State of Vermont House of Representatives



Montpelier, Vermont

Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 98

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2023 Vermont finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

Offered by: Representatives McCann of Montpelier, Andrews of Westford, Arsenault of Williston, Black of Essex, Bongartz of Manchester, Brady of Williston, Burke of Brattleboro, Carpenter of Hyde Park, Chapin of East Montpelier, Dodge of Essex, Dolan of Essex Junction, Garofano of Essex, Houghton of Essex Junction, and Noyes of Wolcott

Whereas, since 1983, the National Science Foundation, in collaboration with the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, has annually presented the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) to two teachers from each state and American jurisdiction who teach either science, technology, engineering, or mathematics, and

Whereas, on a rotating basis, the eligible applicants are either elementary, or, as for the 2022–2023 academic year, secondary school teachers, and

Whereas, a local committee of prominent science and technology teachers and researchers reviews the applicants and selects a maximum of six teachers, and

Whereas, the factors considered include "evidence of deep content knowledge, exemplary pedagogical skills, student assessment expertise, reflective teaching, and leadership that results in improved student learning," and

Whereas, each jurisdictional awardee receives a \$10,000 National Science Foundation award and an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. for the awards ceremony, recognition events, and professional development opportunities at which a maximum of two national awardees per state or jurisdiction are named, and

Whereas, in 2023, the fantastic Vermont teachers who earned PAEMST finalist status for math are Michelle Page (Brattleboro Union High School), Thomas Payeur (Essex Center for Technology), and Brian Schwartz (Green Mountain Technology and Career Center), and for science are Randy Brown (U-32), Allan Miller (Williston Central School), and Nicole Preiser (Burr and Burton Academy), now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2023 Vermont finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each teacher honored in this resolution.