This act summary is provided for the convenience of the public and members of the General Assembly. It is intended to provide a general summary of the act and may not be exhaustive. It has been prepared by the staff of the Office of Legislative Counsel without input from members of the General Assembly. It is not intended to aid in the interpretation of legislation or to serve as a source of legislative intent.

Act No. 68 (H.480). An act relating to property valuation and reappraisals

Subjects: Taxation; property tax; reports; reappraisals

This act repeals the common level of appraisal (CLA) as a trigger for town reappraisals, effective retroactively for grand lists lodged on and after April 1, 2022. Beginning on January 1, 2025, this act requires municipalities to conduct full reappraisals every six years unless a longer period of time is approved by the Vermont Department of Taxes, Division of Property Valuation and Review. The Division of Property Valuation and Review is required to propose a schedule for reappraisals to the General Assembly on or before December 15, 2023 that phases in full reappraisals for each municipality every six years with the first municipalities scheduled to complete reappraisals on or before April 1, 2027.

This act requires the Vermont Department of Taxes to submit written reports to the House Committees on Government Operations and Military Affairs and on Ways and Means and the Senate Committees on Finance and on Government Operations. The first submission is a progress report due on or before December 15, 2023 regarding the Department's first six months of work done on the following:

- An implementation proposal for conduction State reappraisals.
- Distinguishing between different types and characteristics of property and their uses.
- Implicit bias reduction training for listers and assessors.
- Considerations for changing the annual date to lodge grand lists from April 1 to January 1 or another date.

The second submission is in two parts due on or before December 15, 2024. The first part is a detailed implementation proposal developed with relevant stakeholders on transitioning from municipal to State reappraisals. The second part is a set of recommendations and considerations for distinguishing between different types and characteristics of property and their uses, and how different property data could be used to make policy decisions. This act appropriates \$50,000.00 to the Vermont Department of Taxes to contract for outside reappraisal expertise to assist the Department in preparing the required written reports to General Assembly.

This act makes multiple changes regarding assessor and lister hiring and qualifications. This act requires the Vermont Department of Taxes, Division of Property Valuation and Review to provide certified assessment education programs on racial disparities in property valuation and on-going bias reduction training. This act clarifies that municipalities may only employ or contract with an assessor if the Division of Property Valuation and Review approves the assessor's qualifications as fulfilling the Division's training requirements. This act requires selectboards to notify the Division of Property Valuation and Review within 14 days of a vote to eliminate the office of lister and hire an assessor. This act expands the authority for towns to vote to eliminate the office of lister at special meetings in addition to annual meetings.

Beginning on January 1, 2026, this act requires elected listers to meet the same qualifications and training requirements required for hired assessors. This act allows elected listers who do not meet those training requirements at the time of their election one year from taking office to comply with the training requirements.

This act recodifies the \$100,000.00 appropriation to the Vermont Department of Taxes, Division of Property Valuation and Review to provide assessment education to listers and assessors, by repealing it from one section of statute and codifying it in another section of statute.

This act repeals the contingent effective date of the State appraisal and litigation program, which is State assistance provided to towns that request it for the valuation and litigation to defend those valuations of unique and complex properties only.

Effective Date: Multiple effective dates beginning on July 1, 2023