Vermont Future Caucus & co.

April 26, 2023
The Honorable Jill Krowinski
Speaker of the House
Vermont General Assembly

Dear Speaker Krowinski,

Low compensation and inadequate benefits are a significant barrier to service in the General Assembly. As a result, many members serve in either the House or the Senate with minimal or no healthcare coverage, and often live paycheck to paycheck in order to make ends meet each month. In a time of high inflation and unprecedented lack of access to affordable, safe housing, this means that those who do choose to serve their communities in the legislature often do so at great financial risk to themselves and to their families.

The Vermont Future Caucus is a tripartisan caucus of members aged 45 and younger and our allies. The Vermont Future Caucus and our undersigned allies endorse S.39 and urges its expedient passage in the House this year and in this biennium. S.39 as passed in the Senate proposes to make members of the General Assembly eligible for the State employees' health benefit plan, allow them to participate in any flexible spending account program offered to State employees for health care expenses or dependent care expenses, and increased compensation.

These improvements to compensation for members would permit a more diverse and accurate representation of Vermont persons and communities in the legislature and would allow for increased access to our body. We, the Vermont Future Caucus and our allies call on the House to Pass S.39, an act relating to compensation and benefits for members of the Vermont General Assembly with all due haste.

## Respectfully Submitted,

Rep. Jonathan Williams

Rep. Mary-Katherine Stone

Rep. Katherine Sims

Rep. Monique Priestley

Rep. Emma Mulvaney-Stanak Rep. Logan Nicoll

Rep. Esme Cole

Rep. Kate Logan

Rep. Mari Cordes

Rep. Troy Headrick

Rep. Peter Anthony

Rep. Mollie Burke Rep. Taylor Small

Rep. Angela Arsenault

## Vermont Future Caucus & co.

Rep. Conor Casey Rep. Michelle Bos-Lun Rep. Bobby Farlice-Rubio Rep. Lucy Boyden

Rep. Barbara Rachelson Rep. Heather Surprenant

Rep. Mike Rice Rep. Jubilee McGill Rep. Dane Whitman Rep. Kate McCann Rep. Heather Chase Rep. Henry Pearl
Rep. Tiff Bluemle
Rep. Leslie Goldman
Rep. Mary Howard
Rep. Jarrod E. Sammis
Rep. Gabrielle Stebbins
Rep. Stephanie Jerome
Rep. Joe Adriano

Sen. Anne Watson Sen. Tanya Vyhovsky Sen. Becca White Sen. Nader Hashim