Page 1 of 1

No. R-178. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2023 Thetford Academy Panthers' Division III championship baseball team.

(H.C.R.133)

Offered by: Representatives Masland of Thetford and Holcombe of Norwich

Offered by: Senators MacDonald, Clarkson, McCormack, and White

Whereas, the Panthers' strong 2023 performance resulted in an outstanding 14–6 record and their being seated third for playoff competition, and

Whereas, the culmination of the playoffs was the championship game held at Burlington's Centennial Field, where the Panthers clinched the Division III championship, their first baseball title in 37 years, with a 6–0 victory over the fifth-seeded White River Valley School Wildcats in a game that featured eight Panther-pitched strikeouts and only two Wildcat hits, and

Whereas, the triumphant Panthers were Andrew Spooner, Dempsey McGovern, Evan Patterson, JD Farrell, Justin Robinson, Liam Brooks, Sam Parkman, Nolan Pepe, Owen Goodrich, Thomas Amber, Xander Oshoniyi, and Jacob Gilman, and

Whereas, Head Coach Phil Chaput and assistant coaches Andy Boyce and Ryan Pepe were essential for the team's great success, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2023 Thetford Academy Panthers' Division III championship baseball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Thetford Academy.