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ACTION CALENDAR
Favorable with Amendment
H.R. 18

House resolution calling on Franklin County Sheriff John Grismore to
resign from office

Rep. McCarthy of St. Albans City, for the Committee on Government
Operations and Military Affairs, recommends that the resolution be amended
by striking out all of the Whereas and Resolved clauses in their entireties and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Whereas, House Resolution 11 of 2023 created the Special Committee on
Impeachment Inquiry to investigate whether sufficient grounds exist for the
House of Representatives to exercise its constitutional power to impeach
Franklin County Sheriff John Grismore, and

Whereas, the Special Committee met five times during the autumn of 2023
and interviewed 26 witnesses in the matter of John Grismore, and

Whereas, on August 7, 2022, Mr. Grismore was involved in a widely
publicized use-of-force incident during which he kicked a shackled man who
was in the custody of the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office, and

Whereas, significant concerns have been raised over Mr. Grismore’s
potential mishandling of financial matters in the Franklin County Sheriff’s
Office and regarding the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office’s performance
under its law enforcement contracts with municipalities, and

Whereas, while there is no specific standard in the Vermont Constitution or
in U.S. history for what constitutes impeachable conduct, the recurring theme
throughout most or all impeachments is conduct that undermines the position
of trust to which the official has been elected, which may include improperly
exceeding or abusing the powers of office, behaving in a manner that is
incompatible with the function and purpose of the office, or misusing the
office for an improper purpose or for personal gain, and

Whereas, Mr. Grismore paid himself $16,550.14 for his retirement
compensation between December 2021 and July 2022, requiring the Franklin
County Sheriff’s Office to provide the Vermont State Employees’ Retirement
System with $20,232.02 in January 2023 to restore the employer and employee
contributions owed to the State pension system, and
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Whereas, on December 6, 2023, the Vermont Criminal Justice Council
found, by a unanimous 16-0 vote, that Mr. Grismore had engaged in
unprofessional conduct through his excessive use of force in violation of the
Statewide Policy on Police Use of Force and, by a subsequent 15-1 vote,
imposed its highest sanction by permanently revoking Mr. Grismore’s law
enforcement officer certification, and

Whereas, Vermont law enforcement officer certification is essential for the
performance of many of the duties of the office of Sheriff, including proper
supervision of deputies, but the Vermont Constitution does not require such a
qualification for holding the office, and the legal precedents are quite clear that
a state legislature cannot impose qualifications for election to a constitutional
office that go beyond those expressed in the state’s own constitution, and

Whereas, the excessive use-of-force incident and the inappropriate
retirement payments, which are the most concerning conduct identified by the
Special Committee on Impeachment Inquiry, occurred prior to the election of
Mr. Grismore to the office of Sheriff, and

Whereas, only in rare circumstances should an elected official be
impeached for pre-incumbency conduct, and such circumstances do not exist
in the matter of Mr. Grismore, now therefore be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives:

That while this legislative body does not find articles of impeachment to be
appropriate at this time, this legislative body urges Mr. Grismore to resign
from the Office of Franklin County Sheriff for the good of the people of
Franklin County, and be it further

Resolved: That the Clerk of the House be directed to send a copy of this
resolution to John Grismore.

(Committee Vote: 10-1-1)
S. 192
An act relating to forensic facility admissions criteria and processes

Rep. Donahue of Northfield, for the Committee on Human Services,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

***Purpose***
Sec. 1. PURPOSE

It is the purpose of this act to:
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(1) enable the Commissioner of Mental Health to seek treatment and

programming for certain individuals in a forensic facility as anticipated by the
passage of 2023 Acts and Resolves No. 27; and

(2) update the civil commitment procedures for individuals with

intellectual disabilities.

* * * Human Services Community Safety Panel * * *
Sec. 2. 3 V.S.A. § 3098 is added to read:
§ 3098. HUMAN SERVICES COMMUNITY SAFETY PANEL

(a) There is hereby created the Human Services Community Safety Panel

within the Agency of Human Services. The Panel shall be designated as the
entity responsible for assessing the potential placement of individuals at a

forensic facility pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 4821 for individuals who:

(1) present a significant risk of danger to self or others if not held in a

secure setting: and

(2)(A) are charged with a crime for which there is no right to bail
pursuant to 13 V.S.A. §§ 7553 and 7553a and are found not competent to stand
trial due to mental illness or intellectual disability; or

(B) were charged with a crime for which bail is not available and
adjudicated not guilty by reason of insanity.

(b)(1) The Panel shall comprise the following members:

(A) the Secretary of Human Services;
(B) the Commissioner of Mental Health; and
(C) the Commissioner of Corrections.

(2) The Panel shall have the technical, legal, fiscal, and administrative

support of the Agency of Human Services and the Departments of Mental
Health and of Corrections.

(c) As used in this section, “forensic facility” has the same meaning as in
18 V.S.A. § 7101.

Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 4821 is amended to read:
§ 4821. NOTICE OF HEARING; PROCEDURES

(a) The person who is the subject of the proceedings;—his—er—her; the
person’s attorneys; the person’s legal guardian, if any;; the Commissioner of
Mental Health or the Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging, and Independent
Living;; and the State’s Attorney or other prosecuting officer representing the
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State in the case shall be given notice of the time and place of a hearing under
section 4820 of this title. Procedures for hearings for persons with a mental
illness shall be as provided in 18 V.S.A. chapter 181. Procedures for hearings
for persons with an intellectual disability shall be as provided in 18 V.S.A.
chapter 206, subchapter 3.

(b)(1) Once a report concerning competency or sanity is completed or
disclosed to the opposing party, the Human Services Community Safety Panel
established in 3 V.S.A. § 3098 may conduct a review on its own initiative
regarding whether placement of the person who is the subject of the report is
appropriate in a forensic facility. The review shall inform the Commissioner
of Mental Health’s decision as to whether to seek placement of the person in a
forensic facility.

(2)(A) If the Panel does not initiate its own review, a party to a hearing
under section 4820 of this chapter may file a written motion to the court
requesting that the Panel conduct a review within seven days after receiving a
report under section 4816 of this chapter or within seven days after being
adjudicated not guilty by reason of insanity.

(B) A motion filed pursuant to this subdivision (2) shall specify that
the person who is the subject of the proceedings is charged with a crime for
which there is no right to bail pursuant to sections 7553 and 7553a of this title,
and may include a person adjudicated not guilty by reason of insanity, and that

the person presents a significant risk of danger to themselves or the public if
not held in a secure setting.

(C) The court shall rule on a motion filed pursuant to this subdivision
(2) within five days. A Panel review ordered pursuant to this subdivision (2)
shall be completed and submitted to the court at least three days prior to a
hearing under section 4820 of this title.

(¢) In conducting a review as whether to seek placement of a person in a

forensic facility, the Human Services Community Safety Panel shall consider
the following criteria:

(1) clinical factors, including:

(A) that the person is served in the least restrictive setting necessary
to meet the needs of the person: and

(B) that the person’s treatment and programming needs dictate that
the treatment or programming be provided at an intensive residential level; and
(2) risk of harm factors, including:
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(A) whether the person has inflicted or attempted to inflict serious

bodily injury on another, attempted suicide or serious self-injury, or committed
an act that would constitute sexual conduct with a child as defined in section
2821 of this title or lewd and lascivious conduct with a child as provided in
section 2602 of this title, and there is reasonable probability that the conduct
will be repeated if admission to a forensic facility is not ordered;

(B) whether the person has threatened to inflict serious bodily injury

to the person or others and there is reasonable probability that the conduct will
occur if admission to a forensic facility is not ordered;

(C) whether the results of any applicable evidence-based violence
risk assessment tool indicates that the person’s behavior is deemed a

significant risk to others;
(D) the position of the parties to the criminal case as well as that of

any victim as defined in subdivision 5301(4) of this title; and

(E) any other factors the Human Services Community Safety Panel
determines to be relevant to the assessment of risk.

(d) As used in this chapter, “forensic facility” has the same meaning as in
18 V.S.A. § 7101.

* % * Admission to Forensic Facility for Persons in Need of Treatment or
Continued Treatment * * *

Sec. 4. 13 V.S.A. § 4822 is amended to read:
§ 4822. FINDINGS AND ORDER; PERSONS WITH A MENTAL ILLNESS

(a)(1) If the court finds that the person is a person in need of treatment or a
patient in need of further treatment as defined in 18 V.S.A. § 7101, the court
shall issue an order of commitment directed to the Commissioner of Mental
Health that shall admit the person to the care and custody of the Department of
Mental Health for an-indeterminate a period of 90 days. In any case involving
personal injury or threat of personal injury, the committing court may issue an
order requiring a court hearing before a person committed under this section
may be discharged from custody.

(2) If the Commissioner seeks to have a person receive treatment in a

forensic facility pursuant to an order of nonhospitalization under subdivision

(1) of this subsection, the Commissioner shall submit a petition to the court

expressly stating that such treatment is being sought, including:

(A) a statement setting forth the reasons for the Commissioner’s

determination that clinically appropriate treatment for the person’s condition
can be provided safely only in a forensic facility; and
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(B) the recommendation of the Human Services Community Safety

Panel pursuant to section 4821 of this title.

(3) If the Commissioner determines that treatment at a forensic facility

i1s appropriate, and the court finds that treatment at a forensic facility is the
least restrictive setting adequate to meet the person’s needs, the court shall
order the person to receive treatment at a forensic facility for a period of 90
days. The court may, at any time following the issuance of an order, on its
own motion or on motion of an interested party, review whether treatment at
the forensic facility continues to be the least restrictive treatment option.

(b) An order of commitment issued pursuant to this section shall have the
same force and effect as an order issued under 18 V.S.A. §§ 7611-7622, and a
person committed under this order shall have the same status and the same
rights, including the right to receive care and treatment, to be examined and
discharged, and to apply for and obtain judicial review of his—er—her the
person’s case, as a person ordered committed under 18 V.S.A. §§ 7611-7622.

(c)(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (b) of this section, at
least 10 days prior to the proposed discharge of any person committed under
this section, the Commissioner of Mental Health shall give notice of the
discharge to the committing court and State’s Attorney of the county where the
prosecution originated. In all cases requiring a hearing prior to discharge of a
person found incompetent to stand trial under section 4817 of this title, the
hearing shall be conducted by the committing court issuing the order under
that section. In all other cases, when the committing court orders a hearing
under subsection (a) of this section or when, in the discretion of the
Commissioner of Mental Health, a hearing should be held prior to the
discharge, the hearing shall be held in the Family Division of the Superior
Court to determine if the committed person is no longer a person in need of
treatment or a patient in need of further treatment as set forth in subsection (a)
of this section. Notice of the hearing shall be given to the Commissioner, the
State’s Attorney of the county where the prosecution originated, the committed
person, and the person’s attorney. Prior to the hearing, the State’s Attorney
may enter an appearance in the proceedings and may request examination of
the patient by an independent psychiatrist, who may testify at the hearing.

(2)(A) This subdivision (2) shall apply when a person is committed to
the care and custody of the Commissioner of Mental Health under this section
after having been found:

(i) not guilty by reason of insanity; or

(i) incompetent to stand trial, provided that the person’s criminal
case has not been dismissed.
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(B)(1i) When a person has been committed under this section, the
Commissioner shall provide notice to the State’s Attorney of the county where
the prosecution originated or to the Office of the Attorney General if that
office prosecuted the case:

(I) at least 10 days prior to discharging the person from:
(aa) the care and custody of the Commissioner; or

(bb) a hospital, a forensic facility, or a secure residential
recovery facility to the community on an order of nonhospitalization pursuant
to 18 V.S.A. § 7618;

(IT) at least 10 days prior to the expiration of a commitment
order issued under this section if the Commissioner does not seek continued
treatment; or

(III) any time that the person elopes from the custody of the
Commissioner.

(i1)) When the State’s Attorney or Attorney General receives notice
under subdivision (i) of this subdivision (B), the Office shall provide notice of
the action to any victim of the offense for which the person has been charged
who has not opted out of receiving notice. A victim receiving notice pursuant
to this subdivision (ii) has the right to submit a victim impact statement to the

Family Division of the Superior Court in writing or through the State’s
Attorney or Attorney General’s office.

(ii1)) As used in this subdivision (B), “victim” has the same
meaning as in section 5301 of this title.

(d) The court may continue the hearing provided in subsection (c) of this
section for a period of 15 additional days upon a showing of good cause.

(e) If the court determines that commitment shall no longer be necessary, it
shall issue an order discharging the patient from the custody of the Department
of Mental Health.

(f) The court shall issue its findings and order not later than 15 days from
the date of hearing.

Sec. 5. 18 V.S.A. § 7101 is amended to read:
§ 7101. DEFINITIONS

As used in this part of this title, the following words, unless the context
otherwise requires, shall have the following meanings:

* %k 3k
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(31)(A) ‘“Forensic facility” means a residential facility, licensed as a
therapeutic community residence as defined in 33 V.S.A. § 7102(11), for an

individual initially committed pursuant to:

(i) 13 V.S.A. § 4822 who is in need of treatment or continued
treatment pursuant to chapter 181 of this title within a secure setting for an
extended period of time; or

(i) 13 V.S.A. § 4823 who is in need of custody, care, and
habilitation or continued custody, care, and habilitation pursuant to chapter
206 of this title within a secure setting for an extended period of time.

(B) A forensic facility shall not be used for any purpose other than

the purposes permitted by this part or chapter 206 of this title. As used in this

subdivision (31), “secure” has the same meaning as in section 7620 of this
title.

Sec. 6. 18 V.S.A. § 7620 is amended to read:
§ 7620. APPLICATION FOR CONTINUED TREATMENT

(a) If, prior to the expiration of any order issued in accordance with section
7623 of this title, the Commissioner believes that the condition of the patient is
such that the patient continues to require treatment, the Commissioner shall
apply to the court for a determination that the patient is a patient in need of
further treatment and for an order of continued treatment.

(b) An application for an order authorizing continuing treatment shall
contain a statement setting forth the reasons for the Commissioner’s
determination that the patient is a patient in need of further treatment, a
statement describing the treatment program provided to the patient, and the
results of that course of treatment.

(c) Any order of treatment issued in accordance with section 7623 of this
title shall remain in force pending the court’s decision on the application.

(d) If the Commissioner seeks to have the patient receive the further
treatment in a forensic facility or secure residential recovery facility, the
application for an order authorizing continuing treatment shall expressly state
that such treatment is being sought. The application shall contain, in addition
to the statements required by subsection (b) of this section, a statement setting
forth the reasons for the Commissioner’s determination that clinically
appropriate treatment for the patient’s condition can be provided safely only in
a secure residential recovery facility or forensic facility, as appropriate. An
application for continued treatment in a forensic facility shall include the

recommendation of the Human Services Community Safety Panel pursuant to
13 V.S.A. § 4821.
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(e) Asused in this chapter:

(1) “Secure,” when describing a residential facility, means that the
residents can be physically prevented from leaving the facility by means of
locking devices or other mechanical or physical mechanisms.

(2) “Secure residential recovery facility” means a residential facility,
licensed as a therapeutic community residence as defined in 33 V.S.A.
§ 7102(11), for an individual who no longer requires acute inpatient care but
who does remain in need of treatment within a secure setting for an extended
period of time. A secure residential recovery facility shall not be used for any
purpose other than the purposes permitted by this section.

Sec. 7. 18 V.S.A. § 7621 is amended to read:
§ 7621. HEARING ON APPLICATION FOR CONTINUED TREATMENT;
ORDERS

* sk 3k

(c) If the court finds that the patient is a patient in need of further treatment
but does not require hospitalization, it shall order nonhospitalization for up to
one year. If the treatment plan proposed by the Commissioner for a patient in
need of further treatment includes admission to a secure residential recovery
facility or a forensic facility, the court may at any time, on its own motion or
on motion of an interested party, review the need for treatment at the secure
residential recovery facility or forensic facility, as applicable.

* %k 3k

Sec. 8. 18 V.S.A. § 7624 is amended to read:
§ 7624. APPLICATION FOR INVOLUNTARY MEDICATION

(a) The Commissioner may commence an action for the involuntary
medication of a person who is refusing to accept psychiatric medication and
meets any one of the following six conditions:

(1) has been placed in the Commissioner’s care and custody pursuant to
section 7619 of this title or subsection 7621(b) of this title;

(2) has previously received treatment under an order of hospitalization
and is currently under an order of nonhospitalization, including a person on an
order of nonhospitalization who resides in a secure residential recovery
facility;

(3) has been committed to the custody of the Commissioner of
Corrections as a convicted felon and is being held in a correctional facility that
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is a designated facility pursuant to section 7628 of this title and for whom the
Departments of Corrections and of Mental Health have determined jointly that
involuntary medication would be appropriate pursuant to 28 V.S.A.
§ 907(4)(H);

(4) has an application for involuntary treatment pending for which the
court has granted a motion to expedite pursuant to subdivision
7615(a)(2)(A)(i) of this title;

(5)(A) has an application for involuntary treatment pending;

(B) waives the right to a hearing on the application for involuntary
treatment until a later date; and

(C) agrees to proceed with an involuntary medication hearing
without a ruling on whether he—er—she the person is a person in need of
treatment; or

(6) has been placed under an order of nonhospitalization in a forensic
facility; or

(7) has had an application for involuntary treatment pending pursuant to
subdivision 7615(a)(1) of this title for more than 26 days without a hearing
having occurred and the treating psychiatrist certifies, based on specific
behaviors and facts set forth in the certification, that in his—er—her the
psychiatrist’s professional judgment there is good cause to believe that:

(A) additional time will not result in the person establishing a
therapeutic relationship with providers or regaining competence; and

(B) serious deterioration of the person’s mental condition is
occurring.

(b)(1) Except as provided in subdivisions (2), (3), and (4) of this
subsection, an application for involuntary medication shall be filed in the
Family Division of the Superior Court in the county in which the person is
receiving treatment.

(2) If the application for involuntary medication is filed pursuant to
subdivision (a)(4) or (a)(6) of this section:

(A) the application shall be filed in the county in which the
application for involuntary treatment is pending; and

(B) the court shall consolidate the application for involuntary
treatment with the application for involuntary medication and rule on the
application for involuntary treatment before ruling on the application for
involuntary medication.
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(3) If the application for involuntary medication is filed pursuant to
subdivision (a)(5) or (a){6)(7) of this section, the application shall be filed in
the county in which the application for involuntary treatment is pending.

(4) Within 72 hours of the filing of an application for involuntary
medication pursuant to subdivision (a)(6)(7) of this section, the court shall
determine, based solely upon a review of the psychiatrist’s certification and
any other filings, whether the requirements of that subdivision have been
established. If the court determines that the requirements of subdivision
(a)¢6)(7) of this section have been established, the court shall consolidate the
application for involuntary treatment with the application for involuntary
medication and hear both applications within 10 days after the date that the
application for involuntary medication is filed. The court shall rule on the
application for involuntary treatment before ruling on the application for
involuntary medication. Subsection 7615(b) of this title shall apply to
applications consolidated pursuant to this subdivision.

* sk 3k

Sec. 9. 18 V.S.A. § 7627 is amended to read:
§ 7627. COURT FINDINGS; ORDERS

* sk 3k

(o) For a person who is receiving treatment pursuant to an order of
nonhospitalization in a forensic facility, if the court finds that without an order
for involuntary medication there is a substantial probability that the person
would continue to refuse medication and as a result would pose a danger of
harm to self or others, the court may order administration of involuntary
medications at a forensic facility for up to 90 days, unless the court finds that
an order is necessary for a longer period of time. An order for involuntary
medication pursuant to this subsection shall not be longer than the duration of
the current order of nonhospitalization. If at any time the treating psychiatrist
finds that a person subject to an order for involuntary medication has become
competent pursuant to subsection 7625(c) of this title, the order shall no longer
be in effect.

* * * Persons in Need of Custody, Care, and Habilitation or Continued
Custody, Care, and Habilitation * * *

Sec. 10. 13 V.S.A. § 4814 is amended to read:
§ 4814. ORDER FOR EXAMINATION OF COMPETENCY

* ok 3k
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(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, an examination ordered
pursuant to subsection (a) of this section may be conducted by a doctoral-level
psychologist trained in forensic psychology and licensed under 26 V.S.A.

chapter 55. Fhis-subseetionshall berepealed-enJuly1,2024-

* ok 3k

Sec. 11. 13 V.S.A. § 4815 is amended to read:
§ 4815. PLACE OF EXAMINATION; TEMPORARY COMMITMENT

* %k 3k

(b) The order for examination may provide for an examination at any jail
or correctional eenter facility, or at the State Hospital, or at its successor in
interest, or at such other place as the court shall determine, after hearing a
recommendation by the Commissioner of Mental Health or the Commissioner

of Disabilities, Aging, and Independent, as appropriate.
k %k %

(d) Upon the making of a motion for examination, if the court finds
sufficient facts to order an examination, the court shall order a mental-health
screening to be completed by a designated mental health professional or
qualified intellectual disability professional, as appropriate, while the
defendant is still at the court.

(e) If the screening cannot be commenced and completed at the courthouse
within two hours from the time of the defendant’s appearance before the court,
the court may forgo consideration of the screener’s recommendations.

(f) The court and parties shall review the recommendation of the
designated mental-health professional and consider the facts and circumstances
surrounding the charge and observations of the defendant in court. If the court
finds sufficient facts to order an examination, it may be ordered to be
completed in the least restrictive environment deemed sufficient to complete
the examination, consistent with subsection (a) of this section.

(g)(1) Inpatient examination at the Vermont State Hospital, or its successor
in interest, or a designated hospital. The court shall not order an inpatient
examination unless the a designated mental health professional determines that
the defendant is a person in need of treatment as defined in 18 V.S.A. §
7101(17).

(2) Before ordering the inpatient examination, the court shall determine
what terms, if any, shall govern the defendant’s release from custody under
sections 7553-7554 of this title.
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(3) An order for inpatient examination shall provide for placement of
the defendant in the custody and care of the Commissioner of Mental Health.

(A) If a Vermont State Hospital psychiatrist, or a psychiatrist of its
successor in interest, or a designated hospital psychiatrist determines that the
defendant is not in need of inpatient hospitalization prior to admission, the
Commissioner shall release the defendant pursuant to the terms governing the
defendant’s release from the Commissioner’s custody as ordered by the court.
The Commissioner of Mental Health shall ensure that all individuals who are
determined not to be in need of inpatient hospitalization receive appropriate
referrals for outpatient mental health services.

(B) If a Vermont State Hospital psychiatrist, or a psychiatrist of its
successor in interest, or designated hospital psychiatrist determines that the
defendant is in need of inpatient hospitalization:

(i) The Commissioner of Mental Health shall obtain an
appropriate inpatient placement for the defendant at the Vermont State
Hospital psychiatrist, or a psychiatrist of its successor in interest, or a
designated hospital and, based on the defendant’s clinical needs, may transfer
the defendant between hospitals at any time while the order is in effect. A
transfer to a designated hospital outside the no refusal system is subject to
acceptance of the patient for admission by that hospital.

(i) The defendant shall be returned to court for further appearance
on the following business day if the defendant is no longer in need of inpatient
hospitalization, unless the terms established by the court pursuant to
subdivision (2) of this section permit the defendant to be released from
custody.

(C) The defendant shall be returned to court for further appearance
within two business days after the Commissioner of Mental Health notifies the
court that the examination has been completed, unless the terms established by
the court pursuant to subdivision (2) of this section permit the defendant to be
released from custody.

* %k 3k

Sec. 12. 13 V.S.A. § 4816 is amended to read:
§ 4816. SCOPE OF EXAMINATION; REPORT; EVIDENCE

* sk 3k

(b) A competency evaluation for an individual thought to have a
developmental an intellectual disability shall inelude be a current evaluation by
a doctoral-level psychologist trained in forensic psychology and licensed under
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26 V.S.A. chapter 55 who is skilled in assessing individuals with

developmental intellectual disabilities.

* %k 3k

(e) The relevant portion of a psychiatrist’s or psychologist’s report shall be
admitted into evidence as an exhibit on the issue of the person’s mental
competency to stand trial and the opinion shall be conclusive on the issue if
agreed to by the parties and if found by the court to be relevant and probative
on the issue.

(f) Introduction of a report under subsection (d) of this section shall not
preclude either party or the court from calling the psychiatrist or psychologist
who wrote the report as a witness or from calling witnesses or introducing
other relevant evidence. Any witness called by either party on the issue of the
defendant’s competency shall be at the State’s expense, or, if called by the
court, at the court’s expense.

Sec. 13. 13 V.S.A. § 4817 is amended to read:
§ 4817. COMPETENCY TO STAND TRIAL; DETERMINATION

* %k 3k

(c) If a person indicted, complained, or informed against for an alleged
criminal offense, an attorney or guardian acting in the person’s behalf, or the
State, at any time before final judgment, raises before the court before which
such person is tried or is to be tried, the issue of whether such person is
incompetent to stand trial, or if the court has reason to believe that such person
may not be competent to stand trial, a hearing shall be held before such court
at which evidence shall be received and a finding made regarding the person’s
competency to stand trial. However, in cases where the court has reason to
believe that such person may be incompetent to stand trial due to a mental
disease or mental defect, such hearing shall not be held until an examination
has been made and a report submitted by an examining psychiatrist or
psychologist in accordance with sections 48144816 of this title.

% %k ok
Sec. 14. 13 V.S.A. § 4820 is amended to read:
§ 4820. HEARING REGARDING COMMITMENT

(a)(1) When a person charged on information, complaint, or indictment
with a criminal offense:

H—{Repealed:]
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2)(A) 1is found upon hearing pursuant to section 4817 of this title to be
incompetent to stand trial due to a mental disease or mental defect;

3)(B) is not indicted upon hearing by grand jury by reason of insanity
at the time of the alleged offense, duly certified to the court; or

4(C) wupon trial by court or jury is acquitted by reason of insanity at
the time of the alleged offense:.

(2) the The court before which such person is tried or is to be tried for
such offense, shall hold a hearing for the purpose of determining whether such
person should be committed to the custody of the Commissioner of Mental
Health or Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living, as
appropriate. Such person may be confined in jail or some other suitable place
by order of the court pending hearing for a period not exceeding 21 days.

(b) When a person is found to be incompetent to stand trial, has not been
indicted by reason of insanity for the alleged offense, or has been acquitted by
reason of insanity at the time of the alleged offense, the person shall be entitled
to have counsel appointed from Vermont Legal Aid to represent the person.
The Department of Mental Health and, if applicable, the Department of
Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living shall be entitled to appear and call
witnesses at the proceeding.

(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a commitment order issued
pursuant to this chapter shall not modify or vacate orders concerning
conditions of release or bail issued pursuant to chapter 229 of this title, and the
commitment order shall remain in place unless expressly modified, provided
that inpatient treatment shall be permitted if a person who is held without bail
is found to be in need of inpatient treatment under this chapter.

Sec. 15. 13 V.S.A. § 4823 is amended to read:
§ 4823. FINDINGS AND ORDER; PERSONS WITH AN INTELLECTUAL
DISABILITY

(a) If the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that such person is a
person in need of custody, care, and habilitation as defined in 18 V.S.A.
§ 8839, the court shall issue an order of commitment for up to one year
directed to the Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living

for placement in a designated program in the least restrictive environment
consistent with the person’s need for custody, care, and habilitation ef-suech

cor anindefinite or limited period it ad | '

(b) Such order of commitment shall have the same force and effect as an
order issued under 18 V.S.A. §8843 chapter 206, subchapter 3 and persons
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committed under such an order shall have the same status, and the same rights,
including the right to receive care and habilitation, to be examined and
discharged, and to apply for and obtain judicial review of their cases, as

Sec. 16. 18 V.S.A. chapter 206, subchapter 3 is amended to read:

Subchapter 3. Judicial Proceeding; Persons with an Intellectual Disability
Who Present a Danger of Harm to Others

§ 8839. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

(1) - . . . . o . -

ehild “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging, and
Independent Living.

(2)  “Designated program” means a program designated by the
Commissioner as adequate to provide in an individual manner appropriate
custody, care, and habilitation to persons with intellectual disabilities receiving
services under this subchapter.

(3)(A) “Person in need of continued custody, care, and habilitation”
means a person:

(1) _who was previously found to be a person in need of custody,
care, and habilitation;

(i1) who poses a danger of harm to others; and

(ii1) for whom appropriate custody, care, and habilitation can be
provided by the Commissioner in a designated program.
(B) As used in this subdivision (3), a danger of harm to others shall
be shown by establishing that, in the time since the last order of commitment
was issued, the person:

(1) has inflicted or attempted to inflict serious bodily injury to

another or has committed an act that would constitute sexual conduct with a
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child as defined in section 2821 of this title or lewd and lascivious conduct
with a child as provided in section 2602 of this title: or

(i1) has exhibited behavior demonstrating that, absent treatment or

programming provided by the Commissioner, there is a substantial likelihood

that the person would inflict or attempt to inflict physical or sexual harm to
another.

4) “Person in need of custody, care, and habilitation” means a person:
Yy

(A) apersen with an intellectual disability, which means significantly
subaverage intellectual functioning existing concurrently with deficits in
adaptive behavior that were manifest before 18 years of age;

(B) who presents—a—danger—of—harm—to—others has inflicted or

attempted to inflict serious bodily injury to another or who has committed an
act that would constitute sexual conduct with a child as defined in section 2821

of this title or lewd and lascivious conduct with a child as provided in section
2602 of this title; and

(C) for whom appropriate custody, care, and habilitation can be
provided by the Commissioner in a designated program.

(5) “Victim” has the same meaning as in 13 V.S.A. § 5301(4).

§ 8841. PEHHON;PROCEDURES

is-title: [Repealed.]
§ 8842. HEARING

acecordanee-with-seetion8827-ef this-title- [Repealed.]
§ 8843. FINDINGS-AND-ORDER




§ 8844. LEGAL COMPETENCE

No determination that a person is in need of custody, care, and habilitation
or in need of continued custody, care, and habilitation and no order authorizing
commitment shall lead to a presumption of legal incompetence.

§ 8845. JUDIGGALREVIEW-PETITION AND ORDER FOR CONTINUED
CUSTODY, CARE, AND HABILITATION

(1) If, prior to the expiration of any previous commitment order issued
in _accordance with 13 V.S.A. § 4823 or this subchapter, the Commissioner

believes that the person is a person in need of continued custody, care, and

habilitation, the Commissioner shall seek continued custody, care, and
habilitation in the Family Division of the Superior Court. The Commissioner

shall, by filing a written petition, commence proceedings for the continued
custody, care, and habilitation of a person. The petition shall state the current
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and relevant facts upon which the person’s alleged need for continued custody,
care, and habilitation is predicated.

(2) Any commitment order for custody, care, and habilitation or

continued custody, care, and habilitation issued in accordance with 13 V.S.A.
§ 4823 or this subchapter shall remain in force pending the court’s decision on

the petition.

(b)  Upon receipt of the petition for the continued custody, care. and
habilitation, the court shall hold a hearing within 14 days after the date of

filing.

(¢) If the court finds by clear and convincing evidence at the time of the
hearing that the person is a person in need of continued custody, care, and

habilitation, it shall issue an order of commitment for up to one year in a

designated program in the least restrictive environment consistent with the
person’s need for continued custody, care, and habilitation. If the court finds

at the time of the hearing that the person is no longer in need of continued
custody, care, and habilitation, it shall discharge the person from the custody

of the Commissioner in accordance with section 8847 of this subchapter. In
determining whether a person is a person in need of continued custody, care,
and habilitation, the court shall consider the degree to which the person has
previously engaged in or complied with the treatment and programming
provided by the Commissioner.

§ 8846. RIGHT TO INITIATE REVIEW

A person may initiate a judicial review in the Family Division of the
Superior Court or an administrative review under this subchapter at any time
after 90 days following a current order of commitment or continued
commitment and not earlier than six months after the filing of a previous

application under this section. If the court or Commissioner finds that the
person is not a person in need of custody, care, and habilitation or continued

custody, care, and habilitation, the person shall be discharged from the custody
of the Commissioner pursuant to section 8847 of this subchapter.

§ 8847. DISCHARGE FROM COMMITMENT
(a) A person committed under 13 V.S.A. § 4823 or this subchapter may be

discharged as follows:

(1) by a Family Division Superior Court judge after review of an order

of custody, care, and habilitation or an order of continued custody. care. and
habilitation if the court finds that a person is not a person in need of custody,
care, and habilitation or continued custody, care, and habilitation, respectively;
or
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(2) by administrative order of the Commissioner regarding an order of

custody, care, and habilitation or an order of continued custody, care, and
habilitation if the Commissioner determines that a person is no longer a person
in need of custody, care, and habilitation or continued custody, care, and
habilitation, respectively.

(b) A judicial or administrative order of discharge may be conditional or
absolute and may have immediate or delayed effect.

(c)(1) When a person is under an order of commitment pursuant to
13 V.S.A. § 4823 or continued commitment pursuant to this subchapter, the

Commissioner shall provide notice to the State’s Attorney of the county where

the prosecution originated or to the Office of the Attorney General if that
Office prosecuted the case:

(A) at least 10 days prior to discharging a person from commitment

or continued commitment:

(B) at least 10 days prior to the expiration of a commitment or
continued commitment order if the Commissioner does not seek an order of
continued custody, care, and habilitation; or

(C)  any time that the person elopes from custody of the

Commissioner and cannot be located, and there is reason to believe the person
may be lost or poses a risk of harm to others.

(2) When the State’s Attorney or Attorney General receives notice
under subdivision (1) of this subsection, the Office shall provide notice of the
action to any victim of the offense for which the person has been charged who
has not opted out of receiving notice.

(d) Whenever a person is subject to a judicial or administrative discharge
from commitment, the Criminal Division of the Superior Court shall retain
jurisdiction over the person’s underlying charge and any orders holding the
person without bail or concerning bail, and conditions of release shall remain
in place. Those orders shall be placed on hold while a person is in the custody,
care, and habilitation or continued custody, care, and habilitation of the

Commissioner. When a person is discharged from the Commissioner’s
custody, care, and habilitation to a correctional facility, the custody of the

Commissioner shall cease when the person enters the correctional facility.
§ 8846 8848. RIGHT TO COUNSEL

Persons subject to commitment er—judietal—review—under, continued

commitment, or self-initiated review pursuant to section 8846 of this
subchapter shall have a right to counsel as provided in section 7111 of this

title.
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* * * Proposal for Enhanced Services * * *
Sec. 17. INDIVIDUALS WITH INTELLECTUAL DISABILITES;
ENHANCED SERVICES

On or before December 1, 2024, the Department of Disabilities, Aging, and
Independent Living, in consultation with Disability Rights Vermont, Vermont

Legal Aid, Developmental Services State Program Standing Committee, and
Vermont Care Partners, may submit an alternative proposal to the forensic

facility to the House Committee on Human Services and to the Senate
Committee on Health and Welfare for enhanced community-based services for

those individuals committed to the Commissioner who require custody, care,
and habilitation in a secure setting for brief periods of time. A proposal
submitted pursuant to this subsection shall address required resources,

including funding and staffing, and be eligible for funding through the Global
Commitment Home- and Community-Based Services Waiver.

* * * Fiscal Estimate of Competency Restoration Program * * *
Sec. 18. REPORT; COMPETENCY RESTORATION PROGRAM; FISCAL
ESTIMATE

On or before November 1, 2024, the Agency of Human Services shall
submit a report to the House Committees on Appropriations, on Health Care,

and on Human Services and to the Senate Committees on Appropriations and
on Health and Welfare that provides a fiscal estimate for the implementation of

a competency restoration program operated or under contract with the
Department of Mental Health. The estimate shall include:

(1) whether and how to serve individuals with an intellectual disability
1n a competency restoration program;

(2) varying options dependent upon which underlying charges are
eligible for court-ordered competency restoration; and

(3) costs associated with establishing a residential program where court-
ordered competency restoration programming may be performed on an
individual who is neither in the custody of the Commissioner of Mental Health
pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 4822 nor in the custody of the Commissioner of
Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 4823.

* % * Rulemaking * * *

Sec. 19. RULEMAKING; CONFORMING AMENDMENTS

On or before November 1, 2024, the Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging,
and Independent Living, in consultation with the Commissioner of Mental
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Health, shall file initial proposed rule amendments with the Secretary of State
pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 836(a)(2) to the Department of Disabilities, Aging, and
Independent Living, Licensing and Operating Regulations for Therapeutic

Community Residences (CVR 13-110-12) for the purpose of:

(1) adding a forensic facility section of the rule that includes allowing
the use of emergency involuntary procedures and the administration of
involuntary medication at a forensic facility; and

(2) amending the secure residential recovery facility section of the rule
to allow the use of emergency involuntary procedures and the administration
of involuntary medication at the secure residential recovery facility.

* * * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 20. EFFECTIVE DATES

This act shall take effect on July 1. 2024, except that Secs. 2—9 shall take
effect on July 1. 2025.

and that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read: “An act
relating to forensic facility admission procedures for individuals with a mental
illness and civil commitment procedures for individuals with an intellectual
disability”
(Committee vote: 11-0-0)

Rep. Berbeco of Winooski, for the Committee on Health Care,
recommends that the report of the Committee on Human Services be amended
by striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

***Purpose***
Sec. 1. PURPOSE

It is the purpose of this act to:

(1) enable the Commissioner of Mental Health to seek treatment for

individuals at a secure residential recovery facility, regardless of a previous
order of hospitalization, and at a psychiatric residential treatment facility for

youth; and
(2) update the civil commitment procedures for individuals with

intellectual disabilities.

* % * Involuntary Commitment of Individuals with Mental Illness * * *
Sec. 2. 13 V.S.A. § 4822 is amended to read:

§ 4822. FINDINGS AND ORDER; PERSONS WITH A MENTAL ILLNESS
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(a) If the court finds that the person is a person in need of treatment or a
patient in need of further treatment as defined in 18 V.S.A. § 7101, the court
shall issue an order of commitment directed to the Commissioner of Mental
Health that shall admit the person to the care and custody of the Department of
Mental Health for an-indeterminate a period of 90 days. In any case involving
personal injury or threat of personal injury, the committing court may issue an
order requiring a court hearing before a person committed under this section
may be discharged from custody.

* %k 3k

(c)(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (b) of this section, at
least 10 days prior to the proposed discharge of any person committed under
this section, the Commissioner of Mental Health shall give notice of the
discharge to the committing court and State’s Attorney of the county where the
prosecution originated. In all cases requiring a hearing prior to discharge of a
person found incompetent to stand trial under section 4817 of this title, the
hearing shall be conducted by the committing court issuing the order under
that section. In all other cases, when the committing court orders a hearing
under subsection (a) of this section or when, in the discretion of the
Commissioner of Mental Health, a hearing should be held prior to the
discharge, the hearing shall be held in the Family Division of the Superior
Court to determine if the committed person is no longer a person in need of
treatment or a patient in need of further treatment as set forth in subsection (a)
of this section. Notice of the hearing shall be given to the Commissioner, the
State’s Attorney of the county where the prosecution originated, the committed
person, and the person’s attorney. Prior to the hearing, the State’s Attorney
may enter an appearance in the proceedings and may request examination of
the patient by an independent psychiatrist, who may testify at the hearing.

(2)(A) This subdivision (2) shall apply when a person is committed to
the care and custody of the Commissioner of Mental Health under this section
after having been found:

(1) not guilty by reason of insanity; or
(i) incompetent to stand trial, provided that the person’s criminal
case has not been dismissed.

(B)(1i) When a person has been committed under this section, the
Commissioner shall provide notice to the State’s Attorney of the county where
the prosecution originated or to the Office of the Attorney General if that
office prosecuted the case:

(I) at least 10 days prior to discharging the person from:

- 4179 -



(aa) the care and custody of the Commissioner; or

(bb) a hospital or a secure residential recovery facility to the
community on an order of nonhospitalization pursuant to 18 V.S.A. § 7618;

(IT) at least 10 days prior to the expiration of a commitment
order issued under this section if the Commissioner does not seek continued
treatment; or

(III) any time that the person elopes from the custody of the
Commissioner.

(i1)) When the State’s Attorney or Attorney General receives notice
under subdivision (i) of this subdivision (B), the Office shall provide notice of
the action to any victim of the offense for which the person has been charged
who has not opted out of receiving notice. A victim receiving notice pursuant
to this subdivision (ii) has the right to submit a victim impact statement to the

Family Division of the Superior Court in writing or through the State’s
Attorney or Attorney General’s office.

(ii1)) As used in this subdivision (B), “victim” has the same
meaning as in section 5301 of this title.

* %k sk

Sec. 3. 18 V.S.A. § 7101 is amended to read:
§ 7101. DEFINITIONS

As used in this part of this title, the following words, unless the context
otherwise requires, shall have the following meanings:

* %k sk

(31) “Department” means the Department of Mental Health.

(32) “Psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth” means a non-
hospital facility that:

(A) serves individuals between 12 and 21 vyears of age;

(B) has a provider agreement with the Agency of Human Services to

provide residential services to Medicaid-eligible individuals;

(C) is accredited by the Joint Commission or any other accrediting

organization with comparable standards recognized by the Commissioner of
Mental Health;

(D) meets the requirements in 42 C.F.R. §8 441.151-441.182: and

(E) holds a license pursuant to section 7260 of this title.
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(33) “Secure residential recovery facility” means a residential facility,
licensed as a therapeutic community residence as defined in 33 V.S.A.
§ 7102(11), for an individual in need of treatment within a secure setting for
an extended period of time. “Secure,” when describing a secure residential
recovery facility, means that the residents can be physically prevented from
leaving the facility by means of locking devices or other mechanical or

physical mechanisms.
Sec. 4. 18 V.S.A. § 7253 is amended to read:

§ 7253. CLINICAL RESOURCE MANAGEMENT AND OVERSIGHT

The Commissioner of Mental Health, in consultation with health care
providers as defined in section 9432 of this title, including designated
hospitals, designated agencies, individuals with mental conditions or
psychiatric disabilities, and other stakeholders, shall design and implement a
clinical resource management system that ensures the highest quality of care
and facilitates long-term, sustained recovery for individuals in the custody of
the Commissioner.

(1) For the purpose of coordinating the movement of individuals across
the continuum of care to the most appropriate services, the clinical resource
management system shall:

* %k 3k

(J) Ensure that individuals under the custody of the Commissioner
being served in a designated hespitals hospital, an intensive residential
recovery faetlities facility, a psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth,
and the a secure residential recovery facility shall have access to a mental
health patient representative. The patient representative shall advocate for
persons receiving services and shall also foster communication between
persons receiving services and health care providers. The Department of
Mental Health shall contract with an independent, peer-run organization to
staff the full-time equivalent of a representative of persons receiving services.

* ok 3k

Sec. 5. 18 V.S.A. § 7255 is amended to read:
§ 7255. SYSTEM OF CARE

The Commissioner of Mental Health shall coordinate a geographically
diverse system and continuum of mental health care throughout the State that
shall include at least the following:
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(1) comprehensive and coordinated community services, including
prevention, to serve children, families, and adults at all stages of mental
condition or psychiatric disability;

(2) peer services, which may include:
(A) a warm line;
(B) peer-provided transportation services;
(C) peer-supported crisis services; and
(D) peer-supported hospital diversion services;

(3) alternative treatment options for individuals seeking to avoid or
reduce reliance on medications;

(4) recovery-oriented housing programs;
(5) intensive residential recovery facilities;

(6) appropriate and adequate psychiatric inpatient capacity for voluntary
patients;

(7)  appropriate and adequate psychiatric inpatient capacity for
involuntary inpatient treatment services, including persons receiving treatment
through court order from a civil or criminal court; and

(8) a secure residential recovery facility; and

(9) a psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth.
Sec. 6. 18 V.S.A. § 7256 is amended to read:
§ 7256. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

Notwithstanding 2 V.S.A. § 20(d), the Department of Mental Health shall
report annually on or before January 15 to the Senate Committee on Health
and Welfare and the House Committee on Human—Services Health Care
regarding the extent to which individuals with a mental health condition or
psychiatric disability receive care in the most integrated and least restrictive
setting available. The Department shall consider measures from a variety of
sources, including the Joint Commission, the National Quality Forum, the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, the National Institute of Mental
Health, and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
The report shall address:

(1) use of services across the continuum of mental health services;

(2) adequacy of the capacity at each level of care across the continuum
of mental health services;
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(3) individual experience of care and satisfaction;
(4) individual recovery in terms of clinical, social, and legal results;

(5) performance of the State’s mental health system of care as compared
to nationally recognized standards of excellence;

(6) ways in which patient autonomy and self-determination are
maximized within the context of involuntary treatment and medication;

(7) the number of petitions for involuntary medication filed by the State
pursuant to section 7624 of this title and the outcome in each case;

(8) performance measures that demonstrate results and other data on
individuals for whom petitions for involuntary medication are filed; and

8)9) progress on alternative treatment options across the system of
care for individuals seeking to avoid or reduce reliance on medications,
including supported withdrawal from medications.

Sec. 7. 18 V.S.A. § 7257 is amended to read:
§ 7257. REPORTABLE ADVERSE EVENTS

(a) An acute inpatient hospital, an intensive residential recovery facility, a
designated agency, a psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth, or a
secure residential recovery facility shall report to the Department of Mental
Health instances of death or serious bodily injury to individuals with a mental
condition or psychiatric disability in the custody or temporary custody of the
Commissioner.

* %k 3k

Sec. 8. 18 V.S.A. § 7260 is added to read:
§ 7260. PSYCHIATRIC RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT FACILITY FOR
YOUTH

(a) An applicant shall not establish, maintain, or operate a psychiatric
residential treatment facility for youth in this State without first obtaining a
license from the Department of Health for the psychiatric residential treatment
facility for youth in accordance with this section.

(b) Upon receipt of the application for a license, the Department of Health
shall issue a license if it determines that the applicant and the proposed
psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth meet the following
minimum standards:

(1) The applicant shall demonstrate the capacity to operate a psychiatric
residential treatment facility for youth in accordance with rules adopted by the
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Department of Health and in a manner that ensures person-centered care and
resident dignity in accordance with 42 C.F.R. § 441.151.

(2) The applicant shall demonstrate that its facility complies fully with
standards for health, safety, and sanitation as required by State law, including
standards set forth by the State Fire Marshal and the Department of Health,
and municipal ordinance.

(3) The applicant shall have a clear process for responding to resident
complaints.

(4) The psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth, including the

buildings and grounds, shall be subject to inspection by the Department of

Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living, its designees, and other
authorized entities at all times.

(c) A license is not transferable or assignable and shall be issued only for
the premises named in the application.

(d) Once licensed, a psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth shall
be among the placement options for individuals committed to the custody of
the Commissioner under an order of nonhospitalization.

(e) The Department of Health shall adopt rules pursuant to 3 V.S.A.

chapter 25 to carry out the purposes of this section. Rules pertaining to
emergency involuntary procedures shall:

(1) be identical to those rules adopted by the Department of Mental

Health governing the use of emergency involuntary procedures in psychiatric
Inpatient units; and

(2) require that a certificate of need for all emergency involuntary
procedures performed at the psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth

be submitted to the Department and the Mental Health Care Ombudsman in
the same manner and time frame as required for hospitals.

Sec. 9. 18 V.S.A. § 7503 is amended to read:
§ 7503. APPLICATION FOR VOLUNTARY ADMISSION

(a) Any person 14 years of age or over may apply for voluntary admission
to a designated hospital or psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth
for examination and treatment.

(b) Before the person may be admitted as a voluntary patient, the person
shall give consent in writing on a form adopted by the Department. The
consent shall include a representation that:
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(1) the person understands that treatment will involve inpatient status or
residence at a psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth;

(2) the person desires to be admitted to the a hospital or a psychiatric
residential treatment facility for youth, respectively;

(3) the person consents to admission voluntarily, without any coercion
or duress; and

(4) the person understands that inpatient treatment or residence at a
psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth may be on a locked unit, and
a requested discharge may be deferred if the treating physician determines that
the person is a person in need of treatment pursuant to section 7101 of this
title.

(c) If the person is under 14 years of age, he-er—she the person may be
admitted as a voluntary patient if he-er-she the person consents to admission,
as provided in subsection (b) of this section, and if a parent or guardian makes
written application.

Sec. 10. 18 V.S.A. § 7612 is amended to read:
§ 7612. APPLICATION FOR INVOLUNTARY TREATMENT

(a) An interested party may, by filing a written application, commence
proceedings for the involuntary treatment of an individual by judicial process.

* %k 3k

(d) The application shall contain:
(1) The name and address of the applicant.

(2) A statement of the current and relevant facts upon which the
allegation of mental illness and need for treatment is based. The application
shall be signed by the applicant under penalty of perjury.

(e) The application shall be accompanied by:

(1) a certificate of a licensed physician, which shall be executed under
penalty of perjury stating that the physician has examined the proposed patient
within five days after the date the petition is filed and is of the opinion that the
proposed patient is a person in need of treatment, including the current and
relevant facts and circumstances upon which the physician’s opinion is based;
or

(2) a written statement by the applicant that the proposed patient refused
to submit to an examination by a licensed physician.
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(f) Before an examining physician completes the certificate of examination,
he-or-she the examining physician shall consider available alternative forms of
care and treatment that might be adequate to provide for the person’s needs
without requiring hospitalization. The examining physician shall document on
the certificate the specific alternative forms of care and treatment that he-or-she
the examining physician considered and why those alternatives were deemed
inappropriate, including information on the availability of any appropriate
alternatives.

(2) If the Commissioner seeks to have the patient receive treatment in a
secure residential recovery facility or a psychiatric residential treatment
facility for youth, the application for an order authorizing treatment shall
expressly state that such treatment is being sought. The application shall
contain, in addition to the statements required by subsections (d) and (e) of this
section, a statement setting forth the reasons for the Commissioner’s
determination that clinically appropriate treatment for the patient’s condition
can be provided safely only in a secure residential recovery facility or a
psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth, respectively.

Sec. 11. 18 V.S.A. § 7618 is amended to read:
§ 7618. ORDER; NONHOSPITALIZATION

(a) If the court finds that a treatment program other than hospitalization is
adequate to meet the person’s treatment needs, the court shall order the person
to receive whatever treatment other than hospitalization is appropriate for a
period of 90 days. If the treatment plan proposed by the Commissioner for a
secure residential recovery facility or a psychiatric residential treatment
facility for youth, the court may at any time, on its own motion or on a motion
of an interested party, review the need for treatment at the secure residential
recovery facility or the psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth,

respectively.

(b) If at any time during the specified period it comes to the attention of
the court either that the patient is not complying with the order or that the
alternative treatment has not been adequate to meet the patient’s treatment
needs, the court may, after proper hearing:

(1) consider other alternatives, modify its original order, and direct the
patient to undergo another program of alternative treatment for the remainder
of the 90-day period; or

(2) enter a new order directing that the patient be hospitalized for the
remainder of the 90-day period.

Sec. 12. 18 V.S.A. § 7620 is amended to read:
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§ 7620. APPLICATION FOR CONTINUED TREATMENT

* %k 3k

(d) If the Commissioner seeks to have the patient receive the further
treatment in a secure residential recovery facility or a psychiatric residential
treatment facility for youth, the application for an order authorizing continuing
treatment shall expressly state that such treatment is being sought. The
application shall contain, in addition to the statements required by subsection
(b) of this section, a statement setting forth the reasons for the Commissioner’s
determination that clinically appropriate treatment for the patient’s condition
can be provided safely only in a secure residential recovery facility or a
psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth, respectively.

Sec. 13. 18 V.S.A. § 7621 is amended to read:
§ 7621. HEARING ON APPLICATION FOR CONTINUED TREATMENT;
ORDERS

* %k 3k

(c) If the court finds that the patient is a patient in need of further treatment
but does not require hospitalization, it shall order nonhospitalization for up to
one year. If the treatment plan proposed by the Commissioner for a patient in
need of further treatment includes admission to a secure residential recovery
facility or a psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth, the court may
at any time, on its own motion or on motion of an interested party, review the
need for treatment at the secure residential recovery facility or the psychiatric
residential treatment facility for youth, respectively.

* sk 3k

Sec. 14. 18 V.S.A. § 7624 is amended to read:
§ 7624. APPLICATION FOR INVOLUNTARY MEDICATION
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(a) The Commissioner may commence an action for the involuntary
medication of a person who is refusing to accept psychiatric medication and
meets any one of the following six conditions:

(1) has been placed in the Commissioner’s care and custody pursuant to
section 7619 of this title or subsection 7621(b) of this title;

(2) has previously received treatment under an order of hospitalization

and 1s currently under an order of nonhospltahzatlon—mekaémg—a—pefseﬂ—eﬂ—aﬂ

(3) has been committed to the custody of the Commissioner on an order
of nonhospitalization and has been placed at a secure residential recovery
facility;

(4) has been committed to the custody of the Commissioner of
Corrections as a convicted felon and is being held in a correctional facility that
is a designated facility pursuant to section 7628 of this title and for whom the
Departments of Corrections and of Mental Health have determined jointly that

involuntary medication would be appropriate pursuant to 28 V.S.A.
§ 907(4)(H);

4)(5) has an application for involuntary treatment pending for which
the court has granted a motion to expedite pursuant to subdivision
7615(a)(2)(A)(i) of this title;

5)(6)(A) has an application for involuntary treatment pending;

(B) waives the right to a hearing on the application for involuntary
treatment until a later date; and

(C) agrees to proceed with an involuntary medication hearing
without a ruling on whether he—er—she the person is a person in need of
treatment; or

€6)(7) has had an application for involuntary treatment pending pursuant
to subdivision 7615(a)(1) of this title for more than 26 days without a hearing
having occurred and the treating psychiatrist certifies, based on specific
behaviors and facts set forth in the certification, that in his—er—her the
psychiatrist’s professional judgment there is good cause to believe that:

(A) additional time will not result in the person establishing a
therapeutic relationship with providers or regaining competence; and

(B) serious deterioration of the person’s mental condition is
occurring.
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(b)(1) Except as provided in subdivisions (2), 33}(4), and (4)(5) of this
subsection, an application for involuntary medication shall be filed in the
Family Division of the Superior Court in the county in which the person is
receiving treatment.

(2) If the application for involuntary medication is filed pursuant to
subdivision (a)4) (a)(5) of this section:

(A) the application shall be filed in the county in which the
application for involuntary treatment is pending; and

(B) the court shall consolidate the application for involuntary
treatment with the application for involuntary medication and rule on the
application for involuntary treatment before ruling on the application for
involuntary medication.

(3) If the application for involuntary medication is filed pursuant to
subdivision (a)5)(6) or (a)t6)(7) of this section, the application shall be filed
in the county in which the application for involuntary treatment is pending.

(4) Within 72 hours of the filing of an application for involuntary
medication pursuant to subdivision (a)(6}(7) of this section, the court shall
determine, based solely upon a review of the psychiatrist’s certification and
any other filings, whether the requirements of that subdivision have been
established. If the court determines that the requirements of subdivision
(a)¢6)(7) of this section have been established, the court shall consolidate the
application for involuntary treatment with the application for involuntary
medication and hear both applications within 10 days after the date that the
application for involuntary medication is filed. The court shall rule on the
application for involuntary treatment before ruling on the application for
involuntary medication. Subsection 7615(b) of this title shall apply to
applications consolidated pursuant to this subdivision.

* sk 3k

Sec. 15. 18 V.S.A. § 7628 is amended to read:
§ 7628. PROTOCOL

The Department of Mental Health shall develop and adopt by rule a strict
protocol to ensure the health, safety, dignity, and respect of patients subject to
administration of involuntary psychiatric medications in any designated
hospital or secure residential recovery facility. This protocol shall be followed
by all designated hospitals and secure residential recovery facilities
administering involuntary psychiatric medications.

Sec. 16. 18 V.S.A. § 7703 is amended to read:
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§ 7703. TREATMENT

* %k sk

(b) The Department shall establish minimum standards for adequate
treatment as provided in this section, including requirements that, when
possible, psychiatric unit staff be used as the primary source to implement
emergency involuntary procedures such as seclusion and restraint. The
Department shall oversee and collect information and report on data regarding
the use of emergency involuntary procedures for patients admitted to a
psychiatric unit, a secure residential recovery facility, or a psychiatric
residential treatment facility for youth, regardless of whether the patient is
under the care and custody of the Commissioner.

* % * Policies Applicable to the Secure Residential Recovery Facility * * *

Sec. 17. RULEMAKING; SECURE RESIDENTIAL RECOVERY
FACILITY

On or before August 1. 2024, the Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging, and

Independent Living, in consultation with the Commissioner of Mental Health,
shall file permanent proposed rule amendments with the Secretary of State
pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 836(a)(2) to the Department of Disabilities, Aging, and
Independent Living, Licensing and Operating Regulations for Therapeutic
Community Residences (CVR 13-110-12) for the purpose of amending the
secure residential recovery facility section of the rule. Prior to the permanent
rules taking effect, the Department shall adopt similar emergency rules that
shall be deemed to have met the standard for emergency rulemaking in
3 V.S.A. § 844. Both the permanent and emergency rules shall:

(1) authorize the use of emergency involuntary procedures at a secure

residential recovery facility in a manner identical to that required in rules

adopted by the Department of Mental Health governing the use of emergency
involuntary procedures in psychiatric inpatient units;

(2) require that a certificate of need for all emergency involuntary
procedures performed at a secure residential recovery facility be submitted to

the Department and the Mental Health Care Ombudsman in the same manner
and time frame as required for hospitals; and

(3) authorize the administration of involuntary medication at a secure
residential recovery facility in a manner identical to that required in rules
adopted by the Department of Mental Health governing the use of the
administration of involuntary medication in psychiatric inpatient units.

Sec. 18. 2021 Acts and Resolves No. 50, Sec. 3(¢) is amended to read:
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(c) The amount appropriated in subdivision (a)(1) of this section shall be
used to construct a 16-bed Secure Residential Recovery Facility on Parcel
ID# 200-5-003-001 as designated on the Town of Essex’s Tax Parcel Maps for
transitional support for individuals who are being discharged from inpatient
psychiatric care. Through interior fit-up, versus building redesign, the 16-bed
facility shall include two eight-bed wings designed with the capability to allow
for separation of one wing from the main section of the facility, if necessary.
Both wings shall be served by common clinical and activity spaces. Neither

wing shall include o locked seclusion arca, and the facility shall not use
emergeney—involuntary—preeedures. Outdoor space shall be adequate for

exercise and other activities but not less than 10,000 square feet.
Sec. 19. CERTIFICATE OF NEED

Notwithstanding the requirements of 18 V.S.A. chapter 221. subchapter 5.
or any prior certificates of need issued pursuant to that subchapter, the secure
residential recovery facility shall be authorized to:

(1) use emergency involuntary procedures; and
(2) accept patients under an initial commitment order.
Sec. 20. REPEAL; INVOLUNTARY MEDICATION REPORT

1998 Acts and Resolves No. 114, Sec. 5 (report) is repealed on July 1,
2024.

* * * Persons in Need of Custody, Care, and Habilitation or Continued
Custody, Care, and Habilitation * * *

Sec. 21. 13 V.S.A. § 4814 is amended to read:
§ 4814. ORDER FOR EXAMINATION OF COMPETENCY

* %k 3k

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, an examination ordered
pursuant to subsection (a) of this section may be conducted by a doctoral-level
psychologist trained in forensic psychology and licensed under 26 V.S.A.

chapter 55. Fhissubseetion-shall-berepealed-enJuly15-2024-

* ok 3k

Sec. 22. 13 V.S.A. § 4816 is amended to read:
§ 4816. SCOPE OF EXAMINATION; REPORT; EVIDENCE

* %k 3k

(b) A competency evaluation for an individual thought to have a
developmental disability shall inelade be a current evaluation by a doctoral-
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level psychologist trained in forensic psychology and skilled in assessing
individuals with developmental disabilities.

* %k 3k

(e) The relevant portion of a psyehtatrist’s report produced by a
psychiatrist or psychologist, as described in subsection (c) of this section, shall
be admitted into evidence as an exhibit on the issue of the person’s mental
competency to stand trial and the opinion shall be conclusive on the issue if
agreed to by the parties and if found by the court to be relevant and probative
on the issue.

(f) Introduction of a report under subsection (d) of this section shall not
preclude either party or the court from calling the psychiatrist or psychologist
as described in subsection (b) of this section who wrote the report as a witness
or from calling witnesses or introducing other relevant evidence. Any witness
called by either party on the issue of the defendant’s competency shall be at
the State’s expense, or, if called by the court, at the court’s expense.

Sec. 23. 13 V.S.A. § 4817 is amended to read:
§ 4817. COMPETENCY TO STAND TRIAL; DETERMINATION

* %k 3k

(c) If a person indicted, complained, or informed against for an alleged
criminal offense, an attorney or guardian acting in the person’s behalf, or the
State, at any time before final judgment, raises before the court before which
such person is tried or is to be tried, the issue of whether such person is
incompetent to stand trial, or if the court has reason to believe that such person
may not be competent to stand trial, a hearing shall be held before such court
at which evidence shall be received and a finding made regarding the person’s
competency to stand trial. However, in cases where the court has reason to
believe that such person may be incompetent to stand trial due to a mental
disease or mental defect, such hearing shall not be held until an examination
has been made and a report submitted by an examining psychiatrist or
psychologist in accordance with sections 48144816 of this title.

% %k %k
Sec. 24. 13 V.S.A. § 4820 is amended to read:
§ 4820. HEARING REGARDING COMMITMENT

(a)(1) When a person charged on information, complaint, or indictment
with a criminal offense:

h{Repealed:}
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2)(A) 1is found upon hearing pursuant to section 4817 of this title to be
incompetent to stand trial due to a mental disease or mental defect;

3)(B) is not indicted upon hearing by grand jury by reason of insanity
at the time of the alleged offense, duly certified to the court; or

4(C) wupon trial by court or jury is acquitted by reason of insanity at
the time of the alleged offense:.

(2) the The court before which such person is tried or is to be tried for
such offense, shall hold a hearing for the purpose of determining whether such
person should be committed to the custody of the Commissioner of Mental
Health or Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living, as
appropriate. Such person may be confined in jail or some other suitable place
by order of the court pending hearing for a period not exceeding 21 days.

(b) When a person is found to be incompetent to stand trial, has not been
indicted by reason of insanity for the alleged offense, or has been acquitted by
reason of insanity at the time of the alleged offense, the person shall be entitled
to have counsel appointed from Vermont Legal Aid to represent the person.
The Department of Mental Health and, if applicable, the Department of
Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living shall be entitled to appear and call
witnesses at the proceeding.

(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a commitment order issued
pursuant to this chapter shall not modify or vacate orders concerning
conditions of release or bail issued pursuant to chapter 229 of this title, and the
commitment order shall remain in place unless expressly modified, provided
that inpatient treatment shall be permitted if a person who is held without bail
is found to be in need of inpatient treatment under this chapter.

Sec. 25. 13 V.S.A. § 4823 is amended to read:
§ 4823. FINDINGS AND ORDER; PERSONS WITH AN INTELLECTUAL
DISABILITY

(a) If the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that such person is a
person in need of custody, care, and habilitation as defined in 18 V.S.A.
§ 8839, the court shall issue an order of commitment for up to one year
directed to the Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living

for placement in a designated program in the least restrictive environment
consistent with the person’s need for custody, care, and habilitation ef-suech

cor anindefinite or limited period it ad | '

(b) Such order of commitment shall have the same force and effect as an
order issued under 18 V.S.A. §8843 chapter 206, subchapter 3 and persons
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committed under such an order shall have the same status, and the same rights,
including the right to receive care and habilitation, to be examined and
discharged, and to apply for and obtain judicial review of their cases, as

Sec. 26. 18 V.S.A. chapter 206, subchapter 3 is amended to read:

Subchapter 3. Judicial Proceeding; Persons with an Intellectual Disability
Who Present a Danger of Harm to Others

§ 8839. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

(1) - . . . . o . -

ehild “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging, and
Independent Living.

(2)  “Designated program” means a program designated by the
Commissioner as adequate to provide in an individual manner appropriate
custody, care, and habilitation to persons with intellectual disabilities receiving
services under this subchapter.

(3)(A) “Person in need of continued custody, care, and habilitation”
means a person:

(1) _who was previously found to be a person in need of custody,
care, and habilitation;

(i1) who poses a danger of harm to others; and

(ii1) for whom appropriate custody, care, and habilitation can be
provided by the Commissioner in a designated program.
(B) As used in this subdivision (3), a danger of harm to others shall
be shown by establishing that, in the time since the last order of commitment
was issued, the person:

(1) has inflicted or attempted to inflict serious bodily injury to

another or has committed an act that would constitute sexual conduct with a
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child as defined in section 2821 of this title or lewd and lascivious conduct
with a child as provided in section 2602 of this title: or

(i1) has exhibited behavior demonstrating that, absent treatment or

programming provided by the Commissioner, there is a substantial likelihood

that the person would inflict or attempt to inflict physical or sexual harm to
another.

4) “Person in need of custody, care, and habilitation” means a person:
Yy

(A) apersen with an intellectual disability, which means significantly
subaverage intellectual functioning existing concurrently with deficits in
adaptive behavior that were manifest before 18 years of age;

(B) who presents—a—danger—of—harm—to—others has inflicted or

attempted to inflict serious bodily injury to another or who has committed an
act that would constitute sexual conduct with a child as defined in section 2821

of this title or lewd and lascivious conduct with a child as provided in section
2602 of this title; and

(C) for whom appropriate custody, care, and habilitation can be
provided by the Commissioner in a designated program.

(5) “Victim” has the same meaning as in 13 V.S.A. § 5301(4).

§ 8841. PEHHON;PROCEDURES

is-title: [Repealed.]
§ 8842. HEARING

acecordanee-with-seetion8827-ef this-title- [Repealed.]
§ 8843. FINDINGS-AND-ORDER




§ 8844. LEGAL COMPETENCE

No determination that a person is in need of custody, care, and habilitation
or in need of continued custody, care, and habilitation and no order authorizing
commitment shall lead to a presumption of legal incompetence.

§ 8845. JUDIGGALREVIEW-PETITION AND ORDER FOR CONTINUED
CUSTODY, CARE, AND HABILITATION

(1) If, prior to the expiration of any previous commitment order issued
in _accordance with 13 V.S.A. § 4823 or this subchapter, the Commissioner

believes that the person is a person in need of continued custody, care, and

habilitation, the Commissioner shall seek continued custody, care, and
habilitation in the Family Division of the Superior Court. The Commissioner

shall, by filing a written petition, commence proceedings for the continued
custody, care, and habilitation of a person. The petition shall state the current
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and relevant facts upon which the person’s alleged need for continued custody,
care, and habilitation is predicated.

(2) Any commitment order for custody, care, and habilitation or

continued custody, care, and habilitation issued in accordance with 13 V.S.A.
§ 4823 or this subchapter shall remain in force pending the court’s decision on

the petition.

(b)  Upon receipt of the petition for the continued custody, care. and
habilitation, the court shall hold a hearing within 14 days after the date of

filing.

(¢) If the court finds by clear and convincing evidence at the time of the
hearing that the person is a person in need of continued custody, care, and

habilitation, it shall issue an order of commitment for up to one year in a

designated program in the least restrictive environment consistent with the
person’s need for continued custody, care, and habilitation. If the court finds

at the time of the hearing that the person is no longer in need of continued
custody, care, and habilitation, it shall discharge the person from the custody

of the Commissioner in accordance with section 8847 of this subchapter. In
determining whether a person is a person in need of continued custody, care,
and habilitation, the court shall consider the degree to which the person has
previously engaged in or complied with the treatment and programming
provided by the Commissioner.

§ 8846. RIGHT TO INITIATE REVIEW

A person may initiate a judicial review in the Family Division of the
Superior Court or an administrative review under this subchapter at any time
after 90 days following a current order of commitment or continued
commitment and not earlier than six months after the filing of a previous

application under this section. If the court or Commissioner finds that the
person is not a person in need of custody, care, and habilitation or continued

custody, care, and habilitation, the person shall be discharged from the custody
of the Commissioner pursuant to section 8847 of this subchapter.

§ 8847. DISCHARGE FROM COMMITMENT
(a) A person committed under 13 V.S.A. § 4823 or this subchapter may be

discharged as follows:

(1) by a Family Division Superior Court judge after review of an order

of custody, care, and habilitation or an order of continued custody. care. and
habilitation if the court finds that a person is not a person in need of custody,
care, and habilitation or continued custody, care, and habilitation, respectively;
or
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(2) by administrative order of the Commissioner regarding an order of

custody, care, and habilitation or an order of continued custody, care, and
habilitation if the Commissioner determines that a person is no longer a person
in need of custody, care, and habilitation or continued custody, care, and
habilitation, respectively.

(b) A judicial or administrative order of discharge may be conditional or
absolute and may have immediate or delayed effect.

(c)(1) When a person is under an order of commitment pursuant to
13 V.S.A. § 4823 or continued commitment pursuant to this subchapter, the

Commissioner shall provide notice to the State’s Attorney of the county where

the prosecution originated or to the Office of the Attorney General if that
Office prosecuted the case:

(A) at least 10 days prior to discharging a person from commitment

or continued commitment:

(B) at least 10 days prior to the expiration of a commitment or
continued commitment order if the Commissioner does not seek an order of
continued custody, care, and habilitation; or

(C)  any time that the person elopes from custody of the

Commissioner and cannot be located, and there is reason to believe the person
may be lost or poses a risk of harm to others.

(2) When the State’s Attorney or Attorney General receives notice
under subdivision (1) of this subsection, the Office shall provide notice of the
action to any victim of the offense for which the person has been charged who
has not opted out of receiving notice.

(d) Whenever a person is subject to a judicial or administrative discharge
from commitment, the Criminal Division of the Superior Court shall retain
jurisdiction over the person’s underlying charge and any orders holding the
person without bail or concerning bail, and conditions of release shall remain
in place. Those orders shall be placed on hold while a person is in the custody,
care, and habilitation or continued custody, care, and habilitation of the

Commissioner. When a person is discharged from the Commissioner’s
custody, care, and habilitation to a correctional facility, the custody of the

Commissioner shall cease when the person enters the correctional facility.
§ 8846 8848. RIGHT TO COUNSEL

Persons subject to commitment er—judietal—review—under, continued

commitment, or self-initiated review pursuant to section 8846 of this
subchapter shall have a right to counsel as provided in section 7111 of this

title.
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* * * Proposal for Enhanced Services * * *
Sec. 27. INDIVIDUALS WITH INTELLECTUAL DISABILITIES;
ENHANCED SERVICES

On or before December 1, 2024, the Department of Disabilities, Aging, and
Independent Living, in consultation with Disability Rights Vermont, Vermont

Legal Aid, Developmental Services State Program Standing Committee, and
Vermont Care Partners, may submit an alternative proposal to the forensic

facility to the House Committee on Human Services and to the Senate
Committee on Health and Welfare for enhanced community-based services for

those individuals committed to the Commissioner who require custody, care,
and habilitation in a secure setting for brief periods of time. A proposal
submitted pursuant to this subsection shall address required resources,

including funding and staffing, and be eligible for funding through the Global
Commitment Home- and Community-Based Services Waiver.

* * * Fiscal Estimate of Competency Restoration Program * * *
Sec. 28. REPORT; COMPETENCY RESTORATION PROGRAM; FISCAL
ESTIMATE

On or before November 1, 2024, the Agency of Human Services shall
submit a report to the House Committees on Appropriations, on Health Care,

and on Human Services and to the Senate Committees on Appropriations and
on Health and Welfare that provides a fiscal estimate for the implementation of

a competency restoration program operated or under contract with the
Department of Mental Health. The estimate shall include:

(1) whether and how to serve individuals with an intellectual disability
1n a competency restoration program;

(2) varying options dependent upon which underlying charges are
eligible for court-ordered competency restoration; and

(3) costs associated with establishing a residential program where court-
ordered competency restoration programming may be performed on an
individual who is neither in the custody of the Commissioner of Mental Health
pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 4822 nor in the custody of the Commissioner of
Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 4823.

* %k Effective Date * * *
Sec. 29. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1. 2024.
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and that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read: “An act
relating to civil commitment procedures at a secure residential recovery
facility and a psychiatric residential treatment facility for youth and civil
commitment procedures for individuals with an intellectual disability”

(Committee Vote: 11-0-0)
Favorable
H. 885

An act relating to approval of an amendment to the charter of the Town of
Berlin

Rep. Morgan of Milton, for the Committee on Government Operations
and Military Affairs, recommends the bill ought to pass.

(Committee Vote: 11-0-1)

Rep. Anthony of Barre City, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass.

(Committee Vote: 11-0-1)
H. 886

An act relating to approval of amendments to the charter of the City of
South Burlington

Rep. Nugent of South Burlington, for the Committee on Government
Operations and Military Affairs, recommends the bill ought to pass.

(Committee Vote: 11-0-1)
S. 120
An act relating to postsecondary schools and sexual misconduct protections

Rep. Stone of Burlington, for the Committee on Education, recommends
that the bill ought to pass in concurrence.

(Committee Vote: 12-0-0)

Rep. Mihaly of Calais, for the Committee on Appropriations, recommends
that the bill ought to pass in concurrence.

(Committee Vote: 12-0-0)
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S. 196

An act relating to the types of evidence permitted in weight of the evidence
hearings

Rep. Notte of Rutland City, for the Committee on Judiciary, recommends
that the bill ought to pass in concurrence.

(Committee Vote: 10-0-1)
Action Postponed Until April 30, 2024
Favorable with Amendment
S. 184

An act relating to the temporary use of automated traffic law enforcement
(ATLE) systems

Rep. Pouech of Hinesburg, for the Committee on Transportation,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

Sec. 1. PURPOSE; AUTOMATED TRAFFIC LAW ENFORCEMENT

The purpose of this act is to improve work crew safety and reduce traffic

crashes in limited-access highway work zones by establishing an automated
traffic law enforcement (ATLE) pilot program that uses radar and cameras to

enforce speeding violations against the registered owner of the violating motor
vehicle.

Sec. 1a. 23 V.S.A. chapter 15 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 15. POWERS OF ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS

Subchapter 1. General Provisions
§ 1600. DEFINITION

Notwithstanding subdivision 4(4) of this title, as used in this chapter,
“Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Public Safety.

* ok 3k

Subchapter 2. Automated Law Enforcement
§ 1605. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

(1) “Active data” is distinct from historical data as defined in
subdivision (5) of this section and means data uploaded to individual
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automated license plate recognition system units before operation as well as
data gathered during the operation of an ALPR system. Any data collected by
an ALPR system in accordance with section 1607 of this subchapter shall be
considered collected for a legitimate law enforcement purpose.

(2) _“Automated license plate recognition system” or “ALPR system”
means a system of one or more mobile or fixed high-speed cameras combined

with computer algorithms to convert images of registration number plates into
computer-readable data.

(3) “‘Automated traffic law enforcement system” or “ATLE system”

means a device with one or more sensors working in conjunction with a speed
measuring device to produce recorded images of the rear registration number

plates of motor vehicles traveling at more than 10 miles above the speed limit.
(4) ““Calibration laboratory” means an International Organization for

Standardization (ISO) 17025 accredited testing laboratory that is approved by
the Commissioner of Public Safety.

(5) “Historical data” means any data collected by an ALPR system and
stored on the statewide automated law enforcement server operated by the
Vermont Justice Information Sharing System of the Department of Public
Safety. Any data collected by an ALPR system in accordance with section
1607 of this subchapter shall be considered collected for a legitimate law
enforcement purpose.

(6) “Law enforcement officer” means an individual certified by the
Vermont Criminal Justice Council as a Level II or Level III law enforcement
officer under 20 V.S.A. § 2358 and is a State Police officer, municipal police
officer, sheriff, or deputy sheriff; or a constable who exercises law
enforcement authority pursuant to 24 V.S.A. § 1936a.

(7) “Legitimate law enforcement purpose” applies to access to active or
historical data and means investigation, detection, analysis, or enforcement of

a crime or of a commercial motor vehicle violation or a person’s defense

against a charge of a crime or commercial motor vehicle violation, or
operation of AMBER alerts or missing or endangered person searches.

(8) “Owner” means the first or only listed registered owner of a motor
vehicle or the first or only listed lessee of a motor vehicle under a lease of one

year or more.
(9) “Recorded image” means a photograph, microphotograph, electronic

image, or electronic video that shows, clearly enough to identify, the rear
registration number plate of a motor vehicle that has activated the radar
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component of an ATLE system by traveling past the ATLE system at more
than 10 miles above the speed limit.

(10) “Vermont Intelligence Center analyst” means any sworn or civilian
employee who through employment with the Vermont Intellicence Center
(VIC) has access to secure storage systems that support law enforcement

investigations.
§ 1606. AUTOMATED TRAFFIC LAW ENFORCEMENT SYSTEMS;

SPEEDING

(a) Use. Deployment of ATLE systems on behalf of the Agency of
Transportation by a third party pursuant to subsection (b) of this section is
intended to investigate the benefits of automated law enforcement for speeding
violations as a way to improve work crew safety and reduce traffic crashes
resulting from an increased adherence to traffic laws achieved by effective
deterrence of potential violators, which could not be achieved by traditional
law enforcement methods or traffic calming measures, or both. Deployment of
ATLE systems on behalf of the Agency is not intended to replace law
enforcement personnel, nor is it intended to mitigate problems caused by
deficient road design, construction, or maintenance.

(b) Vendor.

(1) The Agency of Transportation shall enter into a contract with a third
party for the operation and deployment of ATLE systems on behalf of the

Agency.

(2) The Agency, in consultation with the Department of Public Safety,
may require the vendor to maintain a storage system to store any recorded
images or other data collected by the ATLE system. Any storage system shall

adhere to the use, retention, and limitation requirements pursuant to this
section.

(¢) Locations. An ATLE system may only be utilized at a location in the
vicinity of a work zone on a limited-access highway under the jurisdiction of
the Agency of Transportation and selected by the Agency, provided that:

(1) the Agency shall document through an appropriate engineering
analysis that the location meets highway standards;

(2) the ATLE system is not used as a means of combating deficiencies in
roadway design or environment;

(3) at least two signs notifying members of the traveling public of the

use of an ATLE system are in place before any recorded images or other data
1s collected by the ATLE system;
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(4) there is a sign at the end of the work zone:

(5) the ATLE system is only in operation when workers are present in

the work zone and at least one of the signs required under subdivision (3) of

this subsection indicates whether the ATLE system is currently in operation;
and

(6) there is notice of the use of the ATLE system on the Agency’s
website, including the location and typical hours when workers are present and
the ATLE system is in operation.

(d) Daily log.

(1) The vendor that deploys an ATLE system in accordance with this
section must maintain a daily log for each deployed ATLE system that
includes:

(A) the date, time. and location of the ATLE system setup:;

(B) a demonstration that the equipment is operating properly before
and after daily use;

(C) a verification that the signage and equipment placement meet
applicable highway standards; and

(D) the name of the employee who performed any self-tests required
by the ATLE system manufacturer and the results of those self-tests.

(2) The daily log shall be retained for not fewer than three years by the

Agency and admissible in any proceeding for a violation involving ATLE
systems deployed on behalf of the Agency.

(e) Annual calibration. All ATLE systems shall undergo an annual
calibration check performed by an independent calibration laboratory. The
calibration laboratory shall issue a signed certificate of calibration after the
annual calibration check, which shall be retained for not fewer than three years
by the Agency and admissible in any proceeding for a violation involving the
ATLE system.

(f) Penalty.

(1) The owner of the motor vehicle bearing the rear registration number
plate captured in a recorded image shall be liable for one of the following civil
penalties unless, for the violation in question, the owner is convicted of

exceeding the speed limit under chapter 13 of this title or has a defense under
subsection (h) of this section:

(A) $0.00, which shall be exempt from surcharges under 13 V.S.A.
§ 7282(a), for a first violation within 12 months;
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(B) $80.00 for a second violation within 12 months; provided,
however, that a violation shall be considered a second violation for purposes of
this subdivision only if it has occurred at least 30 days after the date on which
the notice of the first violation was mailed; and

(C) _$160.00 for a third or subsequent violation within 12 months.

(2) The owner of the motor vehicle bearing the rear registration number
plate captured in a recorded image shall not be deemed to have committed a
crime or moving violation unless otherwise convicted under another section of
this title, and a violation of this section shall not be made a part of the
operating record of the owner or considered for insurance purposes.

(g) Notice and complaint.

(1) An action to enforce this section shall be initiated by issuing a
Vermont civil violation complaint to the owner of a motor vehicle bearing the

rear registration number plate captured in a recorded image and mailing the
Vermont civil violation complaint to the owner by U.S. mail.

(2) The civil violation complaint shall:

(A) be based on an inspection of recorded images and data produced
by one or more ATLE systems or one or more ATLE and ALPR systems:

(B) be issued, sworn, and affirmed by the law enforcement officer
who inspected the recorded images and data:

(C) enclose copies of applicable recorded images and at least one
recorded image showing the rear registration number plate of the motor
vehicle;

(D) include the date. time, and place of the violation;

(E) include the applicable civil penalty amount and the dates, times,
and places for any prior violations from the prior 12 months;

(F) include written verification that the ATLE system was operating
correctly at the time of the violation and the date of the most recent inspection
that confirms the ATLE system to be operating properly;

(G) contain a notice of language access services in accordance with
federal and state law; and
(H) in compliance with 4 V.S.A. § 1105(f), include an affidavit that

the issuing officer has determined the owner’s military status to the best of the
officer’s ability by conducting a search of the available Department of Defense

Manpower Data Center (DMDC) online records, together with a copy of the
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record obtained from the DMDC that is the basis for the issuing officer’s
affidavit.

(3) In the case of a violation involving a motor vehicle registered under
the laws of this State, the civil violation complaint shall be mailed within 30
days after the violation to the address of the owner as listed in the records of
the Department of Motor Vehicles. A notice of violation issued under this

subdivision shall be mailed not more than 30 days after the date of the
violation. A notice mailed after 30 days is void.

(4) In the case of a violation involving a motor vehicle registered under
the laws of a jurisdiction other than this State, the notice of violation shall be
mailed within 30 days after the discovery of the identity of the owner to the
address of the owner as listed in the records of the official in the jurisdiction
having charge of the registration of the motor vehicle. A notice of violation

issued under this subdivision shall be mailed not more than 90 days after the
date of the violation. A notice mailed after 90 days is void.

(h) Defenses. The following shall be defenses to a violation under this

(1) that the motor vehicle or license plates shown in one or more
recorded images was in the care, custody, or control of another person at the
time of the violation; and

(2) that the radar component of the ATLE system was not properly
calibrated or tested at the time of the violation.

(i) Proceedings before the Judicial Bureau.

(1) To the extent not inconsistent with this section, the provisions for the
adjudication of a Vermont civil violation complaint, the payment of a Vermont
civil violation complaint, and the collection of civil penalties associated with a
civil violation complaint in 4 V.S.A. chapter 29 shall apply to civil violation
complaints issued under this section.

(2) Notwithstanding an owner’s failure to request a hearing, a Vermont
civil violation complaint issued pursuant to this section shall be dismissed with
prejudice upon showing by the owner, by a preponderance of the evidence,
that the motor vehicle in question was not in the care, custody, or control of
the owner at the time of the violation because, at the time, the owner was a

person in military service as defined in 50 U.S.C. § 3911.
(J)_Retention.

(1) All recorded images shall be retained by the vendor pursuant to the
requirements of subdivision (2) of this subsection.
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(2) A recorded image shall only be retained for 12 months after the date
it was obtained or until the resolution of the applicable violation and the appeal
period if the violation is contested. When the retention period has expired, the
vendor and any law enforcement agency with custody of the recorded image
shall destroy it and cause to have destroyed any copies or backups made of the
original recorded image.

(k) Review process and annual report.

(1) The Agency of Transportation, in consultation with the Department
of Public Safety, shall establish a review process to ensure that recorded
images are used only for the purposes permitted by this section. The Agency
of Transportation shall report the results of this review annually on or before
January 15 to the Senate and House Committees on Judiciary and on
Transportation. The report shall contain the following information based on
prior calendar year data:

(A) the total number of ATLE systems units being operated on behalf
of the Agency in the State;

(B) the terms of any contracts entered into with any vendors for the
deployment of ATLE on behalf of the Agency:

(C)_all of the locations where an ATLE system was deployed along
with the dates and hours that the ATLE system was in operation;

(D) the number of violations issued based on recorded images and
the outcomes of those violations by category. including first, second, and third
and subsequent violations and contested violations:

(E) the number of recorded images the Agency submitted to the
automated traffic law enforcement storage system;

(F) the total amount paid in civil penalties: and

(G) any recommended changes for the use of ATLE systems in

Vermont.

(2) Notwithstanding 2 V.S.A. § 20(d), the annual report required under
this section shall continue to be required if an ATLE system is deployed in the
State unless the General Assembly takes specific action to repeal the report

requirement.
(1) Limitations.

(1) ATLE systems shall only record violations of this section and shall
not be used for any other purpose, including other surveillance purposes.
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(2) Recorded images shall only be accessed to determine if a violation

of this section was committed in the prior 12 months.

(3) Notwithstanding any applicable law to the contrary, the Agency of

Transportation may permit the vendor to coordinate with designated law

enforcement agencies to obtain a recorded image from the vendor to determine
whether a violation of this section occurred within the prior 12 months.

§ 1607. AUTOMATED LICENSE PLATE RECOGNITION SYSTEMS
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) Operation. A Vermont law enforcement officer shall be certified in
ALPR operation by the Vermont Criminal Justice Council in order to operate
an ALPR system.

te)(b) ALPR use and data access; confidentiality.

(1)(A) Deployment of ALPR equipment by Vermont law enforcement
agencies is intended to provide access to law enforcement reports of wanted or
stolen vehicles and wanted persons and to further other legitimate law
enforcement purposes. Use of ALPR systems by law enforcement officers and
access to active data are restricted to legitimate law enforcement purposes.

(B) Active data may be accessed by a law enforcement officer
operating the ALPR system only if he-ershe the law enforcement officer has a
legitimate law enforcement purpose for the data. Entry of any data into the
system other than data collected by the ALPR system itself must be approved
by a supervisor and shall have a legitimate law enforcement purpose.

(O)(1) Requests to access active data shall be in writing and include
the name of the requester, the law enforcement agency the requester is
employed by, if any, and the law enforcement agency’s Originating Agency
Identifier (ORI) number. To be approved, the request must provide specific
and articulable facts showing that there are reasonable grounds to believe that
the data are relevant and material to an ongoing criminal, missing person, or
commercial motor vehicle investigation or enforcement action. The written
request and the outcome of the request shall be transmitted to VIC and retained
by VIC for not less than three years.

(i1)) In each department operating an ALPR system, access to
active data shall be limited to designated personnel who have been provided
account access by the department to conduct authorized ALPR stored data
queries. Access to active data shall be restricted to data collected within the
past seven days.

(2)(A) A VIC analyst shall transmit historical data only to a Vermont or
out-of-state law enforcement officer or person who has a legitimate law
enforcement purpose for the data. A law enforcement officer or other person
to whom historical data are transmitted may use such data only for a legitimate
law enforcement purpose. Entry of any data onto the statewide-ALPRserver
automated traffic law enforcement storage system other than data collected by
an ALPR system itself must be approved by a supervisor and shall have a
legitimate law enforcement purpose.

(B) Requests for historical data within six months ef after the date of
the data’s creation, whether from Vermont or out-of-state law enforcement
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officers or other persons, shall be made in writing to a VIC analyst. The
request shall include the name of the requester, the law enforcement agency
the requester is employed by, if any, and the law enforcement agency’s ORI
number. To be approved, the request must provide specific and articulable
facts showing that there are reasonable grounds to believe that the data are
relevant and material to an ongoing criminal, missing person, or commercial
motor vehicle investigation or enforcement action. VIC shall retain all
requests and shall record in writing the outcome of the request and any
information that was provided to the requester or, if applicable, why a request
was denied or not fulfilled. VIC shall retain the information described in this
subdivision (e}2}B) (b)(2)(B) for ne not fewer than three years.

(C) After six months from the date of its creation, VIC may only
disclose historical data:

() pursuant to a warrant if the data are not sought in connection
with a pending criminal charge; or

(i1) to the prosecution or the defense in connection with a pending
criminal charge and pursuant to a court order issued upon a finding that the
data are reasonably likely to be relevant to the criminal matter.

(3) Active data and historical data shall not be subject to subpoena or
discovery, or be admissible in evidence, in any private civil action.

(4) Notwithstanding any contrary provisions of subdivision (2) of this
subsection, in connection with commercial motor vehicle screening,
inspection, and compliance activities to enforce the Federal Motor Carrier
Safety Regulations, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV):

(A) may maintain or designate a server for the storage of historical
data that is separate from the statewide—server automated traffic law
enforcement storage system;

(B) may designate a DMV employee to carry out the same
responsibilities as a VIC analyst and a supervisor as specified in subdivision
(2) of this subsection (b); and

(C) shall have the same duties as the VIC with respect to the
retention of requests for historical data.

t(c) Retention.

(1) Any ALPR information gathered by a Vermont law enforcement
agency shall be sent to the Department of Public Safety to be retained pursuant
to the requirements of subdivision (2) of this subsection. The Department of
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Public Safety shall maintain the AEPR automated traffic law enforcement
storage system for Vermont law enforcement agencies.

(2) Except as provided in this subsection and section 1608 of this title,
information gathered by a law enforcement officer through use of an ALPR
system shall only be retained for 18 months after the date it was obtained.
When the permitted 18-month period for retention of the information has
expired, the Department of Public Safety and any local law enforcement
agency with custody of the information shall destroy it and cause to have
destroyed any copies or backups made of the original data. Data may be
retained beyond the 18-month period pursuant to a preservation request made
or disclosure order issued under section 1608 of this title or pursuant to a
warrant issued under Rule 41 of the Vermont or Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure.

te)(d) Oversight; rulemaking.

(1) The Department of Public Safety, in consultation with the
Department of Motor Vehicles, shall establish a review process to ensure that
information obtained through use of ALPR systems is used only for the
purposes permitted by this section. The Department of Public Safety shall
report the results of this review annually on or before January 15 to the Senate
and House Committees on Judiciary and on Transportation. The report shall
contain the following information based on prior calendar year data:

(A) the total number of ALPR units being operated by government
agencies in the State, the number of such units that are stationary, and the

number of units submitting data to the statewide-AlPR—-database automated
traffic law enforcement storage system;

(B) the number of ALPR readings each agency submitted, and the
total number of all such readings submitted, to the statewide-Al-PR-database
automated traffic law enforcement storage system;

(C) the 18-month cumulative number of ALPR readings being
housed on the statewide—ALPR-database automated traffic law enforcement
storage system as of the end of the calendar year;

(D) the total number of requests made to VIC for historical data, the
average age of the data requested, and the number of these requests that

resulted in release of information from the statewide—ALPR —database
automated traffic law enforcement storage system,;

(E) the total number of out-of-state requests to VIC for historical
data, the average age of the data requested, and the number of out-of-state
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requests that resulted in release of information from the statewide—AEPR
database automated traffic law enforcement storage system;

(F) the total number of alerts generated on ALPR systems operated
by law enforcement officers in the State by a match between an ALPR reading
and a plate number on an alert database storage system and the number of
these alerts that resulted in an enforcement action;

(G) the total number of criminal, missing person, and commercial
motor vehicle investigations and enforcement actions to which active data
contributed, and a summary of the nature of these investigations and
enforcement actions;

(H) the total number of criminal, missing person, and commercial
motor vehicle investigations and enforcement actions to which historical data
contributed, and a summary of the nature of these investigations and
enforcement actions; and

(I) the total annualized fixed and variable costs associated with all
ALPR systems used by Vermont law enforcement agencies and an estimate of
the total of such costs per unit.

(2) BeforeJanuary152048;-the The Department of Public Safety shalt

may adopt rules to implement this section.
§ 1608. PRESERVATION OF DATA
(a) Preservation request.

(1) A law enforcement agency or the Department of Motor Vehicles or
other person with a legitimate law enforcement purpose may apply to the
Criminal Division of the Superior Court for an extension of up to 90 days of
the 18-month retention period established under subdivision 1607¢d)(c)(2) of
this title subchapter if the agency or Department offers specific and articulable
facts showing that there are reasonable grounds to believe that the captured
plate data are relevant and material to an ongoing criminal or missing persons
investigation or to a pending court or Judicial Bureau proceeding involving
enforcement of a crime or of a commercial motor vehicle violation. Requests
for additional 90-day extensions or for longer periods may be made to the
Superior Court subject to the same standards applicable to an initial extension
request under this subdivision.

(2) A governmental entity making a preservation request under this
section shall submit an affidavit stating:
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(A) the particular camera or cameras for which captured plate data
must be preserved or the particular license plate for which captured plate data
must be preserved; and

(B) the date or dates and time frames for which captured plate data
must be preserved.

(b) Destruction. Captured plate data shall be destroyed on the schedule
specified in section 1607 of this tile subchapter if the preservation request is
denied or 14 days after the denial, whichever is later.

Sec. 2. 4 V.S.A. § 1102 is amended to read:
§ 1102. JUDICIAL BUREAU; JURISDICTION

(a) The Judicial Bureau is created within the Judicial Branch under the
supervision of the Supreme Court.

(b) The Judicial Bureau shall have jurisdiction of the following matters:

(1) Traffic violations alleged to have been committed on or after July 1,
1990.

* %k sk

(33) Automated traffic law enforcement violations issued pursuant to
23 V.S.A. § 1606.

* %k sk

Sec. 3. IMPLEMENTATION; OUTREACH

(a) The Agency shall develop an implementation plan and seek federal

funding from the Federal Highway Administration for a work zone ATLE pilot
program to run in locations throughout Vermont from July 1. 2025 until

October 1, 2026.

(b) The Agency of Transportation, in consultation with the Department of

Public Safety, shall implement a public outreach campaign not later than April
1. 2025 that, at a minimum, addresses:

(1) the use of automated traffic law enforcement (ATLE) systems in
work zones throughout the State;

(2) what recorded images captured by ATLE systems will show:
(3) the legal significance of recorded images captured by ATLE
systems; and

(4) the process to challenge and defenses to a Vermont civil violation
complaint issued based on a recorded image captured by an ATLE system.
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(c)(1) The public outreach campaign shall disseminate information on

ATLE systems through the Agency of Transportation’s web page and through

other mediums such as social media platforms, community posting websites,
radio, television, and printed materials.

(2) The information disseminated pursuant to subdivision (1) of this

subsection shall be available in languages other than English that are
commonly spoken in Vermont and neighboring states whose residents travel to
Vermont. The Agency of Transportation shall consult with the Office of
Racial Equity and Vermont language services organizations to determine the
appropriate languages for translation.

Sec. 4. REPEAL OF CURRENT PROSPECTIVE REPEAL

2013 Acts and Resolves No. 69, Sec. 3(b)., as amended by 2015 Acts and
Resolves No. 32, Sec. 1, 2016 Acts and Resolves No. 169, Sec. 6, 2018 Acts
and Resolves No. 175, Sec. 1, 2020 Acts and Resolves No. 134, Sec. 3, and
2022 Acts and Resolves No. 147, Sec. 34 (July 1, 2024 repeal of Automated
License Plate Recognition system standards), is repealed.

Sec. 5. PROSPECTIVE REPEAL

4 V.S.A. §1102(b)(33) (Vermont Judicial Bureau jurisdiction over
automated traffic law enforcement violations) and 23 V.S.A. §§ 1606-1608
(automated law enforcement) are repealed on July 1, 2027; provided, however,
if the Agency is unable to secure federal funding for a work zone ATLE pilot
program by June 30, 2025, then 4 V.S.A. § 1102(b)(33) and 23 V.S.A.
§§ 16061608 are repealed on July 2, 2025.

Sec. 6. 23 V.S.A. § 1605 is amended to read:
§ 1605. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

(1) “hctive-data™

(2) “Automated license plate recognition system” or “ALPR system”
means a system of one or more mobile or fixed high-speed cameras combined
with computer algorithms to convert images of registration number plates into
computer-readable data.
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(3) “Automated traffic law enforcement system” or “ATLE system”
means a device with one or more sensors working in conjunction with a speed
measuring device to produce recorded images of the rear registration number
plates of motor vehicles traveling at more than 10 miles above the speed limit.

(4). “. . . ”. .
%he—GeﬁmrSﬁeﬂer—ef—Pubh&S&few— . Commissioner-of eS¢ .|Rp_ea1ed.| .
(5) “Historieak-data™ means-any-data-colected-by-an-ALPRsystem-and

e&fefeemeﬁt—ptu?ese— | Repealed |
(6) . . . . > . tvi .

%haﬂ—l-O—mﬂes—abeve—ﬂ&e—speed—hmﬂ— |Rep_ea1ed |
(10) “Vi I .” - | . il

investigations: [Repealed. ]
Sec. 7. 23 V.S.A. § 1609 is added to read:

§ 1609. PROHIBITION ON USE OF AUTOMATED LAW
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ENFORCEMENT

No State agency or department or any political subdivision of the State shall
use automated license plate recognition systems or automated traffic law
enforcement systems.

Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) Secs. la (powers of enforcement officers; 23 V.S.A. chapter 15) and 2
(Judicial Bureau jurisdiction: 4 V.S.A. § 1102) shall take effect on July 1.
2025.

(b) Secs. 6 (amended automated law enforcement definitions; 23 V.S.A.
§ 1605) and 7 (prohibition on the use of automated law enforcement; 23
V.S.A. § 1609) shall take effect upon the repeal of 4 V.S.A. § 1102(b)(33)
(Vermont Judicial Bureau jurisdiction over automated traffic law enforcement
violations) and 23 V.S.A. §§ 1606-1608 (automated law enforcement)
pursuant to the provisions of Sec. 5.

(c) All other sections shall take effect on passage.

(Committee vote: 10-0-1)

Rep. Mattos of Milton, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass in concurrence with proposal of amendment
as recommended by the Committee on Transportation.

(Committee Vote: 11-0-1)
Senate Proposal of Amendment
H. 629
An act relating to changes to property tax abatement and tax sales

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking out all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* % * Municipal Tax Abatement * * *
Sec. 1. 24 V.S.A. § 1535 is amended to read:
§ 1535. ABATEMENT

(a) The board may abate in whole or part taxes, water charges, sewer
charges, interest, er collection fees, or any other municipal charges or fees for
utilities or services, or any combination of those, other than those arising out
of a corrected classification of homestead or nonhomestead property, accruing
to the town in the following cases:

(1) taxes or charges of persons who have died insolvent;
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(2) taxes or charges of persons who have moved from the State;

(3) taxes or charges of persons who are unable to pay their taxes or
charges, interest, and collection fees;

(4) taxes in which there is manifest a clear or obvious error or a mistake
of the listers;

(5) taxes or charges upon real or personal property lost or destroyed
during the tax year;

(6) the exemption amount available under 32 V.S.A. § 3802(11) to
persons otherwise eligible for exemption who file a claim on or after May 1
but before October 1 due to the claimant’s sickness or disability or other good
cause as determined by the board of abatement; but that exemption amount
shall be reduced by 20 percent of the total exemption for each month or
portion of a month the claim is late filed;

(7) [Repealed.]
(8) [Repealed.]

(9) taxes or charges upon a mobile home moved from the town during
the tax year as a result of a change in use of the mobile home park land or
parts thereof or closure of the mobile home park in which the mobile home
was sited, pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 6237; or

(10) sewer, water, utility, or service charges caused by circumstances
that were difficult to foresee or outside of the person’s control.

(b) The board’s abatement of an amount of tax or charge shall
automatically abate any uncollected interest and fees relating to that amount.

(c) The board shall, in any case in which it abates taxes or charges, interest,
or collection fees accruing to the town or denies an application for abatement,
state in detail in writing the reasons for its decision. The written decision shall
provide sufficient explanation to indicate to the parties what was considered
and what was decided. The decision shall address the arguments raised by the
applicant. Prior to issuing a written decision, the board may request additional
relevant information or documentation related to the case.

(d)(1) The board may order that any abatement as to an amount or amounts
already paid be in the form of a refund or in the form of a credit against the tax
or charge for the next ensuing tax year or charge billing cycle and for
succeeding tax years or billing cycles if required to use up the amount of the
credit.
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(2) Whenever a municipality votes to collect interest on overdue taxes
pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 5136, interest in a like amount shall be paid by the
municipality to any person for whom an abatement has been ordered.

(3) Interest on taxes or charges paid and subsequently abated shall
accrue from the date payment was due or made, whichever is later. However,
abatements issued pursuant to subdivision (a)(5) of this section need not
include the payment of interest.

(4) When a refund has been ordered, the board shall draw an order on
the town treasurer for payment of the refund.

(e)(1) The board may hear a group of similar requests for abatement as a

class, provided that:

(A) the board has first met and established a class in accordance with
this subsection (¢);

(B) the requests shall arise from the same cause or event;

(C) the requests relate to the bases for abatement in subdivision
(a)(4), (5), or (9) of this section;

(D) the board shall group requests based on property classification;

(E) the board shall provide notice to each taxpaver of the taxpayer’s
status as a member of the class: and

(F) a taxpayer shall have the right to decline the taxpayer’s status as a

member of the class and pursue the taxpayer’s request as a separate action
before the board.

(2) The board shall provide notice to each taxpayer at minimum 21 days

before the scheduled hearing for the class. The notice shall include a
description of the class and the board’s reasons for grouping the requests, an
explanation of the taxpayer’s status as a member of the class, the procedure for
appealing a board decision, the taxpayer’s right to decline class membership
and pursue a separate action, and any deadlines that the taxpayer must meet in
order to participate as a member of the class or pursue a separate action.

(3) A taxpayer shall notify the board of the taxpayer’s intent to pursue a

separate action, pursuant to subdivision (1)(F) of this subsection, a minimum

of seven days before the board’s hearing to consider a class request.

(4) A board may preserve and take notice of any evidence supporting
the basis for abatement for a class and use that evidence for purposes of a later,
separate action pursued by an individual taxpayer.
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(5) In instances where a board abates in part taxes, charges, interest, or
collection fees for a class, the board shall not render a decision that results in
disproportionate rates of abatement for taxpayers within the class.

() A municipality shall provide clear notice to a taxpayer of the ability to
request tax abatement, and how to request abatement, at the same time as a
municipality attempts to collect a municipal fee or interest for delinquent
taxes, water charges, sewer charges, or tax collection.

(g) The legislative body of a municipality by a majority vote may abate de
minimis amounts of taxes for purposes of reconciling municipal accounts
according to generally accepted accounting principles.

Sec. 2. 24 V.S.A. § 5144 is amended to read:
§ 5144. UNIFORM NOTICE FORM

The notice form required under section 5143 of this chapter, and defined in
section 5142 of this chapter, shall be clearly printed on a pink colored sheet of
paper; and shall be according to the following form:

* %k sk

ABATEMENT AND POSSIBLE REDUCTION IN CHARGES—You may be
able to receive a reduction of charges, penalties, or interest through municipal
abatement. To seek this reduction in charges from the Board of Abatement,
contact the municipal clerk by mail, phone, or e-mail:

(Name of Clerk of Board of Abatement)

(Name of Town, City, or Village)
(Address of Office)

(Mailing Address)
or by calling:

(Telephone Number)
or by e-mailing:

(E-mail Address)

* % * Property Tax Credit * * *
Sec. 3. 32 V.S.A. § 6065 is amended to read:
§ 6065. FORMS; TABLES; NOTICES
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(a) In administering this chapter, the Commissioner shall provide suitable
claim forms with tables of allowable claims, instructions, and worksheets for
claiming a homestead property tax credit.

(b) Prior to June 1, the Commissioner shall also prepare and supply to each
town in the State notices describing the homestead property tax credit; for
inclusion in property tax bills. The notice shall be in simple, plain language
and shall explain how to file for a property tax credit, where to find assistance

filing for a credit, and any other related information as determined by the
Commissioner. The notice shall direct taxpayers to a resource where they can

find versions of the notice translated into the five most common non-English
languages in the State. A town shall include such notice in each tax bill and
notice of delinquent taxes that it mails to taxpayers who own in that town a
homestead-as-defined-in—subdivision 5407 -of thistitle residential property,
without regard for whether the property was declared a homestead pursuant to
subdivision 5401(7) of this title.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (b) of this section, towns
that use envelopes or mailers not able to accommodate notices describing the
homestead tax credit may distribute such notices in an alternative manner.

* * * Tax Sale of Real Property * * *
Sec. 4. 32 V.S.A. § 5252 is amended to read:
§ 5252. LEVY AND NOTICE OF SALE; SECURING PROPERTY

(a) When the collector of taxes of a town or of a municipality within it has
for collection a tax assessed against real estate in the town and the taxpayer is
delinquent for a period longer than one year, the collector may extend a
warrant on such land. However, no warrant shall be extended until a
delinquent taxpayer is given an opportunity to enter a written reasonable
repayment plan pursuant to subsection (c) of this section. If a collector
receives notice from a mobile home park owner pursuant to 10 V.S.A. §
6248(b), the collector shall, within 15 days after the notice, commence tax sale
proceedings to hold a tax sale within 60 days after the notice. If the collector
fails to initiate such proceedings, the town may initiate tax sale proceedings
only after complying with 10 V.S.A. § 6249(f). If the tax collector extends the
warrant, the collector shall:

(1) File in the office of the town clerk for record a true and attested
copy of the warrant and so much of the tax bill committed to the collector for
collection as relates to the tax against the delinquent taxpayer, a sufficient
description of the land so levied upon, and a statement in writing that by virtue
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of the original tax warrant and tax bill committed to the collector for
collection, the collector has levied upon the described land.

(2) Advertise forthwith such land for sale at public auction in the town
where it lies three weeks successively in a newspaper circulating in the
vicinity, the last publication to be at least 10 days before such sale.

(3) Give the delinquent taxpayer written notice by certified mail
requiring a return receipt directed to the last known address of the delinquent
of the date and place of such sale at least 10 30 days prior thereto if the
delinquent is a resident of the town and 20 30 days prior thereto if the
delinquent is a nonresident of the town. If the notice by certified mail is
returned unclaimed;:

(A) notice shall be provided to the taxpayer by resending the notice
by first-class mail or by personal service pursuant to Rule 4 of the Vermont
Rules of Civil Procedure; and

(B) notice shall be provided by e-mail, provided the tax collector can
acquire the e-mail address of the delinquent taxpayer using reasonable effort;
and

(C) notice shall be affixed to the front door of the property subject to
tax sale, provided it has a structure.

(4) Give to the mortgagee or lien holder of record written notice of such
sale at least 40 30 days prior thereto if a resident of the town and, if a
nonresident, 20 30 days’ notice to the mortgagee or lien holder of record or his
or—her the mortgagee’s or lien holder’s agent or attorney by certified mail
requiring a return receipt directed to the last known address of such person. If
the notice by certified mail is returned unclaimed, notice shall be provided by
resending the notice by first-class mail or by personal service pursuant to Rule
4 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.

(5) Post a notice of such sale in some public place in the town.

(6) Enclose the following statement, with directions to a resource
translating the notice into the five most common non-English languages used
in this State, with the notices required under subdivisions (3) and (4) of this
subsection and with every delinquent tax notice:

Warning: There are unpaid property taxes at (address of property), which you

may own, have a legal interest, or may be contiguous to your property. The
property will be sold at public auction on (date set for sale) unless the overdue

taxes, fees, and interest in the amount of (dollar amount due) is paid. To make
payment or receive further information, contact (name of tax collector)
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immediately at (office address), (mailing address), (e-mail address), or

(telephone number).

(7) _The resource for translation of the notice required under subdivision
(6) of this subsection shall be made available to all municipalities by the
Vermont Department of Taxes.

(b)(1) If the warrant and levy for delinquent taxes has been recorded
pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, the municipality in which the real
estate lies may secure the property against illegal activity and potential fire
hazards after giving the mortgagee or lien holder of record written notice at
least 10 days prior to such action.

(2) Notwithstanding any provision of this section to the contrary, when
a warrant and levy for delinquent taxes has been recorded pursuant to
subsection (a) of this section, it shall be for all delinquent taxes due at the time
the warrant and levy is filed.

(c)(1) A municipality shall not initiate a tax sale proceeding until it has,
after attempting to consult with the taxpayer, offered a delinquent taxpayer a
written reasonable repayment plan and the taxpayer has either denied the offer,

failed to respond within 30 days, or failed to make a payment under the plan

within the time frame established by the collector. When establishing a plan
under this subsection, the municipality may request related information and

shall consider the following:

(A) the income and income schedule of the taxpayer, if offered by
the taxpayer;

(B) the taxpayer’s tax payment history with the municipality;

(C) the amount of tax debt owed to the municipality:

(D) the amount of time tax has been delinquent; and

(E) the taxpayer’s reason for the delinquency, if offered by the
taxpayer.

(2) A collector is only required to offer one payment plan per
delinquency, without regard for whether it is agreed to by the delinquent
taxpayer.

(3) A collector may void a payment plan and proceed to tax sale if a
delinquent taxpayer agrees to a payment plan under this subsection and fails to
make a timely payment.
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Sec. 5. 32 V.S.A. § 5253 is amended to read:
§ 5253. FORM OF ADVERTISEMENT AND NOTICE OF SALE

The form of advertisement and notice of sale provided for in section 5252
of this title shall be substantially in the following form:

The resident and nonresident owners, lien holders, and mortgagees of lands in

the town of in the county of are hereby notified that
the taxes assessed by such town for the years (insert years the taxes are
unpaid) remain, either in whole or in part, unpaid on the following
described lands in such town, to wit,

(insert description of lands)

and so much of such lands will be sold at public auction at a public
place in such town, on the day of (month), (year) at
o’clock (am/pm), as shall be requisite to discharge such taxes

with costs and fees, unless previously paid.

Be advised that the owner or mortgagee, or the owner’s or mortgagee’s

representatives or assigns, of lands sold for taxes shall have a right to
redemption for a period of one year from the date of sale pursuant to 32 V.S.A.

§ 5260.
Dated at , Vermont, this day of (month),
(year).

Collector of Town Taxes
Sec. 6. 32 V.S.A. § 5260 is amended to read:
§ 5260. REDEMPTION

(a) When the owner, lien holder, or mortgagee of lands sold for taxes, his
or-her the owner’s, lien holder’s, or mortgagee’s representatives or assigns,
within one year from the day of sale, pays or tenders to the collector who made
the sale or in the case of his-erher the collector’s death or removal from the
town where the land lies, to the town clerk of such town, the sum for which
the land was sold with interest thereon calculated at a rate of one percent per
month or fraction thereof from the day of sale to the day of payment, a deed of
the land shall not be made to the purchaser, but the money paid or tendered by
the owner, lien holder, or mortgagee or his-er-her the owner’s, lien holder’s, or
mortgagee’s representatives or assigns to the collector or town clerk shall be
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paid over to such purchaser on demand. In the event that a municipality
purchases contaminated land pursuant to section 5259 of this title, the cost to
redeem shall include all costs expended for assessment and remediation,
including expenses incurred or authorized by any local, State, or federal
government authority.

(b) During the redemption period, the tax collector shall:

(1) Serve the delinquent taxpayer with the written notice required under
subsection (c) of this section between 90 and 120 days prior to the end of the
redemption period using certified mail requiring a return receipt, directed to
the last known address of the delinquent taxpayer. If the notice by certified
mail is returned unclaimed, notice shall be provided by resending the notice by
first-class mail or by personal service pursuant to Rule 4 of the Vermont Rules
of Civil Procedure.

(2) Post the notice in some public place in the municipality between 90
and 120 days prior to the end of redemption period.

(¢) The tax collector shall enclose the following statement, with directions

to a resource translating the notice into the five most common non-English
languages used in this State, with every notice required under this section:

Warning: There are unpaid property taxes at (address of property), which

you may own, have a legal interest in, or may be contiguous to your property.
The property was sold at public auction on (date). Unless the overdue taxes,
fees, and interest are paid by (last day of redemption period). the deed to the
property will transfer to purchaser. To redeem the property and avoid losing
your legal interest, you must pay (dollar amount due for redemption). The
amount you must pay to redeem the property increases every month due to

interest, mailing costs, and other costs. To make payment or receive further
information, contact (name of tax collector) immediately at (office address),
(mailing address), (e-mail address), and (telephone number).

(d) The resource for translation of the notice required under subsection (c)
of this section shall be made available to all municipalities by the Vermont
Department of Taxes.

Sec. 7. WORKING GROUP ON VERMONT’S ABATEMENT AND TAX
SALE PROCESSES

(a)  Creation. There is created the Working Group on Vermont’s

Abatement and Tax Sale Processes to assess how Vermont may balance
fairness for delinquent taxpayers with the needs of municipalities.

(b) Membership. The Working Group shall be composed of the following

members:
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(1) a representative, appointed by Vermont Legal Aid;

(2) a representative, appointed by the Vermont League of Cities and
Towns;

(3) a representative, appointed by the Vermont Banker’s Association;
(4) a representative, appointed by the Vermont Housing Finance
Agency:;

(5) a representative, appointed by the Vermont Municipal Clerk’s and
Treasurer’s Associations;

(6) a representative, appointed by the Neighborworks Alliance of
Vermont;

(7) _a representative, appointed by the Champlain Valley Office of

Economic Opportunity Mobile Home Project;

(8) a representative. appointed by the Vermont Assessors and Listers
Association; and

(9) a representative, appointed by the Vermont Bar Association, with
experience practicing real estate law.

(c) Powers and duties. The Working Group shall offer recommendations

relating to the following:

(1) whether the State should change the law to allow a delinquent

taxpayer whose property is transferred by a tax collector’s deed, or a tax-lien
foreclosure sale, to recoup all or part of the equity in the taxpayer’s property in
excess of the tax debt, fees, and interest for which the taxpayer’s property is
sold;

(2) whether further changes are needed to standardize the abatement

process across Vermont municipalities;

(3) whether the State should require a minimum amount of tax debt

before a tax sale can be initiated;

(4) whether the State should allow a tax sale to be initiated for blighted
or dilapidated real estate that has been abandoned when taxes are delinquent
for less than one year;

(5) a reasonable percent rate of monthly interest paid by delinquent
taxpayers during the redemption period;

(6) whether the purchaser of a property at a tax sale should be allowed
to secure the property against illegal activity, damage from exposure to the
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elements, deterioration, and potential fire prior to acquiring title to the
property; and

(7) __a process for statewide collection of data relating to tax sales,
including to whom the data could be reported, the values of properties sold at
tax sales, the amounts and types of debts underlying tax sales, and descriptive
data for properties subject to tax sales.

(d) Report. On or before December 15, 2024, the Working Group shall
submit a written report to the House Committee on Ways and Means, House
Committee on Government Operations and Military Affairs, Senate Committee
on Finance, and Senate Committee on Government Operations with its

findings and any recommendations for legislative action, including proposed
legislative language.

(e) Compensation. Members shall not be compensated for participation in
the Working Group.

(f) Meetings.

(1) The representative appointed by Vermont Legal Aid shall call the
first meeting of the Working Group to occur on or before August 1, 2024.

(2) The Working Group shall elect a chair from among its members at

the first meeting.

(3) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Working Group shall cease to exist on June 30, 2025.
Sec. 8. APPLICATION OF CHANGES MADE BY THIS ACT
(a) The amendments to 32 V.S.A. § 5252 made by Sec. 4 of this act (notice

of sale) shall not apply to a property that was subject to a notice of sale prior to
the effective date of this act.

(b) The amendments to 32 V.S.A. § 5260 made by Sec. 6 of this act
(redemption) shall not apply to a property that has been sold at tax sale prior to
the effective date of this act, except that, notwithstanding any provision of
1 V.S.A. § 214 to the contrary, the provisions of 32 V.S.A. § 5260(b) and (¢)
shall apply if, on the effective date of this act, 90 days or more remain until the
end of the redemption period.

* %k Effective Date * * *
Sec. 9. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.
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Action Postponed Until May 1, 2024
Senate Proposal of Amendment
H. 649
An act relating to the Vermont Truth and Reconciliation Commission

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking out all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 2022 Acts and Resolves No. 128, Sec. 4 is amended to read:
Sec. 4. REPEAL

1 V.S.A. chapter 25 (Truth and Reconciliation Commission) is repealed on
Fuby15-2026 May 1, 2027.
Sec. 2. 1 V.S.A. § 903 is amended to read:
§ 903. COMMISSIONERS

* %k 3k

(c) The term of each commissioner shall begin on the date of appointment
and end on July152026 May 1, 2027.
Sec. 3. 1 V.S.A. § 904 is amended to read:

§ 904. SELECTION PANEL; MEMBERSHIP; DUTIES

(2 The Selection Panel shall be composed of seven—members—selected
on—or—before—September—1;,—2022by—a—majerity—vete—of the following five

members:

(1) the Executive Director of Racial Equity or designee;

B)2) the Executive Director of the Vermont Center for Independent
Living or designee;

€&)(3) an individual, who shall not be a current member of the
General Assembly, appointed by the Speaker of the House;

P)(4) an individual, who shall not be a current member of the
General Assembly, appointed by the Committee on Committees; and

E)(5) an individual, appointed by the Chief Justice of the Vermont
Supreme Court.
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(b)(1) The Selection Panel shall select and appoint the commissioners of
the Truth and Reconciliation Commission as provided pursuant to section 905
of this chapter.

(2) To enable it to carry out its duty to select and appoint the
commissioners of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission as provided
pursuant to section 905 of this chapter, the Panel may:

(A) adopt procedures as necessary to carry out the duties set forth in
section 905 of this chapter; and

(B) blish-and-mainta; incival-office:
€©) meet and hold hearings at any place in this State;:-and

(c) The term of each member of the Panel shall begin on the date of

appointment and end on January15;2023;-exeept-if-the Panel-extends-the-time

to-select-commissioners—pursuant-to-subdivision-905(e)-of this-chapter—the
term-of the Panel-membersshallend-en-Mareh 312023 May 1, 2027.

(d) The Panel shall select a chair and a vice chair from among its members.

(e)(1) Meetings shall be held at the call of the Chair or at the request of
four or more members of the Panel.
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(2) A majority of the current membership of the Panel shall constitute a
quorum, and actions of the Panel may be authorized by a majority of the
members present and voting at a meeting of the Panel.

(f) Members of the Panel who are not otherwise compensated by the State
shall be entitled to per diem compensation and reimbursement of expenses

pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 1010 for net-mere-than20-meetings-during-fiscal-year

2023 meetings to carry out the Panel’s duties pursuant to this section and
sections 905 and 905a of this chapter. These payments shall be made from

amounts appropriated to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

(g) The Panel shall have the administrative and legal assistance of the

Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

(h)(1) A member of the Panel who is not serving ex officio may be
removed by the appropriate appointing authority for incompetence. failure to
discharge the member’s duties, malfeasance, or illegal acts.

(2) A vacancy occurring on the Panel shall be filled by the appropriate
appointing authority for the remainder of the term.

Sec. 4. 1 V.S.A. § 905 is amended to read:
§ 905. SELECTION OF COMMISSIONERS

* %k sk

(d) The Panel shall fill any vacancy occurring among the commissioners
within 60 days after the vacancy occurs in the manner set forth in subsections
(a) and (b) of this section. A commissioner appointed to fill a vacancy

pursuant to this subsection shall be appointed to serve for the balance of the
unexpired term.

Sec. 5. APPOINTMENT TO FILL EXISTING COMMISSION VACANCY

The Selection Panel established pursuant to 1 V.S.A. § 905 shall fill the

vacancy existing on the Truth and Reconciliation Commission on the effective

date of this act not later than 60 days after the appointive members of the
Panel are appointed.

Sec. 6. 1 V.S.A. § 905a is added to read:

§ 905a. REMOVAL OR REPRIMAND OF COMMISSIONERS FOR
MISCONDUCT

The Selection Panel may, after notice and an opportunity for a hearing,

reprimand or remove a commissioner for incompetence, failure to discharge
the commissioner’s duties, malfeasance, illegal acts, or other actions that the
Panel determines would substantially and materially harm the credibility of the
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Truth and Reconciliation Commission or its ability to carry out its work
pursuant to the provisions of this chapter. Notwithstanding subdivision

904(e)(2) of this chapter, the reprimand or removal of a commissioner shall

only be authorized by a vote of the majority of the members of the Panel.
Sec. 7. 1 V.S.A. § 906 is amended to read:
§ 906. POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE COMMISSIONERS

* %k sk

(b) Powers. To carry out its duties pursuant to this chapter, the
commissioners may:

(1) Adeptrules-in-aceordance-with3-V.-S-A-—chapter 25-as-neeessaryto
implement-the-previstons-of this-ehapter: [Repealed.]

* %k sk

(13)(A) Establish groups in which individuals who have experienced

institutional, structural, or systemic discrimination or are a member of a
population or community that has experienced institutional, structural, or

systemic discrimination may participate for purposes of sharing experiences
and providing mutual support.

(B) Commissioners shall not participate in any meeting or session of

a group established pursuant to this subdivision (13).

(C)  Groups established pursuant to this subdivision (13) may
continue to exist after the date on which the Commission ceases to exist
provided that after that date Commission staff shall no longer provide any
assistance or services to the groups and Commission funds shall no longer be
spent in support of the groups.

Sec. 8. 1 V.S.A. § 908 is amended to read:

§ 908. REPORTS

* %k sk

(b)(1) On or before Fune April 15, 2026 2027, the Commission shall
submit a final report incorporating the findings and recommendations of each
committee. Each report shall detail the findings and recommendations of the
relevant committee and shall include recommendations for actions that can be
taken to eliminate ongoing instances of institutional, structural, and systemic
discrimination and to address the harm caused by historic instances of
institutional, structural, and systemic discrimination.
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(2) The Commission shall, on or before January October 15, 2026,
make a draft of the final report publicly available and provide copies of the
draft to interested parties from the populations and communities identified
pursuant to subdivision 902(b)(1) of this chapter and other interested parties.
The Commission shall provide the interested parties and members of the
public with not less than 60 days to review the draft and provide comments on
it. The Commission shall consider fully all comments submitted in relation to
the draft and shall include with the final version of the report a summary of all
comments received and a concise statement of the reasons why the
Commission decided to incorporate or reject any proposed changes.
Comments submitted in relation to the final report shall be made available to
the public in a manner that complies with the requirements of section 940 909
of this chapter.

(3) The draft and final report shall include:

(A) a bibliography of all sources, interviews, and materials utilized in
preparing the report;

(B) a summary of the interviews utilized in preparing the report,
including the total number of interviews, and whether each interview was

public or confidential, and whether a transcript or summary, or both, is
available for each interview:; and

(C) information regarding where members of the public can access
and obtain copies of the sources and materials utilized in preparing the report,
including the transcripts or summaries of interviews.

* %k 3k

Sec. 9. 1 V.S.A. § 909 is amended to read:
§ 909. ACCESS TO INFORMATION; CONFIDENTIALITY

* %k 3k

(d) Private proceedings.

(1) Fhe Notwithstanding any provision of chapter 5, subchapter 2 of this
title, the Vermont Open Meeting Law, or section 911 of this chapter to the
contrary, the Commission shall permit any individual who is interviewed by
the Commission to elect to have their the individual’s interview conducted in a
manner that protects the individual’s privacy and to have any recording of the
interview kept confidential by the Commission. Any other record or document
produced in relation to an interview conducted pursuant to this subdivision
(d)(1) shall enly be available to the public in an anonymized form that does
not reveal the identity of any individual.
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Sec. 10. 1 V.S.A. § 911 is added to read:

§ 911. DELIBERATIVE DISCUSSIONS; EXCEPTION TO OPEN
MEETING LAW

(a) Notwithstanding any provision of chapter 5. subchapter 2 of this title,
the deliberations of a quorum or more of the members of the Commission shall
not be subject to the Vermont Open Meeting Law.

(b) The Commission shall regularly post to the Commission’s website a

short summary of all deliberative meetings held by the commissioners
pursuant to this subsection.

(c)(1) As used in this section, “deliberations” means weighing, examining,

and discussing information gathered by the Commission and the reasons for
and against an act or decision.

(2) “Deliberations” expressly excludes:

(A) taking evidence, except as otherwise provided pursuant to section
909 of this chapter:

(B) hearing arguments for or against an act or decision of the
Commission;

(C) taking public comment; and
(D) making any decision related to an act or the official duties of the

Commission.
Sec. 11. LEGISLATIVE INTENT
It is the intent of the General Assembly that:

(1) the Truth and Reconciliation Commission work in an open,
transparent, and inclusive manner to ensure the credibility and integrity of its
work and strive to maximize opportunities to conduct its business in public
meetings;

(2) specific exceptions to the Open Meeting Law, in recognition of the

highly sensitive nature of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s charge,
will enable the Commission to carry out its duties in a manner that:

(A) preserves the safety of participants in the Commission’s work;

(B) does not perpetuate or exacerbate harm experienced by
participants; and

(C) protects participants from additional trauma.
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Sec. 12. 1 V.S.A. § 912 is added to read:
§ 912. GROUP SESSIONS: DUTY OF CONFIDENTIALITY

(a) The sessions of groups established pursuant to subdivision 906(b)(13)
of this chapter shall be confidential and privileged. Participants in a group
session, including Commission staff or individuals whom the Commission
contracts with to facilitate group sessions, shall be subject to a duty of
confidentiality and shall keep confidential any information gained during a

group session.

(b) A person who attended a group session may bring a private action in
the Civil Division of the Superior Court for damages resulting from a breach
of the duty of confidentiality established pursuant to this section.

(c) This section shall not be construed to limit or otherwise affect the

application of a common law duty of confidentiality to group sessions and any
action that may be brought based on a breach of that duty.

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the limited
disclosure of information to specific persons under the following
circumstances:

(1) The disclosure:

(A) relates to a threat or statement of a plan made during a group
session that the individual reasonably believes is likely to result in death or

bodily injury to themselves or others or damage to the property of themselves
or another person: and

(B) is made to law enforcement authorities or another person that is
reasonably able to prevent or lessen the threat.

(2) The disclosure is based on a reasonable suspicion of abuse or neglect
of a child or vulnerable adult and a report is made in accordance with the
provisions of 33 V.S.A. § 4914 or 6903 or to comply with another law.

(e) The Commission shall ensure that all participants in a group session are

provided with notice of the provisions of this section, including any rights and
obligations of participants that are established pursuant to this section.

(f) As used in this section, “group session” means any meeting of a group
established pursuant to subdivision 906(b)(13) of this chapter for purposes of
the participants sharing or discussing their experiences and providing mutual
support. “Group session” does not include any gathering of the participants in
a group established pursuant to subdivision 906(b)(13) of this chapter that
includes one or more members of the Commission.
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Sec. 13. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.

NOTICE CALENDAR
Favorable with Amendment
H. 503

An act relating to approval of amendments to the charter of the Town of St.
Johnsbury

Rep. Higley of Lowell, for the Committee on Government Operations and
Military Affairs, recommends the bill be amended by striking out all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. CHARTER AMENDMENT APPROVAL

The General Assembly approves the amendments to the charter of the Town
of St. Johnsbury as set forth in this act. Voters approved the proposals of
amendment on November 8, 2022.

Sec. 2. 24 App. V.S.A. chapter 151 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 151. TOWN OF ST. JOHNSBURY

Subchapter 1. Powers of the Town

* %k sk
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§ 101. ADDITIONAL TOWN POWERS

In addition to powers otherwise conferred by law, the Town of St.
Johnsbury is authorized to adopt, amend, repeal, and enforce ordinances:
(1) relating to collection and removal of garbage, ashes, rubbish, refuse,

waste, and scrap by the Town and establishment of rates to be paid to the
Town for such service; and

(2) relating to construction and alteration of public and private buildings
and the use thereof, including establishment of minimum standards for
plumbing, heating, and wiring, so as to prevent hazardous and dangerous
conditions, fires, and explosions by precautionary regulations and inspection.

§ 102. INITIATIVE; ADVISORY VOTES

The voters of the Town have the power to petition for a nonbinding
advisory vote to reflect public sentiment. The petition shall be signed by at
least five percent of the voters of the Town and shall state that it is advisory
only. The Select Board, upon receipt of the petition, shall place the article on

the warning for the next Town meeting or any other Town election.
Subchapter 2. Town Officers

§ 201. ELECTIVE OFFICERS

(a) The elective officers of the Town shall be five Select Board members
elected from the Town at large at a duly warned annual town meeting; a Town
Clerk; a Treasurer; and a Moderator, unless by a majority vote of the Town the
Moderator becomes an appointed position.

(b) Select Board terms shall include three positions with a three-year term
and two positions with a one-year term. All other elective officers shall hold
office for a three-year term. The term shall expire the first day following the
annual Town meeting.

§ 202. APPOINTIVE OFFICERS

(a) The Select Board members shall annually appoint a Constable and other
officers required by law or this charter, the appointments to be made as
vacancies occur in the elected positions.

(b) The Select Board members may create appointive officers not provided
for by this charter or required by law as they deem to be in the best interests of
the Town.
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§ 203. COMPENSATION

(a) Compensation paid to the Select Board members shall be set by the
voters at Town meeting.

(b) Subject to subsection (a) of this section, the Select Board shall fix the
compensation of all elective officers and of all officers appointed by the Select
Board.

(¢) The Town Manager, under policies approved by the Select Board, shall
fix the compensation of all other officers and employees whose compensation
is not fixed by the Select Board pursuant to subsection (b) of this section.

Subchapter 3. Select Board
§ 301. SELECT BOARD: LEGISLATIVE BODY

The Select Board shall constitute the legislative body of the Town of and
shall have all powers and authority necessary for the performance of the
legislative function.

§ 302. ADDITIONAL POWERS OF THE SELECT BOARD

In addition to powers otherwise conferred by law, the Select Board is
authorized to adopt, amend, repeal, and enforce ordinances:

(1) regulating the parking and operation of motor vehicles; including, in
accordance with any other provisions of law, the establishment of speed zones
wherein the limit is less than 20 miles per hour, all as may be required by the
safety and welfare of the inhabitants of the Town;

(2) relating to regulation, licensing, and prohibition of the storage and
accumulation of junk cars, garbage, ashes, rubbish, refuse, waste, and scrap
and the collection, removal, and disposal of such materials; and

(3) relating to restraining the running at large of dogs, cats, and other

domestic animals, including any such animals as may be kept by residents of
the town, whether classified as domestic, exotic, or otherwise.

§ 303. FURTHER POWERS OF THE SELECT BOARD

In addition to powers otherwise conferred by law, the Select Board
members shall also have the power to:

(1) create, consolidate, or dissolve departments as necessary or relevant
for the performance of municipal services;

(2) create, consolidate, or dissolve commissions and committees as
necessary or relevant and appoint the commission and committee members;

4242 -



(3) provide on an annual basis an independent audit of all Town
financial records by a certified public accountant;

(4) inquire into the conduct of any officer, commission, or department

and investigate any and all municipal affairs; and

(5) discharge all duties devolving on the Town Agent by general law
and hire attorneys on behalf of the Town.

§ 304. ORGANIZATION OF THE SELECT BOARD

(a) Forthwith after the annual meeting of the town., the Select Board
members shall organize and elect a Chair and Vice Chair.

(b) The Chair of the Board, or in the Chair’s absence, the Vice Chair, shall
preside at all meetings of the Board and the presiding officer shall be a voting
member of the Board.

(c) When a vacancy occurs on the Select Board, the remaining members

may fill the vacancy by appointment of a registered voter of the Town, such
appointment to be for the period until the next annual meeting, when the voters
of the Town shall fill the vacancy.

(d) The Board shall fix the time and place of its regular meetings to be held

at least twice a month.

(e) The presence of three members shall constitute a quorum.

Subchapter 4. Town Manager
§401. APPOINTED BY THE SELECT BOARD

The Select Board members shall appoint a Town Manager for an indefinite
term and upon such conditions as they may determine.

§ 402. TOWN MANAGER NONPARTISAN

(a) The Town’s interests in preserving integrity and efficiency in the
execution and management of its government are best served by a Town
Manager who is prohibited from the fact and appearance of political
partisanship in the operation of the office.

(b) The Town Manager shall be chosen solely on the basis of the
individual’s executive, administrative, and professional qualifications.

(c) The Town Manager shall not take part in the organization or direction

of a political party, serve as a member of a party committee, or be a candidate
for election to any partisan office.
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§ 403. OATH AND BOND

Before entering upon the Manager’s duties, the Town Manager shall be

sworn to the faithful performance of the Manager’s duties by the Town Clerk
and shall be bonded in an amount and with sureties as the Select Board may

require.
§ 404. DUTIES FOR MANAGER

(a) The Town Manager shall be the Chief Executive Officer of the Town
and shall:

(1) Carry out the policies established by the Select Board, to whom the
Town Manager shall be accountable.

(2) Attend all meetings of the Select Board, except when the Manager’s

compensation or removal is being considered; keep the Select Board informed
of the financial condition and future needs of the Town; and make any other
reports that may be required by law, requested by the Select Board, or deemed
by the Manager to be advisable.

(3) Perform all other duties prescribed by this charter or required by law
or by resolution of the Select Board.

(4) Be an ex-officio member of all standing committees except the

Development Review Board and shall not vote.

(5) Prepare an annual budget, submit it to the Select Board, and be
responsible for its administration after adoption.

(6) Compile for general distribution at the end of each fiscal year a
complete report on the finances and administrative activities of the Town for
the year.

(7) Provide to the Select Board a monthly financial statement, with a

copy to the Town Treasurer.

(8) Perform all duties now conferred by law on the Road Commissioner

within all areas of the Town, except within villages that vote not to surrender
their charters under this charter, notwithstanding the provisions of 24 V.S.A.

§ 1236(5).

(9)  Perform all duties now conferred by law on the Collector of
Delinquent Taxes.

(10) Under policies approved by the Select Board, be the General
Purchasing Agent of the Town and purchase all equipment and supplies and
contract for services for every department pursuant to the purchasing and bid
policies approved by the Select Board.
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(11) Be responsible for the system of accounts.

(12) Be responsible for the operation of all departments, including the
Police and Fire Departments.

(13) Under policies approved by the Select Board, have exclusive
authority to appoint, fix the salaries of, suspend, and remove, all officers and
employees except those who are elected or who are appointed by the Select
Board. When the Town Manager position is vacant, this authority shall be
exercised by the Select Board.

(b) The Town Manager may, when advisable or proper, delegate to
subordinate officers and employees of the Town any duties conferred upon the

Manager.
§ 405. COMPENSATION

The Town Manager shall receive such compensation as may be fixed by the
Select Board.

§ 406. APPOINTMENTS

Except for those appointments made by the Select Board as provided for in
this charter, the Town Manager shall appoint and remove all Town employees,
including Chief of the Fire Department, Chief of Police, Director of Public
Works, Assistant Town Manager, Finance Director, Zoning Administrator,
Assessor, Code Compliance Officer, Health Officer, Parks Director and Tree
Warden, Recreation Director, and all other officers and employees as may be
required by general law of the State, by this chapter, or by the Select Board.

§ 407. REMOVAL OF THE TOWN MANAGER

(a) The Town Manager may be removed from office for cause, by a
majority vote of the Select Board at a duly warned meeting for that purpose, as
provided by general law or employment contract. At least 30 days prior to the
effective date of the removal, the Select Board shall by majority vote of its
members adopt a resolution stating the reason for the removal and cause a
copy of such resolution to be given to the Manager. The Select Board may by
such resolution immediately suspend the Town Manager from active duty but
shall continue the Manager’s salary until final dismissal, unless otherwise
contracted between the Select Board and the Town Manager.

(b) Town Manager appointments shall continue until removed by the Town
Manager. Removals by the Town Manager shall be in accordance with any
personnel policy or plan adopted.

Subchapter 5. Taxation
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§ 501. TAXES

Taxes shall be assessed by the Town based on the fair market value of real
property, in accordance with State law.

§ 502. FAIR MARKET VALUE OF REAL ESTATE

(a) In the event that the fair market value of real estate is materially
changed because of total or partial destruction of or damage to the property or
because of alterations, additions, or other capital improvements, the taxpayer
may appeal as provided by law.

(b) When the fair market value of real estate is finally determined by
appeal to the Board of Civil Authority, then the value so fixed shall be the fair
market value of the real estate for the year in which the appeal is taken.

(c) When the fair market value of real estate is finally determined by the

Director of Property Valuation and Review (PVR) or by a court having
jurisdiction, then the value so fixed shall be the fair market value of the real
estate for the year for which such appeal is taken and for the ensuing two years

unless the taxpayer’s property is altered materially; is damaged; or if the Town
in which it is located has undergone a complete revaluation of all taxable real

estate, in the event of which, such fair market value may be changed.
§ 503. SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS

Despite any contrary provision in general law, the Select Board may in its
sole discretion make a special assessment upon real estate for the installation
or construction of a public improvement, the special assessment to be the
proportion of the total cost of the improvement as the benefit to a parcel of real
estate bears to the total benefit resulting to the public in general.

§ 504. CREATION OF ST. JOHNSBURY DOWNTOWN DISTRICT

There is hereby created in the Town of St Johnsbury a special district to be
known as the St. Johnsbury Downtown Improvement District which shall be
that area set forth on a map approved by the voters of St. Johnsbury and filed

with the Town Clerk. The area of the District may be changed upon a majority
vote of the legal voters at an annual or special meeting duly warned.

§ 505. DOWNTOWN DISTRICT; PURPOSE AND POWERS
(a) The District is created for the general purpose of maintaining and

improving the economic, social, cultural, and environmental vitality and
quality of the Town of St. Johnsbury, in particular, the District created by
section 506 of this charter, to promote the Town and the District as a regional
retail, commercial, and service center and to serve as an advocate for the
orderly development of the District in order to encourage expansion of the
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retail, commercial, and service base of the District and the Town by attracting
new business and investment.

(b) The rights, powers, and duties of the District shall be exercised by the
Select Board and shall be broadly construed to accomplish the purposes set
forth above and shall include the following:

(1) to advertise and promote the Improvement District;

(2) to represent the interests of the District;

(3) to receive and expend contributions, grants, and income;

(4) to expend funds as provided for in the budget or as otherwise
approved;

(5) to manage and maintain public spaces and to assume or supplement

the services and maintenance heretofore provided to the District by the Town
as recommended to and approved by the Select Board:;
(6) to acquire and dispose of property on behalf of the Town;

(7) to install and make public improvements;
(8) to improve, manage, and regulate public parking facilities and

vehicular traffic within the District;

(9) to enter into contracts as may be necessary or convenient to carry
out the purpose of this charter;

(10) to regulate, lease, license, establish rules and fees, and otherwise
manage the use of public spaces within the District;

(11) to plan for the orderly development of the District in cooperation
with the Town Planning Commission;

(12) to do all other things necessary or convenient to carry out the

purposes for which this District was created; and

(13) to appropriate annually money for the maintenance, care,

improvement, and support of Fairbanks Museum, provided the same shall
remain a nonprofit institution for the promotion of education.

§ 506. DOWNTOWN DISTRICT; ANNUAL BUDGET

The Town Manager shall submit each vyear an operating budget of
anticipated expenditures and revenues to the Select Board for approval for the
next fiscal year. In the event the Select Board does not approve the budget as

submitted, the Select Board shall immediately return the budget to the Town
Manager with its recommendations for the Town Manager’s reconsideration.

Appropriations other than from contributions, grants, and income shall be
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raised solely through District taxes that shall be assessed and collected as a tax
on property as provided for in section 508 of this charter. The Select Board
may borrow money in anticipation of District taxes.

§ 507. DOWNTOWN DISTRICT; TAXES

(a) District taxes are charges levied upon the owners of taxable properties
located in the District, excepting properties used exclusively for residential
purposes, which taxes shall be used to defray the expenses incurred in
connection with the operation, maintenance, and repair of the District.

(b) The District tax for each property in the District subject to the tax shall
be based upon a rate on each $100.00 of listed value of the property as
adjusted under subsection (c) of this section. The tax rate shall be determined
by dividing the amount to be raised by taxes by the total value of the taxable
properties on the grand list as adjusted located in the District that are subject to
the District tax under this subchapter.

(c) _The District tax shall be set by the Select Board upon approval of the
budget by the Select Board and notice in writing thereof shall be given to
owners of record as of April 1 of each year of property so assessed, or to their
agents or attorneys , stating therein the amount of such District taxes, and such
taxes shall be due and payable to the Town Treasurer when normal Town and
school taxes are due. The Town Treasurer shall collect unpaid District taxes as
provided for the collection of taxes in the charter. District taxes shall be a lien
on the properties when assessed and until the tax is paid or the lien is otherwise
discharged by operation of law.

(d) In the case of any property used for both residential and nonresidential
purposes within the District as of April 1, the Department of Assessment shall

adjust the listed value for the purposes of determining the District tax under
this section to exclude the value of that portion of the property used for

residential purposes. The Department of Assessment shall determine the
adjusted grand list value of the business portion of the property and give notice
of the same as provided under 32 V.S.A. chapter 131. Any property owner
may file a grievance with the Board and appeal the decision of the Board as

provided for under 32 V.S.A. chapter 131; however, the filing of an appeal of

the determination of the Board and pendency of the appeal shall not vacate the
lien on the property assessed. and the District taxes must be paid and continue

to be paid as they become due.
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Subchapter 6. Water and Wastewater Systems
§ 601. TOWN POWERS

The Town may make, alter, and repeal ordinances relating to management,
operation, maintenance, replacement, and extension of a Town water and

wastewater systems and may fix, and from time to time alter, water and
wastewater rates.

Subchapter 7. Miscellaneous
§ 701. CHARTER REVIEW COMMITTEE

At least once every five vears, the Select Board shall appoint a Charter
Review Committee of not fewer than five nor more than nine members from

among the residents of the Town. The Committee shall review the charter and
recommend any changes it finds necessary or advisable for the purpose of
improving the operation of Town government. The Committee shall prepare a
written report of its recommendations in time for those recommendations to be
submitted to the Select Board for review not later than one year after the
appointment of the Committee. At the discretion of the Select Board, the
recommendations may be warned for ballot vote at an annual or special Town
meeting to be held not later than one year after the submission of the report.
The Select Board shall provide in its budget for any year when a Charter
Review Committee is appointed funding for the Committee.

Sec. 3. REDESIGNATIONS

In 24 App. V.S.A. chapter 151, §§ 1, 12b, 15, 16, and 21 are redesignated
as §§ 702, 204, 703, 705. and 205 respectively.

Sec. 4. 24 App. V.S.A. chapter 151, § 2 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 2 508. ASSETS TRANSFERRED; LIABILITIES; TAXATION; SPECIAL
SERVICES: BOWNTOWNIMPROVEMENTDISTRICT













Sec. 5. 24 App. V.S.A. chapter 151, § 6 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 6 705. FIRE DISTRICT; PROCESS FOR ABOLITION

The St. Johnsbury Center Fire District No. 1 is abolished when a majority
of the legal voters of said Fire District present and voting on the question at a
regular or special meeting of said Fire District warned for said purpose so vote
and shall thereupon cease to exist as a political entity and body corporate. All
the property and funds of said Fire District shall on such date be vested in the
Town of St. Johnsbury and the Town of St. Johnsbury shall thereupon assume
all indebtedness and obligations of said Fire District unless said liabilities and
obligations exceed said assets in which case said Fire District shall continue to
exist until such excess is paid unless the Town of St. Johnsbury votes
otherwise at a regular or special meeting warned for said purpose. Any
existing debt service shall be assessed as a special assessment to those
properties within the Fire District.

Sec. 6. 24 App. V.S.A. chapter 151, § 17 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ +7706. DEPARTMENT OF ASSESSMENT

* sk 3k

(c) Powers. The Department of Assessment shall have the same powers,
discharge the same duties, proceed in the same manner, and be subject to the
same liabilities as those prescribed for listers or a board of listers under
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applicable provisions of Vermont law with respect to drawing up the grand list;
exeept-as-otherwise provided-inthis-charter and grievances.
Sec. 7. 24 App. V.S.A. chapter 151, § 19 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 19 707. APPEALS

A person aggrieved by the final decision of the Beard Department of
Assessment under the provisions of section 48 706 of this charter may appeal
in writing under the provisions of 32 V.S.A. chapter 131.

Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.
(Committee Vote: 10-0-2)

S. 58
An act relating to public safety

Rep. Andriano of Orwell, for the Committee on Judiciary, recommends
that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by striking out
all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* % * Big 12 Juvenile Offenses * * *
Sec. 1. 33 V.S.A. § 5201 is amended to read:
§ 5201. COMMENCEMENT OF DELINQUENCY PROCEEDINGS

* sk 3k

(c)(I) Any proceeding concerning a child who is alleged to have
committed an act specified in subsection 5204(a) of this title after attaining 14
years of age, but not 22 years of age, shall originate in the Criminal Division
of the Superior Court, provided that jurisdiction may be transferred in
accordance with this chapter and chapter 52A of this title, unless the State’s
Attorney files the charge directly as a youthful offender petition in the Family
Division.

(2)(A) Any proceeding concerning a child who is alleged to have
committed one of the following acts after attaining 14 years of age, but not
22 years of age, shall originate in the Criminal Division of the Superior Court,
provided that jurisdiction may be transferred in accordance with this chapter
and chapter 52A of this title, unless the State’s Attorney files the charge
directly as a youthful offender petition in the Family Division:

(i) a violation of a condition of release as defined in 13 V.S.A.
§ 7559 imposed by the Criminal Division for any of the offenses listed in
subsection 5204(a) of this title; or
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(i1) a violation of a condition of release as defined in 13 V.S.A.
§ 7559 imposed by the Criminal Division for an offense that was transferred
from the Family Division pursuant to section 5204 of this title.

(B) This subdivision (2) shall not apply to a proceeding that is the
subject of a final order accepting the case for youthful offender treatment
pursuant to subsection 5281(d) of this title.

(3) Any proceeding concerning a child who is alleged to have

committed one of the following acts after attaining 16 years of age, but not 22
years of age. shall originate in the Criminal Division of the Superior Court,

provided that jurisdiction may be transferred in accordance with this chapter
and chapter 52A of this title, unless the State’s Attorney files the charge

directly as a youthful offender petition in the Family Division:

(i) using a firearm while committing a felony in violation of
13 V.S.A. § 4005, or an attempt to commit that offense;

(i1) trafficking a regulated drug in violation of 18 V.S.A. chapter
84, subchapter 1, or an attempt to commit that offense; or

(iii) aggravated stalking as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 1063(a)(3), or
an attempt to commit that offense.

(d) Any proceeding concerning a child who is alleged to have committed
any offense other than those specified in subsection 5204(a) of this title or
subdivision (c)(2) or (3) of this section before attaining 19 years of age shall
originate in the Family Division of the Superior Court, provided that
jurisdiction may be transferred in accordance with this chapter.

* %k 3k

Sec. 1a. 33 V.S.A. § 5203 is amended to read:
§ 5203. TRANSFER FROM OTHER COURTS

(a) If it appears to a Criminal Division of the Superior Court that the
defendant was under 19 years of age at the time the offense charged was
alleged to have been committed and the offense charged is an offense not
specified in subsection 5204(a) or subdivision 5201(c)(2) or (3) of this title,
that court shall forthwith transfer the proceeding to the Family Division of the
Superior Court under the authority of this chapter, and the minor shall then be
considered to be subject to this chapter as a child charged with a delinquent
act.

(b) If it appears to a Criminal Division of the Superior Court that the
defendant had attained 14 years of age but not 18 years of age at the time an
offense specified in subsection 5204(a) or subdivision 5201(c)(2) or (3) of this
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title was alleged to have been committed, that court may forthwith transfer the
proceeding to the Family Division of the Superior Court under the authority of
this chapter, and the minor shall then be considered to be subject to this
chapter as a child charged with a delinquent act.

(c) If it appears to the State’s Attorney that the defendant was under 19
years of age at the time the felony offense charged was alleged to have been
committed and the felony charged is not an offense specified in subsection
5204(a) or subdivision 5201(c)(2) or (3) of this title, the State’s Attorney shall
file charges in the Family Division of the Superior Court, pursuant to section
5201 of this title. The Family Division may transfer the proceeding to the
Criminal Division pursuant to section 5204 of this title.

* %k 3k

Sec. 2. 33 V.S.A. § 5204 is amended to read:
§ 5204. TRANSFER FROM FAMILY DIVISION OF THE SUPERIOR
COURT

(a) After a petition has been filed alleging delinquency, upon motion of the
State’s Attorney and after hearing, the Family Division of the Superior Court
may transfer jurisdiction of the proceeding to the Criminal Division of the
Superior Court if the child had attained 16 years of age but not 19 years of age
at the time the act was alleged to have occurred and the delinquent act set forth
in the petition is a felony not specified in subdivisions (1)—#2)(11) of this
subsection or if the child had attained 12 years of age but not 14 years of age
at the time the act was alleged to have occurred, and if the delinquent act set
forth in the petition was any of the following:

* %k 3k

(10) sexual assault as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3252(a)(1) or (a)(2) or an
attempt to commit that offense; or

(11) aggravated sexual assault as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3253 and
aggravated sexual assault of a child as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3253a or an
attempt to commit either of those offenses;-er

12} burel ) od—dwelli efined_in 13- V.S A
§120He)-oran-attempt-to-commit-that-effense.

(b)(1) The State’s Attorney of the county where the juvenile petition is
pending may move in the Family Division of the Superior Court for an order
transferring jurisdiction under subsection (a) of this section at any time prior to
adjudication on the merits. The filing of the motion to transfer jurisdiction
shall automatically stay the time for the hearing provided for in section 5225
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of this title, which stay shall remain in effect until such time as the Family
Division of the Superior Court may deny the motion to transfer jurisdiction.

(2)(A)(1) The Family Division of the Superior Court shall hold a hearing
under subsection (c) of this section to determine whether jurisdiction should be
transferred to the Criminal Division under subsection (a) of this section if the
delinquent act set forth in the petition is:

(I) afeleny—violation—of 18— V-S-A—chapter 84—forselling—or
trafficking-aregulated-drug [Repealed.];

(II)  human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking in
violation of 13 V.S.A. § 2652 or 2653;

(IIT)  defacing a firearm’s serial number in violation of 13
V.S.A. § 4024; or

(IV) straw purchasing of firearm in violation of 13 V.S.A.
§ 4025; and

(i1) the child had attained 16 years of age but not 19 years of age
at the time the act was alleged to have occurred.

% %k ok
* * * Raise the Age * * *
Sec. 3. 2018 Acts and Resolves No. 201, Secs. 17-19, are amended to read:
Sec. 17. [Deleted.]
Sec. 18. [Deleted.]
Sec. 19. [Deleted.]

Sec. 4. 2018 Acts and Resolves No. 201, Sec. 21, as amended by 2022 Acts
and Resolves No. 160, Sec. 1, and 2023 Acts and Resolves No. 23, Sec. 12, is
further amended to read:

Sec. 21. EFFECTIVE DATES

* sk 3k

(d) Sees—1+719-shall-take-effeet-ontuly 12024 [Deleted.]
Sec. 5. 2020 Acts and Resolves No. 124, Secs. 3 and 7, are amended to read:

Sec. 3. [Deleted.]
Sec. 7. [Deleted.]
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Sec. 6. 2020 Acts and Resolves No. 124, Sec. 12, as amended by 2022 Acts
and Resolves No. 160, Sec. 2, and 2023 Acts and Resolves No. 23, Sec. 13, is
further amended to read:

Sec. 12. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) Sces. 333 V.S A S 5H03 ey and 733 V.S A3 32006) shall take effect
onJuly1,-2024- [Deleted. |

* sk 3k

Sec. 7. 33 V.S.A. § 5201(d) is amended to read:

(d) Any proceeding concerning a child who is alleged to have committed
any offense other than those specified in subsection 5204(a) of this title or
subdivision (c)(2) or (3) of this section before attaining +9 20 years of age
shall originate in the Family Division of the Superior Court, provided that
jurisdiction may be transferred in accordance with this chapter.

Sec. 8. 33 V.S.A. § 5203 is amended to read:
§ 5203. TRANSFER FROM OTHER COURTS

(a) If it appears to a Criminal Division of the Superior Court that the
defendant was under 49 20 years of age at the time the offense charged was
alleged to have been committed and the offense charged is an offense not
specified in subsection 5204(a) or subdivision 5201(c)(2) or (3) of this title,
that court shall forthwith transfer the proceeding to the Family Division of the
Superior Court under the authority of this chapter, and the minor shall then be
considered to be subject to this chapter as a child charged with a delinquent
act.

* %k 3k

(c) If it appears to the State’s Attorney that the defendant was under 49 20
years of age at the time the felony offense charged was alleged to have been
committed and the felony charged is not an offense specified in subsection
5204(a) or subdivision 5201(c)(2) or (3) of this title, the State’s Attorney shall
file charges in the Family Division of the Superior Court, pursuant to section
5201 of this title. The Family Division may transfer the proceeding to the
Criminal Division pursuant to section 5204 of this title.

* %k 3k

Sec. 9. 33 V.S.A. § 5204 is amended to read:
§ 5204. TRANSFER FROM FAMILY DIVISION OF THE SUPERIOR
COURT
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(a) After a petition has been filed alleging delinquency, upon motion of the
State’s Attorney and after hearing, the Family Division of the Superior Court
may transfer jurisdiction of the proceeding to the Criminal Division of the
Superior Court if the child had attained 16 years of age but not +9 20 years of
age at the time the act was alleged to have occurred and the delinquent act set
forth in the petition is a felony not specified in subdivisions (1)—(11) of this
subsection or if the child had attained 12 years of age but not 14 years of age
at the time the act was alleged to have occurred, and if the delinquent act set
forth in the petition was any of the following:

* %k 3k

Sec. 10. 33 V.S.A. § 5103(c) is amended to read:

(c)(1) Except as otherwise provided by this title and by subdivision (2) of
this subsection, jurisdiction over a child shall not be extended beyond the
child’s 18th birthday.

(2)(A) Jurisdiction over a child with a delinquency may be extended
until six months beyond the child’s:

(1) 19th birthday if the child was 16 or 17 years of age when he-er
she the child committed the offense; or

(i1) 20th birthday if the child was 18 years of age when he-or-she
the child committed the offense; or

(ii1) 21st birthday if the child was 19 vears of age when the child
committed the offense.

* ok 3k

Sec. 11. 33 V.S.A. § 5206 is amended to read:
§ 5206. CITATION OF 16- TO +8-¥EAR-OLEDS 19-YEAR-OLDS

(a)(1) If a child was over 16 years of age and under 49 20 years of age at
the time the offense was alleged to have been committed and the offense is not
specified in subsection (b) of this section, law enforcement shall cite the child
to the Family Division of the Superior Court.

* ok 3k

Sec. 12. BIMONTHLY PROGRESS REPORTS TO JOINT LEGISLATIVE
JUSTICE OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

(a) On or before the last day of every other month from July 2024 through

March 2025, the Agency of Human Services shall report to the Joint
Legislative Justice Oversight Committee, the Senate and House Committees on
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Judiciary, the House Committee on Corrections and Institutions, the House
Committee on Human Services, and the Senate Committee on Health and

Welfare on its progress toward implementing the requirement of Secs. 7-11 of
this act that the Raise the Age initiative take effect on April 1, 2025. The
progress reports required by this section shall describe progress toward
implementation of the Raise the Age initiative, as measured by qualitative and
quantitative data related to the following priorities:

(1) establishing a secure residential facility;

(2) expanding capacity for nonresidential treatment programs to provide
community-based services;

(3) ensuring that residential treatment programs are used appropriately
and to their full potential;

(4) expanding capacity for Balanced and Restorative Justice (BARJ)
contracts;

(5) expanding capacity for the provision of services to children with
developmental disabilities;

(6) establishing a stabilization program for children who are

experiencing a mental health crisis:

(7) enhancing long-term treatment for children;
(8) programming to help children, particularly 18- and 19-year-olds,

transition from youth to adulthood:
(9) developing district-specific data and information on family services
workforce development, including turnover, retention, and vacancy rates;

times needed to fill open positions; training opportunities and needs; and
instituting a positive culture for employees;

(10) installation of a comprehensive child welfare information system;

and

(11) plans for and measures taken to secure funding for the goals listed
in this section.

(b) Failure to meet one or more of the progress report elements listed in
subsection (a) of this section shall not be a basis for extending the
implementation of the Raise the Age initiative beyond April 1, 2025.

* % * Drug Crimes * * *
Sec. 13. 18 V.S.A. § 4201 is amended to read:
§ 4201. DEFINITIONS
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(29) “Regulated drug” means:
(A) anarcotic drug;
(B) a depressant or stimulant drug, other than methamphetamine;
(C) a hallucinogenic drug;
(D) Ecstasy;
(E) cannabis; er
(F) methamphetamine; or

(G) xylazine.

* %k 3k

(48) “Fentanyl” means any quantity of fentanyl, including any
compound, mixture, or preparation including salts, isomers, or salts of isomers
containing fentanyl. “Fentanyl” also means fentanyl-related substances as
defined in rules adopted by the Department of Health pursuant to section 4202
of this title.

(49) “Xylazine” means any compound, mixture, or preparation

including salts, isomers, or salts of isomers containing N-(2,6-
dimethylphenyl)-5.6-dihydro-4H-1.3-thiazin-2-amine.

Sec. 14. 18 V.S.A. § 4233a is amended to read:
§ 4233a. FENTANYL
(a) Selling or dispensing.

(1) A person knowingly and unlawfully dispensing fentanyl shall be
imprisoned not more than three years or fined not more than $75,000.00, or
both. A person knowingly and unlawfully selling fentanyl shall be imprisoned
not more than five years or fined not more than $100,000.00, or both.

(2) A person knowingly and unlawfully selling or dispensing fentanyl in
an amount consisting of four milligrams or more of one or more preparations,
compounds, mixtures, or substances containing fentanyl shall be imprisoned
not more than 10 years or fined not more than $250,000.00, or both.

(3) A person knowingly and unlawfully selling or dispensing fentanyl in
an amount consisting of 20 milligrams or more of one or more preparations,
compounds, mixtures, or substances containing fentanyl shall be imprisoned
not more than 20 years or fined not more than $1,000,000.00, or both.
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(4) In lieu of a charge under this subsection, but in addition to any other
penalties provided by law, a person knowingly and unlawfully selling or
dispensing any regulated drug containing a detectable amount of fentanyl shall
be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than $250,000.00, or
both.

(b) Trafficking. A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing fentanyl in
an amount consisting of 70 milligrams or more of one or more preparations,
compounds, mixtures, or substances containing fentanyl with the intent to sell
or dispense the fentanyl shall be imprisoned not more than 30 years or fined
not more than $1,000,000.00, or both. There shall be a permissive inference
that a person who possesses fentanyl in an amount of 70 milligrams or more of
one or more preparations, compounds, mixtures, or substances containing
fentanyl intends to sell or dispense the fentanyl. The amount of possessed
fentanyl under this subsection to sustain a charge of conspiracy under 13
V.S.A. § 1404 shall be not less than 70 milligrams in the aggregate.

(c) Transportation into the State. In addition to any other penalties
provided by law, a person knowingly and unlawfully transporting more than
20 milligrams of fentanyl into Vermont with the intent to sell or dispense the

fentanyl shall be imprisoned not more than 10 years or fined not more than
$100,000.00, or both.

(d) As used in this section, “knowingly” means:

(1) the defendant had actual knowledge that one or more preparations,
compounds, mixtures, or substances contained the regulated drug identified in
the applicable section of this chapter: or

(2) the defendant:
(A) subjectively believed that there is a high probability that one or

more preparations, compounds, mixtures, or substances contained the
regulated drug identified in the applicable section of this chapter; and

(B) took deliberate actions to avoid learning that one or more

preparations, compounds, mixtures, or substances contained the regulated drug
identified in the applicable section of this chapter.

Sec. 15. 18 V.S.A. § 4234 is amended to read:
§ 4234. DEPRESSANT, STIMULANT, AND NARCOTIC DRUGS

(a) Possession.

(1)(A) Except as provided by subdivision (B) of this subdivision (1), a
person knowingly and unlawfully possessing a depressant, stimulant, or
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narcotic drug, other than heroin or cocaine, shall be imprisoned not more than
one year or fined not more than $2,000.00, or both.

(B) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing 224 milligrams
or less of buprenorphine shall not be punished in accordance with subdivision
(A) of this subdivision (1).

(2) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing a depressant,
stimulant, or narcotic drug, other than heroin or cocaine, consisting of 100
times a benchmark unlawful dosage or its equivalent shall be imprisoned not
more than five years or fined not more than $25,000.00, or both.

(3) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing a depressant,
stimulant, or narcotic drug, other than heroin or cocaine, consisting of 1,000
times a benchmark unlawful dosage or its equivalent shall be imprisoned not
more than 10 years or fined not more than $100,000.00, or both.

(4) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing a depressant,
stimulant, or narcotic drug, other than heroin or cocaine, consisting of 10,000
times a benchmark unlawful dosage or its equivalent shall be imprisoned not
more than 20 years or fined not more than $500,000.00, or both.

(b) Selling or dispensing.

(1) A person knowingly and unlawfully dispensing a depressant,
stimulant, or narcotic drug, other than fentanyl, heroin, or cocaine, shall be
imprisoned not more than three years or fined not more than $75,000.00, or
both. A person knowingly and unlawfully selling a depressant, stimulant, or
narcotic drug, other than fentanyl, cocaine, or heroin, shall be imprisoned not
more than five years or fined not more than $25,000.00, or both.

(2) A person knowingly and unlawfully selling or dispensing a
depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, other than fentanyl, heroin, or cocaine,
consisting of 100 times a benchmark unlawful dosage or its equivalent shall be
imprisoned not more than 10 years or fined not more than $100,000.00, or
both.

(3) A person knowingly and unlawfully selling or dispensing a
depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, other than fentanyl, heroin, or cocaine,
consisting of 1,000 times a benchmark unlawful dosage or its equivalent shall
be imprisoned not more than 20 years or fined not more than $500,000.00, or
both.

(4) As used in this subsection, “knowingly’” means:

- 4263 -



(A)  the defendant had actual knowledge that one or more
preparations, compounds, mixtures, or substances contained the regulated drug
identified in the applicable section of this chapter; or

(B) the defendant:
(i) subjectively believed that there is a high probability that one or

more preparations, compounds, mixtures, or substances contained the
regulated drug identified in the applicable section of this chapter; and

(ii) took deliberate actions to avoid learning that one or more

preparations, compounds, mixtures, or substances contained the regulated drug
identified in the applicable section of this chapter.

(c) Possession of buprenorphine by a person under 21 years of age.

(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, a person
under 21 years of age who knowingly and unlawfully possesses 224
milligrams or less of buprenorphine commits a civil violation and shall be
subject to the provisions of section 4230b of this title.

(2) A person under 16 years of age who knowingly and unlawfully
possesses 224 milligrams or less of buprenorphine commits a delinquent act
and shall be subject to the provisions of section 4230j of this title.

Sec. 16. 18 V.S.A. § 4233b is added to read:

§ 4233b. XYLAZINE
(a) No person shall dispense or sell xylazine except as provided in

subsection (b) of this section.

(b) The following are permitted activities related to xylazine:

(1) dispensing or prescribing for, or administration to, a nonhuman
species a drug containing xylazine approved by the Secretary of Health and

Human Services pursuant to section 512 of the Federal Food, Drug, and
Cosmetic Act as provided in 21 U.S.C. § 360b;

(2) dispensing or prescribing for, or administration to, a nonhuman

species permissible pursuant to section 512(a)(4) of the Federal Food, Drug,
and Cosmetic Act as provided in 21 U.S.C. § 360b(a)(4);

(3) manufacturing, distribution, or use of xylazine as an active

pharmaceutical ingredient for manufacturing an animal drug approved under
section 512 of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act as provided in

21 U.S.C. § 360b or issued an investigation use exemption pursuant to section

512());
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(4) manufacturing, distribution, or use of a xylazine bulk chemical for

pharmaceutical compounding by licensed pharmacists or veterinarians; and

(5) _any other use approved or permissible under the Federal Food,
Drug, and Cosmetic Act.

(c) A person knowingly and unlawfully dispensing xylazine shall be

imprisoned not more than three vears or fined not more than $75,000.00, or

both. A person knowingly and unlawfully selling xylazine shall be imprisoned
not more than five years or fined not more than $100,000.00, or both.

Sec. 17. 18 V.S.A. § 4250 is amended to read:
§ 4250. SELLING OR DISPENSING A REGULATED DRUG WITH
DEATH RESULTING

(a) If the death of a person results from the selling or dispensing of a
regulated drug to the person in violation of this chapter, the person convicted
of the violation shall be imprisoned not less than two years nor more than
20 years.

(b) This section shall apply only if the person’s use of the regulated drug is
the proximate cause of his-er-her the person’s death. The fact that a dispensed

or sold substance contains more than one regulated drug shall not be a defense
under this section if the proximate cause of death is the use of the dispensed or
sold substance containing more than one regulated drug.

(c)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, the two-
year minimum term of imprisonment required by this section shall be served
and may not be suspended, deferred, or served as a supervised sentence. The
defendant shall not be eligible for probation, parole, furlough, or any other
type of early release until the expiration of the two-year term of imprisonment.

(2) Notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this subsection, the court may
impose a sentence that does not include a term of imprisonment or that

includes a term of imprisonment of less than two years if the court makes
findings on the record that the sentence will serve the interests of justice.

Sec. 18. 18 V.S.A. § 4252a is added to read:

§ 4252a. UNLAWFUL DRUG ACTIVITY IN A DWELLING; FLASH
CITATION

Except for good cause shown. a person cited or arrested for dispensing or

selling a regulated drug in violation of this chapter shall be arraigned on the
next business day after the citation or arrest if the alleged illegal activity

occurred at a dwelling where the person is not a legal tenant.
- 4265 -




Sec. 19. 18 V.S.A. § 4254(j) is added to read:

(1) _To encourage persons to seek medical assistance for someone who is
experiencing an overdose, the Department of Health, in partnership with
entities that provide education, outreach, and services regarding substance use
disorder, shall engage in continuous efforts to publicize the immunity
protections provided in this section.

***Report***
Sec. 20. WORKING GROUP ON TRANSFERS OF JUVENILE
PROCEEDINGS FROM THE FAMILY DIVISION TO THE
CRIMINAL DIVISON

(a) On or before December 15, 2025, a joint report on options for creating

an _expedited process for transfers of juvenile proceedings from the Family
Division of the Superior Court to the Criminal Division of the Superior Court

shall be submitted to the House and Senate Committees on Judiciary by a
working group composed of the following parties:

(1) the Chief Superior Judge or designee, who shall be chair of the
working group;
(2) the Defender General or designee;

(3) the Executive Director of the Department of State’s Attorneys and
Sheriffs or designee; and

(4) the Commissioner of the Department for Children and Families or
designee.
(b) the report required by this section may be in the form of proposed
legislation and shall include recommendations on the following topics:
(1) the changes in law that would be necessary if the Vermont juvenile

justice system were restructured so that all cases alleging criminal violations

by youths under 19 years of age started in the Family Division of the Superior
Court, including alleged violations of 33 V.S.A. §§ 5204(a) and 5201(c)(2) or

3

(2) whether cases alleging criminal violations by youths under 20 years
of age should also begin in the Family Division; and

(3) statutory options for creating an expedited court process for more

serious offenses that would permit transfer of proceedings from the Family

Division of the Superior Court to the Criminal Division of the Superior Court
without requiring the full transfer hearing process of 33 V.S.A. § 5204,
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including the offenses and offender age ranges that would qualify for the
expedited process.

* * * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 21. EFFECTIVE DATES
(a) Secs. 1-6, 12-20, and this section shall take effect on July 1, 2024.
(b) Secs. 7-11 shall take effect on April 1, 2025.
(Committee vote: 9-1-1)

S. 186

An act relating to the systemic evaluation of recovery residences and
recovery communities

Rep. Noyes of Wolcott, for the Committee on Human Services,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

Sec. 1. RECOMMENDATION; RECOVERY RESIDENCE
CERTIFICATION

(a) The Department of Health, in consultation with State agencies and
community partners, shall develop and recommend a certification program for
recovery residences operating in the State that choose to obtain certification.
The certification program shall incorporate those elements of the existing
certification program operated by the Vermont Alliance for Recovery

Residences. The recommended certification program shall also:
(1) identify an organization to serve as the certifying body for recovery

residences in the State;

(2) propose certification fees for recovery residences;

(3) establish a grievance and review process for complaints pertaining to

certified recovery residences:

(4) identify certification levels, which may include distinct staffing or

administrative requirements, or both, to enable a recovery residence to provide
more intensive or extensive services;

(5) identify eligibility requirements for each level of recovery residence
certification, including:

(A) staff and administrative requirements for recovery residences,
including staff training and supervision;

- 4267 -




(B) compliance with industry best practices that support a safe,
healthy, and effective recovery environment: and

(C) data collection requirements related to resident outcomes:

(6) establish the required policies and procedures regarding the
provision of services by recovery residences. including policies and procedures
related to:

(A) resident rights, including the following minimum standards for

residential agreements:

(1) contents of initial resident agreements:

(i1) resident discharge policies:

(ii1)  length of time a bed shall be held for a resident who
temporarily exits a recovery residence; and

(iv)  criteria by which a resident can return to the recovery
residence in the event of a temporary removal;

(B) resident use of legally prescribed medications; and

(C) promoting quality and positive outcomes for residents;

(7) __recommend an appropriate term for a noncertified recovery

residence; and

(8) identify minimum reporting requirements about recovery residences

by the certifying body, including reports on the temporary and permanent
removal of residents, which the certifying body shall aggregate for regular

submission to the Department.

(b) In developing the certification program recommendations required

pursuant to this section, the Department shall consider:

(1) available funding streams to sustainably maintain and expand
recovery residence services throughout the State;

(2) how to address barriers that limit the availability of recovery

residences;

(3) recovery residence models used in other states and their applicability
to Vermont: and

(4) _how to engage noncertified recovery residences in the certification
process.

(¢) On or before January 15, 2025, the Department shall submit a written
report describing its recommended recovery residence certification program
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and containing corresponding draft legislation to the House Committee on
Human Services and to the Senate Committee on Health and Welfare.

(d) As used in this section, “recovery residence” means a shared living
residence supporting persons recovering from a substance use disorder that
provides tenants with peer support and assistance accessing support services
and community resources available to persons recovering from substance use
disorders.

Sec. 2. ASSESSMENT; GROWTH AND EVALUATION OF RECOVERY
RESIDENCES

(a) The Department of Health shall complete an assessment of certified and
noncertified recovery residences in the State, which shall:

(1) create a comprehensive inventory of all recovery residences in

Vermont, including assessments of proximity to employment, recovery, and
other community resources;

(2) assess the current capacity, knowledge, and ability of recovery
residences to inform data collection and improve outcomes for residents;

(3) assess recovery residences’ potential for future data collection
capacity; and

(4) assess the types of data systems currently in use in Vermont’s

recovery residences and defining the minimum core components of a data
system.

(b) The Department may obtain technical assistance to complete the
assessment required pursuant to subsection (a) of this section.

(¢) On or before December 15, 2025, the Department shall submit the
results of the assessment required pursuant to this section and any

recommendations for legislative action to the House Committee on Human
Services and to the Senate Committee on Health and Welfare.

(d) As used in this section, “recovery residence” means a shared living
residence supporting persons recovering from a substance use disorder that
provides tenants with peer support and assistance accessing support services
and community resources available to persons recovering from substance use
disorders.

Sec. 3. 9 V.S.A. § 4452 is amended to read:

§ 4452. EXCLUSIONS
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(a) Unless created to avoid the application of this chapter, this chapter does
not apply to any of the following:

* %k sk

(b)(1) Notwithstanding subsections 4463(b) and 4467(b) and section 4468

of this chapter only, a recovery residence may immediately exit or transfer a
resident if all of the following conditions are met:

(A) the recovery residence has developed and adopted a residential
agreement:

(i) containing a written exit and transfer policy approved by the
Vermont Alliance for Recovery Residences or another certifying organization
approved by the Department of Health that:

() _addresses the length of time that a bed will be held in the
event of a temporary removal;

(II) establishes the criteria by which a resident can return to the
recovery residence in the event of a temporary removal; and

(IIT) ensures a resident’s possessions will be held not less than
60 days in the event of permanent removal;

(ii) designating alternative housing arrangements for the resident

in the event of an exit or transfer, including contingency plans when alternative
housing arrangements are not available;

(ii1) _ describing the recovery residence’s substance use policy,
which shall exempt the use of a resident’s valid prescription medication when
used as prescribed; and

(iv) indicating that by signing a residential agreement, a resident

acknowledges that the recovery residence may cause the resident to be
immediately exited or transferred to alternative housing if the resident violates
the recovery residence’s substance use policy or engages in acts of violence
that threaten the health or safety of other residents;

(B) the recovery residence has obtained the resident’s written consent
to its residential agreement, reaffirmed after seven days:

(C)_the resident violated the substance use policy in the residential
agreement or engaged in acts of violence that threatened the health or safety of
other residents; and

(D) the recovery residence has provided or arranged for a
stabilization bed or other alternative temporary housing.
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(2) Relapse of a substance use disorder resulting in exiting a recovery
residence shall not be deemed a cause of the resident’s own homelessness for

purposes of obtaining emergency housing.

(3) As used in this subsection, “recovery residence” means a shared
living residence supporting persons recovering from a substance use disorder
that:

(A) provides tenants with peer support and assistance accessing

support services and community resources available to persons recovering
from substance use disorders: and

(B) is certified by an organization approved by the Department of
Health and that is either a Vermont affiliate of the National Alliance for
Recovery Residences or another approved organization.

Sec. 4. REPORT; RECOVERY RESIDENCES’ EXIT AND TRANSFER
DATA

(a) On or before January 1, 2025 and 2026, a recovery residence shall
report to the certifying body for the recovery residence any exit or transfer of a
resident by the recovery residence in the previous year and the asserted basis
for exiting or transferring the resident.

(b) On or before January 15, 2025 and 2026, the certifying body for a
recovery residence shall report to the Department of Health the data received
under subsection (a) of this section.

(¢) On or before February 1. 2025 and 2026, the Department of Health
shall submit the data received under subsection (b) of this section to the House

Committees on General and Housing and on Human Services and the Senate

Committees on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs and on
Health and Welfare.

(d) The 2025 report shall contain preliminary data from the previous six

months and the 2026 report shall contain data from the preceding year.

(e) As used in this section, “recovery residence” means a shared living
residence supporting persons recovering from a substance use disorder that:

(1) provides tenants with peer support and assistance accessing support
services and community resources available to persons recovering from
substance use disorders; and

(2) is certified by an organization approved by the Department of Health
and that is either a Vermont affiliate of the National Alliance for Recovery
Residences or another approved organization.

-4271 -



Sec. 5. SUNSET; RECOVERY RESIDENCES; RESIDENTIAL
AGREEMENT; REPORTING

(a) 9 V.S.A. § 4452(b) is repealed on July 1, 2026.

(b) Sec. 4 (report:; recovery residences’ exit and transfer data) is repealed
on July 1. 2026.

Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2024.
(Committee vote: 8-2-1)

S. 195

An act relating to how a defendant’s criminal record is considered in
imposing conditions of release

Rep. LaLonde of South Burlington, for the Committee on Judiciary,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

Sec. 1. 13 V.S.A. § 7551 is amended to read:
§ 7551. IMPOSITION OF BAIL, SECURED APPEARANCE BONDS, AND
APPEARANCE BONDS

(a) Bonds; generally. A bond given by a person charged with a criminal
offense or by a witness in a criminal prosecution under section 6605 of this
title, conditioned for the appearance of the person or witness before the court
in cases where the offense is punishable by fine or imprisonment, and in
appealed cases, shall be taken to the Criminal Division of the Superior Court
where the prosecution is pending and shall remain binding upon parties until
discharged by the court or until sentencing. The person or witness shall appear
at all required court proceedings.

(b) Limitation on imposition of bail, secured appearance bonds, and
appearance bonds.

(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, no bail,
secured appearance bond, or appearance bond may be imposed:

(A) at the initial appearance of a person charged with a misdemeanor
if the person was cited for the offense in accordance with Rule 3 of the
Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure; or

(B) at the initial appearance or upon the temporary release pursuant
to Rule 5(b) of the Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure of a person charged
-4272 -



with a violation of a misdemeanor offense that is eligible for expungement
pursuant to subdivision 7601(4)(A) of this title.

(2) In the event the court finds that imposing bail is necessary to
mitigate the risk of flight from prosecution for a person charged with a
violation of a misdemeanor offense that is eligible for expungement pursuant
to subdivision 7601(4)(A) of this title, the court may impose bail in a
maximum amount of $200.00. The $200.00 limit shall not apply to a person

who the court determines has engaged in flight from prosecution in accordance
with subdivision 7576(9) or subdivision 7554(a)(1) of this title.

(3) This subsection shall not be construed to restrict the court’s ability
to impose conditions on such persons to reasonably mitigate the risk of flight
from prosecution or to reasonably protect the public in accordance with section
7554 of this title.

Sec. 2. 13 V.S.A. § 7554 is amended to read:
§ 7554. RELEASE PRIOR TO TRIAL

(a) Release; conditions of release. Any person charged with an offense,
other than a person held without bail under section 7553 or 7553a of this title,
shall at his-er-her the person’s appearance before a judicial officer be ordered
released pending trial in accordance with this section.

(1) The defendant shall be ordered released on personal recognizance or
upon the execution of an unsecured appearance bond in an amount specified
by the judicial officer unless the judicial officer determines that such a release
will not reasonably mitigate the risk of flight from prosecution as required. In
determining whether the defendant presents a risk of flight from prosecution,
the judicial officer shall consider, in addition to any other factors, the
seriousness of the offense charged; the number of offenses with which the
person is charged; whether, at the time of the current offense or arrest, the
defendant was released on conditions or personal recognizance, on probation,
furlough, parole, or other release pending trial, sentencing, appeal, or
completion of a sentence for an offense under federal or state law; and
whether, in connection with a criminal prosecution, the defendant is compliant
with court orders or has failed to appear at a court hearing. If the judicial
officer determines that the defendant presents a risk of flight from prosecution,
the officer shall, either in lieu of or in addition to the methods of release in this
section, impose the least restrictive of the following conditions or the least
restrictive combination of the following conditions that will reasonably
mitigate the risk of flight of the defendant as required:
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(A) Place the defendant in the custody of a designated person or
organization agreeing to supervise him-or-her the defendant if the defendant is
charged with an offense that is not a nonviolent misdemeanor or nonviolent
felony as defined in 28 V.S.A. § 301.

(B) Place restrictions on the travel or association of the defendant
during the period of release.

(C) Require the defendant to participate in an alcohol or drug
treatment program. The judicial officer shall take into consideration the
defendant’s ability to comply with an order of treatment and the availability of
treatment resources.

(D) Upon consideration of the defendant’s financial means, require
the execution of a secured appearance bond in a specified amount and the
deposit with the clerk of the court, in cash or other security as directed, of a
sum not to exceed 10 percent of the amount of the bond, such deposit to be
returned upon the appearance of the defendant as required.

(E) Upon consideration of the defendant’s financial means, require
the execution of a surety bond with sufficient solvent sureties, or the deposit of
cash in lieu thereof.

(F) Impose any other condition found reasonably necessary to
mitigate the risk of flight as required, including a condition requiring that the
defendant return to custody after specified hours.

(G) [Repealed.]

(H) Place the defendant in the pretrial supervision program pursuant
to_section 7555 of this title, provided that the defendant meets the criteria
identified in subdivision 7551(c)(1) of this title.

(D Place the defendant in the home detention program pursuant to
section 7554b of this title.

(2) If the judicial officer determines that conditions of release imposed
to mitigate the risk of flight will not reasonably protect the public, the judicial
officer may impose, in addition, the least restrictive of the following
conditions or the least restrictive combination of the following conditions that
will reasonably ensure protection of the public:

(A) Place the defendant in the custody of a designated person or
organization agreeing to supervise him-or-her the defendant if the defendant is
charged with an offense that is not a nonviolent misdemeanor or nonviolent
felony as defined in 28 V.S.A. § 301.
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(B) Place restrictions on the travel, association, or place of abode of
the defendant during the period of release.

(C) Require the defendant to participate in an alcohol or drug
treatment program. The judicial officer shall take into consideration the
defendant’s ability to comply with an order of treatment and the availability of
treatment resources.

(D) Impose any other condition found reasonably necessary to
protect the public, except that a physically restrictive condition may only be
imposed in extraordinary circumstances.

(E) Suspend the officer’s duties in whole or in part if the defendant is
a State, county, or municipal officer charged with violating section 2537 of
this title and the court finds that it is necessary to protect the public.

(F) [Repealed.]

(G) Place the defendant in the pretrial supervision program pursuant
to section 7555 of this title, provided that the defendant meets the criteria
identified in subdivision 7551(c)(1) of this title.

(H) Place the defendant in the home detention program pursuant to
section 7554b of this title.

(3) A judicial officer may order that a defendant not harass or contact or
cause to be harassed or contacted a victim or potential witness. This order
shall take effect immediately, regardless of whether the defendant is
incarcerated or released.

(b)  Judicial considerations in imposing conditions of release. In
determining which conditions of release to impose:

(1) In subdivision (a)(1) of this section, the judicial officer, on the basis
of available information, shall take into account the nature and circumstances
of the offense charged; the weight of the evidence against the accused; the
accused’s employment; financial resources, including the accused’s ability to
post bail; the accused’s character and mental condition; the accused’s length of
residence in the community; and the accused’s record of appearance at court
proceedings or of flight to avoid prosecution or failure to appear at court
proceedings.

(2) In subdivision (a)(2) of this section, the judicial officer, on the basis
of available information, shall take into account the nature and circumstances
of the offense charged; the weight of the evidence against the accused; the
accused’s family ties, employment, character and mental condition, length of
residence in the community, record of convictions, and record of appearance at
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court proceedings or of flight to avoid prosecution or failure to appear at court
proceedings; whether, at the time of the current offense or arrest, the defendant
was released on conditions or personal recognizance, on probation, furlough,
parole, or other release pending trial, sentencing, appeal, or completion of a
sentence for an offense under federal or state law; and whether, in connection
with a criminal prosecution, the defendant is compliant with court orders or
has failed to appear at a court hearing. Recent history of actual violence or
threats of violence may be considered by the judicial officer as bearing on the
character and mental condition of the accused.

(c) Order. A judicial officer authorizing the release of a person under this
section shall issue an appropriate order containing a statement of the
conditions imposed, if any; shall inform such person of the penalties applicable
to violations of the conditions of release; and shall advise him—or—her the
person that a warrant for his—er—her the person’s arrest will may be issued
immediately upon any such violation.

(d) Review of conditions.

(1) A person for whom conditions of release are imposed and who is
detained as a result of his-er-her the person’s inability to meet the conditions
of release or who is ordered released on a condition that he-er-she the person
return to custody after specified hours, or the State, following a material
change in circumstances, shall, within 48 hours following application, be
entitled to have the conditions reviewed by a judge in the court having original
jurisdiction over the offense charged. A party applying for review shall be
given the opportunity for a hearing. Unless the conditions of release are
amended as requested, the judge shall set forth in writing or orally on the
record a reasonable basis for continuing the conditions imposed. In the event
that a judge in the court having original jurisdiction over the offense charged is
not available, any Superior judge may review such conditions.

(2) A person for whom conditions of release are imposed shall, within
five working days following application, be entitled to have the conditions
reviewed by a judge in the court having original jurisdiction over the offense
charged. A person applying for review shall be given the opportunity for a
hearing. Unless the conditions of release are amended as requested, the judge
shall set forth in writing or orally on the record a reasonable basis for
continuing the conditions imposed. In the event that a judge in the court
having original jurisdiction over the offense charged is not available, any
Superior judge may review such conditions.

(e) Amendment of order. A judicial officer ordering the release of a person
on any condition specified in this section may at any time amend the order to
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impose additional or different conditions of release, provided that the
provisions of subsection (d) of this section shall apply.

(f) Definition. The term “judicial officer” as used in this section and
section 7556 of this title shall-mean means a clerk of a Superior Court or a
Superior Court judge.

(g) Admissibility of evidence. Information stated in, or offered in
connection with, any order entered pursuant to this section need not conform
to the rules pertaining to the admissibility of evidence in a court of law.

(h) Forfeiture. Nothing contained in this section shall be construed to
prevent the disposition of any case or class of cases by forfeiture of collateral
security if such disposition is authorized by the court.

(i) Forms. The Court Administrator shall establish forms for appearance
bonds, secured appearance bonds, surety bonds, and for use in the posting of
bail. Each form shall include the following information:

(1) The bond or bail may be forfeited in the event that the defendant or
witness fails to appear at any required court proceeding.

(2) The surety or person posting bond or bail has the right to be released
from the obligations under the bond or bail agreement upon written application
to the judicial officer and detention of the defendant or witness.

(3) The bond will continue through sentencing in the event that bail is
continued after final adjudication.

(j) Juveniles. Any juvenile between 14 and 16 years of age who is charged
with a listed crime as defined in subdivision 5301(7) of this title shall appear
before a judicial officer and be ordered released pending trial in accordance
with this section within 24 hours following the juvenile’s arrest.

Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 7554b is amended to read:
§ 7554b. HOME DETENTION PROGRAM

(a) Definition. As used in this section, “home detention” means a program
of confinement and supervision that restricts a defendant to a preapproved
residence continuously, except for authorized absences, and is enforced by
appropriate means of surveillance and electronic monitoring by the
Department of Corrections, including the use of passive electronic monitoring.
The court may authorize scheduled absences such as for work, school, or
treatment. Any changes in the schedule shall be solely at the discretion of the
Department of Corrections. A defendant who is on home detention shall
remain in the custody of the Commissioner of Corrections with conditions set
by the court.
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(b) Procedure. At the request of the court, the Department of Corrections,
the prosecutor, or the defendant, the status of a defendant who is detained
pretrial in a correctional facility for inability to pay bail after bail has been set
by the court, or the status of a defendant who has allegedly violated conditions
of release, may be reviewed by the court to determine whether the defendant is
appropriate for home detention. The review shall be scheduled upon the
court’s receipt of a report from the Department determining that the proposed
residence is suitable for the use of electronic monitoring. A defendant held
without bail pursuant to section 7553 or 7553a of this title shall not be eligible
for release to the Home Detention Program on or after June 1, 2018. At
arraignment or after a hearing, the court may order that the defendant be
released to the Home Detention Program, provided that the court finds placing

the defendant on home detention will reasonably assure-his-er-her-appearanece

in-court-whenrequired mitigate the defendant’s risk of flight and the proposed
residence is appropriate for home detention. In making such a determination,

the court shall consider:

(1) the nature of the offense with which the defendant is charged;

(2) the defendant’s prior convictions, history of violence, medical and
mental health needs, history of supervision, and risk of flight; and

(3) any risk or undue burden to other persons who reside at the proposed
residence or risk to third parties or to public safety that may result from such
placement.

(c) Failure to comply. The Department of Corrections may reveke report a
defendant’s heme-detention—statas—for—an unauthorized absence or failure to
comply with any other condition of the Program and-shall-return-the-defendant
to-a—correctional-faeility to the prosecutor and the defendant, provided that a
defendant’s failure to comply with any condition of the Program for a reason

other than fault on the part of the defendant shall not be reportable. To address
a reported violation, the prosecutor may initiate:

(1) a review of conditions pursuant to section 7554 of this title;

(2) a violation of conditions proceeding pursuant to section 7554e of
this title;

(3) a prosecution for contempt pursuant to section 7559 of this title: or

(4) a bail revocation hearing pursuant to section 7575 of this title.

(d) Credit for time served. A defendant shall receive credit for a sentence
of imprisonment for time served in the Home Detention Program.
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(e) Program support. The Department may support the operation of the
Program through grants of financial assistance to, or contracts for services
with, any public or nonprofit entity that meets the Department’s requirements.

Sec. 4. 13 V.S.A. § 7555 is added to read:
§ 7555. PRETRIAL SUPERVISION PROGRAM

(a) Purpose. The purpose of the Pretrial Supervision Program is to assist
eligible people through the use of evidence-based strategies to improve pretrial
compliance with conditions of release, to coordinate and support the provision
of pretrial services when appropriate, to ensure attendance at court
appearances, and to decrease the potential to recidivate while awaiting trial.

(b) Definition. As used in this section, “absconded” has the same meaning
as “absconding” as defined in 28 V.S.A. § 722(1)}(B)—(C).

(c) Pretrial supervision.

(1) Beginning on January 1, 2025, the Pretrial Supervision Program

shall, if ordered by the court pursuant to subsection (d) of this section,
supervise defendants who have been charged with violating a condition of

release pursuant to section 7559 of this title or have not fewer than five
pending dockets and pose a risk of nonappearance at court hearings, a risk of
flight, or a risk of endangering the public.

(2) The Department shall assien a pretrial supervisor to monitor

defendants in a designated region of Vermont and help coordinate any pretrial
services needed by the defendant. The Department shall determine the

appropriate level of supervision using evidence-based screenings of those
defendants eligible to be placed in the Program. The Department’s

supervision levels may include use of:

(A) the Department’s telephone monitoring system;

(B) telephonic meetings with a pretrial supervisor;
(C) in-person meetings with a pretrial supervisor;

(D) electronic monitoring; or

(E) any other means of contact deemed appropriate.

(3) When placing a defendant into the Program pursuant to subsection
(d) of this section, the court shall issue an order that sets the defendant’s level

of supervision based on the recommendations submitted by the Department of
Corrections.

(d) Procedure.
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(1) At arraignment or at a subsequent hearing, the prosecutor or the

defendant may move, or on the court’s own motion, that the defendant be

reviewed by the court to determine whether the defendant is appropriate for
pretrial supervision. The review shall be scheduled upon the court’s receipt of

a report from the Department of Corrections containing recommendations
pertaining to the defendant’s supervision level. A defendant held without bail
pursuant to section 7553 or 7553a shall not be eligible for pretrial supervision.

(2) A defendant is eligible for pretrial supervision if the person has:

(A) violated conditions of release pursuant to section 7559 of this

title; or

(B) not fewer than five pending court dockets.

(3) After a hearing and review of the Department of Corrections’ report
containing the defendant’s supervision level recommendations, the court may
order that the defendant be released to the Pretrial Supervision Program,
provided that the court finds placing the defendant under pretrial supervision
will reasonably ensure the person’s appearance in court when required,

mitigate the person’s risk of flight, or reasonably ensure protection of the
public. In making such a determination, the court shall consider the following:

(A) the nature of the violation of conditions of release pursuant to
section 7559 of this title:

(B) the nature and circumstances of the underlying offense or
offenses with which the defendant is charged:

(C) the defendant’s prior convictions, history of violence, medical
and mental health needs, history of supervision, and risk of flight;

(D) any risk or undue burden to third parties or risk to public safety
that may result from the placement; or

(E) any other factors that the court deems appropriate.

(e) Compliance and review.

(1) Pretrial supervisors shall notify the prosecutor and use reasonable
efforts to notify the defendant of any violations of Program supervision

requirements committed by the defendant.
(2) _Upon the motion of the prosecutor or the defendant, or on the

court’s own motion, a defendant’s compliance with pretrial supervision
conditions may be reviewed by the court.

(3) Upon submission of the pretrial supervisor’s sworn affidavit by the
prosecutor, the court may issue a warrant for the arrest of a defendant who
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fails to report to the pretrial supervisor, commits multiple violations of
supervision requirements. or has absconded.

(f) Manual. On or before November 1, 2024, the Department of
Corrections shall establish a written policies and procedures manual for
Pretrial Supervision Program to be used by the Department, any contractors or
grantees that the Department engages with to assist in operating the Program,
and the courts.

(g) Contingent on funding. The Pretrial Supervision Program established
in this section shall operate only to the extent funds are appropriated for its

operation.

(h) Program support. The Department may support the operation of the
Program through grants of financial assistance to, or contracts for services
with, any public or nonprofit entity that meets the Department’s requirements.
Sec. 5. 13 V.S.A. § 7559 is amended to read:

§ 7559. REEEASE:DESIGNATHON:—SANCHONS VIOLATIONS OF
CONDITIONS OF RELEASE; FAILURE TO APPEAR;
WARRANTLESS ARREST

the—eourt—having—jurisdietion = The State’s Attorney may commence a
prosecution for criminal contempt under Rule 42 of the Vermont Rules of

Criminal Procedure against a person who violates a condition of release
imposed under section 7554 of this title. The maximum penalty that may be

imposed under this section shall be a fine of $1,000.00 or imprisonment for six
months, or both.

tile Upon commencement of a prosecution for criminal contempt, including
when considering an afterhours request to set temporary conditions or impose

bail for criminal contempt, or upon the initial appearance of the person to
-4281 -



answer such offense, in accordance with section 7553, 7553a, 7554, or 7575 of
this title, a judicial officer may continue or modify existing conditions of

release or terminate release of the person.

OU dnvinistrator in-writing within seven days of the designation A person
who has been released pursuant to section 7554 of this title with or without
bail on condition that the person appear at a specified time and place in
connection with a prosecution for an offense and who without just cause fails

to appear shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than
$5.000.00, or both.

more-than—$5;000-00,-orbeth Notwithstanding Rule 3 of the Vermont Rules
of Criminal Procedure, a law enforcement officer may arrest a person without
a warrant when the officer has probable cause to believe the person without
just cause has failed to appear at a specified time and place in connection with
a prosecution for an offense or has violated a condition of release relating to a
restriction on travel or a condition of release that the person not directly
contact, harass, or cause to be harassed a victim or potential witness.

) : .] i ¥§§I ::].]’ 1 i B 1.;
conditions-of release-orterminate release-efthe persen: [Repealed.]
() Netwithstanding Re . Rt

bl Lo vieti e '
Sec. 6. 13 V.S.A. § 7559a is added to read:

§ 7559a. RELEASE:; DESIGNATION
-4282 -




(a) The officer in charge of a facility under the control of the department of
corrections shall discharge any person held by the officer upon receipt of an
order for release issued by a judicial officer pursuant to section 7554 of this
title, accompanied by the full amount of any bond or cash bail fixed by the
judicial officer. The officer in charge, or a person designated by the Court
Administrator, shall issue a receipt for such bond or cash bail and shall account
for and turn over such bond or cash bail to the court having jurisdiction.

(b) The Court Administrator shall designate persons to set bail for any

person under arrest prior to arraienment when the offense charged provides for

a penalty of less than two years imprisonment or a fine of not more than
1,000.00, or both. Such persons designated by the Court Administrator shall

be considered judicial officers for the purposes of sections 7554 and 7556 of
this title.

(c) Any person who is designated by the Court Administrator under

subsection (b) of this section, may refuse the designation by so notifying the
Court Administrator in writing within seven days of the designation.
Sec. 7. COMMUNITY RESTITUTION; INTENT

It is the intent of the General Assembly that the Department of Corrections

reinstitute the Community Restitution Program and ensure that it is
appropriately staffed and resourced so that it may be offered in all 14 counties

as a sentencing alternative.
Sec. 8. 13 V.S.A. § 7030 is amended to read:
§ 7030. SENTENCING ALTERNATIVES

(a) In determining which of the following should be ordered, the court
shall consider the nature and circumstances of the crime; the history and
character of the defendant; the defendant’s family circumstances and
relationships; the impact of any sentence upon the defendant’s minor children;
the need for treatment; any noncompliance with court orders or failures to

appear in connection in connection with a criminal prosecution; and the risk to
self, others, and the community at large presented by the defendant:

(1) A deferred sentence pursuant to section 7041 of this title.

(2) Referral to a community reparative board pursuant to 28 V.S.A.
chapter 12 in the case of an offender who has pled guilty to a nonviolent
felony, a nonviolent misdemeanor, or a misdemeanor that does not involve the
subject areas prohibited for referral to a community justice center under
24 V.S.A. § 1967. Referral to a community reparative board pursuant to this
subdivision does not require the court to place the offender on probation. The
offender shall return to court for further sentencing if the reparative board does
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not accept the case or if the offender fails to complete the reparative board
program to the satisfaction of the board in a time deemed reasonable by the
board.

(3) Community restitution pursuant to a policy adopted by the
Commissioner of Corrections.

(4) Probation pursuant to 28 V.S.A. § 205.
)(5) Supervised community sentence pursuant to 28 V.S.A. § 352.
5)(6) Sentence of imprisonment.

(b) When ordering a sentence of probation, the court may require
participation in the Restorative Justice Program established by 28 V.S.A.
chapter 12 as a condition of the sentence.

Sec. 9. 18 V.S.A. § 4253 is amended to read:
§ 4253. USE OF A FIREARM WHILE SELLING OR DISPENSING A
DRUG

(a) A person who uses a firearm during and in relation to selling or
dispensing a regulated drug in violation of subdivision 4230(b)(3), 4231(b)(3),
4232(b)(3), 4233(b)(3), 4234(b)(3), 4234a(b)(3), 4235(c)(3), or 4235a(b)(3) of
this title shall be imprisoned not more than three years or fined not more than
$5,000.00, or both, in addition to the penalty for the underlying crime.

(b) A person who uses a firearm during and in relation to trafficking a
regulated drug in violation of subsection 4230(c), 4231(c), 4233(c), or
4234a(c) of this title shall be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not
more than $10,000.00, or both, in addition to the penalty for the underlying
crime.

(c) For purposes of this section, “use of a firearm” shall-inelude includes:

(1) using a firearm while selling or trafficking a regulated drug; and

(2) the exchange of firearms for drugs, and this section shall apply to
the person who trades a firearm for a drug and the person who trades a drug
for a firearm.

(d) Conduct constituting the offense of using a firearm while selling or
trafficking a regulated drug shall be considered a violent act for the purposes
of determining bail.

Sec. 10. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.
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(Committee vote: 9-0-2)

Rep. Emmons of Springfield, for the Committee on Corrections and
Institutions, recommends that report of the Committee on Judiciary be
amended as follows:

First: By striking out Sec. 3, 13 V.S.A. § 7554b, in its entirety and
inserting in lieu thereof a new Sec. 3 to read as follows:

Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 7554b is amended to read:
§ 7554b. HOME DETENTION PROGRAM

(a) Definition. As used in this section, “home detention” means a program
of confinement and supervision that restricts a defendant to a preapproved
residence continuously, except for authorized absences, and is enforced by
appropriate means of surveillance and electronic monitoring by the
Department of Corrections, including the use of passive electronic monitoring.
The court may authorize scheduled absences such as for work, school, or
treatment. Any changes in the schedule shall be solely at the discretion of the
Department of Corrections. A defendant who is on home detention shall
remain in the custody of the Commissioner of Corrections with conditions set
by the court.

(b) Preeedure Defendants with the inability to pay bail.

(1) Procedure. At the request of the court, the Department of
Corrections, the prosecutor, or the defendant, the status of a defendant who is
detained pretrial in a correctional facility for inability to pay bail after bail has
been set by the court may be reviewed by the court to determine whether the
defendant is appropriate for home detention. The review shall be scheduled
upon the court’s receipt of a report from the Department determining that the
proposed residence is suitable for the use of electronic monitoring. A
defendant held without bail pursuant to section 7553 or 7553a of this title shall
not be eligible for release to the Home Detention Program on or after June 1,
2018. At arraignment or after a hearing, the court may order that the
defendant be released to the Home Detention Program, provided that the court
finds placing the defendant on home detention will reasonably assure-his-er-her
appearanece-in—eourt-whenrequired mitigate the defendant’s risk of flight and
the proposed residence is appropriate for home detention. In making such a
determination, the court shall consider:

H(A) the nature of the offense with which the defendant is charged;

2)B) the defendant’s prior convictions, history of violence, medical
and mental health needs, history of supervision, and risk of flight; and
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3} C) any risk or undue burden to other persons who reside at the
proposed residence or risk to third parties or to public safety that may result
from such placement.

¢e)(2) Failure to comply. The Department of Corrections may revoke a
defendant’s home detention status for an unauthorized absence or failure to
comply with any other condition of the Program and shall return the defendant
to a correctional facility.

(¢) Defendants who violate conditions of release.

(1) Procedure. At the request of the court, the prosecutor, or the
defendant, the status of a defendant who has allegedly violated conditions of

release may be reviewed by the court to determine whether the defendant is
appropriate for home detention. The review shall be scheduled upon the

court’s receipt of a report from the Department determining that the proposed
residence is suitable for the use of electronic monitoring. A defendant held
without bail pursuant to section 7553 or 7553a of this title shall not be eligible
for release to the Home Detention Program on or after June 1, 2024. At
arraignment or after a hearing, the court may order that the defendant be
released to the Home Detention Program, provided that the court finds placing
the defendant on home detention will reasonably mitigate the defendant’s risk

of flight, the risk of nonappearance, or reasonably ensure protection of the
public, and the proposed residence is appropriate for home detention. In

making such a determination, the court shall consider the factors listed in
subdivisions (b)(1)(A)—(C) of this section.

(2) Failure to comply. The Department of Corrections may report a
defendant’s unauthorized absence or failure to comply with any other
condition of the Program to the prosecutor and the defendant, provided that a
defendant’s failure to comply with any condition of the Program for a reason

other than fault on the part of the defendant shall not be reportable. To address
a reported violation, the prosecutor may request:

(A) areview of conditions pursuant to section 7554 of this title:

(B) a prosecution for contempt pursuant to section 7559 of this title:

(C)_a bail revocation hearing pursuant to section 7575 of this title.

(d) Credit for time served. A defendant shall receive credit for a sentence
of imprisonment for time served in the Home Detention Program.

(e) Program support. The Department may support the monitoring
operations of the Program through grants of financial assistance to, or
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contracts for services with, any public entity that meets the Department’s
requirements.

(f) Policies and procedures. The Department of Corrections shall establish
written policies and procedures for the Home Detention Program to be used by
the Department, any contractors or grantees that the Department engages with
to assist with the monitoring operations of the program, and to assist the courts
in understanding the Program.

Second: By striking out Sec. 4, 13 V.S.A. § 7555, in its entirety and
inserting in lieu thereof a new Sec. 4 to read as follows:

Sec. 4. 13 V.S.A. § 7555 is added to read:
§ 7555. PRETRIAL SUPERVISION PROGRAM

(a) Purpose. The purpose of the Pretrial Supervision Program is to assist
eligible people through the use of evidence-based strategies to improve pretrial
compliance with conditions of release, to coordinate and support the provision
of pretrial services when appropriate, to ensure attendance at court
appearances, and to decrease the potential to recidivate while awaiting trial.

(b) Definition. As used in this section, “absconded” has the same meaning
as “absconding” as defined in 28 V.S.A. § 722(1)}(B)—(C).

(c) Pretrial supervision.

(1) Except as provided in subsection (g) of this section, beginning on

January 1, 2025, the Pretrial Supervision Program shall, if ordered by the court
pursuant to subsection (d) of this section, monitor defendants who have been
charged with violating a condition of release pursuant to section 7559 of this

title or have not fewer than five pending dockets and pose a risk of
nonappearance at court hearings, a risk of flight, or a risk of endangering the
public.

(2) The Department shall assign a pretrial supervision officer to monitor

defendants in a designated region of Vermont and help coordinate any pretrial
services needed by the defendant. The Department shall determine the

appropriate level of supervision using evidence-based screenings of those
defendants eligible to be placed in the Program. The Department’s

supervision levels may include use of:

(A) the Department’s telephone monitoring system;

(B) telephonic meetings with a pretrial supervisor;
(C) in-person meetings with a pretrial supervisor;

(D) electronic monitoring; or
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(E) any other means of contact deemed appropriate.

(3) When placing a defendant into the Program pursuant to subsection
(d) of this section, the court shall issue an order that sets the defendant’s level

of supervision based on the recommendations submitted by the Department of
Corrections.

(d) Procedure.
(1) At arraignment or at a subsequent hearing, the prosecutor or the

defendant may move, or on the court’s own motion, that the defendant be
reviewed by the court to determine whether the defendant is appropriate for
pretrial supervision. The review shall be scheduled upon the court’s receipt of

a report from the Department of Corrections containing recommendations
pertaining to the defendant’s supervision level.

(2) A defendant is eligible for pretrial supervision if the person has:

(A) violated conditions of release pursuant to section 7559 of this

title; or

(B) not fewer than five pending court dockets.

(3) After a hearing and review of the Department of Corrections’ report
containing the defendant’s supervision level recommendations, the court may
order that the defendant be released to the Pretrial Supervision Program,
provided that the court finds placing the defendant under pretrial supervision
will reasonably ensure the person’s appearance in court when required, will
reasonably mitigate the risk of flight, or reasonably ensure protection of the
public. In making such a determination, the court shall consider the following:

(A) the nature of the violation of conditions of release pursuant to
section 7559 of this title:

(B) the nature and circumstances of the underlying offense or
offenses with which the defendant is charged:

(C) the defendant’s prior convictions, history of violence, medical
and mental health needs, history of supervision, and risk of flight;

(D) any risk or undue burden to third parties or risk to public safety
that may result from the placement; or

(E) any other factors that the court deems appropriate.

(e) Compliance and review.
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(1) Pretrial supervision officers shall notify the prosecutor and use
reasonable efforts to notify the defendant of any violations of court-imposed

Program conditions committed by the defendant.
(2) Pretrial supervision officers may notify the prosecutor and use

reasonable efforts to notify the defendant of any violations of Department-
imposed administrative conditions committed by the defendant.

(3) Upon the motion of the prosecutor or the defendant, or on the
court’s own motion, a defendant’s compliance with pretrial supervision
conditions may be reviewed by the court.

(4) Upon submission of the pretrial supervision officer’s sworn affidavit
by the prosecutor, the court may issue a warrant for the arrest of a defendant

who fails to report to the pretrial supervision officer, commits multiple
violations of supervision requirements. or has absconded.

(f)_Policies and procedures.

(1) _On or before November 1, 2024, the Department of Corrections
shall establish written policies and procedures for the Pretrial Supervision
Program to be used by the Department and any contractors or grantees that the
Department engages with to assist in the monitoring operations of the Program
and to assist the courts in understanding the Program.

(2) The Department shall develop policies and procedures concerning

supervision levels, evidence-based criteria for each supervision level, and the
means of contact that is appropriate for each supervision level.

(2) Contingent on funding. The Pretrial Supervision Program established
in this section shall operate only to the extent funds are appropriated for its
operation. If the Program is not operating in a particular county, the courts
shall not order pretrial supervision as a condition of release in accordance with
section 7554 of this title.

(h) Program support. The Department may support the operation of the

Program through grants of financial assistance to, or contracts for services
with, any public entity that meets the Department’s requirements.

Third: By adding a new Sec. 10 to read as follows:

Sec. 10. JOINT LEGISLATIVE JUSTICE OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE;
PRETRIAL SUPERVISION PROGRAM; RECOMMENDATIONS;
REPORT

(a) The Joint Legislative Justice Oversight Committee shall review the
PreTrial Supervision Program established pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 7555. The

Committee shall review and provide recommendations to the Department of
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Corrections for the most prudent use of any funds appropriated to the
Department to operate the Program. The review shall also include

recommendations concerning the geographic areas that the Department may
first implement the Program and future funding mechanisms for the Program.
(b) The Committee’s recommendations pursuant to subsection (a) of this

section shall be submitted to the Department on or before September 1, 2024
and to the General Assembly on or before November 15, 2024.

Fourth: By adding a new Sec. 11 to read as follows:

Sec. 11. CORRECTIONS MONITORING COMMISSION; DEFICIENCIES
RECONSTITUTION; REPORT

(a) On or before January 1, 2025, the Corrections Monitoring Commission
shall conduct a review to identify what the Commission’s needs are to operate,
including its structural challenges; recommendations of changes to the

membership of the Commission; the training necessary for members to operate
effectively as a Commission; and the resources necessary given its mandates

pursuant to 28 V.S.A. § 123.

(b) On or before January 15, 2025, the Commission shall present the

results of the review to the Senate Committee on Judiciary and the House
Committee on Corrections and Institutions.

Fifth: By adding a new Sec. 12 to read as follows:
Sec. 12. PROSPECTIVE REPEAL
13 V.S.A. § 7555 shall be repealed on December 31, 2026.
and by renumbering the remaining sections to be numerically correct.

(Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

S. 254

An act relating to including rechargeable batteries and battery-containing
products under the State battery stewardship program

Rep. Morris of Springfield, for the Committee on Environment and
Energy, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be
amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 1, 10 V.S.A. chapter 168, in section 7581, in subdivision (9),
as amended, after “means” and before “readily detachable” by inserting the

words “the battery is”

and, in section 7587, by striking out subsection (a) in its entirety and
inserting in lieu thereof a new subsection (a) to read as follows:
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(a) Sale prohibited. Except as set forth in subsection (b) of this section, no
retailer shall sell or offer for sale a primary battery, rechargeable battery, or
battery-containing product on or after January 1, 2046 2026 unless the
producer of the primary battery, rechargeable battery, or battery-containing
product is implementing an approved primary battery stewardship plan, is a
member of a primary battery stewardship organization implementing an
approved primary battery stewardship plan, or is exempt from participation in
an approved plan, as determined by review of the producers listed on the
Agency website required in subsection 7586(f) of this title.

Second: By adding two new sections to be Secs. 4a and 4b to read as
follows:

Sec. 4a. 10 V.S.A. § 7182(b) is amended to read:
(b) Stewardship organization registration requirements.

(1) On or before Januwary July 1, 2025 and annually thereafter, a
stewardship organization shall file a registration form with the Secretary. The
Secretary shall provide the registration form to the stewardship organization.
The registration form shall include:

% %k ok
Sec. 4b. 10 V.S.A. § 6615f is added to read:

§ 6615f. ADMINISTRATIVE USE CONTROLS AT CONTAMINATED
SITES

(a) A petition for administrative use controls at a hazardous material

contaminated site may be made by a person responding to a release at that site.
The petition shall be made on a form developed by the Secretary that includes

the following:
(1) a brief description of the contamination at the site and work

completed under an approved corrective action plan;

(2) _a legal description of the property or properties subject to
administrative use controls;

(3) a digital map that shows the boundaries of the property or properties

subject to the administrative use controls and any operational units on the
property or properties where more detailed controls will be applied:

(4) a narrative description of the uses that are prohibited on the property

under the administrative use control, including any specific restrictions
applicable to operational units on the property;
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(5) signatures of the property owner or persons with legal control of the

property certifying that they accept the imposition of these administrative use
controls on their property; and

(6) any other requirement that the Secretary requires by rule.

(b) The Secretary shall approve the administrative use controls upon
finding:

(1) the administrative use controls adequately protect human health and

the environment;

(2) the administrative use controls are consistent with requirements of
the plan required by rules adopted pursuant to this chapter and approved by the

Secretary; and

(3) the petition contains adequate information to ensure that current and
future owners are aware of the restrictions.

(c) Administrative use controls may require:

(1) restrictions on the use of the property or operational units on the
property where restrictions are placed;

(2) a right to access the property to ensure that the restrictions are
maintained; and

(3) requirements to maintain the restrictions and report on their
implementation.

(d) Administrative use controls shall be effective until a property owner or
person with legal control petitions the Secretary for their removal. The
Secretary shall remove the administrative use controls if the property owner:

(1) clearly demonstrates that the contamination that was the basis of the
administrative use controls has naturally attenuated; or

(2) has completed a subsequent corrective action plan that either
remediates the hazardous material below environmental media standards or

requires alternate administrative use controls.
(Committee vote: 11-0-0)

S. 309

An act relating to miscellaneous changes to laws related to the Department
of Motor Vehicles, motor vehicles, and vessels

Rep. Shaw of Pittsford, for the Committee on Transportation,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
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striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

* % * Transporters * * *
Sec. 1. 23 V.S.A. § 4 is amended to read:
§ 4. DEFINITIONS

* %k 3k

(8)(A)(1) “Dealer” means a person, partnership, corporation, or other
entity engaged in the business of selling or exchanging new or used motor
vehicles, snowmobiles, motorboats, or all-terrain vehicles. A dealer may, as
part of or incidental to such business, repair such vehicles or motorboats, sell
parts and accessories, or lease or rent such vehicles or motorboats. “Dealer”
shall does not include a finance or auction dealer or a transporter.

(i))(I) For a dealer in new or used cars or motor trucks, “engaged
in the business” means having sold or exchanged at least 12 cars or motor
trucks, or a combination thereof, in the immediately preceding year, or 24 in
the two immediately preceding years.

(II) For a dealer in snowmobiles, motorboats, or all-terrain
vehicles, “engaged in the business” means having sold or exchanged at least
one snowmobile, motorboat, or all-terrain vehicle, respectively, in the
immediately preceding year or two in the two immediately preceding years.

(IIT)  For a dealer in trailers, semi-trailers, or trailer coaches,
“engaged in the business” means having sold or exchanged at least one trailer,
semi-trailer, or trailer coach in the immediately preceding year or a
combination of two such vehicles in the two immediately preceding years.
However, the sale or exchange of a trailer with a gross vehicle weight rating of
3,500 pounds or less shall be excluded under this subdivision (III).

(IV) For a dealer in motorcycles or motor-driven cycles,
“engaged in the business” means having sold or exchanged at least one
motorcycle or motor-driven cycle in the immediately preceding year or a
combination of two such vehicles in the two immediately preceding years.

* %k 3k
(42)(A) “Transporter” means:

(1) a person engaged in the business of delivering vehicles of a
type required to be registered from a manufacturing, assembling, or
distributing plant to dealers or sales agents of a manufacturer;

(i) a person regularly engaged in the business of towing trailer
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coaches, owned by them or temporarily in their custody, on their own wheels
over public highways, or towing office trailers owned by them or temporarily
in their custody, on their own wheels over public highways;

(iii) a person regularly engaged and properly licensed for the
short-term rental of “storage trailers” owned by them and who move these
storage trailers on their own wheels over public highways;

(iv) aperson regularly engaged in the business of moving modular
homes over public highways;

(v) dealers, owners of motor vehicle auction sites, and automobile
repair shop owners when engaged in the transportation of motor vehicles to
and from their place of business for repair purposes; or

(vi) the following, provided that the transportation and delivery of
motor vehicles is a common and usual incident to their business:

(I) persons towing overwidth trailers owned by them in
connection with their business;

(IT) persons whose business is the repossession of motor
vehicles; and

(IIT) persons whose business involves moving vehicles from
the place of business of a registered dealer to another registered dealer, or
between a motor vehicle auction site and a registered dealer or another motor
vehicle auction site, leased vehicles to the lessor at the expiration of the lease,
or vehicles purchased at the place of auction of an auction dealer to the
purchaser; and

(IV) persons who sell or exchange new or used motor vehicles

but who are not engaged in business as that phrase is defined in subdivision
(8)(A)(ii) of this section.

* %k 3k

Sec. 2. 23 V.S.A. § 491 is amended to read:
§ 491. TRANSPORTER APPLICATION; ELIGIBILITY; USE OF
TRANSPORTER PLATES

(a) A transporter may apply for and the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles,
in his—er—her the Commissioner’s discretion, may issue a certificate of
registration and a general distinguishing number plate. Before a person may
be registered as a transporter, he-er-she the person shall present-proef self-

certify the following on a form provided by the Commissioner:
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(1) ef compliance with section 800 of this title; and

(2) that he-orshe the person either owns or leases a permanent place of
business located in this State where business will be conducted during
regularly established business hours and the required records stored and
maintained.

(b) When he—er—she a transporter displays thereen—his—or—her the
transporter’s registration plate, a the transporter or his-er-her the transporter’s
employee or contractor may transport a motor vehicle owned by the
transporter, repossessed, or temporarily in the transporter’s custody, and it
shall be considered te-be properly registered under this title. Fransperter’s A
transporter’s registration plates shall not be used for any other purposes and
shall not be used by the holder of such number plates for personal purposes.

* % * Definition of All-Surface Vehicle * * *
Sec. 3. 23 V.S.A. § 4(80) is amended to read:

(80) An “all-surface vehicle” or “ASV” means any non-highway
recreational vehicle, except a snowmobile, when used for cross-country travel
on trails or on any one of the following or combination of the following: land,
water, snow, ice, marsh, swampland, and natural terrain. An all-surface
vehicle shall be designed for use both on land and in water, with or without
tracks, shall be capable of flotation and shall be equipped with a skid-steering
system, a sealed body, a fully contained cooling system, and six-er up to eight
tires designed to be inflated with an operating pressure not exceeding
10 pounds per square inch as recommended by the manufacturer. An all-
surface vehicle shall have a net weight of 1,500 pounds or less, shall have a
width of 75 inches or less, shall be equipped with an engine of not more than
50 horsepower, and shall have a maximum speed of not more than 25 miles per
hour. An ASV when operated in water shall be considered to be a motorboat
and shall be subject to the provisions of chapter 29, subchapter 2 of this title.
An ASV operated anywhere except in water shall be subject to the provisions
of chapter 31 of this title.

* # * Record Keeping * * *
Sec. 4. 23 V.S.A. § 117 is added to read:
§ 117. RECORD-KEEPING REQUIREMENTS; CERTIFICATES OF TITLE

(a) Original records. Original certificate of title records, including

surrendered certificates of title and requests for salvage title, as issued pursuant
to chapters 21 and 36 of this title, shall be maintained as an electronic image or
electronic copy or other form of image. which allows for the tracing of

anything for which the Department of Motor Vehicles issues a certificate of
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title, for a period of five years.

(b) FElectronic format. Records of title shall be maintained in a format,

determined by the Commissioner, that allows for the tracing of anything for
which the Department of Motor Vehicles issues a certificate of title.

Sec. 5. 23 V.S.A. § 2017(c) is amended to read:

(c) The Commissioner shall maintain a record of all certificates of title
issued and of all exempt vehicle titles issued under-a-distinetive-title-number

Duruant to section 117 of this title.
Sec. 6. 23 V.S.A. § 2027(c) is amended to read:

(c¢) The Commissioner shall file and retain ferfive-years every surrendered

certificate of title se—as—to—permit—the—tracing—oftitle—of thecorresponding
vehieles pursuant to section 117 of this title.

Sec. 7. 23 V.S.A. § 2092 is amended to read:
§ 2092. ISSUANCE OF SALVAGE TITLE

The Commissioner shall file and maintain in the manner provided in section
2047 117 of this title each application received and when satisfied as to its
genuineness and regularity and that the applicant is entitled to the issuance of a
salvage certificate of title, shall issue a salvage certificate of title to the
vehicle.

Sec. 8. 23 V.S.A. § 3810(b)(1) is amended to read:

(b)(1) The Commissioner shall maintain athis-er-hereentral-effice a record
of all certificates of title issued by him-erher:

Commissioner pursuant to section 117 of this title.
Sec. 9. 23 V.S.A. § 3820(c) is amended to read:

(c) The Commissioner shall file and retain every surrendered certificate of
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title ferfive-years—Thefile shall-be-maintained-se-as-to-permit-the-tracing-of
title—of-the-vessel,—snowmeobile—orall-terrain—vehicle-designated pursuant to

section 117 of this title.

* * * Registration; Residents * * *
Sec. 10. 23 V.S.A. § 301 is amended to read:
§ 301. PERSONS REQUIRED TO REGISTER

(a) As used in this section:

(1) “Resident” means an individual living in the State who intends to
make the State the individual’s place of domicile either permanently or for an
indefinite number of years.

(2) “Temporary resident” means an individual living in the State for a
particular purpose involving a defined period, including students, migrant
workers employed in seasonal occupations, and individuals employed under a
contract with a fixed term, provided that the motor vehicle will be used in the
State on a regular basis.

(b) Residents, except as provided in chapter 35 of this title, shall annually
register motor vehicles owned or leased for a period of more than 30 days and
operated by them, unless currently registered in Vermont.

(¢) Temporary residents and foreign partnerships, firms, associations, and
corporations having a place of business in this State may annually register

motor vehicles owned or leased for a period of more than 30 days and operated
by them or an employee.

(d) Notwithstanding this section, a resident who has moved into the State
from another jurisdiction shall register his-er-her the resident’s motor vehicle
within 60 days ef after moving into the State. A—persen

(e) An individual shall not operate a motor vehicle nor draw a trailer or
semi-trailer on any highway unless such vehicle is registered as provided in
this chapter. Vehicle owners who have apportioned power units registered in
this State under the International Registration Plan are exempt from the
requirement to register their trailers in this State.

Sec. 11. 23 V.S.A. § 303(a) is amended to read:

(a) The Commissioner or his—er-her the Commissioner’s duly authorized
agent shall register a motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer when that is
required or permitted to be registered in Vermont upon application therefer, on
a form prescribed by the Commissioner that is filed with the Commissioner,
showing such motor vehicle to be properly equipped and in good mechanical
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condition;—s—fHed—with—him—er—her; and accompanied by the required
registration fee and evidence of the applicant’s ownership of the vehicle in
such form as the Commissioner may reasonably require. Except for State or
municipal vehicles, registrants and titled owners shall be identical.

* % * Weight Limitations on Low-Number Plates * * *
Sec. 12. 23 V.S.A. § 304(c) is amended to read:

(c) The Commissioner shall issue registration numbers 101 through 9999,
which shall be known as reserved registration numbers, for pleasure cars,
metor trucks that-are registered at-thepleasure—earrate for less than 26,001
pounds, and motorcycles in the following manner:

* ok 3k

(4) A person holding a reserved registration number on a pleasure car, a
truck thatis registered at-the-pleasure-earrate for less than 26,001 pounds, or a
motorcycle may be issued the same reserved registration number for the other
authorized vehicle types, provided that the person receives #e not more than
one such plate or set of plates for each authorized vehicle type.

* * * License Plates; Registration; Prorated Refunds * * *
Sec. 13. 23 V.S.A. § 327 is amended to read:
§ 327. REFUND WHEN PLATES NOT USED

Subject to the conditions set forth in subdivisions (H;+2);and3) (1)—(4) of
this section, the Commissioner may cancel the registration of a motor vehicle,
snowmobile, or motorboat when the owner returns to the Commissioner either
the number plates, if any, or the registration certificate. Upon cancellation of
the registration, the Commissioner shall notify the Commissioner of Finance
and Management, who shall issue a refund as follows:

(1) For registrations eaneeled canceled prior to the beginning of the
registration period, the refund is the full amount of the fee paid, less a charge
of $5.00.

(2) For registrations eaneeled canceled within 30 days ef after the date
of issue, the refund is the full amount of the fee paid, less a charge of $5.00.
The owner of a motor vehicle must prove to the Commissioner’s satisfaction
that the number plates have not been used or attached to a motor vehicle.

(3) For registrations eaneeHed canceled prior to the beginning of the
second year of a two-year registration period, the refund is one-half of the full
amount of the two-year fee paid, less a charge of $5.00.

(4) For registrations canceled prior to conclusion of a five-year
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registration period, the refund is as follows:

(A) four-fifths of the full amount of the five-year fee paid less a
charge of $5.00 if canceled prior to the beginning of the second year;
(B) three-fifths of the full amount of the five-year fee paid less a

charge of $5.00 if canceled prior to the beginning of the third year;
(C) two-fifths of the full amount of the five-year fee paid less a

charge of $5.00 if canceled prior to the beginning of the fourth year; and

(D) one-fifth of the full amount of the five-year fee paid less a charge
of $5.00 if canceled prior to the beginning of the fifth year.

Sec. 14. [Deleted.]
Sec. 15. [Deleted.]
Sec. 16. [Deleted.]
* * * Rusted Brake Rotors; Safety Inspection * * *
Sec. 17. RUSTED BRAKE ROTORS; LEGISLATIVE INTENT;
BULLETIN; CONTACT INFORMATION FOR FAILURES

(a) Legislative intent. It is the intent of the General Assembly that:

(1) the Department of Motor Vehicles provide information on the
existing definition of “rust” in Department of Motor Vehicles, Inspection of
Motor Vehicles (CVR 14-050-022) (Periodic Inspection Manual), which is “a

condition of any swelling, delamination, or pitting,” to all inspection

mechanics certified by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles so there is
consistency amongst inspection stations in how the Periodic Inspection Manual

1s interpreted and applied.

(2) that the presence of rust on brake rotors, by itself, does not
constitute a failure for the purpose of the annual safety inspection required
under 23 V.S.A. § 1222 and that the presence of rust that is temporary, also
known as surface rust, which sometimes results from the vehicle being parked
for a period of time, not be sufficient for a motor vehicle to fail inspection

because such rust does not cause diminished braking performance that prevents
a motor vehicle from adequately stopping.

(b) Bulletin. The Department of Motor Vehicles shall issue a clarifying

administrative bulletin to all inspection mechanics certified by the
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles that:

(1) details the rejection criteria for rotors and drums in the Periodic
Inspection Manual;
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(2)  explains the difference between surface rust and rust that is
considerable for purposes of determining if the rejection criteria are met,

which requires that the existing rust be “a condition of any swelling,
delamination, or pitting”; and

(3) provides information that an inspection mechanic shall provide to

the owner of a vehicle that fails inspection because of rusting on rotors and
drums.

(¢) Contact information. The Department of Motor Vehicles shall include
how to contact the Department of Motor Vehicles with questions about the
annual safety inspection and the Periodic Inspection Manual on all notices of

failure issued by inspection mechanics certified by the Commissioner of Motor
Vehicles.

* % * Emergency Warning Lamps and Sirens * * *
Sec. 18. 23 V.S.A. § 1251 is amended to read:
§ 1251. SIRENS AND COEOREDSIGNALE EMERGENCY WARNING
LAMPS; OUT-OF-STATE EMERGENCY AND RESCUE
VEHICLES

(a) Prohibition. A motor vehicle shall not be operated upon a highway of
this State equipped with any of the following:

(1) a siren er—signalJamp—eolored—other—than—amber unless either a
permit authorizing this—equipment the siren, issued by the Commissioner of

Motor Vehicles, is carried in the vehicle or a permit is not required pursuant to
section 1252 of this subchapter:;

(2) an emergency warning lamp unless either a permit authorizing the

emergency warning lamp, issued by the Commissioner, is carried in the
vehicle or a permit is not required pursuant to section 1252 of this subchapter:

(3) a blue light of any kind unless either a permit authorizing the blue

light, issued by the Commissioner, is carried in the vehicle or a permit is not
required pursuant to section 1252 of this subchapter; or

(4) alamp or lamps that are not emergency warning lamps and provide
a flashing light in a color other than amber.

(b) Permit transfer. A permit may be transferred following the same
procedure and subject to the same time limits as set forth in section 321 of this
title. The Commissioner may adopt additional rules as may be required to
govern the acquisition of permits and the use pertaining to sirens and eelered

stgnal emergency warning lamps.
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b)(c) Exception for vehicles from another state. Notwithstanding the
provisions of subsection (a) of this section, when responding to emergencies,
law enforcement vehicles, ambulances, fire vehicles, or vehicles owned or
leased by, or provided to, volunteer firefighters or rescue squad members that
are registered or licensed by another state or province may use sirens and
signal emergency warning lamps in Vermont, and a permit shall not be
required for such use, as-teng-as provided the vehicle is properly permitted or

otherwise permitted to use the sirens and emergency warning lamps without
permit in its home state or province.

Sec. 19. 23 V.S.A. § 1252 is amended to read:

§ 1252. LAW ENFORCEMENT AND EMERGENCY SERVICES
VEHICLES:; ISSUANCE OF PERMITS FOR SIRENS OR
COLORED EMERGENCY WARNING LAMPS, OR BOTH; USE
OF AMBER LAMPS

(a) Law enforcement vehicles.

(1) When—satisfied—as—to—the—condition—and—use—ofthe—vehiele,the
Commissioner—shall-issue-and-mayrevoke,—forecause;permitsfor-sirens—and
colored—signal lamps—in—the following—manner Law enforcement vehicles

owned and operated by the government. The following are authorized for use,
without permit, on all law enforcement vehicles owned or leased by the federal

government, a municipality, a county, the State, or the Vermont Criminal
Justice Council:

H(A) Sirens, blue signal emergency warning lamps, or blue and white
s+gn—a4 emergency warning lamps ora combmatlon thereof—may—be—aﬁ%heﬂ-zed

(B) A red signal emergency warning lamp or an a red and amber
s+gn—a4 mergency warning lamp—er—a—eembm-aﬁeﬂ—ﬂ&efeef—ma{yhbe—&b&hef&ed

Ceunetl, provided that the Commissioner-shall-require-the emergency warning
lamp erlamps-be is mounted so as to be visible primarily from the rear of the

vehicle.

¢©)(2) Law enforcement vehicles owned or leased by a certified law
enforcement officer.

(A) When satisfied as to the condition and use of the vehicle, the
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Commissioner shall issue and may revoke, for cause, permits for sirens and
emergency warning lamps in the following manner:

(i) _sirens, blue emergency warning lamps, or blue and white
emergency warning lamps, or a combination thereof; and

(ii) a red emergency warning lamp or a red and amber emergency

warning lamp, provided that the emergency warning lamp is mounted so as to
be visible primarily from the rear of the vehicle.

(B) No motor vehicle, other than one owned by the applicant, shall

be issued a permit until the Commissioner has recorded the information
regarding both the owner of the vehicle and the applicant for the permit.

(3) Law enforcement vehicles owned or leased by a certified constable.
(A) Hthe-applieantisa The following are authorized for use, without

permit, on all law enforcement vehicles owned or leased by a Vermont

Criminal Justice Council certified constable;—the—application—shall—be

elected-or—appointed-constable—and-attesting—that thetown for a municipality

that has not voted to limit the constable’s authority to engage in enforcement

activities under 24 V.S.A. § 1936a: a red emergency warning lamp or a red
and amber emergency warning lamp, provided that the emergency warning
lamp is mounted so as to be visible primarily from the rear of the vehicle.

(B) A constable for a municipality that has voted to limit the

constable’s authority to engage in enforcement activities under 24 V.S.A.
§ 1936a shall not operate, in the course of the constable’s elected duties, a

motor vehicle with a siren or an emergency warning lamp.
2)(b) Emergency services vehicles.

(1)  Emergency services vehicles owned and operated by the
government. The following are authorized for use, without permit, on all
emergency services vehicles owned or leased by the federal government, a
municipality, or the State:

(A) sirens and red emergency warning lamps or red and white
emergency warning lamps; and

(B) a blue emergency warning lamp or a blue and amber emergency
warning lamp provided that the emergency warning lamp is mounted so as to
be visible primarily from the rear of the vehicle.

(2) _Emergency services vehicles not owned and operated by the
government.
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(A) When satisfied as to the condition and use of the vehicle, the
Commissioner shall issue and may revoke, for cause, permits for sirens and

emergency warning lamps in the following manner:

(i) Sirens and red emergency warning lamps or red and white
signal emergency warning lamps may be authorized for all ambulances and
other emergency medical service (EMS) vehicles, vehicles owned or leased by
a fire department, vehicles used solely in rescue operations, or vehicles owned
or leased by, or provided to, volunteer firefighters and voluntary rescue squad
members, including a vehicle owned by a volunteer’s employer when the
volunteer has the written authorization of the employer to use the vehicle for
emergency fire or rescue activities.

B)(ii) A blue signal emergency warning lamp or an a blue and
amber signal emergency warning lamp;—er—a—combination—thereof; may be

authorized for all EMS vehicles or vehicles owned or leased by a fire
department, provided that the Commissioner shall require the emergency
warning lamp erJamps be mounted so as to be visible primarily from the rear
of the vehicle.

3){Repealed:]

4)}B) No motor vehicle, other than one owned by the applicant, shall
be issued a permit until the Commissioner has recorded the information
regarding both the owner of the vehicle and the applicant for the permit.

5)C) Upon application to the Commissioner, the Commissioner may
issue a single permit for all the vehicles owned or leased by the applicant.

6)(c) Sirens-and Restored vehicles. A combination of one or more of
red er signal lamps, red and white signal lamps er—sirens—and, blue signal
lamps, or blue and white signal lamps may be authorized for restored
emergency or enforcement vehicles used for exhibition purposes. Sirens and
lamps authorized under this subdivisien subsection may only be activated
during an exhibition, such as a car show or parade.

b)(d) Amber signal lamps. Amber signal lamps shall be used on road

maintenance vehicles, service vehicles, and wreckers and shall be used on all
registered snow removal equipment when in use removing snow on public
highways, and the amber lamps shall be mounted so as to be visible from all
sides of the motor vehicle.

Sec. 20. 23 V.S.A. § 1254 is added to read:
§ 1254. EMERGENCY WARNING LAMP; DEFINITION

As used in sections 1251-1255 of this subchapter, “emergency warning
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lamp”:

(1) means a lamp or lamps that provide a flashing light to identify an
authorized vehicle on an emergency mission that may be a rotating beacon or
pairs of alternately or simultaneously flashing lamps; and

(2) does not include a lamp or lamps that provide an exclusively amber
flashing light.

Sec. 21. 23 V.S.A. § 1255(b) is amended to read:

(b) All persons with motor vehicles equipped as provided in subdivisions
subsections 1252(a)H and (2)}(b) of this title subchapter shall use the sirens or
colored—signal emergency warning lamps, or both, only in the direct
performance of their official duties. When any persen individual other than a
law enforcement officer is operating a motor vehicle equipped as provided in
subdiviston subsection 1252(a)H) of this title subchapter, the eelered-signal

emergency warning lamps shall be either removed, covered, or hooded. When
any persen individual other than an authorized emergency medical service
vehicle operator, firefighter, or authorized operator of vehicles used in rescue
operations is operating a motor vehicle equipped as provided in subdivisien
subsection 1252¢a)}2)(b) of this title subchapter, the eelored-signal emergency
warning lamps shall be either removed, covered, or hooded unless the operator
holds a senior operator license.

Sec. 22. 23 V.S.A. § 4(1) is amended to read:

(1)  “Authorized emergency vehicle” means a vehicle of a fire
department, peliee law enforcement vehicle, public and private ambulance,

and a vehicle te—which—a—permitthas—been—issuedpursuant—to—subdivisien
252 H-er2) equipped as provided in subsections 1252(a) and (b) of this

title.
Sec. 23. 23 V.S.A. § 1050a(b) is amended to read:

(b) The driver of a vehicle shall yield the right of way to any authorized
vehicle obviously and actually engaged in work upon a highway when the
vehicle displays flashing lights meeting the requirements of subsection
1252(b)(d) of this title.

* % * Child Restraint Systems * * *
Sec. 24. 23 V.S.A. § 1258 is amended to read:
§ 1258. CHILD RESTRAINT SYSTEMS; PERSONS INDIVIDUALS
UNDER AGE 18 YEARS OF AGE

(a) No persen individual shall operate a motor vehicle, other than a type I
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school bus, in this State upon a public highway unless every occupant under
age 18 years of age is properly restrained in a federally approved child
passenger—restraining restraint system as defined in 49 C.F.R. § 571.213, as
may be amended, or a federally approved safety belt, as follows:

(1) al-ehildren a child under the two years of age ef-ene-and-all-children

wetghinglessthan20-pounds;regardless-of-age; shall be restrained-inarear-
faeing—pesition; properly secured in a federally approved ehild—passenger
restraining rear-facing child restraint system with a harness, which-shall-net-be

installed-infront-of an—aective-air-bag as those terms are defined in 49 C.F.R.
§ 571.213, as may be amended;

(2) a child weighin . y .
or-older—and under %h%&g%ef—e}ght ﬁve years; Of age who is not DroDerlv

secured in a federally approved rear-facing child restraint system in
accordance with subdivision (1) of this subsection shall be restrained-in-a-child

passenger—restraining—system properly secured in a forward-facing federally

approved child restraint system with a harness until the child reaches the

weight or height limit of the child restraint system as set by the manufacturer;
and

(3) a child under ecight years of age who is not properly secured in a
federally approved child restraint system in accordance with subdivision (1) or
(2) of this subsection shall be properly secured in a booster seat, as defined in
49 C.F.R. § 571.213, as may be amended;

(4) a child etght-threugh1+7 under 18 years of age who is not properly
secured in a federally approved child restraint system in accordance with

subdivision (1), (2), or (3) of this subsection shall be restrained in a safety belt
system er-a-child-passengerrestraining system;

(5) a child under 13 vyears of age shall always, if practical, ride in a rear
seat of a motor vehicle; and

(6) no child shall be secured in a rear-facing child restraint system in the
front seat of a motor vehicle that is equipped with an active passenger-side
airbag unless the airbag is deactivated.

(b) A-—persen An individual shall not be adjudicated in violation of this
section if:

(1) the motor vehicle is regularly used to transport passengers for hire,
except a motor vehicle owned or operated by a child care facility;

(2) the motor vehicle was manufactured without safety belts; or

(3) the persen individual has been ordered by an enforcement officer, a
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firefighter, or an authorized civil authority to evacuate persens individuals
from a stricken area.

(c) The civil penalty for violation of this section shall be as follows:
(1) $25.00 for a first violation;
(2) $50.00 for a second violation; and
(3) $100.00 for third and subsequent violations.
Sec. 25. CHILD RESTRAINT SYSTEMS; PUBLIC OUTREACH
CAMPAIGN

(a) The Department of Health, in consultation with the State Highway
Safety Office, shall implement a public outreach campaign on car seat safety
that builds upon the current Be Seat Smart program; utilizes materials on child
safety prepared by the U.S. Department of Transportation, Traffic Safety
Marketing; is consistent with the recommendations from the American
Academy of Pediatrics in the Child Passenger Safety Policy Statement
published in 2018; and educates Vermonters on 23 V.S.A. § 1258, as amended
by Sec. 24 of this act.

(b) The public outreach campaign shall disseminate information on car seat

safety through e-mail; a dedicated web page on car seat safety that is linked
through the websites for the Agency of Transportation and the Department of

Health; social media platforms; community posting websites; radio; television;
and informational materials that can be printed and shall be made available to

all pediatricians, obstetricians, and midwives licensed in the State and all Car
Seat Inspection Stations in the State.

* % * Exempt Vehicle Title * * *
Sec. 26. 23 V.S.A. § 2001(15) is amended to read:

(15) “Title or certificate of title” means a written instrument or
document that certifies ownership of a vehicle and is issued by the
Commissioner or equivalent official of another jurisdiction. These terms do
not include an exempt vehicle title autherized-to-be-issued-under—subdivision

204 3(a) 2y of this chapter.
Sec. 27. 23 V.S.A. § 2002(a)(1) is amended to read:

(1) for any certificate of title, including a salvage certificate of title;-er
an-exempt-vehiele-title, $42.00;
Sec. 28. 23 V.S.A. § 2012 is amended to read:

§ 2012. EXEMPTED VEHICLES
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No certificate of title need be obtained for:

* %k 3k

(10) a vehicle that is more than 15 years old on January 1, 2024 that

has been registered in Vermont and has not had a change in ownership since
January 1, 2024.

Sec. 29. 23 V.S.A. § 2016 is amended to read:
§ 2016. COMMISSIONER TO CHECK IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

The Commissioner, upon receiving application for a first certificate of title
or-exempt-vehieletitle, shall check the identification number of the vehicle
shown in the application against the records of vehicles required to be
maintained by section 2017 of this title and against the record of stolen and
converted vehicles required to be maintained by section 2084 of this title.

Sec. 30. 23 V.S.A. § 2021 is amended to read:
§ 2021. REFUSAL OF CERTIFICATE

The Commissioner shall refuse issuance of a certificate of title er-an-exempt
vehiele-title if any required fee is not paid or #he-or-she the Commissioner has
reasonable grounds to believe that:

* %k 3k

* % % Vessels * * *
* * * Fire Extinguishers * * *
Sec. 31. 23 V.S.A. § 3306 is amended to read:
§ 3306. LIGHTS AND EQUIPMENT

am)roved hand portable fire extinguishers that are unexpired, fully charged,

and in both good and serviceable condition shall be carried on board every
motorboat as follows:

(1) motorboats with no fixed fire extinguisher system in the machinery
space and that are:

(A) less than 26 feet in length, one extinguisher;

(B) 26 feet or longer, but less than 40 feet, two extinguishers; and
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(C) 40 feet or longer, three extinguishers:; and

(2) motorboats with a fixed fire extinguisher system in the machinery
space and that are:

(A) less than 26 feet in length, no extinguishers required;
(B) 26 feet or longer but less than 40 feet, one extinguisher; and

B)C) 40 feet or longer, two extinguishers.
(d) Notwithstanding subsection (c) of this section, motorboats less than 26

feet in length, propelled by outboard motors, and not carrying passengers for
hire need not carry portable fire extinguishers if the construction of the boats

will not permit the entrapment of explosive or flammable gases or vapors.

(e)(1) The extinguishers referred to by this section are class B-I or 5-B
extinguishers, but one class B-II or 20-B extinguisher may be substituted for
two class B-I or 5-B extinguishers, in compliance with 46 C.F.R. Subpart
25.30, as amended.

(2) Notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this subsection, motorboats with
a _model year between 1953 and 2017 with previously approved fire
extinguishers that are not in compliance with the types identified in
subdivision (1) of this subsection need not be replaced until such time as they
are no longer in good and serviceable condition.

te)(f) Every marine toilet on board any vessel operated on the waters of the
State shall also incorporate or be equipped with a holding tank. Any holding
tank or marine toilet designed so as to provide for an optional means of
discharge to the waters on which the vessel is operating shall have the
discharge openings sealed shut and any discharge lines, pipes, or hoses shall be
disconnected and stored while the vessel is in the waters of this State.

H(g) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent the discharge of
adequately treated wastes from any vessel operating under the provisions of a
valid discharge permit issued by the Department of Environmental
Conservation.

e)(h) Motorboats operated on waters that the U.S. Coast Guard has
determined to be navigable waters of the United States and therefore subject to
the jurisdiction of the United States must have lights and other safety
equipment as required by U.S. Coast Guard rules and regulations.

* % * Vermont Numbering Provisions * * *
Sec. 32. 23 V.S.A. § 3307(a) is amended to read:
(a) A motorboat is not required to have a Vermont number under this
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chapter if it is:

(1) already covered by a number in effect that has been awarded to it
under federal law or a federally approved numbering system of another state if
the boat has not been within the State for more than 99 60 days;

(2) a motorboat from a country other than the United States if the boat
has not been within the State for more than 90 60 days;

* sk 3k

* * * Commercial Driver’s Licenses and Permits * * *
* * * Prohibition on Masking or Diversion * * *
Sec. 33. 23 V.S.A. § 4122 is amended to read:
§ 4122. DEFERRING IMPOSITION OF SENTENCE; PROHIBITION ON
MASKING OR DIVERSION

(a) No judge-or court, State’s Attorney, or law enforcement officer may
utilize the provisions of 13 V.S.A. § 7041 or any other program to defer
imposition of sentence or judgment if the defendant holds a commercial
driver’s license or was operating a commercial motor vehicle when the
violation occurred and is charged with violating any State or local traffic law
other than a parking violation.

(b) In accordance with 49 C.F.R. § 384.226. no court, State’s Attorney, or
law enforcement officer may mask or allow an individual to enter into a
diversion program that would prevent a commercial learner’s permit holder’s
or commercial driver’s license holder’s conviction for any violation, in any
type of motor vehicle, of a state or local traffic control law other than parking,

vehicle weight, or vehicle defect violations from appearing on the Commercial
Driver’s License Information System (CDLIS) driver record.

* % Airbags * * *
Sec. 34. 13 V.S.A. § 2026 is amended to read:
§ 2026. INSTALLATION OF OBJECT IN LIEU OF AIR BAG
(a) No person shall knowingly:

(1) manufacture, import, distribute, offer for sale, sell, lease, transfer,
install er, reinstall er—knewingly, cause to be installed, or cause to be

reinstalled: a counterfeit automobile supplemental restraint system component,
a nonfunctional airbag, or

B an object in lieu of a-vehicle-air-bag-that-was-designed-in-acecordanee

with-the—federal-safetyregulation an automobile supplement restraint system
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component, when the object does not comply with the requirements of
49 C.F.R. § 571.208, as amended, for the make, model, and year of a vehicle;
or

install or reinstall as an automobile supplemental restraint system component
anything that causes the diagnostic system for a motor vehicle to fail to warn
the motor vehicle operator that an airbag is not installed or fail to warn the
motor vehicle operator that a counterfeit automobile supplemental restraint
system component or nonfunctional airbag is installed in the motor vehicle.

(b) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned
for not more than three years or fined not more than $10,000.00, or both.

(c) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section; and serious bodily
injury, as defined in section 1021 of this title, or death results; shall be
imprisoned for not more than 15 years or fined not more than $10,000.00, or
both.

(d) As used in this section:

(1) “Airbag” means an inflatable restraint device for occupants of motor
vehicles that is part of an automobile supplemental restraint system.

(2)  “Automobile supplemental restraint system” means a passive
inflatable crash protection system that a vehicle manufacturer designs to
protect automobile occupants in the event of a collision in conjunction with a
seat belt assembly, as defined in 49 C.F.R. § 571.209, and that consists of one
or more airbags and all components required to ensure that each airbag:

(A) operates as designed in a crash; and

(B) meets federal motor vehicle safety standards for the specific

make, model, and year of manufacture of the vehicle in which the airbag is
installed.

(3) “Counterfeit automobile supplemental restraint system component”
means a replacement component, including an airbag, for an automobile

supplemental restraint system that without the authorization of a manufacturer,
or a person that supplies parts to the manufacturer, displays a trademark that is

identical or substantially similar to the manufacturer’s or supplier’s genuine
trademark.

(4) “Install” and “reinstall” require the completion of installation work
related to the automobile supplemental restraint system of a motor vehicle and
either:

(A) for the motor vehicle to be returned to the owner or operator; or
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(B) for the transfer of title for the motor vehicle.

(5) “Nonfunctional airbag” means a replacement airbag that:

(A) was previously deployed or damaged:;

(B) has a fault that the diagnostic system for a motor vehicle detects
once the airbag is installed:

(C) may not be sold or leased under 49 U.S.C. § 30120(j); or

(D) includes a counterfeit automobile supplemental restraint system
component or other part or object that is installed for the purpose of
misleading a motor vehicle owner or operator into believing that a functional
airbag is installed.

(6) “Nonfunctional airbag” does not include an unrepaired deployed
airbag or an airbag that is installed in a motor vehicle:

(A) that is a totaled motor vehicle, as defined in 23 V.S.A.
§ 2001(14); or

(B) for which the owner was issued a salvaged certificate of title
pursuant to 23 V.S.A. § 2091 or a similar title from another state.

* % * Licensed Dealers; Used Vehicle Sales; Disclosures * * *
Sec. 35. 23 V.S.A. § 466 is amended to read:
§ 466. RECORDS; DISCLOSURES; CUSTODIAN

(a) On a form prescribed or approved by the Commissioner, every licensed
dealer shall maintain and retain for six years a record containing the following
information, which shall be open to inspection by any law enforcement officer
or motor vehicle inspector or other agent of the Commissioner during
reasonable business hours:

(1) Every vehicle or motorboat that is bought, sold, or exchanged by the
licensee or received or accepted by the licensee for sale or exchange.

(2) Every vehicle or motorboat that is bought or otherwise acquired and
dismantled by the licensee.

(3) The name and address of the person from whom such vehicle or
motorboat was purchased or acquired, the date thereof, the name and address
of the person to whom any such vehicle or motorboat was sold or otherwise
disposed of and the date thereof, and a sufficient description of every such
vehicle or motorboat by name and identifying numbers thereon to identify the
same.

(4) [Repealed.]
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(b)(1)_On a form prescribed or approved by the Commissioner, a licensed

dealer shall provide written disclosure to each buyer of a used motor vehicle
regarding the following:

(A) the month in which the vehicle was last inspected pursuant to
section 1222 of this title:

(B) the month in which the inspection shall expire;

(C) whether the most recent inspection was by the dealer currently
selling the motor vehicle;

(D) a statement that the condition of the motor vehicle may be
different than the condition at the last inspection, unless inspected by the
dealer selling the vehicle for the current transaction;

(E) a statement regarding the right of a potential buyer to have the

vehicle inspected by an independent qualified mechanic of their choice and at
their own expense; and

(F) a clear and conspicuous statement, if applicable, that the vehicle
1s being transferred without an inspection sticker, with an expired inspection
sticker, or with an inspection sticker from another state.

(2) The licensed dealer shall maintain and retain record of the disclosure
statement, signed by both the dealer and the buyer, for two vears after transfer
of ownership. The record shall be open to inspection by any law enforcement

officer or motor vehicle inspector or other agent of the Commissioner during
reasonable business hours.

(c) Every licensed dealer shall designate a custodian of documents who
shall have primary responsibility for administration of documents required to
be maintained under this title. In the absence of the designated custodian, the
dealer shall have an ongoing duty to make such records available for
inspection by any law enforcement officer or motor vehicle inspector or other
agent of the Commissioner during reasonable business hours.

* % * DMV Credentials and Number Plates; Veteran Designations * * *
Sec. 36. LEGISLATIVE INTENT

(a) It is the intent of the General Assembly for the State to properly honor

veterans, which includes Vermonters who have served in the active military,
naval, air, or space service, and who have been discharged or released from

active service under conditions other than dishonorable, where active military,
naval, air, or space service includes:

(1) active duty;
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(2) any period of active duty for training during which the individual

concerned was disabled or died from a disease or injury incurred or aggravated
in line of duty: and

(3) any period of inactive duty training during which the individual

concerned was disabled or died from an injury incurred or aggravated in line
of duty or from an acute myocardial infarction, a cardiac arrest. or a

cerebrovascular accident occurring during such training.

(b) It is also the intent of the General Assembly that the Department of
Motor Vehicles and the Vermont Office of Veterans’ Affairs:

(1) jointly determine which specialty plates should be offered to

veterans so as to ensure specific recognition for those who have received a
military award or decoration and those who have served in combat; and

(2) allow for a means for a veteran to request that a new specialty plate
be designed and offered to veterans when an existing specialty plate does not
provide for specific recognition of the veteran.

Sec. 37. 23 V.S.A. § 7(b) is amended to read:

(b) In addition to any other requirement of law or rule, before an enhanced
license may be issued to a—persen an individual, the persen individual shall
present for inspection and copying satisfactory documentary evidence to
determine identity and U.S. citizenship. An application shall be accompanied
by: a photo identity document, documentation showing the persen’s
individual’s date and place of birth, proof of the persen’s individual’s Social
Security number, and documentation showing the persen’s individual’s
principal residence address. New and renewal application forms shall include
a space for the applicant to request that a “veteran” designation be placed on
the enhanced license. If a veteran, as defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(2) and
including an individual disabled during active military, naval, air, or space
service, as defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(24), requests a veteran designation and
provides a Department of Defense Form 214 or other proof of veteran status
specified by the Commissioner, and the Office of Veterans Veterans’ Affairs
confirms his-er-her the individual’s status as an honorably discharged veteran
of; a veteran discharged under honorable conditions;; or an individual disabled
during active military, naval, air, or space service, the identification card shall
include the term “veteran” on its face. To be issued, an enhanced license must
meet the same requirements as those for the issuance of a U.S. passport.
Before an application may be processed, the documents and information shall
be verified as determined by the Commissioner. Any additional personal
identity information not currently required by the U.S. Department of
Homeland Security shall need the approval of either the General Assembly or
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the Legislative Committee on Administrative Rules prior to the
implementation of the requirements.

Sec. 38. 23 V.S.A. § 115 is amended to read:
§ 115. NONDRIVER IDENTIFICATION CARDS

(a) Any Vermont resident may make application to the Commissioner and
be issued an identification card that is attested by the Commissioner as to true
name, correct age, residential address unless the listing of another address is
requested by the applicant or is otherwise authorized by law, and any other
identifying data as the Commissioner may require that shall include, in the
case of minor applicants, the written consent of the applicant’s parent,
guardian, or other person standing in loco parentis. Every application for an
identification card shall be signed by the applicant and shall contain such
evidence of age and identity as the Commissioner may require, consistent with
subsection (1) of this section. New and renewal application forms shall include
a space for the applicant to request that a “veteran” designation be placed on
the applicant’s identification card. If a veteran, as defined in 38 U.S.C.
§ 101(2) and including an individual disabled during active military, naval, air,
or_space service, as defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(24), requests a veteran
designation and provides a Department of Defense Form 214 or other proof of
veteran status specified by the Commissioner, and the Office of Veterans
Veterans’ Affairs confirms the veteran’s status as an honorably discharged
veteran ef; a veteran discharged under honorable conditions;; or an individual
disabled during active military, naval, air, or space service, the identification
card shall include the term “veteran” on its face. The Commissioner shall
require payment of a fee of $29.00 at the time application for an identification
card is made, except that an initial nondriver identification card shall be issued
at no charge to an individual who surrenders the individual’s license in
connection with a suspension or revocation under subsection 636(b) of this
title due to a physical or mental condition.

* ok 3k

Sec. 39. 23 V.S.A. § 304 is amended to read:
§ 304. REGISTRATION CERTIFICATES; NUMBER PLATES; VANITY
AND OTHER SPECIAL PLATES

* sk 3k

(j) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall, upon proper application,
issue special plates to Vermont veterans, as defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(2) and

including an individual disabled during active military, naval, air, or space
service, as defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(24), and to members of the U.S. Armed
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Forces, as defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(10), for use on vehicles registered at the
pleasure car rate, on vehicles registered at the motorcycle rate, and on trucks
registered for less than 26,001 pounds and excluding vehicles registered under
the International Registration Plan. The type and style of the plate plates shall

be determined by the Commissioner;—exeept—that—an—American—flag,—or—a
veteran—or—military-related—emblem selected by the Commissioner and the
Vermont Ofﬁce of Veterans’ Affalrs sh-al—l—appear—eﬂ—eﬂe—ﬁde—e#ﬂ&e—pl-ateﬁ%t—a

An apphcant shall apply on a form prescribed by the Comm1ss10ner and the
applicant’s eligibility as a member of one of the groups recognized will be
certified by the Office of Veterans’ Affairs. The plates shall be reissued only
to the original holder of the plates or the surviving spouse. The Commissioner
may adopt rules to implement the provisions of this subsection. Except for
new or renewed registrations, applications for the issuance of plates under this
subsection shall be processed in the order received by the Department subject
to normal workflow considerations. The costs associated with developing new
emblems shall be borne by the Department of Motor Vehicles.

* sk 3k

Sec. 40. 23 V.S.A. § 610(a) is amended to read:

(a) The Commissioner shall assign a distinguishing number to each
licensee and shall furnish the licensee with a license certificate that shows the
number and the licensee’s full name, date of birth, and residential address,
except that at the request of the licensee, the licensee’s mailing address may be
listed, or an alternative address may be listed if otherwise authorized by law.
The certificate also shall include a brief physical description and a space for
the signature of the licensee. The license shall be void until signed by the
licensee. If a veteran, as defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(2) and including an
individual disabled during active military, naval, air, or space service, as
defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(24), requests a veteran designation and provides
proof of veteran status as specified in subdivision 603(a)(3) of this title, and
the Office of Veterans Veterans’ Affairs confirms his—er—her the individual’s
status as an honorably discharged veteran er; a veteran discharged under
honorable conditions;; or an individual disabled during active military, naval,
air, or space service, the license certificate shall include the term “veteran” on
its face.

Sec. 41. 23 V.S.A. § 4111 is amended to read:
§ 4111. COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE
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(a) Contents of license. A commercial driver’s license shall be marked
“commercial driver’s license” or “CDL” and shall be, to the maximum extent
practicable, tamper proof and shall include the following information:

* ok 3k

(12) A veteran designation if a veteran, as defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(2)
and including an individual disabled during active military, naval, air, or space
service, as defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(24), requests the designation and
provides proof of veteran status as specified in subdivision 4110(a)(5) of this
title, and if the Office of Veterans Veterans’ Affairs confirms his—er-her the
individual’s status as an honorably discharged veteran er; a veteran discharged

under honorable conditions; or an individual disabled during active military,
naval, air, or space service.

* %k 3k

* * * Conservation Motor Vehicle License Plates; Motorcycles * * *
Sec. 42. 23 V.S.A. § 304b is amended to read:
§ 304b. CONSERVATION MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION PLATES

(a) The Commissioner shall, upon application, issue conservation
registration plates for use only on vehicles registered at the pleasure car rate,
on _motorcycles, on trucks registered for less than 26,001 pounds, and on
vehicles registered to State agencies under section 376 of this title, but
excluding vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan. Plates
so acquired shall be mounted on the front and rear of the vehicle, except that a
motorcycle plate shall be mounted only on the rear of the motorcycle. The
Commissioners of Motor Vehicles and of Fish and Wildlife shall determine the
graphic design of the special plates in a manner that serves to enhance the
public awareness of the State’s interest in restoring and protecting its wildlife
and major watershed areas. The Commissioners of Motor Vehicles and of Fish
and Wildlife may alter the graphic design of these special plates, provided that
plates in use at the time of a design alteration shall remain valid subject to the
operator’s payment of the annual registration fee. Applicants shall apply on
forms prescribed by the Commissioner and shall pay an initial fee of $32.00 in
addition to the annual fee for registration. In following years, in addition to
the annual registration fee, the holder of a conservation plate shall pay a
renewal fee of $32.00. The Commissioner may adopt rules under 3 V.S.A.
chapter 25 to implement the provisions of this subsection.

* ok 3k

* * * Use of Roadway by Pedestrians, Bicycle Operators, and
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Vulnerable Users * * *
Sec. 43. 23 V.S.A. § 4(67) is amended to read:

(67) “Pedestrian” means any persen individual afoot or operating a
wheelchair or other personal mobility device, whether motorized or not, and
hall-also-inchude any person 1o vears of age or older operating including an
electric personal assistive mobility device. The—age—restriction—of—this

Sec. 44. 23 V.S.A. § 1033 is amended to read:
§ 1033. PASSING MOTOR VEHICLES AND VULNERABLE USERS

* ok 3k

(b) Approaching or passing vulnerable users. The eperater—ef individual
operating a motor vehicle approaching or passing a vulnerable user as defined
in subdivision 4(81) of this title shall exercise due care, which includes
reducing speed and increasing clearance to a recommended distance of at least
four feet, to pass the vulnerable user safely, and shall cross the center of the
highway only as provided in section 1035 of this title. A—persen An individual
who violates this subsection shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than
$200.00.

(c) Approaching or passing certain stationary vehicles. The eperater—of
individual operating a motor vehicle approaching or passing a stationary
sanitation, maintenance, utility, or delivery vehicle with flashing lights shall
exercise due care, which includes reducing speed and increasing clearance to a
recommended distance of at least four feet, to pass the vehicle safely, and shall
cross the center of the highway only as provided in section 1035 of this title.
A-persen An individual who violates this subsection shall be subject to a civil
penalty of not less than $200.00.

Sec. 45. 23 V.S.A. § 1055 is amended to read:

§ 1055. PEDESTRIANS ON ROADWAYS
(a) ere—public-sidewalks-are provi

upen-an-adjacentroadway: [Repealed.]
(b) Wherepublie-sidewalks-are-not-provided;-any Any pedestrian walking

along and upon a highway shall, when practicable, walk only on the left side
of the roadway or its shoulder facing the direction of possible oncoming
traffic.

Sec. 46. AGENCY OF TRANSPORTATION; DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC
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SAFETY; IDAHO STOP STUDY; REPORT

The Agency of Transportation, in collaboration with the Department of
Public Safety and in consultation with bicycle safety organizations and other
relevant stakeholders, shall study the potential effects of implementing a
statewide policy that grants an individual operating a bicycle rights and
responsibilities at traffic-control devices and traffic-control signals that differ
from those applicable to operators of motor vehicles. The study shall include
consideration of the potential effects of allowing individuals operating bicycles
to treat stop signs as yield signs and red lights at traffic signals as stop signs,
also known as an “Idaho Stop.” and of allowing individuals operating bicycles
to cross intersections during a pedestrian phase at pedestrian-control devices

and pedestrian-control signals. On or before December 15, 2024, the Agency
shall report to the House and Senate Committees on Transportation with its
findings and recommendations.

Sec. 47. AGENCY OF TRANSPORTATION; ACTIVE
TRANSPORTATION POLICY REPORT

(a) The Agency of Transportation shall prepare an Active Transportation
Policy Report that provides a comprehensive review of Vermont statutes,
including those in Titles 19 and 23, relating to the rights and responsibilities of
vulnerable road users, in order to inform best practices and policy outcomes.
The Agency shall develop the Report in consultation with relevant
stakeholders identified by the Agency, which shall include bicycle safety
organizations.

(b) On or before January 15, 2025, the Agency shall submit the written
Active Transportation Policy Report, which shall include a summary of the
Agency’s review efforts and any recommendations for revisions to Vermont
statutes, to the House and Senate Committees on Transportation.

* % * License Plates for Plug-In Electric Vehicles * * *
Sec. 48. LICENSE PLATES FOR PLUG-IN ELECTRIC VEHICLES;
FINDINGS
The General Assembly finds that:

(1) Plug-in electric_vehicles (PEVs), which include plug-in hybrid
electric _vehicles and battery electric vehicles, provide new and unique
challenges for first responders and firefighters when responding to the scene of
a crash that may involve a PEV.

(2) PEVs are powered by high-voltage batteries, which means that if a

PEV is involved in a crash resulting in a fire or in the need for extrication or
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rescue, or a combination of these, then fire and rescue personnel must invoke
special operations to suppress the fire or initiate the extrication or rescue

operation.
(3) Other states and countries have begun noting whether or not a motor
vehicle is a PEV with a designation on the vehicle’s license plate.

(4) _First responders and firefighters in Vermont will be in a better
position to safely respond to a fire, extrication, or rescue involving a motor
vehicle crash if they know whether one or more vehicles involved are a PEV,
which can be done, in most instances, with a license plate designation.

Sec. 49. 23 V.S.A. § 304 is amended to read:
§ 304. REGISTRATION CERTIFICATES; NUMBER PLATES; VANITY
AND OTHER SPECIAL PLATES

* %k sk

(k) Not later than July 1, 2026, the Commissioner shall begin issuing

number and vanity plates for plug-in electric vehicles, as defined in
subdivision 4(85) of this title, indicating that the vehicle is a plug-in electric

vehicle. Not later than July 1, 2028, all plug-in electric vehicles registered in
this State shall display plates indicating that the vehicle is a plug-in electric

vehicle.
Sec. 50. LICENSE PLATES FOR PLUG-IN ELECTRIC VEHICLES;
IMPLEMENTATION PROVISIONS; REPORT

(a) In accordance with 23 V.S.A. § 304(k), not later than July 1, 2026, the

Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall begin issuing number and vanity plates
for plug-in electric vehicles (PEV) indicating that the vehicle is a PEV.

(b)(1) Upon the purchase of a PEV, the purchaser shall not transfer a non-
PEV plate to the newly purchased PEV unless the plate is a vanity or special

number plate.
(2) For the purchaser of a PEV whose previous plate was not a vanity or

special number plate, the Commissioner shall issue a new PEV plate, which
the purchaser shall install upon receipt.

(3) For the purchaser of a PEV whose previous plate was a vanity or
special number plate and who wishes to retain that plate for the newly
purchased PEV, the purchaser may transfer and display the existing plate until
the Commissioner issues the purchaser a new vanity or special number plate
indicating that the vehicle is a PEV, except as set forth in subsection (d) of this
section. The purchaser shall install the new PEV plate upon receipt.
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(¢) An individual who owns a PEV on the effective date of this act may
continue to display the individual’s existing plate until the individual receives
a new PEV plate from the Department of Motor Vehicles. The owner shall
install the new PEV plate upon receipt.

(d) The Commissioner is authorized to reject existing plates for transfer or
renewal due to space limitations on the new PEV plates.
(e) On or before March 15, 2025, the Department of Motor Vehicles shall

provide testimony to the House and Senate Committees on Transportation
regarding the status of its efforts to implement license plates for PEVs as set

forth in this section and in 23 V.S.A. § 304(k).
* % * Distracted Driving Diversion Program * * *
Sec. 51. DISTRACTED DRIVING DIVERSION PROGRAM
RECOMMENDATIONS; REPORT

(a) The Community Justice Unit of the Office of the Attorney General, in

consultation with the Court Diversion programs, the Vermont Judiciary, the
Department of Motor Vehicles, and representatives of Vermont law
enforcement agencies, shall evaluate the feasibility of and design options for
establishing a distracted driving diversion program as an alternative to civil
penalties and points for individuals who violate Vermont’s distracted driving
laws, including 23 V.S.A. §§ 1095a, 1095b, and 1099. The issues for the

Community Justice Unit to consider shall include:

(1)  whether conducting a distracted driving diversion program is
feasible;

(2) if so, how such a distracted driving diversion program should be
structured and administered;

(3) the age groups to which the program should be made available;

(4) performance outcome measures that indicate whether the program is

reducing the participants’ likelihood of future distracted driving;

(5) whether fees should be imposed for participation in the program
and, if so, what those fees should be;

(6) the additional resources, if any, that would be needed to implement
and administer the program; and

(7) _whether diversion or other alternatives should be made available to
address other driving-related violations, especially youth violations.
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(b) On or before December 15, 2024, the Community Justice Unit shall

submit its findings and recommendations regarding a distracted driving

diversion program to the House and Senate Committees on Transportation and
on Judiciary.

* * * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 52. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) Notwithstanding 1 V.S.A. § 214, this section and Sec. 28 (certificate of
title exemptions; 23 V.S.A. § 2012) shall take effect retroactively on January 1,
2024.

(b) _Sec. 35 (records; disclosures; custodian; 23 V.S.A. § 466) shall take
effect on July 1. 2025.

(¢) Secs. 36-41 (DMV credentials and number plates: veteran credentials)
shall take effect on passage.

(d) All other sections shall take effect on July 1. 2024.
(Committee vote: 11-0-0)

Senate Proposal of Amendment
H. 27
An act relating to coercive controlling behavior and abuse prevention orders

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking out all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 15 V.S.A. § 1101 is amended to read:
§ 1101. DEFINITIONS

meanings As used in this chapter:

(1) “Abuse” means;

(A) the occurrence of one or more of the following acts between
family or household members:

A(1) Attempting attempting to cause or causing physical harms:;

B)(ii)) Pleeing placing another in fear of imminent serious physical
harm-;

€6)(iii)) Abuse abuse to children as defined in 33 V.S.A. chapter 49,
subchapter 2:;

MD)(iv) Statking stalking as defined in 12 V.S.A. § 5131(6)-; or
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B)(v) Sexual sexual assault as defined in 12 V.S.A. § 5131(5)=; or

(B) coercive controlling behavior between family or household
members.

(2) “Coercive controlling behavior” means a pattern of behavior that in
purpose or effect unreasonably interferes with a person’s free will and personal

liberty. “Coercive controlling behavior” includes unreasonably engaging in any
of the following:

(A) isolating the family or household member from friends, relatives

or other sources of support;

(B) depriving the family or household member of basic necessities;

(C) _controlling, regulating or monitoring the family or household

member’s movements, communications, daily behavior, finances, economic
resources, or access to services;

(D) compelling the family or household member by force, threat or

intimidation, including threats based on actual or suspected immigration status,
to:

(i) _engage in conduct from which such family or household

member has a right to abstain; or

(ii) abstain from conduct that such family or household member

has a right to pursue:

(E) committing or threatening to commit cruelty to animals that
intimidates the family or household member; or

(F) forced sex acts or threats of a sexual nature, including threatened
acts of sexual conduct, threats based on a person’s sexuality, or threats to
release sexual images.

(3) “Household members” means persons who, for any period of time,
are living or have lived together, are sharing or have shared occupancy of a
dwelling, are engaged in or have engaged in a sexual relationship, or minors or
adults who are dating or who have dated. “Dating” means a social relationship
of a romantic nature. Factors that the court may consider when determining
whether a dating relationship exists or existed include:

(A) the nature of the relationship;
(B) the length of time the relationship has existed;

(C) the frequency of interaction between the parties; and
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(D) the length of time since the relationship was terminated, if
applicable.

3)(4) A “foreign abuse prevention order” means any protection order
issued by the court of any other state that contains provisions similar to relief
provisions authorized under this chapter, the Vermont Rules for Family
Proceedings, 33 V.S.A. chapter 69, or 12 V.S.A. chapter 178.

4)(5) “Other state” and “issuing state” shall mean any state other than
Vermont and any federally recognized Indian tribe, territory or possession of
the United States, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or the District of
Columbia.

5)(6) A “protection order” means any injunction or other order issued
for the purpose of preventing violent or threatening acts or harassment against,
or contact or communication with or physical proximity to, another person,
including temporary and final orders issued by civil and criminal courts, other
than support or child custody orders, whether obtained by filing an
independent action or as a pendente lite order in another proceeding se-long-as,
provided that any civil order was issued in response to a complaint, petition, or
motion filed by or on behalf of a person seeking protection.

6)(7) [Repealed.]
Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2024.
H. 546

An act relating to administrative and policy changes to tax laws

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking out all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* % * Per Parcel Fee for Property Reappraisal * * *
Sec. 1. 32 V.S.A. § 4041a is amended to read:
§ 4041a. REAPPRAISAL

(a) A municipality shall be paid $8.50 per grand list parcel per year from
the Edueation General Fund to be used only for reappraisal and costs related to
reappraisal of its grand list properties and for maintenance of the grand list.

* %k 3k

Sec. 2. 32 V.S.A. § 5412 is amended to read:

§ 5412. REDUCTION OF LISTED VALUE AND RECALCULATION OF
EDUCATION TAX LIABILITY
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(a)(1) If a listed value is reduced as the result of an appeal or court action
made pursuant to section 4461 of this title, a municipality may submit a
request for the Director of Property Valuation and Review to recalculate its
education property tax liability for the education grand list value lost due to a
determination, declaratory judgment, or settlement. The Director shall
recalculate the municipality’s education property tax liability for each year at
issue, in accord with the reduced valuation, provided that:

(A) The reduction in valuation is the result of an appeal under
chapter 131 of this title to the Director of Property Valuation and Review or to
a court, with no further appeal available with regard to that valuation, or any
judicial decision with no further right of appeal, or a settlement of either an
appeal or court action if the Director determines that the settlement value is the
fair market value of the parcel. The Director may waive the requirement of
continuing an appeal or court action until there is no further right of appeal if
the Director concludes that the value determined by an adjudicated decision is
a reasonable representation of the fair market value of the parcel.

(B) The municipality submits the request on or before January 15 for
a request involving an appeal or court action resolved within the previous
calendar year.

(C) [Repealed.]

(D) The Director determines that the municipality’s actions were
consistent with best practices published by the Property Valuation and Review
in consultation with the Vermont Assessors and Listers Association. The
municipality shall have the burden of showing that its actions were consistent
with the Director’s best practices.

k %k %
* % * Apnual Link to Federal Income Tax Law * * *
Sec. 3. 32 V.S.A. § 5824 is amended to read:
§ 5824. ADOPTION OF FEDERAL INCOME TAX LAWS

The statutes of the United States relating to the federal income tax, as in
effect on December 31, 2022 2023, but without regard to federal income tax
rates under 26 U.S.C. § 1, are hereby adopted for the purpose of computing the
tax liability under this chapter and shall continue in effect as adopted until
amended, repealed, or replaced by act of the General Assembly.

Sec. 4. 32 V.S.A. § 7402 is amended to read:
§ 7402. DEFINITIONS
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As used in this chapter unless the context requires otherwise:

* %k 3k

(8) “Laws of the United States” means the U.S. Internal Revenue Code
of 1986, as amended through December 31, 2022 2023. As used in this
chapter, “Internal Revenue Code” has the same meaning as “laws of the United
States” as defined in this subdivision. The date through which amendments to
the U.S. Internal Revenue Code of 1986 are adopted under this subdivision
shall continue in effect until amended, repealed, or replaced by act of the
General Assembly.

* %k 3k

* * * Expansion of Renter Credit * * *
Sec. 5. 32 V.S.A. § 6061 is amended to read:
§ 6061. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter unless the context requires otherwise:

* %k 3k

(20) “Very low-income limit” means an amount of income 1.3 times the
amount of the income limit for very low-income families as determined by the
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development pursuant to 42 U.S.C.
§ 1437a as of June 30 of the taxable year, provided that for claimants who
reside in Franklin or Grand Isle eeunty County, “very low-income limit”
means 1.3 times the average of the very low-income limits for the State as
determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

* * * Repeal of Property Tax Credit Late Fee * * *
Sec. 6. 32 V.S.A. § 6066a is amended as follows:
§ 6066a. DETERMINATION OF PROPERTY TAX CREDIT

(a) Annually, the Commissioner shall determine the property tax credit
amount under section 6066 of this title, related to a homestead owned by the
claimant, based on the prior taxable year’s income and crediting property taxes
paid in the prior year. The Commissioner shall notify the municipality in
which the housesite is located of the amount of the property tax credit for the
claimant for homestead property tax liabilities on a monthly basis. The tax
credit of a claimant who was assessed property tax by a town that revised the
dates of its fiscal year, however, is the excess of the property tax that was
assessed in the last 12 months of the revised fiscal year, over the adjusted
property tax of the claimant for the revised fiscal year, as determined under
section 6066 of this title, related to a homestead owned by the claimant.
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* %k 3k

(d) Forlate claims filed atter April 15, the property tax credit amount shal
be-redueced-by-$15-00 [Repealed. ]

* ok 3k

Sec. 7. 32 V.S.A. § 6068 is amended to read:
§ 6068. APPLICATION AND TIME FOR FILING

(a) A property tax credit claim or request for allocation of an income tax
refund to homestead property tax payment shall be filed with the
Commissioner on or before the due date for filing the Vermont income tax
return, without extension, and shall describe the school district in which the
homestead property is located and shall particularly describe the homestead
property for which the credit or allocation is sought, including the school
parcel account number prescribed in subsection 5404(b) of this title. A renter
credit claim shall be filed with the Commissioner on or before the due date for
filing the Vermont income tax return, without extension.

on or before March 15 of the following calendar year, the property tax credit
under this chapter:

(1) shall be reduced in amount by $150.00, but not below $0.00;
(2) shall be issued directly to the claimant; and

(3) shall not require the municipality where the claimant’s property is
located to issue an adjusted homestead property tax bill.

(c) No request for allocation of an income tax refund or for a renter credit
claim may be made after October 15. No property tax credit claim may be
made after March 15 of the calendar year following the due date under
subsection (a) of this section.

* * * Utility Property Valuation * * *
Sec. 8. 32 V.S.A. § 4452 is amended to read:
§ 4452. VALUATIONS

(a) On or before May 1 of each year, the Division of Property Valuation
and Review of the Department of Taxes shall furnish the listers in each town or
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city with the valuation of all taxable property of any public utility situated
therein as reported by such utility to the Division.

(b) Each public utility shall furnish to the Division not later than March 31
in each year a sworn inventory of all its taxable property in such form as will
show the valuation of its property in each town, city, or other municipality.

(c) The Division shall prescribe the form of such report and the officer or
officers who shall make oath thereto.

(d) The valuations se furnished under this section shall be considered along
with any other information as may reasonably be required by sueh listers in
determining and fixing the valuations of sueh property for the purposes of
leeal property taxation. The Division may require that each municipality use
certain valuations furnished under this section. The valuations provided by the
Division for property used for the transmission and distribution of electricity
shall be used by the listers as the valuations of that property for purposes of
property taxation.

* % * Property Tax Exemptions * * *
Sec. 9. 32 V.S.A. § 3802(22) is added to read:

(22) Real and personal estate owned by a county of this State, except

land and buildings outside of a county’s territorial limits shall be subject to

municipal property tax by the municipality in which the land or buildings are
situated. Notwithstanding the preceding provision, the exemption for public,

pious, and charitable uses under subdivision (4) of this section shall be

available for qualifying county land and buildings outside of the county’s
territorial limits.

* % * Fuel Tax * * *
Sec. 10. 33 V.S.A. § 2503(d) is amended to read:

(d) No tax under this section shall be imposed for any month ending after
June 30, 2624 2029.

* % * Health IT Fund Sunset Extension * * *

Sec. 11. 2013 Acts and Resolves No. 73, Sec. 60(10), as amended by 2017
Acts and Resolves No. 73, Sec. 14, 2018 Acts and Resolves No. 187, Sec. 5,
2019 Acts and Resolves No. 71, Sec. 21, 2021 Acts and Resolves No. 73,
Sec. 14, and 2023 Acts and Resolves No. 78, Sec. E.306.1, is further amended
to read:
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(10) Secs. 48-51 (health care claims tax) shall take effect on July 1,
2013 and Sec. 52 (Health IT-Fund; sunset) shall take effect on July 1, 20625
2026.

Sec. 12. 2019 Acts and Resolves No. 6, Sec. 105, as amended by 2019 Acts
and Resolves No. 71, Sec. 19, 2022 Acts and Resolves No. 83, Sec. 75, and
2023 Acts and Resolves No. 78, Sec. E.306.2, is further amended to read:

Sec. 105. EFFECTIVE DATES

* %k 3k

(b) Sec. 73 (further amending 32 V.S.A. § 10402) shall take effect on July
1, 2625 2026.

* ok 3k

* * * Extension of Sales Tax Exemption for Advanced Wood Boilers * * *

Sec. 12a. 2018 Acts and Resolves No. 194, Sec. 26b(a), as amended by 2019
Acts and Resolves No. 83, Sec. 14, and by 2023 Acts and Resolves No. 73,
Sec. 23, is further amended to read:

(a) 32 V.S.A. §§ 9741(52) (sales tax exemption for advanced wood boilers)
and 9706(1) (statutory purpose; sales tax exemption for advanced wood
boilers) shall be repealed on July 1, 2624 2027.

Sec. 12b. REPEAL

2023 Acts and Resolves No. 72. Sec. 8 (sales tax exemption; advanced
wood boilers) is repealed.

Sec. 13. 32 V.S.A. § 9701(12) is amended to read:

(12)(A) “Casual sale” means an isolated or occasional sale of an item of
tangible personal property by a person who is not regularly engaged in the
business of making sales of that general type of property at retail where the
property was obtained by the person making the sale, through purchase or
otherwise, for his-er-her the person’s own use.

(B) Aircraft as defined in 5 V.S.A. § 202(6), snowmobiles as defined
in 23 V.S.A. § 3201(5), all-terrain vehicles as defined in 23 V.S.A. § 3501(1),
motorboats as defined in 23 V.S.A. § 3302(4) 3302(6), and vessels as defined
in 23 V.S.A. § 33021 3302(17) that are 16 feet or more in length are hereby
specifically excluded from the definition of casual sale.

Sec. 14. 32 V.S.A. § 9746 is amended to read:

§ 9746. SNOWMOBILE, ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLE, MOTORBOAT, AND
VESSEL SALES
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(a) If a person sells a snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, motorboat, or vessel
and within three months purchases another such vehicle or vessel, “sales price”
for purposes of the tax on the new vehicle or vessel shall exclude the lesser of:

(1) the sale price of the first vehicle or vessel; or

(2) the average book value at the time of sale of the first vehicle or
vessel.

(b) If a person receives payment under a contract of insurance for:

(1) total destruction of a snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, motorboat, or
vessel; or

(2) damage to such vehicle or vessel that was then accepted without
repair as a trade-in by the seller of a new snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle,
motorboat, or vessel; and within three months ef following such destruction or
damage the person purchases another snowmobile, motorboat, or vessel, “sales
price” for purposes of the tax on the new vehicle or vessel shall exclude the
insurance payment and any trade-in allowance for the damaged vehicle.

(c) A vendor determining sales price under this section shall obtain in good
faith from the purchaser, on a form provided by the Department of Taxes and
signed by the purchaser and bearing his—er—her the purchaser’s name and
address, a certificate of sale or payment of insurance proceeds with regard to
the first vehicle or vessel.

***Fees***

Sec. 15. 18 V.S.A. § 5017 is amended to read:
§ 5017. FEES FOR COPIES
(a) For a certified copy of a vital event certificate, the fee shall be $10.00.

(b) The State Registrar shall waive the fee for certified copies of vital event
certificates issued to:

(1) an individual attesting to a lack of fixed, regular, and adequate
nighttime residence; and
(2) an individual between 18 and 24 years of age who resided in a foster

home or residential child care facility between 16 and 18 years of age pursuant
to placement by a child-placing agency.

* * * Machinery and Equipment Tax Credit * * *
Sec. 16. 32 V.S.A. § 593011 is amended to read:
§ 59301l. MACHINERY AND EQUIPMENT TAX CREDIT
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(d) Awvailability of credit.

(1) The credit earned under this section with respect to qualified capital
expenditures shall be available to reduce the qualified taxpayer’s Vermont
income tax liability for its tax year beginning on or after January 1, 2012 or, if
later, the first tax year within which the qualified taxpayer’s aggregate
qualified capital expenditures exceed $20,000,000.00. A taxpayer claiming a
credit under this subchapter shall submit with the first return on which a credit
is claimed a copy of the qualified taxpayer’s certification from the Vermont
Economic Progress Council.

(2) The credit may be used in the year earned or carried forward to
reduce the qualified taxpayer’s Vermont income tax liability in succeeding tax
years ending on or before December 31, 2026 2030.

* sk 3k

(g) Reporting.

(1) Any qualified taxpayer who has been certified under subsection (b)
of this section shall file a report with the Vermont Economic Progress Council
on a form prescribed by the Council for this purpose and provide a copy of the
report to the Commissioner of Taxes.

(2) The report shall be filed for each year following the certification
until the year following the last year the taxpayer claims the credit to reduce its
Vermont income tax liability, or 2027 2031, whichever occurs first.

(3) The report shall be filed by Eebruary—28 the due date of the
taxpayer’s tax return, including extensions, in each year for activity the
previous calendar year and include, at a minimum:

(A) the number of full-time jobs in each quarter and the average
number of hours worked per week;

(B) the level of qualifying capital investments made if reporting on a
year within an investment period; and

(C) the amount of tax credit earned and applied during the previous
calendar year.

Sec. 17. 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 156, Sec. H.2 is amended to read:
Sec. H.2 REPEAL
(a) Subchapter 11M of chapter 151 of Title 32 is repealed July 1, 2026

2030, and no credit under that section shall be available for any taxable year
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beginning after June 30, 2026 2030;—provided;-however;—thatifne—qualified

I~ B

Sec. 18. [Deleted.]
Sec. 19. [Deleted.]
* % * Local Option Tax * * *
Sec. 20. 24 V.S.A. § 138 is amended to read:
§ 138. LOCAL OPTION TAXES

(a) Local option taxes are authorized under this section for the purpose of
affording municipalities an alternative method of raising municipal revenues te

faetlitate-thetransition—and reduece-the-dislocationsinthese-munieipalitiesthat

Y 000 d

Deecember151998-a A local option tax shall be effective beginning on the next
tax quarter following 90 days’ notice to the Department of Taxes of the
imposition;-ané

(b) If the legislative body of a municipality by a majority vote
recommends, the voters of a municipality may, at an annual or special meeting
warned for that purpose, by a majority vote of those present and voting, assess
any or all of the following:
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(1) a one percent sales tax;
(2) a one percent meals and alcoholic beverages tax;
(3) aone percent rooms tax.
* %k 3k
* * * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 21. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section, Secs. 1 (reappraisals), 2 (property valuation and review
waiver), 9 (exemption for county-owned property), 10 (fuel tax extension), and
11 and 12 (extension of Health IT Fund) shall take effect on passage.

(b) Notwithstanding 1 V.S.A. § 214, Secs. 3 and 4 (link to federal income
tax laws) shall take effect retroactively on January 1, 2024 and apply to taxable
years beginning on and after January 1, 2023.

() Sec. 5 (renter credit expansion) shall take effect on passage and apply to
claim years 2025 and after.

(d) Secs. 6 and 7 (repeal of property tax credit late fee) shall take effect on
passage and apply to claim years 2024 and after.

(e) Sec. 8 (utility property valuation) shall take effect on passage and apply
to grand lists filed on or after April 1, 2025.

() Secs. 13 and 14 (casual sales of ATVs), 15 (fee waiver for vital event
certificates), 16 and 17 (extension of machinery and equipment tax credit), and
20 (local option sales tax) shall take effect on July 1, 2024.

(g) Secs. 12a and 12b (sales tax exemption: advanced wood boilers) shall
take effect on June 30, 2024.

H. 868

An act relating to the fiscal year 2025 Transportation Program and
miscellaneous changes to laws related to transportation

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking out all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Transportation Program Adopted as Amended; Definitions * * *
Sec. 1. TRANSPORTATION PROGRAM ADOPTED; DEFINITIONS

(a) Adoption. The Agency of Transportation’s Proposed Fiscal Year 2025
Transportation Program appended to the Agency of Transportation’s proposed
fiscal year 2025 budget (revised February 15, 2024), as amended by this act, is
adopted to the extent federal, State, and local funds are available.
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(b) Definitions. As used in this act, unless otherwise indicated:

(1) “Agency” means the Agency of Transportation.

(2) _“Candidate project” means a project approved by the General

Assembly that is not anticipated to have significant expenditures for

preliminary engineering or right-of-way expenditures, or both, during the
budget vear and funding for construction is not anticipated within a predictable

time frame.

(3)  “Development and evaluation (D&E) project” means a project
approved by the General Assembly that is anticipated to have preliminary

engineering expenditures or right-of-way expenditures, or both, during the

budget year and that the Agency is committed to delivering to construction on
a timeline driven by priority and available funding.

(4) “Electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE)” and “electric vehicle

supply equipment available to the public” have the same meanings as in
30 V.S.A. § 201.

(5) “Front-of-book project” means a project approved by the General
Assembly that is anticipated to have construction expenditures during the
budget year or the following three years, or both, with expected expenditures
shown over four years.

(6) “Mileage-based user fee” or “MBUF” means a fee for vehicle use of
the public road system with distance, stated in miles, as the measure of use.

(7)_“Secretary” means the Secretary of Transportation.

(8) “TIB funds” means monies deposited in the Transportation
Infrastructure Bond Fund in accordance with 19 V.S.A. § 11f.

9) The table heading “As Proposed” means the Proposed
Transportation Program referenced in subsection (a) of this section; the table
heading “As Amended” means the amendments as made by this act; the table

heading “Change” means the difference obtained by subtracting the “As
Proposed” figure from the “As Amended” figure; the terms “change” or
“changes” in the text refer to the project- and program-specific amendments,

the aggregate sum of which equals the net “Change” in the applicable table
heading; and “State” in any tables amending authorizations indicates that the

source of funds is State monies in the Transportation Fund, unless otherwise
specified.

* % * Summary of Transportation Investments * * *
Sec. 2. FISCAL YEAR 2025 TRANSPORTATION INVESTMENTS
INTENDED TO REDUCE TRANSPORTATION-RELATED
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GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS, REDUCE FOSSIL FUEL
USE, AND SAVE VERMONT HOUSEHOLDS MONEY

This act includes the State’s fiscal year 2025 transportation investments
intended to reduce transportation-related greenhouse gas emissions, reduce
fossil fuel use, and save Vermont households money in furtherance of the
policies articulated in 19 V.S.A. § 10b and the goals of the Comprehensive

Energy Plan and the Vermont Climate Action Plan and to satisfy the Executive

and Legislative Branches’ commitments to the Paris Agreement climate goals.
In fiscal year 2025, these efforts will include the following:

(1) Park and Ride Program. This act provides for a fiscal year
expenditure of $1,464.,833.00, which will fund one construction project to
create a new park-and-ride facility; the design and construction of
improvements to one existing park-and-ride facility; funding for a municipal
park-and-ride grant program; and paving projects for existing park-and-ride
facilities. This year’s Park and Ride Program will create 60 new State-owned
spaces. Specific additions and improvements include:

(A) Manchester—construction of 50 new spaces; and

(B) Sharon—design and construction of 10 new spaces.

(2) Bike and Pedestrian Facilities Program. This act provides for a
fiscal year expenditure, including local match, of $11,648,752.00, which will
fund 28 bike and pedestrian construction projects; 21 bike and pedestrian
design, right-of-way, or design and right-of way projects for construction in
future fiscal years; and eight scoping studies. The construction projects
include the creation, improvement, or rehabilitation of walkways, sidewalks,

shared-use paths, bike paths, and cycling lanes. Projects are funded in

Arlington, Bennington, Bethel, Brattleboro, Burke, Burlington, Castleton,
Chester, Enosburg Falls, Fair Haven, Fairfax, Hartford, Hyde Park, Jericho,

Manchester, Middlebury, Montpelier, Moretown, Newport City, Northfield,
Pawlet, Richford, Rovalton, Rutland City, Rutland Town, Shaftsbury,

Shelburne, Sheldon, South Burlington, Springfield, St. Albans City, St. Albans

Town, Sunderland, Swanton, Tunbridge, Vergennes, Wallingford, Waterbury,
and West Rutland. This act also provides funding for:

(A) some of Local Motion’s operation costs to run the bike ferry on
the Colchester Causeway, which is part of the Island Line Trail;

(B) a small-scale municipal bicycle and pedestrian grant program for
projects to be selected during the fiscal year;

(C)_projects funded through the Safe Routes to School Program; and

(D) community grants along the Lamoille Valley Rail Trail (LVRT).
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(3) Transportation Alternatives Program. This act provides for a fiscal
year expenditure of $5,416,614.00, including local funds, which will fund 28
transportation alternatives construction projects; 28 transportation alternatives
design, right-of-way, or design and right-of-way projects; and three studies,
including scoping, historic preservation, and connectivity. Of these 59
projects, 21 involve environmental mitigation related to clean water or
stormwater concerns, or both clean water and stormwater concerns, and 38
involve bicycle and pedestrian facilities. Projects are funded in Athens, Barre
City, Brandon, Bridgewater, Bristol, Burke, Burlington, Cambridge, Castleton,
Colchester, Derby, Enosburg Falls, Fair Haven, Fairfax, Franklin, Hartford,
Hinesburg, Hyde Park, Jericho, Londonderry, Lyndon, Mendon, Middlebury,
Montgomery, Newark, Newfane, Proctor, Richford, Richmond, Rockingham,
Rutland City, Sharon, Shelburne, South Burlington, Springfield, St. Albans

Town, Swanton, Tinmouth, Vergennes, Wardsboro, Warren, Weston, Williston,
Wilmington, and Winooski.

(4) Public Transit Program. This act provides for a fiscal vyear
expenditure of $54,940,225.00 for public transit uses throughout the State.
Included in the authorization are:

(A)  Go! Vermont, with an authorization of $405.000.00. This

authorization supports transportation demand management (TDM) strategies,

including the State’s Trip Planner and commuter services, to promote the use
of carpools and vanpools.

(B) Mobility and Transportation Innovations (MTI) Grant Program,
with an authorization of $3.,500,000.00, which includes $3.000,000.00 in
federal Carbon Reduction Funds. This authorization continues to support
projects that improve both mobility and access to services for transit-

dependent Vermonters, reduce the use of single-occupancy vehicles, and
reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

(5) Rail Program. This act provides for a fiscal year expenditure of
$48.746,831.00, including local funds, for intercity passenger rail service,
including funding for the Ethan Allen Express and Vermonter Amtrak services,
and rail infrastructure that supports freight rail as well. Moving freight by rail
instead of trucks lowers greenhouse gas emissions by up to 75 percent, on

average.
(6) Transformation of the State Vehicle Fleet. The Department of

Buildings and General Services, which manages the State Vehicle Fleet,
currently has 14 plug-in hybrid electric vehicles and 15 battery electric
vehicles in the State Vehicle Fleet. In fiscal year 2025, the Commissioner of
Buildings and General Services will continue to purchase and lease vehicles
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for State use in accordance with 29 V.S.A. § 903(g), which requires, to the
maximum extent practicable, that the Commissioner purchase or lease hybrid
or plug-in electric vehicles (PEVs), as defined in 23 V.S.A. § 4(85), with not

less than 75 percent of the vehicles purchased or leased being hybrid or PEVs.

(7) Electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE). This act provides for a
fiscal year expenditure of $4,833,828.00 to increase the presence of EVSE in
Vermont in accordance with the State’s federally approved National Electric
Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Plan, which will lead to the installation of
Direct Current Fast Charging (DC/FC) along designated alternative fuel
corridors.

(8) Vehicle incentive programs and expansion of the PEV market.
Incentive Program for New PEVs, MileageSmart, Replace Your Ride, and
Electrify Your Fleet. No additional monies are authorized for the State’s
vehicle incentive programs in this act, but it is estimated that prior
appropriations of approximately the following amounts will be available in
fiscal year 2025:

(A) $2.600.000.00 for the Incentive Program for New PEVs:
(B) $200.000.00 for MileageSmart:; and
(C) _$900.000.00 for the Replace Your Ride Program.

(9) Promoting Resilient Operations for Transformative, Efficient, and
Cost-Saving Transportation (PROTECT) Formula Program. This act provides
for a fiscal year expenditure of $3.871.,435.00 under the PROTECT Formula
Program. This year’s PROTECT Formula Program funds will support
increased resiliency at three bridge sites (Coventry, Wilmington, and
Shaftsbury) in alignment with the VTrans Resilience Improvement Plan.

* * * Heating Systems in Agency of Transportation Buildings * * *
Sec. 2a. 19 V.S.A. § 45 is added to read:
§ 45. HEATING SYSTEMS

(a) In accordance with the renewable energy goals set forth in the State
Comprehensive Energy Plan, the Agency of Transportation shall strive to meet

not less than 35 percent of its thermal energy needs from non-fossil fuel
sources by 2025 and 45 percent by 2035.

(1) In order to meet these goals, the Agency will need to use more

renewable fuels, such as local wood fuels, to heat its buildings and continue to
increase its use of electricity that is generated from renewable sources.

(2) When building new State facilities or replacing heating equipment
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that has reached the end of its useful lifespan, the Agency shall prioritize
switching to high-efficiency, advanced wood heating systems that rely on
woody biomass.

(b) On or before October 1 every other year, the Agency shall report to the
Department of Buildings and General Services the percentage of the Agency’s
thermal energy usage during each of the previous two fiscal years that came
from fossil fuels and from non-fossil fuels. The Agency shall report its non-
fossil fuel percentage by fuel source and shall identify each type and amount
of wood fuel used.

* * * Highway Maintenance * * *
Sec. 3. HIGHWAY MAINTENANCE

(a) Within the Agency of Transportation’s Proposed Fiscal Year 2025
Transportation Program for Maintenance, authorized spending is amended as
follows:

FY25 As Proposed As Amended Change
Person. Sves. 42,757,951 42,757,951 0
Operat. Exp. 65,840,546 63,980,546 -1,860,000
Total 108,598,497 106,738,497 -1,860,000

Sources of funds
State 107,566,483 105,706,483 -1,860,000
Federal 932,014 932,014 0
Inter Unit 100,000 100,000 0
Total 108,598,497 106,738,497 -1,860,000

(b) Restoring the fiscal year 2025 Maintenance Program appropriation and
authorization to the level included in the Agency of Transportation’s Proposed
Fiscal Year 2025 Transportation Program shall be the top fiscal priority of the

Agency.

(1) If there are unexpended State fiscal year 2024 appropriations of
Transportation Fund monies, then, at the close of State fiscal year 2024, an
amount up to $1,860,000.00 of any unencumbered Transportation Fund
monies appropriated in 2023 Acts and Resolves No. 78, Secs. B.900-B.922,
which would otherwise be authorized to carry forward, is reappropriated for
the Agency of Transportation’s Proposed Fiscal Year 2025 Transportation
Program for Maintenance 30 days after the Agency sends written notification
of the request for the unencumbered Transportation Fund monies to be
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reappropriated to the Joint Transportation Oversight Committee, provided that
the Joint Transportation Oversight Committee does not send written objection

to the Agency.

(2) 1If the Agency utilizes available federal monies in lieu of one-time
Transportation Fund monies for Green Mountain Transit pursuant to Sec. 5(c)
of this act, then the one-time Transportation Fund monies authorized for
expenditure pursuant to Sec. 5(b) of this act that are not required for public

transit may instead go towards restoring the Highway Maintenance budget.

(3) If any unencumbered Transportation Fund monies are reappropriated
pursuant to subdivision (1) of this subsection or made available pursuant to
subdivision (2) of this subsection, then, within the Agency of Transportation’s
Proposed Fiscal Year 2025 Transportation Program for Maintenance,
authorized spending is further amended to increase operating expenses by not

more than $1,860,000.00 in Transportation Fund monies.

(4) Notwithstanding subdivisions (1)—(3) of this subsection, the Agency
may request further amendments to the Agency of Transportation’s Proposed
Fiscal Year 2025 Transportation Program for Maintenance through the State
fiscal year 2025 budget adjustment act.

* % * Town Highway Aid * * *
Sec. 4. TOWN HIGHWAY AID MONIES

Within the Agency of Transportation’s Proposed Fiscal Year 2025

Transportation Program for Town Highway Aid, and notwithstanding the
provisions of 19 V.S.A. § 306(a), authorized spending is amended as follows:

FY25 As Proposed As Amended Change
Grants 28,672,753 29,532,753 860,000
Total 28,672,753 29,532,753 860,000

Sources of funds
State 28,672,753 29,532,753 860,000
Total 28,672,753 29,532,753 860,000

* * * Ope-Time Public Transit Monies * * *

Sec. 5. ONE-TIME PUBLIC TRANSIT MONIES; GREEN MOUNTAIN
TRANSIT; FARE COLLECTION, EVALUATION, AND
REORGANIZATION; REPORT

(a) Project addition. The following project is added to the Agency of
Transportation’s Proposed Fiscal Year 2025 Transportation Program:
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Increased One-Time Monies for Public Transit for Fiscal Year 2025.

(b) Authorization. Spending authority for Increased One-Time Monies for
Public Transit for Fiscal Year 2025 is authorized as follows:

FY25 As Proposed As Amended Change
Other 0 1,000,000 1,000,000
Total 0 1,000,000 1,000,000

Sources of funds
State 0 1,000,000 1,000,000
Total 0 1,000,000 1,000,000

(c¢) Federal monies. The Agency shall utilize available federal monies in
lieu of the authorization in subsection (b) of this section to the greatest extent
practicable, provided that there is no negative impact on any local public
transit providers.

(d) Implementation. The Agency shall distribute the authorization in
subsection (b) of this section to Green Mountain Transit as one-time bridge
funding for fiscal year 2025 while Green Mountain Transit stabilizes its

finances, adjusts its service levels, and transitions to a sustainable funding
model.

(e) Conditions; report. As a condition of receiving the grant funding,
Green Mountain Transit shall do all of the following:

(1) begin collecting fares for urban and commuter transit service not
later than June 1, 2024:

(2) in coordination with the Agency of Transportation, Special Service

Transportation Agency, Rural Community Transportation, and Tri-Valley
Transit, evaluate alternative options for delivering cost-effective urban fixed-

route transit service, rural transit service, commuter service, and any other
specialized services currently provided, and prepare a proposed
implementation plan, including a three-year cost and revenue plan, for
recommended service transitions; and

(3) submit to the House and Senate Committees on Transportation an

interim report on or before November 15. 2024 and a final report on or before

February 1, 2025, detailing the findings, recommendations, and
implementation plan as described in subdivision (2) of this subsection.

* % * Agency of Transportation Duties; Bonding * * *
Sec. 6. 19 V.S.A. § 10 is amended to read:
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§ 10. DUTIES
The Agency shall, except where otherwise specifically provided by law:

* %k 3k

(9) Require any contractor or contractors employed in any project of the
Agency for construction of a transportation improvement to file an additional
surety bond to the Secretary and the Secretary’s successor in office, for the
benefit of labor, materialmen, and others, executed by a surety company
authorized to transact business in this State;. The surety bond shall be in such
sum as the Agency shall direct, conditioned for the payment, settlement,
liquidation, and discharge of the claims of all creditors for material,
merchandise, labor, rent, hire of vehicles, power shovels, rollers, concrete
mixers, tools, and other appliances, professional services, premiums, and other
services used or employed in carrying out the terms of the contract between
the contractor and the State and further conditioned for the following accruing
during the term of performance of the contract: the payment of taxes, both
State and municipal, and contributions to the Vermont Commissioner of Labor;

raing-during-the-term-of performanee-of the-eontract—Heowever; provided,
however, in order to obtain the benefit of the security, the claimant shall file
with the Secretary a sworn statement of the claimant’s claim, within 90 days
after the final acceptance of the project by the State or within 90 days from the
time the taxes or contributions to the Vermont Commissioner of Labor are due
and payable, and, within one year after the filing of the claim, shall bring a
petition in the Superior Court in the name of the Secretary, with notice and
summons to the principal, surety, and the Secretary, to enforce the claim or
intervene in a petition already filed. The Secretary may, if the Secretary
determines that it is in the best interests of the State, accept other good and
sufficient surety in lieu of a bond and, in cases involving contracts for
$100,000.00 or less, may waive the requirement of a surety bond.

* %k 3k

* * * Delays; Transportation Program Statute;
Increased Estimated Costs; Technical Corrections * * *

Sec. 7. 19 V.S.A. § 10g is amended to read:

§ 10g. ANNUAL REPORT; TRANSPORTATION PROGRAM;
ADVANCEMENTS, CANCELLATIONS, AND DELAYS

(a) Proposed Transportation Program. The Agency of Transportation shall
annually present to the General Assembly for adoption a multiyear
Transportation Program covering the same number of years as the Statewide
Transportation Improvement Program (STIP), consisting of the recommended
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budget for all Agency activities for the ensuing fiscal year and projected
spending levels for all Agency activities for the following fiscal years. The
Program shall include a description and year-by-year breakdown of
recommended and projected funding of all projects proposed to be funded
within the time period of the STIP and, in addition, a description of all projects
that are not recommended for funding in the first fiscal year of the proposed
Program but that are scheduled for construction during the time period covered
by the STIP. The Program shall be consistent with the planning process
established by 1988 Acts and Resolves No. 200, as codified in 3 V.S.A.
chapter 67 and 24 V.S.A. chapter 117, the statements of policy set forth in
sections 10b—10f of this title, and the long-range systems plan, corridor
studies, and project priorities developed through the capital planning process
under section 101 of this title.

(b) Projected spending. Projected spending in future fiscal years shall be
based on revenue estimates as follows:

* sk 3k

(c) Systemwide performance measures. The Program proposed by the
Agency shall include systemwide performance measures developed by the

Agency to describe the condition of the Vermont transportation network. The
Program shall discuss the background and utility of the performance measures,
track the performance measures over time, and, where appropriate,
recommend the setting of targets for the performance measures.

(d) [Repealed.]

(e) Prior expenditures and appropriations carried forward.

* %k 3k

(f) Adopted Transportation Program. Each year following enaetment
adoption of a Transportation Program under this section, the Agency shall
prepare and make available to the public the Transportation Program
established adopted by the General Assembly. The resulting document shall
be entered in the permanent records of the Agency and-efthe Beard; and shall
constitute the State’s official Transportation Program.

(g) Project updates. The Agency’s annual proposed Transportation
Program shall include project updates referencing this section and listing the
following:

(1) all proposed projects in the Program that would be new to the State
Transportation Program -adepted;

(2) all projects for which total estimated costs have increased by more
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than $8;000,000-00 $5.000,000.00 from the estimate in the adopted
Transportation Program for the prior fiscal year or by more than 100

75 percent from the estimate in the prier—fiseal—year’s—approved adopted

Transportation Program for the prior fiscal year; and

(3) all projects for which the total estimated costs have, for the first
time, increased by more than $10,000,000.00 from the Preliminary Plan

estimate or by more than 100 percent from the Preliminary Plan estimate; and

(4) all projects funded for construction in the prior fiscal year’s
approved adopted Transportation Program that are no longer funded in the
proposed Transportation Program submitted to the General Assembly, the
projected costs for such projects in the prior fiscal year’s appreved adopted
Transportation Program, and the total costs incurred over the life of each such
project.

(h) Sheuld Project delays; emergency and safety issues; additional funding;
cancellations.

(1) If capital projects in the Transportation Program be are delayed
because of unanticipated problems with permitting, right-of-way acquisition,
construction, local concern, or availability of federal or State funds, the
Secretary is authorized to advance other projects in the appreved adopted
Transportation Program for the current fiscal year.

(2) The Secretary is further authorized to undertake projects to resolve
emergency or safety issues that are not included in the adopted Transportation
Program for the current fiscal year. Upon authorizing a project to resolve an
emergency or safety issue, the Secretary shall give prompt notice of the
decision and action taken to the Joint Fiscal Office and to the House and
Senate Committees on Transportation when the General Assembly is in
session; and when—the—General-Assembly—is—net—in—sessten; to the Joint
Transportation Oversight Committee, the Joint Fiscal Office, and the Joint
Fiscal Committee when the General Assembly is not in session. Sheuld-an

appreved

(3) If a project in the eurrent adopted Transportation Program require
for the current fiscal year requires additional funding to maintain the appreved
schedule in the adopted Transportation Program for the current fiscal year, the
Agency is authorized to allocate the necessary resources. However, the
Secretary shall not delay or suspend work on appreved projects in the adopted
Transportation Program for the current fiscal year to reallocate funding for
other projects except when other funding options are not available. In such
case, the Secretary shall notify the Joint Transportation Oversight Committee,
the Joint Fiscal Office, and the Joint Fiscal Committee when the General
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Assembly is not in session and the House and Senate Committees on
Transportation and the Joint Fiscal Office when the General Assembly is in
session. With respect to projects in the approved Transportation Program, the
Secretary shall notify;—in—the—distriet—affeeted; the regional planning
commission for the district where the affected project is located, the
municipality where the affected project is located, the legislators for the
district where the affected project is located, the House and Senate Committees
on Transportation, and the Joint Fiscal Office of any change that likely will
affect the fiscal year in which the project is planned to go to construction.

(4) No project shall be canceled without the approval of the General
Assembly, except that the Agency may cancel a municipal project upon the
request or concurrence of the municipality, provided that notice of the
cancellation is included in the Agency’s annual proposed Transportation
Program.

(i) Economic development proposals. For the purpose of enabling the
State, without delay, to take advantage of economic development proposals
that increase jobs for Vermonters, a transportation project certified by the
Governor as essential to the economic infrastructure of the State economy, or a
local economy, may, if approval is required by law, be approved for
construction by a committee comprising the Joint Fiscal Committee meeting
with the Chairs chairs of the Franspertation House and Senate Committees on
Transportation or their designees without explicit project authorization through
an enaeted adopted Transportation Program;—in—the—event—that—sueh

autherization-is-otherwise required-byJaw.

(j) Plan for advancing projects. The Agency of Transportation, in
coordination with the Agency of Natural Resources and the Division for
Historic Preservation, shall prepare and implement a plan for advancing
appreved projects contained in the appreved adopted Transportation Program
for the current fiscal year. The plan shall include the assignment of a project
manager from the Agency of Transportation for each project. The Agency of
Transportation, the Agency of Natural Resources, and the Division for Historic
Preservation shall set forth provisions for expediting the permitting process
and establishing a means for evaluating each project during concept design
planning if more than one agency is involved to determine whether it should
be advanced or deleted from the Program.

(k) Ferpurpeses—of Definition. As used in subsection (h) of this section,
“emergency or safety issues” shall-mean means:

(1) serious damage to a transportation facility caused by a natural
disaster over a wide area, such as a flood, hurricane, earthquake, severe storm,
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or landslide; or

(2) catastrophic or imminent catastrophic failure of a transportation
facility from any cause; o

(3) any condition identified by the Secretary as hazardous to the
traveling public; or

(4) any condition evidenced by fatalities or a high incidence of crashes.

(I) Numerical grading system; priority rating. The Agency shall develop a
numerical grading system to assign a priority rating to all Program
Development Paving, Program Development Roadway, Program Development
Safety and Traffic Operations, Program Development State and Interstate
Bridge, Town Highway Bridge, and Bridge Maintenance projects. The rating
system shall consist of two separate, additive components as follows:

(1) One component shall be limited to asset management- and
performance-based factors that are objective and quantifiable and shall
consider;-witheutHmitation; the following:

* ok 3k

(2) The second component of the priority rating system shall consider;
witheut-limitatien; the following factors:

* sk 3k

(m) Inclusion of priority rating. The annual proposed Transportation
Program shall include an individual priority rating pursuant to subsection (1) of
this section for each highway paving, roadway, safety and traffic operations,
and bridge project in the pregram Program along with a description of the
system and methodology used to assign the ratings.

(n) Development and evaluation projects; delays. The Agency’s annual
proposed Transportation Program shall include a project-by-project description
in each program of all proposed spending of funds for the development and
evaluation of projects. In-the-appreved-annual TranspertationProgram;—these
These funds shall be reserved to the identified projects subject to the discretion
of the Secretary to reallocate funds to other projects within the program when
it is determined that the scheduled expenditure of the identified funds will be
delayed due to permitting, local decision making, the availability of federal or
State funds, or other unanticipated problems.

(o) Year of first inclusion. For projects initially appreved-by-the-General

Assembly—for—inelusion—in—the—State included in a Transportation Program
adopted after January 1, 2006, the Agency’s proposed Transportation Program

prepared pursuant to subsection (a) of this section and the effietal adopted
-4344 -




Transportation Program prepared pursuant to subsection (f) of this section
shall include the year in which sueh the projects were first approved-bythe
General-Assembly included in an adopted Transportation Program.

(p) Lamoille Valley Rail Trail. The Agency shall include the annual
maintenance required for the Lamoille Valley Rail Trail (LVRT), running from
Swanton to St. Johnsbury, in the Transportation Program it presents to the
General Assembly under subsection (a) of this section. The proposed
authorization for the maintenance of the LVRT shall be sufficient to cover:

* %k sk

* % * Appropriation Calculations * * *
* % * Central Garage Fund * * *
Sec. 8. 19 V.S.A. § 13(¢c) is amended to read:

(c)(1) For the purpose specified in subsection (b) of this section, the
following amount, at a minimum, shall be transferred from the Transportation
Fund to the Central Garage Fund:

(A) infiseal-year2024:-$1:355:358:00;-and
B)—in-subsequentfiseal-years;-at-a-mintmum; the amount speeified-in

transferred for the previous fiscal year’s-ameunt-by-the-pereentage-inerease-in
the year increased by the percentage change in the Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) during-the-tweo-mest
reeently-elosed-Statefisealyears if the percentage change is positive; or

(B) the amount transferred for the previous fiscal year if the
percentage change is zero or negative.

* %k 3k

(3) For purposes of subdivision (1) of this subsection, the percentage
change in the CPI-U is calculated by determining the increase or decrease, to
the nearest one-tenth of a percent, in the CPI-U for the month ending on June
30 in the calendar year one year prior to the first day of the fiscal year for
which the transfer will be made compared to the CPI-U for the month ending
on June 30 in the calendar year two years prior to the first day of the fiscal
year for which the transfer will be made.

* % * Town Highway Aid * * *
Sec. 9. 19 V.S.A. § 306(a) is amended to read:
(a) General State aid to town highways.
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(1) An annual appropriation to class 1, 2, and 3 town highways shall be
made. This appropriation shall increase over the previous fiscal year’s
appropriation by the same percentage change as the following, whichever is
less, or shall remain at the previous fiscal year’s appropriation if either of the
following are negative or zero:

(A) the year-over-year increase in the two most recently closed fiscal
years—n percentage change of the Agency’s total appropriations funded by
Transportation Fund revenues, excluding appropriations for town highways
under this subsection (a), for the most recently closed fiscal year as compared

to the fiscal year immediately preceding the most recently closed fiscal year;
or

(B) the percentage inerease change in the Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) during—the—same

pertod-in-subdiviston{H(A)-of this-subseetion.

tation For purposes of subdivision (1)(B) of this subsection, the
percentage change in the CPI-U is calculated by determining the increase or
decrease, to the nearest one-tenth of a percent, in the CPI-U for the month
ending on June 30 in the calendar year one year prior to the first day of the
fiscal year for which the appropriation will be made compared to the CPI-U
for the month ending on June 30 in the calendar year two years prior to the
first day of the fiscal year for which the appropriation will be made.

K

* %k sk

* % * Right-of-Way Permits; Fees * * *
Sec. 10. 19 V.S.A. § 1112 is amended to read:
§ 1112. DEFINITIONS; FEES
(a) Asused in this section:

(1) “Major commercial development” means a commercial development
for which the Agency requires the applicant to submit a traffic impact study in
support of its application under section 1111 of this title chapter.

(2) “Minor commercial development” means a commercial development
for which the Agency does not require the applicant to submit a traffic impact
study in support of its application under section 1111 of this title chapter.

* %k sk
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(b) The Secretary shall collect the following fees for each application for
the following types of permits issued pursuant to section 1111 of this title

chapter:

* %k sk

(3) minor commercial development: $250.00

* %k sk

(¢) Notwithstanding subdivision (b)(3) of this section, the Secretary may
waive the collection of the fee for a permit issued pursuant to section 1111 of

this chapter for a minor commercial development if the Governor has declared
a state of emergency under 20 V.S.A. chapter 1 and the Secretary has

determined that the permit applicant is facing hardship, provided that the
permit is applied for during the declared state of emergency or within the six
months following the conclusion of the declared state of emergency.

* * * Vehicle Incentive Programs * * *
* * * Replace Your Ride Program * * *
Sec. 11. 19 V.S.A. § 2904(d)(2)(B) is amended to read:
(B) For purposes of the Replace Your Ride Program:

(1) An “older low-efficiency vehicle™:

* %k sk

(VD) passed the annual inspection required under 23 V.S.A.
§ 1222 within the prior year 18 months.

Sec. 12. 19 V.S.A. § 2904a is added to read:

§ 2904a. REPLACE YOUR RIDE PROGRAM FLEXIBILITY;
EMERGENCIES

Notwithstanding subdivisions 2904(d)(2)(A) and (d)(2)(BY()AV)~(VI) of
this chapter, the Agency of Transportation is authorized to waive or modify the
eligibility requirements for the Replace Your Ride Program under subdivisions
@BYDAV)-(VI) that pertain to the removal of an eligible vehicle as
required under subdivision 2904(d)(2)(A) of this chapter provided that:

(1) the Governor has declared a state of emergency under 20 V.S.A.
chapter 1 and. due to the event or events underlying the state of emergency,

motor vehicles registered in Vermont have been damaged or totaled:;
(2) the waived or modified eligibility requirements are prominently

posted on any websites maintained by or at the direction of the Agency for
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purposes of providing information on the vehicle incentive programs:

(3) the waived or modified eligibility requirements are only applicable:

(A) upon a showing that the applicant for an incentive under the
Replace Your Ride Program was a registered owner of a motor vehicle that
was damaged or totaled due to the event or events underlying the state of
emergency at the time of the event or events underlying the state of
emergency: and

(B) for six months after the conclusion of the state of emergency:; and

(4) the waiver or modification of eligibility requirements and resulting
impact are addressed in the annual reporting required under section 2905 of

this chapter.

* * * Electrify Your Fleet Program * * *
Sec. 13. 2023 Acts and Resolves No. 62, Sec. 21 is amended to read:
Sec. 21. ELECTRIFY YOUR FLEET PROGRAM; AUTHORIZATION

* %k sk

(d) Program structure. The Electrify Your Fleet Program shall reduce the
greenhouse gas emissions of persons operating a motor vehicle fleet in
Vermont by structuring purchase and lease incentive payments on a first-come,
first-served basis to replace vehicles other than a plug-in electric vehicle (PEV)
cycled out of a motor vehicle fleet or avoid the purchase of vehicles other than
a PEV for a motor vehicle fleet. Specifically, the Electrify Your Fleet Program
shall:

* %k sk

(2) provide $2;5006-00 purchase and lease incentives up to 25 percent of
the purchase price, but not to exceed $2,500.00, for:

* %k sk

(C) electric bicycles and electric cargo bicycles with a base MSRP of
$6,000-00 $10,000.00 or less;

(D) adaptive electric cycles with any base MSRP;
(E) electric motorcycles with a base MSRP of $30,000.00 or Iess;

(F) electric snowmobiles with a base MSRP of $20,000.00 or Iess;
and

(G) electric all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), as defined in 23 V.S.A.
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§ 3501 and including electric utility terrain vehicles (UTVs), with a base
MSRP of $50.000.00 or less:

* %k 3k

* * * eBike Incentives; Eligibility * * *
Sec. 14. 2023 Acts and Resolves No. 62, Sec. 22 is amended to read:

Sec. 22. MODIFICATIONS TO EBIKE INCENTIVE PROGRAM;
REPORT
* %k 3k
(d) Reporting. The Agency of Transportation shall address incentives for
electric bicycles, electric cargo bicycles, and adaptive electric cycles provided
pursuant to this section in the Januwary3+-2024 annual report required under
19 V.S.A. § 2905, as added by Sec. 19 of this act, including:

(1) the demographics of who received an incentive under the eBike
Incentive Program;

(2) a breakdown of where vouchers were redeemed;

(3) a breakdown, by manufacturer and type, of electric bicycles, electric
cargo bicycles, and adaptive electric cycles incentivized;

(4) a detailed summary of information provided in the self-certification

forms and a description of the Agency’s post-voucher sampling audits and

audit findings, together with any recommendations to improve program design
and cost-effectively direct funding to recipients who need it most; and

(5) a detailed summary of information collected through participant
surveys.

* % * Annual Reporting * * *
Sec. 15. 19 V.S.A. § 2905 is amended to read:
§ 2905. ANNUAL REPORTING; VEHICLE INCENTIVE PROGRAMS

(a) The Agency shall annually evaluate the programs established under
sections 2902-2904 of this chapter to gauge effectiveness and shall submit a
written report on the effectiveness of the programs and the State’s marketing
and outreach efforts related to the programs to the House and Senate
Committees on Transportation, the House Committee on Environment and
Energy, and the Senate Committee on Finanee Natural Resources and Energy
on or before the 31st day of January in each year following a year that an
incentive was provided through one of the programs.

(b) The report shall also include:
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(1) any intended modifications to program guidelines for the upcoming
fiscal year along with an explanation for the reasoning behind the
modifications and how the modifications will yield greater uptake of PEVs and
other means of transportation that will reduce greenhouse gas emissions; ané

(2) any recommendations on statutory modifications to the programs,
including to income and vehicle eligibility, along with an explanation for the
reasoning behind the statutory modification recommendations and how the
modifications will yield greater uptake of PEVs and other means of
transportation that will reduce greenhouse gas emissions; and

(3) any recommendations for how to better conduct outreach and
marketing to ensure the greatest possible uptake of incentives under the
programs.

(c) Notwithstanding 2 V.S.A. § 20(d), the annual report required under this
section shall continue to be required if an incentive is provided through one of

the programs unless the General Assembly takes specific action to repeal the
report requirement.

* % * Authority to Transfer Monies in State Fiscal Year 2025 * * *

Sec. 16. TRANSFER OF MONIES BETWEEN VEHICLE INCENTIVE
PROGRAMS IN STATE FISCAL YEAR 2025

(a) Notwithstanding 32 V.S.A. § 706 and any appropriations or
authorizations of monies for vehicle incentive programs created under
19 V.S.A. §§ 29022904, in State fiscal vyear 2025 the Secretary of

Transportation may transfer up to 50 percent of any remaining monies for a
vehicle incentive program created under 19 V.S.A. §§ 29022904 to any other

vehicle incentive program created under 19 V.S.A. §§ 2902—2904 that has less
than $500,000.00 available for distribution as a vehicle incentive.

(b) Any transfers made pursuant to subsection (a) of this section shall be

reported to the Joint Transportation Oversight Committee and the Joint Fiscal
Office within 30 days after the transfer.

* % * Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) * * *
Sec. 17. 19 V.S.A. chapter 29 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 29. VEHICLE INCENTIVE PROGRAMS; ELECTRIC
VEHICLE SUPPLY EQUIPMENT

§ 2901. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter:
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(4) “Electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE)” and “electric vehicle
supply equipment available to the public” have the same meanings as in
30 V.S.A. § 201.

(5) “Plug-in electric vehicle (PEV),” “battery electric vehicle (BEV),”
and “plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV)” have the same meanings as in
23 V.S.A. § 4(85).

* %k sk

§ 2906. ELECTRIC VEHICLE SUPPLY EQUIPMENT GOALS

It shall be the goal of the State to have, as practicable, level 3 EVSE
charging ports available to the public:
(1)  within three driving miles of every exit of the Dwight D.
Eisenhower National System of Interstate and Defense Highways within the
State;

(2) within 25 driving miles of another level 3 EVSE charging port

available to the public along a State highway, as defined in subdivision 1(20)
of this title; and

(3) co-located with or within a safe and both walkable and rollable
distance of publicly accessible amenities such as restrooms, restaurants, and
convenience stores to provide a safe, consistent, and convenient experience for
the traveling public along the State highway system.

§ 2907. ANNUAL REPORTING; ELECTRIC VEHICLE SUPPLY
EQUIPMENT

(a) Notwithstanding 2 V.S.A. § 20(d), the Agency of Transportation shall:

(1) file a report, with a map, on the State’s efforts to meet its federally
required Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Deployment Plan, as updated, and the
goals set forth in section 2906 of this chapter with the House and Senate

Committees on Transportation not later than January 15 each year until the
Deployment Plan is met; and

(2) file a report on the current operability of EVSE available to the
public and deployed through the assistance of Agency funding with the House

and Senate Committees on Transportation not later than January 15 each year.
(b) _The reports required under subsection (a) of this section can be

combined when filing with the House and Senate Committees on

Transportation and shall prominently be posted on the Agency of
Transportation’s website.
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Sec. 18. REPEAL OF CURRENT EVSE MAP REPORT AND EXISTING
GOALS

2021 Acts and Resolves No. 55. Sec. 30, as amended by 2022 Acts and
Resolves No. 184, Sec. 4 (EVSE network in Vermont goals; report of annual
map) is repealed.

* * * Beneficial Electrification Report * * *

Sec. 19. ELECTRIC DISTRIBUTION UTILITIES; EVSE-RELATED
SERVICE UPGRADES; REPORT

In the report due not later than January 15, 2025, pursuant to 2021 Acts and
Resolves No. 55, Sec. 33, the Public Utility Commission shall include a
reporting of service upgrade practices related to the installation of electric
vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) across all electric distribution utilities,
including a comparison of EVSE-related service upgrade practices, a
description of the frequency and typical costs of EVSE-related service
upgrades, and rate-payer impact.

* * * Expansion of Public Transit Service * * *
* * * Mobility Services Guide; Car Share * * *
Sec. 20. MOBILITY SERVICES GUIDE; ORAL UPDATE

(a) The Agency of Transportation, in consultation with existing nonprofit
mobility services organizations incorporated in the State of Vermont for the
purpose of providing Vermonters with transportation alternatives to personal
vehicle ownership, such as through carsharing, and other nonprofit

organizations working to achieve the goals of the Comprehensive Energy Plan,
the Vermont Climate Action Plan, and the Agency of Transportation’s

community engagement plan for environmental justice, shall develop a web-
page-based guide to outline the different mobility service models that could be

considered for deployment in Vermont.

(b) At a minimum, the web-page-based guide required under subsection (a)

of this section shall include the following:

(1) definitions of program types or options, such as car sharing,
mobility for all, micro-transit, bike sharing, and other types of programs that
meet the goals identified in subsection (a) of this section;

(2) information related to existing initiatives, including developmental
and pilot programs, that meet any of the program types or options defined
pursuant to subdivision (1) of this subsection and information related to any
pertinent studies or reports, whether completed or ongoing, related to the
program types or options defined pursuant to subdivision (1) of this
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subsection;

(3) details of other existing programs that may provide a foundation for

or complement a new program in a manner that is not duplicative or
competitive; and

(4) for each possible program type or option defined pursuant
subdivision (1) of this subsection, additional details outlining:

(A) the range of start-up, capital, facilities, and ongoing operating
and maintenance costs;

(B) the service area characteristics:

(C)_the revenue capture options;

(D) technical assistance resources; and

(E) existing or potential funding resources.

(c) The Agency of Transportation shall make itself available to provide an

oral update and demonstration of the web-page-based guide required under

subsection (a) of this section to the House and Senate Committees on
Transportation not later than February 15, 2025.

* * * Mobility and Transportation Innovations (MTI) Grant Program * * *
Sec. 21. 19 V.S.A. § 10n is added to read:

§ 10n. MOBILITY AND TRANSPORTATION INNOVATIONS (MTI)
GRANT PROGRAM

(a) The Mobility and Transportation Innovations (MTI) Grant Program is
created within the Public Transit Section of the Agency. The MTI Grant

Program shall support innovative transportation demand management
programs and transit initiatives that improve mobility and access to services

for transit-dependent Vermonters, reduce the use of single-occupancy vehicles,
reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and complement existing mobility
investments.

(b) Grant awards of not more than $100,000.00 per recipient for capital or

operational costs, or both, may be used to create new or expand existing

programs for one or more of the following: matching funds for other grant
awards; program delivery costs:; or the extension of existing programs.

(¢) Funding under the MTI Grant Program shall not be used to supplant
existing State funding for the same project or program.

(d) In each year in which funding for grants is available:

(1) The Agency shall establish an application period of at least four
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months.

(2) The Agency shall provide direct assistance to entities requiring
technical assistance or prereview of a draft application during the application

period.
(3) Grant awards shall be distributed not later than November 30 in each

year in which they are offered.
* % * Vermont Rail Plan; Amtrak * * *

Sec. 22. DEVELOPMENT OF NEW VERMONT RAIL PLAN; BICYCLE
STORAGE; REPORT

(a) As the Agency of Transportation develops the new Vermont Rail Plan,
it shall consider and address the following:

(1) adding additional daily service on the Vermonter for some or all of
the service area; and

(2) expanding service on the Valley Flyer to provide increased service
on the Vermonter route.

(b) The Agency of Transportation shall consult with Amtrak and the State-

Amtrak Intercity Passenger Rail Committee (SAIPRC) on passenger education

of and sufficient capacity for bicycle storage on Amtrak trains on the
Vermonter and Ethan Allen Express routes.
(¢) The Agency of Transportation shall provide an oral update on the

development of the Vermont Rail Plan in general and the requirements of
subsection (a) of this section specifically and the consultation efforts required

under subsection (b) of this section to the House and Senate Committees on
Transportation not later than February 15, 2025.

* * * Replacement for the Vermont State Design Standards * * *

Sec. 23. REPLACEMENT FOR THE VERMONT STATE DESIGN
STANDARDS

(a) In preparing the replacement for the Vermont State Design Standards,
the Agency of Transportation shall do all of the following:

(1) Release a draft of the replacement to the Vermont State Design
Standards and related documents not later than January 1, 2026.

(2) Conduct not fewer than four public hearings across the State

concerning the replacement to the Vermont State Design Standards and related
documents.

(3) Provide a publicly available responsiveness summary detailing the
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public participation activities conducted in developing the final draft of the
replacement for the Vermont State Design Standards and related documents, as
applicable; a description of the matters on which members of the public or

stakeholders, or both, were consulted; a summary of the views of the

participating _members of the public and stakeholders; and significant
comments, criticisms, and suggestions received by the Agency and the

Agency’s specific responses, including an explanation of any modifications
made in response.

(4) In alienment with the Vermont Transportation Equity Framework,
consult directly, through a series of large-group, specialty focus groups and

one-on-one meetings, with key stakeholders in order to achieve stakeholder
engagement and afford a voice in the development of the replacement for the

Vermont State Design Standards and related documents. At a minimum,
stakeholders shall include the House and Senate Committees on
Transportation, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), the Vermont
Agency of Commerce and Community Development (ACCD), the Vermont
Agency of Natural Resources (ANR), the Vermont Department of Health
(VDH), the Vermont Department of Public Service (DPS), the Vermont

League of Cities and Towns (VLCT), Vermont’s regional planning

commissions (RPCs), the Vermont chapter of the American Association of
Retired Persons (AARP). Transportation for Vermonters (T4VT), Local

Motion, the Sierra Club, Conservation Law Foundation, the Vermont Natural
Resources Council, the Vermont Truck and Bus Association, the Vermont
Public Transportation Association (VPTA), the American Council of

Engineering Companies (ACEC), the Association of General Contractors
(AGCQC), and other stakeholders.

(b) The Agency shall provide oral updates on its progress preparing the
replacement to the Vermont State Design Standards, including the process
required under subsection (a) of this section, to the House and Senate

Committees on Transportation not later than February 15, 2025 and February
15, 2026.

* % * Complete Streets; Traffic Calming Measures; Designated Centers * * *
Sec. 24. 19 V.S.A. §§ 2402 and 2403 are amended to read:
§ 2402. STATE POLICY

(a) Agency of Transportation funded, designed, or funded and designed
projects shall seek to increase and encourage more pedestrian, bicycle, and
public transit trips, with the State goal to promote intermodal access to the
maximum extent feasible, which will help the State meet the transportation-
related recommendations outlined in the Comprehensive Energy Plan (CEP)
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issued under 30 V.S.A. § 202b and the recommendations of the Vermont
Climate Action Plan (CAP) issued under 10 V.S.A. § 592.

(b) Except in the case of projects or project components involving unpaved
highways, for all transportation projects and project phases managed by the
Agency or a municipality, including planning, development, construction, or
maintenance, it is the policy of this State for the Agency and municipalities, as
applicable, to incorporate complete streets principles that:

(1) serve individuals of all ages and abilities, including vulnerable users
as defined in 23 V.S.A. § 4(81);

(2) follow state-of-the-practice design guidance; ané

(3) are sensitive to the surrounding community, including current and
planned buildings, parks, and trails and current and expected transportation
needs; and

(4) when desired by the municipality or specifically identified in the
regional plan, implement street design for purposes of calming and slowing

traffic in State-designated centers under 24 V.S.A. chapter 76A.

§ 2403. PROJECTS NOT INCORPORATING COMPLETE STREETS
PRINCIPLES

(a) State projects. A State-managed project shall incorporate complete
streets principles unless the project manager makes a written determination,
supported by documentation, that one or more of the following circumstances
exist:

* ok 3k

(2) The cost of incorporating complete streets principles is
disproportionate to the need or probable use as determined by factors including
land use, current and projected user volumes, population density, crash data,
historic and natural resource constraints, and maintenance requirements. The
Agency shall consult local and regional plans, as appropriate, in assessing
these and any other relevant factors. If the project manager bases the written
determination required under this subsection in whole or in part on this
subdivision then the project manager shall provide a supplemental written
determination with specific details on costs, needs, and probable uses, as
applicable. The supplemental written determination shall also address any
design elements that were desired by the municipality or specifically identified
in the regional plan pursuant to subdivision 2402(b)(4) of this chapter but were
not incorporated.
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(b) Municipal projects. A municipally managed project shall incorporate
complete streets principles unless the municipality managing the project makes
a written determination, supported by documentation, that one or more of the
following circumstances exist:

* %k sk

(2) The cost of incorporating complete streets principles is
disproportionate to the need or probable use as determined by factors such as
land use, current and projected user volumes, population density, crash data,
historic and natural resource constraints, and maintenance requirements. The
municipality shall consult local and regional plans, as appropriate, in assessing
these and any other relevant factors. If the municipality managing the project
bases the written determination required under this subsection in whole or in
part on this subdivision then the project manager shall provide a supplemental
written determination with specific details on costs, needs, and probable uses,
as applicable. The supplemental written determination shall also address any
design elements that were desired by the municipality or specifically identified
in the regional plan pursuant to subdivision 2402(b)(4) of this chapter but were
not incorporated.

* %k sk

* % * Sustainability of Vermont’s Transportation System; Emissions
Reductions * * *

Sec. 25. ANALYSIS AND REPORT ON SUSTAINABILITY OPTIONS;
TRANSPORTATION EMISSIONS REDUCTIONS

(a) Findings of fact. The General Assembly finds:

(1) A majority of the Vermont Climate Council (VCC) voted to

recommend participation in the Transportation & Climate Initiative Program
(TCI-P), a regional cap-and-invest program. as a lead policy and regulatory

approach to reduce emissions from the transportation sector in the Vermont
Climate Action Plan (CAP), adopted in December 2021.

(2) Shortly before adoption of the CAP in December 2021, participating
in TCI-P became unviable and the VCC agreed to include in the CAP that the
VCC would continue work on an alternative recommendation to reduce
emissions from the transportation sector in Vermont and pursue participating in
TCI-P if it again became viable.

(3) An addendum to the CAP, supported by a majority of the VCC,
stated that: “The only currently known policy options for which there is
strong evidence from other states, provinces[.] and countries of the ability to
confidently deliver the scale and pace of emissions reductions that are required
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of the transportation sector by the [Global Warming Solutions Act (GWSA)]

are one or a combination of: a) a cap and invest/cap and reduce policy
covering transportation fuels and/or b) a performance standard/performance-
based regulatory approach covering transportation fuels. Importantly, based
on research associated with their potential implementation, these approaches
can also be designed in a cost-effective and equitable manner.”

(4) The development of the State’s Carbon Reduction Strategy (CRS),
which is required by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) pursuant to
the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) for states to access
federal monies under the Carbon Reduction Program and required by the
General Assembly pursuant to 2023 Acts and Resolves No. 62, Sec. 31, and

the accompanying planning and public engagement process provided the Cross

Section Mitigation Subcommittee of the VCC a timely opportunity to
undertake additional analysis required for a potential preferred

recommendation or recommendations to fill the gap in reductions of
transportation emissions.

(5) The CRS., which was filed with the FHWA in November 2023,
models that the State may meet its 2025 reduction requirement in the
transportation sector, but that, even with additional investments for
programmatic, policy, and regulatory options, the modeling shows a gap
between projected “business as usual” emissions in the transportation sector
and the portion of GWSA emission reduction requirements for 2030 and 2050
that are attributable to the transportation sector.

(6) The CRS reaffirms that, without adoption of additional polices, the
portion of GWSA emission reduction requirements for 2030 and 2050 that are
attributable to the transportation sector will not be met and states that: “Of the
additional programs, a cap-and-invest and/or Clean Transportation Standard
program are likely the two most promising options to close the gap in
projected emissions vs. required emissions levels for the transportation sector. .

2

(7) _There remains a need for further, more detailed analysis of policy
options.

(b) Written analysis. The Agency of Natural Resources, specifically the

Climate Action Office, and the Agency of Transportation, in consultation with

the State Treasurer; the Departments of Finance and Management, of Motor
Vehicles, and of Taxes: and the VCC, including those councilors appointed by

the General Assembly to provide expertise in energy and data analysis,
expertise and professional experience in the design and implementation of
programs to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and representation of a
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statewide environmental organization as outlined in the adopted January 12,
2024 Transportation Addendum to the Climate Action Plan, shall prepare a

written analysis of policy and investment scenarios to reduce emissions in the
transportation sector in Vermont and meet the greenhouse gas reduction

requirements of 10 V.S.A. § 578, as amended by Sec. 3 of the Global Warming
Solutions Act (2020 Acts and Resolves No. 153).

(c) Scenario development. At a minimum, the written analysis required

under subsection (b) of this section shall address the pros, cons., costs, and
benefits of the following:

(1) Vermont participating in regional or cap-and-invest program, such as

the Western Climate Initiative (WCI) and the New York Cap-and-Invest
program;

(2) Vermont adopting a clean transportation fuel standard, which would

be a performance standard or performance-based regulatory approach covering
transportation fuels; and

(3)  Vermont implementing other potential revenue-raising, carbon-
pollution reduction strategies.

(d) Emission reduction scenarios; administration. The written analysis

shall include an estimate of the amount of emissions reduction to be generated
from a minimum of four scenarios, to include a business-as-usual, low-

medium-, and high-greenhouse gas emissions reduction, analyzed under
subsection (c¢) of this section and a summary of how each proposal analyzed
under subsection (c) of this section would be administered.

(e) Revenue and cost estimate: timeline. The written analysis completed
pursuant to subsections (b)—(d) of this section shall be provided to the State
Treasurer to review cost and revenue projections for each scenario. The State

Treasurer shall make a written recommendation to the General Assembly
regarding any viable approaches.

(f) Public access; committees; due date.
(1) The Climate Action Office shall maintain a publicly accessible

website with information related to the development of the written analysis
required under subsection (b) of this section.

(2) The Agencies of Natural Resources and of Transportation, in
consultation with the State Treasurer, shall file a status update on the
development of the written analysis required under subsection (b) of this

section with the House and Senate Committees on Transportation, the House

Committees on Environment and Energy and on Ways and Means, and the

Senate Committees on Finance and on Natural Resources and Energy not later
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than November 15, 2024.

(3) The Agencies of Natural Resources and of Transportation, in
consultation with the State Treasurer, shall file the written analysis required
under subsection (b) of this section and the State Treasurer’s written
recommendation to the General Assembly regarding any viable approaches
required under subsection (e) of this section with the House and Senate
Committees on Transportation, the House Committees on Environment and

Energy and on Ways and Means, and the Senate Committees on Finance and
on Natural Resources and Energy not later than February 15, 2025.

(g) Use of consultant. The Agencies of Natural Resources and of
Transportation shall retain a consultant that is an expert in comprehensive
transportation policy with a core focus on emission reductions and economic
modeling to undertake the analysis and to provide the State Treasurer with any
additional information needed to inform the State Treasurer’s
recommendations regarding any viable approaches required under subsections
(b)—(e) of this section.

(h) Costs.

(1) If the costs of the consultant required under subsection (g) of this
section are eligible expenditures under the U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency’s (EPA) Climate Pollution Reduction Grants (CPRG) program, then
that shall be the source of funding to cover the costs of the consultant required
under subsection (g) of this section.

(2) The State Treasurer may use funds appropriated in State fiscal year
2025 to complete the work required under subsection (e) of this section,

including administrative costs and third-party consultation.

* % * Better Connections Grant Program * * *
Sec. 26. 19 V.S.A. § 319 is added to read:
§ 319. BETTER CONNECTIONS GRANT PROGRAM

(a) The Better Connections Grant Program is created and shall be

administered and staffed by the Policy, Planning and Research Bureau of the

Agency in collaboration with the Agency of Commerce and Community
Development and the Agency of Natural Resources.

(b) The Program shall be funded through appropriations to the Agency for
policy, planning, and research.

(c) The Program shall provide planning grants to aid municipalities to

coordinate municipal land use decisions with transportation investments that
build community resilience to:
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(1) provide a safe. multimodal, and resilient transportation system that
supports the Vermont economy:

2) support downtown and village economic development and
revitalization efforts:; and

(3) lead directly to project implementation demonstrated by municipal
capacity and readiness to implement.

* % * Electric and Plug-In Hybrid Vehicles; EV Infrastructure Fee * * *
Sec. 27. 23 V.S.A. § 361 is amended to read:
§ 361. PLEASURE CARS

(a) The annual registration fee for a pleasure car, as defined in subdivision
4(28) of this title, and including a pleasure car that is a plug-in electric vehicle,
as defined in subdivision 4(85) of this title, shall be $89.00, and the biennial
fee shall be $163.00.

(b) In addition to the registration fee set forth in subsection (a) of this
section, there shall be an annual electric vehicle (EV) infrastructure fee for a
pleasure car that is a battery electric vehicle, as defined in subdivision
4(85)(A) of this title, equal to the amount of the annual fee collected in
subsection (a) of this section, or a biennial EV infrastructure fee equal to two
times the annual fee collected in subsection (a) of this section.

(¢) In addition to the registration fee set forth in subsection (a) of this
section, there shall be an annual EV infrastructure fee for a pleasure car that is
a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle, as defined in subdivision 4(85)(B) of this
title, equal to one-half the amount of the annual fee collected in subsection (a)
of this section, or a biennial EV infrastructure fee equal to the annual fee
collected in subsection (a) of this section.

(d) The annual and biennial EV infrastructure fees collected in subsections
(b) and (c) of this section shall be allocated to the Transportation Fund for the
purpose of increasing Vermonters’ access to electric vehicle supply equipment

(EVSE) charging ports through a program or programs selected by the
Secretary, which may include programs administered by the Agency of
Commerce and Community Development.

Sec. 28. EV INFRASTRUCTURE FEE; ELECTRIC VEHICLES

The Department of Motor Vehicles shall implement a public outreach

campaign regarding EV infrastructure fees for battery electric vehicles and
plug-in electric hybrid vehicles not later than October 1, 2024. The campaign

shall disseminate information on the Department’s web page and through other
outreach methods.
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Sec. 29. 23 V.S.A. § 361 is amended to read:
§ 361. PLEASURE CARS

* %k sk

) it | T orth_in_subsecti i

tintes the annual feo colected in subscction (o) of this section. | Repealed. |

* %k sk

(d) The annual and biennial EV infrastructure fees collected in subseetions
b)y-and subsection (c) of this section shall be allocated to the Transportation

Fund fer—the—ptﬁﬁese—e{;mefeasﬂ&g%fmmﬁefs—&eeess—te—e}eetﬂ%vehte}e

* % * Central Garage; Authority to Purchase Real Property * * *

Sec. 30. CENTRAL GARAGE; REAL PROPERTY; FACILITY DESIGN;
AUTHORITY

(a)  Pursuant to 19 V.S.A. § 26(b), the Secretary of Transportation is
authorized to use up to $2.000.000.00 in Central Garage Fund reserve funds
for the purpose of purchasing real property on which to site a new Central

Garage.

(b) Notwithstanding 19 V.S.A. § 13(a), the Secretary may use Central
Garage Fund reserve funds for design services necessary to construct a new
Central Garage on the site; provided, however, that the Secretary shall
collaborate with the municipality in which the new Central Garage is to be
located regarding the design and construction of the facility.

* * * Railroad Leases * * *
Sec. 31. 5 V.S.A. § 3405 is amended to read:
§ 3405. LEASE FOR CONTINUED OPERATION

(a) The Secretary, as agent for the State, with-the-appreval-ef the-Gevernor

%he—GhafPs—ei;fhe—Heﬁse—m&d—Se&a%e—Geﬁm&ees—eﬂ—Tmﬂspeﬁaﬁe& is
authorized to lease or otherwise arrange for the continued operation of all or
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any State-owned railroad property to any responsible person, provided that
approval for the operation, if necessary, is granted by the federal Surface
Transportation Board under 49 C.F.R. Part 1150 (certificate to construct,
acquire, or operate railroad lines). The transaction shall be subject to any
further terms and conditions as in the opinion of the Secretary are necessary
and appropriate to accomplish the purpose of this chapter.

(b) To preserve continuity of service on State-owned railroads, the
Secretary may enter into a short-term lease or operating agreement, for a term
not to exceed six months w1th a respons1b1e rallroad operator Wl—thi—ﬂ—l—@—d-ays

(c) The Secretary shall notify the House and Senate Committees on

Transportation or, if the General Assembly is not in session, the Joint
Transportation Oversight Committee when there are 12 months remaining on
the operating lease for any State-owned railroad. and when there are 12

months remaining on a lease extension for the operating lease for any State-
owned railroad.

* * * Traffic Control Devices; Adoption of MUTCD Revisions * * *
Sec. 32. 23 V.S.A. § 1025 is amended to read:
§ 1025. STANDARDS

(a) The U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway
Administration’s Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and
Highways (MUTCD) for—streets—and—highways, as amended, shall be the
standards for all traffic control signs, signals, and markings within the State.
Revisions to the MUTCD shall be adopted according to the implementation or
compliance dates established in federal rules.

(b) Fhelatestreviston-of-the MUTCD-shall-be-adoptedupon-its—effective
date-exeept-in-the-ease—of To the extent consistent with federal law, projects

beyond a preliminary state of design that are anticipated to be constructed
within two years of the otherwise applicable effective date;-sueh-projeets may
be constructed according to the MUTCD standards applicable at the design
stage.

(c) Existing signs, signals, and markings shall be valid until such time as
they are replaced or reconstructed. When new traffic control devices are
erected or placed or existing traffic control devices are replaced or repaired,
the equipment, design, method of installation, placement, or repair shall
conform with the MUTCD.
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b)(d) The standards of the MUTCD shall apply for both State and local
authorities as to traffic control devices under their respective jurisdiction.

te)(e) Traffic and control signals at intersections with exclusive pedestrian
walk cycles shall be of sufficient duration to allow a pedestrian to leave the
curb and travel across the roadway before opposing vehicles receive a green
light. Determination of the length of the signal shall take into account the
circumstances of persons with ambulatory disabilities.

* * * Reporting Requirements; Repeal * * *
Sec. 33. 19 V.S.A. § 7(k) is amended to read:
(k) Upen—being—apprised—ofthe

[Repealed.]
Sec. 34. 19 V.S.A. § 42 is amended to read:

§ 42. REPORTS PRESERVED;-CONSOHDATED-TRANSPORTATION
REPORT

@ Notwithstanding 2 V.S.A. § 20(d), the reports or reporting requirements
of this-seetion; sections 10g and 12a; and subsections #d); 10b(d), 111(i), and
12b(d) of this title shall be preserved absent specific action by the General
Assembly repealing the reports or reporting requirements.




* % * MileageSmart; Income Eligibility * * *
Sec. 34a. 19 V.S.A. § 2903 is amended to read:
§ 2903. MILEAGESMART

(a) Creation; administration.

(1) There is created a used high fuel efficiency vehicle incentive
program, which shall be administered by the Agency of Transportation and
known as MileageSmart.

(2) Subject to State procurement requirements, the Agency may retain a
contractor or contractors to assist with marketing, program development, and
administration of MileageSmart.

(b) Program structure. MileageSmart shall structure high fuel efficiency
purchase incentive payments by income to help all Vermonters benefit from
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more efficient driving and reduced greenhouse gas emissions, including
Vermont’s most vulnerable. Specifically, MileageSmart shall:

(1) apply to purchases of used high fuel-efficient motor vehicles, which
for purposes of this program shall be pleasure cars with a combined
city/highway fuel efficiency of at least 40 miles per gallon or miles-per-gallon
equivalent as rated by the Environmental Protection Agency when the vehicle
was new; and

(2) provide not more than one point-of-sale voucher worth up to
$5,000.00 to an individual who is a member of a household with an adjusted
gross income that is at or below 80 percent of the State median income;
provided, however, that the Agency of Transportation may reduce the income
eligibility threshold based on available funding or applicant volume, or both,
in order to prioritize vouchers for households with lower income.

* sk 3k

* * * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 35. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section, Sec. 30 (central garage: purchase of real property). and
Sec. 31 (railroad leases; 5 V.S.A. § 3405) shall take effect on passage.
(b) Sec. 27 (electric vehicle road usage surcharge; 23 V.S.A. § 361) shall

take effect on passage and shall be fully implemented not later than January 1,
2025.

(¢) Sec. 29 (amendments to electric vehicle road usage surcharges:
23 V.S.A. § 361) shall take effect on the effective date of a mileage-based user
fee for pleasure cars that are battery electric vehicles, as defined in 23 V.S.A.

§ 4(85)(A).
(d) All other sections shall take effect on July 1. 2024.

For Informational Purposes
NOTICE OF CROSSOVER DATES

The Committee on Joint Rules adopted the following Crossover dates:

(1) All House/Senate bills must be reported out of the last committee of
reference (including the Committees on Appropriations and on Ways and
Means/Finance, except as provided below in (2) and the exceptions listed
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below) on or before Friday, March 15, 2024 and filed with the
Clerk/Secretary so they may be placed on the Calendar for Notice the next

legislative day — Committee bills must be voted out of Committee by Friday,
March 15, 2024.

(2) All House/Senate bills referred pursuant to House Rule 35(a) or Senate
Rule 31 to the Committees on Appropriations and on Ways and Means/Finance
must be reported out by the last of those committees on or before Friday,
March 22, 2024 and filed with the Clerk/Secretary so they may be placed on
the Calendar for Notice the next legislative day.

Exceptions the foregoing deadlines include the major money bills (the
general Appropriations bill (“The Big Bill”), the Transportation Capital
bill, the Capital Construction bill, the Pay Act, and the Fee and
miscellaneous tax bills).

JOINT FISCAL COMMITTEE NOTICES

Grants and Positions that have been submitted to the Joint Fiscal Committee
by the Administration, under 32 V.S.A. §5(b)(3)(D):

JFO #3199: $1,000,000.00 from the U.S. Department of Energy through
Vermont Energy Efficiency Coop to the Vermont Military Department. Funds
will be used for facility upgrades in the Westminster and Berlin Armories to
help study the effects of thermal energy storage on heating and cooling loads
in electrified facilities. The grant requires a 20% state match of $250,000.00
which will be funded through an appropriation of existing capital funds.

[Received April 18, 2024]

JFO #3198: Bargain sale of timber rights to the Agency of Natural Resources,
Department of Fish and Wildlife from the A Johnson Co., LLC. Vermont
acquired the current Pond Woods Wildlife Management Area in Benson and
Orwell, VT in the 1960s. At that time the A Johnson Co. retained the timber
rights. The State now has the opportunity to acquire the timber rights, valued
at $2,320,529.00, for $900,000.00. Acquisition of the timber rights will allow
greater control over the property management. The $900,000.00 sale price plus
closing costs is covered by ongoing, annual funding from the U.S. Department
of Fish and Wildlife.

[Received March 24, 2024]

JFO #3197: One (1) limited-service position, Environmental Analyst IV, to

the Agency of Natural Resources, Department of Environmental Conservation.

The position will manage the increase in funding and the resulting increase in

projects for the Healthy Homes program which provides financial assistance to

low to moderate income homeowners to address failed or inadequate water,
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wastewater, drainage and storm water issues. A portion of the American
Rescue Plan Act — Coronavirus State Fiscal Recovery Funds appropriated in
Act 78 of 2023, funds this position through 12/31/2026.

[Received March 19, 2024]

JFO #3196: Two (2) limited-service positions, both Grant Specialists, to the
Agency of Natural Resources, Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation.
The positions will manage stewardship of existing grants and applications and
outreach for annual grant cycles. Both positions are 70% funded through
existing federal funds. The remaining 30% will be a combination of state
special funds: State Recreation Trails Fund and Vermont Outdoor Recreation
Economic Collaborative funds. The positions will not rely on annual
appropriations of the General Fund. Both funded through 9/30/2024.

[Received March 19, 2024]

JFO #3195: One (1) limited-service position, Environmental Scientist III to
the Agency of Natural Resources, Department of Environmental Conservation.
The position will support high-priority efforts to reduce the spread of aquatic
invasive species in public waters in the Lake Champlain Basin and is funded
through additional federal funds received under an existing EPA grant for
work in the Lake Champlain Basin program. Funding is for one-year with
anticipation that funding will renew and be available for the foreseeable future.
Position requested is through 12/31/2028.

[Received March 19, 2024]

JFO #3194: $10,483,053.00 to the Agency of Commerce and Community
Development, Department of Tourism and Marketing from the U.S.
Department of Commerce, Economic Development Administration. Funds will
support the resiliency and long-term recovery of the travel and tourism sectors
in Vermont after the wide-spread disruption of these sectors during the Covid-
19 pandemic. The Department of Tourism and Marketing has been working
with the Economic Development Administration (EDA) for over 18 months to
develop a plan that would satisfy the EDA requirements and meet the specific
needs of the Vermont travel and tourism industry. The grant includes two (2)
limited-service positions, Grants Programs Manager and Travel Marketing
Administrator to complete the grant administration plan. Both positions are
fully funded through the new award through 10/31/2025.

[Received March 19, 2024]

JFO #3193: Land donation of 18.6 acres of undevelopable wetlands in
Newport City, VT from Linda Chamberlin Mosher to the Agency of Natural
Resources, Department of Fish and Wildlife. The land abuts the existing South
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Bay Wildlife Management Area and will expand wildlife and fish habitats and
improve public access. The donation value is $51,500.00. Estimated closing
costs of $10,000.00 and ongoing maintenance costs are covered by already
budgeted federal funds. No state funds will be used for the acquisition.

Received March 12, 2024]

JFO #3192: $327,250.00 to the Agency of Human Services, Department of
Health from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for data collection
and public awareness related to Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease. The
grant is expected to fund yearly through 9/29/2027. The grant includes one (1)
limited-service position, Health Systems Program Administrator, to manage
contracts and grants associated with the funding and communications with the
CDC. The position is also funded through 9/29/2027.

[Received March 12, 2024]

JFO #3191: One (1) limited-service position to the Agency of Human
Services, Department of Health to assess and carry out work related to data on
maternal mortality and sudden unexpected infant deaths. Position requires
quality assurance of data and transfer to federal data tracking systems. Position
is funded through 09/29/2024 through previously approved JFO #1891.

[Received March 12, 2024]

JFO #3190: $900,000.00 to the Agency of Human Services, Department of
Corrections from the U.S. Department of Justice. Funds will enhance the
reentry vocational case management of incarcerated individuals who are
assessed for moderate and above risk of reoffending. The funds include one (1)

limited-service position, Vocational Outreach Project Manager, fully funded
through 9/30/2026.

[Received March 1, 2024]

JFO #3189: $10,000,000.00 to the Agency of Human Services, Department of
Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living from the U.S. Department of
Education. The funds will be used to support the transition of youths with
disabilities from high school to adulthood. The grants will support six (6)
limited-service positions through 9/30/2028 that will work to support
partnerships with all supervisory unions and the agencies focusing on
employment opportunities for adults with disabilities.

[Received March 1, 2024]

JFO #3188: There are two sources of funds related to this request: $50,000.00
from the Vermont Land Trust and $20,000.00 from the Lintilhac Foundation,
all to the Agency of Natural Resources, Department of Forests, Parks and
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Recreation. All funds will go to support the acquisition of a 19-acre property
in Island Pond which will expand the Brighton State Park.

[Received March 4, 2024]

JFO #3187: Two (2) limited-service positions to the Public Service
Department, Vermont Community Broadband Board: Administrative Services
Manager III and Data and Information Project Manager. Positions will carry
out work related to the federal Broadband Equity, Access and Deployment
(BEAD) program. This program has the potential to bring in additional
Broadband investment, provided local applications are successful. Positions
are fully funded through 11/30/2027 and are funded by previously approved
JFO #3136.

[Received February 26, 2024]

JFO #3186: $4,525,801.81 to the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets
from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The majority of funds to be sub-
awards to Vermont's agricultural businesses and organizations to build
resilience in the middle of the food supply chain and to support market
development for small farms and food businesses. Includes full funding for
one (1) limited-service position, Agriculture Development Specialist II and
50% support for one (1) limited-service position, Contracts and Grants
Specialist I. The other 50% for the position will come from already approved
JFO #2982.

[Received February 8, 2024]

JFO #3185: $70,000.00 to the Attorney General’s Office from the Sears
Consumer Protection and Education Fund to improve accessibility and
outreach of the Vermont Consumer Assistance Program to underserved
populations in Vermont.

[Received January 31, 2024]

JFO #3184: Three (3) limited-service positions to the Agency of Human
Services, Department of Health. One (1) Substance Abuse Program Evaluator,
funded through 8/31/28; and one (1) Public Health Specialist II, and one (1)
Family Service Specialist both funded through 9/29/2024. The positions are
fully funded by previously approved JFO requests #3036 and #1891. These
positions will support Vermont's Overdose Data to Action program and the
Maternal Mortality Review Panel.

[Received January 31, 2024]

JFO #3183: $182,500.00 to the Agency of Natural Resources, Department of
Forests, Parks and Recreation. Funds will be used to complete the purchase of
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a conservation easement on a 183-acre parcel of land in Townshend, Vermont
(Peterson Farm). [Note: Remainder of the easement ($82,500) is supported by
a State appropriation agreement between the department and the VHCB.
Closing costs, including department staff time, is funded by already budgeted
federal funds. Ongoing enforcement costs are managed by the department’s
Lands and Facilities Trust Fund. A $15,000.00 stewardship contribution to this
fund will be made by the landowner at the time of the sale.]

[Received January 31, 2024]

JFO #3182: $125,000.00 to Agency of Natural Resources, Department of
Environmental Conservation from the New England Interstate Water Pollution
Control Commission to expand current monitoring of cyanotoxins in Lake
Champlain and Vermont inland lakes.

[Received January 31, 2024]

JFO #3181: $409,960.00 to the Agency of Commerce and Community
Development, Department of Housing and Community Development from the
U.S. Department of the Interior/National Park Service. Funds will be used for
the preservation, repair, and restoration of the Old Constitution House, located
in Windsor, Vermont. The first Constitution of Vermont was adopted on this
site, then known as Elijah West's Tavern, on July 8, 1777. [Note: A State
match of $53,714.00 is accomplished within the agency budget through the
reduction of a fraction of an existing position base and existing capital bill

funds.]
[Received January 31, 2024]

JFO #3180: One (1) limited-service position, Administrative Services
Director 111, to the Agency of Administration, Recovery Office. Position will
ensure that flood recovery projects are integrated with existing state and
federal programs. Will also ensure compliance and tracking of already
awarded grants as well as those anticipated in the wake of the July 2023
flooding event. Position is funded through already approved JFO Request
#3165 as well as Acts 74 (2021) and 185 (2022). The position is fully funded
through 7/31/2027.

[Received January 31, 2024]

JFO #3179: Two (2) limited-service positions. One (1) to the Department of
Mental Health, Project AWARE Lead Coordinator and one (1) to the Agency
of Education, Project AWARE Co-Coordinator. The positions will liaison to
coordinate and expand the state's efforts to develop sustainable infrastructure
for school-based mental health. Both positions are fully funded through
9/29/28 from previous SAMHSA grant award JFO #2934,
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[Received January 26, 2024]

JFO #3178: $456,436.00 to the Agency of Natural Resources, Secretary’s
Office from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Funds will support (1)
limited-service position, Environmental Analyst [V. This position will serve as
administrative lead developing the updated Climate Action Plan with the
Vermont Climate Council and perform added work required by the EPA grant.
Position is funded through 6/30/2027.

[Received January 11, 2024]

JFO #3177: $2,543,564.00 to the Agency of Natural Resources, Secretary’s
Office from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Funding is phase one
of a two-phase funding opportunity aimed to support Vermont with climate
change mitigation planning efforts. A comprehensive climate action plan will
be developed, to overlap with and be synonymous to the required update to
Vermont's Climate Action Plan in 2025.

[Received January 12, 2024]

JFO #3176: $250,000.00 to the Agency of Human Services, Department of
Mental Health from the National Association of State Mental Health Program
Directors. These funds will increase rapid access to behavioral health care by
supporting the peer service component of the mental health urgent care clinic
being established in Chittenden County. This clinic will offer an alternative to
seeking mental health care in emergency departments

[Received January 11, 2024]
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