
Benefit Levels 

  For General State Employees and School Teachers 

 

 
Social 

Security 
Age/Yrs of Svc 
for full benefit 

Multiplier COLA 
Employee 

Contributions 
Employer 

Normal Cost 
Employer 

Contributions 

Vermont 
teachers 

Yes 
65/any or Rule of 
90 

1.67% up to 20 yrs and 
2.0% for yrs above 20 

One-half of CPI, not to exceed 5%; must be retired 
one year to qualify 

5.0% 5.58% 20.4% 

Vermont state 
employees 

Yes 65 or Rule of 87 1.67% 
One-half of CPI, not to exceed 5%; must be retired 
one year to qualify 

6.65% 5.88% 15.3% 

New York 
teachers and 
state 
employees 

Yes 63/10 

1.75% for 1st 20 yrs and 
2.0% for yrs above 20 
except must reach 25 yrs 
of service to receive 
2.0% factor 

One-half of CPI, applied to first $18,000 of annual 
pension; must be 62 and retired for 5 years, or 55 
and retired for 10 years, to qualify; COLA is a 
minimum of 1% and a maximum of 3% 

3.0% to 6.0% 

N/A (likely 
around 8.86% 
for teachers; 
13.9% for state 
employees) 

8.86% for 
teachers; 13.9% 
for state 
employees 

New Hampshire Yes 65/10 1.60% Ad hoc as approved by the legislature 7.0% 3.35% 15.4% 

Maine state 
and teacher 

No 65/5 2.0% CPI up to 3% applied to the first $20,000 of benefit 7.65% 
3.88% for 
state; 13.0% 
for local 

19.96% 

Massachusetts 
teachers 

No 67/10 
1.45% at age 60 to 2.5% 
at age 67 for those hired 
on or after 4/2/12 

Ad hoc, typically based on CPI up to 3% applied to 
first $13,000 of benefit, subject to legislative 
approval and enactment. Must be retired one full 
fiscal year to be eligible for COLA. 

11.0% 5.29% 21.96% 

Massachusetts 
state 
employees 

No 67/10 
1.45% at age 60 to 2.5% 
at age 67 for those hired  
on or after 4/2/12; 

Ad hoc, typically based on CPI up to 3% applied to 
first $13,000 of benefit, subject to legislative 
approval and enactment. Must be retired one full 
fiscal year to be eligible for COLA. 

9.0%  3.59% 18.0% 

Connecticut 
Teachers 

No 60/20 or any/35 2.0% 
equal to the Social Security COLA, with a max of 
1.5% if investment return is <8.5% and a maximum 
of 6.0% if returns are at least 8.5%. 

7.0% 5.65% 32.04% 

Connecticut 
state 
employees 

Yes 63/25, 65/10 
DB/DC hybrid with a DB 
multiplier of 1.33%  

Minimum of 2.0% up to a max of 7.5% based on a 
formula driven by changes in CPI. For employees 
who retire after 6/30/22, the minimum COLA is  
reduced to the actual change in CPI-W, if the 
change is <2.0%. The previous formula applies if the 
change in CPI-W is >2.0%. 

5.0% 5.79% 51.73% 

Rhode Island 

State 
employees, 
yes; about 
half of 
teachers, 
no 

65/30, 64/31, 
63/32, 62/33 

DB/DC hybrid with a DB 
multiplier of 1.0% 

Tied to investment performance and subject to a 
floor of 0% and a cap of 3.5%, applied to the first 
$25,855 of retirement benefit, indexed annually. 
The COLA commences upon the later of the 3rd 
anniversary of retirement or when the retiree 
reaches Social Security retirement age. COLA is 
granted annually if the plan is at least 80% funded. 
If the plan funding is below 80%, the COLA is 
granted every 4 years until 80% funding is reached. 

3.75%  to the  
DB plan plus 5% to 
the DC plan; 
teachers who do 
not participate in 
Social Security 
contribute 7% to 
the DC plan 

4.08% for state 
employees; 
7.72% for 
municipal 
employees 

25.2% 

 


