No. R-244. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2024 Thetford Academy Panthers Division III championship boys' basketball team.

(H.C.R.185)

Offered by: Representatives Masland of Thetford and Holcombe of Norwich

Offered by: Senators Clarkson, MacDonald, McCormack, and White

<u>Whereas</u>, the second-seeded Thetford Academy Panthers learned the importance of perseverance when they overcame a 20-point deficit to defeat third-ranked White River Valley in the semifinal Division III playoff game, and

<u>Whereas</u>, that challenging episode prepared the Panthers to tackle a 10-point deficit (34–24) a minute into the third quarter of the championship contest played at the Barre Auditorium against top-seeded Hazen Union, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Panthers' 19–6 third-quarter explosion still enabled Hazen to tie the score at 47–all with three minutes and 42 seconds remaining, but when the fourth quarter concluded, Thetford celebrated with a well-deserved 57–53 victory, the school's third boys' basketball title during the past six years, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the excited Panthers were Matthew Vivian, Liam Murphy, Hunter Clay, Dempsey McGovern, Dillon Vance, Mitchell Parkman, Matthew McGovern, Tommy Amber, Sam Parkman, Connor Sloop, Spencer Durkee, and Xander Oshoniyi, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Head Coach Jason Gray, assistant coaches Alex Emerson, Owen Deffner, and Andy Martin, as well as team manager Evan Patterson were proud of their highly focused team of student athletes, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2024 Thetford Academy Panthers Division III championship boys' basketball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Thetford Academy.