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2012 Acts and Resolves No. 71, Sec. 1, as amended by 2012 Acts and 1 

Resolves No. 143, Sec. 13, 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 189, Sec. 26, and 2017 2 

Acts and Resolves No. 71, Sec. 24: 3 

Sec. 1.  VERMONT STRONG MOTOR VEHICLE PLATES 4 

(a)  Intent.  It is the intent of this act to recognize all of those who have 5 

suffered losses because of the destruction brought by Tropical Storm Irene and 6 

the flooding of 2011, and to commemorate the contributions of the many who 7 

are helping to rebuild Vermont and to make it stronger.  8 

(b)  Authority; accounting and reporting.   9 

(1)  The department of motor vehicles (“department”) is authorized to 10 

design, manufacture or procure, and distribute commemorative plates that 11 

include the text “Vermont Strong” in accordance with this section.  The 12 

department and Vermont Life magazine are authorized to sell commemorative 13 

plates.  The department may also authorize other persons to sell 14 

commemorative plates, provided that such persons are required to pay the 15 

department $25.00 per plate within 30 days of receiving the plates from the 16 

department. 17 

(2)  A Vermont Strong commemorative plate fund (the “fund”) is 18 

established.  The fund shall be under the control of the commissioner of motor 19 

vehicles or designee, and shall consist of all receipts from the sales of Vermont 20 

Strong commemorative plates.  The commissioner shall account for all 21 

https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2012/Docs/ACTS/ACT071/ACT071%20As%20Enacted.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2012/Docs/ACTS/ACT143/ACT143%20As%20Enacted.pdf#page=9
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2012/Docs/ACTS/ACT143/ACT143%20As%20Enacted.pdf#page=9
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2014/Docs/ACTS/ACT189/ACT189%20As%20Enacted.pdf#page=33
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2018/Docs/ACTS/ACT071/ACT071%20As%20Enacted.pdf#page=22
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2018/Docs/ACTS/ACT071/ACT071%20As%20Enacted.pdf#page=22
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proceeds of sales of commemorative plates and all receipts into and 1 

disbursements from the fund; shall track the number of plates distributed and 2 

sold; and shall track and collect payments owed for plates distributed.  The 3 

commissioner shall transfer funds from the fund in accordance with subsection 4 

(d) of this section no less often than once per month.  The department shall 5 

report its accounting of fund receipts and disbursements, plate inventory, and 6 

uncollected payments for plates distributed to the joint fiscal committee at its 7 

November 2012 meeting. 8 

(c)  Use.  An approved Vermont Strong commemorative plate may be 9 

displayed on a motor vehicle registered in Vermont as a pleasure car or on a 10 

motor truck registered in Vermont for less than 26,001 pounds (but excluding 11 

vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan) by covering the 12 

front registration plate with the commemorative plate any time from the 13 

effective date of this act.  The regular front registration plate shall not be 14 

removed.  The regular rear registration plate shall be in place and clearly 15 

visible at all times. 16 

(d)  Price and allocation of revenue.  The retail price of the plate shall be 17 

$25.00, except that on or after July 1, 2016, plates may be sold by the 18 

Commissioner for $5.00.  Funds received from the sale of plates for $5.00 shall 19 

be allocated to the Department; funds received from the sale of the plates for 20 

$25.00 shall be allocated as follows: 21 
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(1)  $5.00 to the Department;  1 

(2)  $18.00 to the Vermont Disaster Relief Fund; and 2 

(3)  $2.00 to the Vermont Foodbank. 3 

(e)  Funding.  The department of motor vehicles is authorized to obtain an 4 

advance from the Vermont Strong commemorative plate fund in an amount to 5 

be determined by the commissioner of motor vehicles in anticipation of 6 

receipts from the administration of this section. 7 

(f)  Tax exemption.  Sales of commemorative plates pursuant to this section 8 

shall be exempt from the sales and use tax established by 32 V.S.A. 9 

chapter 233. 10 


