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ORDERS OF THE DAY

ACTION CALENDAR
Third Reading
H. 55
An act relating to miscellaneous unemployment insurance amendments
H. 110
An act relating to extending the sunset under 30 V.S.A. § 248a
H. 171
An act relating to adult protective services
H. 471

An act relating to technical and administrative changes to Vermont’s tax
laws

Committee Bill for Second Reading
H. 473
An act relating to radiologist assistants

(Rep. Houghton of Essex Junction will speak for the Committee on
Health Care.)

H. 476

An act relating to miscellaneous changes to law enforcement officer
training laws

(Rep. Boyden of Cambridge will speak for the Committee on Government
Operations and Military Affairs.)

Favorable with Amendment
H. 230
An act relating to implementing mechanisms to reduce suicide

Rep. Black of Essex, for the Committee on Health Care, recommends the
bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu
thereof the following:

Sec. 1. FINDINGS
The General Assembly finds:
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(1) More than 700 Vermont residents died of gunshot wounds in the
decade from 2011 to 2020. 88 percent of these deaths were suicide.

(2) Of all the deaths in Vermont involving firearms in 2021, 89 percent
were by suicide and 8 percent were by homicide.

(3) The 2021 suicide rate by all methods in Vermont was 20.3 per
100,000 persons, compared to a national rate of 14.0 per 100,000 persons.
Suicide among Vermont men and boys is 50 percent higher than the national
average.

(4) In 2021, the number of suicides in Vermont was 142, with 83 of
them completed by firearm, or 58 percent.

(5) Rand Corporation research estimates that in 2016, firearms were
present in 47 percent of Vermont homes and in 32 percent of homes in the
United States.

(6) Children are 4.4 times more likely to die by suicide in a home with a
firearm compared to a home without a firearm.

(7) _Persons at greatest risk of suicide in Vermont are men, persons
living in rural areas, persons with a disability, veterans, and members of the

LGBTQ+ community.
Sec. 2. LEGISLATIVE PURPOSE

The purpose of this legislation is to prevent death by suicide by reducing

access to lethal means of firearms. Although there are many other methods for
completing suicide, firearms are unique in their ability to create instantaneous
and irreversible outcomes. Nearly every other commonly used method for
suicide has a high survivability rate. It is extremely rare for someone to
survive a suicide attempt in which a firearm is used. This fact, combined with

the high prevalence of firearms in Vermont, is why this method alone is being
addressed by this bill.

Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 4024 is added to read:
§ 4024. SECURE FIREARMS STORAGE

(a)(1) Prohibition. A person shall not store or keep a firearm within any
premises that are under the person’s custody or control if the person knows or
reasonably should know that a child or prohibited person is likely to gain
access to the firearm unless the person stores or keeps the firearm:

(A) separate from ammunition; and
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(B) in a locked container or equipped with a tamper-resistant

mechanical lock or other safety device, properly engaged so as to render the
firearm inoperable by any person other than the owner or authorized user.
(2) Exceptions. This subsection shall not apply if:

(A) the firearm is carried by or under the control of the owner or
another lawfully authorized user;

(B) a child or prohibited person accesses the firearm as a result of an
illegal entry: or

(C) a child or prohibited person accesses and uses the firearm during
the course of a lawful act of self-defense or defense of another person.

(b) Penalties. A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be:

(1) fined not more than $100.00;
(2) imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than

$1.000.00, or both, if a child or prohibited person gains access to the firearm
and uses it in the commission of a crime or displays it in a threatening manner:
or

(3) imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than

$5.000.00, or both, if a child or prohibited person gains access to the firearm
and uses it to cause death or injury to any person.

(c) Charging discretion. If a person who allegedly violates this section is a
parent or guardian of a child who gains access to a firearm that is used in an

unintentional or self-inflicted shooting that causes death or injury to the child,

the impact of the child’s death or injury on the person who committed the
alleged violation shall be considered by the State’s Attorney when deciding

whether to file criminal charges in the case.
(d) Information distribution.

(1) At any location where a licensed dealer conducts firearm sales or
transfers, the licensed dealer shall conspicuously display a sign containing the
information required by subdivision (2) of this subsection in any area where
the sales or transfers occur. The sign shall be posted so that it can be easily
viewed by persons purchasing or receiving firearms, and the sign shall not be
removed, obscured, or rendered illegible. If the location where the sales or
transfers occur is the premises listed on the dealer’s federal firearms license,
an additional sign shall be placed at or near the entrance to the premises.

(2) _The sign required by subdivision (1) of this subsection shall be at
least eight and one-half inches high by 11 inches wide and shall contain black
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text at least half an inch high against a white background. The sign shall
contain the following text, and no other statements or markings:

“WARNING: Access to a firearm in the home significantly increases the
risk of suicide, death during domestic violence disputes. and the unintentional

death of children, household members, and others. If you or a loved one is
experiencing distress or depression, call the 988 Suicide and Crisis hotline or
text “VT” to 741741.

Vermont law requires gun owners to securely store their firearms
separately from ammunition in their homes and other premises under their
control if a child or person prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms
is likely to gain access to them. Failure to securely store firearms as required

by law may result in criminal prosecution.
Posted pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 4024.”

(e) Definitions. As used in this section:

(1) “Child” means a person under 18 years of age.

(2) “Firearm” has the same meaning as in subsection 4017(d) of this
title.

(3) “Injury” means a harmful effect on an individual’s health, including
the individual’s mental. emotional, or physical health, or a combination of
these.

(4) “Licensed dealer” means a person issued a license as a dealer in
firearms pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 923(a).

(5)_ “Locked container” means a box, case, chest, locker, safe, or other
similar receptacle equipped with a tamper-resistant lock.

(6)  “Prohibited person” means a person who is prohibited from
possessing a firearm by state or federal law or by court order.

Sec. 4. 13 V.S.A. § 4051 is amended to read:
§ 4051. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

* %k sk

(7) “Household member” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1101.
Sec. 5. 13 V.S.A. § 4052 is amended to read:

§ 4052. JURISDICTION AND VENUE

* %k 3k
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(c) Proceedings under this chapter shall be commenced in the county where
the law enforcement agency is located, the county where the family or
household member or the respondent resides, or the county where the events
giving rise to the petition occur.

Sec. 6. 13 V.S.A. § 4053 is amended to read:
§ 4053. PETITION FOR EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDER

(a) A State’s Attorney er, the Office of the Attorney General, or a family
or_household member may file a petition requesting that the court issue an
extreme risk protection order prohibiting a person from purchasing,
possessing, or receiving a dangerous weapon or having a dangerous weapon
within the person’s custody or control. The petitioner shall submit an affidavit
in support of the petition.

* %k 3k

Sec. 7. 13 V.S.A. § 4054 is amended to read:
§ 4054. EMERGENCY RELIEF; TEMPORARY EX PARTE ORDER

(a)(1) A State’s Attorney er, the Office of the Attorney General, or a
family or household member may file a motion requesting that the court issue
an extreme risk protection order ex parte, without notice to the respondent. A
law enforcement officer may notify the court that an ex parte extreme risk
protection order is being requested pursuant to this section, but the court shall
not issue the order until after the motion is submitted.

* %k 3k

Sec. 8. 13 V.S.A. § 4055 is amended to read:
§ 4055. TERMINATION AND RENEWAL MOTIONS

* %k 3k

(b)(1) A State’s Attorney e, the Office of the Attorney General, or a
family or household member may file a motion requesting that the court renew
an extreme risk protection order issued under this section or section 4053 of
this title for an additional period of up to six months. The motion shall be
accompanied by an affidavit and shall be filed not more than 30 days and not
less than 14 days before the expiration date of the order. The motion and
affidavit shall comply with the requirements of subsection 4053(c) of this title,
and the moving party shall have the burden of proof by clear and convincing
evidence.
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Sec. 9. 13 V.S.A. § 4019a is added to read:
§ 4019a. FIREARMS TRANSFERS:; WAITING PERIOD

(a) A person shall not transfer a firearm to another person until 72 hours
after the completion of the background check required by 18 U.S.C. § 922(s)
or section 4019 of this title.

(b) A person who transfers a firearm to another person in violation of

subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned not more than one year or

fined not more than $500.00, or both.

(¢) This section shall not apply to a firearm transfer that does not require a
background check under 18 U.S.C. § 922(s) or section 4019 of this title.

(d) As used in this section, “firearm” has the same meaning as in
subsection 4017(d) of this title.

Sec. 10. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.
(Committee Vote: 7-3-0)

Rep. LaLonde of South Burlington, for the Committee on Judiciary,
recommends that the report of the Committee on Health Care be amended by
striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. FINDINGS
The General Assembly finds:

(1) More than 700 Vermont residents died of gunshot wounds in the

decade from 2011 to 2020. 88 percent of these deaths were suicide.

(2) Of all the deaths in Vermont involving firearms in 2021, 89 percent
were by suicide and eight percent were by homicide.

(3) The 2021 suicide rate by all methods in Vermont was 20.3 per
100.000 persons, compared to a national rate of 14.0 per 100.000 persons.

Suicide among Vermont men and boys is 50 percent higher than the national
average.

(4) In 2021, the number of suicides in Vermont was 142, with 83 of
them completed by firearm, or 58 percent.

(5) Rand Corporation research estimates that in 2016, firearms were
present in 47 percent of Vermont homes and in 32 percent of homes in the
United States.
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(6) Children are 4.4 times more likely to die by suicide in a home with a
firearm compared to a home without a firearm.

(7) _Persons at greatest risk of suicide in Vermont are men, persons
living in rural areas, persons with a disability, veterans, and members of the
LGBTQ+ community.

(8) Extreme risk protection orders have proven successful in situations
where other protective orders, mental health proceedings, or criminal charges
could not address the risk presented. In fiscal year 2022, 18 extreme risk
protection order petitions were filed statewide. In at least five of these cases, a
temporary or final order was based on a finding that the respondent had
“threatened or attempted suicide or serious bodily harm.” None of the
respondents subject to an extreme risk prevention order are known to have
died by suicide.

(9) Emphasis on the eight percent of firearm deaths by homicide in the
State of Vermont does not portray the full impact of Vermont firearms on
public safety. Firearms purchased in Vermont and transferred, lawfully or
unlawfully, out of state contribute to violent crime in other states, including
homicide. A report prepared by the Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco,
Firearms, and Explosives revealed that in 2016 there were 51 traces of
firearms involved in a homicide to the State of Vermont.

(10) The National Firearms Commerce and Trafficking Assessment

(NFCTA): Crime Guns - Volume Two report prepared by the Federal Bureau
of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) revealed that between
2017 and 2021, 6.333 firearms that were used in a crime were traced to
Vermont. Of the 1,903 firearms that could be traced to a known purchaser,
65 percent were recovered from someone other than the purchaser, and
64 percent were recovered outside the State of Vermont. Over 750 of these
firearms were recovered in our neighboring states of New York,

Massachusetts, and New Hampshire.

(11)  Vermont’s existing laws are not successfully deterring straw
purchases where an individual lawfully acquires and then unlawfully transfers
a firearm to a prohibited person or someone unable to acquire a firearm in the
State of Vermont. Waiting periods are among the policy options available to
deter straw purchases and to allow greater opportunity for law enforcement
detection and response to such attempts.

(12) Waiting period laws, which create a buffer between the time of
gun purchase and gun acquisition, can help to prevent impulsive acts of gun
violence. One study found that waiting period laws that delay the purchase of
firearms by a few days can reduce gun homicides by roughly 17 percent.
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Sec. 2. LEGISLATIVE PURPOSE

The purpose of this legislation is to prevent death by suicide by reducing

access to lethal means of firearms. Although there are many other methods for
completing suicide, firearms are unique in their ability to create instantaneous

and irreversible outcomes. Nearly every other commonly used method for
suicide has a high survivability rate. It is extremely rare for someone to
survive a suicide attempt in which a firearm is used. This fact, combined with

the high prevalence of firearms in Vermont, is why this method alone is being
addressed by this bill.

Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 4024 is added to read:
§ 4024. SECURE FIREARMS STORAGE

(a)(1) Prohibition. A person shall not, within any premises that are under
the person’s custody or control, store or keep a firearm if the person knows or
reasonably should know that a child or prohibited person is likely to gain
access to the firearm, unless the person stores or keeps the firearm:

(A) separate from ammunition; and
B) in a locked container or equipped with a tamper-resistant

mechanical lock or other safety device, properly engaged so as to render the
firearm inoperable by any person other than the owner or authorized user.

(2) Exception. This subsection shall not apply if the firearm is carried

by or within such close proximity that it can be readily retrieved and used by
the owner or another authorized user.

(3) Conduct not a violation. It shall not be a violation of this subsection

(A) a child or prohibited person accesses the firearm as a result of an
illegal entry: or

(B) a child or prohibited person accesses and uses the firearm during
the course of a lawful act of self-defense or defense of another person.

(b) Penalties. A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be:

1 imprisoned not more than one vear or fined not more than
$1.000.00, or both, if a child or prohibited person gains access to the firearm

and uses it in the commission of a crime, or displays it in a threatening
manner; or

2) imprisoned not more than five vyears or fined not more than
$5.000.00, or both, if a child or prohibited person gains access to the firearm
and uses it to cause death or serious bodily injury to any person.
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(c) Charging discretion. If a person who allegedly violates this section is a

parent or guardian of a child who gains access to a firearm that is used in an

unintentional or self-inflicted shooting that causes death or serious bodily
injury to the child, the impact of the child’s death or serious bodily injury on

the person who committed the alleged violation may be considered by the
State’s Attorney when deciding whether to file criminal charges in the case.

(d) Information distribution.

(1) At any location where a licensed dealer conducts firearm sales or
transfers, the licensed dealer shall conspicuously display a sign containing the
information required by subdivision (2) of this subsection in any area where
the sales or transfers occur. The sign shall be posted so that it can be easily
viewed by persons purchasing or receiving firearms, and the sign shall not be
removed, obscured, or rendered illegible. If the location where the sales or
transfers occur is the premises listed on the dealer’s federal firearms license,
an additional sign shall be placed at or near the entrance to the premises.

(2) _The sign required by subdivision (1) of this subsection shall be at

least eight and one-half inches high by 11 inches wide and shall contain black
text at least half an inch high against a white background. The sign shall
contain the following text, and no other statements or markings:

“WARNING: Access to a firearm in the home significantly increases the
risk of suicide, death during domestic violence disputes. and the unintentional

death of children, household members, and others. If you or a loved one is
experiencing distress or depression, call the 988 Suicide and Crisis hotline or
text “VT” to 741741.

Vermont law requires gun owners to securely store their firearms

separately from ammunition in their homes and other premises under their
control if a person prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms or a

child is likely to gain access to them. Failure to securely store firearms as
required by law may result in criminal prosecution.

Posted pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 4024.”

(e) Definitions. As used in this section:

(1) “Authorized user” means a person 18 years of age or older who is
not a prohibited person and who has been authorized to carry or use the
firearm by the owner.

(2) “Child” means a person under 18 years of age.

(3) “Firearm” has the same meaning as in subsection 4017(d) of this
title.
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(4) “Licensed dealer” means a person issued a license as a dealer in
firearms pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 923(a).

(5)_ “Locked container” means a box, case, chest, locker, safe, or other
similar receptacle equipped with a tamper-resistant lock.

(6)  “Prohibited person” means a person who is prohibited from
possessing a firearm by state or federal law or by court order.

(7) “Serious bodily injury” has the same meaning as in subdivision
1021(a)(2) of this title.

Sec. 4. 13 V.S.A. § 4051 is amended to read:
§ 4051. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

* %k sk

(7) _“Household member” means persons who are living together, are

sharing occupancy of a dwelling, are engaged in a sexual relationship, or
minors or adults who are dating. “Dating” means a social relationship of a

romantic nature. Factors that the court may consider when determining
whether a dating relationship exists include:

(A) the nature of the relationship;

(B) the length of time the relationship has existed: and

(C) _the frequency of interaction between the parties.
Sec. 5. 13 V.S.A. § 4053 is amended to read:
§ 4053. PETITION FOR EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDER

(a) A State’s Attorney er, the Office of the Attorney General, or a family
or_household member may file a petition requesting that the court issue an
extreme risk protection order prohibiting a person from purchasing,
possessing, or receiving a dangerous weapon or having a dangerous weapon
within the person’s custody or control. The petitioner shall submit an affidavit
in support of the petition.

(b)(1) Except as provided in section 4054 of this title, the court shall grant
relief only after notice to the respondent and a hearing. The petitioner shall
have the burden of proof by clear and convincing evidence.

(2) When a petition has been filed by a family or household member,

the State’s Attorney or Attorney General shall be substituted as the plaintiff in

the action upon the issuance of an ex-parte order under section 4054 of this

title or at least seven days prior to the hearing for a petition filed under this
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section. Upon substitution of the State’s Attorney or Attorney General as the
plaintiff, the family or household member shall no longer be a party.

* %k 3k

(d)(1) The court shall hold a hearing within 14 days after a petition is filed
under this section. Notice of the hearing shall be served pursuant to section
4056 of this title concurrently with the petition and any ex parte order issued
under section 4054 of this title.

(2) If a petition is filed by a family or household member under this

section, the court shall transmit a copy of the petition to the State’s Attorney or
the Attorney General, along with all supporting documents and the notice of
the initial status conference or hearing.

* sk 3k

Sec. 6. 13 V.S.A. § 4054 is amended to read:
§ 4054. EMERGENCY RELIEF; TEMPORARY EX PARTE ORDER

(a)(1) A State’s Attorney er, the Office of the Attorney General, or a
family or household member may file a motion requesting that the court issue
an extreme risk protection order ex parte, without notice to the respondent. A
law enforcement officer may notify the court that an ex parte extreme risk
protection order is being requested pursuant to this section, but the court shall
not issue the order until after the motion is submitted.

* sk 3k

(b)(1)(A) The court shall grant the motion and issue a temporary ex parte
extreme risk protection order if it finds by a preponderance of the evidence
that at the time the order is requested the respondent poses an imminent and
extreme risk of causing harm to himself—er—herself themselves or another
person by purchasing, possessing, or receiving a dangerous weapon or by
having a dangerous weapon within the respondent’s custody or control. The
petitioner shall cause a copy of the order to be served on the respondent
pursuant to section 4056 of this title, and the court shall deliver a copy to the
holding station.

(B) If a motion is filed by a family or household member under this

section and the court has issued an ex parte order, the court shall transmit a
copy of the motion to the State’s Attorney or the Attorney General, along with
all supporting documents and the notice of the initial status conference or

hearing.
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Sec. 7. 13 V.S.A. § 4019a is added to read:
§ 4019a. FIREARMS TRANSFERS:; WAITING PERIOD

(a) A person shall not transfer a firearm to another person until 72 hours
after the licensed dealer facilitating the transfer is provided with a unique
identification number for the transfer by the National Instant Criminal
Background Check System (NICS), or seven business days have elapsed since
the dealer contacted NICS to initiate the background check, whichever occurs
first.

(b) A person who transfers a firearm to another person in violation of

subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned not more than one year or
fined not more than $500.00, or both.

(¢) This section shall not apply to a firearm transfer that does not require a
background check under 18 U.S.C. § 922(s) or section 4019 of this title.

(d) As used in this section, “firearm” has the same meaning as in
subsection 4017(d) of this title.

(e)(1) This section shall not apply to a firearms transfer at a gun show.

(2) As used in this subsection, “gun show” means a function sponsored

by:
(A) a national, state, or local organization, devoted to the collection,

competitive use, or other sporting use of firearms; or

(B) an organization or association that sponsors functions devoted to

the collection, competitive use, or other sporting use of firearms in the
community.
(3) This subsection shall be repealed on July 1, 2024.

Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2023.
(Committee Vote: 7-4-0)

H. 288
An act relating to liability for the sale of alcoholic beverages

Rep. Goslant of Northfield, for the Committee on Judiciary, recommends
the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in
lieu thereof the following:

* % % L jquor Liability * * *

Sec. 1. 7 V.S.A. § 501 is amended to read:
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§ 501. UNLAWFUL SALE OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES; CIVIL
ACTION FOR DAMAGES

(a) Action for damages. —ehild; tat; 5

have a right of action iy his or her own name. jointhy or severally. An injurcd
person may bring an action in the person’s own name pursuant to this
subsection.

(1) Unlawful sale. An injured person shall have a right of action against
any persen—or—persons licensee who have caused in whole or in part the
intoxication of the intoxicated person by selling or furnishing alcoholic
beverages:

H(A) to a minor as defined in section 2 of this title; or
2)—to-a-person-apparently-under the-influence-of-aleohok;

3)}(B) to a person after legal serving hours:-er

(2) Negligent service. An injured person may bring an action against
any licensee who negligently furnishes alcoholic beverages to a person:

(A) apparently under the influence of alcohol:; or

(B) who it would be reasonable to expect would be under the
influence of alcohol as a result of the amount of alcoholic beverages served by
the licensee to that person.

(3) Negligence: prudent person. A licensee’s conduct is negligent under
this subsection if the licensee knows. or if a reasonable and prudent person in

similar circumstances would know, that the individual being served is
intoxicated.

(4) Licensee’s knowledge; individual consumption. A licensee is not
chargeable with knowledge of an individual’s off-premises consumption of
alcoholic beverages unless the individual’s appearance and behavior, or other
facts known to the licensee, would put a reasonable and prudent person on
notice of the individual’s consumption of alcoholic beverages.

(b) Survival of action; joint action. Upon the death of either party, the
action and right of action shall survive to or against the party’s executor or
administrator. The party injured or his-er-her the party’s legal representatives
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may brmg e1ther a Jomt actlon agamst the person 1ntox1cated— person and the

maybe—hab%e—uﬂéer—subseeﬁeﬂ—(e)—eilthrs—see&eﬂ— hcensee or a separate actlon
against either er-any of them.

{¢) Landlord lability.

[Repealed.]

(h) Definitions. As used in this section:

(1) “Apparently under the influence of alcohol” means a state of
intoxication accompanied by a perceptible act or series of actions whieh that
present signs of intoxication.

(2) “Injured person” means a spouse, child, guardian, employer, or other
person, other than the intoxicated person, who is injured in person, property, or
means of support by an intoxicated person or in consequence of the
intoxication of any person.

(3) “Intoxicated person” means an intoxicated individual who caused
Injury to a person, a person’s property, or a person’s means of support.

(4) “Licensee” means the holder of a first-, third-, or fourth-class
license under this title, and the license holder’s employees, who sells or
furnishes alcohol to an intoxicated person.
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(5) “Social host” means a person who is not the holder of a license or
permit under this title and is not required to hold a license or permit under this
title.

Sec. 2. 7 V.S.A. § 501 is amended to read:
§ 501. UNLAWFUL SALE OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES; CIVIL
ACTION FOR DAMAGES

* sk 3k

(1) Liability insurance required. The Department of Liquor and Lottery, in
consultation with the Department of Financial Regulation, shall adopt rules
governing minimum policy requirements, including coverage amounts, for
liquor liability insurance. Prior to the issuance or renewal of a first-, third-, or
fourth-class license, the Department of Liquor and Lottery shall require each

licensee or applicant to carry liquor liability insurance that meets minimum
coverage requirements adopted by the Department.

* * * Notice to Landlord of Licensee Violations * * *
Sec. 3. 7 V.S.A. § 104 is amended to read:
§ 104. DUTIES; AUTHORITY TO RESOLVE ALLEGED VIOLATIONS

The Board shall supervise and manage the sale of spirits and fortified wines
within the State in accordance with the provisions of this title, and through the
Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery shall:

(1)(A) Ensure that the laws relating to alcohol and alcoholic beverages
are enforced, using for that purpose as much of the monies annually available
to the Board of Liquor and Lottery as may be necessary.

* %k 3k

(E) Ensure that the owner of a premises leased by a licensee is
notified of licensee violations of alcoholic beverage laws.

* sk 3k

* * * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATES
(a) This section and Secs. 1 and 3 shall take effect on July 1, 2023.
(b) Sec. 2 shall take effect on July 1, 2024.
(Committee Vote: 11-0-0)
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Favorable
H. 178

An act relating to commissioning Department of Corrections personnel as
notaries public

Rep. Waters Evans of Charlotte, for the Committee on Government
Operations and Military Affairs, recommends the bill ought to pass.

(Committee Vote: 12-0-0)

Rep. Taylor of Colchester, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass.

(Committee Vote: 11-0-1)

NOTICE CALENDAR
Committee Bill for Second Reading
H. 481
An act relating to public health initiatives to address death by suicide
(Rep. Cina of Burlington will speak for the Committee on Health Care.)
H. 482

An act relating to Vermont Criminal Justice Council recommendations for
law enforcement officer training

(Rep. Waters Evans of Charlotte will speak for the Committee on
Government Operations and Military Affairs.)

H. 483

An act relating to the accountability and oversight of approved independent
schools that are eligible to receive public tuition

(Rep. Conlon of Cornwall will speak for the Committee on Education.)
Favorable with Amendment
H. 31
An act relating to aquatic nuisance control

Rep. Bongartz of Manchester, for the Committee on Environment and
Energy, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. AQUATIC NUISANCE CONTROL STUDY COMMITTEE;
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REPORT

(a) Creation. The Aquatic Nuisance Control Study Committee is created to
assess the environmental and public health effects of the use of pesticides,
chemicals other than pesticides, biological controls, and other controls in
comparison to the efficacy of their use in controlling aquatic nuisances.

(b) Membership. The Aquatic Nuisance Control Study Committee shall be
composed of the following members:

(1) two current members of the House of Representatives, who shall be
appointed by the Speaker of the House;

(2) two current members of the Senate, who shall be appointed by the
Committee on Committees;

(3) the Commissioner of Health or designee;

(4) a scientist from the Department of Fish and Wildlife, appointed by
the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife: and

(5) a scientist from the Department of Environmental Conservation,
appointed by the Commissioner of Environmental Conservation.

(c) Powers and duties. The Aquatic Nuisance Control Study Committee
shall submit to the Vermont General Assembly recommendations regarding

whether and when pesticides, chemicals other than pesticides, or biological
controls should be used to control aquatic nuisances in Vermont. The

recommendations of the Committee shall include:

(1) a summary of the use of pesticides, chemicals other than pesticides,

and biological controls in the lakes and ponds of Vermont since January 1.

2000, including the types of pesticides, chemicals other than pesticides, and
biological controls approved for use and why they were approved instead of

nonchemical controls;

(2) an assessment of the use of pesticides, chemicals other than
pesticides, or biological controls on the nontarget environment or nontarget
species; and

(3) recommended legislative changes to the aquatic nuisance control

requirements under 10 V.S.A. chapter 50 to:

(A) implement the use of pesticides, chemicals other than pesticides,
or biological controls in a more precautionary manner that ensures the

protection of State waters and is designed to protect fish, reptiles, amphibians,
and all other aquatic biota;
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(B) establish the appropriate standard for approval of the use of
pesticides, chemicals other than pesticides, and biological controls for aquatic
nuisance control;

(C) amend the process for the application of an aquatic nuisance
control permit in a manner that improves the opportunity for interested parties
to participate in the permitting process and that ensures full transparency in the
permitting process; and

(D) provide other changes that the Study Committee determines are

necessary or appropriate for implementation of effective aquatic nuisance
control in the State.

(d) Assistance. The Aquatic Nuisance Control Study Committee shall have

the administrative, technical, and legal assistance of the Agency of Natural
Resources.

(e) Report. On or before December 15, 2023, the Agquatic Nuisance
Control Study Committee shall submit a written report to the House

Committee on Environment and Energy and the Senate Committee on Natural
Resources and Energy with its findings and recommendations.
(f) Meetings.

(1) The Commissioner of Environmental Conservation or designee shall

call the first meeting of the Aquatic Nuisance Control Study Committee to
occur on or before July 31, 2023.

(2) The Committee shall select a chair from among its members at the
first meeting.

(3) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Aquatic Nuisance Control Study Committee shall cease to exist
on April 1, 2024.

(g) Compensation and reimbursement. For attendance at meetings during

adjournment of the General Assembly, a legislative member of the Aquatic

Nuisance Control Study Committee serving in the member’s capacity as a
legislator shall be entitled to per diem compensation and reimbursement of

expenses pursuant to 2 V.S.A. § 23 for not more than eight meetings. These

payments shall be made from monies appropriated to the General Assembly.

(h) Definitions. As used in this section:

(1) “Aquatic nuisance” has the same meaning as in 10 V.S.A. § 1452.

(2) “Pesticide” has the same meaning as “‘economic poison” in 6 V.S.A.
§ 911.
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Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.
(Committee Vote: 8-2-1)

Rep. Ode of Burlington, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the
Committee on Environment and Energy.

(Committee Vote: 11-1-0)
H. 66
An act relating to paid family and medical leave insurance

Rep. Chesnut-Tangerman of Middletown Springs, for the Committee on
General and Housing, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 21 V.S.A. § 471 is amended to read:
§ 471. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

(1) “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Labor.

(2) “Domestic partner” has the same meaning as in 17 V.S.A. § 2414.

(3) “Domestic violence” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.
(4) “Employer” means teivi ; ization;

s

a person who for the purposes of parental leave and safe leave employs 10 or
more individuals who are employed for an average of at least 30 hours per
week during a year and for the purposes of family leave employs 15 or more
individuals for an average of at least 30 hours per week during a year.

2)(5) “Employee” means a person who, in consideration of direct or
indirect gain or profit, has been continuously employed by the same employer
for a period of one year for an average of at least 30 hours per week. For
purposes of safe leave only, “employee” means a person who in consideration
of direct or indirect gain or profit, has been continuously employed by the
same employer for a period of six months for an average of at least 20 hours

per week.
3)(6) “Family leave” means a leave of absence from employment by an
employee whe-w - emplove ol o .




for one of the following reason:

(A) the serious #Hness health condition of the employee; or

(B) the serlous ﬂ-Lness health condltlon of the employee ] ehﬂd—

pafeﬂt—ef—theempleye%s—speﬁse family member

)(7) “Parental leave” means a leave of absence from employment by

éuﬂﬁg—the—yeaf for one of the followmg reasons:
(A) the employee’s pregnancy;

(B) recovery from childbirth or miscarriage;

A)(C) the birth of the employee’s child and to care for or bond with
the child within one year after the child’s birth; or

B)D) the initial placement of a child +6 18 years of age or younger
with the employee for the purpose of adoption or foster care and to care for or
bond with the child within one year after the placement for adoption or foster
carc.

(8) “Family member” means:

(A) regardless of age, an employee’s biological, adopted, or foster
child; an employee’s stepchild or legal ward; a child of the employee’s spouse
or civil union or domestic partner; a child to whom the employee stands in
loco parentis; or an individual to whom the employee stood in loco parentis
when the individual was under 18 years of age;

(B)(1) a parent of an employee or an employee’s spouse or civil
union or domestic partner, regardless of whether the relationship to the
employee or employee’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner is a
biological, foster, adoptive, or step relationship;

(i1) a legal guardian of an employee or employee’s spouse or civil
union or domestic partner: or

(ii1) a person who stands in loco parentis for the employee or who
stood in loco parentis when the employee or employee’s spouse or civil union
or domestic partner was under 18 vears of age;

(C) A person to whom the employee is legally married under the
laws of any state or a civil union or domestic partner of an employee:
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(D) A grandparent, grandchild, or sibling of the employee or the

employee’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner, regardless of whether
the relationship to the employee or the employee’s spouse or civil union or
domestic partner is a biological, foster, adoptive, or step relationship:; or

(E) As shown by the employee, any other individual with whom the
employee has a significant personal bond that is or is like a family
relationship, regardless of biological or legal relationship under the totality of
the circumstances surrounding the relationship, including:

(i) evidence of shared financial responsibility, such as a shared
lease, common ownership of property, joint liability for bills, and beneficiary
designations;

(i1) evidence of responsibility for the other’s personal well-being,

including emergency contact designations or an advance directive, as that term
is defined pursuant to 18 V.S.A. § 9701;

(ii1) evidence showing an expectation of care created by the
relationship or the prior provision of care, or both:

(iv) cohabitation for a period of at least six months or geographic
proximity; and
(v) other similar evidence demonstrating a significant personal

bond.

(9) “Health care provider” means a licensed health care provider or a
health care provider as defined pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 825.125.

(10) “In loco parentis” means a relationship in which an individual has
day-to-day responsibilities to care for and financially support a child.

(11) “Safe leave” means a leave of absence from employment by an
employee because:

(A) the employee or the employee’s family member is a victim or
alleged victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking;

(B) the employee is using the leave for one of the following reasons
related to the domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking:

(i) to seek or obtain medical care, counseling, or social or legal
services, either for themselves or for a family member:;
(i1) to recover from injuries;

(iii) to participate in safety planning, either for themselves or for a
family member;
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(iv) to relocate or secure safe housing, either for themselves or for
a family member:; or

(v) to meet with a State’s Attorney or law enforcement officer;

and

(C) the employee is not the perpetrator or alleged perpetrator of the
domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.

5)(12) “Serious #Hness health condition” means;

(A) an accident, illness, injury, disease, or physical or mental
condition that:

A1) poses imminent danger of death;

B)(ii)) requires inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential
medical care facility; or

€6)(iii)) requires continuing i-heme—eare—under—the—direction—of
treatment by a phystetan health care provider; or

(B)  rehabilitation from an accident, illness, injury, disease, or
physical or mental condition described in subdivision (A) of this subdivision
(12), including treatment for substance use disorder.

(13) “Sexual assault” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.

(14) “Stalking” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.
Sec. 2. 21 V.S.A. § 472 is amended to read:

§ 472. LEAVE

(a)(1) During any 12-month period, an employee shall be entitled to take
unpaid leave for a period not to exceed 12 weeks:

leave;—during—the—employee’s—pregnaney—and

2)B) for family leave;—for-the-serious—iHness—of-the-employee—or—the

5 Cl O D10 O

(2) In addition to the leave provided pursuant to subdivision (1) of this
subsection, during any 12-month period an employee shall be entitled to take
unpaid leave for a period not to exceed 12 weeks for safe leave.
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(b) During the leave, at the employee’s option, the employee may use
accrued sick leave er, vacation leave ef, any other accrued paid leave, net-te
exeeed-six-weeks or short-term disability insurance or other insurance benefits.
Utilization of accrued paid leave or insurance benefits shall not extend the
leave provided herein by this section.

* %k sk

(d) The employer shall post and maintain in a conspicuous place in and
about each of his-er-her its places of business printed notices of the provisions
of this subchapter on forms provided by the Commissioner of Labor.

(e)(1) An employee shall give the employee’s employer reasonable written
notice of intent to take leave under this subehapter section. Notice shall
include the date the leave is expected to commence and the estimated duration
of the leave.

(2) In the case of the adoption or birth of a child, an employer shall not
require that notice be given more than six weeks prior to the anticipated
commencement of the leave.

(3)  In the case of an unanticipated serious health condition, a
miscarriage, an unanticipated need for safe leave, or a premature birth, the

employee shall give the employer notice of the commencement of the leave as
soon as practicable.

(4)(A) In the case of serious illness health condition of the employee or
a member of the employee’s family, an employer may require certification

from a physician to verify the condition and the amount and necessity for the
leave requested.

(B) An employer may require an employee to provide documentation
of the need for safe leave. An employee may provide documentation from any
one of the following sources:

(1) a court or a law enforcement or other government agency:;

(ii)) a domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking assistance

program;
(ii1) a legal. clerical, medical, or other professional from whom

the employee, or the employee’s family member, received counseling or other
assistance concerning domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking; or

(iv) _a self-certification of the employee’s, or the employee’s
family member’s, status as a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or

stalking, signed under penalty of perjury, on a standard form adopted for that
purpose by:
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(D) _a federal or State government entity, including the Vermont
Department for Children and Families: or

(I) a nonprofit organization that provides support services to

protected tenants.

(C) An employer shall not disclose any private medical information
or information relating to a safe leave that the employer receives pursuant to
this subdivision (4) except to the extent the disclosure is permitted by law and:

(1) consented to by the employee in writing;

(i1) required pursuant to a court order; or

(ii1) required pursuant to State or federal law.

(5) An employee may return from leave earlier than estimated upon
approval of the employer.

(6) An employee shall provide reasonable notice to the employer of his
er-her the need to extend leave to the extent provided by this chapter.

(f) Upon return from leave taken under this subchapter, an employee shall
be offered the same or comparable job at the same level of compensation,
employment benefits, seniority, or any other term or condition of the
employment existing on the day leave began. This subehapter subsection shall
not apply if, prior to requesting leave, the employee had been given notice or
had given notice that the employment would terminate. This subsection shall
not apply if the employer can demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence
that:

(1) during the period of leave the employee’s job would have been
terminated or the employee laid off for reasons unrelated to the leave or the
condition for which the leave was granted; or

(2) the employee performed unique services and hiring a permanent
replacement during the leave, after giving reasonable notice to the employee of
intent to do so, was the only alternative available to the employer to prevent
substantial and grievous economic injury to the employer’s operation.

(g) An employer may adopt a leave policy more generous than the leave
policy provided by this subchapter. Nothing in this subchapter shall be
construed to diminish an employer’s obligation to comply with any collective
bargaining agreement or any employment benefit program or plan whieh that
provides greater leave rights than the rights provided by this subchapter. A
collective bargaining agreement or employment benefit program or plan may
not diminish rights provided by this subchapter. Netwithstanding—the




(h) Except for the serious tHness health condition of the employee or safe

leave when the employee is the victim or alleged victim, an employee who
does not return to employment with the employer who provided the leave shall
return to the employer the value of any compensation that the employer paid to
or on behalf of the employee during the leave, except payments for accrued

sickleave—or—vacation leave. An employer may elect to waive the rights
provided pursuant to this subsection.

Sec. 3. 21 V.S.A. § 471 is amended to read:
§ 471. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

* %k sk

(4) “Employer means a person who fer—the—ptﬁpeses—ef—pafei&al—lewe

heufs—per—weeleéuﬂng—a—year eleovs one or more 1nd1v1dua1s in Vermont

(5) “Employee” means a person whos:

(A) in consideration of direct or indirect gain or profit, has been
continuously employed by the same employer:

(i) for a period of one year for an average of at least 30 hours per
week:; or

('_) For purposes of safe leave only, —emp{eyeelmeans—a—perseﬂ

emp{eyed—by—ﬂ&e—same—enﬂa{eyer for a perrod of Six months for an average of at

least 20 hours per week; or

(B) is employed by an employer and, during at least two of the last
four completed calendar quarters, has received payments with respect to
services performed for any employer from which the employer is required to
withhold Vermont income tax pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 151, subchapter 4.

(6) “Family leave” means a leave of absence from employment by an
employee for one of the following reasons:

(A) the serious health condition of the employee;
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(B) the serious health condition of the employee’s family member.

A)(C) the employee’s pregnancy;

B)D) recovery from childbirth or miscarriage;

(S)(E) the birth of the employee’s child and to care for or bond with
the child within one year after the child’s birth; or

B)(F) the initial placement of a child 18 years of age or younger
with the employee for the purpose of adoption or foster care and to care for or
bond with the child within one year after the placement for adoption or foster
care.

8)7) “Family member” means:

* %k 3k

9(8) “Health care provider” means a licensed health care provider or a
health care provider as defined pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 825.125.

0)(9) “In loco parentis” means a relationship in which an individual
has day-to-day responsibilities to care for and financially support a child.

“bH(10) “Safe leave” means a leave of absence from employment by an
employee because:

* %k 3k

“2)(11) “Serious health condition” means:
* %k 3k
“3)(12) “Sexual assault” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.
4(13) “Stalking” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.
Sec. 4. 21 V.S.A. § 472 is amended to read:
§ 472. LEAVE

(a)(1) During any 12-month period, an employee shall be entitled to take
unpaid leave for a period not to exceed 12 weeks:

A)—ferparental- eave:or
B) for family leave.
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(2) In addition to the leave provided pursuant to subdivision (1) of this
subsection, during any 12-month period an employee shall be entitled to take
unpaid leave for a period not to exceed 12 weeks for safe leave.

(b) During the leave, at the employee’s option, the employee may use
accrued sick leave, vacation leave, any other accrued paid leave, Family and
Medical Leave Insurance benefits pursuant to chapter 26 of this Title, or short-
term disability insurance or other insurance benefits. Utilization of accrued
paid leave, Family and Medical Leave Insurance benefits, or insurance benefits
shall not extend the leave provided by this section.

* %k sk

Sec. 5. 21 V.S.A. chapter 26 is added to read:
CHAPTER 26. FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE INSURANCE
§ 2051. DIVISION OF FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE; DIRECTOR

(a) The Division of Family and Medical Leave is established in the Office

of the Treasurer to administer the Family and Medical Leave Insurance
Program established pursuant to this chapter.

(b)(1) The Treasurer shall appoint a Director of the Division. The Director
shall be a full-time State employee and exempt from the classified system and
shall serve at the pleasure of the Treasurer.

(2) The Director shall be responsible for:
(A) the operation and supervision of the Division of Family and

Medical Leave;

(B) the implementation of this chapter and any rules adopted
pursuant to section 2063 of this chapter; and

(C) employing staff as necessary to implement and carry out the
provisions of this chapter.

§ 2052. FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE INSURANCE PROGRAM;
SPECIAL FUND

(a) The Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program is established within

the Division of Family and Medical Leave for the provision of Family and
Medical Leave Insurance benefits to qualified individuals pursuant to the

provisions of this chapter.

(b) The Family and Medical Leave Insurance Special Fund is created

pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 7, subchapter 5. The Fund may be expended by
the Director and the Commissioner of Taxes for the administration of the
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Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program, for the payment of benefits
provided pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, and for necessary costs

incurred in administering the Fund. All interest earned on Fund balances shall
be credited to the Fund.

(¢) The Fund shall consist of:

(1) contributions collected pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter;

(2) _amounts recovered or collected pursuant to sections 2061 and 2062
of this chapter; and

(3) any amounts appropriated to the Fund.

(d) The Director may seek and accept grants from any source, public or
private, to be dedicated for deposit into the Fund.

§ 2053. CONTRIBUTIONS:; RATE; COLLECTION

(a) The following contribution rates shall apply to employees and enrolled
self-employed individuals.

(1)(A) Contributions for employees shall equal 0.55 percent of each
employee’s covered wages.

(B) An employer may deduct and withhold up to one half of the
contribution required for each employee from the employee’s covered wages
and shall remit the full amount of the contribution required for the employee to
the Department of Taxes pursuant to the provisions of subsection (¢) of this
section.

(C) _As used in this subdivision (1), the term “covered wages” means
all wages paid to an employee by an employer up to an amount equal to two
times the maximum Social Security Contribution and Benefit Base.

(2)(A)  Contributions from enrolled self-employed individuals shall
equal 0.55 percent of each enrolled self-employed individual’s covered work
income.

(B) As used in this subdivision (2), the term “covered work income”
means self-employment work income earned by an enrolled self-employed
individual in Vermont up to an amount equal to two times the maximum Social
Security Contribution and Benefit Base.

(b)(1) Annually, on or before October 1, the Director shall establish the

rate of contribution for the coming year. The Director shall annually set the
rate so that it generates contributions in an amount equal to the sum of the
projected amount necessary to provide benefits pursuant to this chapter during
the next calendar year plus a reserve equal to at least nine months of the
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projected benefit payments for the next calendar year plus the projected cost to
administer the Program during the next calendar year minus any balance

projected to be remaining in the Fund from the prior calendar year.

(2) The rate of contribution shall be the same for the covered wages of
employees and the covered work income of enrolled self-employed individuals
and shall not exceed one percent.

(3) In the event that the Director determines that the rate of contribution
for any calendar year shall be one percent, the Director shall, not more than 14
days after making the determination, submit a written report to the Joint Fiscal
Committee, the House Committees on Appropriations, on General and
Housing, and on Ways and Means, and the Senate Committees on
Appropriations, on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs, and
on Finance that provides a detailed explanation of the reason for the increase,
whether the rate is sufficient to pay the projected benefits and administrative
costs during the next calendar year while maintaining the required reserve, the

solvency of the Fund, and recommended legislative action to reduce the rate of
contribution in the following calendar year.

(c)(1) The Commissioner of Taxes shall collect the contributions required

pursuant to this section and shall deposit them into the Fund.

(2)(A) Employers shall withhold contributions pursuant to subdivision
(a)(1) of this section from wages that employers pay to employees as if the
contributions were Vermont income tax subject to the withholding
requirements of 32 V.S.A. chapter 151, subchapter 4. The administrative and
enforcement provisions of 32 V.S.A. chapter 151 shall apply to the
contribution and withholding requirements under this section as if the
contributions due pursuant to subdivision (a)(1) of this section were Vermont
income tax.

(B) Emplovers shall be responsible for the full amount of any unpaid
contributions due pursuant to subdivision (a)(1) of this section.

(3) Enrolled self-employed individuals shall make installment payments

of estimated contributions pursuant to subdivision (a)(2) of this section from
the enrolled self-employed individual’s covered work income as if the
contributions were Vermont income tax subject to the estimated payment
requirements of 32 V.S.A. chapter 151, subchapter 5. The administrative and
enforcement provisions of 32 V.S.A. chapter 151 shall apply to the estimated
payment requirement under this section as if the contributions due pursuant to
subdivision (a)(2) of this section were Vermont income tax.
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(d) _An employer with an approved private plan pursuant to section 2059 of
this chapter shall not be required to withhold and pay contributions pursuant to
this section.

§ 2054. BENEFITS

(a)(1) A qualified individual shall be permitted to receive a total of not
more than 12 weeks of benefits in a 12-month period for family and medical
leave and safe leave taken by the employee.

(2) A qualified individual may use up to two out of the 12 weeks of
benefits available to the individual during a 12-month period for bereavement
leave.

(b) A qualified individual awarded benefits under this section shall receive

100 percent of the individual’s average weekly earnings or an amount equal to

the State average weekly wage determined pursuant to section 1338 of this
title, whichever is less.

(c¢) A qualified individual may receive benefits for an intermittent leave or
leave for a portion of a week. The benefit amount for an intermittent leave or
leave for a portion of a week shall be calculated in increments of one full day
or one-fifth of the qualified individual’s weekly benefit amount.

(d) Benefits paid pursuant to this chapter may be used as wage replacement

for a leave taken pursuant to section 472 of this title or the federal Family and
Medical Leave Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 2611-2654. The receipt of benefits paid

pursuant to this chapter shall not extend the leave provided pursuant to
section 472 of this title or the federal Family and Medical Leave Act.

§ 2055. ELIGIBILITY

An individual shall be eligible to receive benefits pursuant to the provisions
of this chapter if:

(1) the individual is an employee or an enrolled self-employed individual
who:

(A) earned wages from which contributions were withheld pursuant
to section 2053 of this chapter in two of the last four calendar guarters;

(B) made contributions to the Fund on covered work income that was
earned during two of the last four calendar quarters: or

(C) both;

(2) the individual is unable to work because the individual:

(A) has a serious health condition;
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(B) is caring for a family member with a serious health condition;

(C) is pregnant;

(D) is recovering from childbirth or miscarriage;

(E) is caring for a new child during the first year following the birth,
adoption, or placement for foster care of that child;

(F) is taking safe leave: or

(G) is taking a bereavement leave; and
(3) the Director determines that the individual is not disqualified

pursuant to section 2065 of this chapter.
§ 2056. APPLICATION FOR BENEFITS

(a)(1)  An employee or enrolled self-employed individual, or the
employee’s or enrolled self-employed individual’s agent, may apply for

benefits pursuant to this chapter by filing an application with the Division in a
form approved by the Director.

(2)  An employee or enrolled self-employed individual, or the
employee’s or enrolled self-employed individual’s agent, shall, to the extent
possible, submit documentation of the need for the leave together with the
application filed pursuant to subdivision (1) or this subsection. The Director
shall specify acceptable forms of documentation on the application form.

(b)(1) The Division shall review each application and any accompanying

documentation and determine if the employee or enrolled self-employed
individual is eligible to receive benefits pursuant to section 2055 of this

chapter not later than five business days after the date the application is filed
with the Division.

(2) Notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this subsection, the Director may
extend the time in which to make a determination by not more than 15
business days if necessary to obtain documents or information that are needed
to make the determination.

(c) An employee or enrolled self-employed individual may file an
application for benefits up to 60 calendar days before an anticipated family
and medical leave, safe leave, or bereavement leave or, in the event of a
premature birth, an unanticipated serious health condition, safe leave or, the

death of a family member within 60 calendar days after commencing a family
and medical leave, safe leave, or bereavement leave.
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§ 2057. PAYMENT OF BENEFITS; TAX WITHHOLDING

(a) Benefits shall be paid to a qualified individual for the time period
beginning on the day the qualified individual’s leave began.

(b) A qualified individual’s first benefit payment shall be sent within 14
calendar days after the qualified individual’s claim is approved or the
individual’s leave begins, whichever is later, and subsequent payments shall be

sent biweekly.

(c)(1) Except as otherwise provided pursuant to section 2062 of this
chapter and subdivision (2) and (3) of this subsection, benefits paid pursuant to
the provisions of this chapter shall not be assignable before payment and shall
be exempt from all claims of creditors, and from levy, execution, attachment,
trustee process, and any other remedy provided for the recovery or collection
of a debt.

(2)(A) An individual filing a new claim for benefits pursuant to this

chapter shall, at the time of filing, notify the Division of whether the
individual owes child support obligations.

(B) If, during the review of the individual’s application, the Director
determines that the individual has outstanding, unpaid child support
obligations, the Director shall deduct and withhold an amount necessary to pay
the outstanding, unpaid child support obligations from any benefits payable to
the individual pursuant to this chapter and remit that amount to the appropriate
child support enforcement agency. The amount deducted and withheld from
an individual’s benefits pursuant to this subdivision (B) shall not exceed 30
percent of the benefit payment to the individual.

(C) In the absence of any outstanding, unpaid child support
obligation, an individual may request that the Director deduct and withhold a
specified amount from the individual’s benefits and remit that amount to the
appropriate entity as payment of the individual’s child support obligations.

(3) If an individual has outstanding Vermont State tax liability, the
Director shall deduct and withhold the outstanding amount from the benefits
payable to the individual pursuant to this chapter and remit it to the
Commissioner of Taxes. The amount deducted and withheld from an
individual’s benefits pursuant to this subdivision shall not exceed 30 percent of
the benefit payment to the individual.

(d)(1) An individual filing a claim for benefits pursuant to this chapter

shall, at the time of filing, be advised that Family and Medical Leave
Insurance benefits may be subject to income tax and that the individual’s

benefits may be subject to withholding.
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(2) _All procedures specified by 26 U.S.C. chapter 24 and 32 V.S.A.
chapter 151, subchapter 4 pertaining to the withholding of income tax shall be
followed in relation to the payment of benefits.

§ 2058. ELECTIVE COVERAGE

(a) A self-employed individual may elect to obtain coverage through the
Program for an initial period of three years by filing a notice of the election
with the Division on a form provided by the Director.

(b) A self-employed individual who elects to obtain coverage pursuant to
this section shall agree as a condition of obtaining coverage to provide to the
Director and the Commissioner of Taxes any documentation of the self-
employed individual’s work income and any related information that the
Director, in consultation with the Commissioner of Taxes, determines is

necessary.

(c)(1) An enrolled self-employed individual may terminate the coverage at
the end of the initial three-year period by providing the Director with written
notice of the termination at least 30 calendar days before the end of the period.

(2) An enrolled self-employed individual who does not terminate
coverage at the end of the initial three-year period may terminate the coverage
at the end of any succeeding annual period by providing the Director with
written notice of the termination at least 30 calendar days before the end of the
period.

(3) _Notwithstanding subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection, an

enrolled self-employed individual who becomes an employee or stops working

in Vermont may elect to terminate coverage pursuant to this section by
providing the Director with 30 calendar days’ written notice in accordance

with rules adopted by the Director.

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent an individual who

is both an emplovee and a self-emploved individual from electing to obtain
coverage pursuant to this section.

§ 2059. EMPLOYER OPTION; PRIVATE PLAN

(a)(1) As an alternative to and in lieu of participating in the Program, an
employer may. upon approval by the Director, comply with the requirements
of this chapter through a private plan that provides to all of its employees

benefits that are equal to or more generous than the benefits provided pursuant
to this chapter.

(2) An employer may elect to provide such benefits by:

(A) establishing and maintaining to the satisfaction of the Director
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necessary self-insurance: or

(B)  purchasing insurance coverage from an insurance carrier
authorized to provide family and medical leave insurance in this State.
(b)(1) The Director shall approve a private plan under this section upon
making a determination that it:
(A) provides leave for periods that are equal to or more generous
than the leave provided pursuant to this chapter;

(B) provides coverage for all employees who would otherwise be
eligible for benefits pursuant to this chapter;

(C) costs employees the same or less than the employees’ portion of

the contribution would be pursuant to subsection 2053(a) of this chapter:

(D) provides coverage for all forms of leave for which benefits may
be paid pursuant to this chapter;

(E) provides wage replacement in an amount that is equal to or
greater than the rate of wage replacement provided pursuant to section 2054 of

this chapter;

(F)_imposes no additional restrictions or conditions on the use of paid
leave benefits beyond the restrictions and conditions that are established
pursuant to this chapter and the rules adopted by the Director; and

(G) satisfies any additional requirements established in rules adopted
by the Director in consultation with the Commissioner of Financial
Regulation.

(2) Nothing in this section shall be construed to require the benefits
provided by a private insurance or benefit plan to be identical to the benefits
provided pursuant to this chapter.

()(1)(A) An employer shall submit an application to the Director for
approval of a new or modified private plan on or before October 15 of the
calendar year prior to when it is proposed to take effect.

(B) The Director shall make a determination and notify the employer

of whether its application has been approved on or before December 1. If the
application is approved, the Director shall also provide a copy of the notice to
the Commissioner of Taxes on or before December 1.

(2) Following the approval of its private plan, an employer shall cease

to participate in the Program beginning on the next January 1 and the approval
shall remain in effect until it is terminated pursuant to subdivision (3) of this

subsection.
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(3) An employer with an approved private plan may terminate the

approval effective January 1 of any vear by filing notice of termination with
the Director and the Commissioner of Taxes on or before November 1 of the

prior year.
(d) A contested determination or a denial of benefits under a private plan

approved pursuant to this section shall be subject to appeal pursuant to section
2060 of this chapter.

(e)(1) The Director may terminate the approval of a private plan approved

pursuant to this section if the Director determines that the terms and conditions
of the plan have been violated, including if the plan:

(A) fails to pay benefits in a timely manner or in a manner that is

consistent with the plan’s terms;

(B) misuses private plan funds:

(C) fails to submit required reports to the Director; or

(D) fails to comply with any applicable provisions of law or with
rules adopted by the Director.

(2) The Director shall provide notice to the employer of the proposed
termination that includes the date on which the approval will terminate and the
reason for the termination.

(3) An employer may appeal the termination to the Director in

accordance with rules adopted by the Director.

(f) Each employee covered by an approved private plan on the date it is
terminated shall, for purposes of determining eligibility for benefits pursuant
to the provisions of this chapter, be treated as if the employer had paid
contributions for that employee pursuant to the provisions of section 2053 of
this chapter throughout the period of the employee’s employment with the

employer.
§ 2060. APPEALS

(a)(1) An employer or individual aggrieved by a decision of the Director
relating to eligibility for benefits, the amount of benefits that a qualified
individual is entitled to receive, or the amount of contributions due may file
with the Director a petition for reconsideration within 30 calendar days after
receipt of the decision. The petition shall set forth in detail the grounds upon
which it is claimed that the decision is erroneous and may include materials
supporting that claim.
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(2) If an employer petitions the Director to reconsider a decision
relating to an application for benefits or the amount of benefits that a qualified
individual is entitled to receive, the Director shall promptly notify the
individual who applied for the benefits of the petition by ordinary, certified, or
electronic mail and provide the individual with an opportunity to file an
answer to the employer’s petition.

(3) The Director shall promptly notify the employer or individual, or
both, as appropriate, of the Director’s decision by ordinary, certified, or
electronic mail.

(b) _An employer or individual agerieved by the Director’s decision on
reconsideration may file an appeal with the Supreme Court within 30 calendar
days after receiving the decision.

(c) Any determination, redetermination, finding of fact, conclusion of law,

decision, order, or judgment entered or made pursuant to this section shall only
be binding on the Division and all parties in that proceeding and is not
binding, conclusive, or admissible in any separate or subsequent action
between an individual and any other party brought before an arbitrator, court,
or judge of this State or of the United States, regardless of whether the prior
proceeding was between the same or related parties or involved the same facts.

§ 2061. FALSE STATEMENT OR REPRESENTATION; PENALTY

(a)(1) An individual who intentionally makes a false statement or

representation for the purpose of obtaining any benefit or payment or to avoid
payment of any required contributions under the provisions of this chapter,

whether for themselves or for any other person, after notice and opportunity
for hearing, shall be prohibited from receiving benefits pursuant to this chapter

for a period of not less than one year and not more than three years as
determined to be appropriate by the Director.

(2) The penalty imposed pursuant to this section shall be in addition to
any liability incurred by the individual pursuant to section 2062 of this chapter.

(b) A person who intentionally makes a false statement to avoid payment

of any required contributions under the provisions of this chapter shall, after
notice and an opportunity for a hearing, be liable for:

(1) the full amount of unpaid contributions: and

(2) an administrative penalty of not more than $5.,000.00.
(c)(1) The administrative penalty imposed pursuant to subsection (b) of

this section may be collected in a civil action in Superior Court brought in the
name of the Director. If the action is successful, the Director shall be entitled
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to recover the Division’s costs and reasonable attorney’s fees incurred in
bringing the action.

(2) Any amounts recovered and any penalties collected pursuant to this
section shall be deposited in the Fund.

§ 2062. OVERPAYMENT OF BENEFITS; COLLECTION

(a)(1) Any individual who by nondisclosure or misrepresentation of a
material fact, by either the individual or another person, receives benefits that
the individual is not eligible to receive shall be liable to repay to the Division
the amount received in excess of the amount, if any, that the individual is
eligible to receive.

(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision (1) of this subsection,
the Director shall waive an overpayment if it was:

(A) caused by the Division’s mistake or an unintentional error or
omission by another person; and

(B) the Director determines that requiring repayment would be
against equity and good conscience.

(3) Upon determining that an individual is liable for an overpayment of

benefits pursuant to subdivision (1) of this subsection, the Director shall
provide the individual with notice of the determination. The notice shall
include a statement that the individual is liable to repay to the Division the
amount of overpaid benefits and shall identify the basis of the overpayment
and the time period in which the benefits were paid. The notice shall also
provide information regarding the individual’s right to appeal the

determination pursuant to the provisions of section 2060 of this chapter.
(4) The determination shall be made within not more than three years

after the date of the overpayment.

(b)(1) An individual liable under this section shall repay the overpaid
amount to the Director for deposit into the Fund.

(2) The Director may collect the amounts due under this section in a
civil action in the Superior Court.

(3) An individual may, at any time, request that the Director reduce or
waive the amount for which the individual is liable pursuant to subsection (a)
of this section. Upon receipt of a request, the Director may reduce or waive
the amount for which an individual is liable for good cause or as the Director
deems appropriate and just.
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(¢) If an individual is liable to repay any amount pursuant to this section,
the Director may withhold, in whole or in part, any future benefits payable to
the individual pursuant to this chapter and credit the withheld benefits against
the amount due from the individual until it is repaid in full.

(d) In addition to the remedy provided pursuant to this section, an
individual who intentionally misrepresented or failed to disclose a material fact
with respect to the individual’s claim for benefits may be subject to the
penalties provided pursuant to section 2061 of this chapter.

§ 2063. RULEMAKING
(a) The Commissioner of Taxes, in consultation with the Director, shall

adopt rules as necessary to implement the provisions of this chapter related to
the collection of contributions pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter.

(b) The Director shall adopt rules as necessary to implement all other
provisions of this chapter.

§ 2064. CONFIDENTIALITY OF INFORMATION

(a)  Information obtained from an employer or individual in the

administration of this chapter and determinations of an individual’s right to
receive benefits that reveal an emplovyer’s or individual’s identity in any

manner shall be kept confidential and shall be exempt from public inspection
and copying under the Public Records Act. Such information shall not be

admissible as evidence in any action or proceeding other than one brought
pursuant to the provisions of this chapter.

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section:

(1) an individual or the individual’s agent may be provided with
information to the extent necessary for the proper presentation of the
individual’s claim for benefits or to inform the individual of the individual’s
existing or prospective rights to benefits; and

(2) an employer may be provided with information that the Director or

the Commissioner of Taxes determines is necessary to enable the employer to
discharge fully its obligations and protect its rights under this chapter.

2065. DISQUALIFICATIONS

(a) _An individual shall be disqualified from receiving benefits for any
week in which the individual has received:

(1D(A) compensation for temporary total disability under the workers’
compensation law of any state or under a similar law of the United States; or
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(B) compensation for temporary partial disability related to the
serious health condition for which the individual is seeking benefits pursuant
to this chapter; or

(2) unemployment compensation benefits under the law of any state.

(b) An individual shall be disqualified from receiving benefits for any day
in which the individual has received:

(1) wages; or
(2) remuneration for vacation leave, sick leave, or any other accrued
paid leave.
§ 2066. PROTECTION FROM RETALIATION OR INTERFERENCE
(a) An employer shall not discharge or in any other manner retaliate

against an employee who exercises or attempts to exercise the rights provided
pursuant to this chapter. The provisions against retaliation in subdivision
495(a)(8) of this title shall apply to this chapter.

(b) An employer shall not interfere with, restrain, or otherwise prevent an
employee from exercising or attempting to exercise the employee’s rights
pursuant to this chapter.

(c) An employer shall not treat any leave for which benefits are provided
pursuant to this chapter as an absence that may lead to or result in discipline,
discharge, demotion, suspension, or any other adverse employment action.

(d) An employee aggrieved by a violation of the provisions of this section

may bring an action in Superior Court seeking compensatory and punitive

damages or equitable relief, including restraint of prohibited acts, restitution of
wages or other benefits, reinstatement, costs, reasonable attorney’s fees, and

other appropriate relief.
§ 2067. NOTICE

(a) An employer shall post and maintain in a conspicuous place in and
about each of its places of business printed notices of the provisions of this
chapter on forms provided by the Director.

(b) An employer shall provide written notice of the provisions of this
chapter to new employees within 30 calendar days after the date on which they
are hired.

§ 2068. EMPLOYER OBLIGATIONS: EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

(a) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to diminish an employer’s
obligation to comply with any collective bargaining agreement, employer
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policy, or employment agreement that provides more generous benefits than
the benefits provided pursuant to this chapter.

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to diminish any rights,
privileges, and protections provided to an employee pursuant to a collective
bargaining agreement, employer policy, or employment agreement.

(c)(1) An emplovee taking family and medical leave shall be entitled to all
of the rights and protections provided pursuant to section 472 of this title and

the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 2611-2654.

(2) An employee taking safe leave shall be entitled to all of the rights
and protections provided pursuant to section 472d of this title.

(d) Any agreement to waive the rights and protections provided to an
employee pursuant to this chapter shall be void.

(e) An employee taking bereavement leave for which benefits are paid

pursuant to this chapter shall be entitled to the following rights and
protections:

(1) Upon return from the leave, the employee shall be offered the same
or a comparable job at the same level of compensation, employment benefits,
seniority, or any other term or condition of the employment existing on the day
the leave began.

(A) The provisions of this subdivision (1) shall not apply if, prior to
requesting leave, the employee had been given notice or had given notice that

the employment would terminate.

(B) The provisions of this subdivision (1) shall not apply if the
employer can demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence that:

(1) during the period of leave the employee’s job would have been
terminated or the employee laid off for reasons unrelated to the leave; or

(i1)  the employee performed unique services and hiring a
permanent replacement during the leave, after giving reasonable notice to the

employee of intent to do so, was the only alternative available to the employer
to prevent substantial and grievous economic injury to the employer’s

operation.

(2) The employer shall continue the employee’s employment benefits
for the duration of the leave at the level and under the conditions coverage
would be provided if the employee continued in employment continuously for
the duration of the leave. The employer may require that the employee
contribute to the cost of the employment benefits during the leave at the
existing rate of employee contribution.
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§ 2069. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter:

(1) “Agent” means an individual who holds a valid power of attorney
for an employee or self-employed individual or another legal authorization to
act on the employee or self-employed individual’s behalf that is acceptable to
the Director.

(2)  “Average weekly earnings” means the sum of a qualified

individual’s wages, if any, upon which contributions have been paid pursuant
to_section 2053 of this chapter during the individual’s two highest-earning
quarters plus the qualified individual’s self-employment income, if any, upon
which contributions have been paid pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter

during the individual’s two highest-earning quarters divided by 26.
(3) “Benefits” means Family and Medical Leave Insurance benefits

provided pursuant to this chapter.

(4) “Bereavement leave” means a leave of absence from employment or

self-employment by an individual due to the death of the individual’s family

member that occurs not more than one year after the family member’s death.
Bereavement leave includes leave taken in relation to the administration or

settlement of the deceased family member’s estate. Leave taken in relation to
the administration or settlement of the deceased family member’s estate may
occur more than one year after the family member’s death.

(5) “Director” means the Director of the Division of Family and

Medical Leave.

(6) “Division” means the Division of Family and Medical Leave in the

Office of the Treasurer.

(7) “Domestic partner” has the same meaning as in 17 V.S.A. § 2414.
(8) “Domestic violence” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.

(9)  “Employee” means an individual who receives payments with
respect to services performed for an employer from which the employer is
required to withhold Vermont income tax pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 151,
subchapter 4.

(10) “Employer” means a person who employs one or more employees.

(11)  “Enrolled self-employed individual” means a self-employed
individual who has obtained coverage under the Program pursuant to section
2058 of this chapter.
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(12) “Family and medical leave” means a leave of absence from

employment or from self-employment by a qualified individual for one of the
following reasons:

(A) the qualified individual’s own serious health condition;

(B) to care for a family member with a serious health condition;

(C) the qualified individual’s pregnancy:;

(D) recovery from childbirth or miscarriage;

(E) the birth of the qualified individual’s child and to care for or
bond with the gualified individual’s child within one vyear after the child’s
birth;

(F) the initial placement of a child 18 years of age or younger with
the qualified individual for the purpose of adoption or foster care and to care
for or bond with the child within one year after the placement for adoption or
foster care; or

(G) a qualifying exigency arising out of a qualified individual’s

family member’s active duty service in the U.S. Armed Forces or notice of an
impending call or order to active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces.

(13) “Family member” means:

(A) regardless of age, a qualified individual’s biological, adopted, or
foster child; a qualified individual’s stepchild or legal ward; a child of the
qualified individual’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner; a child to
whom the qualified individual stands in loco parentis; or an individual to
whom the qualified individual stood in loco parentis when the individual was
under 18 years of age;

(B)(1) a parent of a qualified individual or qualified individual’s
spouse or civil union or domestic partner, regardless of whether the
relationship to the qualified individual or qualified individual’s spouse or civil
union or domestic partner is a biological, foster, adoptive, or step relationship;

(i1) a legal guardian of a qualified individual or qualified
individual’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner; or

(ii1) a person who stands in loco parentis for the qualified
individual or who stood in loco parentis when the qualified individual or
qualified individual’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner was under 18

years of age;
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(C) a person to whom the qualified individual is legally married
under the laws of any state or a civil union or domestic partner of a qualified
individual;

(D) a grandparent, grandchild, or sibling of the qualified individual
or qualified individual’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner, regardless
of whether the relationship to the qualified individual or the qualified
individual’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner is a biological, foster,
adoptive, or step relationship; or

(E) as shown by the qualified individual, any other individual with

whom the qualified individual has a significant personal bond that is or is like

a family relationship, regardless of biological or legal relationship, under the
totality of the circumstances surrounding the relationship, including:

(i) evidence of shared financial responsibility, such as a shared
lease, common ownership of property, joint liability for bills, and beneficiary
designations;

(i1) evidence of responsibility for the other’s personal well-being,

including emergency contact designations or an advance directive, as that term
is defined pursuant to 18 V.S.A. § 9701;

(ii1) _evidence showing an expectation of care created by the
relationship or the prior provision of care, or both:

(iv) cohabitation for a period of at least six months or geographic
proximity; and
(v) other similar evidence demonstrating a significant personal

bond.

(14) “Health care provider” means a licensed health care provider or a
health care provider as defined pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 825.125.

(15) “Highest earning quarters” means the two calendar quarters of the

last four completed calendar quarters when an individual earned the highest
combined total of wages upon which contributions were paid pursuant to

section 2053 of this chapter and self-employment income upon which
contributions were paid pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter.

(16) “In loco parentis” means a relationship in which an individual has
day-to-day responsibilities to care for and financially support a child.

(17)  “Program” means the Family and Medical Leave Insurance

Program created pursuant to this chapter.

- 1011 -



(18)  ““Qualified individual” means an employee or enrolled self-
employed individual who:

(A) satisfies the eligibility requirements established pursuant to
section 2056 of this chapter; and

(B) has submitted an application and all necessary documentation of
the need for the leave pursuant to section 2057 of this chapter.

(19)  “Qualifying exigency” means a qualifying exigency related to
active duty service in the U.S. Armed Forces that is identified pursuant to 29
C.F.R. § 825.126.

(20) “Safe leave” means a leave of absence from employment or self-
employment by a qualified individual because:

(A) the qualified individual or the qualified individual’s family
member is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking;

(B) the qualified individual is using the leave for one of the
following reasons related to the domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking:

(i) to seek or obtain medical care, counseling, or social or legal
services, either for themselves or for a family member:;

(i1) to recover from injuries;

(iii) to participate in safety planning, either for themselves or for a
family member;

(iv) to relocate or secure safe housing, either for themselves or for
a family member; or

(v) to meet with a State’s Attorney or law enforcement officer;

and
(C) the qualified individual is not the alleged perpetrator of the
domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.

(21)  “Self-employed individual” means a sole proprietor or partner
owner of an unincorporated business, the sole member of an LLC, or the sole
shareholder of a corporation.

(22) “Self-employment income” has the same meaning as in 26 U.S.C.
§ 1402.

(23) “Serious health condition” means:

(A) an accident, illness, injury, disease. or physical or mental
condition that:
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(1) poses imminent danger of death;

(i1) requires inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential
medical care facility; or

(ii1) requires continuing treatment by a health care provider: or

(B) rehabilitation from an accident, illness, injury, disease, or
physical or mental condition described in subdivision (A) of this subdivision
(23), including treatment for substance use disorder.

(24) “Sexual assault” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.
(25) “Stalking” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.
(26) “U.S. Armed Forces” means:

(A) the U.S. Army, Navy. Air Force, Marine Corps, Space Force, and
Coast Guard;

(B) a reserve component of the U.S. Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine
Corps, Space Force, and Coast Guard; or

(C) the National Guard of any state.

(27) “Wages” means payments that are included in the definition of
wages set forth in 26 U.S.C. § 3401.

Sec. 6. 32 V.S.A. § 3102(¢e) is amended to read:

(e) The Commissioner may, in the Commissioner’s discretion and subject
to such conditions and requirements as the Commissioner may provide,
including any confidentiality requirements of the Internal Revenue Service,
disclose a return or return information:

* %k sk

(22) To the Treasurer and to the Director of the Division of Family and

Medical Leave, provided the return or return information relates to the
provision of family and medical leave insurance under 21 V.S.A. chapter 26.
Sec. 7. ADOPTION OF RULES

(a) On or before April 1, 2025, the Director of the Division of Family and

Medical Leave shall adopt rules necessary to implement the provisions of 21
V.S.A. chapter 26.

(b) On or before April 1, 2025, the Commissioner of Taxes, in consultation

with the Director of the Division of Family and Medical Leave, shall adopt
rules as necessary to carry out the provisions of 21 V.S.A. § 2053.
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Sec. 8. EDUCATION AND OUTREACH

(a) On or before June 1, 2025, the Director of the Division of Family and

Medical Leave shall develop and make available on the Division’s website
information and materials to educate and inform employers and employees

about the Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program established pursuant
to 21 V.S.A. chapter 26.

(b) The Director shall make available translations of all information and

materials created pursuant to subsection (a) of this section on the Division’s
website in the five most commonly spoken languages in Vermont after

English.

(¢c) The Division’s website shall be accessible to individuals with
disabilities in accordance with WCAG 2.1 AA or a similar updated standard.
Sec. 9. APPROPRIATION; ADVANCE PAYMENT OF STATE

CONTRIBUTIONS

(a) The amount of $20,000,000.00 is appropriated to the Family and
Medical Leave Insurance Special Fund from the General Fund.

(b) The amount appropriated pursuant to subsection (a) of this section shall
be considered an advance payment of the State’s portion of the contributions
due for State employees pursuant to 21 V.S.A. § 2053(a). The State shall
receive a credit against the contributions due from the State pursuant to 21
V.S.A. § 2053 equal to 100 percent of the State’s portion of the contributions
due until the cumulative amount of the credit equals the amount appropriated
pursuant to subsection (a) of this section.

Sec. 10. ADEQUACY OF RESERVES; REPORT

Annually, on or before January 15. 2026, 2027. 2028, and 2029. the

Director of the Division of Family and Medical Leave, in consultation with the
Commissioners of Finance and Management, of Financial Regulation, and of
Taxes, shall submit a written report to the House Committees on
Appropriations; on General and Housing; and on Ways and Means and the
Senate Committees on Appropriations; on Economic Development, Housing
and General Affairs; and on Finance regarding the amount and adequacy of the
reserves in the Family and Medical Leave Insurance Special Fund and any

recommendations for legislative action necessary to ensure that an adequate
reserve is maintained in the Fund.

Sec. 11. PRIVATE PLANS; INITIAL APPROVAL
(a) An employer wishing to utilize a private plan to meet the employer’s

obligations pursuant to 21 V.S.A. chapter 26 beginning on October 1, 2026
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shall submit an application for approval of a private plan on or before October
15, 2025.

(b) The Director of the Division of Family and Medical Leave shall review

the proposed plan as provided pursuant to the provisions of 21 V.S.A. § 2059.

(c) An employer that receives approval for a private plan pursuant to this
section shall:

(1) beginning on January 1, 2026, be exempt from withholding and

paying contributions as provided pursuant to 21 V.S.A. 2053(d);

(2) notwithstanding any provision of 21 V.S.A. § 2059 to the contrary,
begin providing benefits pursuant to the private plan on or before October 1,
2026; and

(3) _on or before January 15, 2026, be reimbursed by the Director for
any contributions that the employer paid for the calendar quarters ending
September 30, 2025 and December 31, 2025.

Sec. 12. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 1, 2.5, 6. 7. 8. 9. 10, and 11 shall take effect on
July 1, 2023.
(b) Secs. 3 and 4 shall take effect on October 1, 2026.

(c¢) Contributions shall begin to be paid pursuant to 21 V.S.A. § 2053 on

July 1, 2025, and, beginning on October 1, 2026, employees may begin to
apply for and receive benefits pursuant to 21 V.S.A. chapter 26.

(Committee Vote: 9-3-0)

Rep. Demrow of Corinth, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends that the report of the Committee on General and Housing be
amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof
the following:

* % * Leave from Employment * * *
Sec. 1. 21 V.S.A. § 471 is amended to read:
§ 471. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

(1) “Bereavement leave” means a leave of absence from employment or

self-employment by an individual due to the death of the individual’s family
member that occurs not more than one year after the family member’s death.
Bereavement leave includes leave taken in relation to the administration or

settlement of the deceased family member’s estate. Leave taken in relation to
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the administration or settlement of the deceased family member’s estate may
occur more than one vear after the family member’s death.

(2) “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Labor.

(3) “Domestic partner” means an individual with whom the employee
has an enduring domestic relationship of a spousal nature, provided the
employee and the domestic partner:

(A) have shared a residence for at least six consecutive months;

(B) are at least 18 years of age;

(C) are not married to or considered a domestic partner of another
individual:

(D) are not related by blood closer than would bar marriage under

State law: and

(E) have agreed between themselves to be responsible for each
other’s welfare.

(4) “Domestic violence” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.
(5) “Employer” means ieivi 5 iZzation;

s

a person who for the purposes of parental leave, bereavement leave, safe leave,

and leave for a qualifying exigency employs 10 or more individuals who are
employed for an average of at least 30 hours per week during a year and for
the purposes of family leave employs 15 or more individuals for an average of
at least 30 hours per week during a year.

2)(6) “Employee” means a person who, in consideration of direct or
indirect gain or profit, has been continuously employed by the same employer
for a period of one year for an average of at least 30 hours per week. For
purposes of safe leave only, “employee” means a person who in consideration
of direct or indirect gain or profit, has been continuously employed by the
same employer for a period of six months for an average of at least 20 hours

per week.

3)}(7) “Family leave” means a leave of absence from employment by an
employee whe—w e more-indivi

for one of the following reason:

(A) the serious #Hness health condition of the employee; or
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(B) the serlous ﬂ-Lness health condltlon of the employee ] ehﬂd—

pafeﬁt—ef—the—emp%eyee—s—spe&se family membe

)(8) “Parental leave” means a leave of absence from employment by

éuﬂﬁg—the—yeaf for one of the followmg reasons:

(A) the employee’s pregnancy:;
(B) recovery from childbirth or miscarriage;

(C) the birth of the employee’s child and to care for or bond with the
child within one year after the child’s birth; or

B)D) the initial placement of a child +6 18 years of age or younger
with the employee for the purpose of adoption or foster care and to care for or
bond with the child within one year after the placement for adoption or foster
care.

(9) “Family member” means:

(A) regardless of age, an employee’s biological, adopted, or foster
child; an employee’s stepchild or legal ward; a child of the employee’s spouse
or civil union or domestic partner; a child to whom the employee stands in
loco parentis; or an individual to whom the employee stood in loco parentis
when the individual was under 18 years of age;

(B)(1) a parent of an employee or an employee’s spouse or civil
union or domestic partner, regardless of whether the relationship to the
employee or employee’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner is a
biological, foster, adoptive, or step relationship;

(i1) a legal guardian of an employee or employee’s spouse or civil
union or domestic partner; or

(ii1) a person who stands in loco parentis for the employee or who
stood in loco parentis when the employee or employee’s spouse or civil union
or domestic partner was under 18 years of age;

(C) A person to whom the employee is legally married under the
laws of any state or a civil union or domestic partner of an employee:

(D) A grandparent, grandchild, or sibling of the employee or the

employee’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner, regardless of whether
the relationship to the employee or the employee’s spouse or civil union or
domestic partner is a biological, foster, adoptive, or step relationship: or
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(E) As shown by the employee, any other individual with whom the
employee has a significant personal bond that is or is like a family
relationship, regardless of biological or legal relationship under the totality of
the circumstances surrounding the relationship, including:

(1) evidence of shared financial responsibility, such as a shared
lease, common ownership of property, joint liability for bills, and beneficiary
designations;

(i1) evidence of responsibility for the other’s personal well-being,
including emergency contact designations or an advance directive, as that term
is defined pursuant to 18 V.S.A. § 9701;

(ii1) _evidence showing an expectation of care created by the
relationship or the prior provision of care, or both:

(iv) cohabitation for a period of at least six months or geographic
proximity; and

(v) other similar evidence demonstrating a significant personal

bond.

(10) “Health care provider” means a licensed health care provider or a
health care provider as defined pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 825.125.

(11) “In loco parentis” means a relationship in which an individual has
day-to-day responsibilities to care for and financially support a child.

(12)  “Qualifying exigency” means a qualifying exigency identified
pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 825.126 that is related to active duty service by a

family member in the U.S. Armed Forces.

(13) “Safe leave” means a leave of absence from employment by an
employee because:

(A) the employee or the employee’s family member is a victim or
alleged victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking;

(B) the employee is using the leave for one of the following reasons
related to the domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking:

(i) to seek or obtain medical care, counseling, or social or legal
services, either for themselves or for a family member:;
(i1) to recover from injuries;

(iii) to participate in safety planning, either for themselves or for a
family member;
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(iv) to relocate or secure safe housing, either for themselves or for
a family member:

(v) to meet with a State’s Attorney or law enforcement officer; or

(vi) to attend a hearing concerning an order against stalking or

sexual assault pursuant to 12 V.S.A. § 5133, when the employee seeks the
order as plaintiff; and

(C) the employee is not the perpetrator or alleged perpetrator of the
domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.

5)(14) “Serious #Hness health condition” means;

(A) an accident, illness, injury, disease, or physical or mental
condition that:

(1) poses imminent danger of death;

B)(ii)) requires inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential
medical care facility; or

€6)(iii)) requires continuing i-heme—eare—under—the—direction—of
treatment by a phystetan health care provider; or

(B) rehabilitation from an accident, illness, injury, disease, or
physical or mental condition described in subdivision (A) of this subdivision
(14), including treatment for substance use disorder.

(15) “Sexual assault” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.
(16) “Stalking” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.

(17) “U.S. Armed Forces” means:

(A) the U.S. Army, Navy. Air Force, Marine Corps, Space Force, and
Coast Guard;

(B) a reserve component of the U.S. Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine
Corps, Space Force, and Coast Guard; or

(C) the National Guard of any state.
Sec. 2. 21 V.S.A. § 472 is amended to read:
§ 472. LEAVE

(a)(1) During any 12-month period, an employee shall be entitled to take
unpaid leave for a period not to exceed 12 weeks:

H(A) for parental leave,—during—the—employee’s—pregnancy—and




2)¥B) for family leave;for-the-serious-tHness—of-the-employee-or—the

5 Cl O D10 O

(C) for a qualifying exigency.

(2) During any 12-month period, an employee may use up to two out of
the 12 weeks of leave available pursuant to subdivision (1) of this subsection
for bereavement leave.

(3) In addition to the leave provided pursuant to subdivisions (1) and (2)
of this subsection, during any 12-month period an employee shall be entitled to
take unpaid leave for a period not to exceed 12 weeks for safe leave.

(b) During the leave, at the employee’s option, the employee may use
accrued sick leave er, vacation leave er, any other accrued paid leave, net-te
exeeed-six-weeks or short-term disability insurance or other insurance benefits.
Utilization of accrued paid leave or insurance benefits shall not extend the
leave provided herein by this section.

* %k sk

(d) The employer shall post and maintain in a conspicuous place in and
about each of his-er-her its places of business printed notices of the provisions
of this subchapter on forms provided by the Commissioner of Labor.

(e)(1) An employee shall give the employee’s employer reasonable written
notice of intent to take leave under this subehapter section. Notice shall
include the date the leave is expected to commence and the estimated duration
of the leave.

(2) In the case of the adoption or birth of a child, an employer shall not
require that notice be given more than six weeks prior to the anticipated
commencement of the leave.

(3)  In the case of an unanticipated serious health condition, a
miscarriage, an unanticipated need for safe leave, a premature birth, the death

of a family member; or a short-notice qualifying exigency, the employee shall
give the employer notice of the commencement of the leave as soon as
practicable.

(4)(A) In the case of serious ilness health condition of the employee or
a member of the employee’s family, an employer may require certification
from a physician to verify the condition and the amount and necessity for the
leave requested.
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(B) An employer may require an employee to provide documentation
of the need for safe leave. An employee may provide documentation from any
one of the following sources:

(1) a court or a law enforcement or other government agency:;

(ii) a domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking assistance

program;
(ii1) a legal. clerical, medical, or other professional from whom

the employee, or the employee’s family member, received counseling or other
assistance concerning domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking: or

(iv) _a self-certification of the employee’s, or the employee’s

family member’s, status as a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or
stalking, signed under penalty of perjury, on a standard form adopted for that
purpose by:

() _a federal or State government entity, including the Vermont
Department for Children and Families: or

(I) a nonprofit organization that provides support services to
victims of domestic violence, sexual violence, or stalking.
(C)_An employer may require an employee to provide documentation
of the need for bereavement leave. An employee may provide any of the
following forms of documentation:

(1) a death certificate;

(i1) a published obituary; or

(ii1) a written notice or verification of death, burial, or memorial
services from a mortuary, funeral home, burial society, crematorium, religious

organization, or governmental agency.

(D) An employer may require an employee to provide documentation
of the need for leave for a qualifying exigency as set forth in 29 C.F.R.

§ 825.309.

(E) An employver shall not disclose any private medical information
or information relating to a safe leave that the employer receives pursuant to
this subdivision (4) except to the extent the disclosure is permitted by law and:

(1) consented to by the employee in writing;

(i1) required pursuant to a court order; or

(ii1) required pursuant to State or federal law.
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(5) An employee may return from leave earlier than estimated upon
approval of the employer.

(6) An employee shall provide reasonable notice to the employer of his
er-her the need to extend leave to the extent provided by this chapter.

(f) Upon return from leave taken under this subchapter, an employee shall
be offered the same or comparable job at the same level of compensation,
employment benefits, seniority, or any other term or condition of the
employment existing on the day leave began. This subehapter subsection shall
not apply if, prior to requesting leave, the employee had been given notice or
had given notice that the employment would terminate. This subsection shall
not apply if the employer can demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence
that:

(1) during the period of leave the employee’s job would have been
terminated or the employee laid off for reasons unrelated to the leave or the
condition for which the leave was granted; or

(2) the employee performed unique services and hiring a permanent
replacement during the leave, after giving reasonable notice to the employee of
intent to do so, was the only alternative available to the employer to prevent
substantial and grievous economic injury to the employer’s operation.

(g) An employer may adopt a leave policy more generous than the leave
policy provided by this subchapter. Nothing in this subchapter shall be
construed to diminish an employer’s obligation to comply with any collective
bargaining agreement or any employment benefit program or plan whieh that
provides greater leave rights than the rights provided by this subchapter. A
collective bargaining agreement or employment benefit program or plan may

not d1m1n1sh rlghts prov1ded by this subchapter Neotwithstanding—the

(h) Except for the serious tHness health condition of the employee or safe
leave when the employee is the victim or alleged victim, an employee who
does not return to employment with the employer who provided the leave shall
return to the employer the value of any compensation that the employer paid to
or on behalf of the employee during the leave, except payments for accrued
siek—leave—er—vaeation leave. An employer may elect to waive the rights
provided pursuant to this subsection.
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Sec. 3. 21 V.S.A. § 472c¢ is amended to read:
§ 472c. LEAVE; ALLEGED CRIME VICTIMS; RELIEF FROM
STALKING OR ABUSE

* ok 3k

(b) In addition to the leave provided in section 472 of this title, an
employee shall be entitled to take unpaid leave from employment for the
purpose of attending a deposition or court proceeding related to:

* %k 3k

(2) arelief from abuse hearing pursuant to 15 V.S.A. § 1103, when the
employee seeks the order as plaintiff; or

3) heati : | : e | |

oFr

4 a relief from abuse, neglect, or exploitation hearing pursuant to 33
V.S.A. chapter 69, when the employee is the plaintiff.

* %k 3k
Sec. 4. 21 V.S.A. § 471 is amended to read:
§ 471. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

* %k 3k

for-the-purpeses-ef parental-Heave;

one or more individuals in Vermont.

(6) “Employee” means a person whos:

(A) in consideration of direct or indirect gain or profit, has been
continuously employed by the same employer:

(i) for a period of one year for an average of at least 30 hours per

week:; or

(i1) For purposes of safe leave only, “employee”means—a—persen




employed-by-the-same-employer for a period of six months for an average of at

least 20 hours per week; or

(B) is employed by an employer and:

(1) during at least two of the last four completed calendar quarters,
has received payments with respect to services performed for any employer
from which that employer was required to withhold Family and Medical Leave
Insurance Program contributions pursuant to 21 V.S.A. § 2553; or

(i1) has worked for the employer during at least two of the last
four calendar quarters and the employer is required to provide the employee
with coverage under a private plan approved pursuant to 21 V.S.A. § 2559.

(7) “Family leave” means a leave of absence from employment by an
employee for one of the following reasons:

(A) the serious health condition of the employee;

(B) the serious health condition of the employee’s family member.

A)(C) the employee’s pregnancy;

B)D) recovery from childbirth or miscarriage;

(S)(E) the birth of the employee’s child and to care for or bond with
the child within one year after the child’s birth; or

B)(F) the initial placement of a child 18 years of age or younger
with the employee for the purpose of adoption or foster care and to care for or
bond with the child within one year after the placement for adoption or foster
care.

(8) “Family member” means:

* sk 3k

0)(9) “Health care provider” means a licensed health care provider or
a health care provider as defined pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 825.125.

“H(10) “In loco parentis” means a relationship in which an individual
has day-to-day responsibilities to care for and financially support a child.

2(11) “Qualifying exigency” means a qualifying exigency identified
pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 825.126 that is related to active duty service by a
family member in the U.S. Armed Forces.
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“3)(12) “Safe leave” means a leave of absence from employment by an
employee because:

* %k 3k

“4)(13) “Serious health condition” means:

* ok 3k

5)(14) “Sexual assault” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.
6)(15) “Stalking” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.
GH(16) “U.S. Armed Forces” means:

* %k 3k

Sec. 5. 21 V.S.A. § 472 is amended to read:
§ 472. LEAVE

(a)(1) During any 12-month period, an employee shall be entitled to take
unpaid leave for a period not to exceed 12 weeks:

(A) ferparental-eavereor
By for family leave:; or

&)(B) for a qualifying exigency.
(2) During any 12-month period, an employee may use up to two out of

the 12 weeks of leave available pursuant to subdivision (1) of this subsection
for bereavement leave.

(3) In addition to the leave provided pursuant to subdivisions (1) and (2)
of this subsection, during any 12-month period an employee shall be entitled to
take unpaid leave for a period not to exceed 12 weeks for safe leave.

(b) During the leave, at the employee’s option, the employee may use
accrued sick leave, vacation leave, any other accrued paid leave, Family and
Medical Leave Insurance benefits pursuant to chapter 26 of this title, or short-
term disability insurance or other insurance benefits. Utilization of accrued

paid leave, Family and Medical Leave Insurance benefits, or insurance benefits
shall not extend the leave provided by this section.

* ok 3k

* % * Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program * * *
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Sec. 6. 21 V.S.A. chapter 26 is added to read:
CHAPTER 26. FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE INSURANCE
§ 2051. DIVISION OF FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE; DIRECTOR

(a) The Division of Family and Medical Leave is established in the Office

of the Treasurer to administer the Family and Medical Leave Insurance
Program established pursuant to this chapter.

(b)(1) The Treasurer shall appoint a Director of the Division. The Director
shall be a full-time State employee and exempt from the classified system and
shall serve at the pleasure of the Treasurer.

(2) The Director shall be responsible for:

(A) the operation and supervision of the Division of Family and

Medical Leave;

(B) the implementation of this chapter and any rules adopted
pursuant to section 2063 of this chapter; and

(C) employing staff as necessary to implement and carry out the
provisions of this chapter.

§ 2052. FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE INSURANCE PROGRAM;
SPECIAL FUND

(a) The Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program is established within

the Division of Family and Medical Leave for the provision of Family and
Medical Leave Insurance benefits to qualified individuals pursuant to the

provisions of this chapter.

(b) The Family and Medical Leave Insurance Special Fund is created
pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 7, subchapter 5 and shall be administered by the
Division of Family and Medical Leave and the Department of Taxes. Monies
in the Fund may be expended for the administration of the Family and Medical
Leave Insurance Program, for the payment of benefits provided pursuant to the

provisions of this chapter, and for necessary costs incurred in administering the
Fund. All interest earned on Fund balances shall be credited to the Fund.

(¢) The Fund shall consist of:

(1) contributions collected pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter;

(2) _amounts recovered or collected pursuant to sections 2061 and 2062
of this chapter;

(3) any amounts transferred or appropriated to the Fund by the General
Assembly; and
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(4) any interest earned by the Fund.

(d) The Director may seek and accept grants from any source, public or
private, to be dedicated for deposit into the Fund.

§ 2053. CONTRIBUTIONS:; RATE; COLLECTION

(a)(1) An employer shall be responsible for the full amount of the
contributions required on covered wages paid to the employers’ employees
pursuant to subsection (¢) of this section and shall remit those amounts to the
Department of Taxes pursuant to the provisions of subsection (d) of this
section. For purposes of paying the required contributions, an employer may
deduct and withhold from an employee’s covered wages an amount equal to

not more than one-half of the contribution required pursuant to subsection (c)

of this section.

(2) As used in this subsection, the term “covered wages” means all
wages paid to an employee by an employer up to an amount equal to two times
the Social Security Contribution and Benefit Base.

(b)(1) An enrolled self-employed individual shall be responsible for the
full amount of the contributions required on the enrolled self-employed
individual’s covered work income pursuant to subsection (c¢) of this section
and shall remit those amounts to the Department of Taxes.

(2) As used in this subsection, the term “covered work income” means
an enrolled self-employed individual’s net earnings from self-employment in
Vermont up to an amount equal to two times the Social Security Contribution
and Benefit Base.

(c)(1) For the period from July 1., 2025 through December 31, 2025, the
contribution rate on covered wages paid to employees and on enrolled self-
employed individuals’ covered work income shall be 0.55 percent.

(2) Beginning with calendar year 2026 and annually thereafter the

Director shall establish the rate of contribution for each calendar year on or
before the preceding October 1. The Director shall set the rate so that it
generates contributions in an amount equal to the sum of the projected amount
necessary to provide benefits pursuant to this chapter during the next calendar
year plus the projected cost to administer the Program during the next calendar
year plus a reserve equal to six months of the projected benefit payments and
administrative costs for the next calendar year minus any balance projected to
be remaining in the Fund from the prior calendar year.

(3) The rate of contribution shall be the same for the covered wages of
employees and the covered work income of enrolled self-employed individuals
and shall not exceed one percent.
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(4) In the event that the Director determines that the rate of contribution
for any calendar year shall be one percent, the Director shall, not more than 14
days after making the determination, submit a written report to the Joint Fiscal
Committee, the House Committees on Appropriations, on General and
Housing, and on Ways and Means, and the Senate Committees on
Appropriations, on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs, and
on Finance that provides a detailed explanation of the reason for the increase,
whether the rate is sufficient to pay the projected benefits and administrative
costs during the next calendar year while maintaining the required reserve, the

solvency of the Fund, and recommended legislative action to reduce the rate of
contribution in the following calendar year.

(d)(1) The Commissioner of Taxes shall collect the contributions required

pursuant to this section and shall deposit them into the Fund.

(2)(A) Employers shall withhold contributions pursuant to subdivision
(a)(1) of this section from wages that employers pay to employees as if the
contributions were Vermont income tax subject to the withholding
requirements of 32 V.S.A. chapter 151, subchapter 4. The administrative and
enforcement provisions of 32 V.S.A. chapter 151 shall apply to the
contribution and withholding requirements under this section as if the
contributions due pursuant to subdivision (a)(1) of this section were Vermont
income tax.

(B) Emplovers shall be responsible for the full amount of any unpaid
contributions due pursuant to subdivision (a)(1) of this section.

(3) Enrolled self-employed individuals shall make installment payments

of estimated contributions pursuant to subdivision (a)(2) of this section from
the enrolled self-employed individual’s covered work income as if the
contributions were Vermont income tax subject to the estimated payment
requirements of 32 V.S.A. chapter 151, subchapter 5. The administrative and
enforcement provisions of 32 V.S.A. chapter 151 shall apply to the estimated
payment requirement under this section as if the contributions due pursuant to
subdivision (a)(2) of this section were Vermont income tax.

(e) _An employer with an approved private plan pursuant to section 2059 of
this chapter shall not be required to withhold and pay contributions pursuant to
this section.

§ 2054. BENEFITS

(a)(1) Benefits provided pursuant to this chapter shall only be available for
leaves beginning on or after July 1, 2026.
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(2) A qualified individual shall be permitted to receive a total of not
more than 12 weeks of benefits in a 12-month period for family and medical
leave and safe leave taken by the employee.

(3) A qualified individual may use up to two out of the 12 weeks of
benefits available to the individual during a 12-month period for bereavement
leave.

(b) A qualified individual awarded benefits under this section shall receive
90 percent of the individual’s average weekly earnings or an amount equal to
the State average weekly wage determined pursuant to section 1338 of this
title, whichever is less.

(c) A qualified individual may receive benefits for an intermittent leave or
leave for a portion of a week. The benefit amount for an intermittent leave or
leave for a portion of a week shall be calculated in increments of one full day
or one-fifth of the qualified individual’s weekly benefit amount.

(d) Benefits paid pursuant to this chapter may be used as wage replacement

for a leave taken pursuant to section 472 of this title or the federal Family and
Medical Leave Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 2611-2654. The receipt of benefits paid

pursuant to this chapter shall not extend the leave provided pursuant to
section 472 of this title or the federal Family and Medical Leave Act.
§ 2055. ELIGIBILITY

An individual shall be eligible to receive benefits pursuant to the provisions
of this chapter for a leave beginning on or after July 1, 2026 if:

(1) the individual is currently an employee or an enrolled self-employed
individual, or both;

(2) except as otherwise provided pursuant to subsection 2059(f) of this
chapter:

(A) the individual has:

(1) earned wages from which contributions were withheld during
at least two calendar quarters in the preceding calendar vear;

(i1) made contributions to the Fund on covered work income that
was earned during at least two calendar quarters in the preceding calendar

year, or

(ii1) both; or
(B) if the individual does not meet the requirements of subdivision
(A) of this subdivision (2), the individual has:
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(1) earned wages from which contributions were withheld pursuant
to section 2053 of this chapter in two of the last four calendar quarters and
provided documentation of those wages that is acceptable to the Director;

(i1) made contributions to the Fund on covered work income that
was earned during two of the last four calendar quarters and provided
documentation of that covered work income that is acceptable to the Director:
or

(iii) both;

(3) the individual is unable to work because the individual:

(A) has a serious health condition;

(B) is caring for a family member with a serious health condition;
(C) is pregnant;

(D) is recovering from childbirth or miscarriage;

(E) is caring for a new child during the first year following the birth,
adoption, or placement for foster care of that child;

(F) is taking safe leave;
(G) is taking a bereavement leave; or
(H) is taking leave related to a qualifying exigency of a family

member who is on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces or who has been
called to active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces; and

(4) the Director determines that the individual is not disqualified

pursuant to section 2065 of this chapter.
§ 2056. APPLICATION FOR BENEFITS

(a)(1)  An employee or enrolled self-employed individual, or the
employee’s or enrolled self-employed individual’s agent, may apply for

benefits pursuant to this chapter by filing an application with the Division in a
form approved by the Director.

(2)  An employee or enrolled self-employed individual, or the
employee’s or enrolled self-employed individual’s agent, shall, to the extent
possible, submit documentation of the need for the leave together with the
application filed pursuant to subdivision (1) or this subsection. The Director
shall specify acceptable forms of documentation on the application form.

(b)(1) The Division shall review each application and any accompanying
documentation and determine if the employee or enrolled self-employed
individual is eligible to receive benefits pursuant to section 2055 of this
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chapter not later than 10 business days after the date the application is filed
with the Division.

(2) Notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this subsection, the Director may
extend the time in which to make a determination by not more than 30
business days if necessary to obtain documents or information that are needed
to make the determination.

(c) An employee or enrolled self-employed individual may file an
application for benefits up to 60 calendar days before an anticipated family
and medical leave, safe leave, or bereavement leave or, in the event of a
premature birth, an unanticipated serious health condition, safe leave or, the

death of a family member within 60 calendar days after commencing a family
and medical leave, safe leave, or bereavement leave.

(d)(1) In the event that an application is not approved within the time
period provided pursuant to subsection (b) of this section because there was
insufficient information or documentation for the Division to approve the
application, the employee or enrolled self-employed individual, or the
employee’s or enrolled self-employed individual’s agent, may submit a new
application with additional information or documentation, provided that the
second application is submitted within the time period required pursuant to
subsection (¢) of this section.

(2) _An employee or enrolled self-employed individual who submits a
second application pursuant to this subsection shall only be permitted to file an

appeal pursuant to section 2060 of this chapter in relation to the determination
made on the second application.

§ 2057. PAYMENT OF BENEFITS; TAX WITHHOLDING

(a) Benefits shall be paid to a qualified individual for the time period
beginning on the day the qualified individual’s leave began.

(b) A qualified individual’s first benefit payment shall be sent within 14
calendar days after the qualified individual’s claim is approved or the

individual’s leave begins, whichever is later, and subsequent payments shall be
sent biweekly.

(c)(1) Except as otherwise provided pursuant to section 2062 of this
chapter and subdivision (2) and (3) of this subsection, benefits paid pursuant to
the provisions of this chapter shall not be assignable before payment and shall
be exempt from all claims of creditors, and from levy, execution, attachment,
trustee process, and any other remedy provided for the recovery or collection
of a debt.
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(2)(A) An individual filing a new claim for benefits pursuant to this

chapter shall, at the time of filing, notify the Division of whether the
individual owes child support obligations.

(B) If, during the review of the individual’s application, the Director
determines that the individual has outstanding, unpaid child support
obligations, the Director shall deduct and withhold an amount necessary to pay
the outstanding, unpaid child support obligations from any benefits payable to
the individual pursuant to this chapter and remit that amount to the appropriate
child support enforcement agency. The amount deducted and withheld from
an individual’s benefits pursuant to this subdivision (B) shall not exceed 30
percent of the benefit payment to the individual.

(C) In the absence of any outstanding, unpaid child support
obligation, an individual may request that the Director deduct and withhold a
specified amount from the individual’s benefits and remit that amount to the
appropriate entity as payment of the individual’s child support obligations.

(3) If an individual has outstanding Vermont State tax liability, the
Director shall deduct and withhold the outstanding amount from the benefits
payable to the individual pursuant to this chapter and remit it to the
Commissioner of Taxes. The amount deducted and withheld from an
individual’s benefits pursuant to this subdivision shall not exceed 30 percent of
the benefit payment to the individual.

(d)(1) An individual filing a claim for benefits pursuant to this chapter

shall, at the time of filing, be advised that Family and Medical Leave
Insurance benefits may be subject to income tax and that the individual’s

benefits may be subject to withholding.
(2) _All procedures specified by 26 U.S.C. chapter 24 and 32 V.S.A.

chapter 151, subchapter 4 pertaining to the withholding of income tax shall be
followed in relation to the payment of benefits.

§ 2058. ELECTIVE COVERAGE

(a)(1) A self-employed individual may elect to obtain coverage through the

Program for an initial period of three years by filing a notice of the election
with the Division on a form provided by the Director.

(2) After electing to obtain coverage pursuant to this section, an
enrolled self-employed individual shall, if otherwise eligible pursuant to
section 2055 of this chapter, be able to receive benefits through the Program
after paying contributions pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter in two
calendar quarters within a four-calendar quarter period.
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(b) A self-employed individual who elects to obtain coverage pursuant to
this section shall agree as a condition of obtaining coverage to provide to the
Director and the Commissioner of Taxes any documentation of the self-
employed individual’s work income and any related information that the
Director, in consultation with the Commissioner of Taxes, determines is

necessary.
(c)(1) An enrolled self-employed individual may terminate the coverage at

the end of the initial three-year period by providing the Director with written
notice of the termination at least 30 calendar days before the end of the period.

(2) An enrolled self-employed individual who does not terminate
coverage at the end of the initial three-year period may terminate the coverage
at the end of any succeeding annual period by providing the Director with
written notice of the termination at least 30 calendar days before the end of the
period.

(3) Notwithstanding subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection, an

enrolled self-employed individual who becomes an employee or stops working

in Vermont may elect to terminate coverage pursuant to this section by
providing the Director with 30 calendar days’ written notice in accordance

with rules adopted by the Director.

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent an individual who

is both an emplovee and a self-emploved individual from electing to obtain
coverage pursuant to this section.

§ 2059. EMPLOYER OPTION; PRIVATE PLAN

(a)(1) As an alternative to and in lieu of participating in the Program, an
employer may, upon approval by the Director, comply with the requirements
of this chapter through a private plan that provides to all of its employees
benefits that are equal to or more generous than the benefits provided pursuant
to this chapter.

(2) An employer may elect to provide such benefits by:

(A) establishing and maintaining to the satisfaction of the Director

necessary self-insurance: or

(B)  purchasing insurance coverage from an insurance carrier
authorized to provide family and medical leave insurance in this State.
(b)(1) The Director shall approve a private plan under this section upon
making a determination that it:
(A) provides leave for periods that are equal to or more generous

than the leave provided pursuant to this chapter;
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(B) provides coverage for all employees who would otherwise be
eligible for benefits pursuant to this chapter;

(C) costs employees the same or less than the employees’ portion of

the contribution would be pursuant to subsection 2053(a) of this chapter;

(D) provides coverage for all forms of leave for which benefits may
be paid pursuant to this chapter;

(E) provides wage replacement in an amount that is equal to or

greater than the rate of wage replacement provided pursuant to section 2054 of
this chapter;

(F)_imposes no additional restrictions or conditions on the use of paid
leave benefits beyond the restrictions and conditions that are established
pursuant to this chapter and the rules adopted by the Director; and

(G) satisfies any additional requirements established in rules adopted
by the Director in consultation with the Commissioner of Financial
Regulation.

(2) Nothing in this section shall be construed to require the benefits
provided by a private insurance or benefit plan to be identical to the benefits
provided pursuant to this chapter.

()(1)(A) An employer shall submit an application to the Director for
approval of a new or modified private plan on or before October 15 of the
calendar year prior to when it is proposed to take effect.

(B) The Director shall make a determination and notify the employer

of whether its application has been approved on or before December 1. If the
application is approved, the Director shall also provide a copy of the notice to
the Commissioner of Taxes on or before December 1.

(2) Following the approval of its private plan, an employer shall cease

to participate in the Program beginning on the next January 1 and the approval
shall remain in effect until it is terminated pursuant to subdivision (3) of this

subsection.

(3) An employer with an approved private plan may terminate the

approval effective January 1 of any year by filing notice of termination with
the Director and the Commissioner of Taxes on or before November 1 of the

prior year.
(d) A contested determination or a denial of benefits under a private plan

approved pursuant to this section shall be subject to appeal pursuant to section
2060 of this chapter.
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(e)(1) The Director may terminate the approval of a private plan approved

pursuant to this section if the Director determines that the terms and conditions
of the plan have been violated, including if the plan:

(A) fails to pay benefits in a timely manner or in a manner that is

consistent with the plan’s terms;

(B) misuses private plan funds;

(C) fails to submit required reports to the Director; or

(D) fails to comply with any applicable provisions of law or with
rules adopted by the Director.

(2) _The Director shall provide notice to the employer of the proposed
termination that includes the date on which the approval will terminate and the
reason for the termination.

(3) An employer may appeal the termination to the Director in

accordance with rules adopted by the Director.

(H)(1) An employee who ceases to be covered by an approved private plan
shall, for purposes of determining eligibility for benefits pursuant to the
provisions of section 2055 of this chapter, be treated as if the employee had
earned wages from which contributions were withheld during the period of the
employee’s employment with the employer.

(2) _For purposes of this subsection (f), an employee ceases to be
covered by a private plan if:

(A) the employee separates from employment with the employer due
to a layoff or the end of seasonal employment with the emplover;

(B) the employer terminates the employer’s private plan pursuant to

subdivision (c)(3) of this section;

(C) the approval of the employer’s private plan is terminated by the

Director pursuant to subsection (€) of this section; or

(D) the employer becomes insolvent or ceases to do business in
Vermont.

§ 2060. APPEALS

(a)(1) An employer or individual aggrieved by a decision of the Director
relating to eligibility for benefits, the amount of benefits that a qualified
individual is entitled to receive, or the amount of contributions due may file
with the Director a petition for reconsideration within 30 calendar days after
receipt of the decision. The petition shall set forth in detail the grounds upon
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which it is claimed that the decision is erroneous and may include materials
supporting that claim.

(2) If an employer petitions the Director to reconsider a decision
relating to an application for benefits or the amount of benefits that a qualified
individual is entitled to receive, the Director shall promptly notify the
individual who applied for the benefits of the petition by ordinary, certified, or
electronic mail and provide the individual with an opportunity to file an
answer to the employer’s petition.

(3) The Director shall promptly notify the emplover or individual, or
both, as appropriate, of the Director’s decision by ordinary, certified, or
electronic mail.

(b) _An employer or individual agerieved by the Director’s decision on
reconsideration may file an appeal with the Supreme Court within 30 calendar
days after receiving the decision.

(c¢) _Any determination, redetermination, finding of fact, conclusion of law,
decision, order, or judgment entered or made pursuant to this section shall only
be binding on the Division and all parties in that proceeding and is not
binding, conclusive, or admissible in any separate or subsequent action
between an individual and any other party brought before an arbitrator, court,
or judge of this State or of the United States, regardless of whether the prior
proceeding was between the same or related parties or involved the same facts.

§ 2061. FALSE STATEMENT OR REPRESENTATION:; PENALTY

(a)(1) An individual who intentionally makes a false statement or

representation for the purpose of obtaining any benefit or payment or to avoid
payment of any required contributions under the provisions of this chapter,

whether for themselves or for any other person, after notice and opportunity
for hearing, shall be prohibited from receiving benefits pursuant to this chapter

for a period of not less than one year and not more than three years as
determined to be appropriate by the Director.

(2) The penalty imposed pursuant to this section shall be in addition to
any liability incurred by the individual pursuant to section 2062 of this chapter.

(b) A person who intentionally makes a false statement to avoid payment

of any required contributions under the provisions of this chapter shall, after
notice and an opportunity for a hearing, be liable for:

(1) the full amount of unpaid contributions: and

(2) an administrative penalty of not more than $5.,000.00.
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(c)(1) The administrative penalty imposed pursuant to subsection (b) of

this section may be collected in a civil action in Superior Court brought in the
name of the Director. If the action is successful, the Director shall be entitled
to recover the Division’s costs and reasonable attorney’s fees incurred in

bringing the action.

(2) Any amounts recovered and any penalties collected pursuant to this
section shall be deposited in the Fund.

§ 2062. OVERPAYMENT OF BENEFITS; COLLECTION

(a)(1) Any individual who by nondisclosure or misrepresentation of a
material fact, by either the individual or another person, receives benefits that
the individual is not eligible to receive shall be liable to repay to the Division
the amount received in excess of the amount, if any, that the individual is
eligible to receive.

(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision (1) of this subsection,
the Director shall waive an overpayment if it was:

(A) caused by the Division’s mistake or an unintentional error or
omission by another person; and

(B) the Director determines that requiring repayment would be

against equity and good conscience.

(3) Upon determining that an individual is liable for an overpayment of

benefits pursuant to subdivision (1) of this subsection, the Director shall
provide the individual with notice of the determination. The notice shall
include a statement that the individual is liable to repay to the Division the
amount of overpaid benefits and shall identify the basis of the overpayment
and the time period in which the benefits were paid. The notice shall also
provide information regarding the individual’s right to appeal the

determination pursuant to the provisions of section 2060 of this chapter.
(4) The determination shall be made within not more than three years

after the date of the overpayment.

(b)(1) An individual liable under this section shall repay the overpaid
amount to the Director for deposit into the Fund.

(2) The Director may collect the amounts due under this section in a
civil action in the Superior Court.

(3) _An individual may, at any time, request that the Director reduce or
waive the amount for which the individual is liable pursuant to subsection (a)
of this section. Upon receipt of a request, the Director may reduce or waive
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the amount for which an individual is liable for good cause or as the Director
deems appropriate and just.

(¢) If an individual is liable to repay any amount pursuant to this section,
the Director may withhold, in whole or in part, any future benefits payable to
the individual pursuant to this chapter and credit the withheld benefits against
the amount due from the individual until it is repaid in full.

(d) In addition to the remedy provided pursuant to this section, an
individual who intentionally misrepresented or failed to disclose a material fact
with respect to the individual’s claim for benefits may be subject to the
penalties provided pursuant to section 2061 of this chapter.

§ 2063. RULEMAKING
(a) The Commissioner of Taxes, in consultation with the Director, shall

adopt rules as necessary to implement the provisions of this chapter related to
the collection of contributions pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter.

(b) The Director shall adopt rules as necessary to implement all other
provisions of this chapter.

§ 2064. CONFIDENTIALITY OF INFORMATION

(a)  Information obtained from an employer or individual in the

administration of this chapter and determinations of an individual’s right to
receive benefits that reveal an emplovyer’s or individual’s identity in any

manner shall be kept confidential and shall be exempt from public inspection
and copying under the Public Records Act. Such information shall not be

admissible as evidence in any action or proceeding other than one brought
pursuant to the provisions of this chapter.

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section:

(1) an individual or the individual’s agent may be provided with
information to the extent necessary for the proper presentation of the
individual’s claim for benefits or to inform the individual of the individual’s
existing or prospective rights to benefits; and

(2) an employer may be provided with information that the Director or

the Commissioner of Taxes determines is necessary to enable the employer to
discharge fully its obligations and protect its rights under this chapter.

2065. DISQUALIFICATIONS; LIMITATIONS

(a) _An individual shall be disqualified from receiving benefits for any
week in which the individual has received:
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(1D(A) compensation for temporary total disability under the workers’
compensation law of any state or under a similar law of the United States: or

(B) compensation for temporary partial disability related to the

serious health condition for which the individual is seeking benefits pursuant
to this chapter; or

(2) unemployment compensation benefits under the law of any state.

(b) __An individual shall not receive benefits provided pursuant to this
chapter and remuneration from the individual’s employer that would result in
the individual earning more than:

(1) the individual’s average daily wage on any single day; or

(2) the individual’s average weekly wage in any calendar week.

(c) Subject to the limitation set forth in subsection (b) of this section, an

employer may provide an employee with remuneration to supplement the
amount of the benefits provided to the employee pursuant to this chapter.

(d) As used in this section:

(1) “Average daily wage” means one-fifth of an individual’s average
weekly wage.
(2) “Average weekly wage” means either:

(A) the sum of a qualified individual’s wages, if any, upon which
contributions were paid pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter during the
preceding calendar year divided by 52. provided those wages are used for

purposes of determining the amount of the individual’s benefits pursuant to
this chapter; or

(B) the sum of a qualified individual’s documented wages during the

individual’s two highest earning calendar quarters out of the last four
completed calendar quarters divided by 26, provided those wages are used for
purposes of determining the amount of the individual’s benefits pursuant to
this chapter.

(3) “Remuneration” means wages and payments for vacation leave, sick
leave, or any other accrued paid leave.

§ 2066. PROTECTION FROM RETALIATION OR INTERFERENCE
(a) An employer shall not discharge or in any other manner retaliate

against an employee who exercises or attempts to exercise the rights provided
pursuant to this chapter. The provisions against retaliation in subdivision
495(a)(8) of this title shall apply to this chapter.
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(b) An employer shall not interfere with, restrain, or otherwise prevent an
employee from exercising or attempting to exercise the employee’s rights
pursuant to this chapter.

(c) An employer shall not treat any leave for which benefits are provided
pursuant to this chapter as an absence that may lead to or result in discipline,
discharge, demotion, suspension, or any other adverse employment action.

(d) An employee aggrieved by a violation of the provisions of this section
may bring an action in Superior Court seeking compensatory and punitive
damages or equitable relief, including restraint of prohibited acts, restitution of
wages or other benefits, reinstatement, costs, reasonable attorney’s fees, and
other appropriate relief.

§ 2067. NOTICE

(a) An employer shall post and maintain in a conspicuous place in and
about each of its places of business printed notices of the provisions of this
chapter on forms provided by the Director.

(b) An employer shall provide written notice of the provisions of this
chapter to new employees within 30 calendar days after the date on which they
are hired.

§ 2068. EMPLOYER OBLIGATIONS: EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

(a) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to diminish an employer’s
obligation to comply with any collective bargaining agreement, employer

policy, or employment agreement that provides more generous benefits than
the benefits provided pursuant to this chapter.

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to diminish any rights,

privileges, and protections provided to an employee pursuant to a collective
bargaining agreement, employer policy, or employment agreement.
(c) An employee receiving benefits for family and medical leave, safe

leave, leave for a qualifying exigency, or bereavement leave shall be entitled to
all rights and protections provided pursuant to section 472 of this title and the

federal Family and Medical Leave Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 2611-2654, to which the

employee would otherwise be entitled.

(d) Any agreement to waive the rights and protections provided to an
employee pursuant to this chapter shall be void.

§ 2069. ANNUAL REPORT
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(a) Beginning in 2027, the Director, on or before February 15 of each year,

shall publish a report regarding the usage of the Program during the preceding
calendar year.
(b) The report shall include the following information:

(1) the total number of claims filed;

(2) the total number and percentage of claims approved;

(3) the total number and percentage of claims denied, broken down by
the reason for denial;

(4) the percentage of claims, both total and approved claims,
attributable to each eligible reason for leave;

(5) average weekly benefit and average length of leave, broken down by
eligible reason for leave;

(6) the total number and percentage of claim denials that are reversed on
appeal;

(7) _the total number of claims that are approved following a second
application submitted pursuant to subsection 2056(d) of this chapter:

(8) the total number of enrolled self-employed individuals:

(9) the total number of covered employees and enrolled self-employed
individuals and the percentage of working Vermonters who are covered by the
Program;

(10) the gross benefits paid by the Program and any changes in the

amount of gross benefits paid in comparison to prior years: and

(11) the average time required to process an initial claim and an appeal,
as well as the average time from submission of a benefits application to final
determination.

(¢) All information provided pursuant to subdivisions (b)(1)—(8) of this

section shall be further broken down by claimant demographics, including age,
gender, race, ethnicity, income, geographic distribution by county, and

occupation.
§ 2070. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) “Agent” means an individual who holds a valid power of attorney
for an employee or self-employed individual or another legal authorization to
act on the employee or self-employed individual’s behalf that is acceptable to
the Director.
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(2) “Average weekly earnings” means either:

(A) the sum of a qualified individual’s wages, if any, upon which
contributions were paid pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter during the
preceding calendar year plus the qualified individual’s net earnings from self-
employment, if any, upon which contributions were paid pursuant to section
2053 of this chapter during the preceding calendar year divided by 52; or

(B) if the individual did not have wages or net earnings from self-

employment, or both, upon which contributions were paid during at least two
calendar quarters in the preceding calendar vear, the sum of a qualified
individual’s documented wages, if any, upon which contributions were paid

pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter during the individual’s two highest
earning calendar quarters out of the last four completed calendar quarters, plus

the qualified individual’s net earnings from self-employment, if any, upon
which contributions were paid pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter during

those two calendar quarters divided by 26.

(3) “Benefits” means Family and Medical Leave Insurance benefits

provided pursuant to this chapter.

(4) “Bereavement leave” means a leave of absence from employment or

self-employment by an individual due to the death of the individual’s family
member that occurs not more than one year after the family member’s death.
Bereavement leave includes leave taken in relation to the administration or
settlement of the deceased family member’s estate. Leave taken in relation to
the administration or settlement of the deceased family member’s estate may
occur more than one year after the family member’s death.

(5) “Director” means the Director of the Division of Family and

Medical Leave.

(6) “Division” means the Division of Family and Medical Leave in the
Office of the Treasurer.

(7)_“Domestic partner” means an individual with whom the qualified
individual has an enduring domestic relationship of a spousal nature, provided
the qualified individual and the domestic partner:

(A) have shared a residence for at least six consecutive months;

(B) are at least 18 years of age;

(C) are not married to or considered a domestic partner of another
individual:

(D) are not related by blood closer than would bar marriage under

State law: and
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(E) have agreed between themselves to be responsible for each
other’s welfare.

(8) “Domestic violence” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.

(9)  “Employee” means an individual who receives payments with
respect to services performed for an employer from which the employer is
required to withhold Vermont income tax pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 151,

subchapter 4.
(10) “Employer” means a person who employs one or more employees.

“Emplovyer” does not include the U.S. Government or any instrumentality of
the United States.

(11)  “Enrolled self-employed individual” means a self-employed
individual who has obtained coverage under the Program pursuant to section
2058 of this chapter.

(12) “Family and medical leave” means a leave of absence from

employment or from self-employment by a qualified individual for one of the
following reasons:

(A) the qualified individual’s own serious health condition;

(B) to care for a family member with a serious health condition;
(C) _the qualified individual’s pregnancy:;
(D) recovery from childbirth or miscarriage;

(E) the birth of the qualified individual’s child and to care for or
bond with the gualified individual’s child within one year after the child’s
birth;

(F) the initial placement of a child 18 years of age or younger with
the qualified individual for the purpose of adoption or foster care and to care
for or bond with the child within one year after the placement for adoption or
foster care; or

(G) a qualifying exigency arising out of a qualified individual’s

family member’s active duty service in the U.S. Armed Forces or notice of an
impending call or order to active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces.

(13) “Family member’” means:

(A) regardless of age, a qualified individual’s biological, adopted, or
foster child; a qualified individual’s stepchild or legal ward; a child of the
qualified individual’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner; a child to
whom the qualified individual stands in loco parentis; or an individual to
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whom the qualified individual stood in loco parentis when the individual was
under 18 years of age;

(B)(1) a parent of a qualified individual or qualified individual’s
spouse or civil union or domestic partner, regardless of whether the
relationship to the qualified individual or qualified individual’s spouse or civil
union or domestic partner is a biological, foster, adoptive, or step relationship;

(i1) a legal guardian of a qualified individual or qualified
individual’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner; or

(ii1) a person who stands in loco parentis for the qualified
individual or who stood in loco parentis when the qualified individual or
qualified individual’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner was under 18

years of age;

(C) a person to whom the qualified individual is legally married
under the laws of any state or a civil union or domestic partner of a qualified
individual;

(D) a grandparent, grandchild, or sibling of the qualified individual
or qualified individual’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner, regardless
of whether the relationship to the qualified individual or the qualified

individual’s spouse or civil union or domestic partner is a biological, foster,
adoptive, or step relationship; or

(E) as shown by the qualified individual, any other individual with

whom the qualified individual has a significant personal bond that is or is like

a family relationship, regardless of biological or legal relationship, under the
totality of the circumstances surrounding the relationship, including:

(i) evidence of shared financial responsibility, such as a shared
lease, common ownership of property, joint liability for bills, and beneficiary
designations;

(i1) evidence of responsibility for the other’s personal well-being,

including emergency contact designations or an advance directive, as that term
is defined pursuant to 18 V.S.A. § 9701;

(ii1) _evidence showing an expectation of care created by the
relationship or the prior provision of care, or both:

(iv) cohabitation for a period of at least six months or geographic
proximity; and
(v) other similar evidence demonstrating a significant personal

bond.
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(14) “Health care provider” means a licensed health care provider or a
health care provider as defined pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 825.125.

(15) “Highest earning quarters” means the two calendar quarters of the

last four completed calendar quarters when an individual earned the highest
combined total of wages upon which contributions were paid pursuant to

section 2053 of this chapter and net earnings from self-employment upon
which contributions were paid pursuant to section 2053 of this chapter.

(16) “In loco parentis” means a relationship in which an individual has
day-to-day responsibilities to care for and financially support a child.

(17) “Net earnings from self-employment” has the same meaning as in
26 U.S.C. § 1402.

(18) “Program” means the Family and Medical Leave Insurance

Program created pursuant to this chapter.

(19)  “Qualified individual” means an employee or enrolled self-
employed individual who:

(A) satisfies the eligibility requirements established pursuant to
section 2056 of this chapter; and

(B) has submitted an application and all necessary documentation of
the need for the leave pursuant to section 2057 of this chapter.

(20)  “Qualifying exigency” means a qualifying exigency identified
pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 825.126 that is related to active duty service by a

family member in the U.S. Armed Forces.

(21) “Safe leave” means a leave of absence from employment or self-
employment by a qualified individual because:

(A) the qualified individual or the qualified individual’s family
member is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking;

(B) the qualified individual is using the leave for one of the
following reasons related to the domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking:

(i) to seek or obtain medical care, counseling, or social or legal
services, either for themselves or for a family member:;

(i1) to recover from injuries;

(iii) to participate in safety planning, either for themselves or for a
family member;

(iv) to relocate or secure safe housing, either for themselves or for
a family member; or
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(v) to meet with a State’s Attorney or law enforcement officer;

and

(C) the qualified individual is not the alleged perpetrator of the
domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.
(22) “Self-employed individual” means a sole proprietor or partner

owner of an unincorporated business, the sole member of an LLC, or the sole
shareholder of a corporation.

(23) “Serious health condition” means:

(A) an accident, illness, injury, disease, or physical or mental
condition that:

(1) poses imminent danger of death;

(i) requires inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential
medical care facility; or

(ii1) requires continuing treatment by a health care provider: or

(B)  rehabilitation from an accident, illness, injury, disease, or
physical or mental condition described in subdivision (A) of this subdivision
(23), including treatment for substance use disorder.

(24) “Sexual assault” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.

(25) “Stalking” has the same meaning as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.
(26) “U.S. Armed Forces” means:

(A) the U.S. Army, Navy. Air Force, Marine Corps, Space Force, and
Coast Guard;

(B) a reserve component of the U.S. Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine
Corps, Space Force, and Coast Guard; or

(C) the National Guard of any state.

(27)  “Wages” means all remuneration paid by an employer to an
employee for services or work performed by the employee. Wages include

salaries, tips, commissions, bonuses, and the cash value of any remuneration
paid in a medium other than cash. The reasonable cash value of remuneration

paid in a medium other than cash shall be estimated and determined in
accordance with rules adopted pursuant to 21 V.S.A. chapter 17. Wages shall

not include the amount of any payment that is:

(A) made to, or on behalf of, an employee or any of the employee’s
dependents under a plan or system established by an employer that:
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(i) provides:
(I)_insurance;

(II) annuities: or

(III) a fund or plan that provides for the employees or their
dependents, or both, or any class or classes of the employees or their
dependents, or both;

(i) on account of:

() _sickness, accident, or disability:

(II) medical or hospitalization expenses in connection with
sickness, accident, or disability; or

(III) death;
(B) made by an employer to, or on behalf of, an employee more than

six calendar months after the last calendar month in which the employee
worked for the employer and is on account of:

(1) sickness, accident, or disability: or

(i1) any medical or hospitalization expenses in connection with
sickness, accident, or disability; or

(C) made to, or on behalf of, an employee or the employee’s
(1) _from or to a trust described in 26 U.S.C. § 401(a) that is
exempt from tax under 26 U.S.C. § 501(a) at the time of the payment, unless

the payment is made to an employee of the trust as remuneration for services
rendered as the employee and not as a beneficiary of the trust; or

(i1) under or to an annuity plan that, at the time of such payment,
is a plan described in 26 U.S.C. § 403(a).

Sec. 7. 32 V.S.A. § 3102(e) is amended to read:

(¢) The Commissioner may, in the Commissioner’s discretion and subject
to such conditions and requirements as the Commissioner may provide,
including any confidentiality requirements of the Internal Revenue Service,
disclose a return or return information:

* %k 3k

(22) To the Treasurer and to the Director of the Division of Family and

Medical Leave, provided the return or return information relates to the
provision of family and medical leave insurance under 21 V.S.A. chapter 26.
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Sec. 8. ADOPTION OF RULES

(a) On or before April 1, 2025, the Director of the Division of Family and
Medical Leave shall adopt rules necessary to implement the provisions of 21
V.S.A. chapter 26.

(b) On or before April 1, 2025, the Commissioner of Taxes, in consultation

with the Director of the Division of Family and Medical Leave, shall adopt
rules as necessary to carry out the provisions of 21 V.S.A. § 2053.

Sec. 9. EDUCATION AND OUTREACH

(a)(1) On or before June 1, 2025, the Director of the Division of Family

and Medical Leave shall develop and make available on the Division’s website
information and materials to educate and inform employers and employees

about the Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program established pursuant
to 21 V.S.A. chapter 26.

(2)(A) During the period from June 1, 2025 through May 31, 2026, the
Division shall offer monthly informational sessions for employers, employees,
and self-employed individuals. The Director shall ensure that sessions are
available to both individuals attending in person and to individuals who are not
physically present by:

(1) using technology that permits the attendance of individuals
through electronic or other means;

(i1) allowing individuals to access the session by telephone; and

(ii1) posting information that allows individuals to directly access
and participate in each session electronically and providing that information on
the Division’s website and in any public notice for a session.

(B) Sessions for employers shall be developed in consultation with
the Department of Taxes and shall be designed to educate employers regarding
employers’ rights and obligations under 21 V.S.A. chapter 25 and shall include
information regarding resources available to employers through the Division
and the Department of Taxes.

(C) Sessions for employees shall be developed in consultation with
the Department of Taxes and shall be designed to educate employees regarding
employees’ rights and obligations under 21 V.S.A. chapter 25, the tax credit
available to certain individuals pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 5830¢g, and resources
available to employees through the Division and the Department of Taxes.

(D) Sessions for self-employed individuals shall be developed in
consultation with the Department of Taxes and shall be designed to educate
self-employed individuals regarding self-employed individuals’ rights and
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obligations under 21 V.S.A. chapter 25, the tax credit available to certain
individuals pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 5830g, and resources available to self-
employed individuals through the Division and the Department of Taxes.

(b) The Director shall make available translations of all information and

materials created pursuant to subsection (a) of this section on the Division’s
website in the five most commonly spoken languages in Vermont after

English.

(¢c) The Division’s website shall be accessible to individuals with
disabilities in accordance with WCAG 2.1 AA or a similar updated standard.

Sec. 10. ESTABLISHMENT OF PROGRAM; REPORT

Annually, on or before December 15, 2023, 2024, and 2025, the Director of

the Division of Family and Medical Leave and the Commissioner of Taxes
shall submit a written report to the House Committees on Appropriations; on
General and Housing; and on Ways and Means and the Senate Committees on
Appropriations; on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs; and
on Finance regarding the implementation of the Family and Medical Leave
Insurance Program established pursuant to 21 V.S.A. chapter 26. The report
shall provide detailed information regarding any progress made in
implementing the provisions of 21 V.S.A. chapter 26, including the
development of information technology needed to implement the Program, the
adoption of rules, the creation of forms, the hiring and training of staff, and the
development of informational materials and outreach programs. The report
shall also provide a projected timeline for the implementation of the Program

and include any recommendations for legislative action necessary to ensure
that the Program can be implemented as required pursuant to this act.

Sec. 11. ADEQUACY OF RESERVES; REPORT

Annually, on or before December 15, 2025, 2026, 2027, and 2028. the

Director of the Division of Family and Medical Leave, in consultation with the
Commissioners of Finance and Management, of Financial Regulation, and of
Taxes, shall submit a written report to the House Committees on
Appropriations; on General and Housing; and on Ways and Means and the
Senate Committees on Appropriations; on Economic Development, Housing
and General Affairs; and on Finance regarding the amount and adequacy of the
reserves in the Family and Medical Leave Insurance Special Fund and any

recommendations for legislative action necessary to ensure that an adequate
reserve is maintained in the Fund. The report shall also include an analysis of

informational resources, legislation, or other measures that could potentially
improve the long-term solvency of the Fund and the Division’s ability to
accurately determine an appropriate reserve, including the potential for use of
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actuarial analysis or the implementation of a countercyclical funding
mechanism.

Sec. 12. PRIVATE PLANS; INITIAL APPROVAL

(a) An employer wishing to utilize a private plan to meet the employer’s

obligations pursuant to 21 V.S.A. chapter 26 beginning on January 1, 2026
shall submit an application for approval of a private plan on or before October

15, 2025.
(b) The Director of the Division of Family and Medical Leave shall review

the proposed plan as provided pursuant to the provisions of 21 V.S.A. § 2059.

(¢) An employer that receives approval for a private plan pursuant to this
section shall:

(1) beginning on January 1, 2026, be exempt from withholding and

paying contributions as provided pursuant to 21 V.S.A. 2053(d);

(2) begin providing benefits pursuant to the private plan on or before
January 1, 2026; and

(3) _on or before January 15, 2026, be reimbursed by the Director for
any contributions that the employer paid for the calendar quarters ending
September 30, 2025 and December 31, 2025.

Sec. 13. APPROPRIATIONS

(a) The amount of $46.159.585.00 is appropriated to the Division of
Family and Medical Leave for fiscal years 2024, 2025, and 2026 to be
deposited in the Family and Medical Leave Insurance Special Fund and used
for the establishment of the Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program.

(b) _The amount of $6.504.916.00 is appropriated to the Department of

Taxes for fiscal years 2024, 2025, and 2026 to be deposited in the Family and
Medical Leave Insurance Special Fund and used for the establishment of the

Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program.
(¢) The amount of $58.810.448.00 is transferred from the General Fund to

the Family and Medical Leave Insurance Special Fund for the costs of

operating the Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program during calendar
year 2026 and the maintenance of the reserve required pursuant to 21 V.S.A.

§ 2053(b).
Sec. 14. DEPARTMENT OF TAXES; POSITIONS

The establishment of the following 15 new permanent classified positions is
authorized in the Department of Taxes in fiscal year 2025:
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(1) eight full-time, classified tax examiners within the Taxpayer

Services Division;

(2) two full-time, classified tax examiners within the Compliance

Division;

(3)  three full-time, classified tax compliance officers within the
Compliance Division;

(4) one full-time, classified financial specialist III within the Revenue

Accounting and Returns Processing Division: and

(5) one business analyst—tax within the VTax Division.
Sec. 15. DIVISION OF FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE; POSITIONS
(a) The establishment of the following six new permanent classified

positions is authorized in the Division of Family and Medical Leave in fiscal
year 2024:

(1) one full-time, classified administrative assistant;

(2) one full-time, classified private insurance regulation supervisor;

(3) one full-time, classified financial and accounting supervisor;

(4) one full-time, classified information technology director;

(5) one full-time, classified applications developer; and

(6) one full-time, classified information technology service desk
specialist.

(b) The establishment of the following three new permanent exempt
positions is authorized in the Division of Family and Medical Leave in fiscal
year 2024:

(1) one full-time, exempt Director;

(2) one full-time, exempt Deputy Director; and

(3) one full-time, exempt general counsel.

(c) The establishment of the following eight new permanent classified
positions is authorized in the Division of Family and Medical Leave in fiscal
year 2025:

(1) two full-time, classified communications and outreach specialists;
(2) one full-time, classified administrative support specialist;

(3) three full-time, classified accounting support specialists;
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(4) one full-time, classified claims supervisor; and

(5) one full-time, classified assistant claims supervisor.

(d) The establishment of the following 24 new permanent classified
positions is authorized in the Division of Family and Medical Leave in fiscal
year 2026:

(1) one full-time, classified regulatory specialist;

(2) fifteen full-time, classified claims processors:

(3) five full-time, classified claims adjudicators; and

(4) three full-time, classified compliance officers.
Sec. 16. BUILDINGS AND GENERAL SERVICES; SPACE ALLOCATION

The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services shall allocate space

for the Division of Family and Medical Leave established pursuant to section 6
of this act. The space shall be allocated on or before September 30, 2023.

* % * Income Tax Credit; Family and Medical Leave Contributions * * *
Sec. 17. 32 V.S.A. § 5830g is added to read:
§ 5830g. FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE CONTRIBUTION CREDIT

(a) A qualified individual shall be entitled to a credit against the tax
imposed under section 5822 of this title for the taxable year in which the
individual made family and medical leave contributions pursuant to 21 V.S.A.
chapter 26, provided the qualified individual’s combined annual total of
covered wages and covered work income does not exceed $25,000.00 in the
taxable year. The credit under this section shall be in the amount of:

(1) $40.00 for a qualified individual whose combined annual total of
covered wages and covered work income does not exceed $15.000.00; or

(2) $70.00 for a qualified individual whose combined annual total of
covered wages and covered work income exceeds $15.000.00 but is less than
or equal to $25.000.00.

(b) The Commissioner of Taxes shall annually adjust for inflation the

dollar amounts of the maximum combined annual totals of covered wages and
covered work income and the dollar amounts of the credit in subsection (a) of
this section by using the adjustment percentage of the national average wage

index computed and published for the taxable year by the Commissioner of the
Social Security Administration.

(c) The Commissioner of Taxes shall transfer the amount of family and

medical leave contribution credits paid to qualified individuals for the taxable
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year pursuant to this section from the Family and Medical Leave Insurance
Program Special Fund created under 21 V.S.A. § 2052 to the General Fund

created under section 435 of this title.

(d) As used in this section:

(1)  “Covered wages” has the same meaning as in 21 V.S.A.
§ 2053(a)(1)(B).

(2) “Covered work income” has the same meaning as in 21 V.S.A.
§ 2053(a)(2)(B).

(3) “National average wage index” has the same meaning as in 42
U.S.C. § 409(k)(1).

(4)  “Qualified individual” has the same meaning as in 21 V.S.A.
§ 2070(18).

Sec. 18. 32 V.S.A. § 5813(aa) is added to read:
(aa) The statutory purpose of the family and medical leave contribution

credit in section 5830¢g of this title is to lower the cost of contributing to the

family and medical leave insurance program for qualifying individuals with
low income.

* * * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 19. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 1, 2.3.6,.7.8.9,10, 11, 12, 13. 14, 15. and 16
shall take effect on July 1, 2023.

(b) Secs. 4 and 5 shall take effect on July 1, 2026.

(c) Secs. 17 and 18 (family and medical leave contribution credit) shall

take effect on January 1, 2025 and shall apply to taxable years beginning on
and after January 1, 2025.

(d) Contributions shall begin to be paid pursuant to 21 V.S.A. § 2053 on

July 1, 2025, and, beginning on July 1, 2026, employees may begin to apply
for and receive benefits pursuant to 21 V.S.A. chapter 26.

(Committee Vote: 8-4-0)

Rep. Scheu of Middlebury, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends that the report of the Committee on Ways and Means be amended
as follows:

First: By striking out Sec. 13, appropriations, in its entirety and inserting in
lieu thereof a new Sec. 13 to read as follows:
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Sec. 13. APPROPRIATIONS

(a) The amount of $37.000,000.00 is appropriated to the Division of

Family and Medical Leave for fiscal year 2024 to be used for the
establishment of the Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program.

(b) The funds appropriated pursuant to subsection (a) of this section shall
be transferred from the General Fund to the Family and Medical Leave
Insurance Special Fund.

Second: By striking out Sec. 14, Department of Taxes; positions, in its
entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new Sec. 14 to read as follows:

Sec. 14. [Deleted.]

Third: By striking out Sec. 15, Division of Family and Medical Leave;
positions, in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new Sec. 15 to read as
follows:

Sec. 15. DIVISION OF FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE; POSITIONS

(a) The establishment of the following six new permanent classified

positions is authorized in the Division of Family and Medical Leave in fiscal
year 2024:

(1) one full-time, classified administrative assistant;

(2) one full-time, classified private insurance regulation supervisor;

(3) one full-time, classified financial and accounting supervisor;

(4) one full-time, classified information technology director;

(5) one full-time, classified applications developer; and

(6) one full-time, classified information technology service desk
specialist.
(b) The establishment of the following three new permanent exempt

positions is authorized in the Division of Family and Medical Leave in fiscal
year 2024:

(1) one full-time, exempt Director;

(2) one full-time, exempt Deputy Director; and

(3) one full-time, exempt general counsel.

Fourth: In Sec. 12, private plans; initial approval, in subsection (a), by
striking out “beginning on January 1,” and inserting in lieu thereof the words
“for calendar year”
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Fifth: In Sec. 12, private plans; initial approval, in subdivision (c)(2), by
striking out the word “January” and inserting in lieu thereof the word “July”

(Committee Vote: 8-4-0)
H. 126
An act relating to community resilience and biodiversity protection

Rep. Sheldon of Middlebury, for the Committee on Environment and
Energy, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. SHORT TITLE

This act may be cited as the “Community Resilience and Biodiversity
Protection Act” or “CRBPA.”

Sec. 2. FINDINGS
The General Assembly finds:

(1) Nature is facing a catastrophic loss of biodiversity, both globally and
locally.

(2) In addition to its intrinsic value, biodiversity is essential to human

survival.

(3) According to the United Nations:
(A) one million species of plants and animals are threatened with

extinction:

(B) human activity has altered almost 75 percent of the Earth’s
surface, squeezing wildlife and nature into ever-smaller natural areas of the
planet;

(C) the health of ecosystems on which humans and all other species

depend is deteriorating more rapidly than ever, affecting the very foundations
of economies, livelihoods, food security, health, and quality of life worldwide;

and

(D) the causes of the drivers of changes in nature rank as follows:
(i) changes in land and sea use;

(i1) direct exploitation of organisms;

(iii) climate change;

(iv) pollution, and

(v)_invasive species.
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(4) The 2017 Vermont Forest Action Plan found that fragmentation and
parcelization represent major threats to forest health and productivity and

exacerbate the impacts of climate change.

(5) The 2021 Vermont Climate Assessment highlights an increase in
extreme weather events such as droughts and floods as a significant impact of
climate change in Vermont and recommends nature-based solutions as a

proven, low-cost strategy for climate adaptation and resilience.
(6) The initial Vermont Climate Action Plan calls for investing in

strategic conservation to increase the pace of permanent conservation towards
30 by 30 targets, with Vermont Conservation Design guiding prioritization of
efforts.

(7) _The Nature Conservancy has developed the Resilient and Connected
Landscapes project and found that Vermont plays a key role in the
conservation of biodiversity regionally.

(8) The Staying Connected Initiative is an international partnership of

public and private organizations. Its goal is to maintain, enhance, and restore

landscape connectivity for wide-ranging mammals across the Northern
Appalachians-Acadian region, from the Adirondack Mountains to the

Maritime Provinces. The Staying Connected Initiative has identified nine

linkages across this vast region that are extremely important to wildlife. Six of
these linkages lie within Vermont.

(9) The Vermont Department of Fish and Wildlife, working within the

Agency of Natural Resources and with Vermont conservation organizations,
has developed Vermont Conservation Design, a framework to sustain the

State’s ecologically functional landscape into the future.

(10) Intact and connected ecosystems support Vermont’s biodiversity,
reduce flood risks., mitigate drought. and sequester and store carbon.

(11) Vermont’s most effective and efficient contribution to conserving

biological diversity and maintaining a landscape resilient to climate change is
to conserve an intact and connected landscape.

(12) In order to maintain ecological functions in intact and connected
ecosystems, the full range of conservation approaches is needed. including
supporting private landowner education, technical assistance, and programs;
conservation easements that promote sustainable forest management; and
conservation easements and fee acquisitions focused on passive management.

(13) The Vermont Housing Finance Agency’s 2020 Housing Needs

Assessment projected an urgent pre-pandemic need for new housing. Strategic
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investment in conservation is consistent with construction of housing in
Vermont’s villages and town centers.

(14) The land and waters, forests and farms, and ecosystems and natural
communities in Vermont are the traditional and unceded home of the Abenaki
people. Access to land and land-based enterprises has excluded Black,
Indigenous, and Persons of Color (BIPOC) Vermonters and others from
historically marginalized and disadvantaged communities in the centuries of
European settlement. Efforts to increase land conservation must also include
opportunities to increase access to land and land-based enterprise for

Indigenous People and all who come from historically marginalized and
disadvantaged communities.

Sec. 3. 10 V.S.A. chapter 89 is added to read:

CHAPTER 89. COMMUNITY RESILIENCY AND BIODIVERSITY
PROTECTION

§ 2801. DEFINITIONS

As used in this section:

(1)  “Ecological reserve area” means an area having permanent

protection from conversion of natural land cover and that is managed to
maintain a natural state within which natural ecological processes and

disturbance events are allowed to proceed with minimal interference.
(2) “Biodiversity conservation area” means an area having permanent

protection from conversion of natural land cover for the majority of the area

and that is managed for the primary goal of sustaining species or habitats.
These areas may include regular, active interventions to address the needs of

particular species or to maintain or restore habitats.

(3)  “Natural resource management area” means an area having
permanent protection from conversion of natural land cover for the majority of
the area but that is subject to long-term sustainable forest management.

(4) “Sustainable forest management” means the stewardship and use of

forests and forestlands in a way, and at a rate, that maintains their biodiversity,

productivity, regeneration capacity, vitality, and their potential to fulfill, now
and in the future, relevant ecological, economic, and social functions at local,

State, and regional levels, and that does not degrade ecosystem function.

(5)  “Conserved” means permanently protected and meeting the

definition of ecological reserve area, biodiversity conservation area, or natural
resource management area as defined in this section.
§ 2802. CONSERVATION VISION AND GOALS
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(a) The vision of the State of Vermont is to maintain an ecologically
functional landscape that sustains biodiversity, maintains landscape
connectivity, promotes climate resilience, supports working farms and forests,
provides opportunities for recreation and appreciation of the natural world, and
supports the historic settlement pattern of compact villages surrounded by rural
lands and natural areas.

(b) It is the goal of the State that 30 percent of Vermont’s total land area
shall be conserved by 2030, and 50 percent of the State’s total land area shall
be conserved by 2050. The Secretary of Natural Resources shall lead the
effort in achieving these goals. The land conserved shall include State,
federal, municipal, and private land.

(c) Reaching 30 percent by 2030 and 50 percent by 2050 shall include a

mix of ecological reserve areas, biodiversity conservation areas, and natural

resource management areas. In order to support an ecologically functional and
connected landscape with sustainable production of natural resources and

recreational opportunities, the approximate percentages of each type of
conservation category shall be guided by the principles of conservation science
and the conservation targets within Vermont Conservation Design, prioritizing

ecological reserve areas to protect highest priority natural communities and
maintain or restore old forests.

§ 2803. CONSERVED LAND INVENTORY

(@) On or before July 1, 2024, the Secretary, with assistance from the
Vermont Housing and Conservation Board, shall create an inventory of
Vermont’s conserved land and conservation policies to serve as the basis of
meeting the conservation goals of Vermont Conservation Design and to meet
the goals established in section 2802 of this title. The inventory shall be

submitted for review to the House Committees on Environment and Energy

and on Agriculture, Food Resiliency, and Forestry and the Senate Committee
on Natural Resources and Energy.

(b) The inventory shall include:

(1) areview of the three conservation categories defined in section 2801
of this title and suggestions for developing any modifications or additions to
these categories that maintain the core concepts of ecological reserve areas,

biodiversity conservation areas, and natural resource management areas in
order to complete the conserved land inventory;

(2) the amount of conserved land in Vermont that fits into each of the
three conservation categories defined in section 2801 of this title, including
public and private land. The inventory shall also include other lands
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permanently protected from development by fee ownership or subject to
conservation easements;

(3) a summary of the totality of conservation practices, both permanent

and intermediate, available for reaching the goals of this chapter, including
what they are, what they do, how they contribute, and what metrics are

available to quantify them;

(4) an assessment of how State lands will be used to increase conserved
ecological reserve areas:

(5) the implementation methods that could be utilized for achieving the
goals of this chapter using Vermont Conservation Design as a guide;

(6) an assessment of how water is protected in the State and how
protection of aquatic systems may be addressed in the plan:

(7) __how existing programs will be used to meet the permanent,

nonconversion conservation goals of this chapter and recommendations for
new programs that will be needed to meet the goals:

(8) an assessment of existing funding and recommendations for new
funding sources that will be needed for acquisition of land, purchase or

donation of conservation easements, staffing capacity, and long-term
stewardship to meet the goals;

(9) an equity assessment of existing land protection and conservation
strategies and programs; and

(10) an evaluation of the opportunities related to intergenerational land
transfer trends and how the State could proactively direct resources to achieve
conservation at the time of transfer.

§ 2804. CONSERVATION PLAN

(a) On or before December 31, 2025, the Secretary, with assistance from
the Vermont Housing and Conservation Board, shall develop a plan to
implement the conservation goals of Vermont Conservation Design and to
meet the goals established in section 2802 of this title. The plan shall be

submitted for review to the House Committees on Environment and Energy

and on Agriculture, Food Resiliency, and Forestry and the Senate Committee
on Natural Resources and Energy.

(b) The plan shall include:

(1) a comprehensive strategy for achieving the goals of section 2802 of
this title;
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(2) the implementation methods for achieving the vision and goals of
this chapter using Vermont Conservation Design as a guide; and

(3) recommendations to increase equitable access to protected and

conserved lands and land-based enterprises.

(c) In developing the plan, the Secretary, with assistance from the Vermont
Housing and Conservation Board, shall hold 12 or more public meetings on
the plan between July 1, 2023 and December 31, 2025 to solicit input from
stakeholders. Stakeholders shall include private owners of forestlands and
agricultural lands, land trusts, conservation organizations, environmental
organizations, working lands enterprises, outdoor recreation groups and
businesses, Indigenous groups and representatives from historically
marginalized and disadvantaged communities, municipalities, regional
planning commissions, conservation commissions, and relevant State and

federal agencies. At least three of the meetings shall be designed to solicit
comments from the general public.

(d) The conserved land inventory established in 2803 of this title shall be
updated biennially to track progress toward meeting the goals of this chapter,
which shall be publicly available, and the Secretary shall submit a report to the

relevant committees on or before January 15 following each update.
Sec. 4. APPROPRIATION

The sum of $75,000.00 is appropriated from the General Fund to the
Vermont Housing and Conservation Board in fiscal year 2024 to support
public education and outreach to inform the development of the statewide
conservation plan. The funds shall be available for use for two years and shall
support equitable engagement with community members from historically
marginalized and disadvantaged communities, including costs for travel
vouchers, food, and childcare where necessary to accommodate participation,

as well as compensation for community members who might be asked to serve
on more formal subcommittees and who would otherwise not be able to

participate.
Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2023.
(Committee Vote: 9-2-0)

Rep. Squirrell of Underhill, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends the report of the Committee on Environment and Energy be
amended as follows:

In Sec. 4, appropriation, by striking out the second sentence.
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(Committee Vote: 8-4-0)
H. 127
An act relating to sports wagering

Rep. Birong of Vergennes, for the Committee on Government Operations
and Military Affairs, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 31 V.S.A. chapter 25 is added to read:
CHAPTER 25. SPORTS WAGERING

Subchapter 1. Authority of the Department
§ 1301. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) “Adjusted gross sports wagering revenue” means gross Sports

wagering receipts, excluding voided bets, less winnings paid to authorized
participants and any federal excise tax.

(2) “Board” means the Board of Liquor and Lottery.

(3)  “Collegiate sports event” means a sports or athletic event
participated in or offered or sponsored by a public or private institution that
offers educational services beyond the secondary level.

(4) “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery or
designee.
(5) “Department” means the Department of Liquor and Lottery.

(6) “High school sports event” means a sports or athletic event

participated in or offered or sponsored by a public or private institution that
offers educational services at the secondary level.

(7)  “Mobile sports wagering platform” means the combination of

hardware, software, and data networks used to manage, administer, record, or
control sports wagers through mobile devices or the Internet.

(8)  “Operator” means a party who is authorized by contract or
agreement with the Department to conduct a sportsbook.

(9) “Prohibited sports bettor” means:

(A) any member or employee of the Department and any spouse,

child, sibling, or parent residing in the same household as a member or
employee of the Department;
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(B) any principal or employee of any operator;

(C) any contractor of the Department or its operators when the
contract relates to the conduct of sports wagering:

(D) any contractor or employee of an entity that conducts sports
wagering in another jurisdiction when the bettor, as a result of the bettor’s
contract or employment, possesses confidential or nonpublic information
relating to the wager being placed;

(E) any amateur or professional athlete if the sports wager is based in
whole or part on a sport or athletic event overseen by the athlete’s governing
sports body;

(F) any sports agent, owner, or employee of a team; player; umpire:

referee; coach; union official; or official of a sport’s governing body if the
sports wager is based in whole or in part on a sport or athletic event overseen

by the governing body that oversees the individual’s sport;

(G) any individual placing a wager as an agent of or proxy for a
prohibited sports bettor; or

(H) any person under 21 years of age.

(10)(A) “Prohibited sports event” means any:

(1) collegiate sports event in which one of the participants is a
collegiate team of a college institution that is primarily located in Vermont,
unless the collegiate sports event is subject to the provisions of subdivision (B)
of this subdivision (10);

(ii) high school or collegiate sports event that takes place in

Vermont:; and

(iii) amateur or professional sports event where the participants
are primarily under 18 years of age.

(B)  “Prohibited sports event” does not mean the games of a

collegiate sports tournament in which a Vermont college team participates, nor

does it include any games of a collegiate sports tournament that occur outside
Vermont even though some of the individual games or events are held in

Vermont.

(11) “Sportsbook” means the business of accepting sports wagers on any
sports event by any system or method of wagering.

(12) “Sports event” means an event at which two or more persons
participate in a sports or athletic event. “Sports event” also means horse racing
and equestrian events.
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13) “Sports governing body” means the organization that prescribes
final rules and enforces codes of conduct with respect to a sporting event and
the participants in a sporting event.

(14) “Sports wager” means cash or cash equivalent paid by an
individual to participate in sports wagering.

(15)(A) “Sports wagering” means wagering on:

(1) sporting events or any portion of a sporting event; or

(i1) the individual performance statistics of athletes participating

1n a sports event or a combination of sports events.

(B) “Sports wagering” means wagering on the matters enumerated in
subdivision (A) of this subdivision (16) by any system or method of wagering,

including in-person communication and electronic communication through
Internet websites accessed via a mobile device or computer and mobile device

applications.
(C) “Sports wagering” includes single game bets, teaser bets, parlays,

over-under bets, money line bets, pools, exchange wagering, in-game
wagering, in-play bets, proposition bets, and straight bets.

(D) “Sports wagering” does not mean participation in a fantasy
sports contest pursuant to subchapter 3 of this chapter.

(16) “Type of wager” means the form of a wager offered by an operator,
such as those described in subdivision (15)(C) of this section.

§ 1302. DEPARTMENT OF LIQUOR AND LOTTERY; AUTHORITY AND
DUTIES

(a) The Department is authorized to operate sports wagering within the
State.

(b)(1) The Commissioner shall negotiate and contract to authorize a

minimum of two but not more than six operators to operate a sportsbook in
Vermont through a mobile sports wagering platform.

(2) This subsection shall not be construed to require the Department to
authorize unqualified applicants to conduct a sportsbook. If the competitive
bidding process fails to produce a sufficient number of qualified applicants, the
Department may:

(A) decline to authorize any operators to operate a sportsbook: or

(B) authorize a single operator to conduct a sportsbook.
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(¢) The Department, either independently or through its operator, shall
provide:

(1) Age verification measures to be undertaken to block access to and
prevent sports wagers by persons under 21 years of age.

(2)  Identity verification through secure online databases or by

examination of a person’s photo identification and the review of a
supplemental, contemporaneous photograph of the person.

(3) That mobile sports wagers must be initiated and received within the
State of Vermont and may not be intentionally routed outside the State. The
incidental intermediate routing of a mobile sports wager shall not determine
the location or locations in which the wager is initiated, received, or otherwise
made.

(4) Wager limits for daily, weekly, and monthly amounts consistent with
the best practices in addressing problem gambling.

(5) A statewide voluntary self-exclusion program for players to exclude
themselves from wagering for a set period of time. The Department shall
establish a uniform self-exclusion program that ensures a listed player is
excluded from placing wagers with any of the State’s authorized sports
wagering operators and fantasy sports contest operators.

(6) Security mechanisms to ensure the confidentiality of wagering and
personal and financial information except as otherwise authorized by this
chapter.

(7) Measures to ensure that wagers are not placed by a prohibited sports
bettor.

(d) A sports governing body or college may request that the Department
restrict, limit, or exclude wagering on a sporting event or series of sporting
events. The Department shall review the request and seek input from the
Department’s operators. If the Department determines it is appropriate, then
the Department may grant the request or part of the request to prohibit
unlawful activity, protect the integrity of the event, or protect public
confidence in the integrity of the sports event.

(e) The Department shall have authority to review and approve types of
wagers and categories of sports events before an operator is permitted to offer
the wager to the public. The Department shall approve types of wagers and
categories of sports events in a reasonable time frame. Once a particular
category of sports event or type of wager is approved for its first use, it may be
used on multiple events without further approval. The Department may issue

- 1064 -



general approval for operators to offer wagers on enumerated categories of
sports events and types of wagers.

(f) The Department shall only approve wagers on sports events that:

(1) have verifiable outcomes that can be generated by a reliable and
independent processes; and

(2) are conducted in conformity with applicable laws.

(g) The Department shall include in its contract with each operator a
provision that prohibits the use of sports wagering advertisements, logos,
trademarks, or brands on products that are sold in Vermont and intended

primarily for persons under 21 years of age.
§ 1303. PROCEDURES

(a)(1) The Board shall adopt procedures pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 835 to
govern the establishment and operation of any sportsbook authorized by this
chapter. For each procedure proposed to be adopted or amended pursuant to
this section, the Board shall publish the proposal on the Department of Liquor
and Lottery’s website, provide notice of the proposal to all operators, provide

not less than 30 days for public comment on the proposal, and hold not less
than two public hearings at which members of the public may seek additional
information or submit oral or written comments on the proposal.

(2) The Board shall not be required to initiate rulemaking pursuant to

3 V.S.A. § 831(c¢) in relation to a procedure adopted pursuant to this section.

(3) A procedure adopted pursuant to this section shall have the force of
law and be binding on all persons who play or offer sports wagering within the
State.

(b) The Board shall adopt procedures pursuant to this section that govern
the following minimum standards for the Department’s operators:

(1) minimum computer system security, including:

(A) documented system security testing performed by a licensed
third-party contractor approved by the Department;

(B) unique identification and verification systems for wagers:

(C) procedures to prevent past posting of wagers:

(D) minimum data that must be recorded relating to each wager:;

(E) system redundancy to ensure recording of wagers during a
system outage: and
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(F) integration with an independent control system to ensure integrity
of system wagering information;

(2) sports wagering system requirements that meet or exceed Gaming

Laboratories International’s GLI-33: Standards for Event Wagering Systems,
and its appendices, as amended or modified;

(3) minimum house rules, including:

(A) the method for calculation and payment of winning wagers;
(B) the effect of schedule changes for a sports event;

(C) the method of notifying bettors of odds or proposition changes:

(D) acceptance of wagers at terms other than those posted;

(E) circumstances under which the operator will void a bet; and

(F) treatment of errors, late bets, and related contingencies:

(4) minimum accounting controls, including:

(A) processes for recording the collection of wagers, payment of
wagers, and cancellation of wagers issued: and

(B) requirements for an annual audit of accounting controls;

(5) minimum internal control standards;
(6) minimum cash reserves to be maintained by each operator; and

(7)_promotional play requirements that:

(A) require each operator to provide unambiguous notice of the:

(1) date and time the promotion or bonus is active and expires;

(i1) rules of play;

(ii1) nature and value of prizes or awards;

(iv) eligibility restrictions or limitations;

(v)  wagering and redemption requirements, including any
limitations;

(vi) eligible events or wagers;

(vil) cancellation requirements: and

(viii)  terms and conditions that are full, accurate, concise,
transparent, and do not contain misleading information;
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(B) prohibit promotions or bonuses from being described as free or
risk-free if those promotions or bonuses require the player to incur any loss or

risk the player’s own money to use or withdraw winnings from the free wager:
(O prohibit the operator from restricting the player from

withdrawing the player’s own funds or withdrawing winnings from wagers
placed using the player’s own funds:

(D) ensure that the promotion or bonus rules shall be available to
patrons and the Department; and

(E)  require operators to adopt procedures for the issuance,
acceptance, and tracking of promotions or bonuses.
§ 1304. REVENUES TO GENERAL FUND

The revenue received by the Department from sports wagering, less the
administrative costs of the Department and the amount due to the Problem
Gambling Special Fund, shall be deposited in the General Fund.

§ 1305. CONFIDENTIALITY OF RECORDS
(a) When produced or acquired by the Department pursuant to this chapter,

the following records are exempt from public inspection and copying under the
Public Records Act and shall be kept confidential:

(1) personal information and background check documents:

(2) any lists of names, including information related to voluntary self-

exclusion;

(3) trade secrets, business records, financial records, and related

information: and

(4) records relating to operator security, technology, facilities, or
systems.

(b) The Public Records Act exemptions created in this section shall not be
subject to the provisions of 1 V.S.A. § 317(e) (repeal of Public Records Act

exemptions).
§ 1306. EXEMPTION

The provisions of 13 V.S.A. chapter 51, relating to gambling and lotteries,
shall not apply to sports wagering or a fantasy sports contest conducted

pursuant to this chapter.
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Subchapter 2. Sports Wagering Operators
§ 1320. SPORTS WAGERING OPERATORS: COMPETITIVE BIDDING
PROCESS

(a) The Commissioner shall select operators through a competitive bidding
process.

(b) The Board shall adopt procedures pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 835 to

establish criteria for the selection of operators. At a minimum, the Board’s
guidelines shall require an applicant to include the following in the proposal:

(1) an estimate of the applicant’s potential adjusted gross sports
wagering revenue and the percentage of adjusted gross sports wagering
revenue from mobile sports wagering the applicant will pay to the State if
selected to be an operator;

(2) the number of individually branded websites the operator proposes
to use for its sports wagering operations in Vermont;

(3) the applicant’s responsible gaming plan and a description of
responsible gaming safeguards that the applicant currently employs;

(4) a list of all jurisdictions where the applicant and any parent
companies are currently authorized to conduct sports wagering operations;

(5) the applicant’s player acquisition model, advertising and affiliate
programs, and marketing budget, including details on how the applicant will

convert customers from wagering through illegal channels to wagering legally
in the State;

(6) the estimated time frame for implementing the applicant’s sports
wagering operations;

(7) the applicant’s integrity monitoring systems, including any current
affiliations related to integrity monitoring: and

(8) the applicant’s plan for maximizing sustainable, long-term revenue

for the State, including a detailed market analysis.

(¢) __The Department shall assess an annual operator fee of $550.000.00,
which shall be apportioned equally among the authorized operators.

(d) Each operator shall pay to the Department a revenue share that is
determined by the Department through the competitive bidding process.
§ 1321. PROHIBITED ACTIVITIES

The Department’s operators are prohibited from the following activities:
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(1) accepting or making payment relating to sports wagers made by

prohibited sports bettors:

(2) accepting sports wagers on prohibited sports events; or

(3) accepting sports wagers from persons who are physically outside the
State of Vermont at the time the sports wager is placed.

§ 1322. MAINTAINING SPORTS INTEGRITY

The Department and its operators may participate in national and
international monitoring services and associations and may share betting
information with those entities and sports governing bodies in order to ensure

the integrity of sports wagers and sports events. The Commissioner may
restrict, limit, or exclude wagering on a sports event if the Commissioner

determines that the restriction, limitation, or exclusion is necessary to ensure
the integrity of the sportsbook.

§ 1323. ACCESS TO FINANCIAL REPORTS

The Department may require financial and compliance reports from its
operators at any time and may conduct audits of these reports to ensure that the
State receives the contractual share of revenue.

§ 1324. COMPLIANCE OVERSIGHT

(a) The Department shall retain oversight of its operators to ensure that all
sports wagering activities are conducted in accordance with this chapter, any
contractual terms, and any procedures adopted by the Department.

(b) Any failure to comply with this chapter, contractual terms, or any
procedures adopted by the Department may be brought before the Board of
Liquor and Lottery. The Board shall have the authority to impose sanctions on
an operator for a violation, including monetary penalties, suspension of

operator operations within the State, and the termination of all operator
operations within the State. The Department may also bring an action in a

Vermont court for damages, injunctive relief, or enforcement of monetary
penalties related to any contract violation.

§ 1325. CRIMES AND PENALTIES

(a) A person who is not permitted to conduct sports wagering pursuant to
this chapter that operates, conducts, or exposes sports wagering for play or
accepts a bet or wager associated with sports wagering shall be fined not more

than $10,000.00 or imprisoned not more than six months, or both.

- 1069 -



(b) A person convicted of a second violation of subsection (a) of this
section shall be fined not more than $25.000.00 or imprisoned not more than
one year, or both.

(c) A person convicted of a third or subsequent violation of subsection (a)

of this section shall be fined not more than $50,000.00 or imprisoned not more

than two vears, or both.

Subchapter 3. Fantasy Sports Contests
§ 1330. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

(1) “Computer script” means a list of commands that can be executed by

a program, scripting engine, or similar mechanism that a fantasy sports player
can use to automate participation in a fantasy sports contest.

(2) “Confidential fantasy sports contest information” means nonpublic
information available to a fantasy sports operator that relates to a fantasy
sports player’s activity in a fantasy sports contest and that, if disclosed, may
give another fantasy sports player an unfair competitive advantage in a fantasy

sports contest.

(3) “Fantasy sports contest” means a virtual or simulated sporting event
governed by a uniform set of rules adopted by a fantasy sports operator in

(A) a fantasy sports player may earn one or more cash prizes or
awards. the value of which a fantasy sports operator discloses in advance of
the contest;

(B) a fantasy sports player uses the player’s knowledge and skill of

sports data, performance, and statistics to create and manage a fantasy sports
team:;

(C) a fantasy sports team earns fantasy points based on the sports
performance statistics accrued by individual athletes or teams, or both, in real
world sporting events;

(D) the outcome is determined by the number of fantasy points

earned; and

(E) the outcome is not determined by the score, the point spread, the
performance of one or more teams, or the performance of an individual athlete
in a single real world sporting event.
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(4) ‘“Fantasy sports operator’” means a person that offers to members of
the public the opportunity to participate in a fantasy sports contest for
consideration.

(5) “Fantasy sports player” means an individual who participates in a
fantasy sports contest for consideration.

(6) “Location percentage” mean the percentage, rounded to the nearest
tenth of a percent, of the total of all entry fees collected from fantasy sports
players located in Vermont, divided by the total entry fees collected from all
fantasy sports players in fantasy sports contests.

(7) “Net fantasy sports contest revenues” means the amount equal to the
total of all entry fees that a fantasy sports operator collects from all fantasy

sports players, less the total of all sums paid out as winnings to all fantasy
sports players, multiplied by the location percentage for Vermont.

§ 1331. CONSUMER PROTECTION

(a) A fantasy sports operator shall adopt commercially reasonable policies
and procedures to:

(1) prevent participation in a fantasy sports contest it offers to the public
with a cash prize of $5.00 or more by:

(A) the fantasy sports operator;

(B) an employee of the fantasy sports operator or a relative of the
employee who lives in the same household; or

(C) a professional athlete or official who participates in one or more
real world sporting events in the same sport as the fantasy sports contest;

(2) prevent the disclosure of confidential fantasy sports contest
information to an unauthorized person;

(3) require that a fantasy sports player is 18 years of age or older and

verify the age of each player using one or more commercially available
databases, which the government or businesses regularly use to verify and

authenticate age and identity;

(4) limit and disclose to prospective players the number of entries a

fantasy sports player may submit for each fantasy sports contest;

(5) limit a fantasy sports player to not more than one username or

account;

(6) prohibit the use of computer scripts that provide a player with a
competitive advantage over another player;

- 1071 -



(7) _segregate player funds from operational funds, or maintain a reserve
in the form of cash, cash equivalents, payment processor receivables, payment
processor reserves, an irrevocable letter of credit, a bond, or a combination
thereof in an amount that equals or exceeds the amount of deposits in fantasy
sports player accounts, for the benefit and protection of fantasy sports player
funds held in the player’s accounts; and

(8) notify fantasy sports players that winnings of a certain amount may

be subject to income taxation.

(b) A fantasy sports operator shall have the following duties:

(1) The operator shall provide a link on its website to information and

resources addressing addiction and compulsive behavior and where to seek
assistance with these issues in Vermont and nationally.

(2)(A) The operator shall enable a fantasy sports player to restrict
irrevocably the player’s own ability to participate in a fantasy sports contest.
for a period of time the player specifies, by submitting a request to the

operator through its website or by online chat with the operator’s agent.
(B) The operator shall provide to a player who self-restricts the
player’s participation information concerning:

(1) available resources addressing addiction and compulsive
behavior;

(ii)) how to close an account and restrictions on opening a new

account during the period of self-restriction;

(ii1) requirements to reinstate an account at the end of the period;

and

(iv) _how the operator addresses reward points and account
balances during and after the period of self-restriction, and when the player
closes the player’s account.

(3) The operator shall provide a player access to the following
information for the previous six months:

(A) a player’s play history, including money spent, games played,
previous line-ups, and prizes awarded; and

(B) a player’s account details, including deposit amounts, withdrawal

amounts, and bonus information, including amounts remaining for a pending
bonus and amounts released to the player.

(c)(1) A fantasy sports operator shall contract with a third party to perform
an annual independent audit, consistent with the standards established by the
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American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, to ensure compliance with
the requirements in this chapter.

(2) The fantasy sports operator shall submit the results of the
independent audit to the Attorney General.

(d) A fantasy sports operator shall not extend credit to a fantasy sports
player.
(e) A fantasy sports operator shall not offer a fantasy sports contest based

on the performance of participants in college, high school, or youth athletic
events.

§ 1332. FAIR AND TRUTHFUL ADVERTISING

(a) A fantasy sports operator shall not depict in an advertisement to
consumers in this State:

(1) minors, other than professional athletes who may be minors;
(2) students;

(3) schools or colleges; or

(4) school or college settings, provided that an incidental depiction of

nonfeatured minors does not violate this section.

(b) A fantasy sports operator shall not state or imply in an advertisement to
consumers in this State endorsement by:

(1) minors, other than professional athletes who may be minors;

(2) collegiate athletes:

(3) colleges: or

(4) college athletic associations.

(c)(1) A fantasy sports operator shall include in an advertisement to

consumers in this State information concerning assistance available to problem
gamblers or shall direct consumers to a reputable source of that information.

(2) If an advertisement is of insufficient size or duration to provide the
information required in subdivision (1) of this subsection, the advertisement

shall refer to a website or application that does prominently include such
information.

(d) A fantasy sports operator shall only make representations concerning

winnings that are accurate, not misleading, and capable of substantiation at the
time of the representation. For purposes of this subsection, an advertisement is
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misleading if it makes representations about average winnings without equally
prominently representing the average net winnings of all players.

§ 1333. REGISTRATION

On or before October 15 of each year in which a fantasy sports operator
offers a fantasy sports contest to consumers in this State, the operator shall file
an annual registration with the Department on a form adopted for that purpose
and pay to the Department an annual registration fee in the amount of

$5.000.00.
§ 1334. ENFORCEMENT

(a) A person that violates a provision of this chapter commits an unfair and
deceptive act in commerce in violation of 9 V.S.A. § 2453.

(b) The Attorney General has the authority to adopt rules to implement the
provisions of this chapter and to conduct civil investigations, enter into
assurances of discontinuance, and bring civil actions as provided under 9
V.S.A. chapter 63, subchapter 1.

Subchapter 4. Responsible Gaming and Problem Gambling
§ 1340. RESPONSIBLE GAMING AND PROBLEM GAMBLING:

OPERATOR PLANS, DUTIES, AND REPORT

(a) Responsible gaming plan. Annually, each operator shall submit to the
Department and the Department of Mental Health a responsible gaming plan
that shall include information related to the posting of materials related to
problem gambling, resources to be made available to bettors expressing
concerns about problem gambling, house-imposed player limits, and self-
exclusion programs. The Commissioner shall require each applicant to submit

a _responsible gaming plan prior to authorizing the applicant to conduct a
sportsbook within the State.

(b) Plan review. At least every five years, each operator shall be subject to
an independent review of the operator’s responsible gaming plan, as assessed
by industry standards and performed by a third party approved by the
Department. The Department may require the operator to pay for the
independent review.

(c) Problem gambling report. Annually on or before January 15, the

Department, in consultation with the Department of Mental Health, shall
submit to the General Assembly a report on the impact of sports wagering on
problem gambling in Vermont, including an analysis of demographic
populations that are disproportionately impacted by problem gambling. The
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Department may require the operators to pay for the costs associated with
preparing and submitting the report.

(d) Operator platform requirements. The Department shall ensure that
each operator utilizes a mobile sports wagering platform that:

(1) prohibits an individual from establishing more than one account;

(2) prohibits an individual from using a credit card to establish an
account or place wagers;

(3) allows a person to limit the amount of money that may be deposited

into an account and spent per day through an account;

(4) establishes a statewide voluntary self-exclusion process to allow a
person to:

(A) exclude themselves from establishing an account;

(B) exclude themselves from placing wagers through an account; or

(C) limit the amount such person may spend using such an account;
(5) provides responsible gaming and problem gambling information to

participants; and

(6) conspicuously displays on each applicable Internet website or
mobile application:

(A) alink to a description of the provisions of this subsection (d);
(B) a link to responsible gaming and problem gambling information;

(C) a telephone number that an individual may use to obtain
information about problem gambling;

(D) a link to information about the voluntary self-exclusion process

described in subdivision (4) of this subsection (d);

(E) a periodic pop-up message displaying the amount of time an
individual has spent on the operator’s Internet website or mobile application;

(F) a means to initiate a break in play to discourage excessive play:

and

(G) a clear display of the amount of money available to the
individual in the individual’s account.

(e) Advertising restrictions. Sports wagering advertisements shall not:

(1) depict any individual under 21 years of age. except live footage or
images of athletes in sporting events on which sports wagering is permitted:
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(2) depict any individual under 21 vyears of age in any way that may be
construed as the underage individual participating in or endorsing sports
wagering; or

(3) target individuals under 21 vears of age, other individuals who are

ineligible to participate in sports wagering, individuals with gambling
problems, or other vulnerable individuals.

Vermont postsecondary campuses. A postsecondary school located in
the State shall not permit sports wagering to be advertised on property
belonging to the postsecondary school, except for generally available
advertising, including television, radio, and digital advertising. An operator

shall not advertise in a manner that targets the area of a college or university
campus.
§ 1341. PROBLEM GAMBLING SPECIAL FUND

(a) There is established the Problem Gambling Special Fund that shall be

managed in accordance with 32 V.S.A. chapter 7. subchapter 5. Annually, the
following amounts of the annual sports wagering revenue received by the
Department of Liquor and Lottery shall be credited to this Fund:

1) in fiscal year 2024, five percent but not less than $250.000.00; and

(2) in fiscal year 2025 and each vyear thereafter, five percent but not less

than $500,000.00.
(b) This Fund shall be available to the Department of Mental Health for:
(1) providing support to agencies, organizations, and persons that

provide education, assistance, awareness, treatment, and recovery services to
persons and families experiencing difficulty as a result of addictive or
problematic gambling;

(2) promoting public awareness of and providing education about
gambling addiction;

(3) establishing and funding programs to certify addiction counselors;
(4) promoting public awareness of assistance programs for gambling

addiction; and

(5) funding a helpline with text messaging and online chat capabilities.
(¢) On or before January 15 of each year, the Department of Mental Health

shall submit to the General Assembly a report detailing the expenditures from

the Fund in the preceding fiscal year and summarizing the programs and
activities supported by those expenditures.
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Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF LIQUOR AND LOTTERY; FANTASY SPORTS
CONTEST REPORT AND RECOMMENDATIONS

(a) On or before January 15. 2024, the Department of Liquor and Lottery

shall submit to the House Committee on Government Operations and Military

Affairs and the Senate Committee on Economic Development, Housing and
General Affairs a report on the current status of fantasy sports contests in

Vermont.

(b) The report shall include:

(1) an examination of the number of fantasy sports contest operators, the
amount of players who participate in fantasy sports contests, and the State’s

compliance monitoring and enforcement of the laws governing fantasy sports
contests; and

(2) recommendations for how the current statutes governing fantasy

sports contests may be amended to address any issues identified in the report.
Sec. 3. REPEAL
9 V.S.A. chapter 116 (fantasy sports contests) is repealed.
Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.
(Committee Vote: 9-3-0)

Rep. Beck of St. Johnsbury, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the report of the Committee on Government Operations and
Military Affairs be amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 1, 31 V.S.A. chapter 25 (sports wagering), in section 1301
(definitions), in subdivision (7), following “hardware, software, and data
networks” by inserting the words “that are” before the words “used to manage”

Second: In Sec. 1, 31 V.S.A. chapter 25 (sports wagering), in section 1301
(definitions), in subdivision (15)(B), following the words “of this subdivision”
by striking out “(16)” and inserting in lieu thereof “(15)”

Third: In Sec. 1, 31 V.S.A. chapter 25 (sports wagering), in section 1302
(Department of Liquor and Lottery; authority and duties), in subdivision
(c)(5), following the period at the end of the subdivision, by inserting the
words “The Department shall establish a process that allows a holder of a joint
bank account to exclude the joint account from all operator platforms in the
State.”
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Fourth: In Sec. 1, 31 V.S.A. chapter 25 (sports wagering), in section 1302
(Department of Liquor and Lottery; authority and duties), by striking out
subsection (g) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new subsection (g)
to read as follows:

(g) The Department shall include in its contract with each operator:

(1) a provision that prohibits the use of sports wagering advertisements,
logos. trademarks, or brands on products that are sold in Vermont and intended

primarily for persons under 21 years of age;

(2) the requirement that the Department and its operators shall
cooperatively develop an advertising plan, which shall include strategies to

limit unwanted advertising and advertising aimed at persons under 21 years of
age; and

(3) a cap on the amount spent by the Department and its operators on
sports wagering advertising within the State.

Fifth: In Sec. 1, 31 V.S.A. chapter 25 (sports wagering), by striking out
section 1304 (revenues to General Fund) in its entirety and inserting in lieu
thereof a new section 1304 to read as follows:

§ 1304. REVENUES TO GENERAL FUND

The revenues and fees received by the Department pursuant to this chapter
shall be deposited in the General Fund.

Sixth: In Sec. 1, 31 V.S.A. chapter 25 (sports wagering), in section 1320
(sports wagering operators; competitive bidding process), in subsection (a),
following the period at the end of the sentence, by inserting the following:

It is the intent of the General Assembly that the Department shall be guided
by and prioritize the following when conducting the competitive bidding
process, selecting operators, and structuring agreements with the operators:

(1) maximizing revenues to the State;

(2) reducing the illegal market and converting wagerers to the legal
market; and

(3) protecting Vermonters from problem gambling.

Seventh: In Sec. 1, 31 V.S.A. chapter 25 (sports wagering), in section 1320
(sports wagering operators; competitive bidding process), by striking out
subsection (c) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new subsection (c)
to read as follows:
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(¢) The Department shall assess an annual operator fee based on the
number of operators that are accepted through the competitive bidding process.
The annual operator fee shall be assessed as follows:

(1) _For one operator, $550.000.00.
(2) For two operators, $275,000.00 per operator.

(3) For three operators, $200.000.00 per operator.

(4) For four operators, $162.500.00 per operator.

(5) For five operators, $140,000.00 per operator.

(6) For six operators, $125.000.00 per operator.

Eighth: In Sec. 1, 31 V.S.A. chapter 25 (sports wagering), in section 1320
(sports wagering operators; competitive bidding process), in subsection (d),
following the words “through the competitive bidding process” by inserting “,

provided that the revenue share shall not be less than 20 percent of adjusted
gT0Ss sports wagering revenue”

Ninth: In Sec. 1, 31 V.S.A. chapter 25 (sports wagering), in subchapter 4,
by striking out section 1341 (Problem Gambling Special Fund) in its entirety
and inserting in lieu thereof a new section 1341 to read as follows:

§ 1341. PROBLEM GAMBLING PROGRAM

(a) The Department of Mental Health shall manage and administer a
problem gambling program to:

(1) support agencies, organizations, and persons that provide education,
assistance, awareness, treatment, and recovery services to persons and families
experiencing difficulty as a result of addictive or problematic gambling;

(2) promote public awareness of and provide education about gambling

addiction;

(3) establish and fund programs for the certification of addiction
counselors;

(4) promote public awareness of assistance programs for gambling

addiction; and

(5) fund a helpline with text messaging and online chat capabilities.

(b) On or before January 15 of each year, the Department of Mental Health

shall submit to the General Assembly a report detailing the activities supported
by appropriations made for the problem gambling program.

Tenth: By inserting a new section to be Sec. 2a to read as follows:
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Sec. 2a. APPROPRIATIONS

(a) The following sums are appropriated to the Department of Mental

Health for purposes of establishing and administering a problem gambling
program:

(1) in fiscal year 2024, $250.000.00; and
(2) in fiscal year 2025, $500.000.00.

(b) In fiscal year 2024, $550,000.00 is appropriated from the General Fund
to the Department of Liquor and Lottery. This appropriation is made in
anticipation of receipts from sports wagering operator fees.

(Committee Vote: 10-2-0)

Rep. Harrison of Chittenden, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends that the report of the Committee on Ways and Means be amended
as follows:

First: In the fifth instance of amendment, by striking out section 1304 and
inserting in lieu thereof a new section 1304 to read as follows:

§ 1304. REVENUES TO SPORTS WAGERING FUND

The revenues and fees received by the Department pursuant to this chapter
shall be deposited in the Sports Wagering Fund.

Second: By striking out the ninth instance of amendment in its entirety and
inserting in lieu thereof a new ninth instance of amendment to read as follows:

Ninth: In Sec. 1, 31 V.S.A. chapter 25 (sports wagering), by striking out
section 1341 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof two new sections to be
Secs. 1341 and 1341a to read as follows:

§ 1341. SPORTS WAGERING FUND

(a) The Sports Wagering Fund is established. It shall consist of all
revenues and fees received by the Department pursuant to this chapter and all
amounts that are from time to time appropriated to the Department for
purposes of this chapter.

(b) The Department’s administrative and operating costs shall be allocated

to and paid from the Fund based on generally accepted accounting principles.
§ 1341a. PROBLEM GAMBLING PROGRAM

(a) The Department of Mental Health shall establish and administer the
Problem Gambling Program to:

- 1080 -



(1) provide support to agencies, organizations, and persons that provide

education, assistance, awareness, treatment, and recovery services to persons
and families experiencing difficulty as a result of addictive or problematic
gambling;

(2) promote public awareness of and provide education concerning

gambling addiction;

(3) establish programs to certify addiction counselors:

(4) promote public awareness of assistance programs for gambling

addiction; and

(5) fund a helpline with text messaging and online chat capabilities.
(b) On or before January 15 of each year, the Department of Mental Health

shall submit to the General Assembly a report detailing the expenditures
related to the Problem Gambling Program in the preceding fiscal year and
summarizing the programs and activities supported by those expenditures.

Third: In the tenth instance of amendment, in Sec. 2a (appropriations), by
striking out all after the section heading and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

(a) The following sums are appropriated from the Sports Wagering Fund to

the Department of Mental Health for purposes of establishing and
administering the Problem Gambling Program:

(1) in fiscal year 2024, $250.000.00; and
(2) in fiscal year 2025, $500.000.00.

(b) _In fiscal year 2024, $550,000.00 is appropriated from the Sports
Wagering Fund to the Department of Liquor and Lottery. This appropriation is
made in anticipation of receipts from sports wagering operator fees.

(Committee Vote: 11-1-0)

H. 157
An act relating to the Vermont basic needs budget

Rep. Burrows of West Windsor, for the Committee on General and
Housing, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. BASIC NEEDS BUDGET TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE;
REPORT
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(a) Creation. The Basic Needs Budget Technical Advisory Committee is

created to update the methodology utilized in calculating the basic needs
budget pursuant to 2 V.S.A. § 526.

(b) Membership. The Committee shall be composed of the following

members:

(1) two current members of the House of Representatives, not all from
the same political party, who shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House:

(2) two current members of the Senate, not all from the same political
party, who shall be appointed by the Committee on Committees;

(3) the Secretary of Human Services or designee;

(4) one member, appointed by the Vermont Sustainable Jobs Fund;

(5) one member, appointed by the Society for Human Resources

Management, Vermont State Council; and

(6) one member, appointed by Capstone Community Action.
(c) Duties.
(1)(A) On or before November 1, 2023, the Committee shall study the

topics set forth in subdivision (B) of this subdivision (1) and submit a written
report to the Joint Fiscal Committee, the House Committee on General and
Housing, and the Senate Committee on Economic Development, Housing and
General Affairs that details the Committee’s findings and provides
recommendations for revisions to the methodology for determining the basic
needs budget pursuant to 2 V.S.A. § 526. The report may also include
recommendations for legislative action.

(B) In preparing the report required pursuant to subdivision (A) of
this subdivision (1), the Committee shall study the following topics:

(1) the current methodology for calculating the basic needs budget
and determining what constitutes a livable wage;

(ii) potential changes to the methodology for calculating the basic
needs budget and determining what constitutes a livable wage, including the
identification of not more than seven household configurations to be utilized in
future determinations of the basic needs budget and livable wage; and

(iii) _potential changes to 2 V.S.A. § 526 to account for public

policy changes, data availability, or any other factors that have had an impact
on any aspects of the basic needs budget calculation or the cost to Vermonters

of basic needs as that term is defined in 2 V.S.A. § 526(a)(1).
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(2) The Committee shall:

(A) take testimony from subject-matter experts to assist with data
analysis and methodological considerations: and

(B) take testimony from a variety of stakeholders, including
employers and employees and organizations that represent employers and
employees.

(d) Assistance. The Committee shall have the administrative and technical

assistance of the Joint Fiscal Office, the technical assistance of the Department
of Labor’s Economic and Labor Market Information Division, and the legal
assistance of the Office of Legislative Counsel.

(e) Meetings.
(1) The Joint Fiscal Office shall call the first meeting of the Committee

to occur on or before August 15, 2023.

(2) The Committee shall select a chair from among its members at the
first meeting.

(3) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Committee shall cease to exist on January 30, 2025.

(f) Compensation and reimbursement.

(1) For attendance at meetings during adjournment of the General

Assembly, a legislative member of the Committee shall be entitled to per diem
compensation and reimbursement of expenses pursuant to 2 V.S.A. § 23 for

not more than five meetings.
(2) Other members of the Committee who are not State employees shall

be entitled to per diem compensation and reimbursement of expenses as
permitted under 32 V.S.A. § 1010 for not more than five meetings.

(2) Appropriations.

(1) _The sum of $7.000.00 is appropriated to the General Assembly from
the General Fund in fiscal vyear 2024 for per diem compensation and
reimbursement of expenses for members of the Committee.

(2) The sum of $10.000.00 is appropriated to the Joint Fiscal Office

from the General Fund in fiscal year 2024 for costs related to retaining experts
and other services provided to the Committee by the Joint Fiscal Office.

Sec. 2. 2025 BASIC NEEDS BUDGET REPORT; METHODOLOGY
Notwithstanding any provision of 2 V.S.A. § 526(c) to the contrary, in

preparing the basic needs budget report due January 15, 2025, the Joint Fiscal
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Office shall utilize the methodology and household configurations
recommended by the Basic Needs Budget Technical Advisory Committee

established pursuant to section 1 of this act.
Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2023.
(Committee Vote: 12-0-0)

Rep. Bluemle of Burlington, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends the bill ought to pass.

(Committee Vote: 12-0-0)
H. 165
An act relating to school food programs and universal school meals

Rep. Cole of Hartford, for the Committee on Agriculture, Food
Resiliency, and Forestry, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Findings * * *
Sec. 1. FINDINGS
The General Assembly finds that:

(1) According to the Vermont Agency of Education, an average of 38
percent of students across all supervisory unions during the 2019-2020 school
year qualified for free or reduced-price lunch. As a result, some

schoolchildren face more challenges than others in succeeding in school and in
life. The General Assembly recognizes that students need fresh and nutritional
foods to enable them to focus on their education and that many students come
to _school hungry. Providing universal school meals offered at no cost to

students or their families creates a necessary foundation for learning readiness
during the school day.

(2) A 2021 study by the National Food Access and COVID Research
Team found that in the first year of the pandemic, nearly one-third of persons
in Vermont faced hunger, and families with children were five times more
likely to face hunger. Food insecurity rates remained above prepandemic
levels a year after the start of the pandemic.

(3) In a 2019 research report, the Urban Institute found that up to 42
percent of children living in food-insecure homes may not be eligible for free
or reduced-price school meals.
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(4) In 2016, the Center for Rural Studies at the University of Vermont
(UVM) partnered with the Vermont Farm to School Network to measure the
economic contribution and impacts of Farm to School programs in Vermont.
The final report found that school meal programs support a vibrant agricultural
economy, with every $1.00 spent on local food in schools contributing $1.60
to the Vermont economy.

(5) A study analyzing trends in food sources and diet quality published

in 2021 found that the most nutritious meals consumed by children in the
United States are school meals, including when compared to meals cooked at
home.

(6) A study conducted by UVM found that universal school meals
programs in Vermont were associated with, among other benefits, improved

overall school social climate as a result of financial difference being less
visible and improved readiness to learn among students overall.

* * * School Food Programs * * *

Sec. 2. 16 V.S.A. chapter 27, subchapter 2 is amended to read:

Subchapter 2. School Food Programs
§ 1261a. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

(1) “Food programs” means provision of food to persons under
programs meeting standards for assistance under the National School Lunch
Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1751 et seq.; and i the Child Nutrition Act, 42 U.S.C. §
1771 et seq., each as amended.

(2) “School board” means the governing body of a school district
responsible for the administration of a public school.

(3) “Independent school board” means a governing body responsible for
the administration of a nonprofit independent school exempt from United
States U.S. income taxes.

(4)  “Approved independent school” means an independent school
physically located in Vermont and approved by the State Board of Education
under section 166 of this title.

(5)  “Universal meals supplement” means the reimbursement amount
paid by the State for the cost of a paid breakfast or lunch under the federal
school breakfast and federal school lunch programs.

(A) For breakfast. the universal meals supplement is a sum equal to
the federal reimbursement rate for a free school breakfast less the federal

- 1085 -




reimbursement rate for a paid school breakfast, using rates identified annually
by the Agency of Education from payment levels established annually by the
U.S. Department of Agriculture.

(B) For lunch, the universal meals supplement is a sum equal to the
federal reimbursement rate for a free school lunch less the federal
reimbursement rate for a paid school lunch, using rates identified annually by
the Agency of Education from payment levels established annually by the U.S.
Department of Agriculture.

§ 1262a. AWARD OF GRANTS

* %k sk

(e) Universal meals supplements shall be awarded in accordance with
section 4017 of this title.

§ 1264. FOOD PROGRAM

(a)(1)(A) Each school board operating a public school shall cause to
operate within the each school in the school district a food program that makes
available a school lunch, as provided in the National School Lunch Act, as
amended, and a school breakfast, as provided in the Natienal Child Nutrition
Act, as amended, to each attending student who qualifies for those meals under
these acts every school day.

(B) In addition, each school board operating a public school shall
cause to operate within each school in the school district the same school
breakfast and school lunch program made available to students who qualify for
those meals under the Child Nutrition Act and the National School Lunch Act,
each as amended, for each attending student every school day at no charge.
An approved independent school operating a school lunch and school breakfast
program made available to students who qualify for those meals under the
Child Nutrition Act and the National School Lunch Act, each as amended.
shall offer the same to each attending student every school day at no charge in
order to qualify for the universal meals supplement.

(C) In operating its school breakfast and lunch program, a school

district and an approved independent school shall seek to achieve the highest
level of student participation, which may include any or all of the following:

(i) providing breakfast meals that can be picked up by students:

(ii) making breakfast available to students in classrooms after the

start of the school day; and
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(ii1) for school districts, collaborating with the school’s wellness
community advisory council, as established under subsection 136(e) of this

title, in planning school meals.
(D) A school district and an approved independent school shall count

time spent by students consuming school meals during class as instructional
time.

manner: [Repealed.
* % * Universal Meals Supplement Awards * * *
Sec. 3. 16 V.S.A. § 4017 is added to read:

§4017. UNIVERSAL MEALS SUPPLEMENT
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(a)  Definition. For the purpose of this section, ‘“universal meals
supplement” has the same meaning as that term has in subdivision 1261a(5) of
this title.

(b) Public schools. From State funds appropriated to the Agency from the
Education Fund for the universal meals supplement, the Agency shall provide
a universal meals supplement for the cost of each meal actually provided to
each student in the district during the previous quarter when meals are offered
to all students at no charge pursuant to subdivision 1264(a)(1)(B) of this title.

(1) Reimbursement from State funds shall be available only to districts
that maximize access to federal funds for the cost of the school breakfast and
lunch program by participating in the Community Eligibility Provision, under
7 C.ER. §2459(f), or Provision 2, under 7 C.F.R. § 245.9(b), of these
programs, or any other federal provision that in the opinion of the Agency
draws down the most possible federal funding for meals served in that
program. At the start of each school year, the Agency of Education may
require that a school food authority requesting the universal meals supplement

begin a new cycle of the relevant federal provision and group sites in a manner
the Agency determines will maximize the drawdown of federal funds.

(2) Second breakfasts, as allowed under 7 C.F.R. § 220.9(a), do not
qualify for reimbursement under this subsection.

(3) A nonprofit prequalified private prekindergarten provider that is
qualified pursuant to subsection 829(c) of this title and is not also an approved
or recognized independent school is eligible for the universal meals
supplement under this subsection if it operates a food program under a public
school school food authority.

(¢) Approved independent schools.

(1) From State funds appropriated to the Agency from the Education
Fund for the universal meals supplement, the Agency shall provide a universal
meals supplement for the cost of each meal actually provided to each
qualifying student on public tuition when meals are offered to all students at
no charge pursuant to subdivision 1264(a)(1)(B) of this title, provided that:

(A) If the approved independent school participates in the food
programs as a site under a public school school food authority, the public
school school food authority shall be reimbursed only for students attending
the approved independent school on public tuition.

(B) If the approved independent school participates in the
Community Eligibility Provision under 7 C.F.R. or is in a vear

other than the base year of Provision 2 under 7 C.F.R. § 245.9(b), the school
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shall provide the Agency with the number of students attending the school on
public tuition and the total number of students enrolled in the school. The
Agency shall calculate the percentage of students attending the school on
public tuition and multiply that number by the paid student percentage, the
results of which shall be the number of meals the school shall be reimbursed
for.

(2) Second breakfasts, as allowed under 7 C.F.R. § 220.9(a), do not
qualify for reimbursement under this subsection.

(3) Students attending an approved independent school on public tuition
shall include a prekindergarten child if the approved independent school also
qualifies as a prequalified private provider and the child’s school district of
residence pays tuition to the school pursuant to section 829 of this title.

(4) An approved independent school is eligible for the universal meals
supplement only if it operates a food program that makes available a school
lunch, as provided in the National School Lunch Act as amended, and a school
breakfast, as provided in the Child Nutrition Act as amended, to each attending
student who qualifies for those meals under these acts every school day.

(5) Reimbursement from State funds shall be available only to approved

independent schools that maximize access to federal funds for the cost of the

school breakfast and lunch program by participating in the Community
Eligibility Provision under 7 C.EF.R. § 245.9(f), or Provision 2 under 7 C.F.R.

§ 245.9(b), of these programs, or any other federal provision that in the
opinion of the Agency draws down the most possible federal funding for meals
served in that program. At the start of each school year, the Agency of
Education may require that a school food authority requesting the universal
meals supplement begin a new cycle of the relevant federal provision and

group sites in a manner the Agency determines will maximize the drawdown
of federal funds.

(d) Universal meals supplement. The universal meals supplement amount
for breakfast shall be a sum equal to the federal reimbursement rate for a free
school breakfast less the federal reimbursement rate for a paid school
breakfast, using rates identified annually by the Agency of Education from
payment levels established annually by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
The universal meals supplement amount for lunch shall be a sum equal to the
federal reimbursement rate for a free school lunch less the federal
reimbursement rate for a paid school lunch, using rates identified annually by
the Agency of Education from payment levels established annually by the U.S.
Department of Agriculture.

* % * | ocal Foods Incentive Grant * * *
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Sec. 4. 16 V.S.A. § 1264a is amended to read:
§ 1264a. LOCALLY PRODUCED FOODS

(a) It is a goal of the State that by the year 2023, at least 20 percent of all

foods purchased by supervisery—unions—and—supervisory—distriets;—together

referred-to-in-this-seetion-as—supervisory-unions;- eligible entities, as defined
by subsection (e) of this section, be locally produced foods. Seheol-boards

Eligible entities have the discretion to define what foods are included within
the definition of “locally produced foods” for the purposes of this subsection
and subsection (b) of this section.

(b) On or before December 31, 2021 and annually thereafter, a—sehool
beard an eligible entity operating a school lunch, breakfast, or summer meals
program shall report to the Agency of Education an estimate of the percentage
of the cost of all foods purchased by the seheel-beard eligible entity for those
programs that were locally produced foods during the one-year period ending
on June 30 of that year.

(c)(1) Beginning with the 2021-22 school year and thereafter, supervisery
untens eligible entities shall be eligible for a local foods incentive grant (grant)
from funds appropriated to the Agency of Education for this purpose.

(2) A supervisery-unten eligible entity may apply for the grant if it has:

(A) developed a locally produced foods purchasing plan that
describes the supervisery-union’s eligible entity’s goals for purchasing locally
produced foods and its plan to achieve those goals;

(B) designated an individual as the food coordinator for locally
produced foods, who shall be responsible for implementing the locally
produced foods purchasing plan;

(C) developed a process for tracking the purchase of locally
produced foods; and

(D) complied with the reporting requirement under subsection (b) of
this section.

(3) A—supervisery—unton An eligible entity that has satisfied the

conditions under subdivision (2) of this subsection may, on or before January
15, 2022 or on or before January 15 of any year thereafter, apply to the
Agency for the grant by submitting a certification, signed by the business

manager for the supervisery—unten eligible entity, that the supervisery—union
eligible entity satisfies the conditions under subdivision (2) of this subsection.

(4) If asupervisery-union an eligible entity is eligible for a grant under
subdivision (3) of this subsection, then the Agency shall make the grant
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payment, subject to appropriation, on or before the following March 31 after
submission of the supervisery—unton’s eligible entity’s application, which is
due on or before January 15 of that year, which shall be equal to $0.15 per
reimbursable school lunch served by the supervisery—union eligible entity in
the prior school year through the National School Lunch Program. A
supervisory-union An eligible entity may apply for this grant and receive this
grant funding only once.

(5)(A) A-supervisoryunton An eligible entity that has received a grant

under subdivision (4) of this subsection (¢) may, on or before January 15, 2023
or on or before January 15 of any year thereafter, apply for a further grant by
submitting to the Agency of Education information that demonstrates that at
least 15 percent of the cost of all foods purchased or grown, raised, or
produced by the supervisery—unten eligible entity during the one-year period
ending on June 30 of the previous year were local to Vermont as defined in 9
V.S.A. § 2465a(b), excluding:

(i) foods purchased or grown, raised, or produced by the
supervisory-unton eligible entity that were used to provide catering services for

which the supervisery-union eligible entity received compensation; and
(i1) fluid milk.

(B) If a—supervisory—union an_eligible entity grows, raises, or
produces food, it shall assign a fair market value to that food for the purpose
of reporting its cost.

(C) A vendor that contracts with a—supervisery—unien an eligible
entity to supply food products shall certify to the supervisory union which of

the food products supplied meet the definition of local to Vermont, taking into
account the exclusions under subdivision 5(A) of this subseetion subdivision

(©)(3)

(6) If a-supervisery—union an eligible entity is eligible for a grant under
subdivision (5) of this subsection, the Agency shall, on or before the following
April 30 after submission of the supervisery—union’s eligible entity’s
application, which is due on or before January 15 of that year, make the grant
payment, subject to appropriation, which shall be determined as follows:

(A) $0.15 per reimbursable school lunch served in the prior school
year through the National School Lunch Program for supervisory unions
purchasing at least 15 percent locally produced foods;

(B) $0.20 per reimbursable school lunch served in the prior school
year through the National School Lunch Program for supervisory unions
purchasing at least 20 percent locally produced foods; or
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(C) $0.25 per reimbursable school lunch served in the prior school
year through the National School Lunch Program for supervisory unions
purchasing at least 25 percent locally produced foods.

(7) A-supervisery—unten An eligible entity may apply for and receive
grant funding under subdivisions (5) and (6) of this subsection for each year

that it qualifies for this grant funding. For applications covering the 2020-
2021 school year, meals served through the Summer Food Service Program
shall also be counted for this grant payment.

(8) The Agency of Education may perform sample audits for any year
that grant funds are paid to supervisery—uniens eligible entities under
subdivision (6) of this subsection to verify that information provided to the
Agency under subdivision (5) of this subsection is accurate. If the Agency
makes a grant payment under subdivision (6) of this subsection to a
supervisory-unten an eligible entity that was based on inaccurate information
reported by the supervisery—union eligible entity, the Agency may seek
reimbursement from the supervisery—union eligible entity for an overpayment

or reimburse the supervisery-unton eligible entity for an underpayment or may
adjust future grant amounts under this section to reflect the over- or

underpayment.

(d)(1) On or before January 31, 2022 and annually thereafter, the Agency
of Education shall submit to the Senate Committees on Agriculture and on
Education and the House Committees on Agriculture and Forestry and on
Education in an aggregated form:

(A) the information received from supervisery—untens eligible
entities regarding the percentage of locally produced foods, as the supervisery

unions eligible entities define them, that were reported under subsection (b) of
this section; and

(B) the percentage of locally produced foods, using the grant funding
definition, that were reported under subdivision (c)(5) of this section and the
amount of grant funding paid to supervisery—untens eligible entities under
subdivision (c)(6) of this section in the prior school year.

(2) The provisions of 2 V.S.A. § 20(d) regarding expiration of required
reports shall not apply to the reports required by this subsection.

(e) As used in this section, “eligible entity” means:

(1) a supervisory union or supervisory district; or

(2) an approved independent school operating a food program. as
defined by subdivision 1261a(1) of this title, that also qualifies for the
universal meals supplement pursuant to section 4017 of this title.
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* * * Effective Date * * *
Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2023.
(Committee Vote: 9-2-0)

Rep. Sims of Craftsbury, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass.

(Committee Vote: 9-3-0)

Rep. Mihaly of Calais, for the Committee on Appropriations, recommends
the bill ought to pass.

(Committee Vote: 8-4-0)
H. 484

An act relating to enhancing workforce and economic development
opportunities

(Rep. Marcotte of Coventry will speak for the Committee on Commerce
and Economic Development.)

Rep. Anthony of Barre City, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill be amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 4(a), by striking out “Education Fund” and inserting in lieu
thereof “General Fund”

Second: In Sec. 29, in 10 V.S.A. § 2, by striking out subsection (c) in its
entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new subsection (c) to read:

(¢)_The regional development corporations shall:

(1) operate the Exchange to produce benefits for both the client

companies as well as the vendors providing the assistance;

(2) conduct outreach and direct engagement to promote participation by
businesses in rural areas of this State and businesses owned by mature
workers, youth, individuals with disabilities, individuals who have been
involved with the correction system, Black, Indigenous, and Persons of Color

Vermonters, New Americans, and other historically marginalized populations;
and

(3) supporting businesses in anticipating and addressing changing

workforce needs and availability through creative solutions, including split
shifts, shorter workweeks, and cross training.
(Committee Vote: 11-0-1)
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For Informational Purposes
CROSSOVER DATES

The Joint Rules Committee established the following crossover deadlines:

(1) All Senate/House bills must be reported out of the last committee of
reference (including the Committees on Appropriations and Finance/Ways and
Means, except as provided below in (2) and the exceptions listed below) on or
before Friday, March 17, 2023, and filed with the Secretary/Clerk so they
may be placed on the Calendar for Notice the next legislative day — Committee
bills must be voted out of Committee by Friday, March 17, 2023.

(2) All Senate/House bills referred pursuant to Senate Rule 31 or House
Rule 35(a) to the Committees on Appropriations and Finance/Ways and Means
must be reported out by the last of those committees on or before Friday,
March 24, 2023, and filed with the Secretary/Clerk so they may be placed on
the Calendar for Notice the next legislative day.

Note: The Senate will not act on bills that do not meet these crossover
deadlines, without the consent of the Senate Rules Committee.

Exceptions to the foregoing deadlines include the major money bills
(the general Appropriations bill (“The Big Bill”), the Transportation
Capital bill, the Capital Construction bill and the Fee/Revenue bills).

NOTICE OF JFO GRANTS AND POSITIONS

Grants and Positions that have been submitted to the Joint Fiscal Committee
by the Administration, under 32 V.S.A. §5(b)(3)(D):

JFO #3138: One (1) limited-service position, Statewide Grants Administrator,
to the Agency of Administration, Department of Finance and Management to
cover increased grant activity due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The position is
funded through Act 185 of 2022. Sec G.8010of the Act appropriates ARPA
funds for administrative costs related to the pandemic. This position is funded
through 12/31/2026. The grant packet can be found at:
https://ljfo.vermont.gov/assets/grants-documents/ec01b0Obea7/JFO-3138-
packet.pdf

[Received February 9, 2023]

JFO #3137: One (1) limited-service position to the Vermont Department of
Health, Senior Health Asbestos and Lead Engineer, to perform senior
professional level work to educate, advise on and enforce Vermont asbestos
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and lead control regulations. The position is funded through 9/30/2024
through an existing Environmental Protection Agency grant. The grant packet
can be found at: https://ljfo.vermont.gov/assets/grants-
documents/a44b7c8cac/JFO-3137-packet-v2.pdf

[Received 1/23/2023]

JFO #3136: $5,000,000.00 to the Agency of Administration, Public Service
Department, VT Community Broadband Board (VCBB) from the National
Telecommunications and Information Administration, Broadband Equity,
Access and Deployment Program to deliver broadband to unserved and
underserved areas in Vermont. This is a 5-year grant and will fill in the
technical gaps existing in the VCBB’s program of broadband deployment. The
grant packet can be found at: https://ljfo.vermont.gov/assets/grants-
documents/3d7b96fcb1/JFO-3136-packet.pdf

[Received 1/23/2023]
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