
 

 

Human Resources Legal Fact Sheet: Vermont 

Disclaimer: This factsheet summarizes state laws and regulations on a variety of human resource issues for dairy farms, including wages, 
paystubs, deductions, child labor, and more. It is not intended to provide legal advice. The factsheet is simply an overview of select issues 
with a high-level explanation of key requirements for each one, with links to more information and resources throughout the document. 
This factsheet does not include all legal requirements for dairies. It was created in June 2023, and while it will be periodically updated, it 
may not reflect the current state of the law on every topic covered. Dairies should also review the federal factsheet because employers—
depending on size—may be required to comply with some or all of the applicable federal laws and regulations as well. Additionally, 
employers should review the provisions of their collective bargaining agreement(s). By using this factsheet you understand that there is no 
attorney-client relationship between you and the attorneys who were involved in developing the factsheet.  This factsheet should not be 
used as a substitute for competent legal advice from a licensed attorney. 
 

Are there Vermont state laws for dairy farms about the following? 
Hiring 

Topic Answer Summary 
Pay Notice NO Vermont law does not address any notice of payday or pay rate for new hires. 

Reporting1 YES New hires and rehires must be reported to the Department of Labor within 10 days.  
See also VT Department of Labor website for more information. 

 
Wages 

Topic Answer Summary 
Paydays2 YES Employees must be paid weekly. However, with a written notice to its employees, an 

employer can issue paychecks on a bi-weekly or semi-monthly basis. The payday 
can be no more than six days after the last day of the pay period. 

Final Pay3 YES An employee who quits or resigns must be paid on the last regular payday, or if there 
is no regular payday, on the following Friday. 
 
An employee who is discharged (fired, or otherwise terminated) from employment 
must be paid within 72 hours of the discharge. 

Overtime4 NO Vermont overtime requirements do not apply to agricultural workers; federal rules 
may apply. Employers are encouraged to review the federal factsheet. 

Minimum Wage5 NO Vermont minimum wage law does not apply to agricultural workers; federal rules 
may apply. Employers are encouraged to review the federal factsheet. 

Hours Worked NO 
Vermont law does not explicitly address the definition of ‘hours worked’ for the 
purpose of calculating compensable time. Employers should follow federal laws 
summarized in the federal factsheet. 

Reporting Time Pay NO Vermont law does not require reporting time pay, i.e. an employee is only required 
to be paid for actual hours worked. 

Pay Stub6 NO Agricultural workers are exempt from Vermont pay stub/statement requirements, 
which fall under the minimum wage rules. 

Taxes and 
Withholding7 

YES Employers are required to withhold Vermont income tax if they are also required to 
withhold federal income tax. You must give your employees a statement of taxes 
withheld, like a federal Form W-2, 1099-MISC or 1099-R.  
 
Employers must pay Vermont Unemployment Insurance taxes if:  

• You paid cash wages to farm workers of $20,000 or more in a quarter in the 
current or prior calendar year; OR, 

Updated June 2023 

https://labor.vermont.gov/sites/labor/files/doc_library/C-63-New-Hire-Reporting-Requirements_0.pdf
https://labor.vermont.gov/unemployment-insurance/unemployment-information-employers/employer-online-services/new-hire#:%7E:text=The%20New%20Hire%20Reporting%20program,by%20clicking%20the%20link%20below.
https://labor.vermont.gov/sites/labor/files/doc_library/WH-13-Wage-and-Hour-Laws-2009%20Word.pdf
https://tax.vermont.gov/individuals/personal-income-tax/withholding
http://labor.vermont.gov/unemployment-insurance/
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• You employed ten or more farm workers for some part of a day in 20 or more 
weeks of the current or prior calendar year.  

Certain family employment is excluded from coverage requirements (a person 
employed by their son, daughter, or spouse, or, a minor employed by a parent). 
Unemployment taxes are paid by the employer; they are not taken out of employee 
pay. You can credit the amount you pay to Vermont in calculating how much you 
owe for federal unemployment taxes.  

Deductions8 YES / 
NO 

Deductions required by law or courts (for ex. tax withholdings) generally do not 
require written authorization from the employee. Vermont laws on deductions are 
found in the minimum wage law, from which agriculture workers are exempt. So 
employers should look to federal rules instead; refer to the federal factsheet. 

Bonuses9 YES  Under Vermont wage law, the definition of wages includes incentive pay. Generally, 
discretionary bonuses are not to be considered wages, while nondiscretionary 
bonuses may be considered wages and protected under wage law. 
 
A nondiscretionary bonus is one where the amount and criteria for getting the bonus 
are announced in advance. For example, performance goals (like meeting somatic 
cell count goals) that workers know about in advance. Discretionary bonuses are 
ones that are not announced in advance, not expected by the employee, and not an 
incentive for the employee. For example, when the farm reaches a certain financial 
goal and decides to give all employees a bonus. 
 
Employers should follow any written policy they have about paying bonuses as a 
best practice.  Please see the Summary of Vermont Wage and Hour Laws for 
information regarding bonuses. 

 
Recordkeeping 

Topic Answer Summary 
Payroll10 YES / 

NO  
Vermont wage law only addresses explicit payroll recordkeeping requirements for 
employees covered under Vermont minimum wage law, from which agricultural 
workers are exempt. However, payroll records are required as part of other laws (for 
example, Unemployment Insurance below). 

Personnel File 
Access NO 

Vermont law does not require private employers to let employees view their 
personnel file. That said, there are rules regarding the production of employee 
personnel records in civil litigation. 

Unemployment 
Insurance11 YES 

Employers subject to contributions must submit quarterly wage reports.  
 
Whether or not subject to paying Unemployment Insurance taxes, every employer 
in Vermont must maintain accurate employment records for at least four years that 
include: 

1. For each pay period: 
a. The date and total amount of compensation paid for subject 

employment; 
b. The date and total amount of compensation paid for non-subject 

employment; 

https://labor.vermont.gov/sites/labor/files/doc_library/WH-13-Wage-and-Hour-Laws-2019%20.pdf
https://labor.vermont.gov/unemployment-insurance/ui-employers/quarterly-reporting-taxable-wage-information
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c. The beginning and ending dates of each pay period; 
d. The beginning and ending dates of such subject employment and 

such non-subject employment. 
2. For each worker: 

a. Name, address, and social security account number; 
b. Place of employment; 
c. Hourly rate of pay or salary amount and the frequency of payment; 
d. Date on which worker was hired, or returned to work after a 

temporary layoff, and date separated from work and reason for 
separation; 

e. The actual days worker performed services in employment each 
week and the actual number of hours worker performed services in 
employment each day; 

f. Total compensation paid in each quarter; 
g. Worker's compensation paid for each pay period showing 

separately: 
i. Money payments (excluding special pay.) 

ii. Special compensation of all kinds showing separately: 
1. Money payments; 
2. Reasonable cash value of payments in any 

medium other than money; 
3. The nature of such special pay; and 
4. The period or periods during which the services 

were performed for which the employee received 
special pay. 

iii. The reasonable cash value of remuneration paid by the 
employing unit in any medium other than cash, i.e. lodging, 
room and board, etc.). 

iv. The amount of gratuities received from persons other than 
his or her employing unit and reported by the worker to his 
or her employing unit. 

v. Amount paid worker as allowances or reimbursements for 
traveling or other business expenses, dates of payment, 
and the amounts of such payments actually incurred and 
accounted for by worker. 

h. Whether the worker is working on a full-time or part-time basis. 
 
The records must also make it possible to determine wages earned for any week of 
employment, whether that week was less than full time, and time lost (if any) by 
each worker and the reason for it. 
 
The records must be open to inspection and subject to being copied by the 
Vermont Department of Labor at any reasonable time and as often as may be 
necessary. 
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Employers must also make available upon request the following records and 
documents: 

1. Check stubs and cancelled checks for all payments; 
2. Cash receipts and disbursement records; 
3. Payroll journal and time cards; 
4. General journal and general ledger; 
5. Copies of tax reports filed with all federal and state agencies; 
6. Copies of IRS forms W-2, W-3, and 1099. 

 
More information about employer obligations are found in the Employer 
Handbook. 

Workers’ 
Compensation12 YES  

Every employer subject to workers compensation coverage must keep a record of 
all injuries, fatal or otherwise, sustained by his or her employees in the course of 
their employment. 

OSHA YES Employers must comply with the federal OSHA recordkeeping standard adopted by 
VOSHA. See the federal factsheet for details. 

Federal YES There are numerous federal rules about recordkeeping. Employers should review 
the federal factsheet. 

 
Working Conditions 

Topic Answer Summary 

Bathrooms13 YES 
Vermont has incorporated the federal Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (PMO). The PMO 
specifies that dairy farms have one or more toilets that are conveniently located, 
properly constructed, properly operated, and maintained in a sanitary manner.  

Working Hours NO No max hour or day requirements for adults. See Child Labor (below) for maximum 
hours for minors. 

Rest and Meal 
Breaks14 YES 

Must provide an employee with reasonable opportunities during work periods to 
eat and to use toilet facilities. Employers that provide rest and meal breaks must 
follow the applicable federal rules. Refer to federal fact sheet. 

Labor Relations NO Vermont law does not address the rights of farm workers to organize/collective 
bargaining.  

Whistleblower 
Protection15 

YES / 
NO 

Vermont law does not provide a general protection for private sector employees 
outside of health care setting in whistleblower cases. However, topic-specific laws 
(like wage discrimination, wage laws, etc.) may protect employees that report 
unlawful practices. And specific employee disclosures (for example, OSHA-related 
violations) are protected from retaliation. 

Paid Vacation or 
Sick Leave16 YES 

Vermont law requires all employers to provide paid sick leave, with various rules for 
accrual and use. Certain employees are exempt from the sick time law, such as 
seasonal employees employed by an employer for 20 weeks or fewer in a 12-month 
period, minors under the age of 18, and employees who work for an average of less 
than 18 hours per week.  Employees accrue one hour of earned sick time for every 
52 hours worked, subject to certain caps. See detailed information from the 
Vermont Department of Labor. Employers who choose to provide other fringe 
benefits must follow their written policy/contract. 

https://labor.vermont.gov/sites/labor/files/doc_library/Employer%20Information%20Manual%202019%20%28updated%201-31-2020%29.pdf
https://labor.vermont.gov/sites/labor/files/doc_library/Earned%20Sick%20Time%20FAQ%20modified.pdf
https://labor.vermont.gov/sites/labor/files/doc_library/Earned%20Sick%20Time%20FAQ%20modified.pdf
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Breaks for Nursing 
Mothers17 YES 

For three years after the birth of a child, an employer must provide reasonable time 
(paid or unpaid) throughout the day for the employee to express milk. Employers 
must make reasonable accommodations to provide a private space that is not a 
bathroom stall. Employers can apply for an exemption if it would substantially 
disrupt operations. 
 
It is illegal to retaliate or discriminate against an employee who exercises their 
rights as above. 

Pregnancy 
Accommodations18 YES 

An employee with a pregnancy-related condition (whether or not considered to 
have a disability) has a right to reasonable accommodations in the workplace to 
perform her job. A pregnancy-related condition is one caused by pregnancy, 
childbirth, or a medical condition related to pregnancy or childbirth. The law 
applies to all Vermont workplaces and all pregnant employees. 
 
Employees must request accommodations. Employers can decline a request for 
accommodation if it would constitute an undue hardship (significantly difficult, 
unduly expensive, or unworkable to put into place), but cannot ignore a request, 
retaliate against an employee, or fire the employee for making the request. 
 
For leave, see ‘Family and Medical Leave’ below. 

Family, Parental, 
and Pregnancy 
Leave19 

YES 

Employers with 10 or more employees who work on average at least 30 hours per 
week each year must provide parental leave.  
 
Employers with 15 or more employees who work on average at least 30 hours per 
week each year must provide family leave.  
 
To be eligible for parental leave or family leave, the employee must have worked for 
the employer for at least one year and work at least 30 hours per week on average.  
 
An employee must provide reasonable written notice of intent to take leave. Leave 
can be for a period of up to 12 weeks during any 12-month period. Family leave can 
be taken for the serious illness of the employee; the employee's child, stepchild, or 
ward who lives with the employee, or foster child; the employee's parent; the 
employee's spouse; or the employee's spouse's parent. Parental leave can be taken 
for: 

• The birth of the employee's child. 
• The initial placement of a child who is 16 years old or younger with the 

employee for adoption. 
 
When returning from leave under this law, the employee must be offered the same 
or comparable job at the same level of compensation, benefits, seniority, or other 
terms and conditions existing on the day leave began (though there are some 
exceptions). 
 

https://labor.vermont.gov/document/parental-and-family-leave-poster-mandatory
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Short-term family leave can also be taken under this law, to a maximum of 4 hours 
in any 30-day period, and up to 24 hours in any 12-month period. Short-term family 
leave can be to: 

• Attend to/accompany a child, stepchild, foster child, ward, parent, spouse, 
or parent-in law to routine medical or dental appointments 

• Accompany a parent, spouse, or parent-in-law to other appointments for 
care and well-being 

• Respond to a medical emergency involving a child, stepchild, foster child, 
parent, spouse, or parent-in-law 

• To participate in preschool or school activities directly related to the 
academic educational advancement of the employee’s child, stepchild, 
foster child, or ward, like a parent-teacher conference. 

 
Vermont has a guide online to help answer common questions. Leave may run 
concurrent with leave under the federal Family Medical Leave Act.  

Jury Duty and 
Witness Leave20 YES 

Employers cannot terminate an employee for jury service, or otherwise discriminate 
against them compared to an employee not serving as a juror. Employees are 
considered in the service of their employer while serving as jurors for the purposes 
of determining seniority, fringe benefits, credit toward vacations, and other rights, 
privileges, and benefits of employment. An employer is not required to pay an 
employee for time spent responding to a jury summons or serving on a jury. 

Crime Victim Leave21 YES 

Employers cannot terminate or discipline an employee who is a crime victim, 
victim’s family member, or victim’s representative for honoring a subpoena to 
testify. Additionally, employers cannot discharge or discriminate against an 
employee for an absence from work to serve as a witness pursuant to a summons 
that has been issued and served, or to attend a deposition or court proceeding 
related to a criminal proceeding or certain hearings where the employee is the 
plaintiff.  

Military and Military 
Spouse Leave22 YES 

Employees have leave and reinstatement rights when serving in the Reserve 
Components of the U.S. Armed Forces, of the Ready Reserve, or in a unit of the 
Vermont National Guard, or the National Guard of another state. Upon request, they 
are entitled to leaves of absence for a total of 15 days in a calendar year to attend 
drills, training, or other temporary duty. Any absence for military training or State 
active duty shall not affect the employee's right to receive normal vacation, sick 
leave, bonus, advancement, and other advantages of employment normally to be 
anticipated in the employee's particular position. There are additional federal laws 
that apply; refer to the federal factsheet. 

Voting Leave23 NO 

Vermont does not have a law requiring voting leave, but it is good practice to 
ensure employees have at least two hours on voting day to go to the polls. 
 
However, Vermont does require employers to permit an employee unpaid leave to 
attend an annual town meeting and to perform official duties in the Vermont 
General Assembly (the employee must be a member of the Vermont General 
Assembly and the law only applies to employers with 6 or more employees). 

https://women.vermont.gov/sites/women/files/doc_library/Parental_Family_Leave_Guide.pdf
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School Activity 
Leave YES See ‘Family and Medical’ leave above. 

 
Human Rights 

Topic Answer Summary 

Employment 
Discrimination24 YES 

Vermont law prohibits employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, 
national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, genetic information, 
ancestry, place of birth, age, credit history, crime victim status, HIV status, physical 
or mental condition, and pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical condition. 
 
Employment discrimination means bias in hiring (including during interviews), 
promotion, job assignments, firing, pay, and other terms of employment.  
 
Employers cannot pay men and women different wages for comparable work on 
jobs that have virtually the same requirements in terms of skills, effort, and 
responsibility. Wage differences based on seniority, merit, quantity or quality of 
production or other factors other than sex are permitted.  An employer cannot ask 
for or seek information regarding prospective worker’s current or past 
compensation but can inquire as to salary expectations or requirements. 
 
It is illegal to retaliate against employees for filing or otherwise aiding with a 
complaint. 

Harassment / Sexual 
Harassment25 YES 

All employers, employment agencies, and labor organizations have an obligation to 
ensure a workplace free of sexual harassment. Sexual harassment is a type of 
discrimination based on sex that is illegal in Vermont. Employers must also have a 
workplace policy against sexual harassment, post the policy in the workplace, and 
provide a written copy of the policy to all employees. 
 
Sexual harassment is unwelcome conduct. It becomes illegal when (1) employees 
have no choice but to tolerate the harassment if they want to keep their job; (2) it is 
so severe that a regular person would see it as intimidating, hostile, or abusive. 
 
Sexual harassment includes unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors 
and verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature when: 

• Engaging in such conduct is made an implicit or explicit term or condition 
of employment. Example: A newly hired milker is told that sexual jokes, 
touching and nude posters are just part of farm life and she should try to 
ignore it. 

• Acceptance or rejection of such conduct is used as the basis for an 
employment decision affecting an employee. Example: A manager tells a 
worker applying for a promotion that the job would be his if he just “treated 
her right.” 

• The conduct interferes with an employee's work or creates an intimidating, 
hostile or offensive work environment. Example: One worker experiences 
repeated advances from another asking her for dates or “just to go out for 

https://ago.vermont.gov/employment-law/
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drinks after work.” The worker says she isn’t interested, but the co-worker 
won’t take ‘no’ for an answer. 

 
It is illegal to retaliate against employees for filing or otherwise aiding with a 
complaint. 

Forced Labor26 YES 

Human trafficking is illegal in Vermont. Trafficking for labor means: the recruitment, 
enticing, harboring, transportation, provisioning, compelling or obtaining by any 
means of a person for labor for subjection to forced labor servitude or forced 
services. More details. 
 
Employers should ensure they are carefully following all visa requirements or work 
agreements to avoid any inadvertent violations. 

 
Child Labor 

Topic Answer Summary 

Child Labor27 YES 

Work permits required if under 16 AND employed during school hours in other than 
a duly approved educational or vocational course of study. 
 
Minimum age: 

• During school hours: 16  
• Outside school hours: 14, 12 with written parental consent 
• Minors employed in agriculture by a parent or guardian do not have to 

adhere to the minimum age requirements 
 
There are restricted and prohibited occupations for youth workers in agriculture. 
Additionally, must follow federal restrictions/prohibited occupations for 
agricultural work and other federal rules found in the federal factsheet. 

 
Health and Safety 

Topic Answer Summary 

OSHA29 YES  

Vermont has an approved OSHA ‘state-plan’, which means it is at least as effective 
as federal OSHA. Similar to federal OSHA, VOSHA has a general duty clause that 
requires employers to provide employees a workplace free from recognized 
hazards that can cause death or serious physical harm.  
 
VOSHA has adopted the federal OSHA Standards for Agriculture, the General 
Industry Standards that apply to agriculture, and the reporting/recordkeeping 
requirements. See the federal factsheet for details on requirements 

Workers 
Compensation28 

YES 

Agriculture employers must have workers compensation coverage if they have an 
aggregate payroll greater than $10,000 in a calendar year. Coverage is optional for 
family members that live with you. 
 
Employers must report a work injury that results in either medical attention or one 
lost day of work or more within 72 hours of notice or knowledge of an injury. This is 
done by filing an Employer's First Report of Injury form. In addition to the FROI form, 

http://www.ccvs.vermont.gov/
https://labor.vermont.gov/document/child-labor-poster
https://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs40.htm
http://labor.vermont.gov/vosha/
https://labor.vermont.gov/sites/labor/files/doc_library/EMPLOYERS%20RESPONSIBILITY%20FOR%20REPORTING%20AN%20INJURY.pdf
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employers must notify the Division within 24 hours of any fatality or an accident in 
which three or more employees are injured. 
 
Vermont Workers’ Compensation law requires a covered employer to reinstate an 
injured/disabled employees if they recover from the injury within two years of being 
disabled to the first available suitable position. 

Housing YES  

Housing provided as a benefit of farm employment must adhere to the Vermont 
Rental Housing Health Code. Employers may be entitled to an expedited eviction 
process when employment is terminated.  
 
Employers should follow best practices when providing housing – which includes, 
at minimum, a written housing agreement and properly maintaining the facilities. 
The FARM HR Manual has guidance around best practices for agricultural worker 
housing. 

 
 

1 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 33, §4110 
2 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §342 
3 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §342 
4 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §383 
5 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §383 
6 CVR 24-090-003 
7 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 32, §5841; Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §1301 
8 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit 21, § 383 and 384(c); CVR 24-090-003, Section X. 
9 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §341 
10 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §393 
11 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §1314; CVR 24-005-001. Rule 4, Rule 6 
12 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §701 
13 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 6, §2701 
14 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §304 
15 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §507 
16 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §481 et seq.; CVR 13-005-003 
17 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §305 
18 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21 §495k 
19 Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 21, § 471 et seq. 
20 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §499 
21 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 13, §5313, Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §499, Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §472c.  
22 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §491, §492, §493 
23 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §472b, §496 
24 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §495 et seq (incl. §495m); Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit 18, §9333 
25 See above; and Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §495d; §495h 
26 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 13, §2652 et seq. 
27 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §431; CVR 24-010-009 Part A 570.2(b), Part C 570.35, Part E 570.50, Part E-1. 
28 CVR 24-010-003, Rule 3; Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §643(b)  
29 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21, §223; CVR 24-050-039  
 

https://labor.vermont.gov/sites/labor/files/doc_library/Fact%20Sheet%20For%20Employers.pdf
http://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/REG_Rental_Housing_Code.pdf
http://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/REG_Rental_Housing_Code.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2018/WorkGroups/House%20Commerce/Executive%20Order%2005-17/W%7EHeather%20Pipino%7EOverview%20of%20the%20Wage%20and%20Hour%20Division%7E1-31-2017.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2018/WorkGroups/House%20Commerce/Executive%20Order%2005-17/W%7EHeather%20Pipino%7EOverview%20of%20the%20Wage%20and%20Hour%20Division%7E1-31-2017.pdf

