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WHAT IS A PLUG-IN ELECTRIC VEHICLE?

Title 23 : Motor Vehicles
Chapter 001 : General Provisions

(Cite as: 23 V.S.A.§ 4)
§ 4. Definitions

Except as may otherwise be provided by law, and unless the context otherwise requires in statutes
relating to motor vehicles and enforcement of the law regulating vehicles, as provided in this title and
20 V.S.A. part 5, the following definitions shall apply:

(85) "Plug-in electric vehicle" means a motor vehicle that can be powered by an electric motor
drawing current from a rechargeable energy storage system, such as from storage batteries or other
portable electrical energy storage devices, provided that the vehicle can draw recharge energy from a
source off the vehicle such as electric vehicle supply equipment. A "plug-in electric vehicle" includes
both a "battery electric vehicle" and a "plug-in hybrid electric vehicle" where:

(A) "battery electric vehicle" means a motor vehicle that can only be powered by an electric
motor drawing current from a rechargeable energy storage system; and

(B) "plug-in hybrid electric vehicle" means a motor vehicle that can be powered by an electric
motor drawing current from a rechargeable energy storage system but also has an onboard
combustion engine.



WHAT IS A PLUG-IN ELECTRIC VEHICLE? (cont.

$34,045 as shown'

2020 Prius Prime
$27,750 starting'
54/(3 est. MPG/MPGS)

VoLT (BpLTEY
STARTING AT $33,520 = STARTING AT $36,620 =
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KEY CHARACTERISTICS OF A FUEL TAX

Based on road usage

Linked to miles driven

(although vehicle efficiency /weight is a factor)
Based on location

Linked to where gas is purchased

(although motor vehicles are highly mobile)
Paid over time

The “norm”’



ALTERNATIVES

Registration Fees
Timing (annual, quarterly, etc.)
Tiered (BEV v. PHEV v. hybrid)

Vehicle Miles Traveled (VMT) Tax

Also known as a VMT tax, VMT fee, mileage-based fee, or road user charge
Timing (annually, quarterly, monthly, etc.)

Tiered (BEV v. PHEV v. hybrid)

Location (where miles traveled)

Per-kilowatt hour (kWh) Fee

Location (where miles traveled and where vehicle charged)

Logistics

Combination (aka “hybrid model”)



APPROACHES FROM OTHER STATES
REGISTRATION FEES (personal vehicles)

Registration and Title Fees By State
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https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/registration-and-title-fees-by-state.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/energy/new-fees-on-hybrid-and-electric-vehicles.aspx

APPROACHES FROM OTHER STATES
REGISTRATION FEES (cont.)

* Vermont: $76 annual/$140 biennial registration fee;
discounted to $74 annually /$136 biennially for a PEV
because the annual emission fee is not applicable. Vermont

DMYV; 23 V.S.A. § 361; 3 V.S.A. § 2822(m); 23 V.S.A.
chapter 7, subchapter 2 for other vehicle type registration

Vermont

it I
$140 for 2 year registration f ees.
mr— * West Virginia: $50 annual registration fee; increased by
$100 annually for PHEV (electricity and fuel); increased by
— m—— $200 annually for BEV (exclusively electricity). West
——— Virginia DMV; W. Va. Code. §§ 17A-10-3 and 17A-10-3C



https://dmv.vermont.gov/registrations/fees
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/23/007/00361
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/03/051/02822
http://transportation.wv.gov/DMV/DMVFormSearch/Registration-Fees-Brochure.pdf
https://code.wvlegislature.gov/17A-10-3/
http://www.wvlegislature.gov/WvCoDe/ChapterEntire.cfm?chap=17A&art=10&section=3C

APPROACHES FROM OTHER STATES
REGISTRATION FEES (cont.)

lllinois: $151 annual registration fee; increased by $100 annually for BEV (propelled
by an electric engine) “in lieu of the payment of motor fuel taxes.” However, the annual

registration fee for a BEV was discounted to a $35 biennial registration fee until
January 1, 2020. Illincis SoS; 625 lll. Comp. Stat. 5/3-805 and 3-806.

District of Columbia: Tiered based on weight ($72 if < 3,499 lbs; $115 if between
3,500 lbs and 4,999 lbs; and $155 if > 5,000 Ibs); discounted to $36 for the first new
registration if vehicle efficiency is = 40 mpg. DC DMV; D.C. Code § 50-1501.03(b)(1).

* Michigan: Annual registration fee based on MSRP; increased annually based on
weight and vehicle type (BEV v. PHEV) and linked to gas tax (amount over 19 cents per
gallon). Mich. Comp. Laws § 257.801.

* Note: This approach has been criticized (Paying Their Fare Share, Ecology Center (Nov. 2019)).



https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/vehicles/basicfees.html
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?DocName=062500050HCh%2E+3+Art%2E+VIII&ActID=1815&ChapterID=49&SeqStart=60600000&SeqEnd=66400000
https://dmv.dc.gov/node/155452
https://code.dccouncil.us/dc/council/code/sections/50-1501.03.html
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(ore3nxyccnu2aa4vmtbjezga))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-257-801
https://www.ecocenter.org/sites/default/files/EV%20Fee%20Report_v3_0.pdf

APPROACHES FROM OTHER STATES
VEHICLE MILES TRAVELED (VMT)

Utah’s Road Usage Charge Program (Utah Code Ann. § 72-1-213.1; FAQ)

Owners of certain vehicles (includes PEVs and hybrids) may pay 1.5 cents per mile

traveled—but the total amount owed is capped at the increased vehicle registration
fees for these vehicles ($20 (hybrid); $52 (PHEV); and $120 (BEV) in 2021).

Billed on a monthly basis.

Currently there is no exemption for miles driven outside of Utah, mileage is tracked
through global positioning (GPS)/on board diagnostic (OBD) technology and annual
odometer pictures, and personal data is supposed to be protected.

Written plan on how to enroll all vehicles registered in the state by December 31,
2031 due to the Legislative Management Committee on or before June 1, 2021.


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title72/Chapter1/72-1-S213.1.html
https://roadusagecharge.utah.gov/faq.php

APPROACHES FROM OTHER STATES
VEHICLE MILES TRAVELED (VMT) (cont.)

OReGO (Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 319.883-319.947; website)

* Owners of certain vehicles (includes PEVs) may pay 1.8 cents per mile traveled instead of
increased registration fees ($66 (40+ mpg); and $220 (BEV) for two years in 2021).

* Billed on a quarterly basis or pay as you go.

* Exemption for miles driven outside of Oregon if a GPS option is used, mileage is tracked
through OBD technology, fuel tax is credited back to the participant, and personal data is
supposed to be protected.

* The Road User Task Force will be making a recommendation to the Oregon Legislature on
how to expand the state’s road user charge program to apply to certain (high efficiency)

vehicles model year 2021 or later. Opt-out annual fee recommendation was $400 in the
November 18, 2020 draft (available here).


https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors319.html
https://www.myorego.org/
https://www.oregon.gov/odot/Programs/SiteAssets/Pages/Road-User-Fee-Task-Force/RUFTF%20Legislative%20Proposal%20Nov%2018%202020.pdf

APPROACHES FROM OTHER STATES
PER KILOWATT HOUR (kWh)

* Thus far, it does not appear that any states have
implemented a tax or fee assessed at the
charging level (on the kilowatt hour (kWh)).

* Pennsylvania has an Alternative Fuels Tax that
applies to electricity, but it relies on self-
reporting. PA Department of Revenue.

* Will Vermont be the first¢



https://www.revenue.pa.gov/GeneralTaxInformation/Tax%20Types%20and%20Information/MAFT/AltFuelsTax/Pages/default.aspx

APPROACHES FROM OTHER STATES
PER KILOWATT HOUR (kWh) (cont.)
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BILL AS INTRODUCED H.942
2020 Page 17 of 35

* % % PEV Contributions to the Transportation Fund Pilot Program * * *

Sec. 13. PEV PILOT PROGRAM DESIGN FOR PEV CONTRIBUTIONS
TO THE TRANSPORTATION FUND; REPORT

(a) The Agency, in consultation with the Departments of Environmental

Conservation and of Public Service and the State’s electric distribution

utilities, shall design a pilot program to collect a per-kilowatt hour (kWh) fee

from PEV operators at EVSE, without regard to whether the EVSE is available

to the public, parallel to and independent of the current framework of the

gasoline and diesel taxes established under 23 V.5.A. chapters 27 and 28.

(b) The Agency shall file a report with the House Committees on Energy

and Technology. on Transportation, and on Ways and Means and Senate

Committees on Natural Resources and Energy, on Finance. and on

Transportation on or before November 15, 2021 detailing the elements of the

pilot program including: a recommendation on the amount of the per-kWh fee

and how the amount was determined; how the fee should be collected and

17

18

10

transmitted to the Transportation Fund; how rate design or other means can be

used to prevent PEV or EVSE operators from avoiding the fee: the role of the

State’s electric distribution utilities in the pilot program: a schedule for pilot

program implementation; the availability of federal funding to support the pilot

program: proposed legislation necessary to support the pilot program: how

pilot program elements may differ between EVSE available to the public and

EVSE not available to the public: how pilot program elements may differ

between EVSE that is separately metered and EVSE that is not separately

metered: the anticipated costs to electric distribution utilities to administer the

pilot program and to PEV and EVSE operators to participate in the pilot

program; and how to overcome any challenges to a per-kWh fee identified by

the Public Utility Commission in the reports filed as required by 2018 Acts and

Resolves No. 158, Sec. 25 and 2019 Acts and Resolves No. 59, Sec. 33.

(c) The Agency is authorized to retain one or more contractors to assist

with preparing the report required under subsection (b) of this section.




VERMONT SPECIFIC RECOMMENDATIONS

Sec. 15 2016 Plug-In Hybrid and Electric Vehicle Registration Fees, pp. 3 and 4 (Dec. 2016)

The report’s final recommendations concur with the two previous legislative reports.
EV registration fees should not be increased in the immediate future and not until the
market for EVs moves beyond an “early adopter” phase. To increase the fees now is at
cross purposes with the state’s efforts to incentivize EV purchase and use, and increase
the number of EVs on Vermont’s roadways. Transitioning from conventional gasoline-
powered to electric vehicles is essential for meeting the state’s short and long term
climate and energy goals, and will also reduce the public health problems caused by air
pollution, keep many more dollars in the Vermont economy, and reduce the costs of

transportation for businesses and households

NOTE: The prior legislative reports are:
* Alternative Fuel Vehicle User Fee Options (Nov. 2012); and

Recommended policy considerations include:

1.

A first priority of putting a comprehensive transportation revenue solution in place
as vehicle efficiency increases and people drive less due to economic pressures and
opportunities, desired lifestyles, healthier transportation options, and environmental
concerns. A stable revenue source that grows with the economy is needed.

Second, if a comprehensive transportation revenue solution is not in place that
addresses losses from overall increased vehicle efficiency, a fee should go into effect
when the number of registered EVs represent 15% of auto sales or approximately

18,835 new registered passenger vehicles. This is estimated to be by 2025.

* A Study on Replacing Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax Revenues Not Collected from Plug-In Electric Vehicles (Dec. 201 3)



https://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Legislative-Reports/2016-Legislative-EV-Study-FINAL-formatted.pdf#page=4
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/Reports/292517.PDF
https://publicservice.vermont.gov/sites/dps/files/documents/Transportation_LandUse/Goal1/Act12,%20sec28%20EV%20fees%20study.pdf

VERMONT SPECIFIC RECOMMENDATIONS (cont.)

Promoting the Ownership and Use of Electric Vehicles in the State of Vermont, pp. 30-37 (Jun. 2019)

The comments and discussions presented during the Comimnission’s investigation generally
addressed three approaches to obtaining EV-user contributions to funding the state’s transportation
infrastructure. Consistent with previous legislative reports prepared by Vermont State agencies,

these approaches included a regn-tratmﬂ tee, a vehicle-miles traveled, or “VMT" fee, and a per-kWh
fee on electricity used for EV charging.”* The VMT fee and the per-kWh fee both found support
with participants. No participant supported an increased registration fee.

No consensus on the best approach to collecting EV contributions to transportation infrastructure
emerged during the Commission’s investigation. Howewver, consistent with previous reports
prepared by Vermont agencies, the participants agreed that no fees (or minimal fees*%) should be
imposed at this time. According to these reports and comments received in this investigation, the
most significant impact on state transportation funds is the increasing efficiency of internal
combustion engine vehicles and lack of inflation adjustments to the gas tax.”


https://puc.vermont.gov/sites/psbnew/files/doc_library/Electric%20vehicles%20report.pdf#page=33

VERMONT SPECIFIC RECOMMENDATIONS (cont.)

* The Vermont Agencies, including the Agency of Transportation, recommended a per-kWh fee to be

collected by Vermont's distribution utilities.”® According to the Vermont Agencies, a per-kWh fee
has several advantages. It would be comparable to the current gasoline tax scheme and easy for
consummers to understand. It would also capture revenue from out-of-state EVs traveling in
Vermont and using charging stations. The Vermont Agencies also conclude that per-kWh fees
would not create an additional up-front cost barrier to EV ownership. Finally, the Vermont
Agencies conclude that per-kWh fees could be combined with rate design to encourage adoption of
EV-specific rates and the infrastructure necessary to ensure collection of the per kWh fee, and to
ensure that the fee does not create a disincentive for EV ownership. The Vermont Agencies
recommended implementing the infrastructure needed to collect a per-kWh fee now while EV
adoption rates are low.”’ Along with the infrastructure, the Vermont Agencies recommend a small
per-kWh fee that would be phased in over time as adoption increases, rising to the full fee amount at
15% EV penetration.

The per-kWh fee recomnmended by the Vermont Agencies met with substantial opposition from
other participants in the proceeding, particularly from the participating distribution utilities that
would become responsible for implementing, collecting, and remitting the per-kWh fee
recommended by the Vermont Agendies. Among the reasons for opposing the per-kWh fee were
the following:

The prematurity of fees given the early stage of EV adoption.

The customer infrastructure required to ensure accuracy and to minimize avoidance
of the tax. Accurate calculation of EV charging would require additional equipment
in customer homes, whether a separate submeter or accurate charging system.
Utility infrastructure required to update billing systems. If Vermont distribution
utilities are required to collect a tax, they will need to update their billing systems to
handle the data received from customer submeters or third-party chargers. The
distribution utilities estimate that the upfront costs of implementing the necessary
svstem could exceed the revenues collected pursuant to the tax.

The potential for stranded costs resulting from prematurely committing to a
particular fee approach on both utilities (billing infrastructure) and EV owners
(submeters).

Difficulty of utility enforcement for non-payment.



VERMONT SPECIFIC RECOMMENDATIONS (cont.)

Supplemental Electric Vehicle Report (Dec. 2019)
The Commission recommends that the State not impose any new per—kTNh fees on electric

vehicle charging, either for contribution to the funding of transportation infrastructure or

tor transportation etficiency projects. The Commission believes there are better ways for
EVs to contribute to the transportation infrastructure fund. The reasons for this
recommendation are set forth under the discussion of each type of potential fee, below.
Each subsection contains a discussion of how such fees would be collected if the State
decides to impose them. Additionally, the subsection discussing per-kWh fees for
transportation infrastructure funding provides the joint position of the Vermont Agency
of Transportation, the Vermont Department of Public Service, and the Vermont Agency
of Natural Resources (together the “State Agencies”), which ditfers from the

recommendation of the Commission.

Discussion of alternatives at pp. 15—18.



https://puc.vermont.gov/sites/psbnew/files/doc_library/EV-Supplemental-Report.pdf
https://puc.vermont.gov/sites/psbnew/files/doc_library/EV-Supplemental-Report.pdf#page=18

VERMONT SPECIFIC RECOMMENDATIONS (CONT.)

DRAFT Report of the Vermont Tax Structure Commission, p. 15 (Jan. 2021)

Every state in the nation is evaluating decreases in gasoline consumption as a threat to
transportation funds. We recommend that Vermont add an annual excise tax to the
registration fees for electric cars as their contribution to the Transportation Fund in Lieu of
paving gas taxes (2A). This tax should persist until the technology i= available to charge
each vehicle for the miles, or even better, the pound-miles it travels on Vermont roads. We
also recommend that the Vermont Agency of Transportation and Department of Taxes
track other approaches as they progress in other states to ensure that our system continues

to evolve and adopt best practices.


https://ljfo.vermont.gov/assets/Meetings/Tax-Structure-Commission/2021-01-11/576baebcc8/DRAFT-TSC-Report-1-7-21.pdf#page=15

BILLS FROM 2019—2020 BIENNIUM

H.749 (An act relating to registration fees for plug-in electric vehicles — Would increase
annual registration fee for pleasure car PEVs (so both BEVs and PHEVs) by $50.00 each year.

H.835 (An act relating to a vehicle miles traveled tax for plug-in electric vehicles) — Taxable
miles traveled would be based on the odometer reading made as part of the annual
inspection required under 23 V.S.A. § 1222 and may be reduced by the Commissioner of
Motor Vehicles if the owner presents evidence that the vehicle was driven outside the State.
Tax would be owed at the time of filing the owner’s State income tax return or through a
separate filing if State income tax is not assessed. Annual rates for BEVs and PHEVs
established by the Commissioners of Motor Vehicles and Taxes (process established through
rulemaking).

H.942, Sec. 13 (T. Bill) = Pilot program proposal from the Administration on a per-kWh fee to
supplant the Transportation Fund, pulled out at the Administration’s recommendation after the
Transportation Bill was introduced on March 13, 2020 because of COVID-19. Unknown
whether or not something will be proposed by the Administration again this year (should know
more soon!). Language is on slide 13.



https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/Docs/BILLS/H-0749/H-0749%20As%20Introduced.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/Docs/BILLS/H-0835/H-0835%20As%20Introduced.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/Docs/BILLS/H-0942/H-0942%20As%20Introduced.pdf#page=17

