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Legal Background – General Rule

• For purposes of the federal personal income tax, income starts with 
gross income, which is “all income from whatever source derived.” 
I.R.C. § 61. Taxable income is gross income minus either the standard 
deduction or itemized deductions. I.R.C. § 63.

• One itemized deduction is for certain taxes paid, including:
• State, local, and foreign real property taxes.
• State and local personal property taxes.
• State, local, and foreign income, war profits, and excess profits taxes.
• General sales taxes (in lieu of state and local income taxes). I.R.C. § 164. 

• This is colloquially referred to as the SALT (state and local tax) 
deduction.



Legal Background – TCJA Changes

• The federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 (TCJA) created special rules 
for itemized deduction for taxes paid in tax years 2018-2025. I.R.C. §
164(b)(6). 
• Disallowed foreign taxes from the deduction.
• Capped at $10,000 the aggregate amount of taxes deducted for any tax year 

($5,000 for married individuals filing separately).  Applies to:
• State and local real property and personal property taxes.
• State and local income taxes.
• General sales taxes (in lieu of state and local income taxes).

• The federal 2021 Build Back Better bill proposed capping the 
deduction at $80,000 of taxes paid ($40,000 for married individuals 
filing separately).  
• Build Back Better bill passed U.S. House but did not pass U.S. Senate.



Legal Background – Vermont Impact

• Vermont’s taxable income definition was amended in 2018 in 
response to the TCJA, in order to decouple from federal itemized 
deductions. Act 11 of 2018, Sec. H.1.  
• This means that the SALT deduction (including its cap) does not apply to 

Vermont taxable income and does not directly impact Vermont tax revenues. 

• However, the federal cap still impacts Vermont taxpayers who itemize 
federally and pay more than $10,000 in taxes, thus increasing their 
tax burden.

https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2018.1/Docs/ACTS/ACT011/ACT011%20As%20Enacted.pdf


SALT Cap Workaround

• States have crafted laws that impose either a mandatory or elective 
entity-level income tax on pass-throughs that do business or have 
income derived from or connected with sources in the state. 

• “Pass-through entity” means a partnership, S corporation, limited 
liability company, etc.
• A pass-through is generally not taxed at the entity level.  The individual 

members, owners, partners, or shareholders pay income tax on the income 
received from the pass-through when they file their own personal income tax
returns.

• A pass-through is not a C corporation, which is a separate legal entity that is 
taxed at the entity level.  C corporation shareholders also pay personal 
income tax on dividends received.



SALT Cap Workaround

• The state then provides a corresponding or offsetting income tax 
benefit to the individual taxpayer, such as a full or partial credit, 
deduction, or exclusion for the tax paid by the pass-through. 

• In Nov. 2020, the Treasury Dept. and I.R.S. issued a notice “blessing” 
these SALT cap workarounds, stating that taxes paid at the entity-level 
are not subject to the SALT deduction cap, which only applies to 
partners and shareholders who itemize deductions. Notice 2020-75. 

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-20-75.pdf


SALT Cap Workaround

• The state tax paid by the pass-through can be deducted from the 
pass-through’s income at the federal level because the SALT 
deduction cap does not apply to businesses; only individuals.  This 
reduced federal tax is then passed onto the pass-through members, 
so they pay less federal income tax.

• The pass-through also passes on the state tax to its individual 
members.  The individual members can then claim a state income tax 
credit for the tax paid.



SALT Cap Workaround – Other States

• Since 2018, over 20 states have enacted SALT cap workarounds, and 
there are handful of states with pending legislation. 

• Connecticut was the first state to adopt a workaround and is the only 
state to make the pass-through entity tax mandatory.

• The first proposal introduced in Vermont is:  H.527 of 2022.

https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2022/Docs/BILLS/H-0527/H-0527%20As%20Introduced.pdf

