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PURPOSE AND POLICY STATEMENT 
 
This policy provides a general overview of a few of the Leaves of Absence 
programs under PMLA available to year-round, eligible employees of the 
Vermont General Assembly.  
 
It is recognized that General Assembly staff have circumstances outside the 

workplace, some of which may require an extended absence from work.  A leave 

of absence is a period of time away from work, paid or unpaid, that is approved 

through leaves of absence request processes.  As governed by the State 

Parental and Family Leave Law, eligible employees are permitted reasonable 

time off for their own or for a family member’s serious health condition, as well as 

time off in instances of pregnancy, childbirth, or adoption, as outlined in this 

policy. 

 
Session-only and temporary employees should refer to their office director for 
guidance regarding sick leave and other time-off applicable to session-only and 
temporary employees.   
 
The following leaves of absence summarized in this policy may be granted to 
eligible employees within the parameters of applicable State/federal laws:   
 

• Parental Leave  

• Medical Leave  

• Short-Term Family Leave  

 
 
DEFINITIONS 
 
Employer – The Vermont General Assembly and each of the legislative offices 
within the General Assembly. 



DRAFT   

 

Office of Legislative Human Resources Rev. 12/2021                     2  

 

Eligible Employee – An employee who has worked for the General Assembly 
for at least 12 months and has worked at least 1,250 hours during the past 12 
months; does not include session-only or temporary employees. 

Family Member – A child, stepchild, ward, foster child, or domestic partner’s 
child; a child for whom the employee has an in loco parentis* relationship; a 
spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner; a parent or parent-in-law; a 
sibling or sibling-in-law; a grandchild or the grandchild of the employee’s spouse, 
domestic partner, or civil union partner; a grandparent or grandparent-in-law; or 
an adult who had an in loco parentis relationship with an employee when the 
employee was a child. 

Medical Leave – A long-term leave of absence from employment for the serious 
illness of the employee or employee's family member.  

Parental Leave – A leave of absence from employment for the birth of an 
employee's child; or for the initial placement of a child under 18 years of age with 
the employee for the purpose of adoption.  

Serious Health Condition – Illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental 
condition that involves inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical 
care facility or continuing care delivered by a health care provider.  

In Loco Parentis – A relationship in which a person acts as a parent by 
assuming and discharging the obligations of a parent to a child.  The relationship 
exists when an individual intends to take on the role of a parent to a child who is 
under 18 years of age or is 18 years of age or older and incapable of self-care 
because of a mental or physical disability.  Persons who are in loco parentis 
include those with day-to-day responsibilities to care for or financially support a 
child.  The specific facts of each situation will determine whether an employee 
stands in loco parentis to a child. 

Domestic Partner –  An individual is considered a domestic partner when the 
individual and the employee are each other’s sole domestic partner and have 
been in an exclusive domestic relationship, while sharing a residence, for not 
less than six consecutive months; both parties are 18 years of age or older; 
neither party is married to anyone; the parties are not related by blood closer 
than would bar marriage under Vermont State law; and both parties are 
competent to enter into a legally binding contract and have agreed between 
themselves to be responsible for each other’s welfare. 
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LEAVE REQUESTS AND GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
A Leave of Absence Request Form (Attachment A) must be completed by 
employees requesting a planned leave under this policy and returned to Human 
Resources.  Human Resources will work with the office director and the 
employee to coordinate leaves.  Requests to extend a leave must be submitted 
in writing to Human Resources.  Not all requests to extend a leave may be 
granted. 
 
In the case of a serious health condition of the employee, or the employee’s 
family member, that requires the employee to be absent from work for more than 
five business days, certification will be required from a physician to verify the 
condition and the amount of and the necessity for the leave requested.  This 
information will be provided to Human Resources by completing a Certification of 
Health Care Provider Form (Attachment B). 
 
Employees who accrue leave time will not continue to do so while out on a leave 
of absence if they are off payroll for more than 25 percent of their scheduled 
hours (prorated) within a pay period.   
 
Employees who are granted leave and are enrolled in the group medical plan or 
the life insurance plan, or both, shall continue employment benefits for the 
duration of the leave at the level and under the conditions coverage would be 
provided if the employee continued in employment continuously for the duration 
of the leave.  However, if the leave time is unpaid, the employee will be required 
to contribute to the cost of the benefits during the leave at the existing rate of 
employee contribution, if the employee wishes to remain enrolled in the group 
medical plan or the life insurance plan, or both.  
 
Except for the above noted insurance benefits, no other benefits will apply while 
on a leave of absence. 
 
Eligible employees are paid for State holidays and do not use accrued time off for 
a State holiday that falls during an approved leave of absence. 
 
Prior to returning to work following a serious health condition, certification from a 
licensed health care professional clearing the employee to return to work will be 
required to be submitted to Human Resources.  If the employee believes that 
they will need a reasonable accommodation to return to work, they should 
request it in writing at that time.   
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POLICY 

Leaves Covered Under this Policy 

a. Medical Leave 

Eligible employees with proper certification are entitled to take up to a maximum 
of 12 weeks of leave in any 12-month period for the serious health condition of 
the employee or the employee's family member.  The total amount of leave 
available to an employee will be reduced by the amount of parental leave that the 
employee takes in the 12-month period (for example, an employee who also took 
4 weeks of parental leave within the 12-month period would only be able to take 
8 weeks of medical leave). 

Employees may take this leave intermittently (a few days or a few hours at a 
time) or on a reduced leave schedule if required by the Certification of Health 
Care Provider.  Intermittent and reduced schedule leave will count against the 
employee’s maximum of 12 weeks in a 12-month period.  

At the employee's option, the employee may use accrued sick leave or annual 
leave or other accrued time for a medical leave, provided that the combination of 
paid and unpaid leave shall not exceed 12 weeks in total.  Utilization of accrued 
paid leave shall not extend the leave provided pursuant to this policy.  

b. Parental Leave 

Eligible employees are entitled to take up to 16 weeks of leave during any 12-
month period during the employee's pregnancy and following the birth of an 
employee's child or within a year following the initial placement of a child under 
18 years of age for the purpose of adoption.  The total amount of leave available 
to an employee will be reduced by the amount of medical leave that the 
employee takes in the 12-month period (for example, an employee who also took 
4 weeks of medical leave within a 12-month period would only be able to take 12 
weeks of parental leave). 

In addition to eligibility requirements, employees must meet one of the following 
criteria: 

• have given birth to a child; 

• be a spouse or domestic partner of a gestational parent who has given 
birth to a child; 

• have an in loco parentis relationship with or be a genetic parent of a 
child just born or adopted; or 

• have adopted a child under 18 years of age. 
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The leave shall be unpaid, except as provided here: 

• During the leave, at the employee’s option, the employee may use up to 
16 weeks of any accrued paid leave, including sick leave, annual leave, 
and personal leave. 

• No combination of paid and unpaid leaves shall extend the parental leave 
beyond 16 weeks.  

Notwithstanding the above, an employee may use accrued sick leave for the 
period of disability resulting from pregnancy, miscarriage, abortion, or illness 
resulting therefrom. 

Intermittent or reduced schedule parental leave (a few days or a few hours at a 
time), or both, may be granted based on the requirements of the employee’s 
position and departmental staffing and needs.  Intermittent or reduced schedule 
parental leave, or both, must not disrupt or adversely impact the work of the 
General Assembly and other legislative employees.  These leave requests must 
be approved by the employee’s office director, in consultation with the Office of 
Legislative Human Resources.  Intermittent and reduced schedule parental leave 
will count against the employee’s maximum of 16 weeks in a 12-month period.  
 

c. Short-Term Family Leave 

Eligible employees are also entitled to take leave in a minimum of one-hour 
segments not to exceed four hours in any 30-day period and not to exceed 24 
hours in any 12-month period, for any of the following purposes: 

i.  to participate in pre-K or school activities directly related to the academic 
educational advancement of the employee's child, stepchild, foster child, ward 
who lives with the employee, or a child for whom the employee has an in loco 
parentis relationship, such as a parent-teacher conference; 

ii.  to attend or to accompany the employee's family member to routine 
medical or dental appointments; 

iii..  to coordinate or participate in activities relating to the care of the 
employee's parent, spouse, domestic partner, civil union partner or parent-in-law, 
such as arranging for long-term care, hospice care, or home care services; or 

iv.  to respond to a medical emergency involving the employee's family 
member. 

Employees should make a reasonable attempt to schedule appointments so that 
they fall outside of regular work hours.  Except in emergency situations, 
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employees should provide a minimum of a seven-day notice for a short-term 
leave.  

Employees do not have to fill out a Leave of Absence Request Form in relation to 
a short-term family leave; however, employees may be required to provide 
documentation for recurring short-term family leaves. 

Returning from Leave 

Upon return from leave taken under this policy, an employee shall be offered the 
same or a comparable job at the same level of compensation, employment 
benefits, seniority, or any other term or condition of the employment existing on 
the day leave began.  This shall not apply if:  

a.  prior to requesting leave, the employee had been given notice or had 
given notice that the employment would terminate; 

b.  during the period of leave, the employee's job would have been 
terminated or the employee laid off for reasons unrelated to the leave or the 
condition for which the leave was granted; or 

c.  the employee performed unique services, and hiring a permanent 
replacement during the leave, after giving reasonable notice to the 
employee of intent to do so, was the only alternative available to the 
employer to prevent substantial and grievous economic injury to the 
employer’s operation. 

 
 
This document is subject to change and is not intended to establish a contract of 
employment or any contractual rights.  
 
Employees with questions, concerns, or disputes with the content of this policy 
must notify their direct supervisor/director or the Office of Legislative Human 
Resources at the Vermont General Assembly, Montpelier, VT, in writing.   
 
References 
 
State Parental and Family Leave Law, 21 VSA 470-4744 
 
 


