

PHONE: (802) 828-2228

FAX: (802) 828-2424

March 18, 2022

The Honorable Jill Krowinski The Honorable Becca Balint Vermont General Assembly Joint Rules Committee 115 State Street Montpelier, Vermont 05633

Dear Speaker Krowinski and President Pro Tem Balint,

If you recall, a group of members of the Vermont General Assembly sent a letter to the Joint Rules Committee on Tuesday, March 15, 2022 respectfully requesting that the Committee follow current State of Vermont guidance and make the State House mask-optional effective immediately.

Understanding that the request was not taken up by the committee on Tuesday, but that the committee planned to put it on its next meeting's agenda, the undersigned would like to further request that the committee eliminate all COVID restrictions in place at this time at the State House.

As you are well aware, schools, businesses, state offices, and entities throughout our great state are virtually all mask-optional, capacity restriction-free, and virtually free of all COVID restrictions that had been in place earlier. They are following the science and following the guidance recommended by our own State of Vermont Health Department. The State House is the people's house and as such, we should be following the same guidance, and open our doors and committee rooms fully as we do our very important work.

So, we write today to respectfully request that at its next meeting the Joint Rules Committee eliminate all COVID restrictions in place at this time at the State House.

We again thank the Joint Rules Committee for its work throughout these last two years to ensure the safety of members, staff, and the public. You have done an admirable job. We ask now that we continue to follow the science.

Thank you very much, in advance, for your consideration of this request.

## Sincerely,

Rep. Heidi Scheuermann	Rep. Sally Achey	Rep. Scott Beck
Rep. Patrick Brennan	Rep. Tom Burditt	Rep. William Canfield
Rep. Lawrence Cupoli	Rep. Lynn Dickinson	Rep. Kenneth Goslant
Rep. Rodney Graham	Rep. James Gregoire	Rep. Lisa Hango
Rep. Robert Helm	Rep. Mark Higley	Rep. Jay Hooper
Rep. John Kascenska	Rep. Larry Labor	Rep. Robert LaClair
Rep. Wayne LaRoche	Rep. Felisha Leffler	Rep. Paul Lefebvre
Rep. Samantha Lefebvre	Rep. Christopher Mattos	Rep. Michael Marcotte
Rep. Leland Morgan	Rep. Michael Morgan	Rep. Robert Norris
Rep. Daniel Noyes	Rep. Woodman Page	Rep. Joe Parsons
Rep. Henry Pearl	Rep. Arthur Peterson	Rep. Carl Rosenquist
Rep. Butch Shaw	Rep. Laura Sibilia	Rep. Brian Smith
Rep. Vicky Strong	Rep. Tom Terenzini	Rep. Casey Toof
Rep. Matthew Walker	Rep. Terri Williams	
Sen. Joe Benning	Sen. Brian Collamore	Sen. Russ Ingalls
Sen. Corey Parent	Sen. Joshua Terenzini	Sen. Rich Westman