is	
selected,	calculating	the	total	number	of	credit	card	transactions.	The	value	of	transactions	
is	calculated	by	multiplying	the	per-mile	rate	by	the	average	number	of	miles	traveled	by	an	
MBUF	enrollee.	The	total	transaction	cost	is	a	product	of	the	total	number	of	MBUF.	

§ Handoff	Costs:	For	the	scenario	in	which	customers	enroll	and	pay	MBUF	and/or	FF	through	
a	CAM,	an	additional	cost	of	$5	is	assumed	to	“hand	off”	the	customer	from	the	DMV	to	the	
CAM.	This	 includes	 the	assumed	cost	of	additional	customer	support	 for	 those	customers	
who	need	assistance	navigating	to	a	CAM	and	setting	up	their	MBUF	account.	

§ MBUF	–	CAM	Cost:	The	increased	cost	of	CAM	participants	is	a	product	of	the	enrollment	cost	
per	user	and	the	total	number	of	participants.	

Outputs 
AOT	can	use	the	modeling	tool	to	analyze	many	combinations	of	policy	choices.	Alongside	the	input	
assumptions	and	policy	variables,	the	model	features	a	range	of	charts	illustrating	key	outputs	such	
as	number	of	 vehicles	 enrolled	 in	 flat-fee/MBUF	program,	 total	 revenue,	 and	 revenue	per	mile	
driven.	

Table	10	below	presents	the	results	of	the	“status	quo”	scenario	and	three	illustrative	alternative	
policy	scenarios.	The	status	quo	scenario	assumes	a	moderate	growth	rate	in	EVs,	from	about	5,000	
in	2020	to	20,000	 in	2025,	70,000	 in	2030,	and	 just	over	250,000	 in	2040,	constituting	39%	of	
Vermont’s	passenger	vehicle	fleet	by	that	time.	The	remaining	61%	of	the	vehicle	fleet	grows	to	an	
average	of	30.5	miles	per	gallon	in	2040.	

Each	scenario	assumed	the	same	per-mile	rate	(1.3	cents	per	mile),	MPG	and	EV	growth	scenarios	
(medium),	 and	 technical	 assumptions	 (as	 presented	 above).	What	 varied	were	 the	 choices	 for	
mileage	reporting	and	collection	methodologies	for	the	flat-fee/MBUF	system:	Flat	Fee	Only,	MBUF	
Only	via	Odometer,	and	Flat	Fee	and	MBUF	via	Automated	Reporting	(CAM).	Also	varying	were	the	
percentile	 used	 to	 calculate	 the	 fixed	 fee	 rate	 (50th	 in	 scenario	 1	 and	98th	 in	 scenario	 3).	Net	
Present	Value	was	calculated	at	a	2%	discount	rate	for	the	years	2021	to	2040	inclusive.	



March 14, 2022                                                                      Final Report of the Vermont Road Usage Charge Study 

69 

Table 10. Summary Revenue Table 

Scenario Policy Assumptions Net Present Value Fee Rate per Mile 
Status Quo Existing policy $4.897 billion N/A 

Flat Fee Only Rate set at 50th Percentile EV only 
beginning 2024 $ 5.073 billion $ 0.013 

MBUF – Odometer EV only beginning in 2024 $ 5.124 billion $ 0.013 

Flat Fee/MBUF – CAM Rate set at 98th Percentile EV only 
beginning in 2024 $ 5.141 billion $ 0.013 

 
Flat Fee Only  
The	flat	fee	scenario,	set	at	the	50th	percentile	for	annual	miles	driven,	generated	$5.073	billion	
(Table	10).	Whereas	a	driver	in	the	50th	percentile	travels	9,000	miles	per	year,	a	driver	in	the	90th	
travels	20,000.	The	total	miles	driven	by	users	in	the	50th	percentile	and	lower	only	account	for	
25%	of	total	miles	driven.	For	this	reason,	a	flat-fee	only	scenario	at	the	50th	percentile	among	EVs	
leaves	a	substantial	number	of	miles	uncharged.	

MBUF Only with Odometer Charging 
The	MBUF	scenario	with	odometer	charging	performed	much	better	than	flat	fee,	resulting	in	a	net	
present	value	of	$5.124	billion.	This	 is	attributable	to	the	higher	volume	of	EV	road	consumers’	
mileage	effectively	being	charged.	

Hybrid Flat Fee and MBUF 
The	hybrid	approach	collected	the	most	revenue	based	on	the	assumption	more	people	than	only	
those	traveling	in	the	98th	percentile	for	mileage	would	buy	an	annual	allotment,	effectively	paying	
more	in	a	flat	fee	than	they	would	pay	in	miles	driven.	Despite	higher	collection	costs,	this	scenario	
resulted	in	a	net	present	value	of	$5.141	billion.	
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Appendix B 
Road Usage Charge Stakeholder Outreach Summary 

MEMO 

TO: Jim Whitty, CDM Smith 
 
FROM: Mark Fowler, Jonathan Slason, RSG 
 
DATE: February 8, 2022 
 
SUBJECT: Vermont Electric and Highly Fuel-Efficient Vehicle Road Usage Charge Stakeholder 

Outreach Summary 
  

The	Vermont	Agency	of	Transportation	(VTrans)	is	evaluating	a	road	usage	charge	(RUC)	concept	
for	replacing	or	augmenting	fuel	taxes	not	paid	for	electric	vehicle	use	in	the	state.	

The	evaluation	included	a	statewide	engagement	process	consisting	of	stakeholder	discussions	
and	an	online	survey	targeted	toward	Vermont	residents.	This	memorandum	summarizes	the	
approach	and	findings	from	the	statewide	engagement	process.	

1.0 Stakeholder Discussions 

CDM	Smith	(CDM)	and	RSG	(hereafter	referred	to	as	the	project	team)	conducted	four	
stakeholder	discussions	in	September	2021	to	solicit	additional	feedback	to	supplement	the	
feedback	provided	by	the	Advisory	Committee	and	the	web	survey.	The	stakeholders	represent	
perspectives	the	project	team	considered	to	be	particularly	valuable	to	inform	the	analysis	and	
design	of	any	future	RUC	system	from	a	mix	of	industry,	nonprofit,	and	government	perspectives.	

Drive Electric Vermont Stakeholder Meeting 

Drive	Electric	Vermont	invited	the	project	team	to	a	quarterly	management	meeting	held	on	
September	8,	2021.	Nearly	70	people	attended	the	Zoom	meeting,	which	was	moderated	by	David	
Roberts	of	the	Vermont	Energy	Investment	Corporation	who	also	serves	as	the	Drive	Electric	
Vermont	coordinator.	Jim	Whitty	from	the	project	team	covered	the	outline	and	basics	of	the	
VTrans	RUC	concept.	Jim	proceeded	to	take	questions	from	attendees.	The	following	topics	were	
discussed:		

• One	funding	source	that	could	be	used	to	pay	the	RUC	for	electric	vehicles	(EVs)	is	the	
sales	tax	that	is	currently	collected	by	the	state	on	the	manufacturer’s	suggested	retail	
price	(MSRP)	rather	than	the	actual	final	sale	price	of	the	vehicle	(which	has	been	
frequently	lower	after	applicable	tax	credits	and	other	discounts).	It	was	suggested	that	
the	state	is	collecting	sales	tax	on	a	higher	value	than	what	the	user	pays	and	that	this	
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‘excess’	tax	could	be	directed	to	fund	the	transportation	system	and	pay	for	the	mileage	in	
fees	or	avoided	motor	fuel	tax.	

• Attendees	expressed	concern	about	the	technical	logistics	of	a	per-kilowatt-hour	(kWh)	fee	
and	how	to	address	resident	versus	nonresident	issues.	These	included	questions	such	as	
who	is	responsible	for	collecting	the	fee,	who	manages	accounts,	about	the	possibility	for	
errors	or	technical	glitches,	which	electric	vehicle	supply	equipment	(commonly	referred	
to	simply	as	EVSE)	will	be	required	to	comply,	what	if	the	equipment	doesn’t	have	a	meter,	
etc.	

• A	comment	was	made	about	the	interstate	commerce	clauses	and	how	the	per-kWh	fee	
would	have	to	be	consistent	to	remain	in	legal	compliance.	Jim	answered	this	point	by	
citing	a	study	that	he	was	involved	with	in	Washington	State.	The	finding	there	was	that	
the	fees	applied	to	out-of-state	registered	vehicles	must	be	similar	to	those	that	a	vehicle	
registered	in	state	would	pay.	

• Generally,	attendees	noted	EV	adoption	is	currently	incentivized	by	state	and	federal	
dollars	and	questioned	why	the	government	would	impose	a	fee	on	these	same	vehicles.	
Regardless	of	whether	they	are	consuming	transportation	capacity	or	not,	attendees	noted	
larger	goals	that	these	vehicles	are	achieving.	It	was	suggested	by	the	attendees	that	the	
state	should	consider	using	fees	to	incentivize	the	purchase	of	EVs	to	also	fund	the	gap	
associated	with	the	avoided	motor	fuel	tax.		

• Several	attendees	suggested	that	state	motor	fuel	taxes	should	increase	to	pay	for	the	costs	
of	improving	the	availability	of	EVSE,	as	well	as	pay	for	the	avoided	taxes	from	EVs.	This	
should	be	the	mechanism	at	least	in	the	short	term	as	the	state	looks	to	increase	adoption	
of	EVs	and	build	the	necessary	supporting	infrastructure.		

• Attendees	requested	additional	information	underlying	the	assumptions	used	in	the	charts	
that	show	the	avoided	motor	fuel	tax	revenue	for	the	future	years	based	on	the	portion	of	
EVs	in	the	overall	vehicle	fleet.	

Vermont League of Cities and Towns Stakeholder Meeting 

The	project	team	met	with	Gwynn	Zakov	from	the	Vermont	League	of	Cities	and	Towns	(VLCT)	
for	a	virtual	discussion	held	via	Microsoft	Teams	on	September	15,	2021.	The	discussion	focused	
on	understanding	a	diverse	set	of	municipal	and	local	government	perspectives.	

VLCT	stated	they	were	in	general	support	of	developing	alternatives	to	the	motor	fuel	tax	given	
their	understanding	of	the	eroding	power	of	the	tax.	Increasing	revenues	available	to	the	state—
and,	subsequently,	to	local	governments—will	deliver	financial	resources	to	communities.	This,	in	
turn,	will	allow	these	local	governments	to	improve	their	transportation	systems	while	also	
adapting	to	and	mitigating	the	effects	of	climate	change.		

Climate	change	is	one	of	the	three	topics	being	prioritized	within	VLCT.	Others	include	American	
Rescue	Plan	Act	funding	and	other	federal	spending	and	infrastructure	bills.	This	topic	may	
stimulate	some	conversation	on	funding,	but	most	local	governments	are	unlikely	to	take	issue	
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with	the	concepts	being	discussed;	however,	it	was	noted	that	some	communities	may	be	
interested	in	how	their	fleets	of	vehicles	will	be	affected	by	the	proposed	concepts.	

VLCT	did	note	that	identifying	how	and	if	these	RUC	concepts	are	consistent	with	town	plans	will	
be	one	concern	for	any	local	governments.	It	is	not	obvious	how	the	fee	concepts	would	
contradict	any	goals,	but	there	may	be	something	less	obvious	that	may	arise	in	future	
conversations.	

Vermont Natural Resources Council, Conservation Law Foundation, and Sierra 
Club of Vermont Stakeholder Meeting 

The	project	team	invited	three	environmentally	focused	organizations—the	Vermont	Natural	
Resources	Council,	the	Conservation	Law	Foundation,	and	the	Sierra	Club	of	Vermont	to	a	virtual	
online	stakeholder	meeting	held	via	Microsoft	Teams	on	September	10,	2021,	to	discuss	the	RUC	
concepts.	

Generally,	the	three	entities	expressed	universal	support	for	the	idea	that	electric	vehicle	
adoption	should	be	supported	and	expressed	concern	that	an	additional	tax	or	fee	would	be	a	
deterrent	for	some.	The	state	should	consider	looking	wider	than	simply	“plugging	a	hole.”	An	
opportunity	may	exist	to	improve	the	current	transportation	funding	system.	More	specific	topics	
of	the	discussion	included	the	following:	

• Two	of	the	stakeholders	noted	previous	VTrans’	studies	referencing	a	goal	to	achieve	15%	
market	share	of	vehicles	as	EVs	before	any	changes	to	fees	or	costs	such	as	those	being	
considered	here.	The	stakeholders	also	referred	to	a	study	from	Bakersfield	that	
mentioned	that	EV	purchasers	would	be	less	interested	in	an	EV	if	there	is	a	cost	per	mile	
that	reduces	the	current	cost	savings	of	owning	an	EV	compared	to	an	internal	combustion	
engine	(ICE)	vehicle.	It	was	posited	by	the	group	that	if	EVs	become	lower	in	initial	
purchase	price,	the	concern	with	the	per-mile	fee	may	diminish.	

• It	appears	that	one	of	the	stakeholders	is	advocating	for	a	mileage-based	user	fee	(MBUF)	
to	be	adopted	across	the	board	as	a	substitute	for	the	motor	fuel	tax.	Jim	Whitty	from	the	
project	team	mentioned	that	other	states	such	as	Utah	and	Oregon	(among	others)	do	have	
intentions	to	implement	MBUF	across	all	vehicle	types;	however,	it	takes	a	while,	and	the	
approach	being	considered	by	VTrans	could	be	a	more	manageable	step	to	focus	on	a	
smaller	number	of	vehicles.		

• One	stakeholder	recommended	a	wholesale	review	of	transportation	funding	in	Vermont	
and	suggested	that	user	fees	may	not	be	the	best	solution.	This	person	suggested	that	if	
boosting	EV	adoption	is	the	goal,	the	state	should	prioritize	that	and	find	other	ways	to	
generate	the	required	revenue.	

• The	stakeholders	noted	that	additional	disincentives	are	needed	on	ICE	vehicles	and	that	
motor	fuel	taxes	should	continue	to	fund	the	system	in	the	near	term.	A	carbon	tax	is	
similar	or	can	be	designed	as	an	additional	fee	on	ICE	vehicles.	However,	it	is	not	a	viable	
long-term	option	with	the	shift	to	EVs.	Jim	Whitty	from	the	project	team	mentioned	how	
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carbon	fees	can	be	collected	along	with	MBUF,	and	as	carbon	fees	increase	there	is	a	clear	
link	to	drive	fewer	miles.		

Vermont Auto Dealers Association Stakeholder Meeting 

The	project	team	met	via	Microsoft	Teams	with	Marilyn	Miller	from	the	Vermont	Auto	Dealers	
Association	(VADA)	on	September	13,	2021,	to	review	the	road-user-fee	concepts	being	
considered.	Marilyn	stated	that	all	the	VADA	members	acknowledge	that	funding	must	change,	
and	dealers	are	getting	prepared	for	more	EVs.	VADA’s	position	is	not	to	avoid	raising	the	motor	
fuel	tax;	however,	these	alternative	fees	are	helpful	to	have	more	than	one	idea	to	progress	and	
evaluate.	

VADA	has	to	consider	how	the	process	can	be	implemented	fairly	across	its	membership.	The	
move	to	new	fees	along	with	shifting	vehicle	types	affects	dealerships	differently	and	changes	
who	purchases	vehicles	and	how.	This	is	an	opportunity	to	educate	dealers	on	an	alternative	
approach	to	transportation	funding.		

VADA	is	interested	in	supporting	and	understanding	the	supplemental	investments	that	the	
Agency	of	Transportation	will	have	to	make,	including	computer	upgrades	at	the	Vermont	
Department	of	Motor	Vehicles	that	will	affect	driver	licensing,	purchasing	information,	
registration,	titling,	etc.	These	changes,	along	with	the	payment	of	any	initial	fees,	are	of	interest.		

VADA	will	discuss	the	proposed	concepts	at	their	annual	meeting	on	September	16,	2021.	

2.0 Public Opinion Survey  

The	project	team	developed	and	implemented	an	online	survey	of	Vermont	residents	to	present	
the	RUC	System	concept	and	assess	initial	reactions	to	the	various	features	and	options.	The	
survey	was	used	to	establish	a	general	understanding	public	sentiment	and	preferences	to	help	
guide	policy	and	system	design.		

The	project	team	collaborated	with	VTrans	to	develop	the	survey,	including	vehicle	owners	who	
would	be	directly	affected	by	the	proposed	RUC	policy.	This	population	primarily	consists	of	the	
registered	owners	of	fully	electric	vehicles	(battery-electric	vehicles	or	BEVs),	plugin	hybrid	
electric	vehicles	(PHEVs),	and	high-mileage	internal	combustion	engine	vehicles	(ICEVs).	The	
survey	established	a	baseline	understanding	of	motorist	behaviors,	general	familiarity	with	
various	road	usage	tax	and	fee	concepts,	and	opinions	about	the	policies	under	consideration.	The	
questionnaire	also	collected	a	demographic	profile	of	respondents	to	ensure	broad	
representation	from	the	statewide	population.		

Because	transportation	revenue	is	a	topic	of	general	public	interest,	the	survey	included	a	
separate	branch	of	questions	for	any	drivers	who	currently	own	a	standard	ICEV	vehicle.	These	
respondents	were	also	asked	about	their	receptivity	to	EV	ownership.		
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2.1 Survey Administration 
Respondents	were	recruited	into	the	survey	using	email	invitations	distributed	to	current	
Vermont	BEV	and	PHEV	owners.	The	contact	list	was	developed	by	VTrans	through	their	
partnership	with	Drive	Electric	Vermont	and	served	as	the	primary	sampling	frame	for	the	
survey.	RSG	also	leveraged	its	relationships	with	local	stakeholders,	including	regional	planning	
commissions,	community	organizations,	environmental	organizations,	auto	dealers,	and	other	
interested	organizations	to	help	drive	participation.		

The	survey	remained	open	from	Wednesday,	September	8,	2021,	until	Tuesday,	October	26,	2021.	
A	total	of	385	responses	were	received	during	the	administration	period.	Table	1	presents	the	
number	survey	completions	from	each	key	stakeholder.	

TABLE	1:	COMPLETES	BY	STAKEHOLDER	GROUPS	

Stakeholder Group Complete Surveys 
Drive Electric Vermont 169 
Capstone Community Action 81 
Regional Planning Commissions 54 
Facebook 29 
Environmental Organizations 21 
Auto Dealers 4 
Other 27 
Total 385 

Figure	1	shows	survey	completions	by	ZIP	Code.	Participants	were	recruited	from	regions	across	
the	entire	state,	but	were	more	heavily	concentrated	in	Chittenden	and	Washington	Counties.	
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FIGURE	1:	SURVEY	COMPLETES	BY	ZIP	CODE	
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Powered	by	Bing

Completes by ZIP Code

1

27
Count



Final Report of the Vermont Road Usage Charge Study  March 14, 2022 

76 

2.2 Analysis 
The	descriptive	analysis	of	the	survey	data	presented	in	this	section	was	performed	on	the	final	
dataset	of	385	responses.	The	analysis	is	divided	into	three	sections:	

• Household	vehicles;	

• Transportation	funding	and;	

• Demographics.	

Household Vehicles 

The	survey	asked	respondents	to	provide	information	about	household	vehicles	that	they	
currently	own	or	lease.	Almost	half	of	respondents	(48%)	own	or	lease	two	vehicles	(Table	2).	

TABLE	2:	HOUSEHOLD	VEHICLES	

How many vehicles does your household currently own or 
lease?	 Percent Count 

0 (no vehicles) 2% 8 
1 vehicle 29% 112 
2 vehicles 48% 183 
3 vehicles 16% 60 
4 vehicles 5% 19 
5 or more vehicles 1% 3 
Total 100% 385 

Table	3	shows	the	number	of	respondents	who	own	a	BEV	or	PHEV.	Over	half	of	respondents	
(54%)	own	an	electric	vehicle.		

TABLE	3:	ELECTRIC	VEHICLE	OWNERSHIP*	

Does your household own any fully electric vehicles (BEVs) or 
plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs)?	 Percent Count 

Owns a BEV 41% 159 
Owns a PHEV 16% 62 
Does not own an EV 46% 177 
Total 100% 381 
*Select	all	that	apply.	

Table	4	shows	the	reasons	electric	vehicle	owners	purchased	an	electric	vehicle.	The	most	cited	
reasons	for	purchasing	an	electric	vehicle	were	environmental	benefits	(96%),	money	savings	on	
fuel	(71%)	and	lower	maintenance	costs	(69%).		
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TABLE	4:	REASONS	FOR	PURCHASING	AN	ELECTRIC	VEHICLE*	

Why did you purchase an electric vehicle? Percent Count 

Environmental benefits 96% 200 
Money savings on fuel 71% 147 
Lower maintenance costs 69% 143 
Vehicle performance 47% 98 
Tax incentives 45% 93 
Preferred that make or model 26% 54 
Employer benefit 4% 9 
Other 12% 25 
Total 100% 208 
*Select	all	that	apply.		

Of	the	respondents	who	are	electric	vehicle	owners,	91%	primarily	charge	their	vehicle	at	home	
(Table	5).	The	majority	of	respondents	(97%)	who	own	an	electric	vehicle	have	home	charging	
equipment,	with	most	(68%)	electric	vehicle	owners	using	a	level	2	charger	(Table	6).	

TABLE	5:	PRIMARY	ELECTRIC	VEHICLE	CHARGING	LOCATION	

TABLE	6:	ELECTRIC	VEHICLE	HOME	CHARGING	EQUIPMENT	

Of	those	who	do	not	own	an	electric	vehicle,	82%	have	considered	purchasing	an	electric	vehicle	
(Table	7),	and	79%	are	very	likely	or	somewhat	likely	to	purchase	a	fully	electric	vehicle	or	plug-
in	hybrid	electric	vehicle	within	the	next	few	years	(Table	8).	

Where do you primarily charge your electric vehicle? If you 
charge your vehicle in multiple locations, please tell us where 
you charge most often. 

Percent Count 

At home 91% 189 
At work 3% 7 
At school 0% 0 
At a public charger 5% 10 
Other 1% 2 
Total 100% 208 

Do you currently have home charging equipment? Percent Count 

Level 1 charger 26% 54 
Level 2 charger 68% 142 
Direct Current (DC) Fast Charger 2% 5 
No, I do not have home charging equipment  3% 7 
Total 100% 208 
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TABLE	7:	ELECTRIC	VEHICLE	CONSIDERATION	

Have you considered purchasing a fully electric vehicle (BEV) 
or plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV)? Percent Count 

Have considered purchasing an EV 82% 139 
Have not considered purchasing an EV 18% 30 
Total 100% 169 

TABLE	8:	ELECTRIC	VEHICLE	PURCHASE	LIKELIHOOD	

How likely are you to purchase a fully electric vehicle (BEV) 
or plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) within the next few 
years?	

Percent Count 

Very Likely 45% 62 
Somewhat Likely 34% 47 
Somewhat Unlikely 17% 24 
Very Unlikely 4% 6 
Total 100% 139 

Table	9	shows	the	concerns	non-electric	vehicle	owners	have	about	purchasing	an	electric	
vehicle.	Most	cited	concerns	about	the	limited	driving	range	(58%),	cost	(56%)	and	lack	of	
charging	facilities	(53%).	

TABLE	9:	CONCERNS	ABOUT	PURCHASING	AN	ELECTRIC	VEHICLE*	

What are your main concerns about purchasing or leasing a 
fully electric vehicle? Percent Count 

Limited driving range 58% 98 
Too expensive 56% 95 
Lack of charging facilities 53% 90 
Time to charge the battery 33% 56 
Cost of installing charging equipment for your home 31% 52 
Technology is still too new/unreliable 16% 27 
Uncertain about hauling or storage capacity 12% 20 
Uncertainty about electricity prices 11% 19 
The types of vehicles I like to drive aren't available to buy 0% 0 
Other 22% 37 
I don't have any concerns 0% 0 
Total 100% 154 
*Select	all	that	apply.	

Transportation Funding  

The	next	section	of	questions	asked	all	respondents	about	prior	knowledge	of	the	Vermont	State	
Gas	Tax	and	support	for	future	road	usage	charges.	The	majority	of	respondents	(89%)	were	
aware	of	the	state	gas	tax	prior	to	the	participating	in	the	survey	(Table	10),	and	63%	of	
respondents	strongly	support	or	somewhat	support	the	state	gas	tax	as	the	primary	way	to	fund	
Vermont’s	transportation	system	(Table	11).	
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TABLE	10:	PRIOR	KNOWLEDGE	OF	STATE	GAS	TAX	

Did you know about the state tax on gas purchases before 
taking this survey? Percent Count 

Knew about state tax on gas 89% 343 
Did not know about state tax on gas 11% 42 
Total 100% 385 

TABLE	11:	SUPPORT	FOR	STATE	GAS	TAX	

Do you support or oppose the state gas tax as the primary 
way to fund Vermont's transportation system? Percent Count 

Strongly support 32% 123 
Somewhat support 31% 121 
Neutral 20% 76 
Strongly oppose 7% 27 
Somewhat oppose 10% 38 
Total 100% 385 

Table	12	shows	respondent	support	for	introducing	mileage-based	user	fees	on	fully	electric,	
plug-in	hybrid	electric	or	other	highly-fuel	efficient	Vermont	registered	vehicles.	The	majority	of	
respondents	(60%)	are	somewhat	supportive	or	very	supportive	of	implementing	mileage-based	
user	fees.		

TABLE	12:	SUPPORT	FOR	MILEAGE-BASED	USER	FEES	

What is your initial reaction to introducing mileage-based 
user fees for fully electric, plug-in hybrid electric, or other 
highly fuel-efficient Vermont registered vehicles?  

Percent Count 

Very Supportive 30% 116 
Somewhat Supportive 30% 116 
Somewhat Opposed 15% 58 
Very Opposed 22% 85 
No Opinion 2% 9 
Total 100% 384 

Table	13	shows	respondent	support	for	an	annual	flat	fee	on	fully	electric,	plug-in	hybrid	electric	
or	other	highly-fuel	efficient	Vermont	registered	vehicles.	The	majority	of	respondents	(58%)	are	
somewhat	opposed	or	very	opposed	to	implementing	flat	fees.		
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TABLE	13:	SUPPORT	FOR	ANNUAL	FLAT	FEES	

What is your initial reaction to introducing an annual flat fee 
for fully electric, plug-in hybrid electric, or other highly fuel-
efficient Vermont registered vehicles?  

Percent Count 

Very Supportive 15% 59 
Somewhat Supportive 25% 94 
Somewhat Opposed 29% 109 
Very Opposed 29% 111 
No Opinion 2% 9 
Total 100% 382 

Three-quarters	of	respondents	(75%)	are	very	supportive	or	somewhat	supportive	of	a	per-
kilowatt	hour	fee	on	all	public	chargers	for	out-of-state	vehicles,	as	shown	in	Table	14.	

TABLE	14:	PER	KWH	FEES	ON	PUBLIC	CHARGERS	FOR	OUT-OF-STATE	VEHICLES	

What is your initial reaction to introducing a kilowatt per hour 
fee on public charging stations for out-of-state vehicles? Percent Count 

Very Supportive 43% 166 
Somewhat Supportive 32% 122 
Somewhat Opposed 9% 36 
Very Opposed 12% 47 
No Opinion 4% 14 
Total 100% 385 

If	a	mileage-based	fee	were	implemented,	respondents	would	prefer	to	share	their	mileage	
information	by	providing	access	to	the	odometer	during	their	annual	vehicle	inspection	rather	
than	using	sharing	locational	data	collected	while	driving	(Table	15)	

TABLE	15:	MILEAGE-BASED	USER	FEE	REPORTING	PREFERENCE	

If you were given the following options to share your mileage 
information, which would you choose? Percent Count 

Share access to the odometer reading during my annual 
inspection 71% 274 

Share access to locational data while driving 29% 111 
Total 100% 385 

If	a	flat	fee	were	implemented,	most	respondents	(65%)	would	prefer	to	pay	the	annual	flat	fee	
during	the	annual	registration	for	each	vehicle	(Table	16).		
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TABLE	16:	FLAT	FEE	PAYMENT	PREFERENCE	

Suppose your household had to pay a flat fee for each fully 
electric or plug-in electric vehicle that you own. How would 
you prefer to pay? 

Percent Count 

Pay with the annual registration for each vehicle. 65% 252 
Pay with the annual inspection for each vehicle. 13% 49 
Pay once per year for each vehicle. 12% 46 
Pay once a month for each vehicle. 4% 17 
Pay once every quarter for each vehicle. 5% 21 
Total 100% 385 

Table	17	presents	respondents’	attitudes	related	to	various	road	usage	fees.	The	majority	of	
respondents	agree	that	fees	based	on	vehicles	miles	traveled	are	fair	because	drivers	pay	
according	to	how	much	they	use	the	road	and	annual	flat	fees	are	unfair	for	people	who	drive	less.		

About	half	(51%)	of	respondents	agree	that	drivers	of	fully	electric	or	plug-in	hybrid	electric	
vehicles	should	pay	less	for	road	upkeep	because	they	produce	less	vehicle	emissions;	conversely	
47%	of	respondents	agree	that	drivers	of	fully	electric	or	plug-in	hybrid	electric	vehicles	do	not	
pay	their	fair	share	for	road	upkeep.	

TABLE	17:	ROAD	USAGE	FEE	ATTITUDES	

 Strongly 
disagree 

Somewhat 
disagree Neutral Somewhat 

agree 
Strongly 

agree 
Fees based on vehicle miles 
traveled are fair because drivers 
pay according to how much they 
use the road. 

12% 11% 9% 31% 37% 

Flat fees are unfair for people who 
drive less. 5% 7% 15% 37% 35% 

Fees based on vehicle miles 
traveled only for fully electric and 
plug-in hybrid electric vehicles 
would penalize drivers of these 
vehicles more than drivers of gas 
vehicles. 

14% 16% 21% 22% 27% 

Fees based on vehicle miles 
traveled would penalize rural 
drivers or others who must drive 
longer distances. 

12% 13% 17% 31% 27% 

Drivers of fully electric or plug-in 
hybrid electric vehicles should pay 
less for road upkeep because they 
produce less vehicle emissions 

20% 19% 10% 25% 26% 

Drivers of fully electric or plug-in 
hybrid electric vehicles do not pay 
their fair share for road upkeep. 

16% 17% 20% 27% 20% 

Flat fees would encourage people 
to drive more. 21% 25% 26% 18% 9% 
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Of	the	respondents	who	currently	own	an	electric	vehicle,	91%	said	that	they	would	continue	to	
drive	about	the	same	as	they	do	now	if	mileage-based	fees	or	flat	fees	were	implemented	in	the	
state	of	Vermont	for	fully	electric,	plug-in	electric,	or	other	highly	fuel-efficient	vehicles	(Table	
18).	

TABLE	18:	EV	DRIVE	FREQUENCY	WITH	ROAD	USAGE	FEES	

If mileage-based fees or flat fees are implemented in the 
state of Vermont for fully electric, plug-in hybrid electric, or 
other highly fuel-efficient vehicles, would you… 

Percent Count 

Drive more than you do now. 2% 5 
Drive about the same as you do now. 91% 190 
Drive less than you do now. 6% 13 
Total 100% 208 

Table		shows	that	84%	of	respondents	who	are	considering	purchasing	an	electric	vehicle	or	high	
mileage	vehicle	are	just	as	likely	or	more	likely	to	do	so	if	mileage-based	fees	or	flat	fees	are	
implemented	in	the	state	of	Vermont	for	electric	vehicles	and	highly	efficient	fuel	vehicles.	

TABLE	19:	EV	PURCHASE	LIKELIHOOD	WITH	ROAD	USAGE	FEES	

If mileage-based fees or flat fees are implemented in the 
state of Vermont for electric vehicles and highly efficient fuel 
vehicles, how likely are you to purchase an electric vehicle 
in the next few years? 

Percent Count 

More likely 6% 8 
About the same 78% 109 
Less likely 16% 22 
Total 100% 139 

Demographics 

The	final	section	of	the	survey	collected	demographic	information	from	respondents.	Table	20	
shows	the	employment	status	of	respondents.	Half	of	respondents	are	employed	full-time	and	
about	one	fifth	of	respondents	(22%)	are	unemployed.		

TABLE	20:	EMPLOYMENT	

Which of the following describes your employment status as 
of today? Percent Count 

Employed full-time 50% 192 
Employed part-time 10% 37 
Primarily self-employed 14% 52 
Unpaid volunteer or intern 5% 18 
Unemployed and looking for work 2% 8 
Unemployed and not looking for work 20% 78 
Total 100% 385 
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Table	21	illustrates	the	number	of	days	per	week	employed	respondents	commute	to	work.	About	
one-third	of	respondents	(35%)	commute	to	work	five	days	a	week	and	one	quarter	of	
respondents	(27%)	never	commute	to	work.		

TABLE	21:	COMMUTE	WORKDAYS	

How many days per week do you commute to work? Percent Count 

0 days 27% 77 
1 day 9% 24 
2 days 8% 22 
3 days 9% 25 
4 days 8% 23 
5 days 35% 99 
6 days 2% 5 
7 days 2% 6 
Total 100% 281 

Table	22	shows	the	distribution	of	household	size,	about	half	of	respondents	(48%)	live	in	two-
person	households.	

TABLE	22:	HOUSEHOLD	SIZE	

How many people live in your household? Percent Count 

1 (I live alone) 19% 73 
2 people 48% 185 
3 people 14% 55 
4 people 15% 58 
5 or more people 3% 12 
Prefer not to answer 1% 2 
Total 100% 385 

Table	23	shows	the	distribution	of	gender	among	survey	respondents;	57%	of	survey	
respondents	identify	as	Man.	

TABLE	23:	GENDER	

What is your gender? Percent Count 

Man 57% 219 
Non-binary 1% 4 
Woman 34% 132 
Prefer to self-describe 1% 2 
Prefer not to answer 7% 28 
Total 100% 385 

Table	24	shows	the	age	distribution	of	survey	respondents.	The	median	age	of	survey	
respondents	is	in	the	range	of	60	to	69	years	old.	
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TABLE	24:	AGE	

What is your age? Percent Count 

18-29 6% 25 
30-39 10% 40 
40-49 15% 57 
50-59 18% 68 
60-69 29% 110 
70 or older 18% 71 
Prefer not to answer 4% 14 
Total 100% 385 

Table	25	presents	the	distribution	of	household	incomes.	The	median	annual	household	income	
of	the	sample	is	between	$75,000	and	$99,999.		

TABLE	25:	2020	HOUSEHOLD	INCOME	

What category best describes your 2020 household income 
before taxes? Percent Count 

Less than $15,000 4% 14 
$15,000-$24,999 4% 16 
$25,000-$34,999 4% 15 
$35,000-$49,999 10% 39 
$50,000-$74,999 16% 61 
$75,000-$99,999 14% 52 
$100,000-$149,999 18% 68 
$150,000-$199,999 9% 33 
$200,000-$299,999 5% 19 
$300,000 or more 3% 10 
Prefer not to answer 15% 58 
Total 100% 385 

Table	26	and	Table	27	show	the	Hispanic	origin	and	race	of	survey	respondents.	Most	
respondents	(87%)	identify	as	white.		
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TABLE	26:	HISPANIC	ORIGIN	

Are you of Hispanic, Spanish, or Latino origin? Percent Count 
Yes 1% 5 
No 88% 339 
Prefer not to answer 11% 41 
Total 100% 385 

TABLE	27:	RACE*	

With which racial or ethnic groups do you identify Percent Count 
American Indian / Alaska Native 0% 1 
Asian 1% 4 
Black / African American 0% 1 
Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander 0% 1 
White 87% 334 
Other 1% 5 
Prefer not to answer 11% 43 
Total 100% 385 
*Select	all	that	apply.	

	

	



	

	

	

	


