State	California, <u>Cal. Civ. Code</u> §§1798.100 et seq. 2018.	Virginia <u>Va. Code §59.1-575</u> <u>et seq.</u> Jan. 1, 2023.	Colorado <u>Colo. Rev. Stat.</u> <u>§6-1-1301 et</u> <u>seq.</u> July 1, 2023.	Connecticut <u>Conn. Gen. Stat.</u> §42-515 et seq. July 1, 2023.
Definitions: Personal Data	Information that identifies, relates to, describes, is reasonably capable of being linked, directly or indirectly, with a particular consumer.	Any information that is linked or reasonably linkable to an identified or identifiable natural person. "Personal data" does not include de- identified data or publicly available information.	Information that is linked or reasonably linkable to an identifies or identifiable individual.	Any information that is linked or reasonably linkable to an identified or identifiable individual. "Personal data" does not include de- identified data or publicly available information.
Scope	Covered Businesses, for profit: annual gross revenues in excess of \$25 million; buys, receives, sells, or shares the personal information of 50,000 or more consumers, household, or devices for commercial purposes or derives 50% or more of its annual revenue from selling personal information from California residents.	Applies to businesses in the state that (i) control or process personal data of at least 100,000 consumers or (ii) control or process personal data of at least 25,000 consumers and derive over 50% of gross revenue from the sale of personal data.	Businesses that produce or deliver commercial products or services that either (a) control or process the personal data of 100,00 or more CO residents in a calendar year; or (b) derive revenue or receive a discount on the price of good/services from the sale of 25,000 or	Business that collects, stores, processes personal data of 100,000 or more CT residents. Make up 25% of its gross revenue from selling personal data and must be processing the personal data of at least 25,000 CT residents.

Exemptions	Employee Information: job applicants, employees, contractors, and agents of a business for employment purposes. Business to Business (B2B): personal information collected by a business about a consumer in the context of a B2B transaction. Health Information: HIPPA	Same as California. *legal compliance includes exemptions to The Children's Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA)	more CO residents. Employee Information, Financial Institutions, Health Information, Higher Ed, legal Compliance.	Employee Information, Financial Institutions, Health Information, Higher Ed, legal Compliance.
	Financial information: information collected under the GLBA or the FIPA. Publicly Available Information			
	Legal Compliance.			
Consumers	Right to know,	Right to access,	Right to	Right to
Personal Rights	right to delete,	right to know, Right	access, right to	access, right
	right to non- discrimination (for	to data portability (to transfer data),	correct, right to opt-out of	to correct, right to
	•	•	•	U U
	exercising CCPA	right to opt-out,	sale, right to	delete, right
	rights), Right to	right to opt-in,	opt-in, right to	to opt-out,
	access, Right to	right to delete,	data portobility	right to opt-in
	request	right to equal	portability,	right to data
	information.	service.		portability,

			Right to non- discrimination.	right to non- discrimination.
Enforcement	Attorney General: Civil penalties of \$2,500 for each violation. \$7,500 for each intentional violation. Private Right: consumers can seek up to \$750 per violation or actual damages, whichever is greater. 30-day cure period.	Attorney General: \$7,500 for each violation. 60-day cure period, if the violation is not cured within 60- days, penalty of \$7,500 per day. Private Right: can seek up to \$750 per violation or actual damages, whichever is greater. 30-day cure period.	Attorney General: may seek civil penalties of up to \$20,000 per violation, or up to \$50,000 for violations involving the personal data of consumers who are 15 years old or younger. Private right: consumers may seek actual or statutory damages of up to \$100,000 per violation, or up to \$500,000 for a violation involving consumers 15 yrs. Old or younger. 60- day cure period.	Attorney General: may seek civil penalties of \$7,500 for each violation, or up to \$750,000 for violations that are found to be intentional or reckless. Private right: consumers may seek actual or statutory damages of up to \$750 per violation, or greater if the violation is found to be willful or intentional. 30-day cure period.