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Major Issues in TY21 Linkup

1) Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)

What is Vermont’s law? Vermont EITC is 36% of the Federal EITC. Fully
refundable.

What are the Federal changes?

¢ ARPA expands the EITC for individuals without children. For tax year
2021, the maximum credit for individuals without children increases from
$543 to $1,402.

e Repeals the maximum age limit of 65

e Lowers the minimum age from 25 to 19.

e Maximum investment income threshold is increased from $2,220 to

$10,000.

e Tax year 2019 income can be used for purposes in determining the EITC

in tax year 2021.

Revenue Impact on Vermont with link up: -$6.19 million in FY2022, -$100,000
in FY2023

Information on other states:
e 28 states and DC have a state EITC, usually linked to Federal EITC
e At least 7 states have static conformity and an EITC
¢ No information on which states have “coupled” or “decoupled”

Static Conformity States and EITC
Static EITC? Refundable? [Share of Federal
Maine Yes Yes 12%, except 25% for childless workers

30%, but limited to 50% of tax liability if

Ohio Yes No T1>$20,000

West Vriginia No

Kentucky No

Indiana Yes Yes 9%
North Carolina |No

South Carolina |Yes No 62.50%
Georgia No

lowa Yes Yes 15%

4% for families with one child, 11% for
families with two children, 34% for families

Wisconsin Yes Yes with three or more
Idaho No
Oregon Yes Yes 9%

Source: Tax Policy Center
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2) Child and Dependent Care Credit (CDCC)

What is Vermont’s law? VVermont CDCC is nonrefundable and 24% of the
Federal CDCC. Low-Income CDCC is 50%, with income thresholds.

What are the Federal changes?
e Makes the entire credit refundable Federally for tax year 2021.
e The credit is also expanded (all changes for TY2021 only):

o $4000 maximum credit per qualifying individual and $8000 for two or
more individuals. Currently, the credit is $2,100 for two or more
individuals.

= Higher percentages at higher income groups:
e Old law: 20% and 35% of qualifying expenses, phased
out after $15,000 and with a floor of 20% after $43,000.
e New for TY2021: Calculated by taking 50% of qualifying
expenses and phasing out after $125,000 of AGI. Phases
down to 0% by $440,000.
= Maximum expenses increase:
e Old law: $3,000 for one child, $6,000 for 2 or more
children.
e New law: $8,000 for one child, $16,000 for two or more
children.

Revenue Impact on Vermont with link up: -$1.5 million in FY2022

Information on other states:
e 22 states and DC have a state CDCC, usually linked to Federal CDCC
o Although many have separate income thresholds
e At least 7 states have static conformity and a CDCC
¢ No information on which states have “coupled” or “decoupled”
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What are the Federal changes?
e CARES Act established the PPP and said a forgiven PPP loan would be

tax-exempt.

e |IRS from April through December ruled that expenses paid with PPP loans

would not be deductible.

Static Conformity States and CDCC

Static cDCC? Refundable? Share of Federal
Georgia Yes No 30%
Idaho No
Indiana No

Depends upon income. 75% if AGI<$10,000, 30%
lowa Yes Yes if AGI<$45,000 but greater than $40,000
Kentucky Yes No 20%

25% normally, 50% if expenses are from a center
Maine Yes Yes, up to $500  |with a "Quality Certificate"
North Carolina No

100% for incomes less than $20,000. 25% under
Ohio Yes No $40,000. 0% after that

Depends upon income. Starts at 30% if FTl is less
Oregon Yes No than $5,000. Phases out to 0% by $45,000
South Carolina Yes No No link to Federal. 7% of eligble expenses
West Virginia No
Source: Tax Credits for Working Families

3) Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans

What is Vermont’s law? H.315 picked up Federal tax-free treatment for TY2020
forgiven loans. For TY2021, H.315 set as a default that any loans forgiven after
TY2020 would be considered taxable, but deductions would be permitted.

e HR133 explicitly made any PPP-paid expenses deductible.

Information on other states:
e 11 states either are statically conformed or have explicitly decided to tax

PPP loans.
o Explicit state actions

Revenue Impact on Vermont: Link up to the Federal statute is assumed in the
forecast. Therefore, if the Legislature links up, there is no revenue impact. If the
Legislature decouples, $9.77 million would be generated in FY2022, and $1.25
million in FY2023.

= California (AB1577) disallows the deduction
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= Virginia: excludes PPP loans as tax, but decouples from
expense deduction, allowing up to $100,000 to be deducted.

= Utah passed law confirming state tax-exempt status last year
but hasn’t taken up a bill to conform to deductibility.

o States that have passed bills in one chamber to exempt either the
loan or allow deductibility: New Hampshire, Minnesota,
Massachusetts, Florida.

e Recent actions either excluding income from tax or allowing expense
deduction:

o April: Ohio and Arizona pass laws conforming to Federal treatment
of PPP loans.

o March:

= |daho, Maine, Kentucky, Arkansas all conform to Federal
treatment
» Virginia enacts $100,000 deduction.
o February:
= Georgia and West Virginia follow Federal treatment.

Does Your State Tax Forgiven PPP Loans?

State Tax Treatment of Forgiven Paycheck Protection Program Loans,
as of April 16, 2021

. Forgiven PPP loans not taxed

Notes: “Nevada, Texas, and hirgton do not levy an income tax or a corporate
Income tax but do levy a GRT. Ohlo imposes an individual Income tax and a GRT. Texas and
Newvada treat forgiven PPP loans as taxable gross revenue, whie Ohio and Washington do not. .
1n each of these states. there is no ded for business expenses, with gross Forgiven PPP loans mostly not taxed (see note)
receipts taxation. Under Ohlo’s individual income tax, forgiven PPP loans are exchuded from

taxable income and the expense doduction is allowed. Under Ohio’s Commercial Activity Tax

(CAT). the loans are excluded from taxable gross revence but, consistent with gross recelpts Forsiven PPP loans taxed (either included in

on, CAT does How a deduction for busines: 3 N N N
AN aesnbmse e taxable income or expense deduction disallowed)

**Massachusetts excludes forghven PPP loans from taxable income under its corporate income
Lax, which uses rolling conformity, but not under its individual income tax, which uses
pre-CARES Act static conformity, State has no income tax
Sources: Tax Foundation: state 1ax statutes, forms, and instructions; Bloomberg BNA
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