
Supplemental Information: 

The content below was posted on Vermont State Parks' Blog Site and 

includes additional detail about proposed fee changes and comparisons 

to other states. 

Vermont State Parks are Seeking Public Input on 2022 ~s 
Proposed Rule & Fee Changes 

fay rochelle - May 10, X022 

Visitors to Vermont State Parks come to recreate in a safe and welcoming environment. 

During their stay they count on a clean, friendly and relaxing experience. To help guide that 

experience rules are established for visitor behavior and to help protect these amazing places 

for the long term. Even though managing Vermont State Parks and hosting well over 1 million 

visitors each year is a complex operation, our aim is to keep the associated rules as simple as 

possible and to maintain an environment where expectations are clear and opportunities are 

available to all. 

The establishment of rules and fees for Vermont State Parks is governed through legislative 

authority, State Statute Title Ten Section 2603c, and there is a lengthy process set in place for 

changing rules and setting fees. 

Periodically we consider changes and must follow the rule making process to do so. An 

important piece of this process is the opportunity for elected officials and the general public to 

weigh in. Proposed changes are carefully considered by agency professionals and our goal is 

to remain as affordable as possible while ensuring that the majority of the costs to operate the 

state park system are covered. 100% of fees collected go directly back into operating the 

parks system. 

We are at our best when we hear from you. If you have any concerns, questions or specific 

feedback on the proposed rule and fee changes summarized below, please send them prior to 

June 14, 2022. 

PROPOSED DAY USE POLICY CHANGES 

Pass Replacement 

Vehicle and Individual Passes can now be replaced if lost or stolen. Our new reservation 

system allows us to cancel, and re-issue lost or stolen passes. 

New Organizaton_Pass 
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We've created new season pass that will allow up to 17 people in one vehicle free entry into all 

Vermont State Park Day Use areas for the season. Cost of new pass is $180.00. Regular 

household Vehicle Passes will remain at $90.00. 

Smplifed Municipal Rate 

Municipal Recreation Groups 

1 — 25 persons including staff and drivers = $250.00 per month. 

Each additional group of 25 persons or parts thereof, additional $250.00 per month. 

PROPOSED DAY USE FEE CHANGES 

DAY USE FEES 

SEE NSW KA~'E C?LC1 RATE 

Aciu~t Day use s.c34 ~1.~0 

E3ranbijry F~a~ilions $~0.t}0 $Z5,UC1 

P~vilio~~~ t• t)~en Asr $125.t~t~ $10~J.00 

PROPOSED CAMPING POLICY CHANGES 

INCREASE 

1.(}0 

$25,~ 

New_1~-._.night Minimum Stay__Polcy 

1-night reservations are now permitted Sunday — Thursday nights beginning March 1 for 

current season reservations. Applies only to tent/RV sites and lean-to's. 

No_Show Policy 

Visitors must occupy their sites no later than 2PM the second day after their reservation 

begins or must contact the park staff to notify them of their late arrival. Visitors failing to do so 

will forfeit their site and will not be entitled to any refund. 

Green River Reservoir 

Campsites at Green River Reservoir will now be charged the same camping fees as other 

Vermont State Park campgrounds. 

PROPOSED CAMPING FEES 
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~AMRIfVf~ f~EE~ NELV F~€ C7LL~ fEE CIiANC~E 

PEf~ NI~HT~ RER P~It~~ PER (~1~~T 

Standard Tent or RV 5rte 

~fgrmont Residents $24.74 $29. $S.C}9~ 

t~~n~li~~id~nt~ $2~.t7t) $21= $7.t 

P~~e Tent ar RV 5~te 

Vermont Reser3ents $22.tJC3 $21,i}Q $1.E~} 

ern-Residents $34.x(} $2.3.C~ $7.(}Cl 

~t~r~d~r~i Le~~-teSife 

V~rmar~t Re~id~nt $3t~.€~4 $28.~ $2.E3 

(Yon-Reside~~ $3~.t7C} $3U.~ $8.Q~ 

Rtirn~ L~~n-tta Site 

Vermant Restient~ $~2.tlt} $3Q,C~ $2. 

~;c~n-Resrdent~ ;~t}.flt? $32.C~ $8.t~ 

Burton Istand Lean-t~s Site 

v~rmoni a~sr~Ients ~t~.n€~ $3~.t~ S~.R~ 
N~s~i-itesrdet~cs $~~t~.tlt} $~t0,t~} $~.t}t~ 

~tegula~ Gavin. F~e~s 

~#ermr~nt Residents $~Q.t~£} $51.Cb~? $~.Ct~ 

M~n~li€~xid~r~is $~~3.t1(3 S~3>C $:IS. ) 

Fit fees $2.t7t1 $1.a $1,a{~ 

~t€~ne Ht~t $3~3(3.tl~r $225,t~~ $7S.t 
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V~rs~~~nt F€c,~4sed ~g~ ]ncre~ses Cc~rtipa~ed icy C}[tt~t Stsie~ 

Tent Ea ~ira~ TEhlTS ~.e~~a-t€a Cacn~rks~g 

fdon-Resicient dui-~t~-Si~te 

1n-state Rate Qut-of-State Rats} Surcharge ~~-state Rate Rate 

:'i h~t~}~75~.I} S~0 - 522 $2B ~ §3t} ~8 a~-s►n ~3C9 , X49 $~S - $4~ 

MASS 5i4 - Si7 5+~1- 55S n/a nIa 
Ntt 52~ - S~5 nja nJ~ rtja nj~ 
i~ly' '~iS - S70 S20 - S?5 ~S add•nn nja nfa 
C°1` ~~4 « $20 5~4 • S~"~~ ~~Q - a75 ~c~d~~n nJs nJa 
PA S15 ~ 525 S2Q - SAC) yea ~~dann 5I7 - X27 5~2 - S3~ 
Rt $18 - S~8 S~8 - S55 ~1#t - X27 ~tid~ar~ nja n/,a 
r~~ 51~ - Szo S~~ - Say S~ ana~~~, ~5 
QE 515 -537 ~ZO - SAB a5-S6 add-ur} nj~ r~}'a 

fsrTCs Sly -S28 n,/~ aiJ~ ~7 nja 
C3H 517-52~ nja n~a ~/a 

PROPOSED BURTON ISLAND FEES 

~tJRTC~N ISL~~I[~ F~ 

SEE 

c~cit~ 
Mc~~rin~s or Anche~rin 

Nflt~t RATE 
$~.2.SJper fc~c~tf ~S~y ter ~~rt ~i~~ 

I.tlt~Jp~r feat/ciay or part day 

S~~~c~n l Slips ~6~.O~J~~o~;; i~-fi~c~t r~tiriir~~urt~ v~~~el tern tt~ 
each s[ ~~ inc(tades 4 ~~lat~tl Runner Se~Sor~ P~~sses 

~ .~Jp~r day ~Sen~alty if teat i~ r~c~~ renncrv~d y 
~~n~l day c~~ si ~ra~ n~ s~~sc~rr 

lsiand Runner fi~r~y 
2.Q{}~er ~rs~r~ ~~t~ 1~-12 ~t~ca+~ls clt~ri~~ reut~r 

S~~vc~1 group F2afie schnc~t y~~r 

Ist~c~ct Runner Se~~~n F~~ss 7C~.~1[~/fir s~~s€~rs 
Cttart~r f~at~ ~~~. jfc~r t~rc~-hour trr 

vtstateparks. blogspot.com/2022/05/seeking-public-input-on-2022-rule-fee. html an 



6/21/22, 2:00 PM Vermont State Parks are Seeking Public Input on 2022 Proposed Rule & Fee Changes 

3~.C"fC1J~aTt ~oa{1 

PROPOSED SEYON LODGE FEES 

sY~n~ ~~~ 

~~~ r~~tiv ~t~r~ ~~r~ ~ar~ ~~~r~~~ 

~:Qnf~rence fees 
t+l~r~-~r~tit ~3c~.~U $Zt~}ci.t~ $1[~.+~t~ 

Aii otl~e~rs $~#~_~ ~~C1.tl~► $i(~l.tl(3 

Weddin~~'` 
up its ~~ p~ers~ns~ $~~,t~ 5~1.5(lC~,t~~} -~'~~C}Cl~I.~~J 

51-1~~ p~rsc~ns ~~,(~I.+t'l~ $.~~it),C~tl $i7,C~3 

Overnight ~c~li l_r~cf~e ttent~l* 
Mc~r~ti~y- lt~ursday $~75~.~/F~'r ttiht ~G~D.~/per ni~t~t $1[I~~.C)(l 
Friday ~ S~n~lay $8t~i,t~Jper r~i~h~ $7d1~3_CiC1f der r~i~Y►t $it~tl.C~C7 

Nalf-day l~at rents[ ~~~,( ~;t0.C~t) ~`s,C1fi 

#~I~as V'T R~€~n~s ~4 t~leats Tax 

View Complete Annotated Proposed Rule Change Document 

HOW TO PROVIDE FEEDBACK ON PROPOSED CHANGES 

Send an email to parks@vermant.gov 

Send snail mail to: 

Vermont State Parks Rules Feedback 

1 National Life Drive, Davis 2 

Montpelier, VT 05620 

Attend a public hearing: 

In person: 
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uesaay, June /, 1U11, S:UU NM 

Catamount Room 

1 National Life Drive, Davis 2 

Montpelier, VT 05620 

Virtually: 

Tuesday, June 7, 2022, 5:000 PM 

Microsoft Teams Meeting Link 

PLEASE SUBMIT FEEDBACK NO LATER THAN 4:00 PM TUESDAY, JUNE 14. 



2022 Rule, Fee & Policy Changes - Public Input Comments Received 

DAY USE FEE CHANGES 

Adult day use:* to $5 ($1 increase) 

Pavilion Rates:* 
Branbury to $50.00/per day ($25/per day increase) 
$100.00/per day pavilions to $125.00/per day ($25/per day increase) 

Organizational Pass:* (New Pass) 
$180.00 for up to 17 persons in one vehicle 

Municipal Rate:* 
Municipal Recreation Groups 
1— 25 persons including staff and drivers = $250.00 per month. 
Each additional group of 25 persons or parts thereof, additional $250.00 per month 

DAY USE POLICY CHANGES 

Vehicle Pass & Individual Pass Replacement*: 
Can replace Vehicle & Individual passes, since it can now be done in Aspira 

PiJBLiE CIJMlVIEtUT ~11`EMICLE PA55) ._ _ _ _ __ 
assume the $90 annual vehicle pass is unchanged? (VSP reply: YESJ 
wish there was a deep discount fora 2nd vehicle pass by the same owner. — Paul Bremel 

(VSP reply: There is; 2"d pass same household is $50J. 

CAMPING FEE INCREASES 

Standard Tent or RV Site:* 
Vermont Residents = $20.00 per night; ($1/per night increase) 
Non-Vermont Residents = $28.00 ($7/per night increase) 

Prime Tent or RV Site:* 
Vermont Residents = $22.00 per night; ($1/per night increase) 
Non-Vermont Residents = $30.00 per night; ($7/per night increase) 

Standard Lean-to Site: 
Vermont Residents = $30.00 per night including VT Meals and Rooms Tax; ($2/per night increase) 
Non-Vermont Residents = $38.00 per night including VT Meals and Rooms tax; ($8/per night increase) 



Prime Lean-to Site:* 

Vermont Resident = $32.00 per night including VT Meals and Rooms Tax; ($2/per night increase) 

Non-Vermont Resident = $40.00 per night including VT Meals and Rooms Tax; ($8/per night increase) 

Cabin Fees: 

VT Resident = $51/night to $60/per night ($9/per night increase) 

VT Non-Resident = $53/night to $68/night ($11/per night increase) 

Burton Island Cabins VT = keep the same 

That's a hefty (almost 20% hike) for Vermonters - my vote is for $55 (from $51) and $60-$65 for out of 

staters. Everything else looks fine — VT State Parks are awesome, thank you park rangers for all you do! 

—lake Urato of Brattleboro VT (additional comment under No-Show Policy) 

Pet Fees:* to $2.00 per night ($1/per night increase) 

How is it that I can bring an extra person and it doesn't cost me anything, but if I bring my dog it does? 

She doesn't even use any of the facilities. What is the logic inthat? — Anna (additional comment under 

No-Show Policy) 

wanted to say that I support the fee increases except for the pet fee. Why should I pay more when it 

is just my dog and I then when someone stays in a site with 4 people. I saw your justification on 

facebook, but 1 dog is surely less impactful than 3 additional people. Maybe punish/prohibit the 

behaviour instead of charging a fee that doesn't reflect the impact. — Maddie D (additional comment 

under 1-Night Reservation) 

feel like the pet fee penalizes people with dogs unfairly. 4 people occupying a campsite pay less for it 

then my wife, myself and our two dogs. How about counting dogs the same way you do people. If the 

number exceeds 4 combined charge for each of them? I don't know how you can justify a site costing 

more for us with our dogs. Seems unfair. I never spoke up before as it was only a dollar but I would 

love an explanation of the logic that means a dog deserves to cost more than a person. 

-Stewart Vaughn 

see an increase in per night pet fees proposed. That a pet fee is charged at all is disappointing, never 

mind an increase, in addition to increases everywhere else. Pets, as part of the family, should be 
included in the site fee. Please don't penalize people whose family happens to be canine. 
-Krista Cheney 

We have traveled across country twice a year for 15+years in a small motorhome and, as a rule, only 

stay in state parks, national parks, federal lands, etc. . . No private campgrounds, if we can avoid 

it.These parks have electricity and no fees for showers and most have no fees for dogs( although some 
parks are changing that policy. . .too many " bad parents"). But $2 a night? That's a bit extravagant. 

Your fees are high for "boon-docking" campsites. 



Stone Hut:* to $300.00/per night ($75/per night increase) 

PUBtiC COMMENT5 (STONE HUT): 

The bulk of the changes seem reasonable, and I understand the need to increase fees, but the 
proposed fee increase for the Stone Hut from $225 to $300 per night is excessive, and at over 33% it 
is out of step with the other fee increases being proposed for VT residents. 
When the Stone Hut lottery was modified several years ago, it went a long way to promoting 
transparent, fair, and equitable access to this crown jewel of a public facility, but I fear with such a 
large increase in fees many will no longer be able to afford to take advantage of this historic and one-
of-a-kind space. 

A previous version of the blog post mistakenly showed the existing fee as $275 not $225 and I wonder 
if this mistake is what led to the new proposed nightly rate, as that (^'9%) increase would have been 
much more reasonable. 

hope you will reconsider the magnitude of this increase, or consider offering a discounted rate for VT 
residents as you do for other facilities in order to maintain equitable access to this public resource. 
-Josh Auerbach 

(VSP Reply: Thank you Josh, for your feedback, it will be shared with all others during our rule change 
process. The change to the Stone Hut fee was a typo and was subsequently fixed. J 

PUBLIC CQMMEtVTS (CAMPING FFE lt1iCREASFS): 

Get rid of prime sites - just make everything the prime site cost (for in state and out of state 
respectively). This should get you a few extra bucks and gets rid of the seemingly random nature of 
prime sites or that some parks are basically all prime sites. It isn't like if you get a prime site you get a 
turndown service. — Scott Davies 

(VSP reply: Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. You might be on to something with removing the 
prime site designation. While it fits industry standards — the better spaces command more money — it 



can be confusing, so 1 hear you there. (Also, thanks for the turn-down reference, that made me laugh 

out loud). (Rochelle Skinner)) 

The new state park rates published on http://vtstateparks.blogspot.com/2022/05/seeking-public-

input-on-2022-rule-fee.html look fine to me, a resident of Vermont. — Kristen Talmage of Starksboro, 

VT 

have reviewed the fee changes and think that all are appropriate. I am a simple old-fashioned tent 

camper and I appreciate the outstanding work of your department. I am thankful that the parks do not 

provide hook-ups. I feel it helps to keep the spirit of "roughing it" alive, even though I know the 

campers/RV's have propane/generator back-ups. Thank you! — Connie Moser of West Windsor, VT 

As a Vermont resident that uses the Vermont State Park system regularly from May through 

September and has for decades, I find the proposed increase in rates extremely reasonable. 
Camping at the State Parks. It is a great value for the price. Extremely well kept grounds, clean 

bathrooms and showers, enforced quiet time, friendly & helpful staff....) can't recommend our Parks 
enough! Thank you all! — Lou Wittmer of Vernon, VT 

(Below comment in reference to fee increases) 



Ltzzy Liz 
As a Vermont Fan and once a year v~srtc~r, this year t w~{I be watching even pinny. 
Hc~w about s~nrc~r races, meiiEaey d6scounts, ma~t~e csffer a day or week io bey the 
yearly bass ctre~Wer. NY does that Gard Luck 

E~~ h~Qt~ 
~+ 

Cacraline Bradley 
LtzEgr t.~z Milei~ry dascount should b~ a definite ~; 

4i[c~ f~eply .s s,. '~` 

Agnes Bars~taw 
Ltzzx Liz the c~reerr mour~ta~n passpt~tt offers free ~r~#~y to Verrnc~r~t seniors anc~ 
veterans! 

`~.~ —`t s't- 
~_ 

Amanda EynOR 
i Think the Fees are decent. i do-think that ~s~aybe offering a reserv~tic~n~cam~~n~ 
disca~nt fc~r they Green Mauniair~ Passpo~€ w+~uid be nice fear eau€ seniors and 
vetetarss. 

.~.~ e.e 

G~roPyn Kitteli 
Amanda ~ynvn thaE w~ulc~ be a great idea! 

Nary Bra+~Iey 
Amanda Eynon g~~i idea 

Llke fte~t9y '~. 

Carmine 8radtey 
Amanda Eynnn Gr~~t idea 



ta~ra DeG€ay 
Asa 21 year camper of Branbusy, there. hate been no bathroom or €acilEty u{agrades 
other then the pi~ygresund ~ few years agu. Vdith tt~e flack of care thai f~~ hack creev 
sho4vs and ₹he pc~crr cnndoc~s ~f the bathrc~rc3ms it ~s noT w+~sita paying an r€~cre~se. 

Cikr ~ieply -'.. 
ii 

r ,~*~` r~~rcnc,~ 

1IEtR1Otit $~~~~ P~((~ffS'~"` 
~Qad news -- a ccamplete batheo~m rer~avatian is almo~i clone, st~c~uld b~ 
ready in a week o~ two. 

~E~+~ €t~~~y _.; 

"` Laura t3~Geay 
Vermont State Perks ~s that can bo₹h ssdes? l+1~e always stay can the beach 

side in that was i~~ desperate n~eci of ee(urbishment 

Yermttnt 5$at~ Pdtks :' 
!ts the one an the beach side that`s becnc~ cepla~e€i 

LEke ~t~~}ty ~<v ~ ` 

i `Frac}r [httt~n Gauthier 
Vermont 5iate Parks what about the o4her side? ! swear the same 
spiders have be~r~ ixvtng In the women's shower stall since I was a 
toddler_ 

As far the rates,. i won't mind payEng the new Dries. l thank ii`s sti(I a 
bargain, 9t de~nitel~+ wctn t stop m~ frc~[~r camping in the VT State Farkslr 

~t~~ s~~Dty s: °i~ 

~.ae! Hope Da9gle 
L~aoks greats More than wiilir~c~ to pity ~ Few extra c~oilars to support 

i_ike ReE~ly -~.. ~1

Aurora B Ahamundi 
f+fai o~Feeang a m~litar~ di~~unt ss dicgrac~f€~I. 

Li€~e Fiepty ,.. 

Shelley 5~rks 
f wish there eauld b~ a lower ressdent SEN!(~R tamp s~₹e fee for tent and le~ntc~ 
alter.... 

Like itept~ ~~v "' 



Stephen f Far~ach 
1 have no pro~f~m with tt~e fees, Vilhat ! dc~ tsave a ~C~f~ prablem wit3~ ~s the fact 
#hat poca ct~ars~e I~rg~ i~i~s the same once ~s t~r~ carrlpers. 
These large F~Vs haue been t~sce~as~nt#!}r t~~ang acivar~ta~~ of y~iur 1~v4r ~c~st, at ~rc~ur 
expense; They destroy trees and fo[~ag~, pcsli~xt~ the air, end ruin the peacefulness ~f 
~a€~p~ng wr~h their gener~t~rs. State packs shc~uici be r~serv~cl far tr~c "camp~rs.~. 
1+Ve have bin very d~sa~perir~teef rn this trend eav~r the i~st severat years. Res ~aelong 
in RV perks nai Ere site #~r~s~s and carn~gra~nc~s, 

L~kc ~ieply ,. 

~oan~~ ~'ob~yr 
ate hers F For~ash 1 dc~ agree ~t~at generatar~ de~r~ase the quali#~ ~f the 
carr~Rir~g e~er~~nce. Per~~ps having ~ small aria set as~~e fir F.Vs ~itt~ 
g~ner~tors (a LiNili~EL~ number} u~au(e! ~~ ~ s~~ution? ~:n~ also enfc~r~ing the 
hrsur~ ~hey`r~ allowed to be used -- fast year I e~tdur~ g~neratc~rs ₹ter Ht~URS 
after dark in a ~t~t~ Park. Nest ~xac-~€y the ~ea~e€ul earrtgaing ex~~r~~nc~ ! wr~s 
lt~king fir. 

Like #~epty ,t. ~` 

`~"` 7ti~ far 

AFM@ ~N~ESE}EC~t 

5t~eptaen Ftsnas~s what about smal€ trauel trailers that don't use generators 
{vie only use sotarj7 i was a ten c~rr~p~r fir many yeas, and l cEon`t tr~li~~ve our 
little camper has any mc~~e irrapact can the par[e~. But I would vsr~c€~me your 
trpinia~r 

Suzanne Bennef# Codling 
As a Verrnoni resit3ent, ~ dc~ r~e~t at~re~ with any c~₹ the fie increases. Considering the 
difficult year with Cavtd and t~se win~faEl cif federal mar~ey and state surplus monies, 
these €ees shc,ul~f nc~t be gca~ng up thEs year. Frant~y this would be ~ ge~oci dear ea 
disco~n~ ~Yt~ prtc~. 

LFke Reply ~~a 

~iAary 8radtey 
1fVe are so fc~rt~nate t~ have these b~~utiful parks. A couple snare dallar~ is w~91 
worth it. 

I_~ke t~~p9y r, 
iii 3 

Gary Ernesi Ri~rd 
i~loE tc~a~ Iflng ~~a, it wcas~ld cast ~1~.5~i f€~r a 5 gaEl~rt Barr cif gas fir mc~wir~g... t~s~~y, 
#hat cast is $~3~~5. !'€~► thinking III cif the ~~rks are mvwinc~ like cra~~, ~r~c! probably 
burning $ ~fl(} collars a day 4n ~a~ for Their rr3achines. Sa that's ~n expense that a~r~s 
not taudg~t~ fc~r: E.ikew~se, bumping ail u~rag~s up its ~1~ bucks per h4e~r wc~u#d 
satire the staff shortages wre a€e seeing across the~ob rnart~et. $2t~-2~ fir senior staff€ 
{manager ar~d ~ssistant~... same 2t~ far [~Fe guard manager and $'I5 for life guards. 
Day use fees: $`~C~ €or a ear wifh 1 adult and ~S firer ex~tr~ aduEt sir child {which 
includes ~~ur~rrt~~nc~~. Ciresup entre fee: flit r~t~ c~~ $5 busks per ~er~~n. Sch~aa! #e~: 
Same r~ ~scr swimming. [f the group is g~+irtg to use the swirt~ ing ~tii $2 buc~Cs per 
student (teachers free. 

I.etce ~e~1~e ~t~_ F~lit~-r3 #~ Z 



lenna Hayward 
1 think fhe -$1St} dark pass is ioa much, afhetwsse camping pc~c~s toak ak at 
increased paces. L}c~e~ the change atready af€ piev~flusly laid sites ~ 

~[ke #yep&y -~:.~;r ~ , 

_ ~",~`,s>F3~e~r 

V£'iiYtOfl$ Sldt~ {~81'E'(S ~: 

3enna I~ay~r~r~ The $18{l park pass js for basses of up t~s 17 pimple. Regulae 
€~rnily vehicle passes are still ~~1. And nc~, if yc~u already have reservations. the 
cold pricey ~srifl be htanc~r~ck as ft~ng as ygu c~~n`t change the r~s~rv~tic~n. 

Like du~~aEy ~ ,a ' ? ~s

letrna Haysa~ard 
Ve~ on# State F~arks ty ffle the cl~rii~~aii,~n ! 

~€kr= :ter,~y ,. 

Jeremia€~ tVicl~uaEs 
VerrnE~nt State F"arics keep ih~s ~ir~ce_ Anymore ~n~ i!I b~ r~vasting rrt~ney. 

t~k~ R~pi~f ~, 

Kelly Gasp 
1 F~ave~`t ba~~~t a park pass ~~~~ tie ~ar►dera~ie tam I f~eli~v~ 1 used i~ pad TC}Il but 
i r~~ayr ~ v+tr~ng. 

U~#~~t is the pnee increa ft~r the pass 

$~ fk1} is worth it I don't think $18{~ is doable as ~ single rnom witE~ cn~ rent up, gas 
up, food u{~ and pay the same 

i.i&e Eie~sly ,,, 

lames 8utko[~ 
e1ty Gass it's ncisculous. 

LEke F~epiy ~t~v 

d"~ ,~.3; C3tE7F 

Y~ Q~k dS~~ i'afl R~ ~.

#is, the ~18t} pass i~ designed for €rrg~nizatic~r~s that travel tt~ t~~ pack in a buy 
and wi91 alEQ~v 17 people into ttre park w~₹h the pass. The regular family vehicle 
pass. Es still $9~,~~} and will remain that prate. 

tike €~e~l~ ., 

'~~; t€elly Gass 
Vermont St~t~ Parks thank yezu f€~r tie clanf~cat~~n 

Lzsa ;lal~}r 
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live in Jamaica Vermont where we have a state park. I think a town resident should be able to walk 

through the park without being charged! — francisjanik (Instagram) 

PURL/C COMMENTS (NQN-RESIDENT/RESIDENT FFE INCREASES): 

Thank you for proposing an increase in camping rates paid by non-residents. I support this change 

which will bring Vermont fees more in line with other states. We no longer camp in Massachusetts due 

to their outrageous fees. Also, your data may be old for MA camping rates. Nickerson SP charges $22 

for residents and $70 (plus $5 add on) for non-residents, much higher than the amounts in your 
comparison chart. 

would suggest that the fee for non- residents be increased by $8 for both tent and lean-to sites, not 
$7 for tents as proposed. We camp quite frequently in our state parks and continue to support them 

and their employees. — Patti Fischer (additional comment under No Show Policy) 



strongly feel that fees should remain the same or a few dollars less per night for in-state campers. As 

a retired teacher I would like low income families to have the opportunity to recreate outdoors. 

Compared to other New England states Vermonters pay more. Non residents should pay at least ten 

dollars more per night. Our parks are beautiful and I would like to see more Vermonters using them. 

- Donna Wilson of Pittsford, VT 

(VSP reply: Thank you for taking the time to comment, we really appreciate that. In our proposed fee 

changes, we plan to charge significantly more for out-of-state campers, which is consistent throughout 

state park systems in the East. I've attached a couple of charts below that illustrate the proposed 

changes. Hope that provides a little more information. Thanks again! (chart provided) (Rochelle 

Skinner)) 

Fee Changes — all sound reasonable, though I wonder if the increase in non-resident rates should have 

been a little less (to help avoiding alienating any non-residents). Maybe half the increase this year and 

another small increase in 2 years? Just thinking out loud. —Jeff Mullen of Richmond, VT (additional 

comments under General Comments) 

am happy that the majority of increases are being passed to tourists and that you have attempted to 

keep fees reasonable for VT residents. Not sure why that same line of thinking was not applied to 

cabin rentals? - Paul Bremel 

My family and I camp in Vermont State Parks numerous times during the course of a season. We are 

non-residents. Regarding your fee changes for non-residents (speaking primarily to the tent/RV and 

lean-to sites, both prime and standard), we feel that the increase of 33% is a rather steep increase. We 

realize that it costs money to run the parks, and that not all costs are covered by the fees. However, an 

increase to the non-resident fees of $3-4 would be more reasonable than the $7-8 increase. We greatly 

enjoy our trips to Vermont every summer, and would appreciate it if you could continue to keep the 

rates reasonable for families. — Karen DeWolf Ricard of Enfield, NH 

am an out of state camper, I have been going to Emerald Lake state park since 1974 camping alone, 

with my daughters and their friends ,now with my grandchildren-I don't think I will be able to enjoy 

camping with this increase a $7.00 increase along with an increase in per person fee plus the price of 

gas will make this yearly camping trip unattainable -the end of many fond memories in the future 

This was the one thing I always looked forward to even during Covid Camping at Emerald Lake. 

-Dawn Turner 

am writing to voice my opposition to the non resident fee increase for camping sites. I live in New 

York State. My state charges an extra five dollars for out of state residents. That is what the Vermont 

non resident fee is now. 

hope that Vermont leaves the fee at five dollars. If New York State raises the non resident fee, then 

maybe reciprocate and raise the Vermont fees. 

But for now, please leave it the way it is. Gas and other prices have risen sharply, making the cost of 

traveling more expensive than in past years. 





I've been camping at Vermont State Parks since the late seventies. They are my favorite places to 

camp. —Terri Coleman of Branchport, NY 

New fees put it to out of staters just like snowmobiling just seems wrong to me bet the help didn't get 

a raise — Rebecca Faryniarz 

am a Vermont resident who camps every summer and naturally over the last two years have noticed 
a drastic change in the campgrounds in the people that visit. I'm in favor of the increase to out of state 
residents. I feel the RV fees should be much higher than the proposed. Also I request that VT residents 
should be given at least a one day advance in reservation queue. It is really tragic now to try to make a 
reservation. Super stressful. Thank you! Love our parks. They are always kept clean and well 
maintained. — Zenaida Brooks 

30%increase in USD for non residents, thats almost 40% in CDN Dollar, no thanks, my kids and I will 
spend our money in Canada, it's been fun, bye bye! 

That is a fairly hefty increase proposed for out of state folks making the drive. We do so every year 

from PA and this jump in price (4 times higher compared to $2 increase for VT residents), would 

probably cause us to look elsewhere for our summer camping vacation. We only book prime (lean-to) 

FYI. —Tom, Marth and Katie Lillard of Phoenixville, PA 

understand that you need to increase fees. I an out of state camper. We paid 1 or 2 dollars over 

residents rates. I feel an 8 and 9 dollar jump is steep in one year. I camp 4 to 5 times a year. If you do 

that increase, and I do understand but will be looking at less reservations in Vermont.- Donna A 

Finally the out of staters have to pay more for using our state parks. Thank you. 
-Louise Clarino of Rutland, VT 

As a long time visitor my family has always enjoyed our visits to your campgrounds over the years. 
am disappointed to read that the fee schedule for out of state residents is proposed to increase 33% 
over the current fee. This increase is not only absorbent but also creates a hardship for those of us 
that are retired and on a fixed income. I urge you all to reconsider this steep increase in fees on those 
of us who camp as a way to explore the world as simply as possible without the additional burden to 
our fixed budget. — John Roy of Acushnet, MA 

Oh my goodness, where do I start? I have been coming to VT state parks for 44 years. I absolutely love 
VT & the parks - camping since I was a kid traveling from MA. Over the years, I have seen the rates 
climb and thankfully the campsites have remained about the same general feeling. Most specifically 
Burton Island & Woods. The parks have always been my happy, escape from the MA life. There is such 
a difference in the two states, as you know. 

The new rates are very discouraging. I camp often from beginning to end of season, not just the once 

or twice visit. Please, don't raise the rates as proposed. The out of state fee hikes are just too much. 
People don't go to a hotel, grocery store, restaurant, store, farmers markets etc and pay different 
prices due to where they come from. So, why such the difference in the camping prices for out of 
staters? We are getting the same thing but are paying so much more. We are already paying more by 

traveling adistance w/gas money and time to travel. Then you add in the amount of money we are 
spending at the local restaurants, shops, etc. Then, we are paying so much more for the same campsite 



just because we don't live in the state. It's a hardship and by doing such it's a statement that we are 
not welcomed. That's not the VT that I know & love. I have always felt welcomed & now that is about 
to change. Out of staters are visiting due to many different reasons. For me overall it's b/c of the 
beauty, simplicity and nice people, the connection I feel w/nature in VT is unexplainable. 
- Laurie Bloom 

30%increase for non-residents, I'll pass, it's been fun, bye bye! -rickydxyyhu (Instagram) 

They seem sensible. As a Vermonter I very much appreciate having a resident and non-resident fee. 
sued to work in the parks. I also spend a lot of time on parks. The last couple years it's been hard to get 
a campsite with the frowning popularity of VT parks. Thanks for looking out for VT residents! -sv_clarat 
(Instagram) 
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Yesterday I did some brief market research to see how other New England states handle state park 

fees. Please see the attached spreadsheet, which compares day use and camping fees across 

Massachusetts, Maine, and Vermont. I would have also included New Hampshire, but it was harder to 

find standardized fees. The three states here nonetheless seem to provide some helpful insights: 

Day Use Fees: Highlighted in green. Massachusetts charges by car rather than by person. For the sake 

of comparison, I've used a "family of four": 

• The "standard" resident day use fee in MA and ME is just $5-$8. Compare this to Vermont, 
where a family of four would have to pay $14 to have a picnic. This amounts to Vermont 
charging its own residents 130% - 180% more than other states charge their own residents. 

• The exception to this is a handful of MA and ME waterfront/beach state parks, which charge 
$14 for residents, equal to what VT would charge for all state parks, no matter whether they're 

••standard" or "prime" (as VT has distinguished its campgroundsj. 
• Vermont state parks should be made more accessible to Vermont state residents. Please 

lower fees for Vermont residents to just $5-8 per car to match the majority of Massachusetts 
state parks. 

• ME charges out-of-state visitors 25% - 33%more than residents. MA charges out-of-state 
visitors 185% - 300% more than residents. 

• The VT proposal would have no difference in fees for in-state or out-of-state visitors. This is 
unconscionable. Why would Vermont residents pay the same high fees as non-residents? All 
other area states charge more for out-of-state visitors. 

o Again, Vermont state parks should be made more accessible to Vermont state residents. 
Please increase fees for non-residents to at least $15 - $20 per car to match the majority of 
Massachusetts state parks. 

Camping Fees: Highlighted in blue. 



• If I were to reserve a "Prime" Massachusetts campsite, I would be charged $75 per night, a 
240% increase over in-state fees. A Massachusetts resident could reserve the same campsite 
for just $20. This fee system makes campsites very affordable for state residents, and out-of-
state visitors have to pay a premium. This seems quite sensible. Afterall, it's their state park, not 
mine. 

• Compare this to the VT proposal. For equivalent prime campsites/lean-tos, VT residents would 
be charged $22 - $32. This is more than the very highest fee a MA resident would ever pay to 
camp for any campsite. 

• The non-resident increase in the VT proposal is only 25% - 36%. This is lower than either MA or 
ME, and is a whopping 10-times less than the MA out-of-state increase. 

• Please decrease all VT resident camping/lean-to/cabin fees, and balance this with significant 
increases for out-of-state visitors. Non-residents should be paying at least 50% -100% more 
across all overnight fee levels. 

• While the VT proposal does have a slim increase for out-of-state residents, the better the 
accommodations are, the lower the out-of-state increase. For example, the proposed out-of-
state increase for a standard campsite is 40%, while the proposed out-of-state increase for a 
prime lean-to is 25%, and the out-of-state increase for a cabin is just 13%. This is backwards. 
Reference Massachusetts, where the most rustic campgrounds have an out-of-state increase of 
185% and the very nicest camping locations have an out-of-state increase of 240%. 

• Please modify the VT proposal to ensure that -- as accommodations improve from "standard" 
to "prime" to "cabin" and so forth --the out-of-state increase is more for better 
accommodations, not less. 

Across the day use and camping system, Vermont State Parks are losing significant revenue by not 

charging more for out-of-state visitors. Please increase all out-of-state fees, and balance this with a 

decrease in al l fees for Vermont residents. These are Vermont state parks. Please make them 

affordable for Vermont residents. Thank you for your consideration. I look forward to seeing Vermont's 

Vermont Sate Paris Fee Proposal 

As Compared to Massachusetts acid Maine State Par3c fees 
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additional market research, and an updated proposal for further public review and comment. 

— Kassia Randzio and Zack Porter of Montpelier, VT 

CAMPING POLICY CHANGES 

1-night minimum: Sunday —Thursday nights beginning March 1 for current season reservations. Applies only 

to tent/RV sites and lean-to's. 

~~~~~-~r~t~~w ~~nrr~H~n~r~nrrmunn~ 

am concerned with the change to allow one night reservations. Parks will now be booked solid 

months in advance. If you are going to do that please set aside some sites for first come first serve. 

agree with the others that have been posting on Facebook. It seems only fair to hold some back. 

- Maddie D 

Vermont State Parks are wonderful, I am a frequent user but as a local, I often choose to stay on a 

whim. Many states have a section of the campground they hold and don't reserve. We haven't had 

that in Vermont as I know. Instead, there was the two night minimum which often left gaps between 

longer stays. Your parks are getting so busy now and so hard to get a spot but I loved being able to call 

around to the various Groton parks on a random Wednesday when the heat got too much or I just 

wanted to escape Internet access with the family. Generally I could find a spot at Ricker or Stillwater 

and we would have a great night with the kids. I also think about all the RVers and van campers I am 

seeing all over the state. I would think many are traveling without a set plan, will they now be 

relegated to the Berlin Wal-Mark parking lot? If you are going to allow one night reservations, 

sincerely hope you put away a 10% of the sites at each park for the people who are spontaneous or 

traveling without aplan. - Hailey of Barre, VT 

really like that there are one day (weekday) stays and that regular rates remain the same ($90) 

- Barbara Dunn of Newport, VT 

Please reconsider your new one night reservation policy. Being able to spontaneously go to a park is so 

important. Surely this doesn't effect occupancy rate. Everything will be blocked out, I don't plan 3-4 

day stays in the parks months out but me and my partner stay 4-5 times a year. Often at last minute, 

we call around until some park (usually have our fingers crossed for Half Moon) can squeeze us 

in. These multiple mini vacations our essential to allow me to recharge and refresh and aren't 

something I can plan out months in advance to compete with all the #vanlife people. — Maddie Schober 

What is this stuff I am seeing on Facebook. Is it true you are going to allow one night 

reservations? What a terrible idea! How is an average guy supposed to get a spot with his kids when 

out of staters book everything up months in advance? Please reconsider. Vermonters should have a 

chance to get a spot. How many signatures do I need to collect to stop this crap? — Harvey Rogers 

(VSP reply: It is unlikely out-of-state campers will travel for aone-night reservation. We are only 

opening 1-night reservations for Sunday — Thursday nights, which have an abundance of open sites) 



saw in the vermont camping Facebook group your proposed rule changes. Please do not allow one 
night reservations. What is to be gained? They get booked out anyway, it isn't like you are going to 

make more money. All this means is the spots will be booked out in advance and I will never have a 
chance to get one. First you screwed up Green River, then the Waterbury Rez, not this. Do you think to 
maybe poll Vermonters before proposing such a dumb change? Are you not a public service? You 
used to be responsive to the public, I camped here my whole life, now you are squeezing us out in 
favor of out of staters. 

Please don't change the rules to allow one night reservations. How will anyone get a spot? Please 
consider consulting state park users before making a change like that. What is to be gained, the spots 

are still going to get filled up and you are still going to get the money? If you are going to do this please 

set aside some sites for first come first serve. - Cindy 

You asked for public comment on your social media posts about the proposed rule changes. I am 

asking you not to allow one night reservations. I have camped all across the country, each summer 

with the family and more so now that we are retired. Many many states hold back a few spots, or one 

loop to allow people to show up off the street. When Vermont moved to allowing reservations, it 

chose not to do that but there was always one night gap's for the spontaneous traveler. Camping is a 

large part is about that relaxed pace, spontaneous adventure and being carefree. Having to plan 

months out takes away from that. Whatever money is gained with the reservation fee, isn't worth the 

disappointment you are creating for your campers. — Pamela Reardon 

Don't allow one night reservations! This is a policy that drastically favors out of staters over 

Vermonters. People planning longer trips as opposed to people who just want a chance to stay in their 

local park. Vermonters are the ones who respond to the park if there is an emergency through fire and 

rescue, Vermonters are the ones who make up the difference when your department doesn't pay sales 

tax, Vermonters are the ones who make up the difference when you make a payment in lieu of taxes 

for local property taxes - policies should favor Vermonters when possible. I know that tourism is 

important, I work in that industry. But this is a policy that doubtfully will gain you more revenue so 

can't imagine what the justification is to let all the spots get booked up months in advance instead of 

being filled at the last minute. What is the covid protocol for the public meeting? — Scott Davies 

(VSP reply: Regarding one-night reservations, let me clarify some points. First, you can only make one-

nightreservations after March 1 of the current season. So that gives people up to nine months to make 

longer reservations. Also, one-night reservations can only be made for Sunday — Thursday nights. Our 

parks are relatively empty mid-week, so this makes sense to us. Out-of-state visitors are unlikely to 

travel to Vermont to stay only one night so 1 really don't think that's a concern. And we do pay taxes —

both sales taxes and room and meals taxes. As far as COVID protocol for the public hearing — there is no 

longer a mask mandate, so we won't be requiring those to attend in person. You are also able to attend 

virtually if you like. 

(Rochelle Skinner)) 

One Night reservations are a terrible idea. What could possibly make you think they are a good one? 

— Charlie Currier 





(VSP reply: Let me elaborate on the policy. One-night reservations can only be made after March 1 of 

the current season. So, folks that want longer stays will have many months before then to make longer 

reservations. Also, one-night reservations will only be available on Sunday — Thursday nights. Our parks 

are largely empty during mid-week so allowing a shorter reservation period for these days makes sense 

to us. For years, people have been requesting one-night reservations — either because they are new to 

camping and just want to try it out, or they have young children, or they're on a road trip and only need 

a one-night stay. Hope that adds more context. Thank you again and happy camping! (Rochelle 

Skinner)) 

am at Half Moon Pond right now, enjoying my morning coffee as most of the campground continues 

to sleep. The only noise is the birds and the occasional sound of the bathroom door. My sister-in-law 

has joined me at my rekindled campfire and informed me of the changes that are coming to State 

Parks. I want to join her in expressing my disappointment in every campsite being able to be booked 

out months in advance. State Parks are special place and it shouldn't always require planning a year in 

advance to get a spot. If you allow 1 night reservations where will a young family who is just getting 

into camping go? If they are all locked out a year in advance - you will get no new campers and only 

old pros who know the system. Please reconsider. — Todd Dunkleberger 

(VSP reply: Thanks for writing, we appreciate your feedback. Let me clarify a few things that might ease 
your mind some. One-night reservations will only be available beginning March 1 of the current season, 
so they can't be made many months in advance. Also, one-night reservations are only available Sunday 
— Thursday nights, and we have tons of space on weeknights, so much so that 1 can't imagine any park 
getting full during the week. Hope that helps explains the policy better. Thanks for being a 
supporter of the parks! (Rochelle Skinner)) 

read over your rule changes a couple weeks ago and didn't think anything of them. That is until I tried 

to make a reservation. Several places I like to go have one night booking on the spots that I can fit my 

trailer. Things like I could book Sunday, Monday, Wednesday and Thursday but not book 

Tuesday. This is going to result in less people being able to get a spot. Who wants to move their trailer 

around all week? I have to go to NH instead and I am from Vermont. Why let someone who wants to 

stay only a day, screw up the ability for someone who wants to stay for the week? Please rethink this. 

— Victor Sanchez 

(VSP reply: Thanks for taking time to write, we really appreciate it. 1 did want to let you know though, 

that you can make reservations up to 11 months in advance, which means you have up to nine months 

to make reservations before the 1-night reservations begin in March of the year. Have a great day! —

Rochelle Skinner) 





No show policy*: Visitors must occupy their sites no later than 2PM the second day after their reservation 

begins or must contact the park staff to notify them of their late arrival. Visitors failing to do so will forfeit 

their site and will not be entitled to any refund. 

PUBLIC COMMENTS (No Show Pollcyj: 

don't think you have fully thought about the III will cancelling people delayed in showing upis going to 

bring. Imagine the anger you would have if you drove hours with a car load of kids and dogs, with all 

the advance prep required for groceries and packing and you are delayed a day for whatever 

reason. You didn't catch the fact that the park would cancel you or were too busy with whatever got 

you delayed to call. Now you are at the park and find out the kid behind the counter gave your spot 

away an hour ago. There goes one of the few vacation days they get a year. There isn't any place else 

to go. All the campgrounds are booked. The abuse that poor kid is going to suffer behind that counter 

will make him/her question why they took the job. But this will never happen right? All your guests 

read every rule before they show up. Right? Or maybe they thought they were entitled to what they 

paid for. It is just plain greedy. I can fathom anything to be gained other then renting the spot twice 

and the expense of guests who are the one to get shafted. Not your guys best work. — Tom Welsh 

(VSP reply: Hi Tom, Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. Let me clarify a couple of things that 

might ease your mind some. If you didn't show up or call the first night, our staff would make every 

attempt to contact you. If you still did not show up the SECOND night and did not contact there park, 

only then would your reservation be cancelled. Before advancing this, we talked with many different 

state park systems. Most all of them have a no-show policy but will cancel your reservation after the 

first night, so we are being more generous than most state park systems. We'll be educating visitors 

this year and won't enforce it until next year. We're doing this because we get many, many complaints 

from people who try to book a prime site, but they were all filled, only to show up for a lesser site at the 

park to find there is no one in the site they had originally wanted. It's not a matter of greed at all, it's a 

matter of competition for popular sites. Thanks again, we do appreciate you taking the time to 

comment. (Rochelle SkinnerJJ 

If it isn't about greed, why not refund the portion you cancel? 

would like to make a records request for all recordings of meeting, data, emails, notes and drafts 

related to this series of rule changes including data that was used to make these decisions and 

responses you have received since announcing them. — Tom Welsh 

(VSP reply: Sure, Tom. We're collecting public comments through June 14. 1'll wait until all the info is 

collected and compiled before we send it your way.J 





If I've paid for 3 nights Fri-Sun and it rains until 4 p.m. Sat., I want to be able to setup late afternoon on 

Sat. (I have RESERVED/PAID FOR THE THREE NIGHTS!) —Jake Urato of Brattleboro VT 

Your current cancelation policy is already crappy (I was going to shorten my stay last year so I could 
arrive a day later and the website was going to charge me more money they I had already paid for the 
privilege of staying one less day so I just left it and showed up a day late). Under this new plan you are 
going to cancel me all together if something like that comes up? So pay more money to stay fewer 

days or loose my reservation and my money? How can that be fair? - Anna 

Very happy with the proposal that no-shows will forfeit their entire camping fee as so many sites go 
unused. The current penalty doesn't change the behavior of selfish campers who can't be bothered 
with making a call to cancel. - Patti Fischer 

am writing in opposition to the proposed no-show policy proposed by Vermont State Parks. As the 
owner of an Inn and small business, I use state parks as an escape. My schedule often results in last 
minute changes and delays. While I understand notification of late arrival is not a significant burden, it 
is not one I should have to endure. It is unVermont like to deprive someone of something they have 
paid for in full. Personal feelings aside, as I am just one person, it is universally in violation of every 
credit card agreement and therefore processor agreement. You are opening yourself up to 
chargebacks and the associated penalties and fees. Visa for example allows you to retain a max of 1 
day in the event of a no show.https://www.belizebank.com/wp-content/uploads/2O19/03/Prevent-

and-Handle-Na-Shows-A-guide-for-Hotel-Owners-and-Mana~ers.pdf Mastercard, Amex and Discover 
are similar but you can do your own research. No showing a guest and keeping their entire payment is 

unconscionable, and for good reason the guests are protected by their credit card issuer. 
-Tom Bradley 

Leaving a message on the parks system should count as notification for the no show policy as getting a 

real person to pick up the phone can be difficult! 

My friends and I would like to express our disappointment in the proposed policy changes for State 

Parks. We travel around the state during the park season, staying at state parks to compete almost 
weekly in various foot races. We are all Vermonters and use the parks so that we do not have to 

commute on the morning of the race (often Sundays). Currently we book Friday and Saturdays all 
around the state, I think our organizers have 11 reservations for this year already. Sometimes we show 
up Friday, sometimes not until Saturday. With your new policy, I may find that our spot has been 
cancelled even though we have paid for it if we don't show up Friday night. I can't book a one night 
stay on the weekend and I wouldn't want to because sometimes we do come on Friday (depending on 
how far the race is from home). The only way to get one night on the weekend is to book two nights 
and not show up for one. 

How would it be fair to take away something that we have paid for, especially when this wasn't the 
policy, nor were we informed of it, last year, when we made the reservation? 

It is greedy to try and double dip and sell a camping spot twice. You care going to have a lot of people 

extremely upset. It is unwise to change the policy and unconscionable to change the policy after they 



made the reservation. People who have had plans for a year and you will be cancelling their stay. I see 
that we can notify you - will there be a check box when you make a reservation that says "don't cancel 
my reservation no matter what." Can I notify at the time I make the reservation? Have you tried 
calling Branbury on a Friday in July for anything (much less trying desperately to make sure they don't 
give away the site you already paid for)? 

(VSP reply: we plan on educating visitors this year and not enforcing rule unti12023 season) 

don't think you have considered how upset a person who has a paid for confirmed reservation pulled 
out from under them will be. It isn't about the no refund part either. What are they supposed to do 
when they show up a day late with kids and dogs piled in the car ready for their once a year vacation 
and you say - sorry we gave your spot away because you got held up in a park with no cell 
reception. Where are they supposed to go? We have to book for these events a year out because you 
are always full. They are not going to be able to find a campsite somewhere else. 

Please reconsider! Why collect an extra few bucks at the expense of upsetting your customers. I know 
this is government, but it is ashort-sighted business decision. 

-Kirby Turner 

Depriving people of something they paid for by cancelling their reservation when they have paid for it 
is criminal. Who do you think you are? 

am a small business owner, whose business is recovering from COVID. As part of my photography 
business, I travel across the state taking wedding photos. I often stay in state parks so I don't have to 
travel home after the receptions. I am already forced to make a two night reservation so that I can 
secure a spot. I understand your desire to do so for occupancy. With this new policy though you are 
going to cancel if I don't show up for the night I didn't want to book anyway. How can you justify 
having both policies? Minimum nights is one thing, but canceling because I was forced to book for 

nights I didn't want anyway is incompatible. You need to pick one or the other. 

saw some people on Reddit saying that all I had to do is call. Why should the burden be on me? With 
any wedding there is a lot going on, and now I am expected to call to say "Yes, I want the space I paid 
for." Of course I want it, that is why I paid for it. How about you call the people who don't show up 
instead and get their permission to resell the spot? 

Also how can you change the agreement after you have been paid? I made some reservations already 
and if I hadn't seen this I would have shown up to a spot you had already rerented to someone else. If 
this is going to be the policy it should only apply to new reservations not ones before the new policy 
was made. 

understand the need to maximize occupancy/revenue by making a minimum stay, I don't know how 
you can possibly justify depriving people of something they paid for. -Andy 

(VSP reply: Hi Andy, Thanks for taking the time to write us, we really appreciate it. 





1 want to clarify a couple of things that may ease your mind some. First, we will be allowing 1-night 
reservations Sunday — Thursday nights beginning March 1 for the remainder of the season, so that 
would help you if you're looking for just one night on those days. 

Also, in the scenario you outlined, you wouldn't lose your site. Let's say you had a reservation for Friday 
and Saturday nights. If you didn't check in Friday evening, park staff would make every attempt to 
contact you to inquire about your plans. If they couldn't get a hold of you, and you didn't call the park, 
and (this is the part 1 want to make clear), if you didn't show up Saturday night, then we would cancel 

the remainder of your reservation. So, we're actually giving visitors a 48-hour grace period, not a 24-
hour period. 

We've adopted this policy because we have received many, many complaints from visitors who have 
tried to book their favorite sites, but someone else has already reserved them. So, they book a different 
site. When they go to the park, that site that they really wanted, is vacant, and remains so for days. 
We also talked with other state park systems, almost all of which have no-show policies. Most park 
systems will cancel a reservation if you don't show up the first night. We're trying to be more liberal by 
allowing for two nights of no-show before we release the site. 

This season, our plan is to educate park visitors about this policy, but we're not planning on enforcing it 
until next season. 

1 hope this helps, and please let me know if 1 can provide further information. All feedback will be 
presented as we work through the approval process. (Rochelle Skinner)) 

find all your proposed rule changes acceptable but especially want you to go for the no show policy 

change. I spend a fair amount of time in Brighton State Parks and my family has "favorite" sites that are 
empty the whole time we're camping because someone reserved them for weeks but doesn't bother 
to show up. Please, please pass this rule. — Ed Chase 

particularly appreciate the new rule if you do not check in by 2pm of the second day someone else 
can have that site. Far too many times I've seen my favorite site sit empty but was reserved while I am 
in another site. —Tammy Brown 

wanted to offer some feedback and perhaps ask for assistance in what continues to be an 
endless frustration in my experience of the VT state parks, and particularly in camping at VT state 
parks. 

My experience is that for many of the VT State campgrounds, unless you are poised and ready to make 
a reservation 11 months in advance for your desired date, there are rarely available spots. I was just 
looking at Green River Reservoir, and granted, I know that it is a very popular site, but there are hardly 
any openings for the entire season. 

And yet, when you arrive at those campgrounds, there are unused camping spots throughout the park! 

had that experience at Stillwater Campground last June, and at Burton Island campground in 2020-





both campgrounds seemed to be at 60%capacity despite the reservations systems saying that they 

were "FULL" " 

know that because of the rather generous cancellation policy, many of my friends simply book up 

more sites than they actually need, for more dates that they will actually use. When they get to the 

park, they get a refund for the unused portion of their reservation, and "eat" the small cancellation 

fees. 

This is such a frustrating experience for those of us that really cannot plan 11 months in advance, nor 

sit at the computer, refreshing the reservation button, and pouncing on reserving sites. So, as a result, 

my family has had way fewer experiences in Vermont State parks than we'd like - I 've given up several 

times because the reservations are too frustrating and there is NOTHING available! 

My sense is that a more firm cancellation policy or a less generous refund policy would at least limit 

the "spot grabbing" that seems to take place. Or if the refund policy was that you get a full refund 2 

weeks in advance and then the site was released into the system again and marked available, at least 

the State of Vermont would be able to rebook those sites and make money on them, rather than let 

them sit open. I have seen other states use this method with success. 

can't imagine that I'm the first person to have this experience, and I'd love to hear what your 

recommendations are. Unfortunately, waiting until the day of and calling to see if there is availability is 

not really a valid recommendation for a family that has to take time off work, pack up gear, find house 

and animal sitters, etc. 

Thank you for any thoughts you might be able to share. My sincere desire is to get out and go camping 

with my kids, and it's so sad to keep bumping into this same problem again and again. 

-Teri Page of Calais, VT 





Green River*: changing fees to equal other parks; All sites prime; group site from $5.00 to $6.00 per 

person/minimum $48.00 ($1/per increase) 

PUBLIC COMMENT (Green R1ver): 

As a regular camper at Green River Reservoir, I'm wondering what the rationale is for raising rates to 

equal other state parks. A few questions: 

-Will the rate increase to "prime" site rates since they are all waterfront sites at GRR? 

-What new amenities will be provided at the sites or in the park? Currently, there are no tables at the 

sites and no potable water in the park. Sites are not cleaned or raked in-between camper use and no 

toilet paper is provided. Other Vermont State Parks offer all of these amenities plus running water and 

flush toilets in the restrooms. 

-Could some of the new fees be used to improve the boat launching area? It is currently a nightmare 

on busy summer afternoons with canoes, kayaks, sailboats, SUPS and trolling boats all with many, 

many people and dogs vying for a way to enter or exit the water. 

-Would it be possible to use some of these funds to actually enforce some rules, like dogs on leashes at 

the boat launching area? 

- Carol Vallett 

(VSP reply: Hi Carol, Thanks for writing and providing feedback. Yes, the sites at Green River Reservoir 

will be going up to the prime site camping fees. The reason for this change is multi faceted. One is, it's 

just simpler for everyone — the public, park staff, park management to follow one set of fees throughout 

all our parks. Second, while there aren't the typical amenities at Green River, it does take extra staff 

time to patrol and clean the sites (yes, they do clean the sites) and maintaining the privies. Also, it's a 

matter of economics — supply and demand. The demand is very high at Green River and the additional 

fees will help us cover maintenance costs to accommodate the demand. And yes, increased fees will 

allow us to increase our staff presence to manage park visitors. (Rochelle Skinner)) 

Waterbury Remotes: changing fees, minimum stay and reservation policy to equal other parks. 



Burton Island 

Burton Island State Park waterfront lean-to sites:* 

Vermont Residents = $40.00 per night including VT Meals and Rooms Tax; ($2/per night increase) 

Non-Vermont Residents = $48.00 per night including VT Meals and Rooms Tax; ($2/per night increase) 

Docking & Mooring:* 

Docking to $2.25 per foot per day or any part thereof. ($.50/per foot increase) 

Moorings or Anchorings = 1$1.00 per foot per day or any part thereof. ($.25/per foot increase) 

Seasonal Slips at Burton Island Marina:* (New) 

$65.00/per foot; 18-foot minimum vessel length; 

Each slip includes four (4) Island Runner Season Passes and one (1) Vehicle Pass; 

$100.00/per day penalty if boat is not removed by final day of operating season. 

Island Runner: 

Add new School Group Day Use fee of $2.00/per person for K-12 schools during the regular school year 
Add new Island Runner Season Pass = $70.00/per season 
Add new charter rate of $425.00/per 2-hour trip 

Burton Island Firewood: 
To $8.00/per armload ($6/per armload increase) 

Seyon Lodge:* 

Half-day boat rental to $25.00 ($5/increase) 

Conference fees to $400.00 ($100/increase); $300.00 for non-profits ($100/increase) 

Weddings $500.00/day up to 50 persons; $1,500.00/per day 51-150 persons 

Overnight Lodge rental $750.00 (Monday-Thursday) $800.00 Friday — Sunday ($100/increase) 



GENfRAL"'AUBL~I~ ~'D~7ME{~'l`S 

All Day Use and Camping policy changes sound good to me. And I particularly like the change to allow 

1 night reservations! I would also like to lobby for the consideration of hiker/biker/boater sites in the 
future (with a lower fee). Maybe just a patch of grass with a couple picnic tables or small distinct sites 
tucked into the woods someplace (with maybe a picnic table at each site). 

Maybe only at campgrounds where space is easily made available and they are more likely to be 
used? Hiker/biker sites are often seen in the western US and Canada (at national parks, state parks, 
county parks, etc.) and are very popular. Vermont Bikepackers (a VMBA chapter of which I'm a 
member) is continually developing new bikepacking routes in Vermont (as are the folks at 
bikepacking.com) and the activity is becoming more and more popular. Having more guaranteed (and 

less expensive) camping spots specifically for cyclists might encourage more cyclists to travel to 
Vermont and would also discourage "stealth" camping. Thank you for all you do and thanks for 
considering my feedback! 

—Jeff Mullen of Richmond, VT 

It would be amazing if the free toddler admission could be raised to age 5 to coordinate with school 
attendance. I know the daily admission price for residents has barely increased, but as someone who 
uses the parks as often as humanly possible and has had to rely on library rental passes in the past just 
to even visit, that small increase could impact a lot of young families like mine. I have 3 children, 2 of 
them are under 3. They've all experienced a lot of trauma but getting them into nature not only to 
appreciate it for what it is but also to be therapeutic is truly irreplaceable. I would love to know I can 
continue to make as much use as often as possible, even with hiking fuel expenses adding on more 
pressure, as well as other reach up and early head start families like mine. Please consider a proposal 
to increase the free admission to all children under age 5 and I for one will be incredibly grateful, and 
blessed! — Korinne Harvey of Corinth, VT 

find that Vermont State Parks have not kept up with updating their parks. The population is older in 
Vermont and many of us are traveling in RVS instead of tents. It is no longer an option to sleep in 
shelters/ tents with no toilet facilities, etc. 

We have traveled across country twice a year for 15+years in a small motorhome and, as a rule, only 
stay in state parks, national parks, federal lands, etc. . . No private campgrounds, if we can avoid 
it.These parks have electricity and no fees for showers and most have no fees for dogs(although some 
parks are changing that policy. . .too many " bad parents"). But $2 a night? That's a bit extravagant. 
Your fees are high for "boon-docking" campsites. 

have camped in VT state parks for many years. . .and even installed solar panels to help the RV retain 
electricity. Atone time I remember there was a thought about trying electricity atone or two 
campgrounds? Any idea what happened to that? Have loved the campsites and staff. . .. . . Sadly, this 
will probably be my last year camping in VT parks, as there are parks in neighboring states with better 
accommodations. Remember, there are folks who cannot do the "more primitive " camping. 
-Jeanette Dickson 



I'm writing to support the rule and fee changes for State Parks in 2022. As someone who is getting into 

bike touring I'm particularly excited about the 1-night minimum stay change, although previously bikes 

had been allowed to do this by calling the success rate that I had in actually getting someone at a park 

who knew that there was an exception for bikes was low. I also support the rate increase, which will 

help keep our beloved VT State Parks a high quality destination for in-state and out of state residents 

alike. — Kathryn Wrigley of South Burlington, VT 

would like you to consider other options for our elderly population to obtain their lifetime park pass, 

such as maybe an online purchase. I work with mentally handicapped individuals, whom many of them 

have anxiety of going into public buildings due to ongoing COVID outbreaks. I am sure this is also true 

for many others without such handicaps. It seems cruel to deny these people the benefit of enjoying 

the beautiful parks in this state, due to it being cost-prohibited without such pass. Thank you for taking 

into consideration, - Margaret Hanson 
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2022 Rule Change 

Public Comment Responsive Summary 

We received close to 100 comments and were pleased with the level of engagement on the proposed 

rule changes. The parks leadership team has carefully considered all the comments. 

In summary the feedback was a mixture of favorable, unfavorable, or a misunderstanding needing 

clarification. In the instances of misunderstandings regarding the intent or impact of a rule change we 

were able to respond and provide clarity or answer questions. Given the nature of social media some of 

the comments resulted in a civil dialogue representing opposing views and support for the park system 

and rule changes. The intent of this summary is to provide a response to comments that were opposed 

to a rule change. 

Pet fee increase from $1 per night to $2 per night: 

Many Vermont State Parks are dog friendly, and this increase elicited some negative responses. Pets 

often figure heavily into family vacations and outdoor recreation. We understand that accommodating 

them is important to many Vermonters and visitors to the state. The reality is that accommodating pets, 

working to make sure they do not impact other visitors experience, protecting and maintaining the park, 

resolving conflict and complaints, and cleaning up after them requires significant staff time. A nominal 

pet fee helps to cover these costs and the expense of providing dog waste and baggy stations. This $1 

increase helps ensure that pet owners offset some of the cost of accommodating pets in the parks. 

Stone Hut fee increase from $225 to $300 per night: 

A comment stated that the $75 per night increase is excessive. 

The operation of the stone but requires afull-time staff person and is a management challenge, given 

our only winter access is via chairlift or snowmobile. This is a unique experience that requires substantial 

effort and overhead, including the firewood provided to heat the building. It should also be noted that 

the occupancy rate for the stone but is 100 percent. The but sleeps 12 so the cost per person is $25 per 

night which means the increase will amount to $6.25 per person per night over last year. This 

recommended increase is well in line with the visitor accommodations and the resources required to 

operate and maintain the hut. 

Adult Day Use Fee increasing from $4 per person to $5 per person: 

There was one comment against the $1 per person increase. Frequent visitors will not be affected by 

this increase. The rate for children is not changing and we also have three unique pass options which are 

embraced by Vermonters. Each gives a significant discount per visit. The Green Mountain Passport 

provides free access for Vermonters over the age of 62 and for Veterans of the uniformed services. 

Other discounted or free options available include the library pass program, the park prescription 





program, and the Vermont Parks Forever Foundation which partners with us to help fund passes for 

foster children and underprivileged youth through their park access fund. 

Camping fees increase of $1 per night for Vermonters and $7 per night for out of 

state visitors 

The comments submitted opposed to the camping fee increase are regarding the nonresident rate hike. 

All but two of the comments were from out of state locations. Charging a premium for nonresident state 

park visitors is an industry standard around the country. In Vermont, this extra charge has remained 

lower than most states for years. This increase puts us in the middle range of other states in the 

Northeast region. The fees paid by nonresidents allow us to maintain a lower rate for Vermont 

residents. 

Cabin rental fee increase of $9 per night for residents and $11 per night for 

nonresidents: 

We received one comment stating that this was too much of an increase. It is important to note that 

Instead of an incremental fee increase each year, it is normally 2-4 years between individual fee 

changes. Though significant, the $9 and $11 increases remain below market rate. Vermont has made a 

significant capital investment in this cabin program, and the cabins require ongoing maintenance, as 

well as care and cleaning well beyond what is required for regular campsites. Another consideration is 

that the furnishings and fixtures must be replaced on a regular basis because of wear and tear. We feel 

this proposed increase is reasonable and fair. A good point was raised stating that the increase for 

Vermonters was almost as high as the increase for non-residents, whereas in the other camping 

categories, the relative increase for nonresidents was much greater. The next time we propose a fee 

increase for cabins we will aim to hold the line on rates for Vermonters. In the meantime, our cabin 

rates remain a good deal. 




